India's R&D in Defence DRDO, PSUs and Private Sector

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India's R&D in Defence DRDO, PSUs and Private Sector

chackojoseph wrote:Karan M,

Winds of change has touched the Army lightly. What was really different of Gen VK singh was he actually said that Army's image has taken a beating. He actually started with Akash and Arjun inductions in addition to image issue. However, am still waiting to see what he does to make it better. Even in Armour, the folks have dented the previous mindset. But, some people live holier than though.
Sir, he appears to be a forthright soldier set on doing the right thing. However, he has a reduced tenure to do it in, and I have sincere doubts that any one man, from the top can change an entire organizational culture around certain things. My take is that we need institutions within the overall organization that do certain things, eg lead/participate in weapons development in an organized manner, and make it an organization policy. Those who will not be part of these efforts will continue to gripe, slander, attack but things overall, would progress better.

Our problem in India is that for all the talk of institutions we rely too much on individuals and hard won lessons are thrown out of the window, as everyone rushes to do what the newest guy says. Furthermore, Gen Singh has to manage so many things one after the other. It is the people whom he relies on who have to do the job and with consistency

The issue is of building up institutions and then periodically revisiting them to see how they can be improved. That gives a certain amount of balance. India's DPSU units for instance had a critical weakness, lack of dedicated, properly funded R&D units and lack of administrative power at the org level. That has been addressed in recent years. The change has been occurring with some regularity in the civilian/tech world, one wishes the same was done across all other sectors, administrative (GOI) and mil. so we could have the entire system in synch and overhauled. My two rupees.

rohitvats wrote:I guess this is truely the new BRF - where ex-COAS is called a liar and quotes from his book are considered unacceptable but news items are OK to pass judgement on the IA?
Rohit, who exactly called the ex COAS a liar? I for one have not.

One of the things is to note that even the finest human beings - which may be the ex-COAS have their own organizational POV and will continue to stick to it, post retirement. Its human nature. That does not necessarily mean that what he said is the entire picture or that things were as black and white either. There is clear evidence that many Indian projects were impacted thanks to sanctions, in specific timeframes, and had to developed locally. There, were and are many more such items here and there, but web URL are often not available.

So quotes and all are ok, but they need to be considered with all available facts on hand. In a very popular Indian defence mag, there have been literal slanging matches between IAF and IA over Kargil. Both sides postulating dramatically opposite things. Does that mean if one reaches a POV that looks at both having +/- points, one of the two sides, or both, are liars and their "quotes are considered unacceptable"?

Do consider.
Nor did I say that you called him a liar.

As for the organizational POV, what he stated was not POV but a statement of facts - of which he is the best judge. To say that he is lying because IA fvucked up on Arjun story or because people hold the opinion that he did not manage the war properly shows nothing but the bias and prejudice of the poster. People have right to their opinion but that does not give them handle to make blanket statements about the Services or IA in this case.

Speaking to only some people and in absence of rigorous analysis, one should not be passing absolute judgements.

Someone was complaining on the GD Forum that we treat Services as holy cows - I think the recent trend is to consider DRDO has the holy cow.

As for the sanctions and development timeframe - my whole argument has been wrt only one item - the WLR. From what I've read on the net (and I posted this once before) - DRDO tried to develop WLR from Cymbeline Mortar tracker and failed. I have not used this data point to say - "I told you so" because I want more information on the subject. I at least tried to look for facts before making first post on the topic - and here I've posters arguing that unless there is GOI document which says that DRDO failed wrt WLR, everything is heresay. I remember another poster making similar statement in the Arjun thread when IA's fvck ups were highlighted. So, what am I to make of it but not entrenched positions.

As for the Kargil example - at least you're willing to consider the +/- of the debate as emanating from both sides, look for information and then take an informed opinion - situation here is completely different - since Malik said something and since IA has bad track record and hence, he has to be wrong. Please tell me, why can't DRDO be wrong?

If I come to you and tell you that my source says something which is contrary to your opinion or basis of your opinion and hence, your basis of opinion must be false (and your source a liar), what will you make of it?

chackojoseph wrote:Karan M,

Winds of change has touched the Army lightly. What was really different of Gen VK singh was he actually said that Army's image has taken a beating. He actually started with Akash and Arjun inductions in addition to image issue. However, am still waiting to see what he does to make it better. Even in Armour, the folks have dented the previous mindset. But, some people live holier than though.
Sir, he appears to be a forthright soldier set on doing the right thing. However, he has a reduced tenure to do it in, and I have sincere doubts that any one man, from the top can change an entire organizational culture around certain things. My take is that we need institutions within the overall organization that do certain things, eg lead/participate in weapons development in an organized manner, and make it an organization policy. Those who will not be part of these efforts will continue to gripe, slander, attack but things overall, would progress better.

Our problem in India is that fo...vel. That has been addressed in recent years. The change has been occurring with some regularity in the civilian/tech world, one wishes the same was done across all other sectors, administrative (GOI) and mil. so we could have the entire system in synch and overhauled. My two rupees.
True. I am only hoping they start some indigenous projects.

Even M&M JV with BAE is banking on an existing technology for artillery. We need to work on nex-gen. Hopefully something comes through.

chackojoseph wrote:
quote="rohitvats" I guess this is truely the new BRF - where ex-COAS is called a liar and quotes from his book are considered unacceptable but news items are OK to pass judgement on the IA?

Only certain ex. Also, circumstantial evidence substantiated.
Well, please do humour me on the circumstantial evidence and place the matter on record. And please, don't pull the anonymous bunny out of the hat thing. There is enough material written on the subject to satisfy a rigorous analysis.

chackojoseph wrote:
quote="rohitvats" I guess this is truely the new BRF - where ex-COAS is called a liar and quotes from his book are considered unacceptable but news items are OK to pass judgement on the IA?

