Devise military solutions to the Somali piracy irritant

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Devise military solutions to the Somali piracy irritant

B. Raman wrote:2 (a). Preventive through naval patrolling in the waters where the pirates operate.

3. What are the ground or sea realities more than two years after we realised that the evil confronting us in the waters to the West of us was more serious than that in the waters to the East of us? The preventive patrolling by navies of different countries has not denied the pirates the availability of pockets where they can still pounce on unsuspecting ships and hijack them. This is because of a lack of co-ordination in patrolling. As a result, the entire sea stretch is not covered effectively. I had pointed out in the past the importance of co-ordination among the navies of India, China, Japan, Singapore,Pakistan and South Korea to remove such pockets and cover gaps. Nothing has been done in this direction. Partly due to our own reluctance to give any role to the navies of China and Pakistan. We have to get over this mental reservation. {Do not agree} Otherwise, the preventive measures will remain only partially effective
Shri B. Raman is speaking here about Preventive Patrolling - so that the whole stretch of the sea is covered by patrolling ships from the various navies. As such there would be no pockets or gaps which would not be covered. However he says, that is not the case as Indian Navy does not coordinate the Preventive Patrolling with the navies of Pakistan nor China.

As said he is talking about Coordination with Preventive Patrolling. He also mentions coordination with Chinese Navy.

INS Godavari's offer to MV Suez was more of in the nature of escorting it to safety post-release.

Shri B. Raman is talking about the general policy of GoI and criticizing it for not coordinating with Pakistanis (and Chinese)! Such a system of coordination in preventive patrolling would require putting in place a system which works continuously exchanging information on the sailing plans of various ships in that area 24/7. It has got nothing to do with INS Godavari, which was an isolated incident.

Now that you have stated your personal interpretation of the article I am happy to accept that as your personal viewpoint. I have stated my viewpoint. Clearly there is a difference.

Prem wrote:Does it mean Somali and Indian Barabar Barabar just like Suffi and Indic Barabar Barabar?
Sigh. Er, no. It means that the Wahhabization of Somalia reduces our opportunity to revive and increase Indian influence. Please check RajeshA's post "Indian Interests in Somalia".

Now that you have stated your personal interpretation of the article I am happy to accept that as your personal viewpoint. I have stated my viewpoint. Clearly there is a difference.
Yes, different interpretations is a common problem. Whenever some Government Commission turns in their report, the recommendations are seldom accepted, simply because everybody has his own personal interpretation! :)

Anyway, I am pleased to know the issue has been amicably resolved.

brihaspati wrote:How about opening negotiations directly with Shabaab? At the same time, declare the following:

(1) If Indian sailors or nationals are targeted, then GOI will ask whoever claims to hold authority in Somalia to enforce safe return and future non-occurrence of such incidents. If such authority formally disagrees - says that pirates are non-state actors - then India should clearly say that in that case Indian amphibous forces will pursue any pirate to whichever nations territorial waters they escape to. If Somalia happens to be such a destination, India will use whatever force is necessary to try and rescue and destroy as much of the pirate infrastructure as feasible.
brihaspati garu,

On some research, this is what I found out:

UNSC Resolution 1851: SECURITY COUNCIL AUTHORIZES STATES TO USE LAND-BASED OPERATIONS IN SOMALIA
The authorization conferred by paragraph 6 to permit States cooperating with the Transitional Federal Government to use all necessary measures to suppress piracy enabled States and regional organizations to act with force, if necessary, on land in Somalia. That was an important additional tool to combat piracy.
As such, the resolutions are already available to enable India to do just what you suggested.

That however has not proved to be a deterrent.
brihaspati wrote:(2) Declare that any nation which comes to the support of Somali pirates, or during the pursuit, evidence comes to light that any foreign nation is found to be connected to the piracy - then India will take action, if necessary unilaterally against that nation.
The UNSC Resolutions make clear that all countries are required to outlaw piracy. India would be allowed to act any whichever way we wish, as long as we say force was necessary and proportionate.
brihaspati wrote:But building a naval base at the tip of the horn becomes inevitable. If the local powers cannot stop the piracy and cannot stop targeting of India, then India must muscle in and say - okay we will take care of our own, from your own soil. Here, take some geld as compensation for H&D.
The UNSC Resolution allows one to fight piracy on land as well. I presume, that allows basing rights to others, perhaps in consultation with the governments of Somaliland and Puntland.

We should go for setting up a big base on Puntland near Boosaaso. 100,000 Indian troop level may be required, even as I defer such numbers to the experts. But we need to go in with overwhelming force.

RajeshA ji,
thanks for the useful pointer to UNSC resolution. That should cover a lot. As I suggested earlier, it should be possible to tie up the hands of the local govs, and force them to collaborate. Shabaab should be directly contacted though. it would be useful for intelligence and future manipulations. It would be a game of Mexican duel. But we cannot avoid playing it.

brihaspati wrote:RajeshA ji,
thanks for the useful pointer to UNSC resolution. That should cover a lot. As I suggested earlier, it should be possible to tie up the hands of the local govs, and force them to collaborate. Shabaab should be directly contacted though. it would be useful for intelligence and future manipulations. It would be a game of Mexican duel. But we cannot avoid playing it.
brihaspati garu,

I believe your therapy regarding Islamist networks need to be tested in Somalia, before being used in the Subcontinent. The region is the ideal place for it. The reason is because one can surround the infected area from all sides and then squeezed.

Some thoughts on war first. If I think, that an enemy can be put down by others, then I think we should led others do it. We should cut down the enemy, ONLY if we need to establish some psychological fact of our military superiority for the next fifty years. But if we know, that there is a possibility of a quagmire, let others get stuck. If we can help avoid getting into a war with Al-Shabaad, then we should avoid it. We need to expand our sphere of influence in Somalia as quickly as we can without causing undue panic, and any war would only slow us down.

