Statewide and National runup to 2014 General elections

Re: Statewide and National runup to 2014 General elections

Burkha butt in saffron suits interviewing AJ on rrNDeetv, what gives.
rgsrini

Post by rgsrini »

^^vnmshyam,
Yup. That's true too..

Post by Sanjay »

is it burkha dutt or burkha dunce ?

It looks like neck and neck in Dakshina kannada (south canara ) in Karnataka between Nalin Kumar Kateel and Janardhan Poojary. And JP Hegde of Congress has an edge over Shobha Karandlaje in Udupi-Chickamagalur. I am not too surprised about Udupi since JP Hegde has a stellar reputation in his constituency, and by putting the controversial outsider Shobha Karandlaje, BJP was always taking a huge gamble. Secondly, people of Kundapur haven't forgotten the mistreatment of former BJP MLA Halady Srinivas Shetty when BJP was in power. BJP has lost a lot of goodwill of its staunch supporters in this region, and any victory will be down to Modi and not Shobha.

Even before the advent of BJP, coastal Karnataka due to its literacy, konkan, bunt and brahminical population has been pro-hindutva. There should have been no contest between Poojary ( a 74 yr old wind bag ) and Nalin . Looks like BJP winning the 2008 KA assembly elections was one of the worst things that ever happened to the party in Kar. I hope Nalin and Shobha somehow eek out an edge and win their respective battles. There's a lesson here for both BJP and its candidates. When your party is in the state, ensure you give people good governance and don't wash dirty linen in public. Secondly, MPs should be visible in their constituencies and should be vocal throughout their tenure to have any chance of winning again.
member_28173

Post by member_28173 »

Mort Walker wrote:Politics Party guy is saying BJP-DMDK-MDMK-PMK-KMDK-IJK combine will win 37/39 seats in TN. :)

Modi is MAPERUNTHALAIVAR!

I AM DOING Lungi Dance just at the thought of it.... Giving 4-5 seats I was thinking it is too much but this is ......
KLP Dubey

Post by KLP Dubey »

rgsrini wrote:^^
Thadichithalaivi translates to fat-lady-leader (though she has lost a lot of weight now)
Thanks, also it rhymes with Puratchithalaivi, which is supposedly her "real" title. ;)

PS: I am not from TN, just in case anyone is wondering.

KL
Last edited by KLP Dubey on 18 Apr 2014 00:19, edited 1 time in total.

Folks are being extremely harsh towards 5forty3, expecting the moon of him because they paid $10. It's the price he quoted to conduct the surveys. It was your choice whether or not to pay. If you paid, you paid for what you're getting from him now. You didn't pay for getting news in the exact level of detail you demand. You are not a shareholder in his organization. Instead you effectively gave a donation.

The guy is doing all this on a shoestring budget across multiple constituencies on his own. He's going to face trouble disseminating data, especially when we're smack in the middle of the 3 biggest phases of the election now. He, along with some posters here with their own quantitative methodologies, are providing a service with their own time and energy, and this is crunch time for them. Assist them if you'd like to, especially by providing polling trend information through his active twitter feed, but please stop posting unreasonable things like 'I want my money back' or 'he must describe all his methodologies now'.

Err Suraj, People are asking for clarity of prose and not confusing statements.

ramana wrote:Err Suraj, People are asking for clarity of prose and not confusing statements.
No, they're getting dramatic and asking him to stand on his head because they paid $10. The money they paid should not color their expectations of him. People are upset because of a cryptic Twitter post. Is that surprising ? It is twitter. You have 160 characters.

He'll provide clarifications when he can. He's been running around all day coordinating data collection, reporting multiple detailed blog posts, responding on his twitter feed, and more. He's doing a lot more than most information consumers here and elsewhere. Leave him alone.

perhaps 10$ is too much for some people, who are accustomed to biased MSM and subsequent daily dose of dhoti-shivering.
all if it comes for free. like habitual drunkards, missing the evening dhoti shiver is too much for some people.

I think it depends on the fine print when you paid that 10 bucks.. read it again.

but tweeters can definitely tweet something like this in response:
"what do you mean by downgrading ?".. did you screw up in your methodology?
perfectly valid in an open tweet.

