Understanding the United States of America (USA) - III

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Understanding the United States of America (USA) - III

HKumar wrote:This is funny. Nobody mocks Drumph better than Obama. Drumpf's twiter access was taken away by his campaign

https://www.cnet.com/news/obama-laughs- ... rivileges/

If it indeed has I guess Ted Cruz and Je Bush (never understood why they used 2 B's) would be glad for a change :)

Interesting news.
SuperStation95 has found out that Tuesday's Election is so RIGGED, that Newsweek has already printed a Special Commemorative PRINTED ISSUE to hit newsstands on Wednesday!

trumpistas are predominantly the old white rural and sub-metropolis working class, people who think that there were some halcyon good old days where the sun shone and apple pie was sweeter until them goddamn dark folks got too uppity... and them goddamn commies n queers n... all them other weird folks (who betrayed the honest white worker as a global yahudi conspiracy)

am watching many of my gora American friends go ballistic on kitab-e-chehra over this and its sad to watch... apoplectic rage seems to be a common theme from trumpistas, including desi American ones (as I see on FB)

the trump machine has done something very smart - which is to vaccum up all the old school memes and using new media and post truth tactics hijacked the republican party (and yes they were stupid enough to allow it cos they hated the n***r in the white house) and amplified the angst and hate very effectively

hillbilly doesn't help herself by being all establishment, and the electorate is an a big time anti-establishment mood

we have tsar putinovich to thank for stoking that particular fire
damn well played old chappie!

habal wrote:Interesting news.
SuperStation95 has found out that Tuesday's Election is so RIGGED, that Newsweek has already printed a Special Commemorative PRINTED ISSUE to hit newsstands on Wednesday!
A number of printed media wallahs have prepared two alternative editions - just so they have something ready to go. this is old practice - there is a famous picture of Truman I believe holding up a paper proclaiming his rival as having won

HKumar wrote:^ you do realize that you would be the other side of this wall ?
In India's freedom movement, opportunists sided with British, became zamindars & jagirdars, raibahadur. Then there were those who did not jump the wall, struggled, endured and fought for independence.

In mughal days, Sikhs & Marathas didn't jump the wall, those who jumped the wall today are called pakistanis.

depends upon which side of the wall you belong ..
HKumar

Post by HKumar »

habal wrote:Interesting news.

you do realize that is very very very common ?? no need for conspiracy hats. they always have two editions ready and release the winners the same day or next.

same happens for shirts/cap of any winning (and losing ) professional sports. ever notice how the winning team has the "champions" cap / shirts at end of the game?

you might have a view on which side of the wall you think you belong
but the populace may have a different view on which side they see you belonging...

HKumar wrote: you do realize that is very very very common ?? no need for conspiracy hats. they always have two editions ready and release the winners the same day or next.

same happens for shirts/cap of any winning (and losing ) professional sports. ever notice how the winning team has the "champions" cap / shirts at end of the game?
trying hard to find the Trump victory publication, so far unsuccessful
HKumar

Post by HKumar »

habal wrote:
HKumar wrote:^ you do realize that you would be the other side of this wall ?
In India's freedom movement, opportunists sided with British, became zamindars & jagirdars, raibahadur. Then there were those who did not jump the wall, struggled, endured and fought for independence.

In mughal days, Sikhs & Marathas didn't jump the wall, those who jumped the wall today are called pakistanis.

depends upon which side of the wall you belong ..

nice pivot from Latinos and white supremacists to India and mughals...

what's wrong with a pivot and that too for a BillC supporter ?
HKumar

Post by HKumar »

habal wrote:
HKumar wrote: you do realize that is very very very common ?? no need for conspiracy hats. they always have two editions ready and release the winners the same day or next.

trying hard to find the Trump victory publication, so far unsuccessful
:rotfl: :rotfl: keep searching, my friend. meanwhile I have a wall in arizona to sell... quite cheap

komal wrote:
Primus wrote: From Table 1.4, page 8 "This Century's Bloodiest Megamurderers"

