Indian Interests
Re: Indian Interests
I take the shenanigans over the temple find - a great indicator of revival. It is a great lesson that mere treasure hoarding and accumulation of material wealth, without cultivating the living, breathing human society that is the real holder and defender of nationhood or culture - leads to fall and erasure. To a certain extent, cultures can only find their true calling, if they really have something worthwhile and timeless - once they are looted out of their accumulated wealth.
It is this overwhelming obsession with accumulation without understanding the need to defend and project dominance to protect it, as well as interweave a cultural dimension to it that will sustain it ideologically - that spelled retreat once. Something from which we are still recovering.
Do we have any contacts to book publishers like Roli etc? Also can we make a booklet form in pdf of Bodhis two articles and disseminate widely?
brihaspati ji,brihaspati wrote:I take the shenanigans over the temple find - a great indicator of revival.
i know i'm constantly asking you questions, whenever i find them interesting. not trying to pick on you or anything.
but are you saying that the behavior of politicians and people in the Padmanabha Swamy temple find is a sign of revival? how?
Chandragupta's defeat of Seleucus..
Yes, and also, much less ancient, the battle of Colachel( circa 1740), where a small kingdom in Kerala defeated the Dutch in a naval battle, at a time when the Dutch were very powerful. The win effectively ended Dutch attempts to invade and colonise south India.
not to downplay the achievement, but I think the Dutch were past their prime by the mid 18th century. they received several humiliating defeats by British and were kicked out of South East Asia almost a century before. they might have tried to use their "colony" somewhere in TN or Kerala (which was a small city), to re-launch their colonial ambitions in India, but it was too late for them. by then, the French and British were too powerful, and many Indian kingdoms also would have decimated them (as it happened).
Chandragupta's decimation of the Greeks and consequent establishment of Indic/Dharmic polity all the way up to Afghanistan/Persia was a momentous achievement.
not to downplay the achievement, but I think the Dutch were past their prime by the mid 18th century. they received several humiliating defeats by British and were kicked out of South East Asia almost a century before. they might have tried to use their "colony" somewhere in TN or Kerala (which was a small city), to re-launch their colonial ambitions in India, but it was too late for them. by then, the French and British were too powerful, and many Indian kingdoms also would have decimated them (as it happened).
Chandragupta's decimation of the Greeks and consequent establishment of Indic/Dharmic polity all the way up to Afghanistan/Persia was a momentous achievement.
devesh ji,
it may go OT if developed further. But my reason for stating so was because of keeping the whole history of accumulation of wealth in that region - as a doctrine, as foreign policy, and as foundation of state. We are now seeing the "temple wealth". But think of how acquiring wealth in that entire region - took on the dimension of a extreme shortsightedness.
I get the sense from your posts that you are well versed in the history of the coastal kingdoms of Kerala from the fall of the Chedas. People may see patriotism/nationhood in the various twists and turns, and they may have their perspective. For me, it shows a large disconnect from the bigger picture, and it went that way because "accumulation of wealth" took prime position over and above statesmanship that considers the long term directions of a society.
After the roll back of the Chedas, the gap in anti-Islamist resistance [there were valiant attempts but they did fail] was only filled by Vijaynagar. The foundation of Vijaynagar was clearly based on a cultural nationhood, and was solidly based on an ideological clarity that neither threw foreign trade/mercantile activity into the garbage can, nor did it allow financial flow/foreign trade interests to overrule steps needed to keep the ideological core protected physically. The Lords of the Sea, failed to see the bigger picture which needed a consolidation of support behind Vijaynagar, and instead initially fought them, and once Vijaynagar weakened, promptly went back to imperial mode fighting fellow rulers along the coast. Even that would have been acceptable if - seeing the example of Vijaynagar - they had tried to found their expansion and wars of conquests on some excuse of a "cultural nationhood".
Instead they really were taking step after step - to ensure their control over the ports and the spice trade, over and above any long-term statesmanship about whom they were using when and how against what or whom! What appears is a supreme priority given to financial flows and accumulation of personal wealth - as revealed in the anecdotal "personal gift expectation" that seems to have driven favouring this or that foreign powers or foreign trade lobbies.
Why did the Lords of the Sea have to rely so entirely on the Moplah's for their naval power? Those that had given ample evidence of their Islamism before and who should have therefore provided reasons for any statesman to look into the long term consequences of bringing them up with such naval and political power. Moplah's are claimed to be "patriots/anti-colonials" what not! But their connections to trading interests from the Gulf, their Islamist politics and their intra-Islamic rivalry with the Paradesis are ususally suppressed from the story.