Only certain ex. Also, circumstantial evidence substantiated.
Well, please do humour me on the circumstantial evidence and place the matter on record. And please, don't pull the anonymous bunny out of the hat thing. There is enough material written on the subject to satisfy a rigorous analysis.
if you have not understood from the last argument. You won't understand it now or future. Also, I told Rahul M, that i am not flame biting any more.

I stand by my opinion on what ever I said.
To say that he is lying because IA fvucked up on Arjun story or because people hold the opinion that he did not manage the war properly shows nothing but the bias and prejudice of the poster.
sheesh! such a small insignificant matter.
Last edited by chackojoseph on 23 Jul 2010 19:02, edited 4 times in total.

rohitvats wrote: Nor did I say that you called him a liar. As for the organizational POV, what he stated was not POV but a statement of facts - of which he is the best judge. To say that he is lying because IA fvucked up on Arjun story or because people hold the opinion that he did not manage the war properly shows nothing but the bias and prejudice of the poster. People have right to their opinion but that does not give them handle to make blanket statements about the Services or IA in this case.

Speaking to only some people and in absence of rigorous analysis, one should not be passing absolute judgements.
1. How do we know he made a statement of fact which translates to an absolute POV on the subject, and covers the entire topic? Like I said - one can read multiple accounts of Kargil events from senior ups, and their views differ appreciably from their peers in other services. Net, what we have are opinions or even facts, but not the entire picture, that is the problem. He wanted something from x in 2 years, and x based that on y being available, and y is no longer there thanks to the events in 1998 or even otherwise, so was x wantonly irresponsible. My point is that a lot of these first person accounts, need to be tempered with data from the other side, because that has always been the issue with such accounts (while the undeniable insight they provide is also undoubted).

2. Coming to absolute judgements, arent relying only on his comments and disregarding evidence to the contrary as they are "news reports", also absolute judgements. It is only if we adopt such a black or white stance, then it becomes an issue of "he lied or did not lie". The facts however are different as we can make out. Namely that the WLR saga began before the DRDO and the radar that DRDO was depending on to make a WLR from suffered sanctions of the critical PCM, which then had to be developed inhouse. Which they did, and today we have multiple versions of that radar in induction. So clearly, they were not sitting around twiddling their thumbs either, nor did they wantonly overstate their capability. Nor did they continue to drag down the issue as we had multiple trips abroad and we finally did acquire a system.
Someone was complaining on the GD Forum that we treat Services as holy cows - I think the recent trend is to consider DRDO has the holy cow.
I have not been long enough here to observe who or what is a holy cow. However, my take is simple, in the particular case of the WLR, the facts are more nuanced vis a vis Shri Maliks claims. If on the other hand, there are certain other products (where DRDO/DPSU did screw up), were mentioned, that would be accurate.
As for the sanctions and development timeframe - my whole argument has been wrt only one item - the WLR. From what I've read on the net (and I posted this once before) - DRDO tried to develop WLR from Cymbeline Mortar tracker and failed. I have not used this data point to say - "I told you so" because I want more information on the subject.
The Cymbeline even if developed, is a more limited system and even if developed, I doubt whether the IA would accept in lieu of true WLR. Also, the question of RE derived WLR, is of what timeframe, and when. One must understand that this is a crucial issue, as the DRDO's expertise and competence with radar technology took off only in the past two decades when funding was available, and has matured over the past decade. The first was spent in learning. To quote an Army example, can we look at the constraints of 1962 and then extrapolate it to the fighting potential of the Army today? We cannot. Similarly, some other DRDO labs also attempted to make radars, not all were successful. However, from the 80's since IGMDP was launched, there has been consistent progress in this arena at a dedicated lab.
I at least tried to look for facts before making first post on the topic - and here I've posters arguing that unless there is GOI document which says that DRDO failed wrt WLR, everything is heresay. I remember another poster making similar statement in the Arjun thread when IA's fvck ups were highlighted. So, what am I to make of it but not entrenched positions.
I admit I do not know of this aspect and the context, so I cannot reply. My take on the WLR issue is simply put, that WLR's are complex items and like all such complex systems need base technology to be developed and then a base platform. The DRDO has taken the Rajendra base platform to do and develop this capability and this radar suffered a series of reverses thanks to sanctions, the issue is common across all our programs, and given economic constraints, the developer cannot from day one, attempt to make everything inhouse and suffers these problems.
As for the Kargil example - at least you're willing to consider the +/- of the debate as emanating from both sides, look for information and then take an informed opinion - situation here is completely different - since Malik said something and since IA has bad track record and hence, he has to be wrong. Please tell me, why can't DRDO be wrong?
Again, from my viewpoint, it is not that Shri Malik was in Kargil so he is automatically wrong. My issue was with only this particular case (WLR) as a lot has been written about and it has been literally made out to be the single case that almost lost us the arty battle. However, my own look into the issue, for what it is worth, does not support this aspect. Of course, DRDO can be and is on occasion wrong. Their overoptimistic projections in other projects also exist.
If I come to you and tell you that my source says something which is contrary to your opinion or basis of your opinion and hence, your basis of opinion must be false (and your source a liar), what will you make of it?
I didnt follow this, but I think you are referring to another contextual conversation, so I may have missed it, so I really cannot reply.
Last edited by Karan M on 23 Jul 2010 19:12, edited 1 time in total.

chackojoseph wrote:True. I am only hoping they start some indigenous projects.

Even M&M JV with BAE is banking on an existing technology for artillery. We need to work on nex-gen. Hopefully something comes through.
I would be overjoyed, if they at least met the Army's bread and butter requirements for 155mm itself to begin with. In sufficient number, we can compensate for lack of next-gen stuff. As someone said, Quantity has its own Quality.

My dream would be to see Pak Armour being devastated by massed salvos of 155mm arty, before they even enter into battle. Or any terror attack against the LOC against IA being met with devastating force which the PA cannot even hope to counter.

Karan M wrote:I would be overjoyed, if they at least met the Army's bread and butter requirements for 155mm itself to begin with. In sufficient number, we can compensate for lack of next-gen stuff. As someone said, Quantity has its own Quality.