OTOH, think about pappu $check/ रcheque reaching him behind to cover up all payments/losses should people demand back their money.. :P

chaanakya wrote:Burkha butt in saffron suits interviewing AJ on rrNDeetv, what gives.
Best buddies arent they?

by the way 543 guys increased subscription to $20/R900. I made an extra donation to my $10 subscription....
vivek.rao

Post by vivek.rao »

Election 2014: How security forces give up their right to vote to defend yours
Are the security forces personnel of our country not bona fide citizens of India? If the right to vote is the parameter to judge one’s citizenship, then a large number of paramilitary jawans don't fall in the category. Are they only meant to protect our borders, provide security cover to polling stations, escort polling teams and destined to die in terrorist attacks or ambushes, like in the recent attack in the Maoist hotbed of Bastar? Hari Singh (name changed), a 40-year-old Central Industrial Security Force (CISF) constable posted in Delhi at present, hasn’t been able to exercise his voting right ever since he joined the service. "It’s almost 20 years since I cast my vote, as I’m registered at Chhapra in Bihar and I continue to move from one place to another on duty," he said.
Till March this year armed forces couldn't exercise their voting right either. However, after years of struggle, the Supreme Court, in an interim order, directed the Election Commission (EC) in March to allow defence personnel to vote while posted at peace stations. This order has brought soldiers at par with other citizens as far as the right to vote is concerned.

"It is every citizen’s right to vote. My main effort had been to highlight the issues of the serving personnel that never come to fore," Rajeev Chandrasekhar, a Rajya Sabha MP who has supported the cause throughout, said.

Chandrasekhar has consistently lent his voice to the cause of giving voting rights to nearly 14 lakh soldiers from armed forces and nine lakh paramilitary personnel. He had also co-filed a petition and also fought for the ‘One Rank, One Pension’ policy that was cleared in this year's interim budget.
Despite the apex court's order extending to all paramilitary personnel, the status still remains vague, as lakhs of jawans on field duty haven’t been able to cast their votes in the on-going election. "I haven't voted since I joined the service and I don’t even know whether we are allowed to vote. I never received any postal ballot form during past elections,” said a CRPF commando from West Bengal and is now posted in Bastar.

The situation is no better with the police as well. For instance, a large number of Delhi police constables of different ranks, who were deployed for the polls in the national capital on 10 April couldn’t vote.

"Many among us who have their registration in other states didn't get postal ballot forms and many who are registered in Delhi couldn't vote due to the tight duty schedule. There should be some mechanism through which a policeman on duty can also vote," an inspector with the Delhi Police said on condition of anonymity. There is frustration among paramilitary personnel about the fact that although they defend the country in the most inhospitable terrain, without caring for their own lives, their right to vote is largely ignored. Some couldn’t cast their ballot during the entire time they were in the service.
I checked on this dude Chandrasekhar. Pretty good guy. Hope Modi taps people like this

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rajeev_Chandrasekhar
Rajeev Chandrasekhar (Kannada: ರಾಜೀವ್ ಚಂದ್ರಶೇಕರ್; born 31 May 1964) is an Indian politician currently serving a second term as an independent member of the Rajya Sabha, the upper house of the Parliament of India. He represents Karnataka and Bangalore Urban Constituency, and is an established entrepreneur. Rajeev is the founder and chairman of Jupiter Capital, a financial services and investment company, and founder of BPL Mobile, a major mobile phone service provider in India.
In 2006, Rajeev was elected to the Rajya Sabha as an Independent Member of Parliament from Karnataka. In April 2012, he was re-elected to the Rajya Sabha for a second six year term as an Independent Parliamentarian representing Bangalore, supported unanimously by all political parties. As one of India’s leading politicians, he has strongly advocated for governance reforms, institution building, Internet freedom, national security, welfare of the Armed Forces Personnel and sustainable city building of Bangalore and Karnataka.

