2019 General Elections News and Discussion
Re: 2019 General Elections News and Discussion
When you call an honest person working from morning to night 24 x 7 x 365 "chor" there will be a silent backlash. Lets see what happens on May 23.
negi wrote:There were lot of people that thought Rajeev gandhi was some sort of herrow later all that sheen got sullied when stuff like HDW ghotala and Bofors came out and case progressed under the NDA-1/2 regime . Back in the day media coverage was poor and most of them were in bed with INC ; IG and her chootiyapa is legendary after-all she became PM after Nehru just because of one reason i.e. she was his daughter . Don't even get me started on 1971 the only claim to fame we have is about feeding 90k TSPA bhikaris rice for months else what did we achieve then ? Any other country would have at least got the border demarcated with long term security considerations , forget about war damages we ended up losing money feeding rice to 90k porkis and having to support many refugees , post war BD hardly recovered for it receded under the grip of hyper islam and reproduced like they do and only complicated the BD infiltration issue , today BD along with Nepal is another conduit for carrying out anti India activities . Nehru family and it's every progeny has only been a disaster for India . As for INC they have done nothing for India zlich , nada , ghanta . Even 1990 reforms which many yap about were desperate measures for our entire gold had to be mortgaged even a dumb monkey would have done exactly same as what the government of the day did , big deal.
All true.
All I would say is that (even if by accident) some tangential good would sometimes come out during the first ~50 years of Congress Rule... IITs, BARC, Bhilai Steel Plant, Green Revolution, Bangladesh War, Pokhran I, Op Meghdoot, liberalization. This is not counting the opportunity cost of a monopolistic dynasty rule that prevented any number of better people from governing the country, but anyway.
During the last 10 years of UPA rule (2004-2014) however, NOTHING good came out, and everything was in fact mobilized in a continuous, concerted effort at destroying the Hindu civilizational basis of Indian nationhood. These are two different animals. It is the second, and much worse, animal that the INC represents now.
Last edited by Rudradev on 24 Apr 2019 00:19, edited 1 time in total.
That's why I mentioned her leadership "during and before" 1971. Her post-war actions at the Shimla conference were disastrous. Before the war, it did take some balls to go ahead with the war despite it being uncertain how far the Americans would go to stop us and the possibility of Chinese intervention. The only time we have really been proactive in dealing with the pakis till Modi started doing it.sudeepj wrote: If you are assessing leadership in a war, it must encompass behavior leading up the war, how the war was handled, and how the post war situation was handled. In these aspects, IG conduct was acceptable only during the war.. How the post war situation was handled was completely messed up. .....
This is OT though. No more from me on this.
Ok folks no discussing the past and raking up healing wounds.
You all know how much Modi hater this Shivam Vij is …
Shivam Vij
@DilliDurAst
Shivam Vij Retweeted Sadhavi Khosla
I’ve been saying this for months. It’s already too late. Rahul Gandhi thought Rafale will win him this election. Doesn’t understand that the P of Politics stands for Public Opinion.
Shivam Vij added,
Sadhavi Khosla
Verified account
@sadhavi
An honest ground feedback for @RahulGandhi @priyankagandhi - you may wish to ignore.
Rafale & Chowkidar Chor hai are not resonating with the voters as much as these should. People in general trust…
Now "RG thought" when people like VIj in the ecosystem were egging him on. Bleddy 420s.
I want Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi, Priyanka Gandhi, and Robert Vadra to endure as the absolute authorities and public faces of the Congress Party for as long as they live. And Reihan Vadra and (Mirabilis?) Vadra after them. Please do not send any of these to jail. Please let them make all the decisions and contest every election from now on against Modi 2024, Yogi 2029, Yogi 2034, Sadhvi Pragya 2039...
rohithome wrote:Mumbai satta bazar prediction:
https://ibb.co/x344gpD

Just to keep reference, I want to keep this here
What is the historical accuracy of satta bazaar when it comes to elections? IIRC I've seen it being way off course in the past. Don't know if it is a good indicator. It basically reflects the expectations of those people who choose to participate in it which is quite small relatively.
nachiket wrote:What is the historical accuracy of satta bazaar when it comes to elections? IIRC I've seen it being way off course in the past. Don't know if it is a good indicator. It basically reflects the expectations of those people who choose to participate in it which is quite small relatively.
more skin in the game as they make/ lose money. may not be accurate but gives an overall trend.
