Statewide and National runup to 2014 General elections
Re: Statewide and National runup to 2014 General elections
Shouldn't those whose names were missing be given a re-vote as in Pune? Or is the thinking that you had a chance to check in advance and you blew it.
Some perspective please people! Mumbai had a very low percentage in 2009. In the six seats in Mumbai:
2009: Total Voters: 95.94 lakhs Turnout: 43% - ~40 lakhs
2014:
Provisional figures: Mumbai North - 52 %, Mumbai North-West-50%, Mumbai North-East -53%, Mumbai North-Central -55%, Mumbai South-Central -55 %, Mumbai South - 54%
Total voters: 98.93lk Turnout: 53.5% - 52.92 lakhs
That is an increase of 12 lk votes. 200k per constituency.
2009: Total Voters: 95.94 lakhs Turnout: 43% - ~40 lakhs
2014:
Provisional figures: Mumbai North - 52 %, Mumbai North-West-50%, Mumbai North-East -53%, Mumbai North-Central -55%, Mumbai South-Central -55 %, Mumbai South - 54%
Total voters: 98.93lk Turnout: 53.5% - 52.92 lakhs
That is an increase of 12 lk votes. 200k per constituency.
Last edited by AjitK on 24 Apr 2014 19:16, edited 1 time in total.
Amit Malviya @malviyamit 5m
If this trend of 10%+ jump in voter turnout over 2009 continues, it could well be a massive sweep on the 16th !
Places like Finland, every TD&H has all your details available at their finger tips. Every system is connected to every other. There is nowhere to hide. Even a video library person can get your home address if you give SSN number, same for bus pass counter. An election candidate can also track which polling booth voted how many booths for you. If you go to ask for loan, they know your bank balances in different accounts. Only private stuff for citizens are things like "criminal history - if someone has been convicted of child abuse it is kept secret ", "medical history", "personal relationships", "facebook photosShamlee wrote:+100.saumitra_j wrote:As an ex Mumbaikar, hate to see the spirit of Mumbai when it comes to the real thing. I am glad I quit the city before it elected Govinda over Ram Naik...it deserve all the crap it getsMumbai needs a new inspiration, a new Balasaheb Thakre if you will. The spirit of the late 80s and 90s is completely missing!
I think Mumbaikars are just not bothered. They have 24 hr electricity, fairly good public transport system and comparatively less water problems. I am not justitifying their lack of interest in voting, just thinking of the reasons.
My brother and his wife went and voted in South Mumbai - both BJP. My brother-in-law and his wife also went and voted in Santacruz (West) apparently also BJP. But neither my brother's son who is 23 years old nor my BIL's daughter who is 22 years old bothered to register. It is a shame that their parents didn't encourage them.
What makes me angry is that some people plan a holiday knowing well that elections are scheduled for this period. My cousin and her family (six adults and all BJP supporters) are on a Europe tour right now.
Here in Switzerland, the moment a person turns 18, they automatically get their voting cards delivered by post. There is no need to apply. Of course, this will be very difficult to be implemented in India given that the population of Switzerland is around 7 million and that of India is 125 crores. I wonder what the system is for other Western countries!

Voter ID registration is not needed, a person who reaches a 18 years and if a citizen gets a notification few weeks before elections automatically.
This election may have been sabotaged by INC and EC.
Increasing ..TOI Lucknow @TOILucknow 26m
60.12% polling in Uttar Pradesh till 6pm #DanceOfDemocracy
So as I said, the voting percentage in Mumbai would exceed 50% -> latest reports say 55%.
Except for a few AAPtards, friends of the family here voted for the SS - Atriji, you will be glad to know this..
Another disappointment won't be good for my heart.Muppalla wrote:This election may have been sabotaged by INC and EC.
2004,2009 and now ...

I've been in dhoti-shivering mode for quite a while. But hey, India will survive whoever wins.vivek.rao wrote:Another disappointment won't be good for my heart.Muppalla wrote:This election may have been sabotaged by INC and EC.
