India Nuclear News and Discussion 4 July 2011

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India Nuclear News and Discussion 4 July 2011

chetak wrote: The frenchies are very pragmatic, money minded and practical people without any commercial vestige of conscience.

They will never reduce nuclear power generation, come what may.
Chetak-ji; what we do not see in India, but is increasingly seen in the west is a realization of the issues that come with NPP and which were being so far some what "oh it wont come to that" type of approach. This is due to Fukushima and has fairly wide coverage in Japan, Germany and other parts of Europe.

This is one example from Al Guardian.

Read this article and imagine if you are average French man in love with cheese and wines, what does this particular horror story tell you. (and the sad part is the horror story is all true)

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2011/se ... -aftermath

The impact of Fukushima on Japan is mind boggling, in a country restricted in size and already seen many horrors, the massive leak of radioactivity coupled with the disruption in soil, water food and life cycles in creating havoc.

Depression, suicides, destroyed crops, uninhabitable cities, thousands of evacuees, persistent radiation in food and mothers breast milk, total lack of information to populace by those who claimed that they understood the science (the Nuclear industry has all but abdicated responsibility and run away)

Its a frightening picture -- and Europe is getting to see a lot of it given their cultural sensitives.

I would think that Europe would be really worried -- things would change there.

^^^^^^

It's good that the tiger's stripes are finally showing.

The markings were there for anyone who wanted to see.

First championing the great "nooklear" expert Busby.

Then posting stuff written by our own desi "nooklear" expert Praful Bidwai.

And for more Gora confirmation, posting George Monbiot's rants.

And now the above quote of an old piece of news by Jonathan Watts in that leftist rag "Al Guardian" (I do believe Sanku's use of this derisive slag was a Freudian slip!) is just continuation of the pattern.

They say you are known by the company you keep. Those who follow the subject matter know that Jonathan Watts ji's writings are quoted in a lot of interesting places. For example in Nukefree.org who's avowed aim is To stop construction of new atomic reactors and close those now in operation.

So like I said the Tiger's stripes are becoming clear. Sanku is avowedly anti-nuclear even though he won't admit it. Nothing wrong in being anti-nuclear per se, so is Theo. However, the difference is that Theo is upfront about it, he criticises LWRs, VVRs as well as PWHRs. And he's a huge sceptic about the fast breeder program. One can respect that even if one does not agree.

In the case of Sanku, I take the liberty of quoting Tanaji's questions to him:
Interesting ... Couple of points:

Why not include Russia in this? After all they are the only ones to have a design that was so fundamentally flawed that it has caused the biggest nuclear incident till date. Why should we buy VVERs then by that logic?

How do you know Indian NPPs are good (in the past you have not objected to these) and safe? Arent these certified by the very same scientists that are liars, traitors and frauds since they lied on the nuclear bomb issue? IF they can lie (as per you) on such a critical topic why should we believe them on the safety of NPPs?
A good set of questions. As far as I'm concerned, as long as Sanku doesn't make his position clear on these issues, I'd just read his posts for entertainment value. I've always maintained that the anti-nuclear lobby has always been short on facts and long on rhetoric. And so it's always best to sit back and have some fun at their expense. :-)

Sanatanan

Post by Sanatanan »

I welcome this good news pertaining to indigenous development of a high-tech component. Well done NFC & DAE !!

India joins select group of nations in making tubes for nuclear plants

Katare wrote:haha...ha
Indeed a haha... ha moment.

The supposed chance of reducing nuclear content from 80 per cent to 50 per cent means the French are going to close down Aveya, I mean how silly can one get?

Sanatanan wrote:I welcome this good news pertaining to indigenous development of a high-tech component. Well done NFC & DAE !!

India joins select group of nations in making tubes for nuclear plants
+100

Indeed a proud moment.

Amit, I dont expect any remote comprehension from you, but would it be too much to not take my name in any of nonsensical bile that you randomly spew at repeated intervals?

Also for the record, you have not understood an IOTA of what I said in the post, and have completely misinterpreted what I said, but given your spectacular abilities and stellar record, I do not expect better.

But yes, do not ascribe your junk to me please.

And yes by the way, regarding the point about Hollande closing French nuclear power plants, one needs to understand that in order to defeat Sarkosy, he has to go to bed with the Green party which is being given 15 seats. The nuclear bladder dash is a result of this. It's very similar to the Congress gifting the vital Railway Ministry to Mamata Didi as her personal fiefdom.