Just for future reference.nachiket wrote:What is the historical accuracy of satta bazaar when it comes to elections? IIRC I've seen it being way off course in the past. Don't know if it is a good indicator. It basically reflects the expectations of those people who choose to participate in it which is quite small relatively.
Most realistic in J&K is 2 out of 6.
3 are in Kashmir and no chance there.
1 Laddakh which can go either way because local BJP unit is fractured.
If they manage to win this seat, then it can be argued that Modi wave this time is a much bigger one and BJP by itself may win 310 seats.
Punjab, 3 is a realistic number.
Himachal, 3 is assured, 4 possible if cadre manages to mobilise all supporters.
3 are in Kashmir and no chance there.
1 Laddakh which can go either way because local BJP unit is fractured.
If they manage to win this seat, then it can be argued that Modi wave this time is a much bigger one and BJP by itself may win 310 seats.
Punjab, 3 is a realistic number.
Himachal, 3 is assured, 4 possible if cadre manages to mobilise all supporters.
Some guy pointed out to PRESSTITUTES …
In your hatred of Modi and love for dynasty, you made him believe in his lies … Now he is too confident of his lies
vijayk wrote:You all know how much Modi hater this Shivam Vij is …
Shivam Vij
@DilliDurAst
Shivam Vij Retweeted Sadhavi Khosla
I’ve been saying this for months. It’s already too late. Rahul Gandhi thought Rafale will win him this election. Doesn’t understand that the P of Politics stands for Public Opinion.
Shivam Vij added,
kayar raghavan
@kayarraghavan
More
Replying to @DilliDurAst
1/3 I am saying people like u contributed to @RahulGandhi & @INCIndia being seen not just as stupid but as liars. Did you journos ever bother to ask him for facts either on #RafaleDeal or on the 30K crores that Rahul says Modi put in AA'a pocket?
kayar raghavan
@kayarraghavan
2/3 Rahul claims 2 have addressed several press confs & yet none of u, none whomsoever, thought it fit to ask just a couple of hard questions that would have put him wise and made him concentrate on other issues but you folks liked his taunting Modi with lies & instigating crowds
kayar raghavan
@kayarraghavan
3/3 He kept throwing various amounts fm 5.5 lac cr to 1.1 lac Cr as monies given by Modi to 15 of 'his friends'. None of u bothered 2 ask him a Qn or ask for facts & numbers. Frankly, you all thought he was cornering Modi while in reality RaGa was walking all over his own d**k.
Getting back to election data, does anyone have the Phase 3 turnout figures from anyplace, ideally with comparative 2014 figures too ?
There is no one satta bazaar entity and I don't think there is coordination between all those across India. For example, I don't remember any known satta bazaar claiming more than 50 seats to BJP in UP post gathbandhan. In fact I don't remember any known satta bazaar is giving 250+ to BJP. I could be wrong though.
It would help to mention location of satta when quoting these numbers. If not known then I would suggest ignore.
Last edited by abhijitm on 24 Apr 2019 00:55, edited 1 time in total.
Have to be cautious with spread betting and currency markets as they:
a) massively underestimated the 2014 outcome
b) got the UK2015 election wrong
c) screwed up the Brexit prediction
d) failed on the Trump surge
Punters can hedge in either direction especially if there is skin in the game.
Gold price volatlity in India have been fairly subdued this election unlike 2004 and the ones in the 1990s.
a) massively underestimated the 2014 outcome
b) got the UK2015 election wrong
c) screwed up the Brexit prediction
d) failed on the Trump surge
Punters can hedge in either direction especially if there is skin in the game.
Gold price volatlity in India have been fairly subdued this election unlike 2004 and the ones in the 1990s.
Suraj wrote:Getting back to election data, does anyone have the Phase 3 turnout figures from anyplace, ideally with comparative 2014 figures too ?

