Indian Sports and Entertainment Industry

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
Asit P

Re: Indian Sports and Entertainment Industry

Post by Asit P »

Badminton update

Indian eves beat South Africa 5-0, men lose 1-4 to Indonesia

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/spor ... 913774.cms

Looks like game is over or will be soon over.. Anand is going to win game 12 and world championship. :)
nelson

Post by nelson »

^^^Kudos to Vishy

Incredible blunder by Anand :(! .. IMO A clear win gone :( or at least made difficult.
(Commentators are describing Anand's 40th move as one of most unbelievable blunders of the game ...Looks like Toplov returned the favor (47th move) and Anand is going to win.. though it is going to take more work.. (all IMO only).

Please don't make claims about winning until it is actually over.

Okay boss but it is over.. Vishy Won! Congrats to him. :)
nelson

Post by nelson »

^^^ Yes it is done. Congrats to Vishy :).
Actually me thought 40 Kg7 was a blunder too. But i feel that was the way Vishy wanted it to be from the point of committing the move.

Lunnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggiiiiiiiiiiiii dance.....Anand wins.

Source: http://www.chessbase.com/newsdetail.asp?newsid=6324.

Here is a good link to read the Express article on Vishy: http://epaper.expressbuzz.com/NE/NE/201 ... tml?Mode=1

Amber G. wrote:Okay boss but it is over.. Vishy Won! Congrats to him. :)
Good for you, or else you'd have been on a ban for overenthusiasm now :twisted: (joking, of course)

Congratulations to Viswanathan Anand. Winning with black in the last game with scores tied and the entire state apparatus backing his opponent is no easy thing. Reminds me of the 1985 summit clash when the USSR chess federation and their FIDE lackey blatantly tried to help Karpov beat Kasparov.
rgsrini

Post by rgsrini »

Take a bow master!!! You did it again!
Thankyou for being you.

Actually the 40th move by Anand, when one looks at it more deeply, was (IMO - but will wait for Anand or others more perspective) not really a 'blunder' as me and some of the commentators (Eg: http://susanpolgar.blogspot.com/ ) thought at the first blush ... (for example his K-h7 move would invite Q-f5 by white etc)..In fact when I check it with computer's help, it looks like Anand, had seen it much farther and clearer than others (But that is why he is a world champion..) .. Kudos to Anand.

Susan's commentaries were good through out the match. Plenty of Indians prowling around, did not know there were BRFites too there :-)))

Liverating now puts Anand back at 2800, up 11 points, while Topalov is down 8 points.
Chess liverating

Carlsen holds #1 position after winning comprehensively against a clutch of low/mid 2700 'rating inflation' players in China late last year. He's still got to prove himself through a candidates and then full length title match, instead of just tourament play. Toppy still ranking above Anand, doesn't make sense anymore either; he lost in his own home with his entire federation backing him on a match played under his own imposed draw 'Sofia rules'.

FWIW (SwamyG's posted link again ):
Commentary on game twelve by GM Anish Giri
http://www.chessbase.com/news/2010/sofi ... giri12.htm
http://www.chessbase.com/newsdetail.asp?newsid=6327 (News etc)
Official site (one can play the whole game)
http://www.anand-topalov.com/en/game12.html
Polger's blogspot, commentry and the game...
http://susanpolgar.blogspot.com/

wow super game ! just replayed it alongside reading susan's commentary. swamy saar, thanks for that link. this game started off much like me and a friend used to play, I would always start with a queen's gambit and he would refuse it. :D

I still can't believe how topalov nuked his own kingside defense ! that mistake was all anand needed, not one step wrong after that(agree with amber ma'm's assessment above) and broke through topalev like a flood.

I learned to play chess almost on the streets, playing with friends during the summer holidays on the veranda and under the guava/mango/coconut trees. I knew nothing of the names and notations, until I initiated my son into the game. Now he is into the local competitions and after little bit of professional coaching he knows all the names, notations ityadi. I can still beat him with my unorthodox play, so during competitive days he would want me to play he was taught.

