Page 5 of 33

Re: Serial Blasts in Mumbai

Posted: 13 Jul 2011 20:45
by abhishekm
If any politician or mediaguy talks about the "spirit of mumbai" I am going to shove an IED up his/her musharraf :shock:

Posted: 13 Jul 2011 20:46
by KrishG
shiv wrote:A few days I ago I made a post (can't locate it now) that went something like this
shiv wrote: Why has there been a decrease in the number of terror attacks? The possibilities are
1. Aman ki tamasha is working
2. US is paying Pakistan not to attack
3. Pakistan has had change of heart
I think No 2 above is correct.
If this is indeed correct then what troubles me is the amount of time in which LeT-ISI is able to execute such attacks. The aid cutoff announcement came just less than a week ago. Normally such attacks takes a month or more of planning. Doesn't it?

by archan
Rudradev wrote:Cell phone networks are working. Just spoke to my father. He and my mother (aged 79 and 76) were actually shopping at Dadar Market, near Kabootarkhana. They heard one of the devices go off, a car bomb, and felt the blast wave from about 100m away. My parents were unharmed, for which I thank the gods, but (as could be expected) Kabootarkhana was extremely crowded and casualties are bound to be high. :( Police were very professional in clearing the area of those not injured, so as to assist victims and collect forensic evidence efficiently.
Thank God they were unharmed. Oh my toothless nation...

by Mihaylo
Lalmohan wrote:in most other countries, right now - people would be putting their political views aside and focusing instead on supporting their police, armed forces and leaders to find out what happened and bring the perpetrators to justice. anger would be focused outwards. the time for blame is later.

c'mon BRF, you can do better
Most other countries would have exacted revenge for all the terrorists attacks. Political view and blame game is perfectly fine in India since it does not behave (in such circumstances) like most other countries.

-M

Posted: 13 Jul 2011 20:47
by shiv
suryag wrote:Yeah Hakimji I dont like you because of the nazar you put in that post of yours
I knew people would feel that way. But then if we are talking of nazar we cab go one step further and say bomb blasts are "naseeb" and we cannot do anything. So as a policy I say balls to nazar.

All this nazar, naseeb, fate, evil eye etc are bullshit. How come nazar fails in USA no matter how many red alerts they have?

by Vashishtha
JUST yesterday, was at a family friends place and he was talking about terrorism.... He went on to say that the intel agencies had 'become tough' and i countered him with shiv's number 2 option above... laughed me off as 'a kid'.... I need to give him a call now!!!

by suryag
Lalmohan wrote:in most other countries, right now - people would be putting their political views aside and focusing instead on supporting their police, armed forces and leaders to find out what happened and bring the perpetrators to justice. anger would be focused outwards. the time for blame is later.

Braf the problem is we(aam public) are impotent when it comes to bringing perpetrators to justice because people we elect almost always are inept, what choice does it leave us

Posted: 13 Jul 2011 20:49
by Kersi D
Rajiv Lather wrote:Oh our Great India - yet again NSG bomb disposal team and forensic team is being flown from Delhi. We, in this time and age can't have such teams spread in about 10 big cities? I hope the NSG does not have to wait while they find a plane to fly them. I feel like banging my head.
No. Don't you know that Dilli is to be well protected ? The rest of India can go to hell !

by Lalmohan
this attack would have been given the go-ahead just after abbotabad
since then the situation between unkil and abdul has deteriorated
yesterday the paquis said they would withdraw troops from pashtunistan if the americans didn't pay
so now they are guaranteeing that the army cannot stay in pashtunistan by creating a causus belli that delhi (or the mango yindoo) can no longer ignore

by shaardula
the level of desensitization is amazing. 13 people are dead and hundreds injured. instead of focusing on the tragedy that this is, we are discussing tangentials.

Posted: 13 Jul 2011 20:51
by Manish_P
Had meetings in 2 of the 3 areas today but got postponed due to heavy rains. And actually happened to be next to the Zaveri bazaar area about 15 mins before the blast there. Still only got the news half an hour later when i was in the train on way back home, as the cell phone lines were jammed. (Incidentally had escaped the 2006 train blasts even more closely).

