Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan (TSP) : 24 July 2012

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
Rajdeep

Re: Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan (TSP) : 24 July 2

Post by Rajdeep »

Aditya_V wrote:Pakistan Pisses on 26/11 victims

Tackle Mumbai attack trial realistically not emotionally: Pak
]"Terrorism was mantra of the past, terrorism is not the mantra of future," said Pakistan foreign minister Hina Rabbani Khar today ahead of her talks with Indian counterpart S M Krishna, asking India to see the Mumbai terror attack trial "realistically" and not "emotionally".

i.e Relistically- The 26/11 was a great strategic Hit, we have Nukes and you can't do shit about it. SO continue to give us what we want, free power, Free railway engines, Allow us to mess your economy etc.

And what does GOI do

She also indicated that the new visa agreement will be inked during Krishna's visit.

And yet our People will elect the same set of leaders. Someways, we are inviting other countries to treat us as shit, I just hope either or know one whom I know gets killed in future terror attacks which are bound to happen if present policies are continued.

Pakis should be afraid of the day Indians start treating them realistically.
RCase

Post by RCase »

Rahul Shukla wrote:U.S. to designate Haqqani network a terrorist organization
... just like the news of 'Pakistan to grant MFN trading status to India'. :rotfl:
RCase

Post by RCase »

http://www.foreignpolicy.com/articles/2 ... _interview
We are quite clear about my role. I am just a guide -- some sort of Lee Kwan [sic] Yew, the former PM of Singapore, Mahathir [of Malaysia] or, hopefully, Mandela. I will only advise on good governance.
Now we can have Pakistan's own Abdulee Qadir Kwan. :)

del
Last edited by jamwal on 08 Sep 2012 01:32, edited 1 time in total.

Aditya_V wrote:And yet our People will elect the same set of leaders. Someways, we are inviting other countries to treat us as shit, I just hope either or know one whom I know gets killed in future terror attacks which are bound to happen if present policies are continued.
In my personal opinion its not just about the party but the leaders we got in last 30 years is the root cause of this paki-kissing-bending-over. The leaders who had roots in pakistan. Gujral, Advani, MMS are clear examples. The damage done by Gujral and MMS is mountainous. Although why ABV went extraaaa mile I am still unable to figure out. The only logical conclusion I derived was that Advani ran the things and ABV was a mere masquerade. But seeing BJP kissing paki butt was so shocking I as a BJP voter have still not recovered and until those Advani, Jaswant Singh guys are still active I am not going to fall for them again.

>>Now we can have Pakistan's own Abdulee Qadir Kwan

Surely you mean Abdela Qathir Kwan...

When life gives you lemons, you make lemonade. When a paki mard hears this bad news "Farm with infected sheep sealed", he is probably consoling himself and thinking "Oye, there are always condoms".
22,000 infected Australian sheep were unloaded at Port Qasim on Tuesday night. Approximately 75,000 sheep departed from Australia on board the Fremantle-based Wellard Rural Exports ship Ocean Drover. Their destination was countries in the Middle East. 53,000 sheep were offloaded in Qatar and Oman, while the remaining 22,000 were to be transported to Bahrain.
The 22,000 sheep were offloaded and handed over to an unknown buyer.
the sheep being infected with scabby mouth disease.
Pakis will find a use for anything, even rejected maal. Not that I am judging....
Last edited by anupmisra on 08 Sep 2012 01:16, edited 1 time in total.

>>Now we can have Pakistan's own Abdulee Qadir Kwan

Surely you mean Abdela Qathir Kwan...

It does not get weirder than this. Only in the land of desperates. Thieves working as housemaids busted (no pun intended).
Islamabad police have busted a gang of thieves working at various houses in guise of house maids
arrested eight persons including women :shock:
Pervez s/o Sarang Ali, Salamat Ali s/o Niamat Ali, Azhar Ali s/o Painda Khan and Kashif
At what point did the homeowners realize that something was...er...amiss? Maybe at the point when uncalled advances were made on the...er...maidens?