Numbers are in millions (rounded)

Joseph Stalin: 42.7
Mao Tse-Tung: 37.8
Adolf Hitler: 20.9
Chiang Kai-shek: 10.2
Vladimir Illich Lenin: 4.0
Tojo Hideki: 3.99
Pol Pot: 2.4
Yahya Khan: 1.5
Josip Tito: 1.17
I notice that Churchill is left out.
The table refers to (as does the title of the book) - Death by Government, i.e. people of a given nation (or those controlled by a conquering force) killed within their own country by their own leader or government. The 'Democide' as he calls it thus involves the deliberate murder of the citizenry.

Churchill, though head of the British Empire within which the Indian famine occurred, did not kill the Indians 'with intent' in the manner of the others. However, he does note that Churchill did aid Tito against the Chetniks on the basis of false propaganda from the Communist moles within the British government and the BBC. So it turns out that Churchill not only bears responsibility for the Indian genocide but also in some part for the Yugoslav tragedy.
Viv S wrote: Sorry to nitpick but the arithmetic seems a little off to me. You know Chiang Kai-shek & Tojo Hideki were nationalists right?

The commies do seem to have a 'healthy' 2:1 advantage over the Fascists on the body count stats.
Yes, the math is a bit off. I did leave Hideki out of it. Still, 90 million is no small number.

Rummel does observe that democratic governments do have a better record when it comes to 'democide'.

habal wrote:trying hard to find the Trump victory publication, so far unsuccessful
The GOP declares debate victory for Mike Pence, 90 minutes before it starts

Its okay to be prepared, as long as you wait till the finish line. But everything leaks like a sieve nowadays.

Stacks of boxes with the Special Edition ‘Madam President’ cover depicting Hillary Clinton winning the U.S. presidential race next week were secretly photographed by a Newsweek employee who says that there were no Trump versions made.

you've heard it being said? people are telling you?

the lasting effect of this campaign is that nothing will ever be believed ever again...

habal wrote:Stacks of boxes with the Special Edition ‘Madam President’ cover depicting Hillary Clinton winning the U.S. presidential race next week were secretly photographed by a Newsweek employee who says that there were no Trump versions made.
Some of the insiders were saying that they ran out of Orange ink so couldn't print Trump covers. Is this true or not? I don't know, you tell me!

folks you've got to watch those orange ink factories
unbelievable!
I mean
unbelievable
I respect orange ink factories more than anyone
I mean
anyone
HKumar

Post by HKumar »

There is proof that Trump has rigged the elections !!!

http://thehill.com/blogs/blog-briefing- ... works-show

Meanwhile the Diwali Stamp has been issued and unless there is demand for it wont be printed next years so go out and buy some Diwali stamps and send them to your nephews and nieces to start them on stamp collecting.

https://about.usps.com/news/national-re ... 16_066.htm

HKumar, There are two reports on your posts. I would suggest you refrain from making personal comments or get banned.

Do you want that now just before voting is counted?
HKumar

Post by HKumar »

ramana wrote:HKumar, There are two reports on your posts. I would suggest you refrain from making personal comments or get banned.

Do you want that now just before voting is counted?

would you mind point out my offending posts?

Friend you don't get it do you?
I am banning you for a week.
Bye, ramana

brar_w wrote: I see the let's expand the tent and prepare to contest a more diverse electorate voices being drowned by the other two side to a point where the GOP may even split. This sucks because in the absence of this Clinton was toast!
The elephants need to get donkey's brains. Even now, unless there is a Clinton tsunami (entirely possible now that she is seen to have been UNFAIRLY ACCUSED :(( by the Extremists) all that the elephants have to do is to grovel before the Independents, though it may be way too late for that since they are unlikely to get any Electoral College delegates.
(Am I right? Unless they win one state clean, they can't get any delegates? )
Well.. fat chance of any collaboration with the Green Party - HiC has a far better chance there, but the other Independent gang is a pair of ex-2-term Governors - far, far more qualified than either DT of HiC to be POTUS/VPOTUS. The elephants are idiots that they couldn't nominate these two in the first place. Now they are basically sucking away the less-wacko elephant votes.
(Sigh! 4 more years of rising PC-ness. Maybe I'll put on a bumper sticker on my yak-mobile saying "Ah Apologize!!" since anything one says or even thinks will now be used to Take Offence and :((

