Why hung up on Telengana? There can be any combination of areas/districts that can be used for small states, if there are advantages with smaller states in terms of governance, economic development, national unity, no bad blood.Satya_anveshi wrote:Now, look at your logicShyamSP wrote:[quote="Satya_anveshi"
“The RSS has always held that creating a few more states for better development and convenience of administration, without affecting national unity and without creating bad blood between people, is always welcome,” /quote]
It could be any combination of districts/areas need not be Telengana. Tvadis already created bad blood by threatening people in Hyderabad and Telengana areas.
This falls into what I said, without the other side agreeing, Telengana is not possible.:
creation of smaller states for better development and convenience of administration without affecting national unity is a welcome change. Then why were people objecting to it if this was in the interest of the region and India?
What caused the bad blood? Whoever it is, punish them. But create smaller states. You cannot punish the entire region for decades and centuries and nullify the advantage of smaller states because of few people indulging in voilence.
Shouldn't everyone go home happily with two states? Or is it that you have problem with even the first part of the sentence?
Telangana Monitor
Re: Telangana Monitor
Regarding MIM undecided or Muslims offlate saying that they will go with Telangana one needs to understand the dynamics there. If they say no, they are dead and they have to save their lives and not about future dominance. Under the current atmosphere they do not have the option of going against the wind in the places where they are living.
Here also same dance is going on. MIM does not like the split for a very different reason and if he says it bluntly, they will be butchered and Jagan's henchmen also will join the butchers just like his late dad did during Babri demolition.
Christians also goes with the wind on either side of split. Go with the wind otherwise there is no tomorrow...
Sorry to be insensitive on this topic but that is the ground.
Here also same dance is going on. MIM does not like the split for a very different reason and if he says it bluntly, they will be butchered and Jagan's henchmen also will join the butchers just like his late dad did during Babri demolition.
Christians also goes with the wind on either side of split. Go with the wind otherwise there is no tomorrow...
Sorry to be insensitive on this topic but that is the ground.
ShyamSP, you are going in circles and doing innumerable flip-flops. I cannot hold hand for so long. This is my last with you on this topic.
This is your statement:
ShyamSP wrote: TDP still says they are for Telengana. They also say that there needs to be discussion and agreement. You need to understand the latter part.

Regarding your "discussion and agreement part", refer to this post of mine quoting CB Naidu:ShyamSP wrote:TDP said they were for Telengana in 2009 elections. They lost election and so were not keen on the subject after elections from electoral view point.
“The TDP is committed for the welfare of Telugu people and it also respects the sentiments and self-respect of people of Telangana,” he said.
Naidu denied that his party changed the stand in view of the coming elections and pointed out that the process of reconsidering the stand began after 2004 elections.
“We have taken a decision after looking into all aspects and a thorough debate,”
You tell me. It is you who was curious about MIM's stand?ShyamSP wrote: Why is 12% holding GOI from shedding a lot of headaches in India
CBN is giving highest priority to party unity. Read the article below.
TDP deputes Yanamala, Revuri to present its view
The Opposition Telugu Desam Party (TDP) has deputed Narasampet MLA Revuri Prakash Reddy and former Assembly speaker Yanamala Ramakrishnudu for the all-party meeting convened by the Centre on the Telangana issue in Delhi on Tuesday.
Party chief N Chandrababu Naidu, after consulting party’s senior leaders from Telangana and Andhra regions, cleared their names.
According to sources, the TDP will not deviate from its pro-Telangana stand. Yanamala Ramakrishnudu, who belongs to the Andhra region, is unlikley to press for a United Andhra and more likely to blame the Congress for the unrest in the State.
The party’s line of argument is going to be that Chidambaram’s Dec 9 statement is responsible for the political crisis gripping the State and the Congress, being the ‘‘culprit,’’ should resolve the issue. Party leaders hope that this way, the party will get a clean image while putting the onus on the Congress.
As for its own stand on the Telangana issue, the TDP will more or less adopt the same policy as the Congress.
‘‘We will ask the Congress to speak first tomorrow. The same stand will be followed by the TDP,’’ a party senior told Express.
According to sources, Revuri Prakash Reddy will press for a separate Telangana and demand that the Centre expedite the process for its creation. A TDP Telangana leader said the party would present its pro- Telangana stand at the Delhi meet.
Several leaders from Andhra were part of the core committee and politburo, when the party took a pro-Telangana stand, he pointed out.
Ramakrishnudu, however, did not spell out what his assignment would be in Delhi tomorrow and left without speaking to mediapersons. “I will speak to you after the talks in Delhi tomorrow,” he said.
Prakash Reddy is a former House Committee chairman on GO 610. As the Congress representative from Telangana N Uttam Kumar Reddy too had worked as chairman of the House Committee on GO 610, the TDP decided to depute a leader with a similar background. Reddy had also submitted his resignation as an MLA, immediately after the second statement of Chidambaram.
TDP deputes Yanamala, Revuri to present its view
The Opposition Telugu Desam Party (TDP) has deputed Narasampet MLA Revuri Prakash Reddy and former Assembly speaker Yanamala Ramakrishnudu for the all-party meeting convened by the Centre on the Telangana issue in Delhi on Tuesday.