But even then Hollande has had to do a considerable amount of downhill skiiing from his initial comment.

According to this Reuters report:
French Socialist presidential hopeful Francois Hollande will only shut France's oldest nuclear power plant in eastern France during his 5-year term, if elected in May, one of the candidate's spokesmen told Reuters on Tuesday.
"We have a clear-cut position...and consequently he (Hollande) says 'I commit to close the Fessenheim plant' and it is the only plant that he mentions, no others," Cazeneuve said.
And yes Cazeneuve has another interesting comment:
Cazeneuve also attacked a move by France at the start of 2011 for its state-owned nuclear companies Areva and EDF to develop with China a medium-sized 1,000-megawatt reactor.

He said such an agreement would mean the Chinese would be able to compete with France due to a major nuclear technology transfer.

"We will have to review those elements. We will not continue to strip down and dismantle French industrial champions," he said.
So much for the comment: "So AREVA will be selling India technology its own country no longer even wants."

Folks need to understand the difference between political posturing and actually policy implementations. They also need to understand that the politics in most European countries (barring England) is just as much fractured as it is in India. And so the main political parties have to get into understanding with the various loony political groupings. The Greens are just as much wacko as are the various regional parties in India, for example the Trinamool Congress.
Last edited by amit on 27 Mar 2012 12:35, edited 1 time in total.

Sanku wrote:Amit, I dont expect any remote comprehension from you, but would it be too much to not take my name in any of nonsensical bile that you randomly spew at repeated intervals?

Also for the record, you have not understood an IOTA of what I said in the post, and have completely misinterpreted what I said, but given your spectacular abilities and stellar record, I do not expect better.

But yes, do not ascribe your junk to me please.
Oh don't mind me Sanku ji, just carry on with your good work.

Please do keep on quoting folks like Jonathan Watts, George Monbiot, Praful Bidwai and Busby. I'm sure you'll eventually find a few more "experts" to add to the list.

They all add to the sum total of knowledge on this thread. Things will become more clear to folks here.

And by the way sites like Nukefree.org always welcome article contributions, especially from countries like India which are in the target zone for CRE by the NPA lobby. You should seriously consider contributing given your vast knowledge of the "perfidy" being imposed on India by Man Mohan with the 123 and Hyde Act. It's in public interest onlee... Even the likes of "Teacher" Udaykumar started out thus.

Also, Nukefree.org and other such sites can point you to a lot of hitherto untapped "experts".
Last edited by amit on 27 Mar 2012 12:39, edited 1 time in total.

Amber G. wrote:If there is an interest, I will post a few items which, I believe, are extremely important for people to pay attention to.
(I encourage people to read about it, using their own resources, even if I do not post it here)

Jai Hind.
Amber,

Please do post if you have the time. Your posts give a lot of new insights, are point to interesting resources. I find it very them very useful and I dare say a lot of other folks do do too.

So please ignore the noise and keep up the good work.

Since I am not sure that some folks can distinguish between Indian and International nuclear discussions, I will try and do my bit in keeping threads relevant and meaningful

Please continue the discussion on foolish people who dont listen to Nuclear industry in the West here.

http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 5#p1260755

Riff-raff and other such low lives (aka Indian citizen) in India who can not understand what the mighty say can still be mocked here.

Sanku wrote:Since I am not sure that some folks can distinguish between Indian and International nuclear discussions, I will try and do my bit in keeping threads relevant and meaningful

Please continue the discussion on foolish people who dont listen to Nuclear industry in the West here.

http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 5#p1260755

Riff-raff and other such low lives (aka Indian citizen) in India who can not understand what the mighty say can still be mocked here.
Interesting. :-)

On the previous page you go ballistic about the Sellafield plant. On this page Theo makes a comment on Hollande's supposed agenda to close nuclear plants in France and you come up with a rah rah post in agreement. When Chetak points out that the French are unlike to back out of nuclear commerce with India (see the relevance?), you bring up Fukushima and post a piece from a known anti-nuclear activits Jonathan Watts about, ahem, Fukushima, that too written six months ago.

And then when I put a simple question to you: Are you anti-nuclear? [You may evade the question, your choice, but surly this does not belong in the International Nook dhaga?]

You come up with this priceless piece of gyan:
Since I am not sure that some folks can distinguish between Indian and International nuclear discussions, I will try and do my bit in keeping threads relevant and meaningful
You suddenly realised, eh?