On Saturday as we were watching the game, he discovered a potential line that could have given Anand his game. It required Topalov to miss something. As soon as he discovered it my son's nervousness swept through the family and we began to wait for Topalov to make the blunder. Alas, as we expected he saw the line. But it was a nice family time. Commentaries and live positions on the internet have taken Chess viewing to new levels.

On Saturday SHQ coached/corrected/taught me that one pronounces Topalov as Topalof.

]If you would like to see a few minutes video of the last game click
here

The man with the Maruti 800

Great article. Puts in perspective the huge mountain that Indian chess faced in the 80s when Anand was emerging and how he overcame it and how it is something like a man with a Maruti 800 entering a F1 race and winning against all the other Ferraris ..
One of my friends, Devangshu Datta, played chess at the national and international levels in the 1980s. Over an email conversation, which I quote with permission, he described how the barriers for Indian chess players were "absolutely mountainous."

"To put it bluntly," he wrote, "when I started playing East Europeans, the difference in 'chess culture' was stark. We knew so much less, it wasn't funny. To take an analogy, it was like putting a bunch of talented kids with a basic knowledge of, say, self-taught HSC level maths into direct competition with people who had post-grad math degrees

"We'd struggle through the opening and hit the middle game and start wondering what to do, then in the post-mortem, the opponent would say, 'Oh, my trainer AN Other taught us that with this structure you have to play this way,' and you'd be like, 'Shit.'"
Again bottomline. Things happen in India not BECAUSE of the Govt but DESPITE the Govt.

X-post:
Bulgaria PM and the Chess Champion With world chess cup and the Bulgarian GM medal
Indian PM congratulates the Chess Champian
I am delighted to salute you at your 4th world class Chess Championship triumph within a decade. I understand that your championship game in Sofia was played under the most difficult circumstances but you proved once again that you remain the grandest of Grand Masters. You have made the country proud and I join millions of admirers of the game of chess in celebrating your magnificent triumph
And Please Check out the Video

Or here

Just as a feared. A massive boondoggle with the rest of India's money by the fat cat Bas***ds in Dilli in the name of "Commonwealth Games".

Commonwealth Games cost up 1575% since bid . It is going to end up costing us something like Rs 30,000 crores, roughly $6 Billion!

I am simply stunned at the enormity of this swindle. Sitting in Bangalore, I have no interest whatsoever in some Canadians, Brits and Australians doing track and field and swimming in Dilli. Who gives a rat's a** and I totally resent having to pay for the "privilege" of financing the games and building the infrastructure for the Dilli fat cats out of my tax rupees.

NEVER AGAIN
Vasu

Post by Vasu »

I am hoping there will be a long and hard discussion on the costs and benefits of the CWG after the games are over. There are a number of issues that come to my mind immediately - apart from the incompetence of the bureaucrats/sports officials/politicians.

I believe one factor for such a massive jump in costs could be the high period of inflation that India is witnessing. As of last year, a lot of projects were still in their infancy and the pace only picked up last year, which is when inflation started to rise as well.

I am very curious to know more about the bidding process as well. The costs quoted by the Indian authorities in their bid for the games must have been scrutinized thoroughly by the games authorities, but what kind of provisions are quoted in the bids for escalated costs, unforeseen incidents etc? Maybe the Indian authorities believed that they could hold the best of games at the cheapest of Indian prices, which wasn't to be.

5/15/2010
Russel Crowe “I want to do a family drama – a bollywood film”
Russel Crowe’s Robin Hood was screened at the Cannes Film Festival and the lead actor of the movie Russell Crowe said he would like to do a bollywood style family drama instead of shooting for a Hollywood film in India. He said “I would like to sing and dance if I get a good script. He said I like the fun, comedy, drama and tragedies of bollywood cinema.
http://movies.dcealumni.com/archives/ru ... wood-film/
Ameet

Post by Ameet »

India, SKorea share title in Sultan Azlan Shah Cup

http://www.usatoday.com/sports/olympics ... 7371_x.htm

India and South Korea were named joint champions in the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup field hockey tournament Sunday after rain disrupted the final.