From http://indopakmilitaryhistory.blogspot.in written by Major Agha H Amin (retd)

Recollections of a Pakistan Army Officers about East Pakistan Civil War of 1971
Colonel Nadir Ali (Retired)

http://www.viewpointonline.net/a-khaki- ... -1971.html

During the fateful months preceding the dismemberment of Pakistan, I served as a young Captain, meantime promoted to the rank of the Major, in Dhaka as well as Chittagong. In my position as second-in-command and later as commander, I served with 3 Commando Battalion.

My first action was in mid April 1971. "It is Mujib-ur-Rahman's home district. It is a hard area. Kill as many ******** as you can and make sure there is no Hindu left alive," I was ordered.

"Sir, I do not kill unarmed civilians who do not fire at me," I replied.
"Kill the Hindus. It is an order for everyone. Don't show me your commando finesse!".

I flew in for my first action. I was dropped behind Farid Pur. I made a fire base and we fired all around. Luckily there was nobody to shoot at. Then suddenly I saw some civilians running towards us. They appeared unarmed. I ordered "Stop firing!" and shouted at villagers, questioning them what did they want. "Sir we have brought you some water to drink!", was the brisk reply.

I ordered my subordinates to put the weapons away and ordered a tea-break. We remained there for hours. Somebody brought and hoisted a Pakistani flag. "Yesterday I saw all Awami League flags over your village" I told the villagers. That was indeed the fact. I didn't know whether to laugh or cry. Later the main army column caught up to make contact. They arrived firing with machine guns all around and I saw smoke columns rising in villages behind them. "What's the score?" the Colonel asked.

"There was no resistance so we didn't kill anyone," he was informed.
He fired from his machine gun and some of the villagers who had brought us water, fell dead. "That is the way my boy," the Colonel told this poor Major.

I was posted there from early April to early October. We were at the heart of events. A team from my unit had picked up Sheikh Mujib Ur Rehman from his residence on 25th March, 1971. We were directly under the command of Eastern Command. As SSG battalion commander, I received direct orders from General Niazi, General Rahim and later Gen Qazi Majid of 14 Div Dhaka.

Ironically, the resistance was led by General Zia Ur Rehman (later to become Bangladesh's military ruler) was a fellow instructor at Pakistan Military Academy. Similarly, General Khalid Musharaf, who overthrew Zia in a counter-coup, was my course mate as well as a room-mate at the Pakistan Military Academy (PMA). He was also a fellow officer in SSG. Brig Abu Tahir, who brought General Zia back to power in a counter-counter coup, was also a friend and fellow officer in SSG. He was a leftist, jailed and later hanged by Gen Zia Ur Rehman whom he brought back to power in the fateful months in Bangladesh's history, after the murder of founding father, Sheikh Mujib Ur Rehman.
Another leftist friend was Major Zia Ud Din. He was a freedom fighter and as Naxalite remained under ground from 1971 to1989 when a general amnesty was declared.

I came back to West Pakistan for getting my promotion to Lt. Colonel, in my parent corp, Ordnance, in October 1971.From December 1971 onwards, I began to suffer memory loss till my retirement on medical grounds in 1973. I remained in the nut house for six months in 1973. As a Punjabi writer, I regained my memory and rebuilt my life. I remember every moment from the year 1971.

For operations and visits to my sub units, I travelled all over East Pakistan. I never killed anybody nor ever ordered any killing. I was fortunately not even witness to any massacre. But I knew what was going on in every sector. Thousands were killed and millions rendered homeless. Over nine million went as refugees to India. An order was given to kill the Hindus. I received the same order many times and was reminded of it . The West Pakistani soldiery considered that Kosher. The Hamood Ur Rehman Commission Report mentions this order. Of the ninety-three lakh (9.3 million) refugees in India, ninety lakh were Hindus .That gave us, world-wide, a bad press and morally destroyed us. Military defeat was easy due to feckless military leader ship. Only couple of battalions in the north offered some resistance. For example, the unit of Major Akram, who was awarded highest military medal, Nishan-e-Haider, resisted and he lost his life.

