J & K news and discussion

Abhi_G

Re: J & K news and discussion

Post by Abhi_G »

http://www.dailypioneer.com/310597/Forc ... entre.html
Forces stationed in J&K to be trimmed: Centre
The Government is considering reducing the strength of security forces deployed in Jammu and Kashmir by 25 per cent as a confidence building measure.

Home Secretary Gopal K Pillai also said that India was planning to unilaterally issue six-month multiple entry permits for people of Pakistan-occupied-Kashmir (PoK) wanting to visit Jammu and Kashmir through the Line of Control (LoC).

"As a confidence building measure in Jammu and Kashmir, the strength of the security forces would come down by 25 per cent. We would like to reduce it as soon as possible depending on the ground situation," he said addressing a seminar at Jamia Milia Islamia University here.

Pillai said in Nagaland a few years ago there were two divisions of the Army but now hardly there was any presence of security forces in the state. In the same way there were 60 companies (6,000 personnel) of the paramilitary forces in Nagaland and now there are just two companies there.

The Government is considering reducing the strength of security forces deployed in Jammu and Kashmir by 25 per cent as a confidence building measure.

Home Secretary Gopal K Pillai also said that India was planning to unilaterally issue six-month multiple entry permits for people of Pakistan-occupied-Kashmir (PoK) wanting to visit Jammu and Kashmir through the Line of Control (LoC).
Unkil ka haath, GoI ke saath...

Wonder what more downhill skiing is to be seen in the coming days ( other than forceful defiance in the matter of not allowing triclour to be hoisted at Lal chowk) ?

Guys, lets face it, whether I like it or not, whether majority of us BR like it or not, MMS is not prepared to defend India's case in J&K. All he wants is some kind of "peace" meaning taking Kashmir out of the headlines, and in slow-motion surrender Kashmir to TSP. What is all this troop cut BS? What is all this meeting TSP half-way? Has he ever articulated why J&K is the soul of India? And its also clear that the US-scripted deal he supposedly cut with Mush involves "joint-management" of the valley; and efforts are on to revive that.

So the point about this hoisting the tri-color is not that BJP does not have the right to do so, rather, if TSP & their puppets responds as expected, if the US-led west respond as expected, do you really think MMS will stand up to that? I know its pathetic that a leader himself will not defend his country's legitimate right, but thats where we are. So my point is that there are 2 possibilities: 1) TSP goes on the offensive as they surely will, violence erupts after the flag hoisting, and India is humiliated in the court of international opinion, and 2) continue this back-channel, "piss" process, reduce troops, talk about "joint-management" and all that crap to take Kashmir out of the headlines -- in other words, slow-motion surrender. Its not only MMS & his ilk, but dare I say majority of Indian middle class will opt for #2 at the moment even though they may not be aware of the eventual ramifications of MMS's gameplan.

Thus, an Indian nationalist's choices are limited; either he supports his country's right and watches helplessly as his country burns because his govt refuses to defend his right and the that of the country, or let the status quo prevail and hope against hope that at some point in the future, if MMS has not done irreversible damage, reclaim J&K. I say that BJP should opt for the latter and concentrate its energy in unseating MMS through the ballot box, so he can peacefully settle in a suburb of Virginia and adivce the state dept as a "South Asia" expert.

I dont understand your logic. Are you saying the flag hoisting should be abandoned due to some unknown fear of TSP getting mad? They are pagal kuttas anyway. If they do something mad, they will be taken care of as any rabid dogs.

Flag hoisting is a national right and will be lsot by not exercising it. It should have been an all party event to show solidarty. Let OA stop the flag hoisting and see the fallout on INC in rest of India.

The troop reduction is for para military. IA combat formations are not being scaled down per the IA chief.

Doom and gloom is nice but not all the time.

The troop reduction is for para military. IA combat formations are not being scaled down per the IA chief.
As per interview with G.K.Pillai on HT today, he was specifically asked if the cut was only for para-mil or the IA also ( since IA chief had opposed troop cut previous day on HT) and Pillai reaffirmed that it covered the IA.

Seems to be a boxing match between MHA and the MoD.

Flag hoisting is a national right and will be lsot by not exercising it. It should have been an all party event to show solidarty.
Great point.only in India will "( anti) national" parties be fighting to stop this happening instead of joining hands and doing it with pride...

RamanaGaru,

Its not unkown, only basing on reasinable expectations:

1) TSP will surely go on the offensive
2) MMS will not respond forcefully, and will surely blame BJP

Hasn't history of J&K, and recent domestic politics in India convinced you of the above?

At some critical junctures one should let things happen.