https://twitter.com/MukulAgarwal66/stat ... 1762817026
not final yet.
Thanks. Interesting that CG and OR turnouts are so much worse than 2014. Anyone have a handle on that ? Everything else being close to par with 2014 is quite an accomplishment, considering 2014 was the high water mark of GE voter turnouts. Historically, GEs average ~57% aggregate turnout. 2014 was a landmark high of 66.40% and now the first three phases are mostly keeping up.
Phase 1 and Phase 2 from ECI website here:Suraj wrote:Getting back to election data, does anyone have the Phase 3 turnout figures from anyplace, ideally with comparative 2014 figures too ?
https://eci.gov.in/files/file/9997-fina ... ions-2019/
They have messed up the rows subtotal and total comparison of votes, but its valid for individual constituencies. Voting is higher both percentage wise, and in absolute numbers in almost all constituencies, except Tamil Nadu where lower voting percentage can be seen.
https://twitter.com/Suyash75/status/1111904692622278657
Look at his Thread... He is Modi supporter but done very realistic in MP and RJ during assembly.
Thanks! Here's my contribution, from DeshGujarat on teetar:

for GE 2014, constituency wise turnout figure is here, from ECI.Voter turnout in single phase Gujarat Lok Sabha elections 2019 highest ever at 63.67% as per the latest estimated figures shared by ECI. Final figure awaited. In 2014, Gujarat Lok Sabha election turnout was 63.66%.
These are not final numbers. ECI will release final numbers by noon tomorrow. It will be clearer then. Usually final numbers go up 1-3%.Suraj wrote:Thanks. Interesting that CG and OR turnouts are so much worse than 2014. Anyone have a handle on that ?
They are unlikely to come close to 2014 numbers even then (OR and CG). CG was perhaps expected. I'm surprised at the low turnout in OR. BJP was expected to make some gains here. Hope the low turnout does not throw that possibility out of the window.sivab wrote:These are not final numbers. ECI will release final numbers by noon tomorrow. It will be clearer then. Usually final numbers go up 1-3%.Suraj wrote:Thanks. Interesting that CG and OR turnouts are so much worse than 2014. Anyone have a handle on that ?
OR and CG numbers will be finalized only tomorrow morning. More remote places is what I was told. So expect it to jump 5-6%nachiket wrote:They are unlikely to come close to 2014 numbers even then (OR and CG). CG was perhaps expected. I'm surprised at the low turnout in OR. BJP was expected to make some gains here. Hope the low turnout does not throw that possibility out of the window.sivab wrote:
These are not final numbers. ECI will release final numbers by noon tomorrow. It will be clearer then. Usually final numbers go up 1-3%.
You are looking at twitter garbage instead of ECI numbers and repeating said garbage. Even if information is right in front of people, they wont bother a single click.. Instead preferring the more easily available disinformation.nachiket wrote:They are unlikely to come close to 2014 numbers even then (OR and CG). CG was perhaps expected. I'm surprised at the low turnout in OR. BJP was expected to make some gains here. Hope the low turnout does not throw that possibility out of the window.sivab wrote:
These are not final numbers. ECI will release final numbers by noon tomorrow. It will be clearer then. Usually final numbers go up 1-3%.
The ECI numbers in Phase 1 & 2 show about the same polling in both Odisha and Chattisgarh, with marginal improvements. Here is the link.
https://eci.gov.in/files/file/9997-fina ... ions-2019/

Ramana-garu,ramana wrote:From Dr PP.
If true will send him money. He can get ghee shakkar
Big shock today, Mallikarjun Kharge, the leader of the UPA in the parliament is trailing in Gulbarga.
He was leading throughout the day because of mass deletion of Brahmin, Lingayat sounding names from voter list, yet we believe the constituency overcame that handicap by evening
This is possible. At least, the race was very tight here. A lot of Kharge's deputies have deserted the Congress in the Gulbarga region and he was struggling, given that he is contending to make a nitwit like Pappu [not my expression, just the feeling I have heard expressed on the ground from the region] our PM. Kharge has one massive advantage - the official government machinery. Quite a few people who would vote BJP have been disenfranchised in Gulbarga, but even this may not be enough to save him. Unlike Patil, I am not going to go out on a limb and claim that Kharge is losing, but it is clear from the ground to me that the race is very very tight and the balance could tilt either way.