What perplexed me is why the railways stopped the regular announcement at railway stations asking people to be vigilant and report unattended or suspicious objects. They restarted it only after an hour by which time all sorts of rumours has started doing the rounds.

The two instant reactions i got said a lot of the state of affairs here and the dejection of the people.

The first reaction when i said i mentioned that i was in the area next to the zaveri market was that 'But Sir you were in the safest area!' (the area i was in is a predominantly minority community area)

Another reaction was that 'This is just a small incident and will be forgotten by the end of the month. After all no foreigners or five star hotel big shots were killed eh'

Feeling sad but life, and death, goes on in Mumbai

Posted: 13 Jul 2011 20:53
by Dmurphy
Manish_P wrote:The two instant reactions i got said a lot of the state of affairs here and the dejection of the people.

The first reaction when i said i mentioned that i was in the area next to the zaveri market was that 'But Sir you were in the safest area!' (the area i was in is a predominantly minority community area)

Another reaction was that 'This is just a small incident and will be forgotten by the end of the month. After all no foreigners or five star hotel big shots were killed eh'

Feeling sad but life, and death, goes on in Mumbai
Sad indeed.

Posted: 13 Jul 2011 20:54
by shiv
shaardula wrote:the level of desensitization is amazing. 13 people are dead and hundreds injured. instead of focusing on the tragedy that this is, we are discussing tangentials.
Saar - 2 days ago there was a train accident after a blast on the tracks (Guwahati Puri express) . We did not even discuss it here - although I added the new item to the list of terror attacks. "Sensitivity" is variable onlee

Posted: 13 Jul 2011 20:55
by Gus
KrishG wrote:If this is indeed correct then what troubles me is the amount of time in which LeT-ISI is able to execute such attacks. The aid cutoff announcement came just less than a week ago. Normally such attacks takes a month or more of planning. Doesn't it?
I don't think it would take months for this kind of attack. Materials are probably already in safehouses and not needed to be sourced after decision is made. Cells are already there with people (pakis + SIMI/IM types). This is not a suicide attack that needs to time the motivational jihad correctly. And not a heavy explosion material that is intended to kill hundreds (which needs more planning for the return of "investment"). This looks like just a warning (if that's all there is and no more blasts).

Posted: 13 Jul 2011 20:56
by manum

Last time I was there around CST where crowd were massacred...those train blasts occured...
What did they do? Don't teach us political correctness in matters of grief...we need a example where we did anything except keeping restraint...

I am not sure if we are blaming...but don't expect us to be reasonable, we never been given reasons to hold them in such matters by our government....

Posted: 13 Jul 2011 20:57
by Baikul
Rudradev wrote:Cell phone networks are working. Just spoke to my father. He and my mother (aged 79 and 76) were actually shopping at Dadar Market, near Kabootarkhana. They heard one of the devices go off, a car bomb, and felt the blast wave from about 100m away. My parents were unharmed, for which I thank the gods, but (as could be expected) Kabootarkhana was extremely crowded and casualties are bound to be high. :( Police were very professional in clearing the area of those not injured, so as to assist victims and collect forensic evidence efficiently.
I am glad your parents are safe.

My prayers go out to those affected.

Posted: 13 Jul 2011 20:57
by Yayavar
Kersi D wrote:
Rajiv Lather wrote:Oh our Great India - yet again NSG bomb disposal team and forensic team is being flown from Delhi. We, in this time and age can't have such teams spread in about 10 big cities? I hope the NSG does not have to wait while they find a plane to fly them. I feel like banging my head.
No. Don't you know that Dilli is to be well protected ? The rest of India can go to hell !

Kersi, I share your anguish...but as an aside, the aam aadmi in Dilli is equally vulnerable.

Posted: 13 Jul 2011 20:58
by Kersi D
Dmurphy wrote:This is sickening. Some of you lowlifes are using this as an opportunity to get back at the Govt/Congress for whatever reasons. Shame on you, calling yourselves Rakshaks. Which Govt. would want their citizens to die such brutal death? Which Govt want such negative attention over and above what has been happening to them in the past one year. Get a life, suckers.
Come on Mr D Murphy. Let us accept the ground realities.