The entertainment quotient has never been higher. :lol:

amit wrote:[

On the previous page you go ballistic about the Sellafield plant.
You are right, I should not replied to both your AND Amber G. repeated posts on matters unrelated to Indian nuclear energy on this field. But at least I am trying to correct myself now.

I will wait to see if either of you can will support the efforts to maintain discipline.
And then when I put a simple question to you: Are you anti-nuclear?

No, duh. You can not be anti-nuclear, since there is no such thing as "anti-nuclear".

You might want to re-frame the question, such as "are you against nuclear power plants?" to which my answer again is "no I am not against nuclear power plant"

However, you question is like asking a witness reporting on a Ferrai crash by a drunk driver as "are you against Ferrari"

Theo_Fidel wrote:If Hollande wins as all the polls show as happening, he is committed to cutting Nuclear power in France by 50% from the present 80%.

So AREVA will be selling India technology its own country no longer even wants. There is every likely hood that India will be left holding unusable equipment.

he might say something for the sake of elections , but like every politician he is unlikely to follow it...

France will never cut of nuclear plant...

The last 3 pages of this thread is proof why this thread has gone OT
There is a off-topic thread I hope you know.

What has not recd. enough attention in the entire N-imbroglio,and hat should include the details of the N-deal,which is joined at the hip with the KKM issue,is that of scuttling India's indigenous N-capability,progress thus far and future plans of FBRs,using the thorium route,which would give us a clear edge in such N-power plants and associated tech .This would then make us an attractive and very cost-effective supplier of N-plants and tech worldwide,which the west wants to prevent and completely suppress,.
Thus the insidious N-deal whose unstated aim was to also stunt and cripple our N-weapons programme and make us forever dependent upon external supplies of N-fuel and foreign N-tech. Keeping the Russians out from taking away a large slice of this lucrative piece of cake has been part of the plan.

The French are also particular mercenary about things. They would have no hesitation selling us a $10 Billion plant they have no intention of supporting with spare parts and fuel. They don't have U-235 remember.

French polls have shifted for the first time 60 years to a majority now opposing Nuclear power. Every year the polls get worse, esp. with the young generation. The question is not on the existing plants, but whether France will build any more of these 'New' design plants in its own country. The evidence suggests No. As the existing plants close down the French will have a hard time agreeing on new ones. Hence the hard sell in India. From what I heard NPCIL got quite the sticker shock when AREVA presented its terms. There also apparently demanding a liability exemption.

Once Hollande is in power the pressure on him to follow Merkel will be quite fierce.

Kudankulam: Udayakumar calls off fast

Tirunelveli (TN): Anti-nuclear activists, spearheaded by SP Udayakumar, today called off their 9-day-old fast launched by them after Tamil Nadu government gave the go-ahead for the controversial Kudankulam Nuclear Power Plant.

Udayakumar’s decision came hours after a delegation of his supporters met senior district administration officials who assured them that their charter of demands would be conveyed to the government for consideration.

“The officials promised to look into the seven demands placed by PMANE (People’s Movement Against Nuclear Energy). We hope that the officials will talk to the government and meet our demands,” Udayakumar, who was on fast along with his associate Pushparayan and some others, told reporters here.

Udayakumar broke the fast by accepting fruit juice offered to him by Madurai Bishop Peter Fernando.

Besides Fernando, the 13-member delegation which included Rimond, Arivavalavan held talks with Collector Selvaraj, DIG Varadaraju and other officials and presented their seven demands for withdrawing their fast.

The Collector said he could withdraw prohibitory orders in all the areas except KNPP premises and had to convey their other demands to the government.

The protestors demanded immediate withdrawal of cases filed against them, recognition of their struggle against nuclear energy and withdrawal of prohibitory orders in Radhapuram taluk.

Other demands are release of all those arrested for organising protests, training for people in 32 villages in disaster management, an ‘open and frank’ nuclear liability bill and explanation to locals on how safely nuclear waste would be disposed.

The anti-nuclear activists led by PMANE were on fast after Tamil Nadu government gave its go-ahead to the Indo-Russian nuclear project on March 19, clearing the decks for resumption of the work now in full swing.

Udayakumar had yesterday said he was ready for talks with government provided cases against PMANE members were dropped.

From what I heard NPCIL got quite the sticker shock when AREVA presented its terms. There also apparently demanding a liability exemption.

this part is actually true.. from what I have been told , in the initial negotiations they wanted to create "restricted zones" where only the AREVA company employees would be permitted to enter..that was in the name of IPR..unlike the russians , areva was averse to a complete transfer... npcil showed them the middle finger..