So we should encourage others to fight, and that too with others money!

I would suggest a five pronged strategy.
  1. Galmudug
  2. Jubaland
  3. Ethiopia
  4. Internal Dissidence
  5. Naval Patrolling
Galmudug Region is the buffer region between Puntland and Al-Shabaab controlled South. What we want is relative security in Puntland where we put up our tent and establish our bases. We should arm Galmudug as much as possible. It should act as a dam to the North, not letting Al-Shabaab progress to the North to Puntland.

To the West, Ethiopians can open a front and put Al-Shabaab under pressure.

To the South, Jubaland, supported by Kenyans can put pressure.

To the East is the Indian Ocean, and our Navy supported by the many other navies can ensure that Al-Shabaab cannot get arms from the East, from the Sea.

Furthermore we should use our deep connections with the Good Pirates to collect intelligence on Al-Shabaab and use clan rivalries to weaken it, as well as assassinations, and all other forms of guerrilla warfare one can think of. It is here I feel, one could target Al-Shabaab clerical leadership. All this we should be doing through Somali proxies, who are controlled by still other proxies, so much so, that it even looks internecine.

AMISOM can play a stabilization role in areas liberated from Al-Shabaab.

why not use UAV and UNV (unmanned naval vessels) to escort these merchant ships.

they are not very big and are cheap to operate and can be done so remotely.

a couple of fast moving crafts with 20mm gattling guns roving around a merchant ship will be enough to deter these pirates. they can recharge their batteries with solar cells in the sun during the day meaning India does not have to ship fuel all the way across the Indian ocean to keep em operational and no refuelling required every X hours.

they can be operated via satellite from India and serviced at a port of a country in the middle east or east africa that is friendly to India.

about a dozen of these would greatly cut down on piracy. Setup a commercial branch of this service and the company can charge a fee to all foreign vessels looking for this type of protection.

Pakistan-Somalia Nexus

At least some people are solving problems in the world! :)

Published on Aug 12, 2009
Somalia: 6 Pakistani Evangelists killed in Puntland: Somaliweyn
Six strangers believed to be from Pakistan were on Wednesday killed at Galkayo town in the semi-autonomous region of Puntland in eastern Somali by three disguised men.

“These Muslims were risk-free and had Pakistani nationalities they have been in the town for few days, and they used to visit in the entire of the region often they have never done anything beyond preaching the people and when the killing was taking place I was among the few worshipers who were by then in the Mosque when the incident was taking place, in fact the event was very horrific and I could not believe what I have seen with my naked eyes” said Yussuf an eyewitness speaking to Somaliweyn radio.

The arrival of Asian preachers in Somali has been very high since the last effective central government of Somalia has been overthrown from power in 1991.

Preachers from Somali also go to Asian to do preaching activities, and these sorts of evangelists are called Tabliq and they are very moderate and harmless.
Published on Aug 12, 2009
5 Pakistani preachers killed in Somalia: Associated Press
MOGADISHU, Somalia – Masked gunmen killed five Pakistani preachers Wednesday outside a mosque in Somalia following morning prayers, witnesses said.

Six gunmen with assault rifles and pistols stormed Tawfiq Mosque in Galkayo and forced six Pakistani preachers and a Somali man outside, said Ismail Mohamud Hassan, who was in the mosque at the time. The gunmen then opened fire, he said.

"Five of them died on the spot while two others were injured — one Pakistani and a Somali," Hassan told The Associated Press in a telephone interview from Galkayo, 470 miles (750 kilometers) northwest of the capital, Mogadishu.

Pakistan's acting ambassador in neighboring Kenya, Manzoor Chaudhry, confirmed that Pakistani nationals had been killed in Galkayo. The exact death toll was unclear because there have been conflicting figures from different sources, he said.

"It is a tragic incident. We are shocked. We are sad," Chaudhry told the AP.

The Pakistan High Commission in Kenya is also responsible for tracking Somali affairs because it is not safe to have an embassy in Somalia.

Galkayo District Commissioner Hussein Abdullahi said police are protecting the survivors of the attack and have surrounded the mosque.

It was not clear who was behind Wednesday's killing in this overwhelmingly Muslim country. Somali militiamen rarely target religious preachers, known as Tabliq.

"We are shocked. Why were these religious men, who are not involved in the conflict (in Somalia), targeted? It is a shame to Somalis," said Sheik Muqtar, a Galkayo resident.

Sheik Salad Dufan, a Galkayo resident, said Somali Islamic preachers who travel around the country usually preach at Tawfiq Mosque once a month.

"Sometimes they come with foreigners, mainly from Pakistan and Afghanistan," Dufan told the AP by phone.

Somalia has been ravaged by violence and anarchy since warlords overthrew dictator Mohamed Siad Barre in 1991, then turned on each other. A moderate Islamist was elected president in January in hopes that he could unite the country's feuding factions, but the violence has continued unabated.

The country's lawlessness has spread security fears around region and raised concerns that al-Qaida is trying to gain a foothold in the Horn of Africa. The anarchy also has allowed piracy to flourish off the country's coast.

The government and African Union peacekeepers hold only a few blocks of Mogadishu, while Islamic insurgents control much of the country and operate openly in the capital in their quest to impose a strict form of Islam in Somalia.

