vinod

Post by vinod »

I think it is a very smart move by Modi. Listen to what Modi said, he said first sanitation, then temple.

This does 2 things - first the rug has been pulled out of people who accuse him of going to build ram temple. It projects him as someone who cares about good administration. So, all those fence sitters who were pulled in by the rhetoric of anti-modi camp is going to go with Modi. This definitely increases his chances of getting more alliances and getting votes and thus becoming the PM.

Secondly, he didn't say no temple. He said later. Its a delay tactic. He knows too well you can't straight away go and build the temple. It will take atleast couple of years for him to get comfortable with the power of PM and then slowly rebuild India's economic and then only he can do anything controversial. I have no doubt that he will defend hindu's right vigourously unlike other leaders who pander to minorities at the drop of a hat.

So, for me nothing changes, he is still the man for PM.

those who don't like some of the things that modi said - here's an idea - go out and change the majority to your particular view/agenda/"what modi must do and cannot do" etc.

you cannot sit here acting all outraged or disturbed by this 'treachery'/'impending treachery'/whatever of modi. he is politician who is trying to win an election and as such, has to put together a majority coalition of voters. and you folks are not a majority. there is a good chunk of 'development now, hindutva later' crowd and our own personal desires aside, he has to get those votes too to win.

he has always been his own man, who has come up on his own set of convictions and his self-belief against all these years of opposition. you will have to trust him to make the right decisions even if that means he is prioritizing certain things at certain times as he sees fit for his overall strategy. you will have to trust him that if he has been good so far, he would be good when he gets into power and give some latitude on the means to him on how he gets there.

or go out and convert majority to your view and then tell modi "hey modi, here i have your majority so shut up about other stuff" :lol: . There is no use of a principled defeat due to ideological purity. too much at stake here.

prahaar wrote: I agree to some extent; a true leader and a true follower cease to be that (a leader and a follower) but are peers in a common mission. Only with benefit of hindsight one can determine whether it was a leaders stubbornness or magnanimity (same is the case for a follower but remembered less since he/she may not be that important). Something that is considered "self-serving" in the immediate aftermath of the action is considered major balidaan later (Krishna's palayan from Mathura) while something that was considered a major balidaan becomes a millstone and disgrace later (Bhishma pratigya).
Sadhu vachan prahaar ji.. I quite agree.
vivek.rao

Post by vivek.rao »

nageshks wrote:
Dhananjay wrote:Maybe Modi has been saying it 100s of times over last 13 years times, but because of media blackout on him it never came to limelight.

And now with 7 to 10 lakh people rallies going on with facebook - youtube - niticentral media is forced to show his speeches, so they pick and magnify whatever part they can present as negative - controversial. It'll only wisen him for future.

If he had the guts to reject muslim cap on stage under full glare of cameras then we can trust him to learn from this mistake also! In 3 months people would have forgotten it.
+1. Yes, this is what keeps me hopeful about Modi. I sincerely hope he will not fall into the `secluarism' trap that Advani did. Secularists are masters of this game,and will try to trap every BJP leader into becoming anti-Hindu. Modi should be very careful what he says to the secular crowd. It is a delicate balancing act, but I think Modi has enough ability to appeal to the `only development' crowd without losing his core Hindu supporters.
One thing I can say: He won't

Regardless of what Press,VHP or BajrangDal said he did what is right for Gujarat. Never swayed away from his objectives.

He knows only when people have security of food,housing,jobs and basic necessities they think of nation,patriotism and spirituality.

Haven't people debated how after Nov 26 Mumbai incident, Mumbai voted for CONGis? Why? They were more scared of Thackreys and were willing to die with Paki terrorists and Italian MAFIA than Indians.