A strong votary of good governance, Rajeev has been vocal and articulate about the issues of reforms, governance and economy inside Parliament and in various public forums. Rajeev has been in the forefront in the fight against corruption in the 2G Spectrum Scam and his continuous efforts in Parliament and in public domain added pressure on Government to agree to 3G auctions, and then later, to increase the price for additional 2G spectrum. Rajeev served as the youngest President of Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FICCI) –India’s apex industry chamber in 2007. As an advocate of Governance reforms, Rajeev took the lead and initiated a series of seminars on Governance reforms including a Conference on Administrative Reforms and Ethics in Governance which brought the Government and industry together on the same platform.
Rajeev’s PIL challenging the IT Rules has been filed and will come up for hearing in the Supreme Court in January 2014. Rajeev’s interventions —on the floor of Parliament and outside —not only has raised awareness on the issues affecting the nation, but also has helped him succeed in making impact on government’s decision making process. In carving out a profile that goes beyond the boardroom, Rajeev has made the jump from being an engineer-entrepreneur to becoming a well known and respected public intellectual. As an active Parliamentarian, Rajeev has been lauded and appreciated for taking his role as a member of Rajya Sabha seriously. He became first Member of Parliament to bring a report card —a self-evaluation of performance. The exercise was in a way walking the talk of principles of accountability, which he professes.

Rajeev is supporting Modi. He even has billboards throughout Bangalore asking people to vote for change, vote for Modi.

And he had his twitter picture today after voting.

Atri wrote:MNS helped BJP, no worries about that..

Shirole is sitting on hunger-strike tomorrow, so I hear.. I guess they are demanding re-election. Brahmin surnames excluded from list.. thousands could not vote due to missing names.
Did you watch Raj T interview with Ar knob?

See a small clip - Hilarious.

Mort Walker wrote:Politics Party guy is saying BJP-DMDK-MDMK-PMK-KMDK-IJK combine will win 37/39 seats in TN. :)

Modi is MAPERUNTHALAIVAR!
i'll take 5 for NDA, with 2 or 3 for bjp alone.

i do think their voteshare should jump from 2% to around 10% in many places. this will be a good base for bjp to build the party for the assembly elections in 2 yrs.

arnob da r@ped

BJP, SP likely to share high turnout booty
:
:
:
However, pollsters say that this time polarization was sharp as seen in the first round because of series of riots after SP government came to power in 2012 and Sangh Parivar's 'Moditava' experiment, a heady mix of Narendra Modi and Hindutava cards, which indicates that the results could be like 1998 when BJP and SP emerged as major beneficiaries.

The overall polling percentage on Thursday was 62.69%. In 2009, these 11 constituencies had witnessed 54.35% turnout. On Thursday, while Nagina witnessed 64.80% voting, Moradabad recorded 67.38%, Rampur 61.03%, Sambhal 61.20%, Amroha 67.85%, Aonla 59.40%, Bareilly 63.50%, Pilibhit 61.90%, Shahjahanpur 58.90% and Kheri 64.41%.

Poll results of these 11 seats show that from 1991 to 2004 the contest has been mainly between SP and BJP. Congress's revival made it three cornered in 2009. In fact, in 2009, of these 11 seats, BJP-RLD alliance won three seats (BJP 2 and RLD 1), SP got four, Congress three and BSP one.

"Non-Yadav other backward classes like Jats, Kushwahas, Shakyas and Lodhs also play crucial role in the region. In 2009, there was some degree of polarization following alleged hate speeches of BJP's Pilibhit candidate Varun Gandhi. The SP chief Mulayam Singh Yadav had allied with the Ram temple movement poster boy Kalyan Singh, who was expelled from the BJP. It consolidated Mulayam's OBC base but antagonized Muslims who voted for Congress in some constituencies. The SP suffered loss of Muslim votes but got more OBC votes," said Saket Upadhaya, a social worker in Badaun.

