Statewide and National runup to 2014 General elections

SanjayC

Re: Statewide and National runup to 2014 General elections

Post by SanjayC »

rkirankr wrote:Bihar not going well
Bihar is only seven seats this round. If BJP gets even half, it's OK.

if Amma is cut down to size this time, might be a co-operative ally extending outside support rather than a perpetual migraine.

harbans wrote:What is this Ganga Jamuna Tehzeeb that Barkha, Sonia are trying to pitch?
Islamic culture superimposed on Indic and Islamist ruling the roost with bread crumbs thrown at dhimmi hindus and Urdu being the language of choice. Basicall back to Mughal and Awadh days.
SanjayC

Post by SanjayC »

^^^ Absolutely. Add to the mix daughters of Hindu elite supplied to Muslim harems to show "broad mindedness."

New Indian Express ‏@NewIndianXpress 11m

Amethi Seethes with Anger at #RahulGandhi - http://tnie.in/1k8CpXN
Amethi, seen as the Gandhi family's pocket borough, is seething with anger. This Lok Sabha constituency in the Awadh region of Uttar Pradesh has since 1977 never been as angry with a Gandhi as it is with Rahul, the scion of the family and the incumbent MP. Amethi voted his father Rajiv Gandhi four times (1981 to 1991) and mother Sonia in 1999.

"This time we want to teach Rahul a lesson for ignoring us and taking Amethi for granted," says Sarwar who has been looking for a job for a couple of years. About five young men gathered at the tea shop join him and shout down Taj Mohammad, who tries to counter him. "He supports Rahul because he takes commission to arrange for a handshake with him," alleges Sarwar as they break into a hearty laugh.

Are they going to work to defeat Rahul? "We don't want to see him lose but we will ensure that his vote tally sinks so low that he is shamed into introspection and doing something worthwhile for Amethi, announces Sarwar to a visiting correspondent.

Typical pptgiri manager talk. :roll:

Mumbai equals its 2009 %age by 15:00.. wish to see more action in last three hours. the activity has picked up.

Look at the crowd!
Did Modi/BJP broadcast his roadshow? If Media decided to broadcast the case should be filed against them.

same case can be filed against rahul gandhi on 12th for 7 constituencies

This is specially for Suraj. No prizes for guessing who did this or why. I bet it will still look like CT to you.

joshi vaidya kulkarni patel shah jain gupte surnames max deleted in maharashtra

NitiCentral.com ‏@NitiCentral 1m

Bihar: 52% turnout till 4 pm. Purnea 54, Kishanganj 54, Supaul 54, Katihar 54, Araria 50, Banka 48 Bhagalpur 47%. http://bit.ly/QGJOmI
2009 turnout in these seats by 4:00.
Last edited by pankajs on 24 Apr 2014 16:40, edited 1 time in total.
member_24042

Post by member_24042 »

Apparently according to 5forty3 guy, BJP is ahead in Kanauj against Dimple Yadav.

Today's Bihar seats have huge Muslim populations. Katihar, Araria and Kishanganj have more than 40% Muslims, and even Bhagalpur and Purnea have ~30% Muslims. And BJP screwed itself up by fielding Shahnawaz Hussain and banishing the local Ashwani Kumar Chaubey to Buxar (and annoying Lalmuni Chaubey in the latter seat). I won't be surprised if Shahnawaz loses this time, because he is just not popular at all, is an outsider and basically stays in Supaul, not in Bhagalpur. Banka and Supaul are the other two seats. BJP is simply not strong enough in Supaul on its own. Banka has a hard battle between Digvijay's widow, Putul Kumari, and a Yadav candidate of the RJD. To make matters worse, the BJP is facing a suicide attack from NiKu who is trying to do it as much damage as possible. Out of the 7 seats where the BJP is fighting today, Kishanganj and Supaul are, IMO, lost. Bhagalpur will also likely be lost since BJP supporters don't want to vote for Shahnawaz. Araria, Purnea and Katihar are going to go down to the wire, since it depends on whether NiKu's caste based attack damage can be contained. I have no idea what is happening in Banka.
member_24042