That is why Modi has to provide basic necessities to Indians, not divide them using appeasement tactics, scare them using chauvinistic means. Then people will become spiritual, build temples and care for the nation.

nageshks wrote: +1. Yes, this is what keeps me hopeful about Modi. I sincerely hope he will not fall into the `secluarism' trap that Advani did. Secularists are masters of this game,and will try to trap every BJP leader into becoming anti-Hindu. Modi should be very careful what he says to the secular crowd. It is a delicate balancing act, but I think Modi has enough ability to appeal to the `only development' crowd without losing his core Hindu supporters.
Look I am no expert on politics ...not by any measure.
But common sense tells me that:
- secularism is a poll plank
- development is different poll plank

Congress wants secularism as its main topic in elections and garners votes projecting that. Hence all media is focussed on BJP/Modi's secular credentials. Modi is polarising, Modi does not care for Muslims etc etc etc are different ways of saying the Congress is secular ....it all comes down to that core issue.
Now , what Modi is doing is not playing the secularism game at all. He has come to the forefront focussing on development. That is why , in every speech , his focus is on his real developments, and what he intends to to do further for development. Now no matter how hard Congress & and its attack dogs play the secularism game, it is not going to affect Modi at all as now people are drawn towards his development idea. It means real changes for them. Look, he had experimented with development in GUj. and it worked for him. Now he is taking it to the rest of India. The large turnout for Modi , if it is any metric, is _probably_ a clue that the populace is now tired of secularism and is now moving to the next big thing.

Modi is not focussing on toilets VS temples - it is the Congress and & its stooges that are. And we are following the same lead.
Modi said toilets first. And has moved on.
IMO, the best way to annoy Congress is focus on its bungling of development for the last 60 years.
So in very short words - Modi will not fall for secularism trap as it means playing the game to Congress's rules.
subhamoy.das

Post by subhamoy.das »

I heard his speech. He was very categorical when he said "souchalaya before debalaya" that he is aware of his chabi ( image ) but still would go out and say this. So he is clearly aware of the two identities that he rallies around - pro-india and pro-hindu and in some meeting he focuses on pro-india and in some pro-hindu. No need to read to much into his statement

subhamoy.das wrote: So he is clearly aware of the two identities that he rallies around - pro-india and pro-hindu and in some meeting he focuses on pro-india and in some pro-hindu. No need to read to much into his statement
The two aren't mutually exclusive.

Even if i want to make India a temple country with Sanatana Dharma as official religion, my first priority would be a cleaning up. Shauch first. So NMs remarks must be taken in that context alone. The country has been left in a mess by the INC we must begin the clean up. Women who suffer ignominy most from a dirty set up must be addressed first. NM only had that sentiment and i back that. JR meanwhile is mocking about the Purity / Pavitrata of the Mandir. Not only that he has the cheek to say lets build a Grand Toilet on the Ram Temple site. That raises my hackles. NM knows his job. He knows his culture. He knows his roots. He knows his Dharma. Back him to the hilt to hit 400. Then only Bharat starts retaking the steps to a Dharmic nation. The house is a mess. Before i put a garland around the deity, i am going to clean it up. Take it in that spirit.

Gus wrote:There is no use of a principled defeat due to ideological purity. too much at stake here.
Jou said it saar. 8)

Dilbu wrote:
Gus wrote:There is no use of a principled defeat due to ideological purity. too much at stake here.
Jou said it saar. 8)
How about a compromised defeat at the altar of opportunism?

^^ (Harbans ji post) that will be a fantastic clarification he should provide in his next speech. By Shauch, he also meant congress muktikaran which needs to precede before temple(s) anyway.

Sanku wrote:How about a compromised defeat at the altar of opportunism?
So now you are assuming that NaMo will win solely on the wings of Hindootva votes had he not uttered anything like this. I cannot convince you but I for one surely believe there are many more votes to be won on the other side by issuing statements like these. What is the harm in saying Indians need clean toilets before they think about building temples? Do we really have to gun for greener than green purity here?

Sanku wrote: How about a compromised defeat at the altar of opportunism?
How do you know it was opportunism and not what NaMo actually believes? We don't need to agree with him on everything. It is enough to know that he has the best interests of the country at heart, unlike the current regime. NaMo or anybody else in the BJP does not have to be 100% "pure". Merely good enough. And he is certainly far more than that.

