Commonwealth Games-New Delhi 2010

Re: Commonwealth Games-New Delhi 2010

England news:
* England finished outside the top 2 in the medals table for only the second time, after 1994, when Canada (as host) narrowly pipped them.
* Anthony Ogogo, the guy who cheated his way past Vijender Kumar, got plastered 4-16 in his boxing final by his Northern Ireland adversary - the heaviest boxing final defeat.

Coming back to India, next goal ought to be consistently collecting 15-20 golds at Asian games level. If we can manage to produce golds in specialized events like shooting and archery on a consistent basis at that level, it ought to strongly correlate to similar achievement at Olympics level, due to the competition standard.
Tamang

Post by Tamang »

Kalmadi is a pathetic public speaker. One didn't know where the sentence was starting and where it was ending. Janta booing him was great though. When he mention Bhanot's name Janta booed him again. :lol:

The speech was too long, thanked too many people, mentioned too many names. If only he had taken few sportspersons' names. He specially thanked Rahul baba because he chose to sit among aam janta yeah that is what Kalmadi said. :shock:

The Bollywood thing wasn't bad (atleast they had singers who actually sing these songs) overall but was a bit too long. Song selection wasn't great, too many singers too. I was expecting "Sabse aage honge Hindustani" from Shankar Mahadevan. Yeah I don't like Shiamak Davar the "singer".

DD camera crew was bad, too many close shots. But they did manage to show plenty of eye candies. :mrgreen:
Tamang

Post by Tamang »

Sri wrote:One of the lows for me was that No one thanked the Armed forces...
They did thank Armed Forces IIRC and people cheered too.

akumar wrote: BTW did anyone notice the melancholy look on paki athletes?

Soon they will be backing home leaving behind the opulence of the CWG village. Unlimited food to eat. World class medical facilities. Uncovered meat to oogle at. Possibilities were endless for the enterprising paki. 15 days of jannat.

Sadly for the abduls good things must come to an end. Lets celebrate that none disappeared while in Delhi.
The big question is would they become goodwill ambassadors for India? Will they develop a soft corner for desh?
Last edited by SwamyG on 15 Oct 2010 00:02, edited 1 time in total.

SwamyG wrote:The big question is would they become a goodwill ambassadors for India? Will they develop a soft corner for desh?
Even if you place a dog on the throne, as soon as it sees shit, well, you know the rest ...
jagga

Post by jagga »

Hat's off to Team India. What a wonderfull performance!!. I hope we keep doing well in the future events as well. But I am no too optimistic. Reasons are:

1. Would all the newly constructed sports infrastructure properly utilised? Sporting infrastructure of CWG was second to none.It is among the best in the world. Would the people have access to use it? You know what, DDA (one of the most corrupt in india) will be looking after this newly build games village infrastructure. So i am not very optimistic on this.

2. MMS alloted Rs 700 crore rupees to athletes to prepare for CWG's. Results are infront of us, Great performance by Team India. Would they get the same generous amount of money every year in similar way? Again I am not very optimistic.

Results have fired up whole of the india. I have seen even usually grumpy NRI's (Brown Sahibs) praising India's performance. Our sport persons have reached here with lot of hard work and sweat. Autorikshaw driver's daughter, Deepika, won the Gold Medal !!!. But it all can go in vain if GOI stop's spending money on sports after successfull completion of CWG. Its a very critical time , If GOI concentrates on sports now the day is not far when India will be shining in Olympics.

But this whole CWG hungama has inspired the common man and captured the imagination of Indian youth. So despite GoI and their foot in mouth policies SDREs will excel if they set ou to achieve something. I am counting on mango SDREs. They usually never let you down.
rgsrini

Post by rgsrini »

SwamyG wrote:The big question is would they become a goodwill ambassadors for India? Will they develop a soft corner for desh?
Wow! Big question! I didn't realize that this is the big plan of India all along. Invite Pakis to CWG, show them a good time and convert them to Paki WKKs. Ok, I have to agree that it is a variation from dosier attack.

Do we really care what these guys become after they return? Whether they stay as mango abdul or become part of the Paki WKK brigade or become hardlined terrorists, It is not going to make a whit of a difference in India Pak relationship.

rgsrini wrote:
Wow! Big question! I didn't realize that this is the big plan of India all along. Invite Pakis to CWG, show them a good time and convert them to Paki WKKs. Ok, I have to agree that it is a variation from dosier attack.

Do we really care what these guys become after they return? Whether they stay as mango abdul or become part of the Paki WKK brigade or become hardlined terrorists, It is not going to make a whit of a difference in India Pak relationship.
Wrong question. Wrong people.

Did not omar the unwashed abdullah finally show his true colors?

And this guy was born Indian!!!

rgsrini: Why do you discount any such benefits? Each heart won always helps. Little drops of water make the mighty ocean. Apart from giving international exposure to our athletes; these games are psy-ops no :-)
Last edited by SwamyG on 15 Oct 2010 01:00, edited 1 time in total.

whomever choreographed that martial arts segment needs to be sent to Australia's Victoria police gulag for re-education..... :evil:
That thing was so dragging, it looked like an early 80s chuck norris movie.

Where are those Khalsa bad boys who made that Sajjid dude nauseous in India got Talent? Why weren't their awesomely stoic leader not made a consultant for this event? KALMAATTTEEEEEE...... :((

(btw, imagine a CWG without Kalmadi!! We would be left with only one big gas balloon for entertainment)

SwamyG-saar, c'mmon..... no IEDs amongst faithfools. Pakis are killing americans without mercy, that too just after finishing a meal made out of american aid. They will be back to their true form once an Indian PYT at the IGI airport shoos them back for jumping line as they are entitled.
rgsrini

Post by rgsrini »

SwamyG wrote:rgsrini: Why do you discount any such benefits? Each heart won always helps. Little drops of water make the mighty ocean. Apart from giving international exposure to our athletes; these games are psy-ops no :-)
SwamyG,
I guess we all have a little bit of WKKitis in us. Even if we assume that mango abdul has the ability to change Paki's behavior towards India (which I don't believe is the case), this is a far stretch.