My dream would be to see Pak Armour being devastated by massed salvos of 155mm arty, before they even enter into battle. Or any terror attack against the LOC against IA being met with devastating force which the PA cannot even hope to counter.
they could go for mark -1 from India and import a bulk percentage for their needs immediately. Just like The Tejas project is coming up.

Anybody tried to contact those officers who lobbied Renuka Chowdhary to scuttle the Denel order and do they feel vidicated in sabotaging the Artillery acquisition? Especially with the US FMS orders which will put the IA arty fundas in US hands? Must be laughing away after bada peg or two.

^ They must be retired by now and must be available for comments.

chackojoseph wrote: they could go for mark -1 from India and import a bulk percentage for their needs immediately. Just like The Tejas project is coming up.
I was "halucinating" way back, that the development agency might be asked to submit its proposal in a year time...is it happening? Nice to see that.

ramana wrote:Anybody tried to contact those officers who lobbied Renuka Chowdhary to scuttle the Denel order and do they feel vidicated in sabotaging the Artillery acquisition? Especially with the US FMS orders which will put the IA arty fundas in US hands? Must be laughing away after bada peg or two.
Those days this lady was close to you know whom. You can understand the level of politicization of armeee. There is no point contacting, you know the replies you will get.
Kanson wrote:
chackojoseph wrote: they could go for mark -1 from India and import a bulk percentage for their needs immediately. Just like The Tejas project is coming up.
I was "halucinating" way back, that the development agency might be asked to submit its proposal in a year time...is it happening? Nice to see that.
As I said, I have some glimmer of hope with Gen VK Singh. Actually Bumar was not necessary for the engineering corps. They any way induct Injun Maal. Then we have signals, who buy a lot of e european, but still have a lot of innovations.I am sure signals is a lot enigmatic service. Funnily, the gent who wrote a paragraph or two on Indian Army's comminications stuff is Maj. Gen. V.K Singh in his book on RAW and is under legal fire. Armor is expected to be changing. Infantry uses a variety including Indian mix. Artillery is the last man standing I guess.

========
One of the funnies: I was chatting up with this ex signals guy from armee. We touched upon the lack of information on signals purchase patterns etc and maj gen VK Sing's book. (frankly speaking, don't want to know if they don't want to tell.). So he became guarded and said that he would not like to discuss about it. I could see how much he liked his old job. I just kidded with him that he need not tell me, i will pay $1 to Janes and get my required information. So he flatly told me ok, then you go and pay $1 to Janes, but, but you will never get it from me. :lol:

My reply to sunny is re-edited

sunny y wrote:

Honestly I am confused now with all these varying reports....

1) Why are they putting so much effort on INSAS when they are developing a new multi calibre assault rifle for F-INSAS ???

2) When the programme for AR is being run indigenously the why the Army is issuing RFP's for AR's ??

3) Sometime ago, Someone here I think Juggi mentioned that there is no such program for assault rifle currently going on but more than one source has mentioned that ARDE is heading the program to develop new AR. SO what actually is going on ??

Can someone knowledgeable here please clarify these doubts ??

My understanding is that:-

DRDO is NOT developing any new assault rifle or even any new small arm like pistol or shot gun. DRDO proposal to develop one was shot down long time back by the army (?). OFB Zittara was corruption ka pittara. OFB has been rumoured to have set up a factory in Korwa, UP along with a lab to develop small arms but nothing has come out of it. It seems that there will only be imports.

I did some googling and it came up that Antony made a statement in Parliament that DRDO would develop new weapon which is part of FINSAS project. Also there are web reports of DRDO (or OFB?) working on two new rifles with Israel. But recent DRDO reports are very negative. They seem to suggest that DRDO wants army to go ahead and import and they "might" only look at a new design. It seems that Army has huge love for imports. Even when the F-INSAS project was floated in 2005 by MoD, in which DRDO was to be mandated to develop the weapon i.e. follow on to INSAS. The Army sat on the proposal for 4-5 years till accepting it. DRDO has still not been mandated or funded to develop a follow on to INSAS.

In the meanwhile, The honest and patriotic infantry directorate has floated import requests for carbines, rifles, LMGs, 7.62mmx51 rifles, GPMGs, HMGs, AMRs, (apart from 120mm mortars. 155mm guns, AD guns etc). Remember there are lot of benefits to a honest and patriotic officer even prior to tender being awarded, i.e. during the process itself. The approximate value of reverse engineering ALL these small arms would be around Rs. 200 crores while imports will be valued around Rs, 20,000 crore over a peroid of time.

1. How do we know he made a statement of fact which translates to an absolute POV on the subject, and covers the entire topic? Like I said - one can read multiple accounts of Kargil events from senior ups, and their views differ appreciably from their peers in other services. Net, what we have are opinions or even facts, but not the entire picture, that is the problem. He wanted something from x in 2 years, and x based that on y being available, and y is no longer there thanks to the events in 1998 or even otherwise, so was x wantonly irresponsible. My point is that a lot of these first person accounts, need to be tempered with data from the other side, because that has always been the issue with such accounts (while the undeniable insight they provide is also undoubted).
As for the POV versus facts - he is the main protagonist in the WLR story and he (IA) was promised a domestic system - the PSCD Report documents the same. I'm quite sure that MOD came up with suggestion for placing indent on DRDO only after inputs from them.