In other news, I am hearing that Kummanam has won in Thiruvananthapuram. Has anyone heard anything to confirm/refute the sentiment?
Last edited by Shanmukh on 24 Apr 2019 01:58, edited 1 time in total.
He's the BJP candidate from Gurdaspur constituency. Right on the Border onleeManu wrote:In other news, Sunny Deol has joined BJP...

Guys, I see that some in the Lutyen mafia are obsessed (for e.g., low-IQ Bimbo Pagalika) that EC is biased and are not going after BJP and ModiJi. That EC stopped ModiJi Biopic, that they have gone after YogiJi, they have gone after SadhviJi, and yet these people claim EC is biased.
Setting aside their hatred of ModiJi, lets just focus on the legal and model code of conduct angle. The one issue ModiJi haters bring up over and over again is the "Hindu terror" charge against Congoons that BJP and ModiJi have leveled. Now, I don't understand how this can violate any model conduct? If Pappu can say 'chowkidar chor hai' without any evidence, why can't ModiJi attack Congoons for the "Hindu terror" charge when there is much more evidence that indeed Congoons are guilty of the "Hindu terror" narrative.
Of course, one knows why Lutyen slaves of Pappu are worried about this, and thats because the "Hindu terror" charge against Congoons could energize Hindus to vote against Congoons (although I am not sure. The very fact that Pappu and thugbandhan garner quite a bit of support along caste lines from Hindus is shameful).
Setting aside their hatred of ModiJi, lets just focus on the legal and model code of conduct angle. The one issue ModiJi haters bring up over and over again is the "Hindu terror" charge against Congoons that BJP and ModiJi have leveled. Now, I don't understand how this can violate any model conduct? If Pappu can say 'chowkidar chor hai' without any evidence, why can't ModiJi attack Congoons for the "Hindu terror" charge when there is much more evidence that indeed Congoons are guilty of the "Hindu terror" narrative.
Of course, one knows why Lutyen slaves of Pappu are worried about this, and thats because the "Hindu terror" charge against Congoons could energize Hindus to vote against Congoons (although I am not sure. The very fact that Pappu and thugbandhan garner quite a bit of support along caste lines from Hindus is shameful).
I too feel that the "chor" comment was as smart as the donkeystani candidate in Jawjah, YooEss posting a giant electronic billboard above one of the busiest highways, saying her elephant candidate would (BURN IN HE**) with color images of flickering flames and all. Sheer hate. I think that WAS the difference in the final poll figures that kept her out of the Governor's Mansion.
Here there was the supreme delicacy of the Supreme Court jhapad. They didn't punish the liar, merely allowed his sniveling groveling "PLEEEEEAASE PLEEEEEZ, DON'T TAKE ME SERIOUSLY, I AM A LIAR!!!" to be publicized, along with a flat repudiation. There just hasn't been time to let that sink in, but with every passing moment and cartoon, it sinks in more.
if he had been jailed or even fined it wouldn't have had the same delicious effect as the contemptuous nose-holding dismissiveness by SC. Did THAT look like a deserving future Prime Minister of 1.3B ppl?
Here there was the supreme delicacy of the Supreme Court jhapad. They didn't punish the liar, merely allowed his sniveling groveling "PLEEEEEAASE PLEEEEEZ, DON'T TAKE ME SERIOUSLY, I AM A LIAR!!!" to be publicized, along with a flat repudiation. There just hasn't been time to let that sink in, but with every passing moment and cartoon, it sinks in more.
if he had been jailed or even fined it wouldn't have had the same delicious effect as the contemptuous nose-holding dismissiveness by SC. Did THAT look like a deserving future Prime Minister of 1.3B ppl?

This is what even that gentleman in the video I posted was saying - his words were "this constant shouting of modi being a chor is like a dagger in our hearts'. I suspect many people are offended, even those who may not like Modi for other reasons, do agree that he is hard working and not personally corrupt.Supratik wrote:When you call an honest person working from morning to night 24 x 7 x 365 "chor" there will be a silent backlash. Lets see what happens on May 23.