East Pakistan, part of the country a thousand miles away, was "a geographical and political absurdity" as John Gunther said in "Inside Asia Today".

With federal capital in Islamabad, dominated by West Pakistani civil servants and what they called a Punjabi Army, East Pakistanis felt like subjects of a colony. They never liked it ever since 1947. In early sixties, my fellow Bengali officers called each other general, a rank they would have in an independent East Pakistan. We all took it in good humour. But 1971 was not a joke. Every single Bengali felt oppressed. Their life and death was now in the hands of what they called "Shala Punjabies".

I granted a long interview, recounting what I saw and felt in 1971, to BBC Urdu Service in December 2007. The Bangladesh Liberation Museum asked for a copy of the interview. It was too lengthy for me to transcribe, translate and type. Here, I attempt to re-collect bits and pieces yet again.

What drove me mad? Well I felt the collective guilt of the Army action which at worst should have stopped by late April 1971. Moreover, when I returned to West Pakistan, here nobody was pushed about what had happened or was happening in East Pakistan. Thousands of innocent fellow citizens had been killed, women were raped and millions were ejected from their homes in East Pakistan but West Pakistan was calm. It went on and on .The world outside did not know very much either. This owes to the fact that reporters were not there. General Tikka was branded as "Butcher Of Bengal". He hardly commanded for two weeks. Even during those two weeks, the real command was in the hands of General Mitha, his second-in-command. General Mitha literally knew every inch of Bengal. He personally took charge of every operation till General Niazi reached at the helm. At this juncture, General Mitha returned to GHQ. General Tikka, as governor, was a good administrator and made sure that all services ran. Trains, ferries, postal services, telephone lines were functioning and offices were open. There was no shortage of food, anywhere by May 1971. All in all, a better administrative situation than Pakistan of today ! But like Pakistan of today, nobody gave a damn about what happens to the poor and the minorities. My worry today is whether my granddaughter goes to Wisconsin University or Harvard. That nobody gets any education in my very large village or in the Urdu-medium schools of Lahore, where I have lived as for forty years so called concerned citizen, does not worry me or anyone else.

In Dhaka, where I served most of the time, there was a ghostly feeling until about mid April 1971. But gradually life returned to normal in the little circuit I moved: Cantonment, Dacca Club, Hotel Intercontinental, the Chinese restaurant near New Market. Like most human beings, I was not looking beyond my nose. I moved around a lot in the city. My brother-in-law, Riaz Ahmed Sipra was serving as SSP Dhaka. We met almost daily. But the site of rendezvous were officers' mess, some club or a friend's house in Dhan Mandi. Even if I could move everywhere, I did not peep into the hearts of the Bengalis. They were silent but felt oppressed and aware of the fact that the men in uniforms were masters of their lives and properties. I frequently met Mr Fazlul Qadir Chaudhry, Maulana Farid Ahmed and many other Muslim League and Jamaat leaders in one government office or the other. Prof. Ghulam Azam and Ch Rehmat Elahi also used to meet me to provide me volunteers to carry out sabotage across the Indian Border.

Dr Yasmin Sakia, an Indian scholar teaching in America, told me once an anecdote. When she asked why in the 1990s she could not find any cooperation in tracing rape-victims of 1971, she was told by a victim," Those who offered us to the Army are rulers now."

One can tell and twist the tale. The untold part also matters in history. Two Bengali soldiers whom I released from custody, were issued weapons and put back in uniform. They became POWs along 90 thousand Pakistani soldiers and spent three years in Indian jails. I discovered one of them serving as a cook in 1976 in Lahore. I had regained my memory. "Kamal –ud-Din you?" I exclaimed on sighting him. "Sir you got me into this!"