Why did the Lords of the Sea have to cultivate the friendship of another murderous and imperialists force of foreigners, to tackle Hindu competitors upcoast as well as Muslim Moplahs? Why did they fail to bring it out from indigenous society - and constantly look for this or that foreign hostile ideologically motivated imperialists - Arabs sometimes, Portuguese sometimes, Dutch sometimes - even enlisting Italians [somne of whom are quite colourful or mythic 007 style double agent episodes - depending on which traveler's tall tale you are prepared to accept] to keep some hold on the naval power?
They wanted to keep that corner of the country for their personal benefit, resisting becoming parts of larger powers like the Hindu Vijaynagar which oculd have possibly helped in building back the naval power projection [just not for mercantile profits] a la Cholas, and never understood the disastrous consequences of allowing such hostile ideologically motivated mjarauders as the Islamist Arabs/Persians or Christian Europeans. All reducible to that ubiquitous stress on accumulating immense personal fortunes. If only a fraction of that effort went into "nation building"!
I take this shenanigan now as a reminder and a lesson. What comes of over-stressing accumulation. Only such whiplashes can remind us of what is at stake. Some will take the lesson, believe me.
it may go OT if developed further. But my reason for stating so was because of keeping the whole history of accumulation of wealth in that region - as a doctrine, as foreign policy, and as foundation of state. We are now seeing the "temple wealth". But think of how acquiring wealth in that entire region - took on the dimension of a extreme shortsightedness.
I get the sense from your posts that you are well versed in the history of the coastal kingdoms of Kerala from the fall of the Chedas. People may see patriotism/nationhood in the various twists and turns, and they may have their perspective. For me, it shows a large disconnect from the bigger picture, and it went that way because "accumulation of wealth" took prime position over and above statesmanship that considers the long term directions of a society.
After the roll back of the Chedas, the gap in anti-Islamist resistance [there were valiant attempts but they did fail] was only filled by Vijaynagar. The foundation of Vijaynagar was clearly based on a cultural nationhood, and was solidly based on an ideological clarity that neither threw foreign trade/mercantile activity into the garbage can, nor did it allow financial flow/foreign trade interests to overrule steps needed to keep the ideological core protected physically. The Lords of the Sea, failed to see the bigger picture which needed a consolidation of support behind Vijaynagar, and instead initially fought them, and once Vijaynagar weakened, promptly went back to imperial mode fighting fellow rulers along the coast. Even that would have been acceptable if - seeing the example of Vijaynagar - they had tried to found their expansion and wars of conquests on some excuse of a "cultural nationhood".
Instead they really were taking step after step - to ensure their control over the ports and the spice trade, over and above any long-term statesmanship about whom they were using when and how against what or whom! What appears is a supreme priority given to financial flows and accumulation of personal wealth - as revealed in the anecdotal "personal gift expectation" that seems to have driven favouring this or that foreign powers or foreign trade lobbies.
Why did the Lords of the Sea have to rely so entirely on the Moplah's for their naval power? Those that had given ample evidence of their Islamism before and who should have therefore provided reasons for any statesman to look into the long term consequences of bringing them up with such naval and political power. Moplah's are claimed to be "patriots/anti-colonials" what not! But their connections to trading interests from the Gulf, their Islamist politics and their intra-Islamic rivalry with the Paradesis are ususally suppressed from the story.
Why did the Lords of the Sea have to cultivate the friendship of another murderous and imperialists force of foreigners, to tackle Hindu competitors upcoast as well as Muslim Moplahs? Why did they fail to bring it out from indigenous society - and constantly look for this or that foreign hostile ideologically motivated imperialists - Arabs sometimes, Portuguese sometimes, Dutch sometimes - even enlisting Italians [somne of whom are quite colourful or mythic 007 style double agent episodes - depending on which traveler's tall tale you are prepared to accept] to keep some hold on the naval power?
They wanted to keep that corner of the country for their personal benefit, resisting becoming parts of larger powers like the Hindu Vijaynagar which oculd have possibly helped in building back the naval power projection [just not for mercantile profits] a la Cholas, and never understood the disastrous consequences of allowing such hostile ideologically motivated mjarauders as the Islamist Arabs/Persians or Christian Europeans. All reducible to that ubiquitous stress on accumulating immense personal fortunes. If only a fraction of that effort went into "nation building"!
