Telangana Monitor

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Telangana Monitor

a_kumar wrote: I understand the primal fear of T-vadis. Where I come from (north coastal), whole lot of agricultural lands were bought over by rich investors from Hyd (not sure what their ancestral origin is, but for all my relatives cared, they were from Hyd). Btw, these farmers were barely getting by accumulating huge debts and the lands sometimes are as small as 0.25 acres after being split through generations. But it was their small possession and their whole world that they guarded with zeal. While there was an urge to make money by selling off, there was also fear that their folks would be marginalized looking at how "Hyd folks" were buying up 1000's of acres. Also, most of the future development areas got bought over by the "rich investors from Hyd" connected to local and hyd politicians and none of the locals own these lands anymore. Eventually, some where sold and others were retained. Construction was a lot more lopsided and Kamma/Reddy combine have dominated the building industry.So I understand that fear and envy.
a_kumar garu,

I have to say this - you are either deliberately saying this to cause confusion or pretending of not knowing. Who are the "hyd folks" buying up 1000s acres of land? They are the same people that Telangana's have issues with. So, in reality you have problems with non-Telanganites.

That is what I poster earlier. The northern coastal districts of AP (Vijayanagaram, Srikakulam) and even district of Prakasam have better chance to voice their demands / concerns in smaller state. I see similar advantages for districts of Telangana such as Adilabad, Mahbubnagar, Medak, Nalgonda, Karimnagar, Nizamabad etc.

RamaY wrote:Secularism, my dear secularism :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Your point being (I mean other than soosai)?
Last edited by Satya_anveshi on 03 Jan 2010 02:23, edited 1 time in total.

I may look one with balistically opposite view. What the heck.
Why should super rich be weakened? Super rich are the resources of a given state. I would list the super rich like this:

Kona seema
Ramoji Rao,
Lagadapati,
Divee seema,
GMR,
GVR,
Reddy labs,
Siris Raju ( not the Satyam one),
Guntur Tobacco farms and barrons,

We need to get out of this maoist drivel of making a bunch of capital less small farmers who cannot really do anything in their 0.000005 hectare lands without alms from corrupt governments and then later they all become bunch of cry babies. The whole concept of small and marginal farmer is the real crap and the reasons for maoism and later these requests for small-backward states. Agricultural land ownership and cultivation should be done in a corporate way with share holdings etc. Now we are with a bunch of useless capital less farmers who has no capablity to take risks. The ones who are taking extreme risks are the ones commiting suicides.

Satya_anveshi wrote:
I have to say this - you are either deliberately saying this to cause confusion or pretending of not knowing. Who are the "hyd folks" buying up 1000s acres of land? They are the same people that Telangana's have issues with. So, in reality you have problems with non-Telanganites.
Let us discuss them. Who are they? Why is an entire region not able to conter them and instead want to have saperate state. What is the plan after seperation to counter them? Telangana is not going to have Article 370. How do you think the menace will go away?

Let us start listing them -
1) Wealthy kammas from Krishna and Guntur districts with the tacit backing from TDP
2) Wealthy factionalist-murderous Reddys from Rayalaseema with YSR's approval
3) Any businessman with an asset value of 200 crores from the two and half districts

Am I right? Do you have any other list?

Muppalla wrote:
Satya_anveshi wrote:
Let us discuss them. Who are they? Why is an entire region not able to conter them and instead want to have saperate state. What is the plan after seperation to counter them? Telangana is not going to have Article 370. How do you think the menace will go away?

Let us start listing them -
1) Wealthy kammas from Krishna and Guntur districts with the tacit backing from TDP
2) Wealthy factionalist-murderous Reddys from Rayalaseema with YSR's approval
3) Any businessman with an asset value of 200 crores from the two and half districts

Am I right? Do you have any other list?
Add these treacherous exploiters

Banjaras (poor and semi-nomadic people of Telengana)
Gouds (in and around Hyderabad/Rangareddi)
Reddys (of Rangareddi Districts)
Other Farmers ( of Rangareddi dist)
Muslims (of Hyderabad)
Last edited by ShyamSP on 03 Jan 2010 02:48, edited 1 time in total.

Satya_anveshi wrote:
RamaY wrote:Secularism, my dear secularism :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Your point being (I mean other than soosai)?
A religious group that questions India's "secular" credentials wants "religion-based assurances" from GOI.

RamaY wrote:A religious group that questions India's "secular" credentials wants "religion-based assurances" from GOI.
That is why my response was that minorities are entitled to their rights as enshrined in Indian Constitution. Nothing more nothing less.

Muppala garu,

There is no point in rhetorical arguments. I am with your view that organized argi will increase productivity at the same time huge mass relies on agri with no other alternative employment. So, we are not yet there to make it 100% organized and will in even good in the long term to have a mix.