The U.S. considers one of the most powerful Islamist groups, al-Shabab, of being a terrorist group with links to al-Qaida, but al-Shabab denies that.
6 Pakistanis assassinated in a Mosque by Somalians

Neshant wrote:why not use UAV and UNV (unmanned naval vessels) to escort these merchant ships.

they are not very big and are cheap to operate and can be done so remotely.

a couple of fast moving crafts with 20mm gattling guns roving around a merchant ship will be enough to deter these pirates. they can recharge their batteries with solar cells in the sun during the day meaning India does not have to ship fuel all the way across the Indian ocean to keep em operational and no refuelling required every X hours.

they can be operated via satellite from India and serviced at a port of a country in the middle east or east africa that is friendly to India.

about a dozen of these would greatly cut down on piracy. Setup a commercial branch of this service and the company can charge a fee to all foreign vessels looking for this type of protection.
The problem is finding pirates in the open sea. Pirate ships look like any other and until they actually attack someone one can never tell if there are pirates inside. Once you identify a pirate vessel it can be handled in a "hundred different ways" - so to speak.

Loking at Brihaspati's points in some detail (my thoughts)
(1) Somalia is an entrypoint to East Africa and Subsaharan belt bypassing the problematic Egyptian corridor. Mining or other interests.
(2) Somalia can afford a foothold and naval launchpoint that is not on the more problematic and sensitive Arabian peninsula.
(3) Its nationhood is more contested and still in a formative stage. Hence more amenable to penetration than say Yemen or KSA or the Gulf region.
(4) It is a point to counter-weight any weight being thrown around from the peninsula to choke off the Red Sea.
(5) It does serve as a servicing centre for the trans-national criminal route that circles the peninsula and definitely has connections to both Pak as well as "friendly Indians" from India's west coast. A handle there could mean a lot for our internal security.
(6) perhaps the last but not the least simpleton logic - if we don't get there, our friends across the border will be there.
Historically one finds two types of naval bases. One is a "beachhead" for a naval power where the naval power grabs some land on the beach with a view to gradually controlling the land. The other is a formal naval base on one's own territory which can be used for naval expeditions (such as the setting up and resupply of a beachhead in some other land). The fundamental difference between the two types of naval base is whether the population on the land is hostile or friendly towards the occupies of the naval base.

In Somaila - we will have to set up a beachhead that is designed to fight and control hostile forces in the population. That means that any "naval base" we set up will be useless as a land route into East Africa until the country settles. Even supplies for the base personnel may have to come from the sea.

In other words if we are looking at access into Africa it would be far better to seek a base in Kenya or Tanzania to the South. The only plausible purpose of setting up a base in Somalia would be as a beachhead to start a land war in Somalia. As I stated earlier - such a land war may be unwinnable in a fixed time period. Wars that are unwinnable in a fixed time period begin to look more and more like stalemates or defeats after a while.

But still I think that the only solution for Somalia may be to set up a beachhead/base to stay there long term - like the US us going to stay in Afghans bases long term. If we fix no time for winning we have no reason to feel diffident about the time that it takes to clear the mess.

shiv wrote:The only plausible purpose of setting up a base in Somalia would be as a beachhead to start a land war in Somalia. As I stated earlier - such a land war may be unwinnable in a fixed time period. Wars that are unwinnable in a fixed time period begin to look more and more like stalemates or defeats after a while.

But still I think that the only solution for Somalia may be to set up a beachhead/base to stay there long term - like the US us going to stay in Afghans bases long term. If we fix no time for winning we have no reason to feel diffident about the time that it takes to clear the mess.
There is a reason, wars abroad are restricted in scope and time: Financial Cost, Lives of Jawans, National Stamina, Global Image of Self. Of course for wars within the borders of one's country, no cost is too high.

In protracted wars, it is a race - who bleeds faster. Considering all the precautions a Army today has to take not to be seen killing innocent civilians, unless one spends huge amounts of money in saving the lives of one's own jawans, one would end up as the party which bleeds faster. In any foreign mission, one already goes in with a disadvantage - they can recognize you, you cannot recognize them, for you cannot differentiate them.

USA has already spent around 428 billion USD on Afghanistan alone. That is a third of Indian GDP. USA has already lost 1556 men in Afghanistan. And they still have not achieved much to show for - except the killing of one man!

If one wants to really screw one's own country, the one thing one can do is to suggest to get into a protracted war with no end.

One has to make a determination - what is more costly - Somali piracy, Cost of War! IMHO, the Cost of War is certainly much much higher. So one has to look for other strategies to the Somali Piracy.

That's where Shri B. Raman's suggestions become relevant. He suggests keeping it sea-based containment using a much more aggressive and coordinated patrolling. This does not solve the problem, but it contains it or at least it tries to slow its growth. But it also causes India to totally lose the strategic plot giving foreign navies, especially from PRC, a large footprint in our backyard. And it does not stop Pakistan in gaining strategic depth in Horn of Africa and another source of illegitimate income.

I propose:
Fight Piracy -[figuratively speaking] we sell a better Ship to the Somali Piracy to go hunting, and after 15-20 years when the fuel runs out, Somali Piracy gets stranded on the High Seas, left high and dry, to fizzle out.
Establish Domination - we tell the world, we are going to keep an eye on the street thief, so we get in into his parents house, as a paying guest, we end up marrying the thief's sister, we collect the dowry and we park ourselves there as ghar-jamaai too.
Last edited by RajeshA on 27 Jun 2011 18:45, edited 2 times in total.

More proof

http://in.news.yahoo.com/militant-outfi ... 06407.html

Militant outfits funding Somali pirate, says freed MV Suez hostage
Shimla, June 26 (ANI): Prashant Chauhan, who was among the abducted Indian onboard the MV Suez, which was hijacked by Somali pirates, has said that militant outfits might be funding piracy on the high seas.
Talking to reporters after reaching his hometown, Chauhan said that a country's involvement in nurturing piracy cannot be ruled out.

when the mighty tspa got its musharraf spanked in mogadishu a few years back, which clan did they upset? wonder if they are working with a rival clan now?