Get out of Twitter. Get out of FaceBook. Too late to get out of PeeAref I guess.

CBS this morning was saying the undecided in last 48 hours were breaking 48% to 28% for DT and HRC respectively.

National polls do not really matter at this stage when A) Many states have been voting since late October, and B ) You're really interested in 5-6 states that will determine where things go. One must also think long and hard as to how many 'true' undecideds actually exist and whether, having not been convinced by one candidate or the other even over the last 18-months, how likely are they to even show up?
Am I right? Unless they win one state clean, they can't get any delegates?
Only the 5 congressional districts are split (outside of their state), rest all of the states go winner takes all in the December Electoral award.

Trump needs to win every toss up and flip one major blue state. All HRC needs to do is either win FL, or a combination of PA and NV or NC and NV, etc etc.

Below is what happens if he wins OH, FL, NC, ME, NH AZ, GA. Except GA and AZ (can't believe we are still talking about these two states) he hasn't consistantly led outside of the MOE in any, since July.

If Clinton Just wins FL and looses NV (that is not happening), ME, NH, MI, OH, NE and NC she still wins the EV count by 8.
Last edited by brar_w on 08 Nov 2016 00:16, edited 6 times in total.

ramana wrote:Meanwhile the Diwali Stamp has been issued and unless there is demand for it wont be printed next years so go out and buy some Diwali stamps and send them to your nephews and nieces to start them on stamp collecting.

https://about.usps.com/news/national-re ... 16_066.htm

Not available in our local PO, got it delivered by mail. Agree, after all the demanding, people need to put their money where their mouth is.

How Evan McMullin could be President
McMullin's strategy is to block both Trump and Clinton from hitting the 270 electoral vote threshold to win, which would send the tiebreaker election to the House of Representatives. An election hasn’t been decided by the House since 1824.

Even though I'm voting McMullin I, like thousands of others doign the same probably don't expect him to win :). ABC needs something to do till they can share exit poll data :). There are literally no realistic scenarios where this is possible although I'm sure it would be a media dream come true.

McMullin in latest Utah poll is at 25%. So most unlikely to win Utah.
Dinesh S

Post by Dinesh S »

Gus wrote:
Rudradev wrote:As I recall, the "argument" advanced by our Clintonistas was fairly typical: Hindu Americans should not call out Huma Abedin on her Paki and Saudi connections, but rather stay dhimmified in the hope of getting on her good side, because after all she is "1/2 Indian" (sic). It was not specified whether this was supposed to mean 1/2 Indian citizenship or 1/2 Indian descent.

*cutting out irrelevant stuff*

End of argument, until you saw fit to flog that poor dead Donkey once again... but don't let me interrupt your efforts
dead donkey, braying donkey...fact is, she has Indian descent. Whether that means she cannot be anti-Indian or not is not an argument I am making.