Answer to question: NO

CRamS wrote: Thus, an Indian nationalist's choices are limited; either he supports his country's right and watches helplessly as his country burns because his govt refuses to defend his right and the that of the country, or let the status quo prevail and hope against hope that at some point in the future, if MMS has not done irreversible damage, reclaim J&K. I say that BJP should opt for the latter and concentrate its energy in unseating MMS through the ballot box, so he can peacefully settle in a suburb of Virginia and adivce the state dept as a "South Asia" expert.
CRS garu,

I think we are mixing too many things here...

BJP wants to do a national yatra to hoist a flag in Srinagar. They are showing the united spirit of Bharat. They are not doing that in other places if you notice.

OA is saying dont do that. He is giving the law-and-order situation as his justification; because he is responsible for law-and-order. He cannot survive in power for another round of stone pelting.

INC is against this yatra because it exposes its lack of nationalism. They use possible-disturbances in "yindoo-muslim" unity as the reason. Because at the end of the day the muslim-image is at stake. Too much activism on their part will further push majority yindoos to BJP.

Media/intellectuals are against this because they are controlled by foreign interests. They don't want to show the true face of JK terrorism as it would further undermine the linkage between islamists and their western supports if/when yindoo majority realizes that JK muslims are pampered lot and are supported by firangis.

Finally it would be stupid if BJP pics April 1st to hoist the flag. Thus the need for 1/26.

One can pick the side they want; no compulsion here..

CRamS wrote:RamanaGaru,

Its not unkown, only basing on reasinable expectations:

1) TSP will surely go on the offensive
2) MMS will not respond forcefully, and will surely blame BJP

Hasn't history of J&K, and recent domestic politics in India convinced you of the above?
Let TSP conduct another spectacular terror attack. Let INC sleep at helm. Let BJP get the blame. Everyone is free to make their fortunes.

RamaY:

Absolutely no disagreement with either you or anybody else making the case for flag hoisting, as if any case needs to be made. I am talking about the practical reality. Let me give you a crude analogy.

You are stuck in the middle of nowhere with 2 friends of yours, and one of them is held by a bandit, gun to his head demanding a ransome or else. Now, between you & your other friend, you can easily take on this bandit and overpower him. But your friend refuses and is too timid to say the least, and maybe he even empathizes with the bandit's cause. He therefore insists that the ransom be paid up to the bandit. So your choices are limited aren't they, you either go and fight the bandit yourself and risk having your friend killed, and you too, or you pay up the ransom and buy "peace". Do you get the picture? Thats the dilemma I am caught up in.

Pay the ransom (with counterfeit notes) get the friend released and then shoot the other friend.
vishnua

Post by vishnua »

Good Analogy.

You need to make choice with keeping longterm objectives in mind. In this it should be take the bandit on . If you buy peace now you will be buying peace forever as history as shown and someday you won't be there to buy the peace.

I am glad you said a "friend" not "family" :mrgreen:

Since we are talking about national interests (which goes beyond individuals), the best strategy is to take on the Bandit. If you win; the bandit is killed and your friend is free. If you lose; your friend - who is the weakling will be killed and you are free from being harassed with this nonsense.

RamaY wrote:^
I am glad you said a "friend" not "family" :mrgreen:

Since we are talking about national interests (which goes beyond individuals), the best strategy is to take on the Bandit. If you win; the bandit is killed and your friend is free. If you lose; your friend - who is the weakling will be killed and you are free from being harassed with this nonsense.
My analogys is better the way you interpreted it :-).

http://www.rediff.com/news/slide-show/s ... 110114.htm
She said the current Intifada (rebellion) in contrast "to other periods of turbulence in the past 20 years, largely home-grown, spontaneous, and separate from the various political actors who have tried to position themselves as leaders of the people of the Kashmir valley."
'
Total BS. Largely homespun BS. Only US analyst are talking about this. Only outside groups have a hand in this.

he sympathy for KMs is so strong, that no matter what they do against India, its the David Vs Goliath situation to the west. After all, once again as I mentioned in the TSP thread, no skin off their back.

CRamS wrote: But your friend refuses and is too timid to say the least, and maybe he even empathizes with the bandit's cause. He therefore insists that the ransom be paid up to the bandit.
Do you call him a friend ?

http://www.greaterkashmir.com/news/2011 ... ujc-32.asp

Just a ploy to deceive world: UJC
NISAR AHMED THOKAR

Islamabad, Jan 15: Reacting to GK Pillai’s statement regarding forces reduction in Jammu and Kashmir, the United Jihad Council Chief Syed Sallahudin has said that it was India’s plot to deceive international community that there was peace in the region.
Talking to Greater Kashmir here on Saturday, the UJC Chief maintained that the statement was devoid of any weight and substance as on one hand ‘the Indian Home Secretary was talking of 25% cut in the forces deployed in the held territory while on the other Indian Army chief categorically turned down his assertions by saying that the Army was not aware of any troop reduction plan.’