Post by Klaus »

^^^ It is the same Puntland clan which David Abraham is trying to woo and win over these days. Kind of a go-between (or a condom, whichever term is more suitable) the TSPA and Al-Shabab and others.

Klaus wrote:^^^ It is the same Puntland clan which David Abraham is trying to woo and win over these days. Kind of a go-between (or a condom, whichever term is more suitable) the TSPA and Al-Shabab and others.
Who is David Abraham?

was it aidid's crew who smacked down the pukes?

Lalmohan wrote:was it aidid's crew who smacked down the pukes?
Lalmohan ji,

According to the timeline, General Mohamed Ali Farrah Aidid did kill 24 Pakistanis, but that was on June 5, 1993. His son Hussein Mohamed Farrah Aidid also "warned that militant Islamist Pakistani proselytizers were active in Mogadishu and other Somali cities and that they have strong links to Al-Itihaad al-Islamiya (The now defunct Islamic Union). Aidid's strength lies in Mogadishu.

The incident mentioned earlier took place on August 12, 2009 in Galkayo, which is now under Transitional Federal Government "jurisdiction", but it is hotly contested space between Puntland and the Al Shabaab led South Somalia.

Preachers from Tablighi Jamaat from Pakistan happen to visit Somalia often.

Post by Klaus »

The Ogadens fortunes have been rising steadily since then. India will have to take Abdullahi Hersi into confidence in this venture. He would have to be a "Good Pirate" candidate.

David Abraham == DI.

Isnt Aidid the US stooge?

Klaus wrote:India will have to take Abdullahi Hersi into confidence in this venture. He would have to be a "Good Pirate" candidate.
How? Do you have any details about this chap?

Somali Piracy: Looking for Solutions

Fight Piracy -[figuratively speaking] we sell a better Ship to the Somali Piracy to go hunting, and after 15-20 years when the fuel runs out, Somali Piracy gets stranded on the High Seas, left high and dry, to fizzle out.

So how does this figurative solution map to a concrete strategy:
  1. Selling a Ship - This pertains to Indian proxies selling the Somali pirates the idea, that they can expect support from them in their piracy, but it would have to be with some conditions. The idea is to shield Somali pirates from external influences which come from their procurement of arms and gadgets from say Pakistanis, etc. We become the one-stop services provider to the Somali pirates - be it arms and weapons, be it gadgets, be it ships, be it creature comforts, be it their banking needs, be it ship repairs, be it safe apprehension, be it jail comfort, be it get-out-of-jail-cards, be it intelligence on ships, be it support in ransom negotiations, whatever.
  2. Getting everybody on board - Any other weapons dealer would not be tolerated, especially not if it is Pakistani. No Pakistanis would be allowed to join Somali pirate teams. All Somali pirates would be encouraged to join the program. After some years, a Somali Pirate would not be allowed to stay outside the program. Those who do, would be the bad Pirates. They will be cut down, using the help of the Good Pirates.
  3. Going hunting - Somali Pirates would continue to do piracy in the region under the supervision of Indian intelligence for the next 15-20 years. Indian Navy would see to it, that the hijacking and hijacking "thwarting" routines work smoothly. Good for the pirates, Good for the hostages, Good for us.
  4. Running out of fuel - Somali Piracy would run out of fuel for their ship when India pulls the plug in 15-20 years. India would be having complete intelligence about every single Somali pirate working, about their families, about their villages, about their friends and company, about their bank accounts. In 15-20 years, we would have a sufficient security network in place in Somaliland and Puntland to end piracy, if we wanted.
  5. Getting stranded - In these 15-20 years, India would have been able to build an alternate economy in Puntland and Somaliland, powered by mining but a far more comprehensive support economy including agriculture, some manufacturing, and services. When India pulls the plug on piracy, all these pirates would have the choice of moving to a different field of work. However we would have been able to build this alternative economy only because Indians and Somalis, especially the pirates, would have enjoyed a cooperative relationship all this time, allowing Indian ships to travel to and from Somalia without much threat, and allowing Indians to start businesses and to work in Somaliland and Puntland also without much threat or war. These two alternatives - either move to a different field of work or be put away for good would be the ultimate nail in the coffin of Somali piracy.

Klaus wrote:The Ogadens fortunes have been rising steadily since then. India will have to take Abdullahi Hersi into confidence in this venture. He would have to be a "Good Pirate" candidate.
This is what Wikipedia has to say about Hassan Abdullah Hersi al-Turki
Al-Turki was born in 1944 in the Ogaden. He hails from the Reer Abdille subdivision of the Ogaden Darod clan. It is believed that Al-Turki participated in the unsuccessful Ogaden War between Somalia and Ethiopia over control of the Somali-inhabited Ogaden region, and subsequently left the region to continue his revolutionary efforts in Somalia.

On June 3, 2004, Al-Turki was designated, under US Presidential Executive Order 13224, for terrorist financing. He later became a military leader of the Islamic Courts Union (ICU), and was in charge of the Dhobley district situated near the North Eastern Province. He also led ICU forces in the taking of Jubaland.

On September 23, 2006, Al-Turki forces approached Jilib, en route to Kismayo. Juba Valley Alliance forces withdrew without a fight. After the city fell, on September 24, he promised peace to the city after Islamic militiamen broke up an anti-Islamist demonstration with gunfire, killing three teenagers. (Also see: Juba Valley Alliance: War In Somalia) Al-Turki addressed people in Kismayo telling them the region would be under the Islamic law. “This city is seized by Islamic forces including all tribes of Somali men, welcome to the new peace brought to this city and I promise you will live in security and prosperity,” Sheikh Hassan Al-Turki reportedly said.

He was later targeted in a US fighter jet strike on March 2, 2008. US fighter jets struck the southern Somali town of Dobley. The bombings by the AC-130 gunships targeted two homes in the town that were allegedly visited by Turki, who is believed to have ties to al-Qaeda.