Regarding Kammas/Reddy etc, it is not my cup of tea to comment. I would rather deal with regions an not isolate one given community. Further, my posts/stand on this thread started off taking basic approach to data collection and my commentary. I thought you know my position on this. If not, there are there on the thread for everyone and needs no repeatition.

Satya_anveshi wrote:Muppala garu,

There is no point in rhetorical arguments. I am with your view that organized argi will increase productivity at the same time huge mass relies on agri with no other alternative employment. So, we are not yet there to make it 100% organized and will in even good in the long term to have a mix.

Regarding Kammas/Reddy etc, it is not my cup of tea to comment. I would rather deal with regions an not isolate one given community. Further, my posts/stand on this thread started off taking basic approach to data collection and my commentary. I thought you know my position on this. If not, there are there on the thread for everyone and needs no repeatition.
That is my list based on the assumptions from various pointers. I wanted someone to put a list of balanced griviences/parties and balanced reasons. Otherwise it is all one sided and a lot are just emotional. I thought you are the one with such abilities and hence the request. For example, someone had put that Vizianagaram district got 7 crores while Karimnagar got 4 crore which looks very cheap.

Regarding the 100% agri, we are there and we can employ all the small and marginal farmers in such ventures by leasing all their land for agricultural purposes. This will become OT here but there is a room to make a start in that aspect. It is started in a small way in AP and that was one of the Maoists virulent opposition. Ambanis leased out a lot of agricultural land in Punjab to produce organic varieties. In that model they leased out the land for 20 years and they did employ local rural folks. It is all about the leadership's vision. I strongly beleive we are already there.
a_kumar

Post by a_kumar »

Satya_anveshi wrote:
a_kumar wrote:Activism for governance/development *is not equal* to activism for statehood.
a_kumar garu,

The above seem to be your major argument.

Actually not. I don't agree with it. You cannot separate activism for governance/development with that of activism for statehood and eventually in case of an outside power impinging on basic fundamental rights the nationhood.
Yes.. that is my major argument. For emphasis :)
Activism for governance/development *is not equal* to activism for statehood.

Going by your rationale, other districts in Telangana that may not see the same development as Hyderabad can also go for statehood as first goal (legitimately in your opinion).
Satya_anveshi wrote:You seem to be making several assumptions here:

[*]That KCR is NOT doing this for governance/development (Well, how many legislations did he sponsor for betterment of Telangana while in TDP or later as a legislator?)
[*]That when Telangana happens, KCR is assured that he will be CM (I am not sure what gives you confidence otherwise, but IMO, he is the CM for the first term. He sure believes that. Second term is probably a "maybe")
[*]you are also ignoring the peculiarities of the Telangana struggle and background which provide that necessary right to seek statehood or establish statehood if the merger does not work out. (We have all moved on since 1955 and Telangana is not the same as the Telangana of 1955. Also, going by your rationale, no matter where Telangana is, this sentiminent will always be there. Possibly, if Telangana were better, then it would have been, why should we be together with other lesser parts??)
[*]Further, you are putting all the blame on the Telangana's doors (Well, if I have to blame Govt. of AP, shouldn't that be like "they took all industries into Hyderabad, Telangana and betrayed rest of the state" or something similar. I put the blame on T-vadis, because inspite of having had lion share of investments in their lands-Hyd, they can't speak of worthwhile movement/activism to spread it around. No legislations, no media campaign, no bookh harthals, no acts to bring companies. Don't you think T-vadis should shoulder that burden instead of keeping harping on the 3/4 districts?)

Regarding your other points:
More recently, all the activists (most of whom we like to dislike) fought for "rights of minorities", or "rights for tribals" or "compensation for dam displacements" or "Bhopal rights" etc. There are ample examples all around at how activists have fought for their cause (whether we agree with it or not is a different matter).
What type of activism did we see for Uttaranchal, Chattisgad, and Jharkhand? Who did fasting and how many died? Further, did the above activism have the same historical background as that of Telangana. Aren't you comparing apples to oranges here?
I am not saying Uttaranchal or others are examples. I would have "probably" said the same things, if there were a Uttaranchal thread and if I thought it was apples-apples. (I haven't followed the last split of states much).