It was the first time since the tournament began in 1983 that two countries have shared the title.

Organizers made the decision after the final in Malaysia's northern city of Ipoh was halted following seven minutes of play amid steady rain.

Defending champion India had previously won the title in 1985, 1991, 1995 and 2009.
Vasu

Post by Vasu »

I'm sure most of you must've heard by now that Indian shooters were insulted and harassed in England during the Shotgun World Cup there. They were forcibly removed from the transport bus and insulted in front of other shooters. Apparently it was due to the organizer's demand of all payments to be made at once and in cash.

from the Tabloid of India....

'All Indians out of the bus'
"All Indians out of the bus," the bark sent shivers down ace shooter Ronjan Sodhi's spine. It was the transport manager at the ISSF World Cup in Dorset, UK, ordering the Indian contingent down.

"With shooters from almost 20 countries watching us, we had no option but to get down," Sodhi, a member of the Indian contingent, told TOI from the UK.

That was about three days ago, before Saturday's incident, when Manavjit Singh Sandhu got into an argument with the transport staff after the door was slammed on the face of one of his compatriots. "We decided to file an official complaint only after things went beyond control," Sodhi said.

The Indians had been thrown out of the bus as the contingent's manager had gone to the bank to change travellers cheques and was a little late in paying the bus charges. "The manager was obviously not carrying too much cash. After all, travellers are not allowed to have more than Rs 50,000 with them when they leave India. The bank is quite far from the range and we had hoped that the transport incharge would understand our problems. Instead, he was extremely rude," Sodhi said.

They met with similar behaviour for the next couple of days, before Manavjit decided to stand up to the transport staff.

The organisers did apologise for the transport staff's behaviour, but the Indian shooters are not too happy with it. "The apology letter says that there was some misunderstanding. They never accepted their mistake. We kept our cool as long as we could," Sodhi added.

With London hosting the Olympic Games in 2012, Sodhi felt these incidents have proved to be bad publicity. "They will visit India for the Commonwealth Games and I am sure we will give them a few lessons in hospitality."
I do hope the Indian fans remember this and give the Brits some hospitality lessons without any official baggage.

Remind them again and again that Raj is over and put signs outside some building saying "Dogs and Citizens of Britain are not allowed"

http://chessbase.com/newsprint.asp?newsid=6346
The team of World Championship challenger Veselin Topalov reportedly spent a large sum of money to secure a 112 core computer cluster running at mind boggling speed. "How did the reigning champion counter this awesome hardware advantage," we asked. Anand answered this question in a candid and very detailed interview broadcast on Monday Playchess. He used a human cluster!
His human clusters were among all- Gary Kasparov and Vladimir Kramnik who were his challengers in previous editions.
Amazing man even his rivals help him.
salute to you.

Vasu wrote:I'm sure most of you must've heard by now that Indian shooters were insulted and harassed in England during the Shotgun World Cup there. They were forcibly removed from the transport bus and insulted in front of other shooters. Apparently it was due to the organizer's demand of all payments to be made at once and in cash.
they should have used their shot guns to good effect.

krisna wrote:http://chessbase.com/newsprint.asp?newsid=6346
The team of World Championship challenger Veselin Topalov reportedly spent a large sum of money to secure a 112 core computer cluster running at mind boggling speed. "How did the reigning champion counter this awesome hardware advantage," we asked. Anand answered this question in a candid and very detailed interview broadcast on Monday Playchess. He used a human cluster!
His human clusters were among all- Gary Kasparov and Vladimir Kramnik who were his challengers in previous editions.
Amazing man even his rivals help him.
salute to you.
Not only Kasparov and Kramnik but Magnus Carlsen (current World No 1 ranked - and in all likelihood who will challenge him for next world championship)
This is something one almost never sees .. (most of the time rivals are not even in friendly terms).

Anand credits a lot to Kasparov to Catalan opening (Game 2 and 4 win) .. He also talks about how Kasparov "lectured" him about missing best move in game 8 and 9..