"However, this time, Kalyan is back in the BJP. The Congress has allied with the Jat outfit RLD and Mahan Dal to form a combination which could woo the Muslim who vote for the party which can defeat the BJP. However, ground reports suggest OBCs like Jats and Lodhs have drifted towards the BJP and Muslims have preferred the SP," he added
:
:
:
However, by and large, political analysts feel that 2014 could be like 1998 mid-term Lok Sabha elections, when the state witnessed high turnout and sharp polarization in BJP's favour because of the fall of the 13-day government led by Atal Bihari Vajpayee in 1996 as other parties refused on the issue of secularism. Of these 11 seats, the BJP had won six and SP four. The Muslims had rallied behind the SP and Jats voted for the BJP.
:
:

Kati wrote:
Singha wrote:Traditionally a Puneite is known to have opinion on every thing in universe from string theory to ideal way of killing rats in gutters.

:rotfl: :((
I thought that's bong characteristic.
Exhibit A: RBullah.
:rotfl: :P :twisted:

From: economictimes.indiatimes.com: Division of Muslim votes may help BJP in Rohailkhand area
LUCKNOW: Uttar Pradesh's Rohailkhand area, where the large number of Muslim votes often decide which way the pendulum swings, surprised observers on Thursday by posting a record 62.69 per cent turnout, up from 55.09 per cent in 2009. The fate of most districts in this belt is controlled by Muslim votes with the community making up almost half of all voters in Rampur (held currently by former Bollywood star Jaya Prada who won as an SP candidate but later walked out with Amar Singh), 41 per cent in Moradabad (represented by former Indian cricket captain Mohammed Azharuddin of Congress who has shifted base to Rajasthan this year), 38 per cent in Amroha, 29 per cent in Bareilly, 28 per cent in Sambhal and 21 per cent in Shahjahanpur.

Major parties here have vied with each other to field Muslim candidates. The BSP has fielded the most — six Muslim candidates, in Moradabad, Rampur, Sambhal, Budayun, Amroha and Pilibhit. The ruling SP has put up Muslim candidates in Moradabad, Rampur, Sambhal, Amroha and Bareilly, while Congress too has fielded four Muslim candidates in Moradabad, Rampur, Bareilly and Kheri.

"There's traditionally been a high turnout of Muslim votes in this area, but this year's extraordinary numbers could hint at a more enthusiastic Hindu turnout," said Sudhir Panwar of Lucknow University. Suresh Chand, associate professor at KGK College in Moradabad, felt that while western UP polls saw voting on Hindu-Muslim lines, this phase was marked by voting on party lines.
Anantha

Post by Anantha »

Part of that interview is not in the RajT clip
Arnab asks Where is the Modi wave, Raj tells him to go and ask the kids in the street

looks like situation in Karnataka is dire for BJP, which is surprising. under current Modi leadership, that region should be a bastion of Hindutva.

I think it is part of the Gulf+West+Islamic mobilization that is causing this destabilization. the resurgence of Ashraf+Old feudals in Telangana. Jagan in SA. NCP+Islamic fundoos in MH : seems to me like MH+KT+AP are all seriously under international glare to ensure Saffron doesn't rise.

Looks like Muppalluddin went to mecca?

He is very active on twitter. you need your phone and laptop to follow all the streams. +TV is you have that too.

SHQ promises pakodas for May16th results day to go with Scotch and all those streams coming to Info central.

I dont know where is Karnataka doom and gloom news coming from for BJP. If people are seeing news. please post it here. 543 did analysis of raw data, and interprating what he wrote, he has data of mysore and bangalore and BJP and Con are neck to neck at 42%. Now we know Mysore is where BJP is suppose to come third or has come 3rd behind con and JDS. If BJP is neck to neck, it only shows the good performance. If the same trend holds than costal KA should be sweep. Let's wait for more data. But instead of breast beating, I would request people to put news snippets.

Post by amdavadi »

ramana wrote:He is very active on twitter. you need your phone and laptop to follow all the streams. +TV is you have that too.

SHQ promises pakodas for May16th results day to go with Scotch and all those streams coming to Info central.

Ramana guru,

BRFites are invited or you are having pakodas alone? :rotfl: :mrgreen:

Pakodas won't do. We want kabobs + Hyderabadi chicken biryani with beer.

I am taking a day off on 5/16... SHQ promissed Pakoras for me too... Got a Google Chrome to stream on to tv.. Scotch ready....