RB: look at the picture on the 2nd page of the rediff article

Dilbu wrote:What is the harm in saying Indians need clean toilets before they think about building temples? Do we really have to gun for greener than green purity here?
Excuse me, since when is it the business of the government to build temples? What has building toilets got to do with temples? Why did he not say `We need more toilets, not more churches'? And if he actually says that, the entire secular brigade will be after him, calling him communal, fascist, etc. But Hindus are a free-for-all affair - anyone can abuse Hindus without any repercussions.

Tell you what - if a Congress leader made the same statement as Modi, everyone on BRF would be gunning for him, calling him anti-Hindu, p-sec, what not. But since it is Modi who has made that statement, it is fine, i suppose. Comrade Napoleon is always right ...

nageshks wrote: Excuse me, since when is it the business of the government to build temples? What has building toilets got to do with temples? Why did he not say `We need more toilets, not more churches'? And if he actually says that, the entire secular brigade will be after him, calling him communal, fascist, etc. But Hindus are a free-for-all affair - anyone can abuse Hindus without any repercussions.
Err, he said "devalaya", not "mandir". Devalaya is a "secular" :mrgreen: word which can be used for any place of worship.

nachiket wrote: Err, he said "devalaya", not "mandir". Devalaya is a "secular" :mrgreen: word which can be used for any place of worship.
Devas (and their homes - Devalayas) are peculiar to Hinduism (and a few other Baltic religions). Have not heard of Christians and Muslims worshipping Devas.

Subramanian Swamy ‏@Swamy39 1h

Tomorrow NDTV Big Fight on Ordinance

Gurulog, I think its better to stop discussing "First Souchalaya, then Devlaya" thing. If you believe actions speaks louder than voice, then trust NaMo. What is Hindutva, its nothing but Dharmic values. A rich or middle class men will be more inclined towards spirituality than a hungrier or insecure person. We can have true devotion of observing values, only when we have economic clout, so that minds instead of focusing on bread and butter issues can start focusing on knowledge. That is how our ancestors become experts from Astronomy to Anatomy. When Europeans still living in caves or nomadic, we have functional civilizations. Amongst all, only Indian civilization (Hinduism) has continuum.

What NaMo is giving us is financial resurgence. Once we Indians think our economic future is secured, they will start diverting their mind to other subjects, like maths, science, spirituality etc. That is why success of NRIs is so high. If 1-2% NRIs can create wonders in global scientific community, imagine what will happen if at least 50-60% of Indians achieve. For all these to happen, we have to prosperous. It means money and entrepreneurship. We have entrepreneurial communities spread throughout India:
1. Chettiars and Nadars of Tamilnadu.
2. Bengali Seths who even financed East India company.
3. Rajasthan Marawaris.
4. Komatis of Andhra Pradesh.
5. Konkani Traders of west coast.
6. Gujarati Patels.
(forgive me if I had not mentioned any of other famous entrepreneurial communities of India)

All Modi has done is freeing the Gujarati business spirits from its cages, and we are seeing benefit of it. If all the above states or communities would have a strong political and non-corrupt leader like Modi, they would have also fired up their engines, but they are just moving on slower lanes, while Gujarat is on superfast express way.

Whats the use of a beautiful stable without a good horse. The lion share of credit of Gujarat development should go to NaMo only.

Once we attain our heights, I bet these Abrahamic followers in India will come back to India fold again. Do not forget we Indians are original missionaries (Ashoka), so within a century (due to global village), most of global population will become Dharmic. If NaMo becomes PM, he will infuse positive energy throughout India and probably India can see another Golden Age under Modi.

We have brains and entrepreneurship, but we lack leadership and NaMo is ready to provide that with honesty. So at this juncture, instead of debating "Alaya" issue, just give your unequivocal support to Modi.
Last edited by kmkraoind on 04 Oct 2013 19:10, edited 1 time in total.

Ok, no more of this stuff from me, but this is getting discussed, in my normal avatar though this is what I have to say...

the usual order is madiralay, bhojanalay, shauchaly and devalay (next day morning)
:P
Arunkumar

Post by Arunkumar »

macaulay?
Garooda

Post by Garooda »

devesh wrote:
Agnimitra wrote:
Modi can make a convincing case for building more sauchalays, without talking about devalays. PERIOD. Devalay is an irrelevant thing in this discussion.
I think he was aiming for a practical approach to many issues to the segment which is generally blind folded by the religious priorities. The statement actually reminded me of the Paresh Raawal movie OMG.