If your point was to say that we should not buy reactors from France , I agree with this .. french are not the best people on earth to do business with..

But if your initial point meant that "we should cut down on nuclear because the french might" I disagree..

The problem with super big "single unit" plants like 1650MW reactor is that on paper they give effeciency but "any delay" is very costly. Hence I think that reasonable size like 500MW or 750MW may be better

Theo_Fidel wrote:The French are also particular mercenary about things. They would have no hesitation selling us a $10 Billion plant they have no intention of supporting with spare parts and fuel. They don't have U-235 remember.

French polls have shifted for the first time 60 years to a majority now opposing Nuclear power. Every year the polls get worse, esp. with the young generation. The question is not on the existing plants, but whether France will build any more of these 'New' design plants in its own country. The evidence suggests No. As the existing plants close down the French will have a hard time agreeing on new ones. Hence the hard sell in India. From what I heard NPCIL got quite the sticker shock when AREVA presented its terms. There also apparently demanding a liability exemption.

Once Hollande is in power the pressure on him to follow Merkel will be quite fierce.
Do you think Indian negotiators are idiots that they will agree to a $10B deal that is not supported by parts and fuel and not have clauses that have penalties?

Areva is a major company that employs around 16000 people in the reactor division. Add to that the thousands of people that supply parts to Areva in associated companies. What politician (especially in France where unions and people are strong) can realistically stay in power by allowing this to wither away?

As for sticker shock, thats good isn't it? Market pricing at its best? No deal has been signed yet.

^^^ The concern is that Indian interests will be undermined by a specific set of politicians whose colleagues are still in power for pecuniary gains, since they have by now a significant track record of prior such acts.

Philip wrote: Thus the insidious N-deal whose unstated aim was to also stunt and cripple our N-weapons programme and make us forever dependent upon external supplies of N-fuel and foreign N-tech. Keeping the Russians out from taking away a large slice of this lucrative piece of cake has been part of the plan.
Freudian slip?

I take it that the VVERs are being supplied by Mongolia for free, with 2 more to come?

I think the real rona dhona should be directed towards the DAE/NPCIL. Had they developed and made operational a 750MW reactor on their own, all this import tamasha would not have arisen. It can also be argued that the 123 deal would not have taken place either since presumably the payoff for the deal is buying of nuclear reactors from France, US and Russia. Which also raises the question how would we have fuelled these reactors...

But as per some folks there is tons of uranium in the ground waiting to be dug up which MMS wont do since he has sold out. But, Theo also says the U is of poor quality.

My head explodes onlee...

Tanaji wrote:My head explodes onlee...
That's to be expected Tanaji. Too much yellow matter floating around as "analysis". There's only so much your poor head can refine.

Hollande top aide clarifies that the only reactor they are looking to shut down is France's oldest one and that there are no plans for any more. And he also says the coalitions aim is to make Aveya a stronger international player (see the Reuters report I linked earlier). Further Hollande has a airy fairy goal of reducing France's dependency on nuclear power from 75 per cent today to 50 per cent by 2020 not by closing down nuclear power plants and/or not building new ones but by increasing the percentage contributed by renewables. Folks seem to forget two things: a) France's power requirements will significantly higher in 2020 than it is today and b) renewables will first of all replace whatever little coal-fired/thermal plants France has, before it touches nuclear. And here we are hearing RIP hosannas being sung about the French nuclear industry.

Regarding the "perfidy" of 123, it has finally lit a tubelight in my brain - which I'm sure will explode soon. The angst against 123 (but wait which 123, as far as I recall we have more than one!) was because it was supposedly meant to curb the Indian and Russian nuclear industry.

Incidentally the last I checked there's no liability clause at all for the VVRs. It's interesting that we seem to be more interested on what Hollande may or may not do if wins but nobody wants to talk about lack of liability for the VVRs. The dog which did not bark usually holds all the clues. The same applies to the deafening silence over the harm that coal-fired power plants cause.

Tanaji wrote:
I think the real rona dhona should be directed towards the DAE/NPCIL. Had they developed and made operational a 750MW reactor on their own, all this import tamasha would not have arisen.
Thats questionable, since the entire premise is that 750 MW LWRs are
1) THE energy solution
2) THE nuclear energy solution.