The Pakistani Army had thrown them out. The other guy teaches in Dhaka now.

The untold part of the story is that one day I enquired about one soldier from Cammandos unit. He used to be my favourite in 1962. "Sir, Aziz-ul –Haq was killed", the Subedar told me rather sheepishly.

"How?" was not a relevant question in those days. Still I did ask.
"Sir! first they were put in a cell, later shot in the cell".

My worst nightmare even forty years later is the sight of fellow soldiers being shot in a cell. "How many ?" was my next question. "There were six sir, but two survived. They pretended to be dead but were alive," came the reply.

"Where are they ?"

"In Cammilla sir, under custody".

I flew from Dacca to Commilla. I saw two barely recognizable wraiths. Only if you know what that means to a fellow soldier! It is worse than suffering or causing a thousand deaths. I got them out, ordered their uniforms and weapons. "Go, take your salary and weapons and come back after ten days." They came back and fought alongside, were prisoners and then were with difficulty, repatriated in 1976. Such stories differ, depending on who reports.

All these incidents, often gone unreported, are not meant to boast about my innocence. I was guilty of having volunteered to go to East Pakistan. My brother-in-law Justice Sajjad Sipra was the only one who criticized my choice of posting. "You surely have no shame," he said to my disconcert. My army friends celebrated my march from Kakul to Lahore. We drank and sang! None of us were in two minds. We were single-mindedly murderous! In the Air Force Mess at Dacca, over Scotch, a friend who later rose to a high rank said, " I saw a gathering of Mukti Bahini in thousands. I made a few runs and let them have it. A few hundred ******** must have been killed" My heart sank. "Dear! it is the weekly Haath (Market) day and villagers gather there," I informed him in horror. " Surely they were all Bingo ********!," he added. There were friends who boasted about their score. I had gone on a visit to Commilla. I met my old friend, then Lt. Col. Mirza Aslam Beg and my teacher, Gen. Shaukat Raza. Both expressed their distaste for what was happening. Tony, a journalist working with state-owned news agency APP, escaped to London. He wrote about these atrocities that officers had committed and boasted about. It was all published by the 'Times of London'. The reading made me feel guilty as if I had been caught doing it myself! In the Army, you wear no separate uniform. We all share the guilt. We may not have killed. But we connived and were part of the same force. History does not forgive!
The writer is a retired Army Officer , Punjabi poet and short story writer.

It will be very difficult for Pakistan to stave off a determined enemy who has support from within all organs of the state. The French terrorist, Willie Brigitte, who was captured in Sydney was planning to target a nuclear installation in Australia. His handler was Sajid Mir, a Major from the Pakistani Army. Now, Sajid Mir was also the handler for DCH and we know that he too was trying to map similarly in India. By now, we know that penetrating a heavily guarded site is no big deal for the TTP and they have demonstrated their ability several times. In fact, the more the deployment of forces, especially arranged in a hurry, the greater the possibility of the TTP getting insider help. This is exactly what is happening in Pakistan today. The proposed attack on DG Khan might be a diversionary ruse as well. Let's watch the drama.

From the above,
As mentioned earlier, blasphemy law is not religious but historically a politico-military tool that can be dispensed with if the Muslims consider the logic, forwarded by a great Islamic scholar Nasr Abu Zayd that “divine law must be interpreted in the light of changing circumstances”.
Ayesha Siddiqa has to be careful even if she takes refuge under the fact that she only quoted another Muslim scholar. She had, once earlier, to run away from Pakistan to save her life.

Blasphemy Law cannot be wished away in Pakistan. These pious protestations carry no conviction.
For his effort Nasr Abu Zayd was declared apostate ie: murtad . As a consequence his marriage was annulled and he was forced into exile as the Egyptian Islamic Jihad organisation had declared him wajibul qatl:

Wiki

US labels Haqqani group as terrorists
Now, Pakistan will say that the Haqqanis were no longer in North Waziristan and had moved to Kunar a long time back.