I think NaMo's message is build shauchalaya before devalaya at your house. I agree with it.

Re. RJB, i think NaMo will enforce the law and due process. This means that VHP will be allowed to build the temple as per the court judgement. GOI is not going to build it.

JMHO

Isn't the pic from educated shehzada taken from government event on public money that he gate crashed and throw tantrums?

How do we tolerate such jokers.
kapilrdave

Post by kapilrdave »

Garooda wrote: I think he was aiming for a practical approach to many issues to the segment which is generally blind folded by the religious priorities. The statement actually reminded me of the Paresh Raawal movie OMG.
This is yet another myth. Ashrams and temples of India do lot of good work for society. Certainly more than other religions.

I see that people opposing the goof up by modi automatically become backward, rigid, communal, anti development and a bunch of idiots who need to be told the benefits of development and how development would benefit the dharmikization also. They automatically become anti modi and those fools don't know that modi has actually done some good work regarding sanitization in GJ. They need to be reminded that modi is a doer and not equal to JR. Interesting.

My last post on this matter.

Fact is a minister talking of temple instead of doing his job is polarizing even when his earlier anti-Hindu utterances were earlier news items too. The con race minister seem to have learnt nothing.

kapilrdave wrote: That is simply not true. He was talking about building toilets rather than temples. But why should he bring in temples in this discussion when the govt has nothing to do with building temples? And he said that it requires courage to say this being a stamped hindutvavadi leader. Did anyone ask him to prove his bravery? And why this stepmothership against temples? He could have said temples-mosques in same breath if he really wanted to show his bravery. Otherwise he should stick to his development talks. Hindus don't want him to talk about Hindus. They want him to talk about development and not to appease other religions. Is it too much to ask?

Someone please tell him that such tactics will not fetch him any votes because his opponents are GODS of this game. Chances are that he might lose some votes if he ventures into this muddy water.

Rural folks often contribute to the local temple but refuse to built toilets. Why should it be only the Govt.? There is a campaign on TV asking how you can let your bahu go to the open fields for toilet when you keep her under purdah otherwise. Does it mean the campaign is insulting bahus. This is a very practical statement by NM.
kapilrdave

Post by kapilrdave »

What about rural folks spending on desi daru rather than paying school fees of children? There are lot of things rural folks spend on unnecessarily. Why single out 1-2 rupees chillar they donate in temple? And don't forget that 1-2 rupees is also a source of daal/roti for someone.

As far as I read it, The context was of big temples and ashrams who are very rich but "supposedly" they are doing nothing for society and actually blocking toilets in India. Rubbish.

Really my last post.
Garooda

Post by Garooda »

kapilrdave wrote:
Garooda wrote:
I see that people opposing the goof up by modi automatically become backward, rigid, communal, anti development and a bunch of idiots who need to be told the benefits of development and how development would benefit the dharmikization also. They automatically become anti modi and those fools don't know that modi has actually done some good work regarding sanitization in GJ. They need to be reminded that modi is a doer and not equal to JR. Interesting.
Very true. I guess it also depends on who funds their activities (ashrams and other religious non-profit organizations). At times, I think its like a child or toddler generally opposing to a parent initially with any idea presented to them. The rest is all politics as usual.

I agree, the message was goof up by Modi, he is after all Human.

How are folks equating "devalaya" with only a Hindu temple? It means "place of God" and at least to me, this means any place of worship, including churches and mosques. Further, I agree with his statement which was not at all offensive to my Hindu sensibility. All Indians who defecate in the open are not Hindus only. There is no suggestion that the govt should build them either. Going by his record, he expects the public to build both after being empowered by govt.

Modi knows what he is doing. Let's move on and let the congis keep gnawing this bone he threw them.

Victor wrote:How are folks equating "devalaya" with only a Hindu temple? It means "place of God" and at least to me, this means any place of worship, including churches and mosques. Further, I agree with his statement which was not at all offensive to my Hindu sensibility. There is no suggestion that the govt should build them either. Going by his record, he expects the public to build both after being empowered by govt.