In fact neither. Because world over
1) Nuclear power is still not a solution even using the 750 LWRs (France and Russia are the only two countries left which use Nuclear power extensively, others are walking away, the Chinese picture is still quite muddy)

2) The massive LWRs OR small APHWR etc are also a open debate.
It can also be argued that the 123 deal would not have taken place either since presumably the payoff for the deal is buying of nuclear reactors from France, US and Russia. Which also raises the question how would we have fuelled these reactors...
Again all these tying yourself up in knots is because of 123.

Prior to 123 there would be no such questions since the Nuclear path chosen by India was 3-cycle program which as we can see from you post has been scuttled to such a extent that folks have forgotten about it.

My head explodes onlee...
Thanks to 123 and related FUD that has been put out in the news space. The reality is actually quite simple -- Nuclear power are an option at a limited scale of energy generation, unless ramped up by 2-cycle, and even then would rely on multiple small reactors.

The entire issue is caused by those who are running around claiming that Nuclear is so good that you must expose yourself without clothes at Fukushima for 2 hours a day to get the real glow (that is a colorful way of those who oversell Nuclear needlessly)

^^^ Sorry, in the light of your post above, can you please clarify your stand on nuclear power? So far I have gathered:

You are opposed to nuclear reactors that are imported. This should include Russian ones, you mentioned so earlier.
You say even 750 MW Indian nuclear reactors are of no use.
Small APHWR are off limits as well.

You also say you dont oppose nuclear power. So could you please clarify what sort of reactors you would bring online in the next 5-10 years (which means start constructing now or within next 2-3 years).

Tanaji wrote:^^^ Sorry, in the light of your post above, can you please clarify your stand on nuclear power? So far I have gathered:

You are opposed to nuclear reactors that are imported. This should include Russian ones, you mentioned so earlier.
You say even 750 MW Indian nuclear reactors are of no use.
Small APHWR are off limits as well.

You also say you dont oppose nuclear power. So could you please clarify what sort of reactors you would bring online in the next 5-10 years (which means start constructing now or within next 2-3 years).
I have not said most of the things that you have attributed to me.

My stand has been simple and consistent, all this tamasha about Nuclear in India is just that, a tamasha.

Any meaningful Indian nuclear program will be
1) Internally developed
2) Imports restricted only to technology -- barring may be a few abberations
3) Primarily based on 3-cycle
4) Multiple Small power plants

Even here, the nuclear power plants should be a small % if total base. (for reasons of environment and economy) --> the bulk of energy should come from renewables and clean coal.

Sanku wrote:I have not said most of the things that you have attributed to me.
Ummm I thought as per this, you stated that you were not in favour of Russian reactors as well given that you are oppposed to *all* LWRs

You also state that
Nuclear power is still not a solution even using the 750 LWRs
which means that you wont be in favour of 750 MW ones, also they are LWRs that you oppose.
Here you include APHWRs as well, thought I admit you dont explicitly oppose them as in the case of previous two. But if you have doubts on APHWR, how do you have a 3 stage cycle?

I can understand if your views have changed from the past, I am just trying to pin you down on what your current ones are.

I really dont know what is the above exercise supposed to mean, Tanaji, leave it to the others ;) who seek to find different meanings in my words. I have clearly outlined what my views are :-). I dont see any confusions.

To clarify further --

Here you include APHWRs as well, thought I admit you dont explicitly oppose them as in the case of previous two. But if you have doubts on APHWR, how do you have a 3 stage cycle?
Note the point -- should the Nuclear energy doctrine be best based on massive LWRs or many small APHWR is a open debate -- and this you know which side I am on.

A few LWRs in the PAST from USSR/Russia under specific bilateral terms were still "ok" if not the most desirable (price of a Sub nuclear tech) -- however I dont want KKNP to be a mega monster NPPs with 8-10 reactor complexs.

At least not before the current ones are opened, their impact seen and a robust Commercial organization with independent watchdog is created from the old NPCIL/DAE setup.

The old system was extremely well suited for the relatively small scale mixed strategic+civilian power use type of non commercial enterprise. So I wont blame the Indian Nuke sector, they delivered what they were then tasked with, that too under extreme conditions.

If we really want a large commercial nuclear establishment. We need to enable it through many means at Organizational levels.

^^ Agree with you on this. Sanku san.

But let all understand that whatever energy mix is followed Nooklear power isnt going to be more than 20%. That by itself is massive upscaling in nook power sector.
Sanatanan

Post by Sanatanan »

I believe that prototype development and construction of many "Advanced Heavy Water Reactors" (AHWR which uses low pressure heavy water as moderator and light water at high pressure as coolant) is not a mandatory requirement for achieving the full potential of the 3-stage nuclear power programme and thus helping extensive Th232 utilisation.