I take this shenanigan now as a reminder and a lesson. What comes of over-stressing accumulation. Only such whiplashes can remind us of what is at stake. Some will take the lesson, believe me.
Do we have 50-100 more temples holding the treasure like this one in Kerala?
The way i see it, right now Gold is much more valuable than $ etc. If Gold prices double, so does the value of the God's treasure.

Nukkad has some garam discussion on this topic. Start from here. Bade saab is dukhi.brihaspati wrote:I take the shenanigans over the temple find - a great indicator of revival.
Monsoon on break time to look in 4 directions . What happens when lust clash simple more sin ? What happens when egos clash not so simple it gives birth to Mahabharata .Wht if we mortals understand that we can't be Emperor ever but mere servants of the emperor , still why we take ourselves seriously as Kings when we r mere flow of the past Karma
The gate never suppose to open to be opened sadness in time for its time to say good bye to God's own country. Many moons ago it was tried and the sound was loud enough to forewarn those who tried and it remained close never to be opened. Alas time have changed its 21st century where Shri Rama is asked which college he attended and wht he know about engineering & wht i know about whose Gold is it ? . But there were signs already of coming decline in God's Own Country , this mere execution signed & stamped
Chandikas are getting ready for their thirst will be satisfied unless last attempt for peace treaty fail in desh's 2nd capital . Irony of desh , both are places of Shri Hari & one will see imminent trouble this month , another to start its downhill journey . Kurus don't want to settle matter for ego doesn't allow them so. Forces are getting ready none ready to bend. Paise main garmi bahot hoti hei
Bhogbhoomi putting its might behind the rise of new King in South & a new southern chieftain
King of Oil is feeling the oil drum getting empty why feeling of being emperor pull wool on eye one never understand why we want to see wht's not there for the drum was overflowing
, his last ditched attempts to stall gone too far , the new king in no mood to compromise too bitter from fight & treasury empty in war tht just ended so now South East alliance want to finish off matters for once & all . West standing alone North has no generals left, west on his own . Whenever north has fallen Company Bahadur has done the part & so it will again
Kalyuga is only 5000 yrs old another 430,000 yrs to go . Time to plan journey for 'real 4 dhams ' b4 its too late.
Take wht its worth or ignore it no explainations. Want to be wrong this time big time .

The gate never suppose to open to be opened sadness in time for its time to say good bye to God's own country. Many moons ago it was tried and the sound was loud enough to forewarn those who tried and it remained close never to be opened. Alas time have changed its 21st century where Shri Rama is asked which college he attended and wht he know about engineering & wht i know about whose Gold is it ? . But there were signs already of coming decline in God's Own Country , this mere execution signed & stamped

Chandikas are getting ready for their thirst will be satisfied unless last attempt for peace treaty fail in desh's 2nd capital . Irony of desh , both are places of Shri Hari & one will see imminent trouble this month , another to start its downhill journey . Kurus don't want to settle matter for ego doesn't allow them so. Forces are getting ready none ready to bend. Paise main garmi bahot hoti hei

King of Oil is feeling the oil drum getting empty why feeling of being emperor pull wool on eye one never understand why we want to see wht's not there for the drum was overflowing

Kalyuga is only 5000 yrs old another 430,000 yrs to go . Time to plan journey for 'real 4 dhams ' b4 its too late.
Take wht its worth or ignore it no explainations. Want to be wrong this time big time .
I want you to be correct this time and big time too. Telangana will prove their nemesis and a Southern spinster will be rising.satya wrote: Take wht its worth or ignore it no explainations. Want to be wrong this time big time .

Satya-jisatya wrote:Monsoon on break time to look in 4 directions .
Reading your post reminds me of Nostradamus's quatrains..too cryptic and full of gloom and doom. Can you please explain for the layman?
Muppalla wrote:I want you to be correct this time and big time too. Telangana will prove their nemesis and a Southern spinster will be rising.satya wrote: Take wht its worth or ignore it no explainations. Want to be wrong this time big time .
sometimes I wonder if there is some hidden code in history that keeps repeating itself. the vested interests of Deep South (Chiddu) combined with Foreign+anti-national (Maino+INC+covert foreign backers) interests opened the Kakatiya (Telangana) pressure cooker. by doing this they are meddling with the politics of Krishna-Godavari basin, and consequently the politics of all the land between Vindhyas and Kaveri. I don't think the vested interests truly understand the consequences of their actions. considering that Bharatiya history remains cloaked under centuries of literary destruction at the hands of invaders and Marxist interpretation of whatever primary sources are left, the Vested Interests themselves don't understand what they're meddling with. they don't understand the consequences of their actions, b/c they are being deluded by their very weapon.