Now, DRDO being able to deliver X because Y would have been available and was subsequently denied due to PK-II - is conjecture at this point.
2. Coming to absolute judgements, arent relying only on his comments and disregarding evidence to the contrary as they are "news reports", also absolute judgements. It is only if we adopt such a black or white stance, then it becomes an issue of "he lied or did not lie". The facts however are different as we can make out. Namely that the WLR saga began before the DRDO and the radar that DRDO was depending on to make a WLR from suffered sanctions of the critical PCM, which then had to be developed inhouse. Which they did, and today we have multiple versions of that radar in induction. So clearly, they were not sitting around twiddling their thumbs either, nor did they wantonly overstate their capability. Nor did they continue to drag down the issue as we had multiple trips abroad and we finally did acquire a system.
Sir, I don't see issue with relying on the word of the main protagonist in the drama. And for contrary new reports on WLR - please point me to news reports which give different account of the WLR story. I haven't seen anyone put up anything to the contrary - we've only had expert opinions on how the WLR was not even required or people wanting me to put up documents showing the exact nature of understanding between GOI/MOD/DRDO and IA.

As for the difficulty faced by DRDO due to sanctions - as I said earlier, that is conjecture at this moment. The story of WLR development I'm aware of is with regards to efforts to derive WLR from Cymbeline Mortar Tracker. The final version which entered service was derived from Rajendra and as per stories I've heard - the scientist accidently discovered the ability of Rajendra Radar to track artillery shells and decided to pursue WLR based on that.(though I don't know when this happened).
The Cymbeline even if developed, is a more limited system and even if developed, I doubt whether the IA would accept in lieu of true WLR. Also, the question of RE derived WLR, is of what timeframe, and when. One must understand that this is a crucial issue, as the DRDO's expertise and competence with radar technology took off only in the past two decades when funding was available, and has matured over the past decade. The first was spent in learning. To quote an Army example, can we look at the constraints of 1962 and then extrapolate it to the fighting potential of the Army today? We cannot. Similarly, some other DRDO labs also attempted to make radars, not all were successful. However, from the 80's since IGMDP was launched, there has been consistent progress in this arena at a dedicated lab.
This is the crux of the story and to which I've not been able to find answer - the hypothesis that I have is that earlier effort was to develop WLR from Cymbeline MT while new one we know is from Rajendra. The question is - why did the earlier programme come cropper? Was it because critical technology was denied and because IA pushed for import of ANTPQ-37 or later the Ukranian system?

As for what DRDO's limitations were - good sir, I've not even dared to comment on that. DRDO may have upteem problems - but in this case, even if after knowing them, they promised something and finally, did not deliver because of overestimation of capability (and I'm not considering PK-II sanctions here - they were out of DRDO's control and could not have been envisaged), it is fault. A fault, which if not committed, may have led to saving of lives.
Again, from my viewpoint, it is not that Shri Malik was in Kargil so he is automatically wrong. My issue was with only this particular case (WLR) as a lot has been written about and it has been literally made out to be the single case that almost lost us the arty battle. However, my own look into the issue, for what it is worth, does not support this aspect. Of course, DRDO can be and is on occasion wrong. Their overoptimistic projections in other projects also exist.
Well, I don't think anyone made a case of loosing arty battles due to lack of WLR - but the fact that it was missed and we could've done better and saved some lives. I really hope even saving one life is considered good enough to have a system.

Given that the GSQR was deemed too strict as no vendors could satisfy it, if DRDO was tasked with developing one, I am sure the army would have known it won't be ready in 3 years time. The DRDO was asked to develop a system in 1995 after no vendor qualified. Army raised the urgency flag in 1998, and then sanctions kicked in.

Given the Arjun fiasco at that time, how did the army end up in same boat? It should have framed the GSQR based on available products, not on brochures. If they had done that, they would have had some WLR by 1998, though its effectiveness in Kargil is still questionable.

The army came up with GSQR such that even companies with decades of experience couldn't satisfy it at that time. Expecting DRDO to deliver it in 3 years is height of stupidity, given the past experience of Arjun etc at that time.

chackojoseph wrote:
if you have not understood from the last argument. You won't understand it now or future. Also, I told Rahul M, that i am not flame biting any more.

CJ, I'm done with you. I know nothing worthwhile is going to come out while debating on a topic with you.

putnanja wrote:Given that the GSQR was deemed too strict as no vendors could satisfy it, if DRDO was tasked with developing one, I am sure the army would have known it won't be ready in 3 years time. The DRDO was asked to develop a system in 1995 after no vendor qualified.

<SNIP>

Expecting DRDO to deliver it in 3 years is height of stupidity, given the past experience of Arjun etc at that time.
And what could have the IA done about it - when it was asked to place an indent to the DRDO?

putnanja wrote:Given that the GSQR was deemed too strict as no vendors could satisfy it, if DRDO was tasked with developing one, I am sure the army would have known it won't be ready in 3 years time. The DRDO was asked to develop a system in 1995 after no vendor qualified.

<SNIP>

Expecting DRDO to deliver it in 3 years is height of stupidity, given the past experience of Arjun etc at that time.
And what could have the IA done about it - when it was asked to place an indent to the DRDO?
In the first instance, the IA should have framed a reasonable GSQR. Are the IA folks so naive that they didn't know it would come to this? Gen Malik may blame the DRDO for not developing the WLR on time. But the reason DRDO was tasked with it was because no one was able to satisfy IA, and those who could wouldn't. And the blame falls on DRDO? Even the report says that DRDO's failure was one
of the reasons
of IA not getting WLR on time. The other reasons are IA's own unreasonable GSQR, and countries like US refusing to sell one.