Her father was Indian. Born in 1928 in dilli. Probably moved to US for PhD..not clear. I am assuming he went to US on Indian passport sometime after 1950

Given that he was an Indian citizen, and never a citizen of Pak or BD - Huma would even qualify for OCI, if not for her mother who probably held paki citizenship - which excludes OCI eligibility.

https://passport.gov.in/oci/
A foreign national, - (i) who was a citizen of India at the time of, or at any time after 26th January, 1950; or (ii) who was eligible to become a citizen of India on 26th January, 1950; or (iii) who belonged to a territory that became part of India after 15th August, 1947; or (iv) who is a child or a grandchild or a great grandchild of such a citizen; or (v) who is a minor child of such persons mentioned above; or (vi) who is a minor child and whose both parents are citizens of India or one of the parents is a citizen of India - is eligible for registration as OCI cardholder.
However, no person, who or either of whose parents or grandparents or great grandparents is or had been a citizen of Pakistan, Bangladesh or such other country as the Central Government may, by notification in the Official Gazette, specify, shall be eligible for registration as an Overseas Citizen of India Cardholder.
If she tweets to Sushma Aunty, she might even get a waiver :P
I appreciate your pointing us to the conclusion that India allows "dual citizenship" to born US citizens, by the way... hadn't noticed this on the MEA website. You learn something new from Killary's fact-checkers every day :)
Aren't you letting your impatience get in the way of thinking through your chain of arguments? :P

You made the claim that how can any US born person be 1/n of any other country.

To which I said, US does allow dual citizenship with some countries. I did not mention India anywhere there.

And here you are making a ulta pulta statement attributing to me - "your pointing us to the conclusion that India allows "dual citizenship" to born US citizens"

I am very well aware of Jus Soli and Jus Sanguinis issues and India's non dual citizenship regime etc. :D
By that metric, jinnah and Musharraf and whole of pakistan are indians and of indian descent and their actions have been beneficial for india because they are of indian descent .
But hey, what would i know what kind of mental gymnastics go inside hilary supporters. :lol:
Last edited by Dinesh S on 08 Nov 2016 00:56, edited 1 time in total.
Dinesh S

Post by Dinesh S »

Viv S wrote:
LokeshC wrote:Nitpick. 'Coba' aka Stalin was a nationalist too, and a psychopath. So was ch000thchill
While he had no qualms about employing nationalist themes for propaganda 1941-45, Stalin was actually an ethnic Georgian (born Iosef Dzugashvili) not a Russian.
Now now comrade, Hillary has only 1/10th the body count of Monsieur Stalin. Here is to hoping that she becomes the president and matches his numbers so that we can see proof that women are exactly the same as men. Also, we wouldn't want the reform rats/Vatican coolies inside india to run out of moola and support now do we ? I mean who would civilize the unwashed heathens/pagans if the ghoul doesn't win presidency ? And not to mention the friend of khalistani indians, as many Huma Abedin supporting jingos(?) here would like to put it, like Tim Kaine as vice president? :mrgreen:
Dinesh S

Post by Dinesh S »

In fact The soulless ghoul's presidency and khalistani pasand tim Kaine's vice president will be the best thing that can happen to khalistanis, naxals, reform rats/Vatican coolies like John dayal (i mean don't you heathen pagans want to be reformed and enlightened by xtianity and Xtians like the blacks of africa, native Americans of north america, Aztecs and Mayans of meso america, incans of south america , aboriginals of australia etc have been?) . After all they are all indians and we can all solidly agree that they will be highly empowered by the ghoul and her khalistani running mate. So its not like none of the indians will get any benefit from the ghoul like the trump supporters are making it out to be. Vote with your common sense guys, the evidence is for all to see :mrgreen:

A couple of things.

Today Janet Reno the first US Attorney General died. She was appointed by Bill Clinton and was the longest serving AG.

A few things that happened were end of Branch Davidians in WACO with an Abrahams tank. There were many casualties form a fire set off by the leader David Khoresh.
Next was the return of a Cuban child saved from the sea to his father in Cuba.

This is last week of Renee Montagne NPR radio show Morning Edition host.

Good luck to her.

Dinesh S wrote:Now now comrade, Hillary has only 1/10th the body count of Monsieur Stalin. Here is to hoping that she becomes the president and matches his numbers so that we can see proof that women are exactly the same as men. Also, we wouldn't want the reform rats/Vatican coolies inside india to run out of moola and support now do we ? I mean who would civilize the unwashed heathens/pagans if the ghoul doesn't win presidency ? And not to mention the friend of khalistani indians, as many Huma Abedin supporting jingos(?) here would like to put it, like Tim Kaine as vice president? :mrgreen:
She can't be worse than a genuine 'Kenyan Muslim'. Which is better than giving a moron* the reins.