This is yet another illogical and propaganda article from FP.

Let us see...

1. This article doesn't talk about the nuclear proliferation done by US and China. It talks about the legitimacy about Indian nuclear program but doesn't ask why China shouldn't be kicked out of NSG for the violation of the charter. The propaganda is that it is ok as long as one is on USA's side.

2. This article also tells us about the professionalism of Pakistan army. I wonder when and where the authors saw Pakistani army's professionalism. In their violation of J&K annexation into India, Or their human rights violations in east-pakistan, Or their support for cross border terrorism in Indian states of Punjab and J&K, Or their support to one of the most inhumane regimes in human history, the Taliban, or their professionalism in sending army regulars in Taliban cloaths in to the nights of Kargil, or their active support to Mumbai terrorists on 11/26 or hiding Osama Bin Laden in Abbotabad in a military contonment?

3. Then the article compares the Indo-Pakistan nuclear arms race, which itself is a propaganda, with US-USSR nuclear race, which produced more than 50,000 nuclear warheads going unto tens of Megaton weapons. And they try to scare us that the 200 or so nuclear weapons (<50KT) are going to destroy the earth once or twice while the nuclear weapons kept under the bottoms of the western powers are somehow less dangerous even though we often hear the US leaders making nuclear preemption threats to every one.

4. Then there is the argument that Pakistan is scared of their much larger neighbor. The authors never ask the key questions - (1) why on the earth Pakistan should want to match India militarily? (2) who encouraged Pakistan towards this psychofancy? It is the USA+UK that encouraged Pakistan to develop this false comparison and facilitated it to get the necessary help from China and Saudi Arabia.

5. Interestingly the so-called existential threat of Pakistan is very comfortable with the security of Pakistani nuclear weapons. It is the USA that has been stoking the Pakistani fears fueling Pakistan nuclear problem to the world. It is Pakistan fear of US's attempts to take away their crown jewels that is forcing Pakistan to go suicidal.

I will stop here because this propaganda is too unbearable for me to read completely.

TSP refuses visa to The Hindu's Praveen Swami
After submitting the documents required for the visa, Mr. Swami was invited to the Pakistan High Commission in New Delhi earlier this week for a meeting with the official in charge of media relations.

According to him, there was nothing about the meeting that led him to believe that he would not be given a visa.

On Thursday, Mr. Swami heard from the MEA that he had been denied the visa. His passport showed that he had been granted a visa initially, but the word “CANCELLED” was stamped across the page.
Poetic justice to an organization that supports friendship at all costs with a terrorist nation.

SS and Abhishek, The Paki mini nukes via PRC and US blind eye are like the fool Dornacharya arming his egoistic son Ashwattama with Brahma astra!

Anyway these sort range nukes are a Kalidasa option for these goats.
Suppiah

Post by Suppiah »

The visa denial could be a psy-op on the part of TSP...

Man Mohan Singh warns of increased terror activities
Prime Minister Manmohan Singh said today that terror groups will try to use sea route to come into the country.

Speaking at the annual conference of DGPs and IGPs from across the country, Manmohan Singh said that infiltration attempts along LoC and international border in Jammu and Kashmir are increasing.
At the same time, he is taking a huge risk opening the banking tap, visa liberalization for these terrorists.

LOL! Is that a joke? "Will try to use sea route"? Mr Prime Minister, that already happened on 26/11/2008. You should have said "are using sea route".
Comer

Post by Comer »

SSridhar wrote:Once upon a time, in Karachi - FP slideshow
The tone of the article sounds like describing ancient people from an archeological dig.
Sample this,
Amusement parks in Karachi -- such as Playland, a park that featured bumper cars and a roller coaster -- were popular with the city's inhabitants.
This could very well be talking about residents of Pompeii. And these pics are just 30-40 years old. What a fast progression!