Party chief N Chandrababu Naidu, after consulting party’s senior leaders from Telangana and Andhra regions, cleared their names.
According to sources, the TDP will not deviate from its pro-Telangana stand. Yanamala Ramakrishnudu, who belongs to the Andhra region, is unlikley to press for a United Andhra and more likely to blame the Congress for the unrest in the State.
The party’s line of argument is going to be that Chidambaram’s Dec 9 statement is responsible for the political crisis gripping the State and the Congress, being the ‘‘culprit,’’ should resolve the issue. Party leaders hope that this way, the party will get a clean image while putting the onus on the Congress.
As for its own stand on the Telangana issue, the TDP will more or less adopt the same policy as the Congress.
‘‘We will ask the Congress to speak first tomorrow. The same stand will be followed by the TDP,’’ a party senior told Express.
According to sources, Revuri Prakash Reddy will press for a separate Telangana and demand that the Centre expedite the process for its creation. A TDP Telangana leader said the party would present its pro- Telangana stand at the Delhi meet.
Several leaders from Andhra were part of the core committee and politburo, when the party took a pro-Telangana stand, he pointed out.
Ramakrishnudu, however, did not spell out what his assignment would be in Delhi tomorrow and left without speaking to mediapersons. “I will speak to you after the talks in Delhi tomorrow,” he said.
Prakash Reddy is a former House Committee chairman on GO 610. As the Congress representative from Telangana N Uttam Kumar Reddy too had worked as chairman of the House Committee on GO 610, the TDP decided to depute a leader with a similar background. Reddy had also submitted his resignation as an MLA, immediately after the second statement of Chidambaram.
Sure. Get me a list of states where there is demand? Let's see what kind of history and legitimacy they have.ShyamSP wrote:Why hung up on Telengana? There can be any combination of areas/districts that can be used for small states, if there are advantages with smaller states in terms of governance, economic development, national unity, no bad blood.
Telangana gets Naxal twist
Ahead of the all-party meeting on the Telangana issue tomorrow, the security establishment is learnt to have made it known to the political leadership that smaller states have so far only benefited the Maoists and this should be factored in while taking any such step in Andhra Pradesh.
“Remnants of the Maoist movement are strongest in Telengana so any break-up of the state (Andhra) will help them,” said a source.
According to the security assessment given to Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, the creation of Chhattisgarh and Jharkhand helped Maoists entrench better, as they took advantage of administrative problems in a new state.
Sorry if posted earlier. Excellent analysis from JP (Loksatta).
http://news.loksatta.org/2009/12/ninete ... -over.html
To understand the tumult in Andhra Pradesh now, one should imagine what would happen in Tamil Nadu if a new state of North Tamil Nadu, along with Chennai, is carved out; or the consternation in Karnataka if South Karnataka with Bengaluru is carved out as a separate State.
For the first time, a region with a large capital city wants to separate as a State. So far, every demand for a new State has been from far-flung areas away from the State capital. Hyderabad is not just another city. It is on par with Chennai and Bengaluru, and with 85 lakh people, accounts for over 25 per cent of the population of Telangana and 60 per cent of the economy of the region. Millions from all over the country and the various regions of AP have made it their home.
Every significant political, business or civil society leader has made Hyderabad home, and is emotionally attached to the city, even if the political base may be elsewhere. In such a situation, the all-too-casual approach to separate Statehood is calamitous.
Large, unviable lift irrigation projects — at a capital cost of Rs 3-4 lakh per acre and Rs 40,000 per year per acre maintenance cost — have been unwisely proposed in Telangana. They will be a permanent drain on the economy of the region, undermining it without ensuring benefits.
This talk about drawing analogies with hypothetical bifurcation of TN is idiotic and asking for trouble (you never know some JA would actually latch on to it ) ; and isn't it ironical that whole Telangana exploited propaganda in media was centered around isolated and over development of Hyderabad onlee
Don't know what to say .

Isn't that the gist of this discussion, we were and are being exploited so we want the separate state. But we want the most developed and revenue generating City in the state since it falls under our region.
If they were exploited and not developed and will do better with separation, why do they want Hyderabad ???

ramana wrote:Centre Strategies for today's Meet....The tutorial for Reddy was along predictable lines: Telangana has been victimised, it has just one medical college, no irrigation, the Finance Commission must recognise it, we eat biryani, they eat rice, we drink tea, they want coffee... we’re different,
So the TFTA biryani eating, tea drinking Telanganavadis want seperation because they are "different" from the SDRE rice eating coffee drinking Andhras ? Where did we hear that before ?

The more i try to ignore any parallels, the more it is becoming obvious !
http://www.deccanchronicle.com/hyderaba ... hungry-173
Just read this article and make up your mind on the viability of the LIFT irrigation projects in Telangana regions. Atleast now the burden on this massive subsidy will be borne by all the AP taxpayers. With separate Telangana, only Hyd will be left to fund these projects.