2004,2009 and now ...![]()
Huge voting in Guwahati today.
my friend went with wife at 7am figuring ten min job then breakfast.
he got to vote at 9.30 after joining queue at 7am.
ppl are fed up with congis and want them out...all I know in ghy except mainorities must have voted BJP.
my friend went with wife at 7am figuring ten min job then breakfast.
he got to vote at 9.30 after joining queue at 7am.
ppl are fed up with congis and want them out...all I know in ghy except mainorities must have voted BJP.
^ True. Usually, early morning voters are seniors, but this time each booth had separate first-come-first-vote queue for seniors and long queues with first-timers at every booth i saw.
Hain jee? After so much increasing in polling percentage, how this match fixing?Muppalla wrote:This election may have been sabotaged by INC and EC.
Question is what will be effect of con race, can we afford to avoid 1/2 terms of NaMo government. I am referring this w.r.t. China, Islam, West power centers pushing and pulling. Con race seem to have strategy of bend in the wind ie resistance is futile approach everywhere. This after decades of problems at the borders, interference from the west, infiltration, and so on.
Dr. Praveen Patil @5Forty3 31m
Two stunners from Mumbai North East and Araria http://5forty3.in/2014/04/constituency- ... orth-east/ … If BJP is doing this well in a tough phase then can it sweep 2014??
^ Local marwari with BJP connection says 75%+ voting in GHY. People have endured extreme heat for hours with no shelter. The message seems to have penetrated deep--do or die for locals.
Question to chaanakyaji,
Was this long schedule stretching to 45 days necessary? Does the security considerations require such a long and dispersed schedule?And we have to take into account the heat of the summer as well.
It seems to me that the EC deliberately chose the long schedule to slow down/dissipate the Modi wave and momentum.
Was this long schedule stretching to 45 days necessary? Does the security considerations require such a long and dispersed schedule?And we have to take into account the heat of the summer as well.
It seems to me that the EC deliberately chose the long schedule to slow down/dissipate the Modi wave and momentum.
TimesNow > Last cycle total winning margin was 4.5lk for all Mumbai seats. Total increase of 16 lk votes indicates a decisive vote one way or other. 6-0 one way or the other.AjitK wrote:That is an increase of 12 lk votes. 200k per constituency.
Last edited by pankajs on 24 Apr 2014 19:59, edited 1 time in total.
How much is truth in this?
Panic-stricken Mayawati in overdrive to woo back dalits
Looks like Dr.Patil from 5Forty3.in is the first one to spot this. Validates what he has been saying. He is not BSing
Panic-stricken Mayawati in overdrive to woo back dalits
BSP chief Mayawati's apprehension that her dalit vote bank could be drifting away is not unfounded. A day after she warned dalits of "not falling in the trap of conspiracy hatched by opposition parties", ground level workers confirmed there was a panic-like situation within the Bahujan Samaj Party about its diminishing core vote bank. Sources said the party's district coordinators had been instructed by the top brass to reach out to the grassroots and consolidate dalit votes.
On Sunday, Mayawati had said opposition parties were telling dalits that BSP was fooling them by allocating more Lok Sabha tickets to Brahmins and Muslims in the name of 'Sarv Jan' strategy. Earlier, she had alleged that the BJP was successful in polarising the dalit vote bank in west UP where they voted as Hindus in the first two phases. Maya's recent speeches overtly wooing Muslims has only made the things worse.
The inside information about the first two phases of voting has rung the alarm bells in the BSP camp. "Yeh toh aap jante hi hain ki opposition saam, daam, dand...saare hathkandey apna raha hai daliton ko humse cheenney ke liye (you know well how the opposition is using all tactics to snatch dalits from us)," said BSP state president Ram Achal Rajbhar.