I agree that it is childish to hit back at the GOI, Congress etc. at this moment of crisis, but....

WHAT HAS THE GOI AND CONGRESS (read Sonia Gandhi) DONE FOR THE SECURITY OF THE CITIZENS ?

I dare say that the GOI (and Congress) is least bothered about the country. SG just wants to ensure that RG becomes the PM by next election. So do not upset the apple cart. do not do anything that may affect RG becoming the next PM like attack the terrorists stongholds in Pak or Bangladesh or affect the Muslim vote banks.

For that matter what has the Govt of Maharashtra done for its citizens ?
Chase the bas girls away form Mumbai ?
Raise the liquor drinking age to 25 years ?

How has this helped the common man ? Where is the Force One, or some ATS group to be set up within x months after the 26/11 ?

Posted: 13 Jul 2011 20:59
by devesh
condolences to the families of the victims, and praying for the fast recovery of the injured. may Krishna with Sudarshana become a dominant force in the intelligence agencies very soon.

Posted: 13 Jul 2011 20:59
by Dilbu
For the 10000th time I will only say "we need covert ops to counter this". Thanks you. No more words from me today as I don't want to get banned.

Posted: 13 Jul 2011 21:02
by devesh
shyamd ji
hope you stay on for a long long time on BRF. your perspective on MENA is informative, even if sometimes I might not agree.

Rudradev ji,
glad to know your parents are doing fine. I have grand parents of the same age and shudder to think of anything like that happening to them.

Posted: 13 Jul 2011 21:02
by ramana
TSP has to formally attack India with their military to get a response. India wont fall for the deniable Non state actor attack like US did after 9/11. No goinng to bail them out of their misery. It has to be official harakiri.

If they attack formally many options will be available.

Massa will be neutralized. Right now Massa can be on both sides.

Posted: 13 Jul 2011 21:03
by Klaus
It is uncanny seeing the number of BRFites and their kith and kin who have had a close shave today. Hope all of you continue to stay safe.

Comparing to 26/11 or German Bakery timeline, the conditions in Af-Pak are very different now. This seems like TSP's refusal to confront the Pashtun question, could have even been planned after Orions got fried in Mehran.

Posted: 13 Jul 2011 21:03
by Shrinivasan
anupmisra wrote:Lets not jump to conclusion if it was the pakis or SIMI or local political parties. Stay calm and focused.
PAK ISI and SIMI as one and the same... just semantics...

Posted: 13 Jul 2011 21:04
by rajanb
saip wrote:
BijuShet wrote:Folks humble request only, please stop the cheap shots at the UPA govt at this time. These dont add value to this thread. Let us collect all the info here. All of us are hurting and we know about the short comings of our current Govt so no point rehashing the same old comments at this time of tragedy.
I Agree.
Can we have another thread for CTs, speculations, accusations and frivolous posts and leave this thread strictly for news -- PLEASE?
+ >100,000

I totally agree with you. This the time when we should be "Indians first and Indians last". Those who are taking potshots at anyone, at this moment of tragedy of those who have lost near and dear ones, are the first to have satisfied the forces behind this attack.

I have a confession to make. I believe that politics "is the refuge of scoundrels"

So I have no respect for any politician regardless of party, colour, caste, religion or creed. There are a few individual politicians I respect.

A leader should be one delivering good governance, a statesman and then an astute politician who keeps country before party or self. A dead extinct species.

So chill it guys, unless you want to give the perpetuators of this crime what they want most: SATISFACTION.

Posted: 13 Jul 2011 21:06
by Rahul M
Kukreja wrote:
shyamd wrote:HT reporting says NSG team flying to Mumbai.
i thought there was supposed to be a NSG team already stationed in Mumbai. is this for additional NSG forces?
it is most probably experts from NSG run national bomb data centre. mumbai has its own share of commandos now and this one does not need commandos.

Posted: 13 Jul 2011 21:07
by Dmurphy
Kersi sir, respect you. May be what you just said is true, but how many of 'them' do you think are bothered about what you think of them and what you're saying right now on BRF? I believe most of us here want to share news and perhaps see what we can deduce from what we know so far. How anti-GOI rants help during such times, i fail to understand. May be I'm naive as some you said. But I just don't see the sense.