Hyderabad
July 2: The state government is flummoxed by the huqe quantity of electricity needed to power the 29 lift irrigation projects that will come into operation. In all, the projects will need 8,254 megawatts once they come into operation over the next eight years. This is more than the total state consumption of power of 8,200 MW.
Baffled by the massive requirement, the government is now planning to go slow in the execution of the projects, while ramping up generation.
Just three projects — the Pranahita-Chevella, Dummugudem-Nagarjunasagar tail pond pumping scheme and Kantanapally Sujala Sravanthi — need 5,400 MW power. The Nettempadu, Kalwakurty and Devadula projects are nearing completion but Transco is yet to make arrangements for 1,200 MW to run them.
Lift irrigation projects like Pushkara, Tadipudi, Gutpa, Alisagar, Vakatanagaram and Guru Raghavendra, which have already been commissioned, requires just 70 MW power.
To offset this huge demand, APGenco has planned to add nearly 2,000 MW in capacity. Some of the power will be used for the lift irrigation projects.
The 120-MW hydroelectric scheme is getting ready along with the Pulichintala irrigation project. The first of its three units will be ready by September 2009. The Polavaram hydroelectric project will add 960 MW capacity; its first two units of 80 MW each are expected to be commissioned by 2011. The 312-MW Dummugudem hydroelectric project has received techno-economic clearance and work would start soon. The Singareddypally hydroelectric scheme has five units of 40 MW each.
“In five years, Genco will be able to generate more than 2,000 MW from hydel stations which will reduce overall cost of power generation,” said Mr Ajay Jain, the APGenco MD.
Re: States News and Discussions
All-party meet on Telangana begins
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 412231.cms
Comments: Telangana people wants to have their own state. Andhra coastal people gracefully give this through political negotiation rather than showing them a dead end.
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 412231.cms
Comments: Telangana people wants to have their own state. Andhra coastal people gracefully give this through political negotiation rather than showing them a dead end.
Pardon this party pooper. He's too cynical to buy anything.
Your solution that he needs to migrate elsewhere is not a solution. These deviation tactics used by indians on indians themselves is very sad.
No need to equal-equal this. I know you have already made up your mind. And that is to blame telangana or atleast equal-equal it.
All this BS and you turn around, wink and call on me to get over the complex hehe. You think im a rookie don't you? Baby, i've been slugging it off on the internet even before you had a damn VSNL dail up connection.
I didn't. I quoted it directly from your previous post and added italic tags to it.a_kumar wrote:Ok.. At least do me the favor of not putting words in my mouth.
You think you can setup traps and expect me to fall in? And then accuse me for not taking the bait as some supposed part of my incapability and tell me to move on. You make me laugh. Stop it. lol.a_kumar wrote:If you don't have a response or don't want to respond, then fine, don't respond to that part of my post and move on to what your are comfortable with.. at least that will keep the SNR from falling.
Why does a person need to migrate? It's because of the lack of opportunities in his own region.a_kumar wrote:To another part of Telangana (Hyd) and not the "so called" rich parts of Rayalaseema and Coastel Andhra.
Your solution that he needs to migrate elsewhere is not a solution. These deviation tactics used by indians on indians themselves is very sad.
I was done for a reason. If you evaluate the entire telangana region, it seems to be performing if not stagnant. Take out hyderabad from that equation and you get a totally opposite picture and satya even talked about this in the earlier posts. It is what i call, a smart "systematic deprivation". You can ignore these claims as long as you want and look the other way. But it won't go away.a_kumar wrote:And for a good reason. All the investments and development of the state have been focused and centered around one part of Telangana and not in Vijayawada/Vizag.
Inferiority is a weapon that encourages arrogance.a_kumar wrote:This basically pricks the sense of victimhood that T-vadis have gulped hook line and sinker.
No need to be a gentlemen. It's just you and me. We've already stepped in the guttur.a_kumar wrote:But folks like you (and me by extension) will have to shoulder most of the blame for not working towards better governance/development and I haven't heard you or Satya garu say that out loud once.
No need to equal-equal this. I know you have already made up your mind. And that is to blame telangana or atleast equal-equal it.
Nope. Since your can't be candid enough for me and i've taken the liberty to mash all your rhetoric in one simple line. I see you didn't like that. The only thing left for you to do was to object by whining about putting words in my mouth. Your participation on this thread is for one purpose and one purpose only. I thanked you for the very first post on this subject. Obviously, i should have waited.a_kumar wrote:Again, putting words in my mouth and pushing SNR low.
The disparity!! But the uneducated becomes educated some day right? It's time has come. What better place than here? What better time than now? From all your KCR whining, i reckon you definitely do not like the movement at all.a_kumar wrote:What is so difficut to understand? There was no activism for development/governance (not from you, not from socalled T-vadis), which IMO is the right cure for the projected problems.
Off track? Baby, you brought the world in this and tell me that i don't get it? As if the weight of india development rests on telanagana's shoulders? That's real cute. Read your posts before you post them. I don't think your posting it for me, your posting it for your little audience here. Your drag me in your pathetic squabbles and cry foul for the world to hear.a_kumar wrote:You are completely off track. That whole diatribe was to say, "While squabbling on these wrong fixes, we are lagging behind as the whole world moves on". If you get it you get, otherwise, leave it at that.