It was interesting indeed to see GK Pillai making forces reduction and an immediate reaction from Army. Even the higher ups who are thinking of the reduction are now stuck with Army's reaction. INC had made a statement that it is better political parties not getting into views and let government handle.

Acharya wrote:http://www.rediff.com/news/slide-show/s ... 110114.htm
[Total BS. Largely homespun BS. Only US analyst are talking about this. Only outside groups have a hand in this.
Pretty much explain the storm pelting drama done for Obama.The Khan remains the real real force behind Hooribats and GOI still peddling this some kind strategic relation.

Muppalla wrote:It was interesting indeed to see GK Pillai making forces reduction and an immediate reaction from Army. Even the higher ups who are thinking of the reduction are now stuck with Army's reaction. INC had made a statement that it is better political parties not getting into views and let government handle.

This pillai chappie is turning out to be an unmitigated disaster.

Civilian control of the Army does not mean that any two bit babu just shooting off his mouth without appreciating the overall security implications.

I wonder who is backing this guy when he interferes in the domain of other ministries???

Or is it that SMK and saint antony are seen as weak?

GK Pillai is most famous shooter :). In the past he used to conduct regular press conf to just shoot off his mouth. His boss is PC.
Raja Ram

Post by Raja Ram »

Ah! things are moving in a particular way in the last few weeks. The visit of Biden and the statements from GOI preceding and succeding the visit are pointers of the demands of pakistan and the Americans on the GOI.

The thinning of the armed presence, the lack of political will to assert Indian soverignity are actions on the ground that cannot be ignored. The lone voice of national assertion has been that of the BJP with their politically symbolic plan to hoist the tri-colour at the Lal Chowk. Students of history, would know the significance of this.

Gentle Rakshaks, please re-read the post in page 40 of this thread - Beware of the Ides of March!

I think something is cooking in the vale, in Pindi, in Delhi and in Washington! One hopes no lemons are bought by the GOI from well meaning friends and a desperate and weak foe! One hopes a sense of duty will prevail over the need for establishing a legacy.

Raja Ram wrote:The lone voice of national assertion has been that of the BJP with their politically symbolic plan to hoist the tri-colour at the Lal Chowk. Students of history, would know the significance of this.
Boss, even I was thinking that BJP decision to hoist the majestic tri color in Lal Chowk is an expression of supreme nationalism which in and of itself is commendable, but now I cam convinced that their decision is about something even more profound, perpahs an attempt to pre-empt an impending sell out by MMS. Please see the following interviews on TimesNow. Listen carefull to Radha Kumar. She was particularly piqued that BJP will do so at Lal Chowk. Lal Chowk seems to hold some key sympbolic value to Paki/US puppetters like the vegetarian terrorist.

http://www.timesnow.tv/Debate-Whos-prov ... 362570.cms

http://www.timesnow.tv/Debate-Whos-prov ... 362571.cms

http://www.timesnow.tv/Debate-Whos-prov ... 362572.cms

CRamS wrote:Boss, even I was thinking that BJP decision to hoist the majestic tri color in Lal Chowk is an expression of supreme nationalism which in and of itself is commendable, but now I cam convinced that their decision is about something even more profound, perpahs an attempt to pre-empt an impending sell out by MMS.
That is the context where Shri Pillai made a statement to get fullish return from army chief.

MJ Akbar on all of this:
http://mjakbarblog.blogspot.com/2011/01 ... shift.html
Normally, such an important swivel should have been announced by Home Minister P.C. Chidambaram, or even Prime Minister Dr Manmohan Singh. There is only reason why they did not. They were using Pillai to test the waters of public and political opinion before the ship of state could be turned towards a different direction.

There is only question to ask, and it surely must be wandering through General Singh’s thoughts: have the twin threats of terrorism, much of it Pakistan-funded and inspired, and intrusions by elements of the Pak army reduced by 25%? Other questions emerge from this. What evidence do we have of any change in Pakistan’s covert policies towards India? Relations, bolstered by back-channel talks, between India and Pakistan were improving until the terrorist attack on Mumbai. Delhi demanded that the sponsors of this terrible carnage, sitting pretty in Lahore, be held to account. Pakistan snubbed the thought. It has done nothing. Should we conclude, therefore, that the UPA government has decided to forget Mumbai and resume the pre-Mumbai equation with Pakistan? The UPA may be entirely rational in conceding defeat in the stand-off against Islamabad, but confession and clarity before the Indian people would help.