The 3-stage programme is based on Pu-U FBRs in Stage 2 and U233-Th232 FBRs in Stage 3. My own tea-leaf reading is that the 2nd Stage FBRs would get proven (that is, would go from being a PrototypeFBR to a firm-power delivering FBR similar to what the PHWRs are today) before the AHWR gets proven.

I think the main idea behind the development of AHWR is to try and "hasten" the start of Th232 utilisation through a thermal spectrum reactor rather than through a FBR.

Non-reactor breeding using ADS also has good potential for converting Th232 into U233 and use the same as nuclear fuel. DAE is said to be working in this area also. This is also important for speedy development for transmuting radioactive waste products from reprocessing plants into less radioactive isotopes with shorter half-lives. (I understand that India does not consider spent fuel from thermal neutron reactors to be "waste" as is the practice by USA and friends.)

As it has been indicated in recent times, the AHWR design seems to require not only Pu but also a humongous 20% enriched U235 -- again, in my view, an injudicious use of a natural resource for land-based nuclear power plants. I recollect that the AHWR descriptions available in the open literature in earlier times (before the nuclear deal was signed) talked of only of Pu as the initial 'start-up' fuel to convert Th232 into U233 and utilise that U233 in situ.

Sanatanan,

The 3-stage is complete only when U-233 is breeding from Th-232 and recovery is over unity. Else we are merely extending the U-235 cycle. AFAIK the PFBR will not do this. All it does is burn Pu-239 (RG) to make 'some' U-233. Once stage -3 is attained I would assume stages-1 & 2 will be permanently jettisoned and U-235 is no longer required. Permanently. The AHWR can operate on 0.7% U-235 and also with Th-232 mixed in fuel. This is the first I hear of 20% enriched U-235 required for the AHWR. While it can do this as well, the chief advantage would be compact core (less D2O) and far less waste to deal with. It does not 'need' LEU to operate. Now when it uses U-233, as it can be chemically separated from Th-232, the AHWR will likely burn 100% U-233 in its core with Th-232 rods mixed in or in a blanket or some other configuration. All will be possible without any need for Centrifugal enrichment. WRT U-233 there is no need to fear the concentration.
-------------------------------------------------

AREVA is not willing to accept penalty clauses. Westinghouse says no question of penalty clause. Russians have simply never accepted them. They supply fuel out of the goodness of their heart and so long as the price is right and they have cheap fuel. One must remember the severe shortages of Russian spares the AIAF & Army faced.

People think 123 suddenly made India a Nuclear big dog. Simply not true. What exactly can we do if AREVA gives us the middle finger later on? Nothing!
--------------------------

Nuclear plant cost escalations occur because new failure modes are being constantly 'discovered' in their designs. When these are inevitably discovered during construction designs are changed on the fly causing the huge cost over runs we see. The NRC has over 22,000 documented possible failure modes that would require a reactor scram. More are 'discovered' all the time. After failures such as Fukushima, 'discoveries' spike.
----------------------

WRT India the question is should we go down the path of U-235 cycle when we have very modest amounts U-235 of our own. This is not dissimilar to debating the merits of importing oil and building more oil fired power plants.
Last edited by Theo_Fidel on 28 Mar 2012 23:41, edited 1 time in total.

Sanatanan wrote: JMT
Incredible clarity, as always Sanatanan-ji.

chaanakya wrote:^^ Agree with you on this. Sanku san.

But let all understand that whatever energy mix is followed Nooklear power isnt going to be more than 20%. That by itself is massive upscaling in nook power sector.
Thanks Sir; agree with you as well, in fact a repeated over sell, only tends to undermine the seriousness of the need to effectively harness Nuclear energy.

It is this shortsightedness that has landed the western nuclear establishment in the mess it is right now -- with no one having any confidence in them any longer.

chaanakya wrote:But let all understand that whatever energy mix is followed Nooklear power isnt going to be more than 20%.
I will go one step further and say that per the GOI estimates, it will struggle to even stay at 5% level. Infact over the past few years its share has been continually declining to the present 2%. And will continue to decline in future.
--------------------------------------------------

This has been posted before but I thought I do it again to show the challenge of using Thorium.