the choice of meddling in Kakatiya+Andhra situation is very interesting. the enemies are picking their targets carefully. Andhrakas during Maurya times were second only to Magadha in their political and military power. they were considered a "strong martial race" by many visiting Greeks and foreign travelers. Andhras also were the first power to drive back Huns from the Narmada basin. Andhras also put a stop to Kushan advance beyond the Vindhyas. They also were the "frontier" against North-Indian Islamic advance in the last 1000 years. and the Andhras were the "homeground" of Vijayanagara.
one of the main weaknesses of Bharat today is that the "frontier" between Devnagri India and Dravidian (not the racist interpretation but the language divide) India is an economically "backward" region. the sooner we rectify this, the better. the entire Northern Deccan area of (Vidarbha) + (North Karnataka) + (Telangana) + (Chattisgarh) + (Upper Coastal Andhra Pradesh) + (Orissa) needs to be much more economically, and politically assertive and also should be contributing much more man power to the Indian Armed Forces.
there is a huge chess game going on right now with the Vested Deep South interests and assorted anti-national interests in cahoots with foreign inimical interests trying to enforce a deracinated ideology on this "frontier."
Note: when I say "Andhras," I don't mean the Telugu language. some Telugus might not be "Andhras" but most (>80%) are; and Andhra region historically consisted of a huge Deccan area which today is parts of Karnataka, Maharashtra, Andhra Pradesh, and Chattisgarh, and maybe even some parts of Orissa. the misfortune is that the dacoit Nizams got to rule over most of this "Andhra" area.
Here is a doubting Thomas...er... doubting Joseph.
http://www.nytimes.com/2011/07/07/world ... ter07.html
devesh,
You have identified the historical forces of Central India. I suggest use the word Dravida instead of Dravidian if you want to group based on linguistics.
By studying dynasties one has lost the sense of place and people in Indian history.
You have identified the historical forces of Central India. I suggest use the word Dravida instead of Dravidian if you want to group based on linguistics.
By studying dynasties one has lost the sense of place and people in Indian history.
self deleted
My bad...
My bad...
Last edited by RamaY on 07 Jul 2011 00:57, edited 2 times in total.
Manu Joseph is the new sepoy, after Pankaj Mishra and Arundhati. He has lately been busy bashing Hazare & Ramdev.sanjaykumar wrote:Here is a doubting Thomas...er... doubting Joseph.
Why did you post that comment ? Most IH are from South.

Ignore the messenger, there is an element of truth in what he says.sanjaykumar wrote:Here is a doubting Thomas...er... doubting Joseph.
RamaY ji, the person who made that comment is 400% paki. Why post it here?
It is a tactic of putting forward a few facts and then using them to push your own message on top of it. That is all there is to that article. Yes there are tons of godmen in the country who dupe people. But that last line in the article is enough proof of his idea of writing the article.
The facial expression and the accompanying expletive from the female journo at 6:35-6:38 reveals open contempt of the subject under discussion. Its good she got caught on camera. Anyone here know who she might be?shiv wrote:Didn't know where else to post this.
Babooze
When PC became HM, had high hopes of him, sad to say that he is just another chamcha of SG. See his interview on NDTV sucking upto Suzanne Aroy. Hope his actions do not lead to lingering animosity between Andhra and Tamil people....
JMT.
JMT.
Shouldn't we be having a separate thread on the Temple treasure discovered in Kerala? Now some estimates are saying 5 Lakh Crores...that's more than a 100 Billion USD. There's plenty to talk and discuss on that. Protection, what to do or not to do with it, plenty of focus to be maintained and perspectives to be looked into. Even as far as SC setting a precedent there's a lot on it, that would keep the thread active well into the future. There's no policy how to deal with such an eventuality. I'm certain members on this forum could provide good insights on many issues regarding this issue.
Its all covered in the Off Topic thread. Weclome to the party.
BTW its not treasure but devotee offerings to the Temple. Its all inventoried and accounted for. And the consensus is its the temple's to administer. Even known Liberals (Tharoor) and lefties are saying that.