CRamS wrote:Guys, lets face it, whether I like it or not, whether majority of us BR like it or not, MMS is not prepared to defend India's case in J&K.
CRamS - MMS may be ready to sellout J&K but have YOU read the writing on the wall? The focus is shifting from the fate of J&K to Pakistan's fate. I must point out that you are more erudite, louder and more prolific about India losing J&K than Pakistan seems to be about gaining J&K.

I believe it is high time you get your contacts in the US to look at Pakistan's fate rather than waste your valuable intellectual resources on wringing your hands about how India is going to lose J&K.
somnath

Post by somnath »

chetak wrote: This pillai chappie is turning out to be an unmitigated disaster.

Civilian control of the Army does not mean that any two bit babu just shooting off his mouth without appreciating the overall security implications.

I wonder who is backing this guy when he interferes in the domain of other ministries???

Or is it that SMK and saint antony are seen as weak?
Chetakji, given that you seem to be someone who has worked in the government (Navy, if I m not mistaken?), a bit surprised that you conclude so quickly...Senior govt officials, rarely, if ever, "shout their mouths" off without some political sanction...Sometimes they reflect truf wars, sometimes they also simply reflect coordinated strategy...Remember Adm Sureesh Verma's tirde against Russia on the Gorshkov issue? He went all the way to suggesting a revaluation of diplmatic relationships! And got "rapped" publicly by the govt...Is it a coincidence that the good Admiral was offered an Ambassodarial assignment soon after retirement? :wink:

Turf war between MoD and MHA in this case? Possible, but not likely - PC doesnt seem to be a peacenik, if anything, he is the hawk in this govt..the "peace" parts of Kashmir policy is driven by the PMO...So is it a turf war, or a ploy to keep the peace plate boiling? Or present the difficulties of conceding too much to the world as the Americans start making more noises on Kashmir to gain Paki help in Af? simply "blow up" the difference of public opinion, and take refuge behind that?
menon s

Post by menon s »

Unbiased News On Kashmir, from Srilankan Guardian.

The protests for the creation of a separate Telngana state out of Andhra Pradesh were violent leading to many deaths. The protest of Bhartiya Janta Party which was the party leading the central government against the killing of 56 people in a train burning incident was very violent, leading to a pogrom of Muslims in Gujarat. The most conservative estimates of death toll put the number of casualities at around 2000. The protests of Gurjars, a community in Rajsthan for getting included in the Scheduled Tribes list was very violent. The protests against the killing of a Hindu saint belonging to right-wing Vishwa Hindu Parishad in Odisha was very violent, resulting in killings of hundreds of Christians.

The security forces maintained the restraint of highest order in all these incident. They restrained even when the mobs went on killing fellow Indian citizens. They showed maximum restraint even when their own colleagues were killed by these furious mobs. They did not open fire upon crowds in these areas even when they destroyed public as well as individual properties.

They exercised this restraint even in Jammu, the other half of the state, during the violent protests over transfer of lands to the Amarnath Temple Shrine Board. The police and paramilitary personnel did not fire on the crowds even when two members of police were killed. Contrast this with the situation in Kashmir valley. The claimed deadliness of these mass assaults is exposed by the fact that the stone pelting protests have not resulted in the single death of security personnel. And yet, security forces have not shown any of the exemplary restraint they show elsewhere.

The real problem of the people in Kashmir is that. They know that these forces treat them differently than Indians. They see these forces brutalising Kashmiris in every conceivable ways and contrast this with their behaviour in other Indian provinces.

A well written article by Avinash Pandey.
http://www.srilankaguardian.org/2010/09 ... ds-of.html

State has no right to kill its own protesting citizens and if the security forces think that their sacrifices alone paved way for Kashmir still being with us, please do not forget every commoner in India, has also given sacrifices in different levels. the infrastructure we wanted in our cities were decreased because of high military expenditure. Higher troop levels meant heavier taxation etc. So please, the military in India is accountable to the citizens.

menon s sahib,

kindly highlight and trash undiluted BS peddled in the articles you laud as otherwise 'unbiased'. Here's an example:
The protests against the killing of a Hindu saint belonging to right-wing Vishwa Hindu Parishad in Odisha was very violent, resulting in killings of hundreds of Christians.
100s? really? The kandhamal riots claimed all of 3 people. Its BS like this that goes surreptiously through that results in claims of 1000/2000/1000s killed in Gujarat riots in 2002 whereas the official number of riot dead, released by a mantri in parliament is <800.