Al-Turki is currently the leader of an insurgent group named the Ras Kamboni Brigades. The group merged with three other resistance groups, including Sheikh Hassan Dahir Aweys', Asmara based, wing of the ARS to forum Hizbul Islam.
Not much written about his piracy connections. He belongs to Al-Shabaab.

I don't know if anybody has suggested this before, probably has, but I have always wondered why punitive measures cannot act as a deterrent. For instance: once a ship is hijacked, I believe it can be tracked until the pirates return to a friendly homeport/village, and so can the pirate skiffs and mothership. Why can a general warning not be issued that ports harbouring pirates will be destroyed, and that civilians living in the areas harbouring pirates should evacuate due to danger of being bombed without warning?

That's for starters.

Furthermore, this sort of situation especially for punitive operations, seems tailormade for special forces.

Maybe I'm speaking thru my ass here, but I see no merit in establishing a base there and expending unnecessary funds. We can, however, get rid of any aging munitions and notch up some good overseas experience for our SF units.

Post by Klaus »

Not sure if this has been posted in similar threads earlier:

The Kampala Accord

Quoting the entire article for relevance
Somalia: The Kampala Accord
9 Jun 9, 2011 - 3:43:08 AM

AGREEMENT BETWEEN THE PRESIDENT OF THE TRANSITIONAL FEDERAL GOVERNMENT OF SOMALIA AND THE SPEAKER OF THE TRANSITIONAL FEDERAL PARLIAMENT OF SOMALIA MADE IN KAMPALA ON 9TH JUNE 2011
(THE KAMPALA ACCORD)

1. Recognizing the Transitional Federal Charter as the basis for the legitimacy of all Transitional Federal Institutions.

2. The President of the Transitional Federal Government and The Speaker of the Transitional Federal Parliament met in Kampala Uganda under the auspices of His Excellency President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni and the facilitation of the Special Representative of the Secretary General of the United Nations Ambassador Augustine P. Mahiga to address the issues and agree the way forward on bringing to an end the transition in a spirit of cooperation and harmony in accordance with the Djibouti Agreement and in line with the Transitional Federal Charter.

3. All parties were cognisant of the counsel from the United Nations Security Council in their meeting of the 25th May 2011 to reach an agreement on ending the transitional phase. Cognisant of the counsel of the ICG Meeting of June 3rd, 2011. Cognisant of the concerns of the Troop Contributing Countries not to squander significant military progress and the readiness by the Regional Heads of State (IGAD and EAC with the participation of the United Nations (UNPOS) and the African Union) to oversee and monitor and guide any agreement by the Transitional Federal Institutions on bringing to an end the Transitional Phase on 20 August, 2011 and thereafter bringing in a new dispensation.

4. The parties meeting in Kampala agreed to the following parameters:

a. We agree to defer elections of the President and the Speaker and his deputies for twelve months after August, 2011 in order to adequately prepare and complete priority transitional tasks.

b. Elections for President and Speaker of Parliament will have to take place prior to August 20, 2012.

c. Within thirty days of the signing of this Agreement, the Prime Minister will resign from his position; and the President will appoint a new Prime Minister.

d. Parliament will endorse the new Prime Minister within 14 days of the submission of the PM Nominee by the Office of the President.

1e. The New Prime Minister will appoint his cabinet within 30 days of his approval and submit it to President.

f. Parliament will endorse the new cabinet within 14 days of the submission of the cabinet list by the Office of the President.

g. While ensuring the new government reflects the 4.5 formula for power sharing. These appointments will be done in the spirit of collaboration and mutual confidence between the leaders of the TFIs in accordance with their respective mandates.

h. All Ministers are to possess the education, experience and integrity to discharge their ministerial duties.

i. The new Government and Parliament will work closely with each other through joint committees and their respective mandates to complete important priority tasks, including on security, Parliamentary reforms, constitution-making process, preparation for elections, and greater political outreach.

j. Both Government and Parliament will endeavour to create an environment to that is conducive to a cooperative working relationship and shall refrain from media recrimination, threats of impeachment of the President, Speaker and two deputy speakers of Parliament, and the dismissal of Parliament.

k. The government should also not be subjected to motions unless that motion has been justified and substantiated with strong evidence of a breach of the TFC.

l. In its oversight role, Parliament should facilitate the smooth functioning of government business in Parliament. Each branch of the TFIs will operate within the confines of its respective mandate to ensure harmonious and complimentary working relations. Government will initiate needed legislation in a timely manner and Parliament shall consider and act on proposed and pending legislation expeditiously.

m. Both Government and Parliament shall work together with the international community to establish a roadmap with benchmarks, timelines and compliance mechanisms for the implementation of the priority task. Details of the mechanisms to be agreed by 20 August 2011.

n. The Heads of State of the Region (IGAD and EAC) shall constitute a Political Bureau with participation of the UN (UNPOS) and the AU, similar to the Burundi Regional Peace Initiative. The Bureau shall oversee and monitor compliance of the TFIs with agreed benchmarks and timelines to implement the transitional tasks and to advance the Somali Peace Process.

o. The international partners and the Regional Bureau reserve the right to evoke appropriate measures with consequences to ensure compliance with the benchmarks and timelines by the TFIs including the application of appropriate sanctions against spoilers.

p. A mid-term review of performance of the TFIs to take place in six months time.

q. The international community shall undertake commitment to provide timely support for these efforts in line with agreed benchmarks and timelines.

r. The planned Mogadishu Conference will be convened by the TFG and TFP and facilitated by the SRSG to be held at a mutually agreed date as soon as possible.