First, you can tell your kosta brothers to stop calling the telangana stock inferior. If your not sure what i mean, look back a few pages and witness the dozen or so rantings calling the movement as a movement of a few inferiors. Then there are the occasional one's calling telangana's as paki's.a_kumar wrote:Man.. you really need to get over the complex.
All this BS and you turn around, wink and call on me to get over the complex hehe. You think im a rookie don't you? Baby, i've been slugging it off on the internet even before you had a damn VSNL dail up connection.
Your talking to me or are you talking to your audience again?a_kumar wrote:Again I don't blame you.
I do not follow KCR. I do not even know what his son's name is. Im not the one infatuated with KCR. Are you? You must be. KCR, KCR. KCR likes mutton biryani. KCR likes idli sambhar. KCR wears an aluminum foil on his head. KCR said this. KCR said that. Phoey...a_kumar wrote:all you are left with is rhetoric of KCR
Democratic noose. Telangana is outnumbered by 2-1. We need to get out that noose first.a_kumar wrote:What noose?
Last edited by anuj on 05 Jan 2010 15:00, edited 6 times in total.
Anuj
You are walking a very slippery slope here. I encourage you to cool it and read posts for a while before responding. BR is not some irani chai-ka-adda
Do you realize how perfect this is? This stage where we are today, do you think it is a co-incidence? The congress played it. They have the AP congress by it's balls. Again, do you think it is a co-incidence?ramana wrote:The question to be asked why did he take such a step? Why did he overstep the traditional role of the Home Minister?
Thank you for the advise.SandeepA wrote:Anuj
source: press info bureau
http://www.pib.nic.in/release/release.asp?relid=56612
Consultations with eight recognised political parties of Andhra Pradesh on the issues arising out of the recent agitations in the State in favour of and against the separate state of Telangana began here today. In his opening statement at the meeting, the Union Home Minister, Shri P.Chidambaram stressed the need to maintain peace and harmony in the State while the consultations take place. Following is the text of his statement :-
“I welcome you to this consultation on the issues arising out of the recent agitations in Andhra Pradesh in favour of and against a separate State of Telangana.
We have invited the eight recognised political parties in Andhra Pradesh to this consultation. The founding fathers believed – and we believe – that parliamentary democracy is the best form of representative government and has the capacity to find solutions to all issues and problems. Debate, discussion and consultation are the best means to resolve differences and find answers. Political parties are integral to a parliamentary form of democracy. The wishes and aspirations of the people are reflected by the political parties. The argument that parliamentary democracy can be sustained without political parties is an argument that has to be stated to be rejected. Each one of you represents a recognised political party and, therefore, I would respectfully submit that each one of you bears a responsibility to help in resolving the differences and finding appropriate answers.
There are a number of misconceptions surrounding the issues that have brought us here today. There is a misconception that the Central Government acted in haste; that the political parties were not consulted; and that I, as Home Minister, acted as an individual. As you are well aware, none of these misconceptions is supported by facts, but I shall not waste your time refuting these misconceptions.
You are all aware of the long history behind the demand for a separate State of Telangana. It is sufficient to refer to the report of the States Reorganisation Commission; the Gentlemen’s Agreement of 1956 and the amendment of Article 371(1) of the Constitution; the Six Point Formula of 1973; and the introduction of Article 371D in the Constitution. More recently, in the elections to the State Assembly of Andhra Pradesh held in May, 2009, the political parties outlined their positions in their respective election manifestos. All this is in the public domain.
The Central Government was concerned when an agitation was started in November, 2009 demanding a separate State of Telangana. Quite rightly, the political parties in Andhra Pradesh were the first responders to the agitation. You are aware of the proceedings of the Business Advisory Committee of the Andhra Pradesh State Assembly on December 7, 2009 followed by the proceedings of the all party meeting convened by the Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh later in the evening of the same day.
I wish to reiterate that the first statement on behalf of the Central Government was made on the basis of the minutes of the all party meeting held on December 7, 2009.
It is true that the situation on the ground has altered significantly since the all party meeting of December 7, 2009 and the first statement on behalf of the Central Government on December 9, 2009. Taking note of the altered situation, on December 23, 2009, the Central Government promised to hold wide ranging consultations with all political parties and groups in Andhra Pradesh. It is therefore that we have convened this meeting of the recognised political parties. As stated in my letter to you, the agenda is to “deliberate on the mechanism and lay down a road map for the consultations.”
I urge each of the political parties represented here to show accommodation and goodwill. Ultimately, you must find the answers and you must help the Central Government find a solution. The agenda for this meeting may appear limited, but I am confident that if we take one step at a time we will, eventually, find a solution. I request you, therefore, to give your views on the agenda. What is the mechanism that you visualise for the consultations with all political parties and groups in Andhra Pradesh? What is the road map for such consultations?