^^ oh please spare us the malarkey.
leading to a pogrom of Muslims in Gujarat. The most conservative estimates of death toll put the number of casualities at around 2000.
Would have appreciated if the writer would have cared to mention how many Hindus died in these so called "Pogroms".
In how many states do we see security forces attacked by Pakistan trained Islamic terrorists throwing grenades.

Violent protests in Jammu during Amaranth shrine board agitation? Smoking finest of Golden triangle?
It was one of the most peaceful agitation with GoI blocking supply of any food/medical item to this forsaken part of the state. Compare this with Kashmir where even the terrorists were fed Biryani during Chara-e-shareif.
The people of Jammu treated army and Security forces with all the respect that they deserve. How often anyone has seen any Kashmiri offering a glass of water to a security personal. I can speak from my personal experience that KM's are the most thankless community in India.
State has no right to kill its own protesting citizens and if the security forces think that their sacrifices alone paved way for Kashmir still being with us, please do not forget every commoner in India, has also given sacrifices in different levels. the infrastructure we wanted in our cities were decreased because of high military expenditure. Higher troop levels meant heavier taxation etc.
From which Musharaff has this philosophy pulled out. States kill their own all the time if the protest become threat to national unity. Thank-you for not joining the protest against Indian state.
India still treats kashmiri's with Kid gloves unlike Russia or China or USA who would have converted Kashmir into Football ground many moons ago.
If troop levels are high in India that is because we are surrounded by terrorist states like Pakistan and China. If that means higher taxation so be it. I would rather have IA protecting our borders while I live in slum rather than having Paki and Chinese boot on my neck and threat of conversion.
What was that joke - I will rather be called a ******** than a Paki.

Oh BTW Author missed mentioning 75000000000000 soldiers stationed in J&K raping kashmiri women.
menon s

Post by menon s »

Dear Vikas raina ,
Please do not condone me outright. All my request here is that, a state killing its own children. which i feel sad about. Secondly, sir, i the troops can restrain themselves in jammu and other parts why? this rampant killing of Kashmiri stone throwers? is it wrong to question that?

Sir,
I am touched by your liberal thoughts,your heart bleeding for innojent cashmere children.Wah! Wah!you light candles of hope in the frayed Indo-pak relationship.

PS:The firings were done by J&K police,not Central forces or the Army.
Last edited by svenkat on 17 Jan 2011 20:41, edited 1 time in total.

menon s wrote:Dear Vikas raina ,
Please do not condone me outright. All my request here is that, a state killing its own children. which i feel sad about. Secondly, sir, i the troops can restrain themselves in jammu and other parts why? this rampant killing of Kashmiri stone throwers? is it wrong to question that?
Please substantiate with a 'figure/number' , just want to know how rampant is this 'rampant'. :)

negi wrote:Please substantiate with a 'figure/number' , just want to know how rampant is this 'rampant'. :)
Guess you would have to wait for a very long time negi sir ;). The sympathiser for the Kashmiri children most likely is from another state where strikes, and destruction of public property is a God (or rather Karl Marx) given right, so expect more such gems. So every stone thrower, every religious fanatic (of non-majority religious variety) would by default get acceptance here.

menon s wrote:Dear Vikas raina ,
The problem is that -

In Jammu the armed/police forces did not show any restraint as there was no need for it. The Amaranath protesters were carrying Tricolors and were not pelting stones at the police and armed forces.

On the other hand your jihadi brothers were pelting stones and burning govt offices and schools as they protested; and met suitable state response to maintain law-and-order.

P.S: Everything will start making sense to you, once you start using your brains instead of your Musharraf while reading news and making opinions.

menon s:

What is this f$%^&ing self-righteous crap over KM children? Do you think India is so blood thirsty? That stone-pelting was an organized affair. But lets cut through the chase. The simple equaltion is that the KMs dream "azaadi", but India simply will not grant that. The valley belongs as much to India. So tell the KMs to alter this equation, and the killing problem will be solved in a heartbeat. I am sick and tired of all these tears being shed for the KMs, especially by Indian liberals who should know better on the what Kashmir means to India, and the game being played by TSP and its valley puppetteers.

Echoes in the valley

http://www.hindustantimes.com/Echoes-in ... 51235.aspx
Talking to Hindustan Times earlier, chief minister Omar Abdullah had suggested that based on the interlocutors' recommendations, the Centre would be out with a roadmap soon. "I believe the home minister, while briefing the consultative committee of the home department in parliament, has assured that some sort of roadmap will be available within the next four months," Abdullah had told HT.
Th winter has so far been quiet and even Geelani says the slogan "khoon ka badla June mein lengay" (revenge for the blood will be in June) is not something that his cadre support and party supports.