Post by member_24042 »

nageshks wrote:
Today's Bihar seats have huge Muslim populations. Katihar, Araria and Kishanganj have more than 40% Muslims, and even Bhagalpur and Purnea have ~30% Muslims. And BJP screwed itself up by fielding Shahnawaz Hussain and banishing the local Ashwani Kumar Chaubey to Buxar (and annoying Lalmuni Chaubey in the latter seat). I won't be surprised if Shahnawaz loses this time, because he is just not popular at all, is an outsider and basically stays in Supaul, not in Bhagalpur. Banka and Supaul are the other two seats. BJP is simply not strong enough in Supaul on its own. Banka has a hard battle between Digvijay's widow, Putul Kumari, and a Yadav candidate of the RJD. To make matters worse, the BJP is facing a suicide attack from NiKu who is trying to do it as much damage as possible. Out of the 7 seats where the BJP is fighting today, Kishanganj and Supaul are, IMO, lost. Bhagalpur will also likely be lost since BJP supporters don't want to vote for Shahnawaz. Araria, Purnea and Katihar are going to go down to the wire, since it depends on whether NiKu's caste based attack damage can be contained. I have no idea what is happening in Banka.

Katihar appears to be in BJP kitty according to Dr. patil

TonySoprano wrote:Apparently according to 5forty3 guy, BJP is ahead in Kanauj against Dimple Yadav.
Kannauj has never been won by the BJP, IIRC, even during the height of the Ram wave and the Kalyan Singh rule. Kannauj is Yadav heartland. If SP is losing here, its goose is cooked. But I am not convinced about Kannauj. I prefer to treat 5Forty3's reports with caution, suspicion with regard to his predictions.

CNN-IBN News ‏@ibnlive 49s

Madhya Pradesh: 59% polling in 10 seats till 5 pm #Elections2014
member_24042

Post by member_24042 »

nageshks wrote:
TonySoprano wrote:Apparently according to 5forty3 guy, BJP is ahead in Kanauj against Dimple Yadav.
Kannauj has never been won by the BJP, IIRC, even during the height of the Ram wave and the Kalyan Singh rule. Kannauj is Yadav heartland. If SP is losing here, its goose is cooked. But I am not convinced about Kannauj. I prefer to treat 5Forty3's reports with caution, suspicion with regard to his predictions.

True, his projections don't give BJP a strong lead, just barely making it.

Out of 73 lakh voters in Thane, 673000 names missing. Around 10%. Others holidayed in malls.
SanjayC

Post by SanjayC »

Subramanian Swamy ‏@Swamy39 10h

Lot of activity in TDK house on EVMs. Namo should get at least 250 LS seats if no rigging.
member_24042

Post by member_24042 »

SanjayC wrote:

Lot of activity in TDK house on EVMs. Namo should get at least 250 LS seats if no rigging.

So why doesn't he do something about it rather than useless tweets. This is serious cause for concern.
SanjayC

Post by SanjayC »

SanjayC wrote:

If EVM fraud is a real issue, then how can BJP be so cavalier about it? Their whole victory is at stake here.

harbans wrote:What is this Ganga Jamuna Tehzeeb that Barkha, Sonia are trying to pitch?
Hindus should GUBO. What else?
member_24042

Post by member_24042 »

This election has taken a toll on me, I can no longer enjoy life and am constantly worried. What will happen to India if Modi loses? Will we become another one of Uncle's targets?
vivek.rao

Post by vivek.rao »

Same here. Always on twitter & BRF, mediacrooks.com or firstpost. Wife angry with me 4 ignoring all the work.