At the same time, he is taking a huge risk opening the banking tap, visa liberalization for these terrorists.
I really hope rental Raja will get to say "I was 2 mins away from resolving visa issues with India. Indian officials foiled the plans".

saravana wrote:This could very well be talking about residents of Pompeii. And these pics are just 30-40 years old. What a fast progression!

True. The critical mass in the precipitous fall occurred after 1972 when ZAB took over power when the jihadi Islamist political parties such as JI & JUI began to play a greater role both within the PA and the society at large. ZAB's role in Islamization of Pakistan is in no way inferior to that of Gen. Zia.

SSridhar wrote: visa liberalization
YAWN news report from the future:
Islamabad: Responding to the dossier received from the Indian government in the wake of a foiled terror attempt by a Pakistani student Faizal Siddiqui in the Indian city of Mumbai, Pakistan prime minister Imran Khan said, "Instead of pointing fingers at Pakistan, India should introspect as to why increasing number of Pakistani students are becoming extremists after coming to India. Reminding India that there are extremists on both sides of the border, Imran Khan asked India to investigate the role of Indian extremist groups like Sena, RSS, MNS in provoking Pakistani students to take up extreme measures. He warned that any Indian move to reverse the liberalized visa process will only strengthen the hands of extremists. He also advised India not to take these incidents emotionally.

India and Pakistan have fought three wars over the disputed Kashmir region since independence.

partha, though it brings smile to read your post, this is exactly what is likely to happen in five years' time (or, less ?).

Blacklisting Haqqanis not good: Pak
Any decision by the United States to blacklist the Haqqani network as terrorists will negatively impact future relations with Pakistan, a senior Pakistani security official said on Friday. “Frankly speaking, any decision by the US to declare the Haqqani network a terror group will not be a good sign for future Pakistan-US relations,” the official said, speaking under anonymity because he was not authorised to talk to the media. “The saner elements within the US administration do understand the complications that may arise in bilateral ties after they declare the Haqqani network a terror group,” he said. “Any such decision will take the relationship back to square one, ruining the improvement seen in ties between the two countries during the last couple of months,” he said.
SMK should find out from the Birkin Babe what was the view of GoP on the Haqqani issue.
pentaiah

Post by pentaiah »

SSridhar wrote:Once upon a time, in Karachi - FP slideshow
Notice how they used wear sarees which is complete no no now only for SDREs

in one of the slides you can see a poster of "Bruce Lee Game of Death" movie which means the photos are not of 1960s but as late as 1978 hmm
Rishi

Post by Rishi »

RBI notification: RBI vide RBI/2012-13/198 A.P. (DIR Series) Circular No. 25 dated  September 07, 2012, invites the attention of Authorised Dealer (AD - Category I) banks to the Notification No. FEMA 120/RB-2004 dated July 7, 2004 [Foreign Exchange Management (Transfer or Issue of any Foreign Security) (Amendment) Regulations, 2004] (the Notification), as amended from time to time. In terms of Regulation 6 (2) of the Notification

ibid, “Notwithstanding anything contained in these Regulations, investment in Pakistan shall not be permitted.” It has now been decided that the overseas direct investment by Indian Parties in Pakistan shall henceforth be considered under the approval route under Regulation 9 of the Notification,

ibid.

Necessary amendments to the Foreign Exchange Management (Transfer or Issue of Any Foreign Security), Regulations, 2004 are being issued separately.

From the NYT story on blacklisting the Haqqani Network, Sherry Rehman's reaction:
“This is an internal matter for the United States. It’s not our business,” Sherry Rehman, Pakistan’s ambassador to the United States, said in a statement. “We are not in the business of coddling terrorists and those who challenge the writ of our state.”