DRDO has its share of failures and successes. But to put the entire blame of IA's failure to obtain WLR on DRDO is dishonest. If Kargil had not happened, probably DRDO would have delivered the radards in 2002-2003 as it finally did. 3 years is too short a time to develop a WLR radar from scratch.

chackojoseph wrote:

CJ, I'm done with you. I know nothing worthwhile is going to come out while debating on a topic with you.
Wise decision.

putnanja wrote: In the first instance, the IA should have framed a reasonable GSQR. Are the IA folks so naive that they didn't know it would come to this? Gen Malik may blame the DRDO for not developing the WLR on time. But the reason DRDO was tasked with it was because no one was able to satisfy IA, and those who could wouldn't.
On what basis are you claiming that DRDO was asked to develop WLR because we failed to short-list WLR during 95-96 period? Did IA ask DRDO to develop WLR? General Malik says that we were on the verge of finalizing a WLR but DRDO scuttled the deal. So, why the put the blame on the IA?
And the blame falls on DRDO? Even the report says that DRDO's failure was one of the reasons of IA not getting WLR on time. The other reasons are IA's own unreasonable GSQR, and countries like US refusing to sell one.
If MOD was so concerned about WLR for the IA, why was GSQR not allowed to be relaxed for foreign vendors - which you yourself say was too stringent? We would have had a system before 1999, no?
DRDO has its share of failures and successes. But to put the entire blame of IA's failure to obtain WLR on DRDO is dishonest. If Kargil had not happened, probably DRDO would have delivered the radards in 2002-2003 as it finally did. 3 years is too short a time to develop a WLR radar from scratch.
How come there is relationship between Kargil and delivery timeline for domestic WLR? What did KArgil do which prevented DRDO from developing WLR? As for 3 years being too short a period, that was for DRDO to comment.

We waited from 1989 to 1998 and made no efforts to begin a meaningful WLR project in India. People are very quite on that.

Looking at past example, let me hypothesize the next general writing a book after next war.

In 2010, callous attitude of MoD which couldn't procure a gun for 20 years. Then in 2012 when wealmost signed a deal DRDO Jumped in and promised a gun in 2 years and never came up with it. So, we missed the arty and had it been there, we could have saved more lives.

chackojoseph wrote:We waited from 1989 to 1998 and made no efforts to begin a meaningful WLR project in India. People are very quite on that. <SNIP>
Dude, when I said I'm done with debating with you, it did not mean that you can make a broadside and get away with it.

As for why no programme was launched between 1989-98 - please educate me on the capability of DRDO to develop the same? If they had problem developing something in 1997 - what makes you think, they could have come up with something in the said period?

And unlike you, some other posters are more informed on the topic of DRDO development - I take liberty to quote Karam M on the subject:
The Cymbeline even if developed, is a more limited system and even if developed, I doubt whether the IA would accept in lieu of true WLR. Also, the question of RE derived WLR, is of what timeframe, and when. One must understand that this is a crucial issue, as the DRDO's expertise and competence with radar technology took off only in the past two decades when funding was available, and has matured over the past decade. The first was spent in learning
Secondly, the 2nd time DRDO decided to come up with WLR derived from Rajendra, it was after accidently discovering the ability of Rajendra Radar to track Artillery Shells - while test firing Akash SAM.

So, please don't blow the trumpet of domestic research for the sake of it.

putnanja wrote: In the first instance, the IA should have framed a reasonable GSQR. Are the IA folks so naive that they didn't know it would come to this? Gen Malik may blame the DRDO for not developing the WLR on time. But the reason DRDO was tasked with it was because no one was able to satisfy IA, and those who could wouldn't.
On what basis are you claiming that DRDO was asked to develop WLR because we failed to short-list WLR during 95-96 period? Did IA ask DRDO to develop WLR? General Malik says that we were on the verge of finalizing a WLR but DRDO scuttled the deal. So, why the put the blame on the IA?
Your post http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 47#p909347 here says this:
Here is another report on the WLR Drama - PSCD 2001-02 (Demand for Grants):
The Ministry of Defence in their action taken reply had stated that inspite of serious and concerted efforts made by the Ministry of Defence since 1995 WLR for Indian Army could not be acquired due to imposition of sanctions on India by USA, non-availability of many known vendors, inability of vendors to field the WLR for trials' in India and Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO)'s limitations to develop the WLR indigenously. Inspite of all these, serious efforts were made to acquire the WLR from Ukraine, France, Russia, Germany etc.

And Gen Malik says that DRDO scuttled the deal. Which are two different statements. One of them is stretching the truth.

Even if DRDO did promise a WLR, we don't know what the GSQR was for DRDO to develop one, what the timelines were, and when it promised to deliver it. Assuming DRDO offered to develop in 1996, kargil took place in 1999. So unless DRDO had promised to deliver a fully working radar in less than 3 years ( user trials themselves take minimum of an year for indigenous products), Gen Malik should not have blamed DRDO for not having WLR. If IA was so serious, it should have framed GSQRs accordingly. This is not the first instance of IA not framing GSQRs based on shiny brochures. We see it with Arjun, and other products.
And the blame falls on DRDO? Even the report says that DRDO's failure was one of the reasons of IA not getting WLR on time. The other reasons are IA's own unreasonable GSQR, and countries like US refusing to sell one.
If MOD was so concerned about WLR for the IA, why was GSQR not allowed to be relaxed for foreign vendors - which you yourself say was too stringent? We would have had a system before 1999, no?
Do we know if MoD had not asked IA to modify GSQRs earlier. By your own post in the artillery thread, you quoted this:
35. The Ministry of Defence in reply to a question stated that in February, 1995, request for proposal was issued to five manufacturers for supply of four WLRs after conducting trials of the equipment offered by them. Only one manufacturer M/s Hughes of USA responded to the RFP and offered their equipment for trials. Trials were conducted in India during 1995-96. It was found that the WLR of M/s Hughes, USA did not meet the prescribed General Staff Quality Requirements (GSQR) parameters in full. When the matter was placed before Raksha Mantri for seeking his approval to the relaxation of GSQR, he observed that the GSQR parameters were unrealistic which had also resulted in reduction in competition. It was also decided that the Army should place indent on Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) for indigenous development of WLR.
So, only one vendor offered their system for trials based on the GSQR. Did it really take them all the way of completing the trials of one vendor which too failed, to realize that their GSQR was too stringent? When they received only one response to their GSQR, they could have asked MoD for permission to revise the GSQR, no? And IA knows that single vendor situation is bound to attract additional scrutiny by CAG further delaying the process. And single vendor situation also raises question on whether IA tailored the GSQR to suit only one vendor.