5. The parties agreed that support for the current military operations and completion of the rebuilding of the Security forces are fundamental to the success of the transitional period and agreed that a reformed Joint Security Committee will sit permanently in Mogadishu.
6. All parties to this agreement should seek the support and reach out to all the Somali stakeholders.
7. All parties to this agreement agreed to the creation of a new Anti-Corruption Commission to safeguard the public wealth.

8. We invite the international community and the regional actors to guarantee this political undertaking. The parties to this agreement will seek the support and reach out to all Somali stakeholders.

9. HE President Yoweri Museveni of Uganda will Guarantee the implementation of this agreement and sign below as a witness.

10. This Agreement will come into effect when signed. Signed this day 9th June 2011

by: ................................................................................. ................................................................
HE Sharif Sheikh Ahmed President of the Transitional Federal Government
Hon Shariff Hassan Sheikh Aden Speaker of the Transitional Federal Parliament
Witnessed by: .................................................................................. ...................................................................
H.E. Yoweri Kaguta Museveni President of the Republic of Uganda
Dr Augustine P Mahiga Special Representative of the Secretary General of the United Nations

Post by Klaus »

RajeshA wrote: He belongs to Al-Shabaab.
He is an avowed political Islamist and I personally think he is the Ilyas Kashmiri equivalent in the ARS (Alliance for Somalian Reliberation). There seems to be a dichotomy as he shares a fascination (or fetish?) for the Sufi faith alongside his peer Hassan Awais (rather Aweys), shura head of Hizbul and ICU, both of which are Wahhabisation fronts.

Post by Klaus »

shiv wrote: How? Do you have any details about this chap?
India will have to get several "field and ops ready" intelligence agents to chase down threads of ARS, ICU and Somali Islamic Front and their businesses operating in Asmara to Uganda and Dar es-Salaam. Plain vanilla military ops will not serve any purpose here. We need co-opting of these individuals to a state of very little activity, so that Somalia can be weaned away from Islamism.

Ethiopia must be cultivated on the sly as a form of gulag for Islamists.

Somehow I am skeptical of this business of "weaning away people from isiamism".

India has plenty of experience with Islamic estremists. They attack you and they will stay at war with you. The best reply to that is to kill them.

To me there is no political solution to Somalia. If we go in, we go in to kill anyone who opposes us. Those who don;t oppose us will get the usual - roads, schools and hospitals. Or else - we don't go in at all and just protect shipping.

I would prefer prate boats to be sunk and no announcement made to the media when that is done.

shiv wrote:I would prefer prate boats to be sunk and no announcement made to the media when that is done.
Usually, one would know of pirates when they attack other ships/boats. When they do attack, and Indian navy comes to the rescue of the attacked, the crewmen/passengers of the attacked ships would be witness to the whole encounter. It is difficult to keep it a secret then.

Even if Indian navy challenges just some boats/ships containing Somalis, who may have arms on board, and India sinks the boat, it is possible that the boat/ship may still have had the time to contact their mother ship or some other instance detailing the upcoming encounter, and as such others would know when an Indian ship sinks a Somali boat/ship. The news would still leak out.

Questions would be asked.

Klaus wrote:
shiv wrote: How? Do you have any details about this chap?
India will have to get several "field and ops ready" intelligence agents to chase down threads of ARS, ICU and Somali Islamic Front and their businesses operating in Asmara to Uganda and Dar es-Salaam. Plain vanilla military ops will not serve any purpose here. We need co-opting of these individuals to a state of very little activity, so that Somalia can be weaned away from Islamism.

Ethiopia must be cultivated on the sly as a form of gulag for Islamists.
Klaus ji,

very good points. These are deep networks - Islamists, jihadis, pirates, hawala, arms dealers, clans, sub-clans, wagerah, wagerah. Killing a few small pirate fry would do nothing to solve the problem. We need to build deep intelligence networks as well.

RajeshA wrote: Even if Indian navy challenges just some boats/ships containing Somalis, who may have arms on board, and India sinks the boat, it is possible that the boat/ship may still have had the time to contact their mother ship or some other instance detailing the upcoming encounter, and as such others would know when an Indian ship sinks a Somali boat/ship. The news would still leak out.

They can be denied of course. This policy is as feasible, and in my view safer than cultivating good pirates to do our job. Few nations would mourn the quiet sinking of troublesome pirates.

In any case, if we were to follow a good pirate/bad pirate policy we would be sinking bad pirates and not making media admissions that we are cultivating the good and sinking the bad. After all when the good pirates do their job we would hardly cheer and admit that we are in cahoots although news would certainly leak out about India's involvement in piracy as a few good pirates are captured and tortured, or bad pirates get in touch with their sponsors as their boat sinks.

I mention the "cultivate good pirates" idea only to say that I see it as a bad idea whose negatives have not even been mentioned while expounding the positives. I see that as a biased assessment.

RajeshA wrote: Even if Indian navy challenges just some boats/ships containing Somalis, who may have arms on board, and India sinks the boat, it is possible that the boat/ship may still have had the time to contact their mother ship or some other instance detailing the upcoming encounter, and as such others would know when an Indian ship sinks a Somali boat/ship. The news would still leak out.

They can be denied of course. This policy is as feasible, and in my view safer than cultivating good pirates to do our job. Few nations would mourn the quiet sinking of troublesome pirates.
shiv saar,

just doing some beta testing of all the ideas here, and I also appreciate your help in it!

Published on Jun 25, 2011
By Sabir Shah
Each Somali pirate earns around US$79,000 per annum: The News Pakistan

http://www.thenews.com.pk/TodaysPrintDetail.aspx?ID=54432&Cat=2&dt=6/25/2011
The ruthless Somali pirates earn up to US$79,000 each year or an amount approximately equivalent to Pakistani Rs 6.8 million per annum.