The BSP is making special efforts in constituencies where the party has fielded a Brahmin or upper caste candidate. "Hum unko kasam khila rahe hain ki is baar vote Behenji ko hi dena (We are making them promise to us to vote for Behenji)," said Desh Raj Bharti, a coordinator in Unnao from where BSP has fielded Brijesh Pathak, a Brahmin.
BSP workers in Jhansi, too, said they were questioned by dalits that what the party had done for the lower castes. "Whatever they do, dalits will vote in the name of Behenji in the end. They will not leave us," said Ram Prasad Pradhan, district coordinator in Ghaziabad from where BSP has fielded Mukul Upadhayay.
BJP is not only appealing to Dalits' Hindu background but also has cleverly distributed 17 tickets among various sub-castes depending on the population of that sub-caste in the constituency. BSP has given all tickets to pasis and jatavs, the caste Mayawati belongs to. On the other hand, BJP has fielded three Jatavs, three Khatiks, three Pasis, one Kori, one Dhanuk, one Dhobi, one Khairwa and one Mallah.
Sources said BSP leaders had also sensed that dalits might have been polarised on communal lines. "That is the reason why Mayawati is repeatedly making an appeal to Muslims to vote en masse for the party. The move may compensate for the loss of dalits," said a BSP leader.
Keeping my fingers crossed ...However, political pundits say, in some instances it is also being proved counter-productive and alienating dalits, who think that Maya was now patronizing Muslims at their cost and drifting them towards a large-scale Hindu polarization.
Looks like Dr.Patil from 5Forty3.in is the first one to spot this. Validates what he has been saying. He is not BSing
The WSJ has the reasons why it takes so long:svenkat wrote:Question to chaanakyaji,
"Put another way, the national elections trigger the world's biggest obstacle course for some Indian election officials.
Nearly six million poll workers, many of them teachers like Mr. Roy or other government employees, are protected by 11 million police and soldiers as they fan out across the country. Their routes take them through the soaring Himalayan mountains of Ladakh in the north and the tiny Lakshadweep islands in the Arabian Sea to the south. "
http://online.wsj.com/news/articles/SB1 ... 0305318136
On ABP Amit Shah said the main competitor for BJP was BSP and he clarified he was not talking about no of seats i.e who will get no 1 or 2 in UP. So my guess is he was talking abt the Dalit votes.
----------->
Rajnathji was shown calming 60 out of 80 seats in UP again on ABP News
On ABP Amit Shah said the main competitor for BJP was BSP and he clarified he was not talking about no of seats i.e who will get no 1 or 2 in UP. So my guess is he was talking abt the Dalit votes.
----------->
Rajnathji was shown calming 60 out of 80 seats in UP again on ABP News
Last edited by pankajs on 24 Apr 2014 20:08, edited 1 time in total.
Based on anecdotal evidence, many people who fall in later phases (April 30 and later) are already feeling election burnout. If a hardcore Sangh supporter like my mother feels tired and giddy to talk about politics/elections, imagine the nauseating effect on people who are averse to politics.svenkat wrote:Question to chaanakyaji,
According to many in Gujarat, Modi's PM election started in 2H-2012. So for them, they are in election mode since 2 years of non-stop debate/allegations. Too much for a simple honest citizen to handle. I worry about lower turnout in Gujarat due to overconfidence+indifference (since many feel like Modi became PM in Dec 2012.)
@prasannaVishy
EOD Picture- Saffron juggernaut meets first electoral challenge in heartland,TN bracing for a stunner,Mumbai rediscover its saffron soul.
Means contents close in Bihar/UP, NDA stunning in TN and Mumbai back to good guys.
EOD Picture- Saffron juggernaut meets first electoral challenge in heartland,TN bracing for a stunner,Mumbai rediscover its saffron soul.