Modi knows what he is doing. Let's move on and let the congis keep gnawing this bone he threw them.
Churches and masjids are not home of gods.. Mandir is a home of Devata... Churches and masjids are congregation centers only.. If they are not available, one can pray (they do pray) on roads, parks anywhere..
Garooda

Post by Garooda »

kapilrdave wrote: As far as I read it, The context was of big temples and ashrams who are very rich but "supposedly" they are doing nothing for society and actually blocking toilets in India. Rubbish.
I think you're interpreting into it too deeply. This is also a known fact about the big ashrams and temples doing minimal or giving back to the society. How would this benefit him (votes) if you think the above was NM's context? Just curious.

Guys can be focus on the real enemies than the imagined one please!!
kittoo

Post by kittoo »

Guys let it cool down :)
Those of us who feel modi should not have said that dont mean that this is a huge mistake or we will not vote for him or he should only do hindutva etc. We just think that that was a minor mistake and more of such mistakes might impact his share of hardcore Hindutva crowd, and that he might need to think about not trying too hard to disassociate himself from his Hindutvavadi image. It does not mean that suddenly we are anti-Modi or dont like him anymore.
Ashok Sarraff

Post by Ashok Sarraff »

Folks, whom would you pick as P.M., Modi and Shehazada? That's the real question.

Atri wrote: Churches and masjids are not home of gods.. Mandir is a home of Devata... Churches and masjids are congregation centers only.. If they are not available, one can pray (they do pray) on roads, parks anywhere..
I've heard priests refer to a Church as a "house of God" in movies.

Regardless, this statement is insignificant in the overall scheme of things. One statement can't undo Modi's excellent track record. Even after this statement, do the Hindutvawadis doubt who will be better for Hindus in the long run, Modi or his adversaries? Cut the man some slack please.

nageshks wrote:
Rudradev-ji,
This is not an Advani-Modi contest. Advani, whatever his initial bitterness, has more or less given up his ambition and accepted Modi as the PM candidate.
Nagesh ji, I didn't make it out to be such a contest. It was not I who tried to equate Modi's shauchalaya comment with Advani's "Jinnah is secular" moment. But once that comparison is put out into the public discourse, it deserves to be rubbished.
There is only one point I am making. Given just how much Hindus are being targeted by the successive `secular' governments, there was simply no need for Modi to make that statement. Can someone exactly point out the advantages of the statement, as opposed to offending a large section of Hindus, particularly when it is that group of Hindus have been voting him into power?
That is absolutely fair. I can only speak for myself, and as a Hindu and a citizen of India, I have no problem whatsoever with Modi's statement. But fair enough, other Hindus might see it differently and find it offensive. We Hindus are not a uniform monolith who are told what to think and how to feel by an Ulema-type clergy; we each have our own interpretations and all are valid.

Having said that, I have two points to make here. If some of the Hindus who are offended by this comment would actually compare it to the sustained assault we have suffered from decades of "secular" regimes... from Shah Bano to Swami Laxmananand to Sadvhi Pragya, from Malegaon witch-hunt to Muzzaffarnagar massacre... then they need to get a sense of perspective.

Second point: if you (or anyone else) feels offended by Modi's shauchalaya comment... tell him so. In a unique system of governance, Modi has completely opened the channels for feedback from ordinary citizens like ourselves. He not only requests, but considers and acts upon feedback that is offered to him via the internet, telephone and conventional mail. So call, write or email his office to let him know that you feel a certain way about his statement. He will consider your feedback, as well as feedback from others, to help determine the best course of action in future.

This is what distinguishes Modi from ALL the other leaders: Sushma Swaraj, L K Advani, Sonia Gandhi or Manmohan Singh. He will listen to our concerns and at least give them an honest hearing; those others would not even give us the time of day.
Last edited by Rudradev on 04 Oct 2013 20:30, edited 1 time in total.

It is funny to read public apology for NaMo.. how he meant devalaya and not mandir means he was playing on words etc.. it is apology. To give historical context, this is the halaahala of belonging to Savarkaraite mode of Hindutva. Dr. Hedgewar too found it too hot to handle, hence his disagreement with Savarkar and Hindu Mahasabha.