a_kumar wrote:Its called creating a market in management.
Absolutely not. He did not create it. If I have to use management speak, he leveraged undercurrents that existed in Telangana. It is for the same reason all political parties marched to form alliances with KCR.
Ok.... leveraging undercurrents to create a market... Happy? But my point is, there will always be undercurrents of several kinds. Will be same in Telangana even after statehood. Don't know enough of the districts, but aren't there any divisions between districts? Are all districts of Telangana like one big monolithic block?
That is why I called in "top-down".
I don't see it as necessarily bad. It is not for nothing the region is seen as 'backward." The only other manifestation of 'bottom-up" movement took the form of Maoism. Obviously that is not in our interest.
I have given ample examples of peaceful bottom-up movements. Narmada for example, it was for development in some sense. It may not apply to you if your endgame is (1)-above .. statehood. But if your objective was development/governance, then there are precedents. Do you deny that?
Did he carry a media campaign on how useless the elected representatives were in bringing development/governance to be people between 2001-2004 term for example?. Nope.
Is that the only way of resolving or achieving good governance/development? He may have thought of leading from front and wished to bring that permanent transformation by making statehood as a platform.
There is a goodaism way ofcourse. IMO, above is the legitimate way of fighting for good governance/development, atleast as the first step. Because without that activism, AP/TN or Telangana tomorrow are all the same. Different politicians, different pockets, same common man.
a_kumar

Post by a_kumar »

Satya_anveshi wrote:
a_kumar wrote: I understand the primal fear of T-vadis. Where I come from (north coastal), whole lot of agricultural lands were bought over by rich investors from Hyd (not sure what their ancestral origin is, but for all my relatives cared, they were from Hyd). Btw, these farmers were barely getting by accumulating huge debts and the lands sometimes are as small as 0.25 acres after being split through generations. But it was their small possession and their whole world that they guarded with zeal. While there was an urge to make money by selling off, there was also fear that their folks would be marginalized looking at how "Hyd folks" were buying up 1000's of acres. Also, most of the future development areas got bought over by the "rich investors from Hyd" connected to local and hyd politicians and none of the locals own these lands anymore. Eventually, some where sold and others were retained. Construction was a lot more lopsided and Kamma/Reddy combine have dominated the building industry.So I understand that fear and envy.
a_kumar garu,

That is what I poster earlier. The northern coastal districts of AP (Vijayanagaram, Srikakulam) and even district of Prakasam have better chance to voice their demands / concerns in smaller state. I see similar advantages for districts of Telangana such as Adilabad, Mahbubnagar, Medak, Nalgonda, Karimnagar, Nizamabad etc.
You are half right. In some cases, I know for a fact, in others I honestly don't.

But even in the former case, the reason I left it out is to highlight that perception is not necessarily true. Just like T-vadi's (even on this forum) thinking Krishna/Godavari/Guntur represent rest of the 13 districts.

May I ask what will change for Adilabad, Mahbubnagar etc tomorrow that they cannot get right now and why (will the names change?). No rhetoric please, just plain simple bullets shall we?

Folks I dont want caste equations in Andhra Pradesh brought up. I dont want to provide more fodder to others.

Satya_anveshi wrote: Let's invert your stand and ask this:

Which intellectual group / media or even politician before 2001 from non-Telangana showed any activism to correct the disparity, bring everything within the unified agenda, and address the grievances on the ground uniformly?

The answer would be none.
Not none. Loksatta. LS has been trying to address many problems all over AP without resorting to split.

And there may be many more, that you perhaps chose to ignore or even oppose.

vijayk wrote: If Telangana can destroy this lobby, good for every one in AP. Some how, I doubt it. They funded INC in the last elections.

That is why Hyderabad as UT is not a good idea at all. This lobby will be feeding Sonia Congress and looting AP.
VijayK garu,

What makes you believe that a separate state or UT will weaken the super-rich? Do you think VH/Kaka/DS etc will not send money bags to INC once Telangana state is formed?
I am neither against capitalism/rich nor for Maoism. I am against buddy system where the rich gang up and fill up the legislatures with their gang and bend the rules to promote their and their dynastic interests.

I don't think these influential people will lose their power once Telangana comes but 'Hyderabad Shining' might come to an end reducing their access to tons and tons of money. We have seen in Karnataka how the mining lobby led by Bellary Reddy brothers blackmailed BJP. These same forces will fund legislators in Telangana and and try to control the power centers. TRS's Secunderabad MP candidate boasted that he paid 10 crores to KCR for ticket. After seat adjustments with TDP, many people noted that TRS took money from YSR and sold the tickets to weak candidates. Ladapati RajaGopal allegedly paid money to TDP candidate to lose. If Hyderabad markets crashes and speculative money does not flow in there, hopefully their influence goes down.

The roots of Telangana issue has a lot to do with this super rich ganging up with people in power (YSR or CBN) and bending the rules to their advantage and create this real estate mafia.