Thing about Anand is that his reputation of being a very nice person.. Even in Bulgaria where press , organizers and government was sometimes openly hostile to him, he showed his class and remain a true sportsman.

Any way here is another story (Sorry if it is same as the one above) from mid-day
Kramnik, Kasparov helped Anand win world championship
By: MANISHA MOHITEDate: 2010-05-20

Can over the board rivals, victors and the vanquished, come together for a common cause? Will the former and current World Chess champions discuss, dissect and diagnose possibilities for an ongoing World Chess Championship match? Incredible or unbelievable as it sounds, two former World champions and rivals of Anand -

Vishwanathan Anand

- Garry Kasparov who defeated him in the PCA World Championship final match in 1995 and Vladimir Kramnik whom he beat in the World title match at Bonn in 2008 -- connected, consulted and conspired together to bring about the downfall of Veselin Topalov in the high intensity clash which got over last week in Sofia, Bulgaria, Topalov's home country.

"It has never before happened in the history of any World Championship match. At least I can't recall nor have I heard such stories," said reigning World Champion Viswanathan Anand who said he was delighted with the assistance offered by Kasparov and Kramnik.

Even current World No 1 Magnus Carlsen of Norway had pitched in. Carlsen had worked briefly with Anand before for the Mexico and the Bonn World Championships but after ruling the ELO rating list, Anand wasn't sure whether Carlsen would be working with him. But sometime in March, Carlsen got in touch with him and offered to help for a couple of days. Basically, Anand worked with Carlsen more as a sparring partner, a real versatile one at that, more so in blitz games.

The second person to call was Garry Kasparov who said he wanted to help a bit, and Anand and his team sent him a general plan of what they intended to play. Incidentally, it was Kasparov who okayed the Catalan Opening with whites for Anand and this had resulted in victories in the second and fourth game of the match. "It was nice to get some tips, suggestions and psychological insights from Garry," said Anand.

The third was Kramnik who got in touch with Anand after the fourth game of the match. Thereafter the duo spoke almost everyday with Kramnik. The Russian GM's shadow could be seen lurking on the matches with Anand playing all the openings and defences which Kramnik had effectively used against Topalov in 2006.

"I have been publicly rooting for Anand for two reasons, I have a personal equation with Anand and secondly, Vishy is a better chess player. Topalov is a strong player but not on the same level with Vishy chess wise. So I saw no reason not to help Anand," Kramnik told MiD DAY.

Vladimir Kramnik. Pics/Getty Images

Garry Kasparov

On a day of revelations, yesterday, Topalov confirmed rumours that he indeed had been using a 112-core computer cluster(Blue Gene/P) working at super speed and had spent close to 100, 000 euros to secure it. Anand, on the other hand, had just 4 to 8 core computers but his human cluster comprising of Garry Kasparov, Vladimir Kramnik and Magnus Carlsen proved that there is nothing to match the human angle.

The man responsible for bringing Vishy, Vlady and Garry together was Frederic Friedel of ChessBase.

"I have known Vishy for 23 years and it is gratifying to know that the human element has been re-introduced into chess. Since all three are good friends, individually, I thought it would be great if I could get them to work together," says Friedel.

Anand was very appreciative of Friedel's efforts. "It makes me feel privileged," says Anand and adds: "It is difficult to believe and at the same time interesting that Garry Kasparov and Vladimir Kramnik have been my rivals for so many years. The gesture from Kramnik is very special and I will treasure it. Kasparov has retired but is very busy and it was unusual chatting with him."

"Two years ago, if you had told me that one day Garry and I would be chatting and exchanging smiles, I would have laughed. After Game Eight, he gave me a lecture on opposite coloured bishop endings (Anand blundered and lost the game when he had the draw in his hands), and after game nine as well.

Vlady was actually incredibly helpful. I think he really got into it. The first day he said the only game I didn't play his openings I was blown away.

This is a boost for my morale, an incredibly high one for each is a towering personality in his own right, a historical figure and just thinking about it makes me feel privileged."