Quoting a study undertaken by an eminent political and economic intelligence consultancy company Geopolicity, a prestigious British daily “The Independent” had reported in its April 17, 2011 edition that the $79,000 per annum earning of Somali pirates was more than 150 times their country’s national average wage of $500.

The newspaper had reported: “Somali piracy was worth $238 million last year and is set to rise to $ 400 million by 2015. The costs of piracy could virtually double in that time -- from $83 billion in 2010 to more than $ 15 billion (£9.1 billion) by 2015. The continued growth of piracy, fuelled by organised and armed gangs using mother ships to enable them to attack further afield, could see the numbers of pirates, estimated to be at least 1,500, rise by up to 400 a year.”

The Independent added: “Somali pirates, typically armed with AK-47 assault rifles and rocket-propelled grenades, have become increasingly violent in recent months, killing and injuring dozens of hostages. Piracy has soared in the past five years, from 276 incidents in 2005 to 445 in 2010.”

The newspaper further viewed: “Attacks for the last quarter were at an all-time high, according to statistics from the International Maritime Bureau. There were 142 attacks between January and March 97 off the coast of Somalia up from 35 in the same period last year. Pirates seized 18 vessels worldwide, capturing more than 340 hostages in attacks in which seven crew members died and 34 were injured.”
Somali piracy is increasing every year. It has become extremely lucrative. It is costing the world a lot. So there would not be many tears shed by those who fell victim. You're correct with that.

The problem occurs when we however fail to make a statement about an encounter. If it comes out, and it most surely would from some source or the other, then we stand there naked, unable to answer why we did not tell the truth earlier. Why did we hide the fact, that we had an encounter. Usually it is considered normal for a government to put out a press release if there was some encounter. Of course, a government can present the details of the encounter in a manner which shows them in good light, but they still report an encounter. Failure to do so, would feed speculation that there was some "dal men kaala" and so we did not report. If it happens a couple of time, people would start speculating that we are a navy which kills Somalis indiscriminately. Now this goes against the UN Resolution, which talks about the use of proportionate force, which would lead some human rights organizations to criticize us, while still others, possibly in the Ummah, would take that criticism and make it into an Indian war on Muslims and what not.

So the weakness I see is in not reporting an incident. We can paint it the way we like, that is different.

Secondly the Somali pirates would know of our policy of simply sinking their ships and killing their fellow pirates. This is going to have a devastating effect on Indian sailors working as crewmen on various ships sailing through the Gulf of Aden. If they get caught, they too will be killed. How long can we then carry on with such a policy.

Please see Shri B. Raman's paper on this: Somali Pirates say they are at War with India.
shiv wrote:In any case, if we were to follow a good pirate/bad pirate policy we would be sinking bad pirates and not making media admissions that we are cultivating the good and sinking the bad. After all when the good pirates do their job we would hardly cheer and admit that we are in cahoots although news would certainly leak out about India's involvement in piracy as a few good pirates are captured and tortured, or bad pirates get in touch with their sponsors as their boat sinks.

I mention the "cultivate good pirates" idea only to say that I see it as a bad idea whose negatives have not even been mentioned while expounding the positives. I see that as a biased assessment.
Actually in the Good Pirate/Bad Pirate policy, India would be releasing a statement after every incident, whether real or staged.

We want to show the world, that we are doing something about Somali piracy, so we want to put out a statement about every hijacking-foiling, every capture, every death, every sinking.

Often Good Pirates would allow themselves to be captured by the Indian Navy in order to show the audience on the targeted ship that India came to their rescue, which is then spotlighted in the media. We turn over the Good Pirates to the Puntland Government and we collect our laurels. The pirates then come out through the revolving door. The word spreads among the Pirates, that allowing capture by Indian Navy is a good thing - the pirate gets back his freedom, his ship and often even his weapons. If that information reaches the Coalition, then it is a case of some incompetence and corruption of the Puntland government and not Indian Navy.

When India has an encounter with the Bad Pirates, all efforts would be to catch them alive and to confiscate their ships and weapons. The only difference in their treatment would be in the jails of the Puntland authorities. No Biryani for them and they will be locked up for a long long time. Again this would be publicized just like the cases with the Good Pirates. Again we collect our laurels.

In the seldom case, where there is exchange of fire, and India is forced to sink the boat with the pirates, in this case too we would be publicizing it, with the add-on that we regret the loss of life. That is for the international community. If there are witnesses they too would confirm that we were left with no choice, but to fight. To the Bad Pirates, we are sending the message that if they don't become Good Pirates, there is a price to pay.

I have mentioned earlier, that we can expect some rumors flying around that India is sympathetic to the pirates, etc. but there will be no proof. Indian Navy will not be dealing with Good Pirates directly. We will having middle men who will be telling the Good Pirates, that they have a few connections in the Indian Navy. So the Good Pirates too would only be knowing that there are a few "bad" apples in the Indian Navy, and not that it is Indian Navy policy. We will be having a couple of layers of proxies to mask our involvement.

The issue is that we make "full" disclosures on every incident that takes place on the open seas and show the international community that we have nothing to hide.

We will be hiding our duplicity in the full public glare.

RajeshA wrote: We will be hiding our duplicity in the full public glare.
Some one has learnt well from the Americans :wink: :lol:

Looking at the 2nd aspect of a possible Indian involvement in Somalia:

Establish Domination - we tell the world, we are going to keep an eye on the street thief, so we get in into his parents house, as a paying guest, we end up marrying the thief's sister, we collect the dowry and we park ourselves there as ghar-jamaai too.

First some visuals of what awaits Indians in Somalia (first the pleasure part, business part comes later):

supermodels of somalia

somalia's wicked models

Looking at the 2nd aspect of a possible Indian involvement in Somalia:

Some visuals of what awaits Indians in Somalia (now the business part):

Last edited by RajeshA on 28 Jun 2011 14:39, edited 1 time in total.