Who is going to pay for their sins? Ordinary men from Kosta or Seema who work every day to meet their ends. As we have seen in this forum and all over the internet, the Telanagna activists and Telangana man's ire is not over these super rich but their anger is focused towards these ordinary people. These are the people they see every day. It does not matter if these people work day and night like all these activists to make their ends meet. The fact that the whole state resources were concentrated only in Hyderabad depriving other areas of any industry is immaterial to them. No one raises a question and asks why an ordinary man from any where in the state can't come to the the capital city and look for a job. We can't blame them entirely for that stereo typing. It is a very common theme in India. These Biharis ... , These Madrasis ..., These Sindhis ... This is how it goes when you see a group of people talking.

When people discussed about Satyam and Ramalinga Raju, I heard people directly stereo typing his caste. The fact that 99% of them work hard and have no connection to Satyam or RamaLinga Raju had no bearing on these people.

OTOH, I don't believe any change will come even after the state formation.

The only way to change India is if we can successfully destroy the nomination of candidates to MLA/MP/CM/PM posts and hold primary type of system where people can elect their party candidate directly. It will cut the power of many power brokers and central committees. But that is a topic for another day.

Rahul Mehta wrote: Not none. Loksatta. LS has been trying to address many problems all over AP without resorting to split.
Don't ascribe motives to me. Go ahead, light a candle and show everyone their work/achievements. If you know about them then you are doing injustice by not highlighting their activities. I admit I am not aware of them let alone ignoring and even opposing them :shock:.

a_kumar garu,

There is a lot of meeting ground between our view points and places where we disagree. I will leave it at that.

At this point I am following your advise of "Turupuki tirigi dandam pettu!!" (Turning East and doing a Namaste!)

Rahul Mehta wrote: Not none. Loksatta. LS has been trying to address many problems all over AP without resorting to split.

RM-ji,

Do not pin all your hopes on LS. To my mind it is nothing but another INC puppet to defeat TDP. LS chief JPN is a member in one of Sonia's advisery groups. If you see his party leaders participating in TV debates, they are no better than people from other parties.

Chellaney Feels Telangana Statehood Inevitable

http://www.thestar.com/news/world/india ... ndia-s-map
a_kumar

Post by a_kumar »

Satya_anveshi wrote: At this point I am following your advise of "Turupuki tirigi dandam pettu!!" (Turning East and doing a Namaste!)
Makes two of us :!:
anuj

Post by anuj »

a_kumar wrote:1) What do you say is the economic and cultural gap right now between "All-Telangana" and "All-Coastal"? Is it enormous like you say it was in 47 or 55 or 75? If not, why not?
a_kumar wrote:Can we at least not repeat this again? Please?
Yes and you can do the same. Could you stop with the riddles? I know your trying to put most of the blame on telangana by pretty much saying that *they are not capable to rule themselves*. You can stop with those now. I have already pointed out the disparity. Looking at that degree of disparity through the current position or time is the smart andhra way to do it and hence the question What do you say is the economic and cultural gap right now between "All-Telangana" and "All-Coastal"?. You should have seen it from back then and arrived at present. I figured out what your doing. A flirt knows another flirt very well. :roll:
a_kumar wrote:(2) Why is it that there are few to no telaganites settled in the "rich" Andhra areas or that there are few Telanganites going to schools/universities in the Andhra areas? If the development and education institutes are so heavy in that region as its made out to be, I would expect lot more presence of Telanganites in Coastal/Rayalaseema for pure career growth.
English is a funny language and you certainty have the ability to twist it around. a_kumar garu, there are no rookies here. Migration is not supposed to be a necessity like you put out to be.

Your pointing out that telanganites do not migrate and *hence* the problem and *hence* to solve the problem, they should have migrated. (This wins the excellent answer of the day contest)

Anyway, im pointing out the lack of opportunities in there own regions. Im not talking about migrating. That's secondary. What forces a person to migrate? But i know what your doing. I shouldn't have asked you that question.

Like i said, there are no rookies here. These lack of opportunities in there own regions is the point why there are aspirations for a separate statehood.

Saying that telangana's don't migrate and that there leadership is misguided is not the issue. Heck we all know telangana scored zilch due to the terrific composition of MLA's and whatever it scored remained a false assurance.

But why have you twisted it the way you did? The only reason to do it is *to get even*. Some last orgasmic chills while you can get it. No?
a_kumar wrote:And Telangana must be cursed that not one in 40% of the elected representatives did something!!!!!
You want to say that the telangana stock is incapable... then please, pretty please, be explicit. No pot shots.
a_kumar wrote:As for my bias. I am biased towards development, period.
What is the meaning of bringing the whole world into this? If the formation of telangana comes at the risk of loosing some investor confidence then are they supposed to quit because of your analogy of "the greater good". Come on man, be explicit. There's no reason for an indian to stone wall another indian.
a_kumar wrote:Lack of development/lack of governance are at best a good stick to beat others, nothing more.
Thank you. Just like that, you *dump* the very basic rationale's propagating the separation and then you want to talk *other things*. Oh, that's brilliant. De-linking - The tall, fair and handsome approach of the eastern superior stock.
a_kumar wrote:Again, this is activism for statehood! In all this time it wasn't for governance/development. Did he carry a media campaign on how useless the elected representatives were in bringing development/governance to be people between 2001-2004 term for example?. Nope.
Well, the prior concern is to loosen the noose first. Wouldn't anyone else be if put in there shoes?

