Statewide and National runup to 2014 General elections

Re: Statewide and National runup to 2014 General elections

Seems Asansol, WB is going to BJP
Rahul Grover ‏@rahulgrover88 3h

This is nth time Babul supriyo BJP candidate from asansol is targeted --> Full police treatment for Babul: http://www.telegraphindia.com/1140418/j ... 3Y.twitter
Congress pressing all buttons
dna ‏@dna 5m

Probe BJP's cyber propaganda, Congress tells police - http://dnai.in/cazp
Last edited by pankajs on 18 Apr 2014 22:33, edited 1 time in total.
member_23658

Post by member_23658 »

on timesnow, it is really sad to see rahul narwekar, for so long the very articulate voice of sena on english channels, speak on behalf of the NCP (which he recently joined on being denied a ticket) against the bjp-sena. very sad!
SPattath

Post by SPattath »

SPattath wrote:Hear that BJP is trailing in Bangalore central and rural.
Please do not post unattributed rumors in this manner. It gets people upset or excited unnecessarily. Please post a source or background to give weight to such statements.
heard this from BJP workers.

By elections were held last year(after HD Kumaraswamy shifted to state assembly) for Bangalore Rural which BJP did not even contest, instead let JDS take on Congress. They fielded Kumaraswamy's wife who lost by over a lakh votes. I don't think the BJP had very high hopes from here to begin with.

Someone here mentioned BJP getting 18-20 seats in karnataka. I would want some of whatever they are smoking!

BJP had no chance in Blr-rural anyways so it is hardly surprising. Blr-Central was bound to be a close fight and it may still go BJPs way. I am hearing mixed news on the mother of all battles in Blr-South. Still scratching my head wondering how Vijayanagar, Chickpet and BTM are leaning towards Congress. If Anant Kumar loses, better to keep that slimeball far away from the reins of power. I would back Yeddi over Ananta any day.
Vamsee

Post by Vamsee »

muraliravi garu,

Any leaks from your friend regarding the 17th Apr voting?

Vamsee

Amol.D wrote:on timesnow, it is really sad to see rahul narwekar, for so long the very articulate voice of sena on english channels, speak on behalf of the NCP (which he recently joined on being denied a ticket) against the bjp-sena. very sad!
Either he is rotten, or people in his immediate surrounding were rotten. If it is not him, then he should have reached out to leaders outside his circle. What does one doe if one's immediate Boss is bad? One approaches the boss' superiors. If they are ineffective, unreachable or biased, then one simply has to move on to a different group/company.

It is sad only if he is not rotten.

Amol.D wrote:watching rajdeep's interview with raj thackeray. whatever you say about Raj, he can really show people like rajdeep his place. sample this when rajdeep was getting a little bit agressive, raj responds with "this is a interview not an interrogation. dont come so close, go lean back and sit. and tone down your voice" haha
Why did it take so long for some body to tell him that? What Raj Thakrey told Turdesai also holds true for Karan Thapar, Arnab and others.
KLP Dubey

Post by KLP Dubey »

krishnan wrote:amma now attacking guj/namo directly comparing TN to guj and telling the various stats , wonder if people even known what she is talking about, shows how despo she has become and tells about the ground situation , :P i think she has panicked
Easy way to tell - watch for weight gain in the next few weeks :P

We seem to have gone past the VadraNumber of pages in this thread

Raj T is being promoted to cut into BJP/ SS votes and to remind voters in E UP that Modi has friends and wishers who like beating up North Indians. Arnab and RS have otherwise no reason this time of the season to be inviting RT. Even today Arnab decided to again do some show on Amit Shah being allowed to hold rallies and Azam not being..had 5 panelists anti-BJP against Ravishankar Prasad. Modi is right..these are News Traders. It's a trade. Sold out.
Last edited by harbans on 19 Apr 2014 02:17, edited 1 time in total.

^^^ That's a very keen observation. Cannot rule out this possibility. Please tweet this
Skanda

Post by Skanda »

If you look at the title of the interview with Rajdeep as well, it just makes 1 point:

Raj Thackeray backs Modi for PM, sticks to his anti-North Indian stand

Yup, backs Modi and hates North Indians. The interview has Rajdeep harping on the hate North Indians like a million times. Nothing else apart from, "That person said this thing about you, what do you say?"