Published on Jan 18, 1993
By Mark Fineman
The Oil Factor in Somalia: LA Times
Far beneath the surface of the tragic drama of Somalia, four major U.S. oil companies are quietly sitting on a prospective fortune in exclusive concessions to explore and exploit tens of millions of acres of the Somali countryside.

That land, in the opinion of geologists and industry sources, could yield significant amounts of oil and natural gas if the U.S.-led military mission can restore peace to the impoverished East African nation.

According to documents obtained by The Times, nearly two-thirds of Somalia was allocated to the American oil giants Conoco, Amoco, Chevron and Phillips in the final years before Somalia's pro-U.S. President Mohamed Siad Barre was overthrown and the nation plunged into chaos in January, 1991. Industry sources said the companies holding the rights to the most promising concessions are hoping that the Bush Administration's decision to send U.S. troops to safeguard aid shipments to Somalia will also help protect their multimillion-dollar investments there.

Officially, the Administration and the State Department insist that the U.S. military mission in Somalia is strictly humanitarian. Oil industry spokesmen dismissed as "absurd" and "nonsense" allegations by aid experts, veteran East Africa analysts and several prominent Somalis that President Bush, a former Texas oilman, was moved to act in Somalia, at least in part, by the U.S. corporate oil stake.

But corporate and scientific documents disclosed that the American companies are well positioned to pursue Somalia's most promising potential oil reserves the moment the nation is pacified. And the State Department and U.S. military officials acknowledge that one of those oil companies has done more than simply sit back and hope for pece.

Here an overview of Puntland by an Australian company doing prospecting in Somalia

Puntland

Published on Jan 18, 2011
Somalia extends Africa Oil exploration licences: Reuters
Somalia's semi-autonomous Puntland region has extended exploration licences held by oil and gas explorer company Africa Oil Corp (AOI.V) and its partners for 12 more months, the company said.

Africa Oil and joint venture partners Range Resource Ltd. (RRL.AX) (RRS.AX) and Lion Energy LEO.V hold production-sharing agreements (PSAs) for the Dharoor Valley Exploration Area and the Nugaal Valley Exploration Area in Puntland.

Puntland has been relatively stable compared with the rest of the chaotic Horn of Africa nation.

Somaliland

The Development of Hydrocarbon and Mineral Resources
A report published by the United Nations (UNIDO, 1988) states, “One fact that has been established beyond doubt is that Somalia is rich in mineral wealth which needs to be unearthed”. The share of Somaliland in this mineral wealth is enormous. The report indicates that geological surveys have established the existence of the following minerals in the northern regions (i.e. Somaliland ): gypsum/anhydrite, quartz, gold, kyanite (mercuric chloride), lead-barite, poli-metallic mineralization (lead, copper and zinc ) and coal. The existence of some of these minerals has also been confirmed in a book written by Brian White, a British geologist familiar with the country. The UN report even mentions some of the locations of these minerals. For example, quartz is found in the lafarug-Da’arbudug area, gold-quartz mineralization occurs in several locations in the vicinity of Hargeisa, the gypsum deposit is near Berbera, coal is in the Sanag region and the poli-metallic mineral formations, kyanite and lead-barite all occur along the basement complex i.e. the Gollis range. Other reports also indicate the existence of all kinds of gemstones such as rubies, beryl, emerald, aquamarine, etc.
Somebody who had seen the Chinese in Hargeisa told me that they were extremely interested in the search for oil in Somaliland . Moreover the Chinese were eager to do the work without waiting for diplomatic recognition.

Published on Jan 13, 2011
By Dalmar Kaahin
Somalia: Puntland´s Anti-piracy Forces—Smokescreen for Hunting Oil & Minerals Unlawfully: American Chronicle
In 2005, as soon as the Range Resources, a dubious Australian mining company, signed an agreement with Puntland to explore hydrocarbons in eastern Sanag province of Somaliland, not Puntland, a fighting between the Warsangeli clan that inhabits the area and the Puntland´s dominant Majeerteen clan erupted. Although a deadly battle raged, at least ten local Warsangeli clan members lost their lives, the locals successfully repelled the invading Puntland militia.

Meanwhile, greedy Range Resources, as hungry as locusts, respected not bounds. Knowing that eastern Sanag region falls within Somaliland boundaries, nonetheless, the company swooped down on Somaliland territory unlawfully and instantly began exploring it.

On the other hand, Somaliland protested against Range Resources´ illegal entry into the country but avoided getting embroiled into a conflict with Puntland militia, in order to apprehend the trespassing foreign employees. In January 2006, the former Somaliland Foreign Minister, Abdullahi Mohamed Duale issued a stern warning to the Range Resources. He stated," They cannot enter Somaliland, nor carry out exploration or mining activities in our country, and if they should do so, will face whatever action that Somaliland deems necessary to protect the integrity of its territory."

But Somaliland´s patience soon paid off. The eastern Sanag inhabitants, furious of how the deal was truck and how their natural resources were divided between Puntland leaders, took up arms.

Gen. Mohamud Muse Hersi a.k.a Gen. Adde, then the governor of Puntland, supposed to receive one-third of any oil profits, where his clan´s man Col. Abdullahi Yussuf, the president of Somalia at the time, claimed another one-third. The local Warsangeli clan members who collaborated with Puntland to pillage their natural resources supposed to receive only one-third of the profit. Almost, 70% of profit was divided between Gen. Adde and Col. Yussuf. Righteously, through the eyes of the Warsangeli people this was a bad deal. They got the shaft.
Gives an insight into the struggle going on in the border region between Somaliland and Puntland, and the chutzpah of the Australians. Oil, Oil, Oil!

India needs to get into the game. Perhaps we should consider the model of the monkey arbitrating between the two cats.