Means contents close in Bihar/UP, NDA stunning in TN and Mumbai back to good guys.
thats a very high number for a lazy place like ghy. last time remotely this high was when AGP swept to power in mid 80s.Victor wrote:^ Local marwari with BJP connection says 75%+ voting in GHY. People have endured extreme heat for hours with no shelter. The message seems to have penetrated deep--do or die for locals.
worryingly all the border neo-BD districts have also logged very high turnouts...nearly 80%..like nagaon and dhubri. all the seats in Assam today were >75%
Ok, so finally got a chance to post. Voted in chennai south today mid evening. I am not sure if bjp will pull off this seat. But here is my worry for this election: maharashtra.
It seems like the state is open to manipulation to some other level. 2 of my friends who have voted in the last 2 elections found their names missing in mumbai. It is almost as if 10% names have been deleted in every booth across maharashtra. This is a key state where i suspect cong will snatch 10 seats from bjp's kitty thru manipulation.
Rest of india, i am least worried, everything else seems on track. They may pull off some seats in TN, but again who knows
It seems like the state is open to manipulation to some other level. 2 of my friends who have voted in the last 2 elections found their names missing in mumbai. It is almost as if 10% names have been deleted in every booth across maharashtra. This is a key state where i suspect cong will snatch 10 seats from bjp's kitty thru manipulation.
Rest of india, i am least worried, everything else seems on track. They may pull off some seats in TN, but again who knows
looking at map, 30th april ,7th may, 12 may - Namo needs to stay around and focus on the core area eastern UP and Bihar. RJD, JDU , SP are all fighting viciously for their very survival here.
other than that Andra and Telengana is only major battleground.
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/c ... C_2014.png
nearly 200 hard fought seats still in the fray and among them a good chunk 100-120 which BJP needs to win to stand a chance.
You forgot the crucial 26 seats from Gujarat. Last time it was only 15 I think, so a major vote transfer is needed for a 20+ performance. Is anyone aware if MLA constituency delimitation also resulted in some change in boundaries for LS?Singha wrote:looking at map, 30th april ,7th may, 12 may - Namo needs to stay around and focus on the core area eastern UP and Bihar.
I know a few mumbaikars who blamed hundu extremist orgs for "provoking" 26/11 like situationhChandragupta wrote:Mumbai is even worse than Delhi. Number one in taking out candle marches but no, we won't come out & vote, we are too chi chi only. What to expect from these people who re-elected Congress after 26/11. Shame.

An all-party guide on how to fool the Election Commission
There is good reason to think so since many of the Commission’s time-tested rules and norms for the conduct of the elections are now set in stone, and smart cookies are now beginning to game the system. This may not actually affect the final outcomes significantly, but everyone – political parties, the media and even voters - has now figured out how to fool the Election Commission. Worse, many of them may suspect that the Commission is a paper tiger, whose bark may be worse that its bite.
But as the ongoing elections showed, the vulnerabilities of the system have been tested and taken advantage of. The BJP managed to produce its election manifesto on the first date of polling, 7 April. It got free publicity even though campaign rules mandate that once polling starts, there can be no campaigning. Today (24 April), even as the sixth phase of polling was on, Narendra Modi made a media event out of his filing of nomination papers in Varanasi. That’s an easy way to gain voter traction in the states that went to the polls even without violating the poll code.
Parties are managing to make strategic leaks on internal or doctored opinion/exit polls in the early phases of polling – which may have their impact on voting trends in the later phases.
Many voters also get to vote twice, thanks to the gaps in the system. I have been told of one person who voted in his village which had its election in the early phases, and then returned to Mumbai to vote again today. This is possible only because of multi-phase polling, where it is possible to let the black ink-mark fade in two weeks – or even get it removed – and vote twice. Maybe, Sharad Pawar’s advice to supporters to vote twice was not a joke after all.
There is no foolproof way of ensuring EVMs are not tampered with. Though no one suspects major hanky-panky as of now, one needs safeguards that can be publicly monitored without compromising the process.
First, multi-phase polling cannot be taken to extremes – like this time. The country should use all its police forces and administrative personnel to ensure that polling is completed in two or maximum three phases. Nine phases is simply too long to wait for a verdict, and for governments to sit in limbo.