Amol.D wrote:watching rajdeep's interview with raj thackeray. whatever you say about Raj, he can really show people like rajdeep his place. sample this when rajdeep was getting a little bit agressive, raj responds with "this is a interview not an interrogation. dont come so close, go lean back and sit. and tone down your voice" haha
To deal with a bully, you got to be a bully. Raj is showing Ar knob, Razzdeep a mirror.

what does he mean by maharashtra not being in north? does he know there are states south of him?

hanumadu wrote:
Why did it take so long for some body to tell him that? What Raj Thakrey told Turdesai also holds true for Karan Thapar, Arnab and others.
Raj said the same thing to Arnab. He told Arnab that this was an interview and not an interrogation. He also chastised Arnab number of times, he ridiculed and insulted him - calling out Arnab's deteriorating standards (going from 10th class to Montessori) and Arnab's inability to understand issues. Arnab loved every bit of that because it fetched him TV ratings.

harbans wrote:Raj T is being promoted to cut into BJP/ SS votes and to remind voters in E UP that Modi has friends and wishers who like beating up North Indians. Arnab and RS have otherwise no reason this time of the season to be inviting RT. Even today Arnab decided to again do some show on Amit Shah being allowed to hold rallies and Azam not being..had 5 panelists anti-BJP against Ravishankar Prasad. Modi is right..these are News Traders. It's a trade. Sold out.
harbans ji,

that makes good sense!

SaiK wrote:what does he mean by maharashtra not being in north? does he know there are states south of him?
By your definition, a guy from Vellore is North Indian to a guy in Kanyakumari. But does a Kanyakumari vaasi think that way? Probably not.

Saar that is where we don't understand the regional sensitivities thoroughly. I have been told by Gujaratis and Maharastrians that they are not North Indians.

SwamyG wrote:
SaiK wrote:what does he mean by maharashtra not being in north? does he know there are states south of him?
By your definition, a guy from Vellore is North Indian to a guy in Kanyakumari. But does a Kanyakumari vaasi think that way? Probably not.

Saar that is where we don't understand the regional sensitivities thoroughly. I have been told by Gujaratis and Maharastrians that they are not North Indians.
After Bharat lost Pakistan, Sindh, Afghanistan, Tibet and the Arctic Pole, all that is left of India is South India. I myself am a Punjabi South Indian onlee!

harbans wrote:Raj T is being promoted to cut into BJP/ SS votes and to remind voters in E UP that Modi has friends and wishers who like beating up North Indians. Arnab and RS have otherwise no reason this time of the season to be inviting RT. Even today Arnab decided to again do some show on Amit Shah being allowed to hold rallies and Azam not being..had 5 panelists anti-BJP against Ravishankar Prasad. Modi is right..these are News Traders. It's a trade. Sold out.
Exactly the feeling i had when i saw both interviews.

Raj Thakeray has auctioned his vote katua utility and is in return being given plug after plug on national Paid TV to help him do the deed.

While Modi is getting complacent going by his public statements(of victory) leading to and in the Tamil TV interview.

SaiK, Due to accident of history Maharashtra are South Indian states with North Indian script. All their customs are South Indian only. The accident was Islam which froze their script in Devanagari.One of saying they are northern most South Indians.

Don't know if Atriji will agree.

Congress targets win at least 120 seats
Pitted against a strong anti-incumbency factor and an aggressive Narendra Modi, the Congress internal assessments have shown all but little hope to emerge as the single largest party in the Lok Sabha poll. Instead, the party is now pulling out all its stops to get at least 120 seats.:
:
:
After assessing the latest poll scenario, the Congress strategists feel that 120 seats may give the party a slim chance to prop up a non-NDA government with the help of the Third Front partners. A senior minister from an alliance party added, "110-120 seats can give the Congress a chance to stitch a non-NDA alternative government with the help of Third Front partners," he said.

In a concerted effort to give the final push, Team Rahul is trying to plug other loopholes, like a smooth flow of funds to the deserving candidates. Recently, a young candidate from Tamil Nadu called for urgent release of election fund. In a few hours, a large part of his demand was met.

Sources suggest that faced with a shortage of fund, the party is spending money cautiously. A senior minister contesting in Uttar Pradesh has so far received a bare minimum money from party as his winning chances are seen to be dim.

The party has instructed all general secretaries and office bearers of the AICC to go out for campaigning. Ministers who have finished campaign in their own seats, are now sent to other areas.
:
:
:

SaiK, Due to accident of history Maharashtra are South Indian states with North Indian script. All their customs are South Indian only. The accident was Islam which froze their script in Devanagari.One of saying they are northern most South Indians.