I hope the Congoons do continue with the same messaging with the same results.
dhai kilo ka hath aur chappan inch ki chati!Manu wrote:In other news, Sunny Deol has joined BJP...
(2.5 kilo hand and 56 inch chest getting together)

Seems as if the TOI shares your views on this childishnessUlanBatori wrote:I too feel that the "chor" comment was as smart as the donkeystani candidate in Jawjah, YooEss posting a giant electronic billboard above one of the busiest highways, saying her elephant candidate would (BURN IN HE**) with color images of flickering flames and all. Sheer hate. I think that WAS the difference in the final poll figures that kept her out of the Governor's Mansion.
https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/blo ... ments=show
This has become an epidemic in India and the ECI is allowing this to happen in election after election is a shame. They had to be pulled up by the SC to exercise their powers.. There are also other reports where even though booth capturing is not possible, goons create an atmosphere of violence around booths to stop people from coming out to vote. Who will come out to vote if there is teargas etc. or the sounds of guns firing? This process needs to be fixed.Shanmukh wrote:Ramana-garu,ramana wrote:From Dr PP.
If true will send him money. He can get ghee shakkar
Big shock today, Mallikarjun Kharge, the leader of the UPA in the parliament is trailing in Gulbarga.
He was leading throughout the day because of mass deletion of Brahmin, Lingayat sounding names from voter list, yet we believe the constituency overcame that handicap by evening
This is possible. At least, the race was very tight here. A lot of Kharge's deputies have deserted the Congress in the Gulbarga region and he was struggling, given that he is contending to make a nitwit like Pappu [not my expression, just the feeling I have heard expressed on the ground from the region] our PM. Kharge has one massive advantage - the official government machinery. Quite a few people who would vote BJP have been disenfranchised in Gulbarga, but even this may not be enough to save him. Unlike Patil, I am not going to go out on a limb and claim that Kharge is losing, but it is clear from the ground to me that the race is very very tight and the balance could tilt either way.
In other news, I am hearing that Kummanam has won in Thiruvananthapuram. Has anyone heard anything to confirm/refute the sentiment?
What did the returning officer decide about Rahul Gandhi’s eligibility as a candidate in Amethi?
Good selection on two counts. That was Vinod Khanna's seat recently usurped by a Congi (Balram Jakhar's son) in a by-election. Also Deol, like Jakhar, is a Jat.Suraj wrote:He's the BJP candidate from Gurdaspur constituency. Right on the Border onleeManu wrote:In other news, Sunny Deol has joined BJP...
That {poof}. His low life antics were encouraged by scummy media as being strong tactics and coming out as a leader. Wins in CG, MP, and RJ validated his lies/antics.UlanBatori wrote:I too feel that the "chor" comment was as smart as the donkeystani candidate in Jawjah, YooEss posting a giant electronic billboard above one of the busiest highways, saying her elephant candidate would (BURN IN HE**) with color images of flickering flames and all. Sheer hate. I think that WAS the difference in the final poll figures that kept her out of the Governor's Mansion.
Last edited by Suraj on 24 Apr 2019 02:53, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Come on, you can do better than that. That sort of lowly name calling is unnecessary.
Here is Sudhir Chaudhary of Zee TV with today's DNA. He states overall polling has been 5-6% less than in 2014. Not sure where he got his numbers from.Suraj wrote:Getting back to election data, does anyone have the Phase 3 turnout figures from anyplace, ideally with comparative 2014 figures too ?
Probably most reliable would be ECI source, will need to wait until tomorrow for it.
What can be done by concerned folks like us about the Bengal situation ? Any open letters or signature campaigns to EC or any other forms of activism ?
EC has taken notice finally. Jihadidi is complaining about them, which can only mean they are trying to foil her plans. Perhaps too late for the seats already polled but will help in the rest.OmkarC wrote:What can be done by concerned folks like us about the Bengal situation ? Any open letters or signature campaigns to EC or any other forms of activism ?
Mamata Banerjee complains to EC, calls removal of top cops arbitrary