TN: don't be surprised if NDA goes 20 plus. Something tells me of TN, WB, Odisha and Assam the biggest surprise is going to be TN and next WB. Orissa and Assam NDA it shouldn't be surprising NDA does very well. (My dhoti shiver is for <300)

TonySoprano wrote:

So why doesn't he do something about it rather than useless tweets. This is serious cause for concern.
Shasan kiska hai? SS case has given a push to paper trail. He has done more about this than most.
Patni

Post by Patni »

Pathetic voating in southmumbai. At near closing time when our family of four voted, we were 149,150,151 n 152nd to vote in booth with listing of ~960 ppl.
member_24042

Post by member_24042 »

Patni wrote:Pathetic voating in southmumbai. At near closing time when our family of four voted, we were 149,150,151 n 152nd to vote in booth with listing of ~960 ppl.
Those western yuppies were not going to vote for NaMo anyways. Dr. Patil said it right when he tweeted that young females of urban areas that like drinking are too hostile to Modi.

Mumbai is even worse than Delhi. Number one in taking out candle marches but no, we won't come out & vote, we are too chi chi only. What to expect from these people who re-elected Congress after 26/11. Shame.

Minhaz Merchant ‏@minhazmerchant 2m

Mumbai turnout hits 47% at 5 pm. Should be close to 50% by 6pm--nearly 7% higher than 2009
CNN-IBN News ‏@ibnlive 11m

Tamil Nadu average turnout till 5 pm was 70%: North Chennai 60.29%; Chennai South 56.84%; Chennai Central 59.42%; Dharmapuri 79%
NitiCentral.com ‏@NitiCentral 16m

Uttar Pradesh: Above 55% voting reported till 5 pm in 12 constituencies #Elections2014 http://www.niticentral.com/2014/04/24/p ... 15529.html
Last edited by pankajs on 24 Apr 2014 18:00, edited 1 time in total.
saumitra_j

Post by saumitra_j »

As an ex Mumbaikar, hate to see the spirit of Mumbai when it comes to the real thing. I am glad I quit the city before it elected Govinda over Ram Naik...it deserve all the crap it gets :( Mumbai needs a new inspiration, a new Balasaheb Thakre if you will. The spirit of the late 80s and 90s is completely missing!
Last edited by saumitra_j on 24 Apr 2014 18:01, edited 1 time in total.
jagga

Post by jagga »

Delhi was much better this time, beyond my expectation at 64%. In 2009 it was 51%. Even in December assembly elections Delhi voting percentage was 66%. Very good in my opinion when we compare with past voting history.

Chidambaram said there is no Modi wave, but a multi cornered elections. Ahem ahem, when did TN see such fights, it has been a two party system for decades. A lesson for India to not become a two party country.

Business Standard ‏@bsindia 2m

Mumbai North - 52 % Mumbai North-West-50% Mumbai North-East -53% Mumbai North-Central - 55% Mumbai South-Central - 55 %,Mumbai South -54%
Thats like 10%+ over 2009
TIMES NOW ‏@timesnow 27m

Voter turnout till 6 PM Bihar - 60% Jharkhand - 63.4% Madhya Pradesh - 63% Assam - 71% #India2014
TIMES NOW ‏@timesnow 4m

Voter turnout till 6 PM: Uttar Pradesh – 58%, Rajasthan - 59%, Mumbai - 53.1%, West Bengal - 81.42, Chhattisgarh - 65% #India2014

Mumbai 53% as against 41 last elections. 12% more. Har Har Mahadev.
member_28025

Post by member_28025 »

saumitra_j wrote:As an ex Mumbaikar, hate to see the spirit of Mumbai when it comes to the real thing. I am glad I quit the city before it elected Govinda over Ram Naik...it deserve all the crap it gets :( Mumbai needs a new inspiration, a new Balasaheb Thakre if you will. The spirit of the late 80s and 90s is completely missing!
+100.

I think Mumbaikars are just not bothered. They have 24 hr electricity, fairly good public transport system and comparatively less water problems. I am not justitifying their lack of interest in voting, just thinking of the reasons.