Pseduo-Secualrs want to grab it and claim they will feed the poor. most likely themselves.
The find is as significant as the BM demolition.
BTW its not treasure but devotee offerings to the Temple. Its all inventoried and accounted for. And the consensus is its the temple's to administer. Even known Liberals (Tharoor) and lefties are saying that.
Pseduo-Secualrs want to grab it and claim they will feed the poor. most likely themselves.
The find is as significant as the BM demolition.
Harbans
For now, the discussions are in Nukkad.
Thanks will follow it there for the time being.
Hawk on His Perch
Vinod Rai’s searing honesty in his job as the country’s CAG has the government in many a bind
CAG Catch 1
2G Spectrum, 2010
The CAG audit over a six-year period from 2003 finds loopholes in the implementation of norms, leading to DoT allocating spectrum at 2001 prices. Estimated loss to exchequer: the now-household figure of Rs 1.76 lakh crore.
Outcome Former telecom minister A. Raja, MP Kanimozhi, telecom and real estate executives are in jail. Has raised questions on whether CAG should dwell on policy matters.
Catch 2
Gorshkov deal, 2009
CAG raises a stink about cost escalation in the procurement of Russian aircraft carrier Admiral Gorshkov, and the indigenous construction of six French Scorpene subs. Navy had agreed to pay Rs 5,000 crore more for Gorshkov.
Outcome The government was forced to respond to the public outcry and reopen both deals, along with taking a fresh look at all future acquisitions.
Catch 3
Defence deals, 2009
On the heels of a CBI probe into procurement, CAG finds irregularities in the award of contract, flouting of norms of agreement with overseas suppliers, lack of internal audit mechanism among others. Estimated loss: Rs 9,000 crore.
Outcome Many CAG recommendations have been accepted, leading to better safeguards. However, defence deals remain an area of concern, with kickbacks galore.
Catch 4
CWG, 2009
The CAG is not an auditor on call, but was asked by then sports secretary for a concurrent audit of the Commonwealth Games. Its report to the PM, a year ahead of the event, highlights several
irregularities in the run-up to the Games.
Outcome The probe and trial of CWG organising committee bosses, including Suresh Kalmadi, are in progress. The CAG’s audit report of the Games is to be tabled soon.
Catch 5
Nuclear fuel, 2009
CAG blames DAE for being lax about not using available resources for nuclear energy production. Says capacity utilisation at N-plants was brought down by 50 per cent during 2003-08, resulting in an estimated loss of Rs 6,000 crore.
Outcome India continues to look overseas for nuclear fuel supply and for partnering its nuclear power programme, especially in the wake of the Indo-US civilian nuclear deal.
Catch 6
NRHM, 2009
CAG blows holes in government claims of improvement in health services through the National Rural Health Mission. Report reveals that 71 per cent districts in the country are not covered by the scheme due to paucity of funds.
Outcome The government engaged more ASHAs or community health workers. More focus on rural health infrastructure development and incentivising better healthcare.
Catch 7
NREGS, 2008
CAG report reveals shortcomings in the implementation of the flagship National Rural Employment Guarantee Scheme, leading to loss of resources without benefits accruing to target beneficiaries.
Outcome Union rural development ministry working with states to improve implementation. CAG is using pocketbook-sized reports to spread awareness.
It is the message that needs to be "shot".SwamyG wrote:Ignore the messenger, there is an element of truth in what he says.sanjaykumar wrote:Here is a doubting Thomas...er... doubting Joseph.
If you read the article, Joseph's real Takleef, when he is not batting for the corrupt, is about Indic Dharma gaining global acceptance.
Some time back Joseph had printed a polemic by Meera Nanda alleging that Yoga was invented in Europe. The comprehensive rebuttal by S. Venkataraman did appear on his website, but not in print. See http://www.openthemagazine.com/category ... nkataraman and http://www.openthemagazine.com/category ... eera-nanda .
Last edited by Pranav on 08 Jul 2011 07:38, edited 2 times in total.
Do you deny that there is room for the fake swamis and gurus?
Can you word the question more precisely?SwamyG wrote:^^^
More precisely
? Do you deny the possibility of fake swamis and gurus in the society?

the Manu Joseph article is the most idiotic and brain dead that i've seen in a while. it sets a new record for its sheer intellectual laziness.
the opening sentence talks about how Swamis dress differently from the "common" people. he goes on to say how common Indians wear shirts and trousers but swamis wear different style of clothing....this, for him is conclusive proof of "alienation" of swamis from common population.