From: Kramnik, Kasparov helped Anand win world championship

Amber G. wrote: Anand credits a lot to Kasparov to Catalan opening (Game 2 and 4 win)
Err Amber G I thought it is Kramnik (his liking for Catalan opening is well known) ? :-?
As per my understanding Anand and his team had already settled on Catalan opening (Topalov vs Kramnik 2006 match ) , Kasparov saar only gave a final approval during the closing stages.

negi wrote:
Amber G. wrote: Anand credits a lot to Kasparov to Catalan opening (Game 2 and 4 win)
Err Amber G I thought it is Kramnik (his liking for Catalan opening is well known) ? :-?
As per my understanding Anand and his team had already settled on Catalan opening (Topalov vs Kramnik 2006 match ) , Kasparov saar only gave a final approval during the closing stages.
yes, From the link given above
Incidentally, it was Kasparov who okayed the Catalan Opening with whites for Anand and this had resulted in victories in the second and fourth game of the match. "It was nice to get some tips, suggestions and psychological insights from Garry," said Anand.

The third was Kramnik who got in touch with Anand after the fourth game of the match. Thereafter the duo spoke almost everyday with Kramnik. The Russian GM's shadow could be seen lurking on the matches with Anand playing all the openings and defences which Kramnik had effectively used against Topalov in 2006.

"I have been publicly rooting for Anand for two reasons, I have a personal equation with Anand and secondly, Vishy is a better chess player. Topalov is a strong player but not on the same level with Vishy chess wise. So I saw no reason not to help Anand," Kramnik told MiD DAY.
BTW.. too see the contrast between type of personality ... in recent interview Topalov talks about how he "dominated" Anand in all the openings and brags about Bulgaria's super computer (and never even mentions that Anand did actually outplayed him).. funny part was his bragging about Game 1 (which he won after a blunder by Anand ) ..
Ameet

Post by Ameet »

India gets Super Series event

http://www.indianexpress.com/news/India ... ent/622436

India edged out the existing Swiss Open to earn a prized spot on the badminton Super Series calendar, with the country winning the vote on Saturday 10-7. All the non-European nations voted in India’s favour.

India was included in the Super Series events for 2011-13 by the World Badminton Federation (WBF), with a proposed project purse of $5 lakh (Rs 2 crore). New Delhi’s Siri Fort stadium is tipped to host the premier event, with Mumbai and Hyderabad as stand-by venues.

Currently scheduled to occupy the slot vacated by the Swiss Open — immediately after the All-England Championship (which will be end-February, beginning March) — the Badminton Association of India is hoping to convince the world body to tag it along with the Singapore and Indonesia Super Series tournaments when the calendar is revised for 2011 onwards. “We’re hoping to get the September-October slot so that we can get a better field,” BAI joint secretary Punniah Choudhary said.
Carl_T

Post by Carl_T »

Somdev Devvarman is playing on Sunday I believe.

http://www.rolandgarros.com
Ameet

Post by Ameet »

7 foot brothers stand out in a crowd

http://highschool.rivals.com/content.asp?CID=1087336

Basketball players Sim and Tanveer Bhullar. Sim, 17, is 7-4, 285 pounds. Tanveer, only 15, is 7-2, 260 pounds.

Both have solid skills and are developing quickly on the court. They have a chance to become top college basketball players. They have the opportunity to become national sports heroes in India.

West Virginia has already offered Sim a scholarship. Duke plans to visit him. Duquesne, Florida State, Kentucky, LSU, Penn State, Pittsburgh, Stanford, Texas, UMass, USC and Washington State have expressed interest in both brothers.

The brothers already have a following. When they visited the Golden Temple, a Sikh spiritual and cultural center, last summer, about 100 people crowded them.

"If I was able to make the NBA," Sim said, "that would be something big for India."