While we deliberate on these issues and take forward the process of consultations, we must recognise the fundamental importance of restoring normalcy in Andhra Pradesh. There must be a halt to agitations and bandhs. Law and order must be maintained. Children must go to schools and colleges. People must be allowed to carry on their normal day-to-day activities. Government must be able to focus on development and the welfare of the people. It is in the interest of all sections of the people of Andhra Pradesh that peace and harmony prevail while the consultations take place. I wish to caution all political parties that there are forces waiting on the wings who ridicule the parliamentary form of democracy and who would be happy if we collectively fail to find answers to the issues that concern us, and we should not give any room for these forces to gain strength or credence.
Let me conclude by saying that let us demonstrate the strength of our democracy and the capacity of our political parties to resolve differences and find solutions. I shall now ask each of the political parties to place their views on the agenda before us.”
http://beta.thehindu.com/news/national/article76064.eceThe all-party meeting on the Telangana issue on Tuesday failed to break any fresh ground with parties divided on the creation of a separate State and indications emerged that there could be further discussions.
http://beta.thehindu.com/news/states/an ... e75849.eceThe all-party Joint Action Committee (JAC) campaigning for united Andhra Pradesh called for road and rail blockades in the coastal Andhra and Rayalaseema regions, while students and other agitators held blockades in Telangana region in support of the demand for separate State.
Way out in Andhra Pradesh
http://beta.thehindu.com/opinion/editor ... e70007.ece
What then is to be done about the future of independent India’s first linguistic State?
The first thing the central government needs to do is to firm up its political resolve not to capitulate on a vital issue under the threat of orchestrated militancy and violence. But it also needs to show political imagination and good footwork. Setting up the long-promised Second States Reorganisation Commission will be a good idea. The best way to strengthen Chief Minister Rosaiah’s hand in dealing with the crisis will be a combination of political clear-headedness and practical support in the form of adequate central forces to deal with the public order challenge.
Everyone knows that long-festering problems do not allow for easy solutions. The Telangana issue as we know it has been around for half a century, and there is also a pre-history of a revolutionary struggle against landlordism in the region.
The Congress party has always had an ambiguous stand on this issue. While recent Congress election manifestoes have bought time by either proposing a Second States Reorganisation Commission (in 2004) or remaining silent (in 2009), it is notable that under the pressure of coalition politics, the National Common Minimum Programme of May 2004 made this promise: “The UPA government will consider the demand for the formation of a Telangana state at an appropriate time after due consultations and consensus.” The party’s strongest and most resourceful State leader of recent times, Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy, managed to keep the problem under control by first forming a committee under Mr. Rosaiah to study it, and then by trouncing the TRS in its own region in the 2009 Lok Sabha and Assembly elections. But YSR’s death in a helicopter crash changed everything, including the rules of the political game in Telangana. The Maoist presence in the region may be a cause for concern but it should not be allowed to cloud clear thinking.
One lesson to be learnt is that on an intractable issue like Telangana, the need to arrive at a national-level political consensus through democratic consultations is inescapable.
Recent events have only strengthened the logic of the argument presented in The Hindu’s editorial of December 9, 2009 that while the diagnosis of the backwardness and neglect of the Telangana region is sound and must be empathised with, a just and progressive solution can be found within an undivided Andhra Pradesh on the basis of regional autonomy and big, concentrated development efforts.
Look at the following harebrained project and waste of Taxpayer money
The Devadula project lifts water from 10m and in phase III will transport it to 400+M elevation so that the irrigation canals can be fed using gravity.
Total of 9,100 crore will be spent to irrigate 6.2 lakh acres. The cost of irrigating an acre of land will be 1.5 lakh per acre. Apart from 1.5 lakh per acre sunk-in cost, according to one estimate it will cost Rs.8000 per acre to irrigate. (The ongoing cost will entail 384MW of power to pump the water over that elevation and also the maintenance of the system.)
I tend to believe that return on agriculture output will be less than Rs.8000 per year.
Note that the water will be pumped only for about 270 days.
Trial run of Devadula Phase II successful

The Devadula project lifts water from 10m and in phase III will transport it to 400+M elevation so that the irrigation canals can be fed using gravity.
Total of 9,100 crore will be spent to irrigate 6.2 lakh acres. The cost of irrigating an acre of land will be 1.5 lakh per acre. Apart from 1.5 lakh per acre sunk-in cost, according to one estimate it will cost Rs.8000 per acre to irrigate. (The ongoing cost will entail 384MW of power to pump the water over that elevation and also the maintenance of the system.)
I tend to believe that return on agriculture output will be less than Rs.8000 per year.
Note that the water will be pumped only for about 270 days.
Trial run of Devadula Phase II successful
The only silver-lining is that it will provide drinking water to lot of urban and rural areas in the region.As part of the trial, water was drawn from the river at Gangaram through the intake structure and sent into the second pipeline of the 9,100-crore prestigious Devadula project which has been laid parallel to the first pipeline (Phase I) up to Dharmasagaram reservoir that lies 125 km away near Warangal.
^^^ milindc
This is what I was saying in the beginning of this thread.