In 2020, a Republican, one with all his marbles in place, will be well placed to replace her. Unless the moron gets elected, in which case he's the one who gets replaced in 2020, in this case by a Democrat (unless he declares martial law and dismantles the Election Commission).

*I'm being very very literal here. Unlike other anti-Trump members, the Trumpian lack of rational thinking/commonsense bothers me a lot more than the misogyny or xenophobia or casual racism.

A man who can turn up to a Presidential debate, the most important 40 minutes in the his life, utterly and hilariously unprepared, is a dumbass.

Thinks its good idea to attack the mother of a dead soldier. Dumbass.
Thinks it will help his prospects to call a judge from Indiana, a Mexican. Dumbass.
Publicly reassures his audience about the size of his penis. Dumbass.
Launches a 3 AM twitter tirade against a former beauty pageant contestant, weeks away from the Nov general election. Dumbass.
Gives a speech on the hallowed grounds of Gettysburg, promising to sue the women who accused him of sexual harassment. Dumbass.

The tape from the Hollywood Access bus (that hurt him worse than anything else) he couldn't have done anything about. It was part of his past. Much like his tax returns or lawsuits (or Clinton's emails). ^These on the other hand, are all examples of unforced errors stupidity.

Now while a dumbass in charge of Zimbabwe or Venezuela can only really do damage to Zimbabwe or Venezuela, one in charge of the 25% of the world's GDP can cause a global recession.

Which will inevitably drag India's growth down. Those economic numbers are more than just figures. They determine whether tens of millions of people get pulled out of extreme poverty. Or not.

Hmm... can't disagree. But Da Man was honest - he showed what he was. And lost to the snake. That still doesn't win my vote for the snake.
I had actually ignored him as a non-serious candidate until I saw the first debate and realized the Clinton Difference: complete sliminess. And then the second debate. And the third debate. And the VP "debate". Sorry, but after that I can't stand Clinton or Kaine. . BTW, I admired SlickWillie. He would have been such a success as a snake-oil salesman!

All the points that you cite are superficial. There are not far from
Came to the Debate With His Collar Button / Fly Unbuttoned!
But that's not what I look for in a President. They have Advisers and Generals and Assistants to do things like send FAXes, set up email servers etc. What they need from the POTUS is general direction and gut feeling. Reagan did that, he was a success though he was ignorant on the details. Jimmy Carter tried being a detail man, and was a disaster at everything. Nixon kept assiduous records (tapes) of everything, and look what it got him.

You had to really pay attention to understand what Trump was saying: often he was very very succinct. That is the style of many super-successful CEOs who are also honest. They are accustomed to talking to others at their level, who 'get' what they are saying in very few words.

Clinton just lays out words like a robot, but is utterly insincere. For instance, think a bit about:
I was right there, MONITORING the mission that killed Bin Laden.
She said that like 6 times.
Yup. Like I MONITORED the movie "Legally Blonde".
What she really did was probably to send the top secret email to her private server via Humbedin so that Vlad Putin could be warned.

BTW, I think this explains how Vlad knew about the US coup attempt in Turkey. :rotfl:
Last edited by UlanBatori on 08 Nov 2016 02:53, edited 1 time in total.

Gus wrote:
Rudradev wrote:As I recall, the "argument" advanced by our Clintonistas was fairly typical: Hindu Americans should not call out Huma Abedin on her Paki and Saudi connections, but rather stay dhimmified in the hope of getting on her good side, because after all she is "1/2 Indian" (sic). It was not specified whether this was supposed to mean 1/2 Indian citizenship or 1/2 Indian descent.