satya what i mean is the discussion so far is typical of political squabbles.

telangana feels it has a problem and insists the solution is x. non-telangana denies there is a problem and insists the solution is not-x, they have not offered another solution, say, y. and that is one of the places where there is a problem.

telangana has been raising concern about a number of issues for a while now. that is a valid activity. instead of measuring the merit of the grievance and listing solutions and finding a solution proportionate to it, the approach of non-t has been to deny that a problem exists. if you are trying to live together, to me, it hardly sounds like a good approach. that telangana's face is somebody like kcr does not help either.

the differential in perception is politically beneficial and they political players will naturally act to only highlight it. what is missing is non-political groups in AP discussing the consequences of this or even proposing solutions.

The solution is simple and easy. Dissolve the assembly and go for Elections. If KCR wins the Telangana region, then there should be separate Telangana State with KCR as CM. If KCR looses, then suppress the Separatism ruthlessly.
Akshut

Post by Akshut »

Pardon my ignorance about the issue, but was YSR's death necessary to help grow, the fire for separate Telangana?

The cat is out .... :). I will leave it to the folks here why RSS made a U turn.

RSS disapproves of statehood for Telangana

Adopting a stance at variance with that of the Bharatiya Janata Party [ Images ], the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh strongly disapproved of creation of a separate state of Telangana [ Images ] and said the demarcation of provinces on the basis of language did not solve the country's problems.

"Creation of separate states was a folly for which the nation is still paying the price. The proposed creation of Telangana will only add to the country's woes without solving any of its problems. We need to find out ways to unite the people and not divide them," RSS chief Mohan Bhagwat told a function organised by the outfit's 'Kashi Prant' unit in Allahabad.

The BJP, which considers the RSS as its parent organisation, has been favouring smaller states on the grounds that they are more governable. This is yet another instance, in the recent past, of the RSS having expressed an opinion at variance with the BJP's stand on a particular issue. A few months ago, the saffron outfit had commended Congress general secretary Rahul Gandhi's [ Images ] forays into backward rural areas even as the BJP had dismissed it as a political stunt.

RSS..who?

But their statement takes the cake:

Its like, there were problems, there are problem, and there will be problems, no one knows nothing of problems, you remove one problem from the other, you will still have a problem.

Where's the friggin solution?

Talk is becoming more like Naxals'. As I noted before OU is dominated by PDSU and RSU. I'm not sure if BJP/RSS was expecting such extremist talk when they supported Telengana.

The more Tvadis talk and do violence, the more the other side will not agree resulting things even more complicated. Tvadis are shooting their foot by using such words.

http://www.greatandhra.com/ganews/viewn ... 15&scat=16
'Vidyarthi Garjana' Or 'Naxal Garjana'?
* We would smash the party offices be it NTR Bhavan, Gandhi Bhavan or anything if anyone talks against Telangana
* We will not allow the Andhra population return to Hyderabad once they go to their places for Sankranthi Holidays.
* We have battered Nagam on the other day just for the reason he praised Chandrababu (remember! KCR tried to manipulate that on the same day stating that students didn’t hit him but some goondas)
* If anyone tries to disturb Telangana students and their movement, he will see his last minutes
“The way the speakers shouting from Vidyarthi Garjana are sounding like Naxal Garjana. The state is becoming prey for Naxals”, saying public.

* I watched the video saying similar words so no need to deny that talk.
SandeepA

Post by SandeepA »

Telangana was always a Naxal/Commie dream. No wonder they get much more sympathetic press from the English media. I was initially amazed at how much grass roots support the movement garnered post YSR (afterall TRS was humiliated in the last polls there isnt?) but am beginning to believe this is sponsored by a larger conspiracy
As mentioned its win-win for both the Maoist and Muslim brigade. The BJP as with all other political parties cant see beyond the next election...not the RSS

Satya_anveshi wrote:RSS..who?

But their statement takes the cake:

Its like, there were problems, there are problem, and there will be problems, no one knows nothing of problems, you remove one problem from the other, you will still have a problem.

Where's the friggin solution?
Here seriously!