With a sunk cost of 1.5Lakh/Acre plus the electricity costs will work > 18,000 (12% interest on 1.5L) + 8,000 for the electricity costs = 26,000 Rs per acre/lakh. This costs doesn't include the labor and farming costs, which may go up to another 8-10,000 per acre depending on the crop. So we are looking at investing ~36,000 rupees per acre to get ~48,000 Rs per acre assuming we get ~4.8 Tons paddy (in 2 crops) production.
{Edited Later: I made a calculation mistake, missed 2 zeros}
By investing 9100 crores capital costs + ~1000 crores for electricity govt is creating jobs for ~1.25 Lakh (5 acres per family) families. It works out to be ~155,322 Rs per annum per family (9100 Cr @ 8% for 20 yrs + 1000 Cr per year over 125000 families).
I would rather give this money to those families for 20 years.
This is what I was saying in the beginning of this thread.
With a sunk cost of 1.5Lakh/Acre plus the electricity costs will work > 18,000 (12% interest on 1.5L) + 8,000 for the electricity costs = 26,000 Rs per acre/lakh. This costs doesn't include the labor and farming costs, which may go up to another 8-10,000 per acre depending on the crop. So we are looking at investing ~36,000 rupees per acre to get ~48,000 Rs per acre assuming we get ~4.8 Tons paddy (in 2 crops) production.
{Edited Later: I made a calculation mistake, missed 2 zeros}
By investing 9100 crores capital costs + ~1000 crores for electricity govt is creating jobs for ~1.25 Lakh (5 acres per family) families. It works out to be ~155,322 Rs per annum per family (9100 Cr @ 8% for 20 yrs + 1000 Cr per year over 125000 families).
I would rather give this money to those families for 20 years.

The telangana movement is a politicians movement.
The people of telangana do not support it.
The above picture is a proof.
All people shown in that picture are TRS members.
Can you spot KCR?
He is in NIMS on IV.
Can you spot Chiranjeevi in the picture, 15 lakh people attended the Meeting in Tirupati. What you are trying to show is very miniscule, when compared what Andhra and Rayalaseema Students can do.anuj wrote: Can you spot KCR?
This ground swell of support will be there for another 15 days, I bet you do 5 more days of Bandh, the people will turn against you, they will come to the Consciousness.
During my career with people, I had seen a number of situations where Emotional outbursts are high. I think CBN is doing right by not speaking to the Media. Once the people get fed-up with the Bandhs, and Dramas, they will start voting for CBN. Again CBN will say I am not against Telangana Sentiment. Again there will not be any Telangana.
Chiranjeevi should also have adopted such a technique, he is simply immature. The Next Assembly will bring CBN into Power. You will not know what hit you.
TKiran, I would say and Telugus will benefit. No need to make statements that can cause hurt.
In my understanding, this is the problem with the current situation in the Telugu-speaking districts of the erstwhile Hyderabad State (the so-called Telangana districts). Back even in 1956, while 2/3rds of the Hyderabad State assembly passed the merger (with the Andhra State) resolution, there was always the 1/3rd that resented the merger from the onset.
This 1/3rd, which always wanted a separate Telangana, keeps raising its head in various forms every few decades. In a major way, this separatist 1/3rd raised its head in 1969, and again now. One third is a segment large enough to influence the thinking of the rest two thirds. This is precisely what is happening in the Nizam districts now. A good 60-70% of Telangana people had no interest in a separate state before December 9th. The situation changed quite a bit after the 9th. I bet once the situation becomes normal -- it is obviously abnormal as it stands -- the % of people not actively interested in a separate state will rise again to 60-70%.
But, the Andhra Pradesh State will have to put up with the 30% who wanted Telangana from the get go for as long as AP State exists, or at least for a couple more decades.
For the last 9 years, it was always wrenching that because of KCR, nobody in the State dared utter the "Samaikyandhra" word. Nobody could openly say they stood for a united AP. Thank God, that no longer is the case, that KCR and his Telangana slogan no longer monopolized the discussion and the polity, that there is a strong voice for a united State.
This 1/3rd, which always wanted a separate Telangana, keeps raising its head in various forms every few decades. In a major way, this separatist 1/3rd raised its head in 1969, and again now. One third is a segment large enough to influence the thinking of the rest two thirds. This is precisely what is happening in the Nizam districts now. A good 60-70% of Telangana people had no interest in a separate state before December 9th. The situation changed quite a bit after the 9th. I bet once the situation becomes normal -- it is obviously abnormal as it stands -- the % of people not actively interested in a separate state will rise again to 60-70%.
But, the Andhra Pradesh State will have to put up with the 30% who wanted Telangana from the get go for as long as AP State exists, or at least for a couple more decades.
For the last 9 years, it was always wrenching that because of KCR, nobody in the State dared utter the "Samaikyandhra" word. Nobody could openly say they stood for a united AP. Thank God, that no longer is the case, that KCR and his Telangana slogan no longer monopolized the discussion and the polity, that there is a strong voice for a united State.
So what does this 1/3 segment really want? What are there reasons or drivers?