O
India Lays Down a Foundation to Win in More Than CricketBy REUTERS
Permalink. MUMBAI — On a recent Saturday afternoon, the Celtics took on Magic, cheered on by raucous onlookers. The pace was quick, the players committed and the rivalry intense. The participants, though, were not the storied Boston and Orlando basketball teams, but boys of the Mahindra-N.B.A. recreational league in India, where the National Basketball Association hopes to take advantage of the growing popularity of the sport to gain a foothold, backed by one of the largest corporate groups in the country. India has famously been a one-sport country, with sponsors, audiences and even politicians obsessed with cricket. Robust economic growth and greater exposure, however, have recently encouraged commercial and consumer interest in sports including soccer, Formula One car racing and the Olympics.
Steel baron Lakshmi Mittal, one of the richest men in the world, put aside $10 million of his personal wealth in 2005 to promote sporting talent and encourage potential Olympians after he was disappointed by India’s lone medal at the Athens Games in the summer of 2004.
“In India there’s never been a plan, a strategy to identify and nurture talent, to build a pipeline of athletes,” said Manisha Malhotra, a former tennis champion who runs the trust in Mumbai in close coordination with the Mittal family. “At first, we thought athletes only lacked money and I’d just have to sign checks. But what’s really lacking is a plan, a vision, the right knowledge, so we’ve had to study the system and get the best people to help with our athletes.” The Mittal trust supports 60 athletes in six sports — athletics, archery, boxing, shooting, squash and wrestling — working with national sports federations to select them, then providing equipment, coaches, physical therapists, dieticians and training. “Sport has survived on mediocrity with no accountability. Corporate involvement is key: It’s not about money but cleaning the system, making it efficient, accountable, result-oriented,” said Malhotra, who aims for five medals in the 2012 Olympics
http://www.nytimes.com/2010/05/26/sport ... PORTS.html

Topalov's interview

Anand shouldn't be proud of his K links: Veselin Topalov
Do you think Anand is the most complete player?

Yes, that is something no one can deny. Also, he has been a Rapid World Champion, very strong in blitz play and one of the best blindfold players in the world.
What are your thoughts on Anand?

I think being a world champion is a great responsibility. He has to collaborate with FIDE and attract new sponsors to chess. But Anand does not have a professional team behind him and has failed to find sponsors. India could be a paradise for chess, but the fact that he has not played a single tournament in India since 2002 can only mean two things: either Anand does not like to play in India, or his team is not capable to stage a top level event.

13-year-old Vaibhav makes Chess Grand Master Norm
Delhi school boy Vaibhav Suri stole the show as he shocked Bangladesh GM Enamul Hossain to secure his maiden GM norm. He also became an IM, getting his third and final norm in the process. Showing litle nerves, Vaibhav converted a tiny advantage arising in the French game. He later gained a pawn in the minor pieces ending to defeat Enamul Hossain, gaining his maiden Grandmaster Norm.
Local star Padmini Rout she stunned Hungarian GM Zoltan Varga, making her third and final WGM Norm. Padmini becomes the second WGM of Orissa after Kiran Manisha Mohanty. Andhra lad G V Sai Krishna upset Brazilian GM Alexandr Fier making his second successive IM Norm. Also making their IM Norms were Abu Sufian Shakil and Ticia Gara.
Interesting to note that not too long ago (Before Vishy Ananad) India had no GM's.. India has come a long way in last 30-40 years in Chess.

Edited Later: Corrected the title. (see the post below)
Last edited by Amber G. on 30 May 2010 02:54, edited 1 time in total.
nelson

Post by nelson »

^Kudos for his Grandmaster norm. He is yet to become Grandmaster. Will become one when he earns two more Grandmaster norms within stipulated time.

^^^ You are right, sorry for the sloppiness.. correcting the title.
BTW with Respect to TOI story posted above by Negi - Topalov complained and wanted everyone to hear the full unedited interview.
(IMO it makes Topalov look even more silly).. Anyway here is full interview:
SumitG

Post by SumitG »

Carl_T wrote:Somdev Devvarman is playing on Sunday I believe.

http://www.rolandgarros.com

Somdev lost in the first round http://www.rolandgarros.com/en_FR/score ... 022ms.html

Interestingly, Somdev had better 1st serve percentage, and hit more aces. Looks like breakpoint conversion was one of the main reasons for his loss - 3/13.

how many chess GMs does india have now? were the rukes relaxed in any way lately?