Know your India, then you will know that some problems are not problems requiring new problems as solutions.
a_kumar

Post by a_kumar »

anuj wrote:
a_kumar wrote:1) What do you say is the economic and cultural gap right now between "All-Telangana" and "All-Coastal"? Is it enormous like you say it was in 47 or 55 or 75? If not, why not?
I know your trying to put most of the blame on telangana by pretty much saying that *they are not capable to rule themselves*. You can stop with those now. I have already pointed out the disparity. Looking at that degree of disparity through the current position or time is the smart andhra way to do it and hence the question What do you say is the economic and cultural gap right now between "All-Telangana" and "All-Coastal"?.
Ok.. At least do me the favor of not putting words in my mouth. How does saying "there was no activism for development/governance" morph into what you blurt out as my views. I have seen you do that to others (dhimmi thing) lot of pages ago and called on it. If you don't have a response or don't want to respond, then fine, don't respond to that part of my post and move on to what your are comfortable with.. atleast that will keep the SNR from falling.
anuj wrote:
a_kumar wrote:(2) Why is it that there are few to no telaganites settled in the "rich" Andhra areas or that there are few Telanganites going to schools/universities in the Andhra areas? If the development and education institutes are so heavy in that region as its made out to be, I would expect lot more presence of Telanganites in Coastal/Rayalaseema for pure career growth.
Your pointing out that telanganites do not migrate and *hence* the problem and *hence* to solve the problem, they should have migrated. (This wins the excellent answer of the day contest)
No.. They do migrate. Its a given, whether you believe it or not. But where do folks from Mahboobnagar or Karimnagar migrate to in search of jobs? To another part of Telangana (Hyd) and not the "so called" rich parts of Rayalaseema and Coastel Andhra.

And for a good reason. All the investments and development of the state have been focused and centered around one part of Telangana and not in Vijayawada/Vizag. This basically pricks the sense of victimhood that T-vadis have gulped hook line and sinker.

In summary, basically there is no need to migrate to Rayalaseem/Coastal!. This is not bad. Its just sad in a way that T-vadis don't get to see and get a feel for other parts (No perspective can be bliss too!). Because, folks from Coastal/Rayalaseema have the perspective of their region and Telangana as well. While Telangana folks have little real perspective of others except the rhetoric fed by KCR and likes. Thats why in a lot of parts, the reaction to this is "Really, they think they are victims? haven' they been here?" or "But isn't all development in a Telangana district?".

anuj wrote: Anyway, im pointing out the lack of opportunities in there own regions. Im not talking about migrating. That's secondary. What forces a person to migrate? But i know what your doing. I shouldn't have asked you that question.

Saying that telangana's don't migrate and that there leadership is misguided is not the issue. Heck we all know telangana scored zilch due to the terrific composition of MLA's and whatever it scored remained a false assurance.
You again shift the blame to politicians, which is easy. But folks like you (and me by extension) will have to shoulder most of the blame for not working towards better governance/development and I haven't heard you or Satya garu say that out loud once. Was there even a blog or anything on how terrific MLA's have been? That doesn't need money, all it needs is a little time (which we have seem to have ample of) and friends to forward the blog.

anuj wrote:
a_kumar wrote:And Telangana must be cursed that not one in 40% of the elected representatives did something!!!!!
You want to say that the telangana stock is incapable... then please, pretty please, be explicit. No pot shots.
Again, putting words in my mouth and pushing SNR low.
What is so difficut to understand? There was no activism for development/governance (not from you, not from socalled T-vadis), which IMO is the right cure for the projected problems. That will still be right cure even after statehood.

I am pointing at you as well as all T-vadis for not working towards development/governance of Telangana in all these years and likes of me for not investigating the issues. Thats not incapability, its just "don't care about real issues, until a KCR whips up emotions".
anuj wrote:
a_kumar wrote:As for my bias. I am biased towards development, period.
What is the meaning of bringing the whole world into this? If the formation of telangana comes at the risk of loosing some investor confidence then are they supposed to quit because of your analogy of "the greater good". Come on man, be explicit. There's no reason for an indian to stone wall another indian.
You are completely off track. That whole diatribe was to say, "While squabbling on these wrong fixes, we are lagging behind as the whole world moves on". If you get it you get, otherwise, leave it at that.
anuj wrote:
a_kumar wrote:Lack of development/lack of governance are at best a good stick to beat others, nothing more.
Thank you. Just like that, you *dump* the very basic rationale's propagating the separation and then you want to talk *other things*.
From T-vadis perspective, I thought "lack of development/governance" was the rationale.. Was that wrong?
anuj wrote: The tall, fair and handsome approach of the eastern superior stock.
And... you accume me of potshots!!!