The restraint was consistent with indications from Pakistani officials in recent weeks that they would publicly accept the designation, even if they privately opposed it.
The public reaction is at variance with the PA's reaction posted here.
Anindya

Post by Anindya »

We are not in the business of coddling terrorists and those who challenge the writ of our state.
So, essentially Pakistan is OK with coddling terrorists who follow the writ of the state - pretty much what Hussain Haqqani mentioned in an interview a few days ago. Pakistan has come to a point, where they can openly admit their support for the "good" terrorists, even to western media.
kancha

Post by kancha »

From Dawn http://dawn. com / 2012/09/08/beyond-the-law/
Three Retd Generals Inducted Back Into the Army to Prevent Civvie Anti-Corruption Setup from Trying Them for Misappropriation of Public Funds
The message is clear: the military expects to be able to operate as a state within a state, an organisation exempt from the rules and responsibilities under which the rest of the population operates
Brad Goodman

Post by Brad Goodman »

pentaiah wrote: Notice how they used wear sarees which is complete no no now only for SDREs

in one of the slides you can see a poster of "Bruce Lee Game of Death" movie which means the photos are not of 1960s but as late as 1978 hmm
But if you look at that picture all you see is hundreds of abdul not a single bhurka. So islamization was complete.
Brad Goodman

Post by Brad Goodman »

sense of entitlement continues

Pakistan unlikely to get Mohali match
The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) may not be able to facilitate the Pakistan Cricket Board’s (PCB) request to add Mohali as a venue for their eagerly awaited tour of India later this year.
Anindya

Post by Anindya »

Last edited by Anindya on 08 Sep 2012 17:25, edited 1 time in total.
Brad Goodman

Post by Brad Goodman »

85 percent Pakistanis want relaxation of visa between India, Pakistan: IPSS
More than 85 percent of Pakistanis want relaxation in visa policies between Pakistan and India and they term it need of the new geo-political and economic situation of the region.

This was disclosed by the Institute for Peace and Secular Studies (IPSS) during its signature campaign in five big cities of the country, including Lahore, for ending rivalry and to easy visa procedure between the two countries.
has anybody done any poll in India on what mango man thinks of relations with pakistan
Brad Goodman

Post by Brad Goodman »

Pakistan ranked 2nd with largest number of children out of school
With 25 million children out of school across the country, Pakistan is only second to Nigeria, beating India which has a-billion-plus population, in the world with the most number of children out of school, says the annual report released on Friday by the Society for the Protection of Children’s Right (SPARC)
In the health sector, Pakistan ranks among the top five countries in the world with the largest number of children under five who are “moderately or severely underweight”. In 2011, the national wasting rate in Pakistan was 15.1 percent compared to 13.1 percent. Forty-three percent of children born in Pakistan in the year 2011 were afflicted by stunting (low height for age) according to the National Nutrition Survey.

The HIV prevalence in Pakistan has nearly doubled from 11 percent to 21 percent between 2005 and 2008 and it was found that injected users (IDUs) contributed heavily to the spread of AIDS in the country, according to UNAIDS. Pakistan also ranks 6th among the 22 high-burden tuberculosis (TB) countries in the world with 181 cases of TB per 1,000 people.

Pakistan is also responsible for nearly 30 percent of all polio cases reported worldwide with 197 cases reported from different parts of the country.
Brad Goodman

Post by Brad Goodman »

Pakistan wants Indian science lectures via video-link
The Pakistan Academy of Sciences (PAS) has proposed to the Indian National Science Academy (INSA) to explore possibilities of popular lectures given by Indian scientists and science courses offered in Indian institutions being beamed via video-link to classrooms across the border.

Sharing the details of his plan at the first meeting of sciences academies of South Asia here, Dr Atta-ur-Rahman, president of Pakistan Academy of Sciences, said the PAS was willing to take a lead role in bridging the gap between academia in two countries if INSA exends its hand. Both academies are government-funded.
Brad Goodman

Post by Brad Goodman »

Karachi violence claims four lives
A dead body was found from Northern Bypass, area of Manghopir whereas another dead body was recovered from Kashmir Chowk’s sewerage line, area of old Golimar.

In one incident, a man was killed when unknown assailants opened fire. The incident took place near the Hyderi Market.

Another man was killed near the Risala Police Station, at Chandhi Road