I don't even know where to begin with this argument of his. should I laugh for the sheer stupidity of the argument, or cry for the fact that the piece appears in a major American newspaper???
Swamis are a beacon/representation of age old Dharma, and so they wear dhotis and cover the upper body with a simple cloth to signify asceticism and Sanyasa. they must reject all the "showiness" of jewelry, etc. this is the meaning behind Swamis' clothing. this fact is known to everybody in India. any Hindu knows this. Manu Joseph knows this too. for all his pretensions, I'm sure he's aware of the "ideology" behind the clothing of Swamis. Gandhi's clothing was based on the same idea of renunciation. but he's deliberately framing the debate in an alien and crooked way for the foreign audience. what he's doing is perpetuating the fake and fallacious argument that "swamis are alienated from mainstream."
it is a lifafa/DIE article which propagates the kind of deracination that EJ's want Indians to believe about themselves. there is nothing "genuine" or "messengerly" about Joseph's article. it is deliberately fake arguments posing as "genuine concern."
the opening sentence talks about how Swamis dress differently from the "common" people. he goes on to say how common Indians wear shirts and trousers but swamis wear different style of clothing....this, for him is conclusive proof of "alienation" of swamis from common population.
I don't even know where to begin with this argument of his. should I laugh for the sheer stupidity of the argument, or cry for the fact that the piece appears in a major American newspaper???
Swamis are a beacon/representation of age old Dharma, and so they wear dhotis and cover the upper body with a simple cloth to signify asceticism and Sanyasa. they must reject all the "showiness" of jewelry, etc. this is the meaning behind Swamis' clothing. this fact is known to everybody in India. any Hindu knows this. Manu Joseph knows this too. for all his pretensions, I'm sure he's aware of the "ideology" behind the clothing of Swamis. Gandhi's clothing was based on the same idea of renunciation. but he's deliberately framing the debate in an alien and crooked way for the foreign audience. what he's doing is perpetuating the fake and fallacious argument that "swamis are alienated from mainstream."
it is a lifafa/DIE article which propagates the kind of deracination that EJ's want Indians to believe about themselves. there is nothing "genuine" or "messengerly" about Joseph's article. it is deliberately fake arguments posing as "genuine concern."
^^^well what about the mandatory "dog-collar" for the fathers, or the tonsures and skull-caps for the "fathers", and the skull-caps also for peace lovers?
http://www.christianitytoday.com/ct/201 ... roots.html
India's Grassroots Revival
With its people turning to Christ in waves, India hosts more believers now than at any time in its 4,000-year history
India's Grassroots Revival
With its people turning to Christ in waves, India hosts more believers now than at any time in its 4,000-year history
But although Shivamma comes from generations of people accustomed to bowing and disappearing, she does not cringe any more. She came to the pipe village as a new bride 11 years ago, seeking to escape the jobless poverty of her home village. She and her husband together make $5 a day, more than most Dalits.
For three years she was barren.
Then, a young Dalit Christian named Bangarraju (most Dalits are known by a single name) came to Shivamma's home to pray for her. "I didn't know why he came or to whom he prayed. I thought Jesus was one of the gods." She conceived and gave birth to a son, and later had a second child, a girl. When her daughter was three months old, the girl became severely jaundiced, passing blood. Bangarraju came to them and prayed again, and the daughter was healed."I realized that Jesus is the living God," Shivamma told Christianity Today."We used to drink and every day we would fight, fight, fight. Jesus Christ brought peace to our family. I have no fear, because I have come to know the living God. I trust him."
A hospital-based ministry in north India has seen 8,000 baptisms over the past five years after a decade of only a handful. Operation World's detailed statistics show that the Indian church is growing at a rate three times that of India's Hindu population.Many Indian Christians say that doors closed for centuries are swinging open.The 2001 Indian census placed Christians at just over 2 percent of India's population. But currently, Operation World puts the figure near 6 percent and notes that "Christian researchers in India indicate much higher results, even up to 9 percent." Many Indian Christians say that doors closed for centuries are swinging open
Please go on and complete your point.SwamyG wrote:More precisely? Do you deny the possibility of fake swamis and gurus in the society?
Last edited by Pranav on 09 Jul 2011 16:57, edited 1 time in total.