All set to watch Modi Rajasuya Pattabhishekam!

huge and shamelessly blatant manipulation in pune. (bjp supporters) friends are reporting missing names everywhere. ##$@@. Has to be re election.

my worry is, where were bjp workers when all this was happening? didnt they verify lists and scanned the pro bjp localities? baffling...

Hmm. The news is that the Pune police chief was not able to vote either due to his name being dropped.

There was a drive in Pune to delete old voter registrations last year. Procedure was that if the residents did not answer the door when the official visited, the name was dropped. Logical that this would impact working professionals more as they'd rarely be home during business hours.

All efforts were on enrolling new names. The traditional voters with same address for decades were assumed to have their names in place. Working ppl cud not find time.

It was mistake yes. Did not think even their names will be deleted. Plus given the over-smartness of puneites, it is difficult to convince them to show due diligence.

Saw a board outside a home - we always vote for BJP. BJP walas pls do not ring the bell and waste your and our time, Congresswalaa- you will be insulted. :P

It is pain to campaign in Old pune.

Sanjay wrote:is it burkha dutt or burkha dunce ?
Barking mutt.

chaanakya wrote:Burkha butt in saffron suits interviewing AJ on rrNDeetv, what gives.
Best buddies arent they?
Chaddi yaar. That's why all this talk of MSM getting their just desserts is so much BS. This guy will ensure things are as before.

ramana wrote:And he had his twitter picture today after voting.
There is story of him, AKA, PC and others and OROP. Pappu figures in it too.

Catholic-priests-in-fray-
"I've requested for permission to contest from the Bishop of Palayamkottai, Reverend Jude Paulraj, I'm waiting for his decision," says Fr Jesuraj, who adds he has cases against his name for involvement in anti-nuclear protests at Kudankulam . "I'm seeking exemption .
In southern and western Indian pockets where the Christian vote is sizeable, some clergymen have plunged into electoral politics.

This shift from spiritual to political may appear unusual, but to those who've made the transition it seems natural. Goa's Catholic priest Fr Bismarque Dias, who had to leave the Church when he contested the Assembly polls as an Independent in 2012, says: " Though not a candidate in these polls, he's a member of new party AAP and prefers to call himself a "universal" priest.

For Fr Jesuraj, there's no looking back either. "I've been fighting for the fi sherfolk," he says. "Getting elected will allow me to be directly involved in their cause."

Fr Joe Arun, director in Tirunelveli's Xavier Institute of Business Administration, says although 40% of the town is Christian, there are various sects who may split the vote.
"If I become an MP, I'll take a five-year leave of absence from the Church," says Fr Stephen.
AjitK

Post by AjitK »

abhijitm wrote:huge and shamelessly blatant manipulation in pune. (bjp supporters) friends are reporting missing names everywhere. ##$@@. Has to be re election.

my worry is, where were bjp workers when all this was happening? didnt they verify lists and scanned the pro bjp localities? baffling...
Saar, all these people must be having internet in their homes. They just had to check whether their names were in the list. Registration was open till the second week of March.

The EC did a good job this time. They published the first list and then the supplementary list and then another list in April. We can't expect BJP workers to do all the hard work. The onus lies on the people to ensure their name is in the list.

AjitK wrote:
abhijitm wrote:huge and shamelessly blatant manipulation in pune. (bjp supporters) friends are reporting missing names everywhere. ##$@@. Has to be re election.

Saar, all these people must be having internet in their homes. They just had to check whether their names were in the list. Registration was open till the second week of March.

The EC did a good job this time. They published the first list and then the supplementary list and then another list in April. We can't expect BJP workers to do all the hard work. The onus lies on the people to ensure their name is in the list.
Exactly. I'm a new voter and I checked all lists. In the supplementary list my name was not there so I checked list of pending applications and sure enough my name was there. Finally my name appeared in the last list. Spent 3 hours going to 3 separate places to get my EPIC. These guys just sat on their behinds.
Santosh

Post by Santosh »

Is this the right place to check electoral roll for Maharashtra?
http://103.23.150.139/marathi/FrmSearchPage.aspx?ID=1