*cutting out irrelevant stuff*

End of argument, until you saw fit to flog that poor dead Donkey once again... but don't let me interrupt your efforts
dead donkey, braying donkey...fact is, she has Indian descent. Whether that means she cannot be anti-Indian or not is not an argument I am making.
Thanks. Your penchant for missing the point (or for that matter, the side of a barn) is illuminated by the precise section of my quote that you leave out as "irrelevant" to Huma Abedin where Indians are concerned :rotfl:
Last edited by Rudradev on 08 Nov 2016 03:10, edited 1 time in total.

Meanwhile from Wall Street:
Traders expect U.S. stock prices to swing by about 2 percent in either direction on Wednesday, the day after the election, based on the price of S&P 500 index options. Options on the PowerShares QQQ Trust Russell 2000 ETF, are pricing similarly large swings before the week is out.

Some banks are projecting a more extreme drop in the event of a victory for Republican Donald Trump, with Citigroup ( C )
estimating that a Trump victory could trigger a 3-5 percent sell-off for the S&P 500.

U.S. stocks rose on Monday as Democrat Hillary Clinton's prospects brightened after the FBI said it would not press criminal charges related to her use of a private email server.

Investors have tended to see Clinton as a more status quo candidate, while Trump's stances on foreign policy, trade and immigration have unnerved the market. After the election, Morgan Stanley ( MS ) will hold a call for financial advisers and clients with Chief Investment Officer Mike Wilson on Wednesday morning.
Goldman Sachs ( GS ) is also hosting a call for its private wealth clients led by Chief Investment Officer Sharmin Mossavar-Rahmani and members of Washington lobbying groups Elmendorf Ryan and CGCN Group, according to an invitation sent to clients. More than half of the stock and bond fund managers polled by Northern Trust in the third quarter said they expected the election to cause a large increase in market volatility.

On Tuesday night, when results begin to come in, JPMorgan ( JPM ) will have additional traders on duty in New York to back up its Asian trading teams in case of surges in volume, said bank spokesman Brian Marchiony. The extra staffing is similar to what the bank did during Britain's vote to leave the European Union, he said.

Actually, Gus ji, if we're to think of Huma Abedin as "1/2 Indian"... then you can't possibly object to the allegation that Gonzalo Curiel, the judge hearing the Trump University lawsuit, is "Mexican". Same yardstick. No? :P

UlanBatori wrote:Hmm... can't disagree. But Da Man was honest - he showed what he was. And lost to the snake. That still doesn't win my vote for the snake.
She certain sounds artificial though I wouldn't go as far 'snake'. And Trump very far from honest no matter how earnest he sounds. Take a look at his Politifact profile for a start. Think the Clinton Foundation was peddling influence? Check out the Trump Foundation if you fancy a laugh.

That said, choosing between snake or monkey-with-a-gun.

Go with the snake. Always go with the snake. The snake's instincts & actions are known and are predictable. It'll behave like every other snake. Meanwhile it doesn't matter how adorable the monkey is, with all the goodwill in the world, you may still end up with a hole in your head.

That's Trump for you. He's ignorant and overconfident. Thin skinned and impulsive.

Its nice to say that don't worry he'll put somebody competent in-charge and only provide 'moral' direction. Well look no further than his campaign for how well he delegates power and runs an organisation.

His campaign has gone through three leadership changes within four months, and this is late in the election year. Kellyanne Conway has done better than her predecessors at managing Trump but even she's been pushed to her limits. One of her wisest decisions was to confiscate his Twitter account, which is now managed by her.

Good leaders delegate, while buffoons need babysitting and she's been tasked with the latter.

Meanwhile for all of Trump's strength on social media, his ground game/GOTV effort is pathetic. Way worse than Romney's was. And if the news from early voting is to be believed, the results are starting to show. Further evidence of how well managed his term in office (god forbid) will be.
Last edited by Viv S on 08 Nov 2016 03:54, edited 2 times in total.