Way out first is to educate people of Telengana it is their own political leaders and hidden players failed them not Andhra people.shaardula wrote:Way out in Andhra Pradesh
a just and progressive solution can be found within an undivided Andhra Pradesh on the basis of regional autonomy and big, concentrated development efforts[/b].
Their political and social leaders should stop hurl abuses and threats and stop violence, if they ever want any kind of consensus.
Government should stop subsidizing Telengana with AP people's money and publish and educate leaders and people with the government money for that region the kind of development they can get.
Also Government needs to educate political leaders and people that Water and Hyderabad are AP people's property not Telengana's only. Seizing assets and chasing non-Telengana people is suppressing citizen rights and entitlements.
ramana garu, this 1/3rd I refer to are the real movers and shakers of the Telangana region. They are the erstwhile Patels and Patwaris. Just see how the T movement is dominated by two castes, who were the Patels and Patwaris (sorry for bringing in the caste aspect). Just like the Paki movement was dominated by Muslim elite scared of losing their elite status, the 1/3rd elite of Telangana don't want to face competition in their hinterlands. Of course, the elite can whip up mass frenzy and make it look like a mass movement. Just my thoughts.
ShyamSP garu, just imagine BJP at Center, as you were hoping earlier this year

It is after YSR death, the loser Congress politicians of Telengana who weren't given importance by YSR rose up. The Congress loser leaders, TRS, Central congress gamed to give birthday-gift thinking they can con silent majority. Of course, there are other combination of players.
But AP people are suffering from Congress stupidity.
One of the stupid reasons Central Congress gave that they studied manifestos and gave decision based on that. Only winner party needs to implement manifesto, why basing decision on loser party's manifesto. Loser lost on the manifesto and need not bind by it soon after elections and can change it to win next time.
But AP people are suffering from Congress stupidity.
One of the stupid reasons Central Congress gave that they studied manifestos and gave decision based on that. Only winner party needs to implement manifesto, why basing decision on loser party's manifesto. Loser lost on the manifesto and need not bind by it soon after elections and can change it to win next time.
Ian Talbot the Oxford scholar in his paper back book "India and Pakistan" says Andhra Pradesh is mini India and its politics mirrors larger India. He said this in 1960 as already two General elections had taken place. BTW, you will find this book at most used book store sales. Or on-line.Sarma wrote:ramana garu, this 1/3rd I refer to are the real movers and shakers of the Telangana region. They are the erstwhile Patels and Patwaris. Just see how the T movement is dominated by two castes, who were the Patels and Patwaris (sorry for bringing in the caste aspect). Just like the Paki movement was dominated by Muslim elite scared of losing their elite status, the 1/3rd elite of Telangana don't want to face competition in their hinterlands. Of course, the elite can whip up mass frenzy and make it look like a mass movement. Just my thoughts.
So no wonder the Maoists and earlier Commies have such a stronghold in the region.
anuj wrote:Why does a person need to migrate? It's because of the lack of opportunities in his own region.a_kumar wrote:To another part of Telangana (Hyd) and not the "so called" rich parts of Rayalaseema and Coastel Andhra.
Keep in mind the T-vadis complaints of the Andhra folks in Telangana. So how did the andhrites appear in Hyd suddenly? I am thinking migration, as you and other pointed out. So by your own admission Rayalaseema/Coastal must be very poor for these folks have to migrate to Hyd! I am not talking about the rich only.a_kumar wrote:And for a good reason. All the investments and development of the state have been focused and centered around one part of Telangana and not in Vijayawada/Vizag.
Whether from other parts of Telangana/Rayalaseema/Costa, migration is a given and not just due to underdevelopment, but also for "better opportunities", which all lie in Telangana. Look around you and tell me why your collegues/neighbours etc are where they are. Am sure better opportunities everybody built in Hyd as well as lack of opportunities (development) in other regions will be the reason. It doesn't matter their actual native district is in Tel/Rayala/Costa.
anuj wrote:I was done for a reason. If you evaluate the entire telangana region, it seems to be performing if not stagnant. Take out hyderabad from that equation and you get a totally opposite picture and satya even talked about this in the earlier posts. It is what i call, a smart "systematic deprivation". You can ignore these claims as long as you want and look the other way. But it won't go away.

Sorry anuj, as long as "blame telangana" is ringing in your ears, nothing I say will make it. In the remote chance it might, here it is again.anuj wrote: No need to equal-equal this. I know you have already made up your mind. And that is to blame telangana or atleast equal-equal it.
I wish the movement was for development/governance, in which case, 80% of AP would be joining you. And the fight would be to get development to districts in other parts of AP as much as Telangana.
It is you who is belittling Telanganites. There are a lot of educated wise lot from Telangana as much as there are those below poverty line. This may surprise you, but this applies to several other places in AP.anuj wrote:The disparity!! But the uneducated becomes educated some day right?a_kumar wrote:What is so difficut to understand? There was no activism for development/governance (not from you, not from socalled T-vadis), which IMO is the right cure for the projected problems.