Here are the cross-sections under different spectrum's.

arnab

Post by arnab »

Theo_Fidel wrote:Sanatanan,

The 3-stage is complete only when U-233 is breeding from Th-232 and recovery is over unity. Else we are merely extending the U-235 cycle. AFAIK the PFBR will not do this. All it does is burn Pu-239 (RG) to make 'some' U-233. Once stage -3 is attained I would assume stages-1 & 2 will be permanently jettisoned and U-235 is no longer required. Permanently.
-------------------------------------------------
Exactly. As GP had advised long ago - count the neutrons. Otherwise people will get clarity based on wrong facts. Already opinions on BRF and fiction are being forwarded as data points. So atleast let us get the 'JMTs' based on factual evidence :)

lather , rinse , repeat..

not th v/s pu v/s u once again..we have gone through this on a dozen occasions ..

arnab wrote:Already opinions on BRF and fiction are being forwarded as data points. So atleast let us get the 'JMTs' based on factual evidence :)
Exactly!

Fiction - some of it science fiction - is being forwarded as data points by folks who ooze of knawledge from all pores and openings.

Clean coal based thermal plants is one of them. Clean coal is an oxymoron and a urban legend rolled into one. Everybody has heard about it but nobody has seen it work. Or perhaps the last part is not correct. Plenty of folks have seen that it doesn't work on a commercial and economically viable scale.

Take this rather old Time report: Exposing the Myth of Clean Coal Power for example.
If you paid any attention to last year's Presidential campaign, you'll remember ads touting the benefits of "clean coal" power, sponsored by the industry group American Coalition for Clean Coal Electricity. {Please note the lobby which is sponsoring this myth} (The ads featured lumps of coal plugged into an electrical cord.) Designed in part to respond to the growing green campaign against coal power — which accounts for about 30% of U.S. carbon emissions — the ads promised high-tech and eventually carbon-free power, emphasizing coal's low cost compared to alternatives, its abundance in America and its cleanliness.
The "clean coal" campaign was always more PR than reality — currently there's no economical way to capture and sequester carbon emissions from coal, and many experts doubt there ever will be. But now the idea of clean coal might be truly dead, buried beneath the 1.1 billion gallons of water mixed with toxic coal ash that on Dec. 22 burst through a dike next to the Kingston coal plant in the Tennessee Valley and blanketed several hundred acres of land, destroying nearby houses. The accident — which released 100 times more waste than the Exxon Valdez disaster — has polluted the waterways of Harriman, Tenn., with potentially dangerous levels of toxic metals like arsenic and mercury, and left much of the town uninhabitable.
That's because, even putting aside climate change–accelerating carbon dioxide, coal remains a highly polluting source of electricity that has serious impacts on human health, especially among those who live near major plants. Take coal ash, a solid byproduct of burned coal. A draft report last year by the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) found that the ash contains significant levels of carcinogens, and that the concentration of arsenic in ash, should it contaminate drinking water, could increase cancer risks by several hundred times. A 2006 report by the National Research Council had similar findings. "This is hazardous waste, and it should be classified as such," says Thomas Burke, an environmental risk expert at Johns Hopkins University who has studied the health effects of coal ash.
The above para shouldn't come as a new data point to readers of this thread. Amber and a few others have posted tons of data points.
The biggest advantage of coal power has been cost — in most cases, it remains much cheaper than cleaner alternatives like wind, solar or natural gas. But the cheapness of coal depends on the fact that external costs — climate change, or the health impacts of air and water pollution from coal — remain external, paid for not by utilities or coal companies but society as a whole. The coal industry itself estimates that taking better care of fly ash could cost as much as $5 billion a year — and if the government imposed a tax or cap on carbon dioxide, the price of coal would certainly rise.
I'm amazed as how the debate has been deftly turned into one between renewables vs nuclear and not renewables vs coal. This leads me to question as to whether folks are really worried about the environmental impact or are they worried about the politics (and business interests) of power generation. One needs to remember that in India, at least, nuclear generation is public sector while coal -especially the UMPPs - are all in the private sector. The UMPPs are reeling from the increase in coal prices and most of them have become unviable leading to RBI issuing a diktat to stop funding new projects. Success of nuclear power plants is the last thing they would want.

Its also interesting that it's virtually impossible to get a comment out of some regarding the problems with coal prices, pollution and financial viablity of the UMPPs. Heck if we abandon nuclear as is being passionately being advocated the power has to come from somewhere. I know there's always the possibility of faithfools generating enough gas to power 1000 MW gobar gas plants but even then...