My brother and his wife went and voted in South Mumbai - both BJP. My brother-in-law and his wife also went and voted in Santacruz (West) apparently also BJP. But neither my brother's son who is 23 years old nor my BIL's daughter who is 22 years old bothered to register. It is a shame that their parents didn't encourage them.

What makes me angry is that some people plan a holiday knowing well that elections are scheduled for this period. My cousin and her family (six adults and all BJP supporters) are on a Europe tour right now.

Here in Switzerland, the moment a person turns 18, they automatically get their voting cards delivered by post. There is no need to apply. Of course, this will be very difficult to be implemented in India given that the population of Switzerland is around 7 million and that of India is 125 crores. I wonder what the system is for other Western countries!

harbans wrote:
agree, my name was not in ECI website, but local BJP cell noted name was in rolls. so basically websites are a mess.
Go back and it will be there! Check these tweets:
Retweeted by Priti Gandhi
Sharanya ‏@Sharanyashettyy 3h
@MrsGandhi plz convey to everybdy that they can check on ECI website and if their name is found...then tke serial no n go bck. @EktaRajani

Priti Gandhi ‏@MrsGandhi 3h
List is called ASD. Please note! "@CoMuBh: Ask people to check in deleted list,if name is there they can vote..its a trick in this election"

Priti Gandhi ‏@MrsGandhi 20m
18000 names from ASD list circulated to all booths in Bandra. If your name was missing,check again. Presiding officer assures co-operation.

mukul ‏@MukulAgarwal66 1h
RT @heytal: @MukulAgarwal66 Here's how you can find if your name is in the ASD list - https://www.facebook.com/notes/hetal-ra ... 2201758121

mukul ‏@MukulAgarwal66 2h
If your name is missing from voters list, please ask to see the ASD list..... That has all the deleted names. If your name there, u can vote

Priti Gandhi ‏@MrsGandhi 3h
Lots of complaints coming in of names missing from voters list. Could be a spelling mistake. Insist on scanning entire list. Vote you must!!

Priti Gandhi ‏@MrsGandhi 4h
@bcrmaiya1957 Hello! I had checked my name online. It was there. Exactly why I shouted!

Priti Gandhi ‏@MrsGandhi 4h
Had a huge fight at the polling booth where they told me my name was missing from the list. Shouted on top of my voice until they found it!!
So do go and vote!
I already voted in Bangalore. But the hidden story of this election seems to be missing names. My friends - several could not vote because name was not in list. They would all have been pro Modi.

ABP News ‏@abpnewstv 53s

Amit Shah answers questions snoopgate, now on #ABPNews
http://www.abplive.in/livetv/
ANI ‏@ANI_news 2m

Voter turnout in Maharashtra today was 55.33% as compared to 44.86% in 2009: Sudhir Tripathi, Deputy EC
10%+ Increase as compared 2009
TIMES NOW ‏@timesnow 3m

Jhakhand records 63.4% voter turnout in 6th phase of Lok Sabha polls, 11.21% increase as compared to 2009 #India2014
ANI ‏@ANI_news 9m

Tamil Nadu recorded a poll percentage of 73% today, corresponding percentage in 2009 was the same: Sudhir Tripathi, Deputy EC
No increase
CNN-IBN News ‏@ibnlive 14m

Rajasthan sees turnout of 59.2 per cent, up from 49.8 per cent in 2009 #Elections2014
Up 10%+
CNN-IBN News ‏@ibnlive 20m

Madhya Pradesh sees turnout of 64%, up from 53.84% in 2009 #Elections2014
Last edited by pankajs on 24 Apr 2014 19:07, edited 2 times in total.
jagga

Post by jagga »

From Indiavotes.com, in 2009 voter turnout was 50.50% in Maharashtra. That makes increase of about 5% as compared with 2009.
Added later: My wrong, they must be doing seat to seat comparison. That I think will make a jump of 10%
Last edited by jagga on 24 Apr 2014 19:08, edited 1 time in total.