Man.. you really need to get over the complex. That shows you are still stuck in the blinkered prism of "Krishna/Guntur/Godavari". Again I don't blame you. If you haven't travelled around to see the real parts of other states, then all you are left with is rhetoric of KCR and it can't be any better that what you type here. Nothing wrong. Just sad.
anuj wrote:
a_kumar wrote:Again, this is activism for statehood! In all this time it wasn't for governance/development. Did he carry a media campaign on how useless the elected representatives were in bringing development/governance to be people between 2001-2004 term for example?. Nope.
Well, the prior concern is to loosen the noose first. Wouldn't anyone else be if put in there shoes?
What noose? Until T-vadis get out of the noose of the 40% MLAs, very few things will change.
joshvajohn

Re: States News and Discussions - Gorkha State

Post by joshvajohn »

Centre’s stand on Telangana has impacted north Bengal: Buddhadeb
http://www.thaindian.com/newsportal/pol ... 98460.html

Rumble in the hills
http://week.manoramaonline.com/cgi-bin/ ... =EDITORIAL

What is the origin of the word Telangana to describe the region now called as such? Who gave that name and what does it mean?

Thanks in advance.

ramana wrote:What is the origin of the word Telangana to describe the region now called as such? Who gave that name and what does it mean?

Thanks in advance.
Telugu-Telangu-Telangana, analogous to Rajput-Rajputana. Land of the Telugus or Telangis. Probably the -ana ending is old Hindi / Urdu or Deccani. I would guess from the Bahmani rulers.

ShyamSP wrote:...
Jan 5th is another discussion day only. You have reps from three regions so it is fussy discussion day with no result.

UA People are asking if the government is rolling back the language-based SRC. That complicates from legal point of view if government has to answer.
http://www.deccanchronicle.com/hyderaba ... ptions-224
Andhra, Seema MPs explore legal options

Hyderabad, Jan. 3: A meeting of ministers and MPs hailing from Coastal Andhra and Rayalaseema here on Sunday decided to proceed with a two-pronged strategy to prevent the partition of the state.

The meeting decided to rope in intellectuals and lawyers into this and is also planning a legal battle to prevent division of the state.

According to sources, they have planned to file a batch of writ petitions in the Supreme Court challenging the criterion adopted by the Union government to carve out states.

The main contention of the petitions was on what basis the state will be divided. They want to know if it will be on the basis of language, backwardness, self- rule or area.

They said that Article 2, 3 and 4 of the Constitution relates to formation of states and alteration of boundaries of states. The criterion to be adopted was not specifically mentioned and they are going to challenge this by filing writ petitions soon.

The meeting also decided to argue the case for continuance of the state in its present form before the all-party meeting in Delhi on January 5.

The Eluru Congress MP, Mr Kavuri Sambasiva Rao’s, name was cleared by the AICC to represent the party in the Delhi meeting. The meeting finally approved some points to be raised in the meeting for preventing the bifurcation of the state.

If the state is allowed to be bifurcated all the projects under Krishna basin will be affected.

About 90 per cent of Krishna water flows are from upper state and hence there cannot be claims over it on regional lines.

Similarly Godavari projects will also be affected due to division as Telangana area is placed at a higher reach and elevation.

If bifurcation is done based on sentiments, the Centre will have to deal similar demands for separate states which are based on local sentiments.

ramana wrote:What is the origin of the word Telangana to describe the region now called as such? Who gave that name and what does it mean?

Thanks in advance.
Telugu-Telangu-Telangana, analogous to Rajput-Rajputana. Land of the Telugus or Telangis. Probably the -ana ending is old Hindi / Urdu or Deccani. I would guess from the Bahmani rulers.
Please refer my previous posts on this

Telangana = Telang + Khana = Telangu + Khana = Telugu area. (persian/urdu: Khana = area or house)

It is Nizam's way of referring Telugu-speaking area of their empire. Prior to 1823 when British bought circars area, Telengana included Circars and Rayalaseema (which was ceded much before)

Barring some adjustments, Current Telengana is Nizam identity and is Telugu-speaking area after 1823.
SandeepA

Re: Internal Security Watch

Post by SandeepA »

I am from Hyderabad and if I had not been following the news from Nov 25th 2009 and pick up the newspaper suddenly today I will have a heartattack seeing the amount of pro-Telangana sentiment on the street! Hell they are even numbering their vehicles TG XXX instead of AP XXX!! Prior to Nov 25th this was unimaginable. TRS could not even win elections in Telangana region without seat sharing with Cong or TDP and was considered finished after the debacle earlier in the year. So how did this transformation happen?
I can understand a desperate TRS's fasting drama to stay in contention but what is unbelievable is the groundswell of mass support. Things had almost changed overnight...add to that the sympathetic press. Now havent we seen this before? Remember the color coded revolutions in Georgia, Ukraine, Belarus..etc? Some succeeded, some failed but what was frighteningly clear was the blatant manipulation of public opinion almost at will. We suspected back then that something like that can be easily done in India someday and I am afraid this is what is happening in AP today. The polarization is so complete that united AP seems no longer viable. I see it on the street..in homes and in offices. Who is behind this? The answer is obvious if you look at who has to gain? But what is once again glaringly obvious is that this formula can be repeated anywhere in India almost at will..and it may be more than a separate state next time.