With a capital in Jinji and connection with Sambhar, they're as southie as they come :mrgreen:

just asking...what if a NOTA wins? will EC redo the election?
KLP Dubey

Post by KLP Dubey »

Lilo wrote:

Raj Thakeray has auctioned his vote katua utility and is in return being given plug after plug on national Paid TV to help him do the deed.

While Modi is getting complacent going by his public statements(of victory) leading to and in the Tamil TV interview.
Pass me that chillum.....
muraliravi

Post by muraliravi »

Vamsee wrote:muraliravi garu,

Any leaks from your friend regarding the 17th Apr voting?

Vamsee
Nothing much, just got some news from him Rajasthan alone. So far that is all he has on this round. BJP was coasting all set for 25/25, but looks like maharani had to screw it up. So they may end up with 19-20/25. 19 are sure, 2-3 seats are very close. 3 are sure gone.

What are the three seats in RJ that the BJP won't win ?
bhargava

Post by bhargava »

^^ saw a couple of 'pollsters' on teetar dhoti-shivering about churu and barmer
member_28108

Post by member_28108 »

When I was studying in Mumbai whenever I did not know a Marathi word I would slip in the Kannada word and my Professor a die hard Marathi fan would ask how I new that Shudh Classic Pure old Marathi word and I would say I just slipped the Kannada word. It made him and me realize that there are a lot of similar words and in fact classic Marath i (not necessarily the street version ) has a lot of similarities with Kannada. Sort of like Thathsama and Thathbhava in Kannada with its relation to Sanskrit.

how did maharani screw it ? wrong seat allocation? barmer main jaswant has won?

i would say that they are the southern most north indians...but what do i know.. :)

huge TMC rally here (kolkata south). not a peep from bjp or even left for that matter.
i would say that they are the southern most north indians
corrected. :)

SwamyG wrote: Raj said the same thing to Arnab. He told Arnab that this was an interview and not an interrogation. He also chastised Arnab number of times, he ridiculed and insulted him - calling out Arnab's deteriorating standards (going from 10th class to Montessori) and Arnab's inability to understand issues. Arnab loved every bit of that because it fetched him TV ratings.
Raj thakeray is a goon. he verbally destroyed rajdeeb sardesai also yesternight. but frankly it was raj thakerays lack of social manners that shone through .....he seemed like a marathi mulayam yadav tybe street fighter hooligan rather than anything else.

Lilo wrote:

And why get your BP up in twist? We are assuming the following:

1. A whole swath of north-Indians are watching Sardesai
2. They have 24x7 electricity and the taim (time) to watch it
3. They will choose their local voting pattern on what MNS and Sardesai discuss in faraway Mah

Given that there is CongI govt. in Mah & Centre and they do not seem to do anything, why will they vote for something that *will* get CongIs back at Centre? I think we should give credit to the Indian voters.

that interview was not to influence UP + Bihar (120 seats), if that happens it is a bonus, it is to influence the 6 Mumbai seats. With vote % diff between winning ans loosing candidate being less than 5%, and Migrant votes from these states being at least 20% in each seat, they become decisive.
gashish

Post by gashish »

Most of today's MH & KA ( between Narmada in north and Tungabhadra in south) were part of Western Chalukyan empire (10-12th centuries), with capital at Kalyani (Basvakalyan). Kannada lit and language flourished during this era. Marathi language as we know today started to take its form in the northern territories (under Yadavas ruling as feudatories) of the empire during its decline phase. According to some historians, Yadavas were kannada speaking ppl ( source:wiki).

kapilrdave wrote:Guys, I have a suggestion.

We need to plan out some way to convey our message directly to NM that his victory is majorly because of Hindutva consolidation. So he must address the Hindu concerns when in power. At least an honest attempt must be made even though it fails due to constitutional limitations. Also we want every scum at every level to be jailed. The message should be loud and clear. I know his handlers are reading this thread but we should convey this message directly to him somehow. Maybe bombard his twitter account. He also reads all the personal letters sent to him.

I'm sounding like Mehta saar, but post election I will subscribe to his solutions as well. I know MRji is also planning to launch such a site on similar lines. But the idea is to let NM know right from the first day of the office before he forms the cabinet and instructs his ministers. We must let him know what we want well in advance. For that we must start planning ASAP.
AWMTA :)

And pls no saar and no ji. Just RM would suffice ;)

Modi will lose onlee. :(( :(( :((

Rahul M wrote:huge TMC rally here (kolkata south). not a peep from bjp or even left for that matter.
i would say that they are the southern most north indians
corrected. :)
agreed :)