IA is not new to all these. It has been dealing with these issues since independence. I would have assumed they would know how the system works, and plan accordingly. It just show the IA's lack of planning and execution in poor light.
How come there is relationship between Kargil and delivery timeline for domestic WLR? What did KArgil do which prevented DRDO from developing WLR? As for 3 years being too short a period, that was for DRDO to comment.
No, the reason I brought in Kargil is because the need was felt in Kargil war. It wasn't that the DRDO started working on WLR only after Kargil. If I remember right, WLR is a derivative of the Rajendra radar, so it did take them 5-6 years to get there.

We don't know what DRDO promised. There is no open source info on that.

DRDO has its share of blame. But by no means is DRDO the only reason for delay in IA getting WLR. IA shares more blame than DRDO in this case.

chackojoseph wrote:We waited from 1989 to 1998 and made no efforts to begin a meaningful WLR project in India. People are very quite on that. <SNIP>
Dude, when I said I'm done with debating with you, it did not mean that you can make a broadside and get away with it.

As for why no programme was launched between 1989-98 - please educate me on the capability of DRDO to develop the same? If they had problem developing something in 1997 - what makes you think, they could have come up with something in the said period?

And unlike you, some other posters are more informed on the topic of DRDO development - I take liberty to quote Karam M on the subject:

very funny. You said you are done with me. I said that long time back.

Why do you think that all my questions are addressed to you? BTW, the poster you are mentioning has been doing a commendable job.
Last edited by chackojoseph on 24 Jul 2010 12:21, edited 1 time in total.

Guys,

lets face it. Army goofed from 1989 to 2001. It was ultimately decided by the callous MoD to ask DRDO to develop one and MoD got the results. So, technically, if MoD and DRDO had not worked it out, Army would still not be having a decent WLR.

Is this logic flawed?

IA has to sit with the Minister and make him see the light on agreeing to give the order to Bofors. Ajai Shukla or Shiv Arror had posted the evalution reports where the bofors gun had beat its competitors in all parameters. However, the MoD scuttled that.

As long as UPA is in power, Bofors/BAe won't get the order. If IA was smart, it should have just declared the next closest competitor as trumping Bofors and gone ahead with the purchase. If not, we will stuck in this limbo till congress goes out of power, which might mean next 10 years at least.

putnanja,

Army has given its choices. Its upto MoD and others to decide. They have a choice to not to select Bofors or split orders between some companies. you are aware of that. something else could be the cause.

putnanja wrote:
Your post http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 47#p909347 here says this:
Here is another report on the WLR Drama - PSCD 2001-02 (Demand for Grants):
The Ministry of Defence in their action taken reply had stated that inspite of serious and concerted efforts made by the Ministry of Defence since 1995 WLR for Indian Army could not be acquired due to imposition of sanctions on India by USA, non-availability of many known vendors, inability of vendors to field the WLR for trials' in India and Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO)'s limitations to develop the WLR indigenously. Inspite of all these, serious efforts were made to acquire the WLR from Ukraine, France, Russia, Germany etc.
And Gen Malik says that DRDO scuttled the deal. Which are two different statements. One of them is stretching the truth.

Even if DRDO did promise a WLR, we don't know what the GSQR was for DRDO to develop one, what the timelines were, and when it promised to deliver it. Assuming DRDO offered to develop in 1996, kargil took place in 1999. So unless DRDO had promised to deliver a fully working radar in less than 3 years ( user trials themselves take minimum of an year for indigenous products), Gen Malik should not have blamed DRDO for not having WLR. If IA was so serious, it should have framed GSQRs accordingly. This is not the first instance of IA not framing GSQRs based on shiny brochures. We see it with Arjun, and other products.
OK. So now the fault is with the IA for framing too stingent GSQR? To begin with - at least we're not complaining that a stringent GSQR are made only for DRDO Products.

Any by harping on the GSQR issue - you're flying off the tangent here. This is not a case of IA framing GSQR from brochures and then asking DRDO to deliver the product as of yesterday. The GSQR was for a foreign vendor from the start - if this had been a case of BBC, I'm sure the foreign vendor would have qualified and MOD wold not have been asked to relax on the same.

What GSQR was asked of DRDO - that is a moot point because IA did not ask DRDO to come and take up the product. They got it for themselves and promised to deliver the same. If there was a problem with GSQR (and as you said we don't know what GSQR was given) - they cold have aired their point then itself.

As for the IA being serious about WLR and GSQR link - this is not a domestic versus foreign product comparison story. So any reference to the Arjun programme is irrelevant. The same DRDO came with a better product than the Americans in 2002-2004 time frame and IA placed indent for 28 systems - how come the GSQR was not too stringent then?

Coming to the report: It also says that one factor was DRDO's limitations to develop WLR inhouse - so, we should take that as proof of DRDO not delivering the product in the promised timeline, right?

If MOD was so concerned about WLR for the IA, why was GSQR not allowed to be relaxed for foreign vendors - which you yourself say was too stringent? We would have had a system before 1999, no? [/quote]
Do we know if MoD had not asked IA to modify GSQRs earlier. By your own post in the artillery thread, you quoted this:
35. The Ministry of Defence in reply to a question stated that in February, 1995, request for proposal was issued to five manufacturers for supply of four WLRs after conducting trials of the equipment offered by them. Only one manufacturer M/s Hughes of USA responded to the RFP and offered their equipment for trials. Trials were conducted in India during 1995-96. It was found that the WLR of M/s Hughes, USA did not meet the prescribed General Staff Quality Requirements (GSQR) parameters in full. When the matter was placed before Raksha Mantri for seeking his approval to the relaxation of GSQR, he observed that the GSQR parameters were unrealistic which had also resulted in reduction in competition. It was also decided that the Army should place indent on Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) for indigenous development of WLR.
So, only one vendor offered their system for trials based on the GSQR. Did it really take them all the way of completing the trials of one vendor which too failed, to realize that their GSQR was too stringent? When they received only one response to their GSQR, they could have asked MoD for permission to revise the GSQR, no? And IA knows that single vendor situation is bound to attract additional scrutiny by CAG further delaying the process. And single vendor situation also raises question on whether IA tailored the GSQR to suit only one vendor.