1. Mandir is home of devataa. Job of governemtn is to build shauchalaya and not temples. temples are built and maintained by devotees. The slogan of govt should be pehle aur badme, shauchalay aur baki development ki cheezein.. Devalay ko bhakt jan dekh le.
2. Savarkar said cow is mother of bull and not human. For humans, Cow is merely an useful domesticated animal and she should be used as required for milk or flesh or whatever is required. If someone slaughters cows just to spite Hindus, he should be answered with a blow that his seven generations won't forget.
3. Worship of effeminate gods is worthless. all the sects doing radhe radhe type krishna-bhakti are cancers in Hindu society.
4. As a matter of fact, the very institution of temple has become a distraction in movement of Hindu revival. Temples and Moortis are only tools and should be discarded the way we discard ganesha or devi murtis. The RJB movement diluted the overall Hindu renaissance which was happening by fixating it on a material goal which when demolished, lost the steam. Savarkar's Hindutva sets more ethereal goals - something similar to what NaMo is doing. Temples have become since past 1000 years nothing but structured investment vehicles for merchants and kings to stave off their wealth, thereby attracting people like Gaznavi. Whatever non-religious essential work the temples did, even that is lost its significance now. temples, churches, mosques are land-grabbing schemes onlee who's idea originated in Buddhist Chaitya viharas.. Pre-Buddhist Hinduism never relied on such big huge buildings as center of the dharma. At the very center of Dharma was institution of family and village. They built big huge, grand and beautiful stuff, yes, Pandava Mayasabha is proof, but did not attach undue sacrosanctity to the structure.
5. The existence of Ishwara is doubtful and is not required to explain how the world works. The non-theistic saamkhya-yoga's karma siddhanta is sufficient to answer the ethical, moral and adhyatmik querries a person faces in his life.
6. Abolition of 7 prohibitions plaguing Hindu mind - Sindhu, Sindhu, Cow, untouchability, prohibition on intercaste marriages, prohibition on sharing food, prohibition on reconversion. The scientific frontier of India is Hindukush mountain ranges and Kabul river basin. It should be brought in. People should be brought in hindu fold, by force. Marriages of hindu women with non-hindu men be banned and reverse be encouraged, forcibly if necessary. total war is the only way out. Abolition of linguistic basis of states, smaller states be created with foot-ruler like in USA based on manageable population size.
7. Of course, places like Kashi, mathura, ayodhya, bhojshala etc are to be brought back to make a socio-political point only, not adhyatmik or religious point. Just like article 370 and UCC are for similar dharmarthik ideals.

This is a small introduction to this school of Hindutva. There are many more ideas worth thinking about but which might be disturbing for traditionalist mind. All supporters of NaMo should evaluate themselves as to how comfortable they are with this school.

As of NaMo's toilet - temple story, it is storm in tea-cup. But elders have registered it. It will have zero effect on electoral results.

I, for one, am only concerned about timing of this faux pas. I agree with that sentiment and almost all the ideas that I listed above on one plane. But when I think from Gandhi's Graama-Swarajya vision which is definitely more sustainable in long run, above statements might be hindrance. NaMo tries to strike balance here by talking about how Ganga was pure as long as she was mother etc. Hence I said, it is very thin balance to walk on to be this type of H-Vaadi without entering the territory of progressive nehruvian domain.

Right now, I am worried only about the timing. Every vote will count, and every erg of energy of NaMo and his supporters need to be preserved for maximum impact. this was nothing but a minor irritating distraction in larger scheme of events. These are issues for later times. Now, one has to pay heed to advise of Samartha Ramdas Swami that one should maintain what is, and then gain more (without compromising on what you already have). This particular episode will not erode the core vote-base. But NaMo should not test his cadres more often. It is the cadres who have to fight off the opponents and answer the sekoolars with triumphant smile on the face with the slight sense of discomfort which they feel deep within their minds. Troubled mind cannot fight effectively.
Last edited by Atri on 04 Oct 2013 20:43, edited 3 times in total.

That will be true if he said we don't need temples as JR implied. I think we are stretching it too far. Anyway, back to political discussions.