Second, no state should have multi-phase polling. One wonders why Uttar Pradesh and Bihar need to have six-phases of polling for districts that are just a bus-ride away. Every state should poll only on one day even if we have three-phase polling for the whole country. If it can be done for Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Karnataka and Gujarat (all completed in one day), one wonders why other states need multi-phase polling, where leaked trends (even doctored information) from one phase can be used to influence the voter in the next phase. Reducing the number of phases will also reduce chances of the same person voting twice – once in his urban place of work, and again in his rural home.
Third, the Commission needs to restrict frivolous complaints regarding the code of conduct and focus instead on attempts to bribe or intimidate voters and extreme hate speech. Amit Shah’s "badla" remark, Sonia Gandhi’s "khoon ki kheti" or Modi’s references to Shehzada are, in my opinion, are all borderline cases. Any close election will invite strong language from politicians,
Fourth, a more foolproof system of updating and deleting names from electoral rolls needs to be introduced, especially in urban areas, where people change addresses frequently and tend to get enrolled either multiple times, or get deleted because they have moved elsewhere. Some form of digital registration based on PAN numbers, Aadhaar numbers or any unique ID-based system should used to enable voters to update their addresses electronically – with automatic deletions of previous enrolments.
Fifth, at some point EVMs need to be replaced with foolproof digital voting – where votes are registered in polling booths with digital signatures or unique ID numbers. EVMs, once a huge innovation in our democracy, are now an anachronism in the digital age. Votes should now be cast digitally. This will also allow for remote voting – which could improve polling percentages of the urban middle class.
Last edited by vivek.rao on 24 Apr 2014 20:20, edited 1 time in total.
Out of those 4.5lk, Dutt got a 1.6 lk margin. The Congress might hold on to Dutt's and Deora's seats. BJP could win 2. The Shiv Sena had to contend with the MNS. If the MNS hasn't performed as well as in 2009, then the Shiv Sena could have a chance in Mumbai North West and Mumbai South Central.pankajs wrote:TimesNow > Last cycle total winning margin was 4.5lk for all Mumbai seats. Total increase of 16 lk votes indicates a decisive vote one way or other. 6-0 one way or the other.AjitK wrote:That is an increase of 12 lk votes. 200k per constituency.
If the MNS has managed to dent the Sena, it could be 4-2 for the UPA or 3-3.
This was time tested weapon of YSR regime in AP. Delete all middle class voters in cities.muraliravi wrote:Ok, so finally got a chance to post. Voted in chennai south today mid evening. I am not sure if bjp will pull off this seat. But here is my worry for this election: maharashtra.
what can one say...my own relatives stay in worli in some posh apt....from talking to them over dinner, they are pretty disconnected from the harsh realities of living elsewhere in the country and what are top5 problems for ROI(rest of india).
something has to be done about restoring all these missing people into the system...perhaps offer a cash incentive for them to come out and get into the system via enrollment centers, punish the guilty officials and evolve a more foolproof system so that ppl will not suffer in future.
Bastar,Kashmir,parts of NE are problem areas.A large part of India-KA,MH,TN,KL,Goa,Guj,MP,Rajasthan,HP,Uttarakhand, has no serious problem.Even in UP,Bihar things have improved a llot.Most of Odisha,WB is problem free.Punjab has no terrorist problem.It seems EC has been too cautious/conservative if we ascribe no malafide intentions to them.
Exactly. Modi is no novelty here. He has been as popular ever since 2002. So wave is there since then. Everyone want him to become PM but complacency factor is there. The good thing is Gujjus are decent when it comes to doing what is required i.e. voting.prahaar wrote:Based on anecdotal evidence, many people who fall in later phases (April 30 and later) are already feeling election burnout. If a hardcore Sangh supporter like my mother feels tired and giddy to talk about politics/elections, imagine the nauseating effect on people who are averse to politics.svenkat wrote:Question to chaanakyaji,
According to many in Gujarat, Modi's PM election started in 2H-2012. So for them, they are in election mode since 2 years of non-stop debate/allegations. Too much for a simple honest citizen to handle. I worry about lower turnout in Gujarat due to overconfidence+indifference (since many feel like Modi became PM in Dec 2012.)