IA is not new to all these. It has been dealing with these issues since independence. I would have assumed they would know how the system works, and plan accordingly. It just show the IA's lack of planning and execution in poor light.
Why the need to get into the scemantics and speculation? One vendor responded to the RFP -and not the GSQR. They would have sent RFP to those who could have met the GSQR - that is why you have the RFI and RFP stage. Why the vendors did not respond is not know here - to say that GSQR was too stringent is pure speculation. Remember, Boeing not responding to the Heavy Attack Heptr. RFP because of timelines? So, please don't speculate just to buttress your line of argument.

As for IA tailoring the GSQR to favor a single vendor - well, please don't load the dice. If IA wanted to favor Hughes...I'm sure it won't have failed.
No, the reason I brought in Kargil is because the need was felt in Kargil war. It wasn't that the DRDO started working on WLR only after Kargil. If I remember right, WLR is a derivative of the Rajendra radar, so it did take them 5-6 years to get there.

We don't know what DRDO promised. There is no open source info on that.

DRDO has its share of blame. But by no means is DRDO the only reason for delay in IA getting WLR. IA shares more blame than DRDO in this case.
To begin with, present WLR programme was sanctioned in 2002 - so, keep that out of picture. As for how long it would have taken the DRDO - they were the best judge then. If they promised it in three years, they should have delivered in three years.

rohitvats wrote: To begin with, present WLR programme was sanctioned in 2002 - so, keep that out of picture. As for how long it would have taken the DRDO - they were the best judge then. If they promised it in three years, they should have delivered in three years.
I see you bring up this point time and again while there is nothing apart from General Malik's statement which says DRDO made such a promise (which btw even if we believe means nothing unless GOI sanctions the project and afaik the project was only sanctioned in 2002 ) but there is enough evidence to prove that General's claim that DRDO scuttled WLR procurement is wrong specially when there were delegations flying to Europe for evaluating stuff from CSF Thompson and Chrysler's COBRA during 1998-1999.

DRDO in this case is as guilty as any vendor out there in the market when it comes to giving a ballpark estimate of designing and building a product it is the bozos who are out for shopping who are guilty of considering DRDO's alleged proposal and expect it to be not only be ready in 2 years but also somehow miraculously pass user acceptance trials , training and mass produced in enough numbers all by May 1999.

In fact this whole thing makes so little sense it appears as if IA is bringing up the shortage of WLR only to deflect some of the criticism otherwise if I be honest with my criticism IA was short of even more critical items during Kargil viz. arty and T-72 ammo and thanks to Israel for supplying the same during the peak of Kargil war.

And for crying out loud I guess the WLR was already undergoing field trials in 2005(project sanctioned in 2002) which means 3 years of development time and whatever little I know of product development that is not at all BAD.

another source on why WLR was not imported
In 2003

The DRDO and BEL are now developing the WLR, based on technology of phased Array radar. It is in an advanced stage of development. While the software has already been developed and evaluated, the platform vehicle and other activities are progressing on schedule. Incidentally, after the US opened its defence market for India, New Delhi recently also signed a deal with the Raytheon company for the purchase of 12 of these WLRs. The deal was pegged at a staggering $ 140 million. Of the dozen radars, India has already received two. The delivery of the remaining 10 is expected to be completed by mid-2004.
Now the interesting part is

July 2008

Raytheon completed the delivery last year
, and the radars were integrated on Tatra chassis supplied by the public sector BEML Ltd.
Allah! 3 years late?

rohitvats wrote:Coming to the report: It also says that one factor was DRDO's limitations to develop WLR inhouse - so, we should take that as proof of DRDO not delivering the product in the promised timeline, right?
Do you know what the promised timeline was? DRDO has never completed a project on time, and IA with its experience should have multiplied the time by 2.
rohitvats wrote: Why the need to get into the scemantics and speculation? One vendor responded to the RFP -and not the GSQR. They would have sent RFP to those who could have met the GSQR - that is why you have the RFI and RFP stage. Why the vendors did not respond is not know here - to say that GSQR was too stringent is pure speculation. Remember, Boeing not responding to the Heavy Attack Heptr. RFP because of timelines? So, please don't speculate just to buttress your line of argument.

As for IA tailoring the GSQR to favor a single vendor - well, please don't load the dice. If IA wanted to favor Hughes...I'm sure it won't have failed.
I am not speculating to buttress my argument. Read the link you posted. It clearly says that the raksha mantri thought the stringent GSQR lead to other vendors being disqualified.

As for your statement on Hughes, please read again what I said. I said that if only one vendor responds to the RFP, CAG is bound to raise the question of how the GSQR was written to favor single vendor situation. I never said IA wanted to favor Hughes. And RFPs being tailored to suit specific vendors is not new.

Rohit, the main disagreement with you and other postors is that you feel only DRDO is to blame for IA not getting WLRs on time. Given the info in public domain, it is clear that IA too had its share of the blame, and one can't blame only DRDO.

So do we all agree that the induction or non-induction of WLR has no impact on the outcome in Kargil sector of the Kargil war ?

Kanson wrote:So do we all agree that the induction or non-induction of WLR has no impact on the outcome in Kargil sector of the Kargil war ?
Here is how I would list my POV.

1) There was no counter firing
2) No matter where the fire came from, it came to certain points.
3) General "felt" a WLR could have saved lives. Here I have no dispute with his "felt." He is entitled to feel what ever he likes.
4) No conclusive proof that DRDO Jumped in and did all that the general claims.
5) Even if it was ordered in 1997, most likely, it wouldn't have participated in Kargil. Even if in no significant way. I have shown you the delivery pattern of Raytheon.
6) Looking at the number of sources the participants, I would say, DRDO actually played a positive role.
7) Since its a new equipment and DRDO gives its signature on the equipment tested, the general failed to tell us that it was with DRDO's consent too.