Posted: 13 Jul 2011 21:07
by Vashishtha
13 dead and 81 injured.....

So far there has only been speculation from the IB that it might have been IM/LET..... How come there is no 'email' or 'letter' claiming responsibility? Shouldn't that have come by now?

Posted: 13 Jul 2011 21:09
by Kersi D
Mihaylo wrote:
Vipin_Upadhyay wrote:brilliant police of Mumbai have done "Naakabandi" with vehicles being checked :roll:
I have never really understood what the objective of a 'naakabandi' is. Unless, they know who they are looking for, or a particular vehicle, what are they hoping to find ? ?

-M
I had a small stroll about an hour ago. There is NO nakabnadi as such. The police are simply directing the traffic away for the affected areas and ensuring a smooth flow of vehicles. Almost all the shops in Prathna Samaj, Girgaum are shut and traffic is sparse

Posted: 13 Jul 2011 21:10
by Shrinivasan
Dmurphy wrote:This is sickening. Some of you lowlifes are using this as an opportunity to get back at the Govt/Congress for whatever reasons. Shame on you, calling yourselves Rakshaks. Which Govt. would want their citizens to die such brutal death? Which Govt want such negative attention over and above what has been happening to them in the past one year. Get a life, suckers.
Do you remember Anti Sikh riots engineered by Congress. Every Riot in Independant India can be traced to Congress Party

by saip
There is what appears to be a live feed on NDTV

http://www.samachar.com/Reports-of-mult ... ifbcd.html

by Hari Seldon
shaardula wrote:the level of desensitization is amazing. 13 people are dead and hundreds injured. instead of focusing on the tragedy that this is, we are discussing tangentials.
Saar, such is life. Lest we forget there're Indians in Asom who may well say that a major explosion that flattened the Guwahati city center and left casuality figs in 3 digits recently didn't merit a fraction of the hyperventilating media attn, political posturing from Dilli or, why, even a separate thread in BRF. Its as if nobody cared enough to even pretend concern only. One can go on and on like that, I guess.

by Kersi D
Rajiv Lather wrote:Hats off to Mumbai police, emergency services and people. No panic, no fear and quick and effective action. Distinct improvement in timing and manner of response.
As much as I think that Mumbai Police is corrupt, I think in times of crisis they are second to none, even world wide.

by Rajiv Lather
No way this was planned earlier than 5-6 days. Either ISI or CIA - will know for sure depending on how things work out between the US and Pakistan. Either it is pressure-release by ISI or pressure-increase by CIA.

Casualties 17 dead; 102 injured.

Posted: 13 Jul 2011 21:11
by Sanku
Dmurphy wrote:How anti-GOI rants help during such times, i fail to understand..
Catharsis.

When there are no options left taking even the right to lament is horrible, to say the least.

Posted: 13 Jul 2011 21:11
by Chandragupta
Please Rakshaks, enough potshots at Delhi. Scoring self goals seems to be in fashion at BR these days. Sarojini Nagar is still fresh in some people's minds. An Indian life is an Indian life, in Delhi, Mumbai or Timbaktu and must be avenged a 100 times over. Every tear of an Indian mother must be avenged with blood of 100 Paki bhenchods.

For those who are defending this chakki government, desh is at its lowest at a time when these chutiyas are ruling over us. Lathi charging our own helpless women & children at midnight and then blaming Mafia & local groups when Pakistan kills Indians in cold blood ON indian territory??

Posted: 13 Jul 2011 21:13
by Kersi D
RoyG wrote:So will we finally hit back? :roll:
:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Posted: 13 Jul 2011 21:14
by sanjeevpunj
My heart goes out again and yet again for all who are injured or dead. Let there be healing for the injured, and let there be action, to prevent recurrences of these events.

Posted: 13 Jul 2011 21:18
by anishns
@Rudradev

Glad to know your parents are safe and sound.
I am in a similar situation as you....but, my parents were in Andheri and they got the news about the blasts from me after I called them!

I told them to simply stay put at home

Posted: 13 Jul 2011 21:18
by saip
CCTV cameras. How widespread are they in that area? Heard at least one blast might have been captured. So it might have captured the perps too.