Saar, you would have been pleasantly surprised at our booth - people from the buildings surrounding Antilia were out in full force to vote. Mostly complaining about the price rise and bad state of the economy.. we waited 40-45 minutes to vote! I remember in '09, I was in and out in 10 minutes flat.Singha wrote:what can one say...my own relatives stay in worli in some posh apt....from talking to them over dinner, they are pretty disconnected from the harsh realities of living elsewhere in the country and what are top5 problems for ROI(rest of india).
things have gone too far, only thing that will make these people come and vote it when they get affected by the realities of life, for that their status has to come down to lower middle classSingha wrote:what can one say...my own relatives stay in worli in some posh apt....from talking to them over dinner, they are pretty disconnected from the harsh realities of living elsewhere in the country and what are top5 problems for ROI(rest of india).
Isn't EC supposed to be independent with constitutional safeguards? How come politicians have so much power over who they would allow to vote in elections, and they can easily bump off lakhs of people casually from electoral rolls? Is this a joke? Are these election commissioners snorting something powerful that they don't know how elections can be subverted by manipulating electoral rolls?vivek.rao wrote:This was time tested weapon of YSR regime in AP. Delete all middle class voters in cities.
er someone was saying current EC was put in place by late YSR himself! go figure.
These Vinod Mehta and Arti Jairath charlatans manage to insert themselves into every debate on Times Now. When Arnab is already there, then why are two more journalists -- and those too well-known Cong stooges -- needed on the panel to give their views? Looks like these people are being pushed by Cong as its stealth representatives.
Muppalla wrote:This election may have been sabotaged by INC and EC.
Correction. The elections are sabotaged by Gandhi Family sympathiers in EC. EC has been compormised since TN Seshan who succeeded Mr. Peri Sastry. TN Seshan shifted the elections in Jammu & Kashmir from Dec 1995 to June 1996 to prevent PVNR getting a victory in Kashmir after restoring normalcy which would have strenghtened his hands in the national polls held in May 1996. Seshan did this by insisiting on voter Id cards for all Kashmiris and women in burkha refused. So he delayed the elections. This was the overt reason. The real reason was to prevent PVNR's hand being strenthened. Since then EC always has Congress appointees even when NDA is in power as the term is quite long.
YES. I think so.svenkat wrote:Question to chaanakyaji,
Extended poll schedule on security basis, even in states where there is no tension, is to give Congress a chance to slow the opposition rise in the overall elections. Second it induces voter fatigue as latter states might lose the tempo. By allowing multiple regional polls and treating each area as a silo, the EC has subverted the intent of holding national elections to the Lok Sabha. They made this seven regional elections to the Lok Sabha.
The magic this time is to dis-enfranchise voters by making their names disappear in Maharastra for one and in other regions with in margin of error (1-2%) so that there is little suspicion. In seats with multiple candidates this helps to skew the winners chances.
This is where ground level work would have enabled challenges to these problems early on.
In Trinidad it was an old tactic. It is up first of all, to the individual to check for his name and then protest as necessary - and he has a right to see the "master" list of electors.
I don't know what it is like in India but similar provisions must exist. What could be the case is that people are shifted to other constituencies and other polling divisions (a tactic employed to frustrate voters).
In Trinidad it was an old tactic. It is up first of all, to the individual to check for his name and then protest as necessary - and he has a right to see the "master" list of electors.
I don't know what it is like in India but similar provisions must exist. What could be the case is that people are shifted to other constituencies and other polling divisions (a tactic employed to frustrate voters).
@ SanjayC
To have someone "neutral" besides CON spooky to play devils advocate with the BJP.
Last edited by pankajs on 24 Apr 2014 20:46, edited 1 time in total.