Kanson wrote:So do we all agree that the induction or non-induction of WLR has no impact on the outcome in Kargil sector of the Kargil war ?

I disagree, army must have a right to import each and everything. DRDO should be disbanded. The Army/HM brass should be allowed to import as per their RFPs floated for 5.56mm carbines, 5.56mm rifles, 5.56mm LMGs, 7.62mmx51 rifles, light GPMGs, HMGs, AMRs, ATGMs, fuses, JLTV, pistols, 9mm carbines, sniper rifles (apart from 120mm mortars, 155mm guns, AD guns, Wheeled tanks, Light tanks, Medium Tanks etc). (Is anything left??).
We must have faith in infantry directorate which ignored MoD direcorate for 5 years to permit DRDO to develop new range of small arms per FINSAS and is still playing footsie. The approximate value of reverse engineering Most of these arms would be around Rs. 2000-10,000 crores while imports will be valued around Rs 200,000 to 100,000 crore over a peroid of 20-25 years time. Therefore it is wrong to spend 1-2% of turnover on R&D. We must reduce it to Zero. When I try to remember when was the last time army was importing everything it was called 1962.
Last edited by Gerard on 25 Jul 2010 16:40, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Please avoid unsubstantiated allegations against individuals. You can make your point without sarcastic references to the patriotism of army officers.

tsarkar wrote:Could you explain and elaborate on the "substantial level of mess up"? Otherwise its just a baseless flippant statement from your side.
Actually I can - but its my prerogative not to get into a slanging match, which you seem intent on, despite my polite rejoinder to your post.
Fig leaves like "I can but cannot" are the first sign of lack of facts/information/knowledge. PLEASE EXPLAIN AND PROVIDE EXAMPLES OF "substantial level of mess up" rather than vague "Army could have done far more".
Karan M wrote:Harder question, why did no Army leadership even attempt a local development of the Bofors gun via RE and similar earlier?
The MoD can direct IA, and IA on its own initiative is always ready to draft a GSQR for indigenous equipment, provided inhouse capability exists. Just like Scientific Advisor to RM proactively offered to develop WLR, MLRS (Pinaka), etc, for these requirements, DRDO never offered to develop artillery, simply because its most optimistic INTERNAL technology audit showed it lacked ability.
Karan M wrote:it could have done what the Navy did
Again, repeated usage of vague "could". "COULD" IS NOT A CREDIBLE EXAMPLE, NOR A TENABLE POINT IN A DEBATE. For example, you or I too "could" have been astronauts like Rakesh Sharma or "could" have been married to Anna Kournikova. "Could" statements are as unrealistic and useless as the ones made just now.
Karan M wrote:Till date, the Army's engagement with local industry remains ad hoc and nothing transformative has been done.
Again, sweeping statements and baseless rhetoric. It was the Army insistence on indigenous production of anti tank missiles that led to establishment of BDL for license manufacturing the French SS11 in the late 60s.
Karan M wrote:For the record, I met one of the people involved in this effort many years back and that the program was dropped in lieu of imports once they became available. It was not merely a DRDO effort or OFB effort but several companies with HE expertise were involved. As matter of fact, the barrels were not even to be made by the OFB but someone else.
The effort was a non starter because the product offered couldn’t even match the specifications for the 130mm M-46 and failed ARDE INTERNAL technical audit. I was peripherally associated with the project for assessing whether naval guns could be developed in house. Just so that you have an understanding of how things work, whenever a new ship is built, the first question asked is whether a particular equipment for meeting requirements could be sourced within the country.

In parallel and completely independent, the Scientific Advisor to Raksha Mantri is a part of DAC and can always present its case for “make”. The SA to RM, through all these RFPs, NEVER made a REPRESENTATION to develop a gun. At the same time, they offer Maitri missile at every possible opportunity. They do so because they have the self confidence in the Maitri missile and not for the gun. This speaks volumes about DRDO’s confidence in itself to make a gun
Karan M wrote: HAL's roadmap for successive reductions in vibration were good enough for Army requirements.
That’s the point I am trying to make. If a workaround is provided, even if it is not optimum, the forces still induct.

http://www.flightglobal.com/articles/20 ... -deal.html

There was a weight penalty associated with the vibration control system. Now weight penalty is important because a Dhruv is supposed to carry a full section + equipment + reserves, however the IA accepted lower performance standards. Secondly, vibration affects soldier’s physiology. However, it was decided that personnel will endure those vibrations over Dhruv mission timeframe. What more could you ask for? Are you willing to put up in a rattling bus for an hour while commuting and then work at full efficiency? And these chaps abseil out into the thick of things!!!
Karan M wrote: The Army did not "proactively push Brahmos Block 2 with SCAN when DRDO never had any plans for that" - the DRDO already had a technological roadmap for the Brahmos and the Army inducted the weapon, because there was nothing similar to it available.
Brahmos was initially positioned as a ship bourne Anti Ship Missile and as a Manned Mobile Coastal Battery (MMCB) replacement. Regiment of Artillery officers attended one of the test firings and evinced interest in a land attack missile, and the rest is history. On the other hand, the Navy assessed that MMCB replacement was not high priority, and till date, has not inducted a single Brahmos coastal battery as originally intended. DRDO always thought Brahmos as an anti ship missile, until the Regiment of Artillery officers convinced them of the missile’s potential for land attack.

To summarize, nothing is gained by baseless allegations that “Army could” or “Army didn’t” or “DRDO could” or “DRDO didn’t”. There are constraints faced in decision making and decision makers in both organizations do take the most optimum path. Castigating them serves no purpose.

CJ, I'd posted similar news couple of months back (If fact , iirc, number of vehicles is same). Is this new order given recently very recently?

No, its clearly mentioned that the order was bagged in march 2010.

OK. So, it is the same one. Thanx.

Welcome.