The fact that sepoy Joseph is getting space in NY Times shows that he is being promoted by western elites.devesh wrote: I don't even know where to begin with this argument of his. should I laugh for the sheer stupidity of the argument, or cry for the fact that the piece appears in a major American newspaper???
World's only Sanskrit daily turns 42
Even as English and modern Indian language newspapers continue to flourish in the country, Sudharma, which claims to be the only Sanskrit newspaper in the world, is struggling hard to survive as it enters its 42nd year next week.
"That's because no state or central body comes forward to assist us in any way and the response from various organisations in the private sector is indifferent," K.V. Sampath Kumar, editor of the Mysore-based daily that has over 2,000 subscribers, told IANS.
But then why publish a paper in a "dead language" at all?
The editor's wife, Jayalakshmi, who is well versed in Hindi, Tamil, Kannada, English and of course Sanskrit, reacts sharply: "Who says Sanskrit is dead? Every morning, people recite shlokas, conduct pujas...all ceremonies including marriages, childbirth to death, are in Sanskrit. India is united by Sanskrit, which is the mother language sustaining so many languages in the country. It's growing and now even IT professionals are saying it is useful."
Sampath Kumar said his father Pandit Varadaraja Iyengar started the paper July 15, 1970. "When he was dying in 1990, he made me promise I would continue the mission, come what may. So this daily is now a dream mission continuing with the same passion and commitment, and I will continue till my death."
Priced at Re.1, the paper mostly contains articles on Vedas, yoga, religion and also politics and culture, among others.
The husband-wife pair are the paper's contributors and publishers rolled into one.
"Credit for starting Sanskrit radio bulletins on Akashvani goes to my father, who successfully persuaded the then information and broadcasting minister I.K. Gujral," Sampath Kumar said.
According to him, Mysore is the Sanskrit capital of India, with a fairly good strength of scholars. A large number of yoga enthusiasts also come to learn Sanskrit here. Interest in ayurveda and alternative medicines has also led to an increase in the demand for Sanskrit learning centres.
In India, Sanskrit was considered the 'language of the gods'.
Despite the contribution Sanskrit has made to Indian philosophical and literary traditions, vested interests have spread the impression that the language is dead, inaccessible and of negligible relevance to daily life, Kumar said.
Initially printed manually, Sudharma now has a modern computerised printing facility. An e-paper too is available online, making its reach international.
"We have lots of subscribers among the minorities also. Most academies and language centres are our subscribers. Each morning, the two-page tabloid-sized sheet is folded and posted to more than 2,000 subscribers. Every year, a special number is brought out during Dussehra celebrations to mobilise funds to support the mission," Kumar said.
Lamenting the lack of official patronage, he said: "Being in Sanskrit, Sudharma never had sufficient revenue from advertisements. Despite the ample lip service and words of encouragement, no concrete help comes our way. But the constraints have never deterred us and we will continue to keep alive this glorious tradition."
The modest office in Agrahara has been visited by ministers, governors, Shankaracharyas, and other dignitaries. "Words of encouragement and felicitation has come profusely from prime ministers and presidents over the years," Kumar said.
He showed this IANS correspondent his vast collection of messages from politicians, scholars, intellectuals and business leaders, including late president Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed, social reformer Jagjivan Ram, L.K. Advani, Arjun Singh and others. The common strain was that Sanskrit was a unique unifying force and a treasure to be preserved.
As part of its 42nd birthday celebrations, Sudharma is organising an all-India Sanskrit Book Exhibition. A photo exhibition is also planned, apart from a felicitation of Sanskrit scholars.
But will Sudharma be able to preserve the pristine glory of Sanskrit, or be overwhelmed by modernity?
Many university students this IANS correspondent talked to in Mysore had not heard of the paper. Just a few paces from the newspaper office, a chemist blinked in incomprehension when told about Sudharma.
The signs may be ominous, but perhaps the paper, like the language it is published in, may be able to survive the test of time.
How long does it take the Indians to understand this.Pranav wrote:The fact that sepoy Joseph is getting space in NY Times shows that he is being promoted by western elites.devesh wrote: I don't even know where to begin with this argument of his. should I laugh for the sheer stupidity of the argument, or cry for the fact that the piece appears in a major American newspaper???
We have a paid writer whose job is to create false images of India.
Last edited by svinayak on 09 Jul 2011 20:53, edited 1 time in total.
More like selective images to induce recoil or horror in the Indians. This is to move hem away from traditional India.