Meanwhile in other news:

Plans for UK's first 'clean coal' plant collapse over £1.5bn cost
Britain's coal industry has been dealt a blow as plans for the UK's first "clean" plant collapsed because it was too expensive.
And we are taught the LWRs are "too expensive". I wonder, who would fund a "clean coal" carbon capture and sequestration plant in India. And if someone did, the technology would push the CO2 into aquifers (since we don't have underground oil fields) - would environmentalists agree?

amit wrote:
arnab wrote:Already opinions on BRF and fiction are being forwarded as data points. So atleast let us get the 'JMTs' based on factual evidence :)
Exactly!

Fiction - some of it science fiction - is being forwarded as data points by folks who ooze of knawledge from all pores and openings.
Wrong thread to discuss clean coal. Do it on the right thread. In any case coal is there and will exist, if it can be made clean, good, otherwise dirty coal will exist and work.

Get used to it.

Sanku wrote:... the Chinese picture is still quite muddy)
The Chinese picture looks muddy to those who have mud in their eyes.

According to this Yale Uni publication: China’s Nuclear Power Plans Unfazed by Fukushima Disaster
As a result of such climate change concerns, as well as the need for more power in developing nations, more than 60 reactors are under construction around the world today in countries like India, Russia. and South Korea. Even the U.S. is currently building one new reactor — the second unit at Watts Bar in Tennessee.

But no other country comes close to China, with 26 reactors now under construction — nearly half of all the nuclear reactors being built worldwide, according to the World Nuclear Association. That percentage only looks set to increase as other nations call off nuclear plans. China has also become the world’s living laboratory for new nuclear reactor designs. The country has or is building “evolutionary” pressurized water reactors from France, heavy water reactors from Canada, pebble-bed reactors tested in South Africa, and even experimental reactors that use molten salt for cooling and, potentially, thorium for fuel.
Some more stuff from the report:
But for the world to have any hope of constraining greenhouse gas emissions, nuclear power may have to play a role. The Japanese Environment Ministry notes that shuttering the 18 nuclear power plants in the country would boost CO2 emissions by as much as 210 million metric tons — a rise of nearly 17 percent from current levels. The International Energy Agency suggests that 30 new nuclear reactors must be built each year between now and 2050 to cut CO2 emissions in half.
Yeah, yeah I know Greenhouse gas is a first world problem we don't have to worry about it. However the small problem is you can't sequester Greenhouse gases within a country's border. And Indian Greenhouse gas production is going up geometrically. Of course these can be dismissed as "minor issues".
Nuclear power is one of the few resources that can allow China to burn less coal. China now combusts 3 billion metric tons of coal each year, overtaking the U.S. as the world’s largest emitter of greenhouse gases. Several thousand miners die each year digging up the dirty black rock and the choking air pollution caused by coal burning costs the country $100 billion a year in medical care, according to the World Bank. “Any nuclear power plant going up is actually displacing fossil fuels,” Candris says.

That also explains the interest in nuclear power in places like the UK and U.S. For example, the UK hopes to build as many as eight new nuclear power plants to supplement the nine existing ones, all part of its bid to reduce greenhouse gas emissions. But building a nuclear reactor in the UK or U.S. is a slow process, taking years if not decades. In fact, the newest nuclear reactor in the U.S. — Watts Bar 2 in Tennessee — is simply the completion of a reactor that began construction more than 30 years ago.
Now let's all say out aloud: All the major countries in the world are abandoning nuclear power.
Last edited by amit on 29 Mar 2012 13:49, edited 1 time in total.

Sanku wrote:Wrong thread to discuss clean coal. Do it on the right thread.
Instead of trying to act like an Admin, I suggest you make a complaint as you usually do.

You raised the point of "clean coal" as an alternative to nuclear in your earlier post. My post was just adding a bit of reality to the fiction.

Sanku wrote:Even here, the nuclear power plants should be a small % if total base. (for reasons of environment and economy) --> the bulk of energy should come from renewables and clean coal.
Get used to the fact that folks can understand what is fiction and what is reality, my friend.

Added later:

Aha thanks Sanku for clarifying finally by saying this:
In any case coal is there and will exist, if it can be made clean, good, otherwise dirty coal will exist and work.

Get used to it.
It just confirms my suspicion that you're opposition to nuclear is not part of a broader concern for the environment. The environment can be damned as long as nuclear is taken out of the power generation matrix, eh?

Let me add that my support of nuclear is because I'm worried about the environmental impact on India due to rapid development. I don't want the country to make the same mistakes China did when it embarked on commissioning one thermal power plant a month. I don't want India to become, after a few years, the world's second largest polluter after China.

I guess different people have different priorities.