Note: I know that this is already a controversial topic. I am not here to troll. I just want to highlight something that I feel is a national security issue rather than a purely AP centric one and thats the reason for posting in this thread. Do not let this degenerate into a debate on the pros and cons of a seperate Telangana
joshvajohn

Re: States News and Discussions

Post by joshvajohn »

'Congress has no objection to a 'T' State'
http://www.expressbuzz.com/edition/stor ... 5nzqumeA==

Gorkhaland group threatens violence in 'last battle'
http://ibnlive.in.com/news/gorkhaland-g ... ml?from=tn

ShyamSP wrote:
ShyamSP wrote:...
Jan 5th is another discussion day only. You have reps from three regions so it is fussy discussion day with no result.

UA People are asking if the government is rolling back the language-based SRC. That complicates from legal point of view if government has to answer.
http://www.deccanchronicle.com/hyderaba ... ptions-224
Andhra, Seema MPs explore legal options

Hyderabad, Jan. 3: A meeting of ministers and MPs hailing from Coastal Andhra and Rayalaseema here on Sunday decided to proceed with a two-pronged strategy to prevent the partition of the state.

The meeting decided to rope in intellectuals and lawyers into this and is also planning a legal battle to prevent division of the state.

According to sources, they have planned to file a batch of writ petitions in the Supreme Court challenging the criterion adopted by the Union government to carve out states.

The main contention of the petitions was on what basis the state will be divided. They want to know if it will be on the basis of language, backwardness, self- rule or area.

They said that Article 2, 3 and 4 of the Constitution relates to formation of states and alteration of boundaries of states. The criterion to be adopted was not specifically mentioned and they are going to challenge this by filing writ petitions soon.

The meeting also decided to argue the case for continuance of the state in its present form before the all-party meeting in Delhi on January 5.

The Eluru Congress MP, Mr Kavuri Sambasiva Rao’s, name was cleared by the AICC to represent the party in the Delhi meeting. The meeting finally approved some points to be raised in the meeting for preventing the bifurcation of the state.

If the state is allowed to be bifurcated all the projects under Krishna basin will be affected.

About 90 per cent of Krishna water flows are from upper state and hence there cannot be claims over it on regional lines.

Similarly Godavari projects will also be affected due to division as Telangana area is placed at a higher reach and elevation.

If bifurcation is done based on sentiments, the Centre will have to deal similar demands for separate states which are based on local sentiments.
I think this is a bad move if the intention is to stall the split. What is the problem if there is another state? If all parties can come up with a compromise on water rivers resolution mechanism and sharing revenues of Hyderbad for a certain period of time, it is a WIN-WIN proposition for both parties except for the real estate mafia and politicians lobby in Hyderabad. There can be multiple centers of development around Vijayawada, Vizag, Nellore and Kurnool. How about creating a Green corridor along the coast line that caters to the manufacturing of green technologies? If there are jobs in these areas, people don't need to migrate to Hyderabads and/or Mumbais for jobs.

If this is a move towards making the Center to keep the interests of the rest of the AP, it is fine. As we have seen, this Govt. at center will only listen to threats or blackmail and will make any promises. They promised a state in 2004 to destroy CBN. Then MMS promised a state in return of KCR's TRS voting for hm during No-confidence motion. Then they forgot about it.

A case can be made for a Telangana state purely based on the uneven development of different regions. When I see Vara Vara Rao and Akkas/Annas in the meetings of students, you can see the naxalites gaining a hold over the movement. You have to nip it in the bud before these terrorists who co-operate with even Islamic terrorists to create mayhem.

At the same time, Telangana activists have to force the Govt. to spread the Universities/industries focused in Hyderabad around Telangana to develop other areas.

Any one recall my posts circa 2004 about Naidunomics which concentrated development in and around Hyderabad and little else everywhere?
a_kumar

Post by a_kumar »

You let down the nation, Buddhadeb tells Chidambaram - Ananya Dutta
“The entire nation has been let down by the way he handled the Telangana issue,” Mr. Bhattacharjee said, speaking at a function held here to mark the 44th foundation day of Ganashakti, official organ of the CPI (M).

“First a midnight decision was taken and now they are talking of all-party meetings and consensus. Why was this not done earlier?”

The announcement on creation of a State of Telangana had repercussions in West Bengal as well, giving an impetus to the demands for statehood of Gorkhaland, Kamtapur and Greater Cooch Behar, he said.

The question to be asked why did he take such a step? Why did he overstep the traditional role of the Home Minister?