I will give you that things were said on this forum that shouldn't have been said. If you go back, they were promptly stemmed. Now, if that is a reason for you to go off in a tangent and take our civil discussion into noise, I guess thats your prerogative.anuj wrote:First, you can tell your kosta brothers to stop calling the telangana stock inferior. If your not sure what i mean, look back a few pages and witness the dozen or so rantings calling the movement as a movement of a few inferiors. Then there are the occasional one's calling telangana's as paki's.a_kumar wrote:Man.. you really need to get over the complex.
I am glad to hear that. How much of that time did you spend in highlighting the necessary steps for development/governance?anuj wrote:You think im a rookie don't you? Baby, i've been slugging it off on the internet even before you had a damn VSNL dail up connection.
Exactly the fudging that keeps everybody from having a rational discussion. You might interpret this as patronizing, but please understand it is not. When you have a calm moment, think about this again.anuj wrote: Democratic noose. Telangana is outnumbered by 2-1. We need to get out that noose first.
The greatest trick KCR (or statehood proponents) pulled on all T-vadis is to convince them
->Activism for governance/development *is equal*to campaign for statehood (aka. his CM ship)
May be, they want to bring back "Ni banchan dora" (I'm your slave, master) system so the bottom people are up for grabs by Naxalites.Sarma wrote:ramana garu, this 1/3rd I refer to are the real movers and shakers of the Telangana region. They are the erstwhile Patels and Patwaris. Just see how the T movement is dominated by two castes, who were the Patels and Patwaris (sorry for bringing in the caste aspect). Just like the Paki movement was dominated by Muslim elite scared of losing their elite status, the 1/3rd elite of Telangana don't want to face competition in their hinterlands. Of course, the elite can whip up mass frenzy and make it look like a mass movement. Just my thoughts.

Then Lords and Naxals can rule the world.

TDP erased the Patel-patwari system and hence there is subliminal hatred towards TDP/CBN.
The possible solutions to Telangana are:
1. Ask the Telangana people to wait until next assembly elections. Government may promise that Telangana will be set up after the next assembly elections. Meanwhile state assembly will continue to work in both regions
1b. Have Hyderabad as capital for both states Which needs Telangana people to agree to share. They should consider this option
2. Make Rosiah Chief Minister and Reddy's son as deputy Chief minister for the newly formed Andra state but they should contain any problems if congress wins in the forth coming election in this region
3. begin the process of setting up infrastrcuture for Telangana state in terms of assembly and other offices within five to ten years of time.
4. Telangana people should give gurantee that Coastal Andhrites property and interests will be protected and restored in Hyderabad and in other parts of Telangana including Film stars activities
5. Conduct an election in the states separately in the forth coming election.
6. Telangana people should realise the fact that they are not going to have a separate country rather a separate state within India and also coastal Andhra people are their brothers and so water sharing and other resources sharing should not be stopped in any ways in future.
This could be a possible roadmap to address and solve this issue and cool down the feelings.
1. Ask the Telangana people to wait until next assembly elections. Government may promise that Telangana will be set up after the next assembly elections. Meanwhile state assembly will continue to work in both regions
1b. Have Hyderabad as capital for both states Which needs Telangana people to agree to share. They should consider this option
2. Make Rosiah Chief Minister and Reddy's son as deputy Chief minister for the newly formed Andra state but they should contain any problems if congress wins in the forth coming election in this region
3. begin the process of setting up infrastrcuture for Telangana state in terms of assembly and other offices within five to ten years of time.
4. Telangana people should give gurantee that Coastal Andhrites property and interests will be protected and restored in Hyderabad and in other parts of Telangana including Film stars activities
6. Telangana people should realise the fact that they are not going to have a separate country rather a separate state within India and also coastal Andhra people are their brothers and so water sharing and other resources sharing should not be stopped in any ways in future.
This could be a possible roadmap to address and solve this issue and cool down the feelings.
Please post Telangana related material in the other thread so it gets read.
Telangana Monitor thread.
Read and see how the fiasco developed. There is total collapse of government and ad hoc decision making by two bit goons masquerading as politicians
http://www.outlookindia.com/article.aspx?263394
Most likely we will see merger of TRS into INC and creation of new Dy CMs from the regions with mandate and responsibility to the region. Meantime TDP will consolidate its numbers. For the showdown in 2014.
The possible solutions to Telangana are:
ramana wrote:Read and see how the fiasco developed. There is total collapse of government and ad hoc decision making by two bit goons masquerading as politicians
There is a big piece of information missing in that sentence that is worth a whole story (I think).the question Congressmen are asking is: what sort of political intelligence did the home minister provide colleagues in the core committee which met on December 9, hours before the announcement?
Looked in light of this letter, it is most likely that Rajmata/Yuvraj are moving the pieces, but its shocking how they have so remained out of the limelight. They seem to be truly beyond reach.
I saw Chidu's actions as at best tunnel vision, and at worst, courting the Gandhi family for more prominence or some bargain for future payout. Though initially, I was hoping tunnel vision, am leaning towards latter after reading the letter.
Last edited by a_kumar on 06 Jan 2010 02:58, edited 1 time in total.