If Pakistan and Pakistani's are going to change their behavior by India's display of kindness/grandeur/culture etc, by now they would have been a puppy circling our collective legs. In Sama, Dhana, Beda, Danda, this is the Sama option. It only works with kids and good natured individuals and not interstate relationships. Pakistanis are coveting Dhana (Kashmir). Even that won't work as we know as they will turn around and ask for a bigger "dhana" next. Primarily, we need a good measure of Beda and Danda to make any change in their behavior. We can throw in a little bit of Dhana (Not Kashmir, but business opportunities and better quality of life) to make it attractive. In modern terminology, it is the "carrot and stick" approach that will work and not "smothering them with love". JM2C.

We all have our opinions on what is the best way. Anyway it is OT here. Let us enjoy the CWG success! :)

rsingh wrote:Best compliment for CWG was from guy who is leading Pakistani kafila. Heard on BBC while driving. He told something like" these were the best games and we knew that India is capable of this. People in west are criticizing for because they are jealeous. India should be given OLYMPIC GAMES 2020".
Well, the Bakis got an insider's look into the games village layout, security bandobast at stadiums etc, I would be really wary of inviting the Bakis for the 2020 olympics. :rotfl:
Gaurav_S

Post by Gaurav_S »

Delhi bellyachers the losers as Games overcome hurdles in strong finish
The people of Delhi have worked day and night to turn a shambles into a success, writes Peter Hanlon.

Here's something you probably haven't read outside India this past fortnight: the people of Delhi have done a terrific job, and are entitled to be proud of their Games. Faced with greater hurdles than Sally Pearson will ever clear, they've pulled it off admirably and deserve better than the carping, nit-picking and borderline racism that has masqueraded as informed coverage of the Games.

Neither the people of Delhi nor India as a whole can be held accountable for the incompetence of organising committee chairman Suresh Kalmadi and his offsider Lalit Bhanot. They have let their country down, and their failure to meet basic expectations (the ''organising'' bit, for starters) should ensure neither is left in charge of running so much as a tandoori chook raffle in future. But is India the only place on the planet where buffoons have found their way to high office?

Advertisement: Story continues below Locals were left to pick up the pieces and have done so manfully. Constant criticism by media passing off as news their lists of ''things that have made my job harder than it is at home'' has hurt them, and they have had enough.

''Stop the bellyaching, come out and play,'' one Delhi television station pleaded this week. It had a point.

Reciting the A to Z of Delhi Disasters is a tiresome sport, particularly when there is light where some have chosen to see only darkness. But why notice the peepal and shisham trees lining Delhi's broad avenues or the immaculately tended roundabout gardens when there's a ''Dirty Delhi'' headline to be had on a story about cycling's road racers encountering heat and dust? Cyclists on open roads sweating and breathing dust? Surely not.

Why listen to road race bronze medallist Chloe Hosking saying she often rides in 40 degree heat back home or anything from heat to sleet in Europe and that ''this is actually quite enjoyable''? Piddling details like this can wait until after the punchline when you're searching for new ways to tell the Delhi 2010 joke.

And why listen to England's Kelly Holmes, a double Olympic gold medallist with experience of elite competition the world over, when she says: ''I've been really surprised with how everything has come together. We have to give you credit. The village is remarkable.''

That's not what you want to hear when you're convinced you can crank up a link between the food and Nathan Hauritz's inability to take wickets on fifth-day Indian pitches.

The mess that greeted some teams upon arrival was inexcusable, and another knock on the organising committee. But as the wallahs who sweep streets with brooms made of twigs would attest, even the biggest mess can be cleaned up.

Security has been the major stumbling block to these Games but the bag searches, pat-downs and scanners have been omnipresent only because many countries wouldn't have come without them.

Delhiites who have worked day and night to turn Kalmadi and Bhanot's shambles into a workable, enjoyable Commonwealth Games have been the real losers. Not Sally Pearson, whose legitimate disqualification from the women's 100 metres was somehow twisted into the ''latest Delhi stuff-up''.

Some believe Delhi has confirmed that the Games' only hope of survival lies in rotation through the Commonwealth's Western countries, where the best athletes will happily avail themselves of conditions just like home. What a sad ideal.

Surely, not every athlete whose passport grants entry to the anachronistic Commonwealth Games field needs rock star treatment to do their thing. Surely, enough of them still hanker to see a little of the world they supposedly rule.

A colleague who has covered numerous cricket tours here has a catchcry for the speed bumps you hit along those dusty, dirty roads: ''TII - This Is India.''

Anyone expecting Melbourne or Beijing should have stayed home or taken a right turn at Albuquerque.
Surely this games have divided athletes in two categories. First type is who are reasonably adventerous and would like to come out and play in Delhi while others being scared, busy nitpicking and too shy to be bothered. (typical TFTA's).

Mahendra wrote:
rsingh wrote:Best compliment for CWG was from guy who is leading Pakistani kafila. Heard on BBC while driving. He told something like" these were the best games and we knew that India is capable of this. People in west are criticizing for because they are jealeous. India should be given OLYMPIC GAMES 2020".
Well, the Bakis got an insider's look into the games village layout, security bandobast at stadiums etc, I would be really wary of inviting the Bakis for the 2020 olympics. :rotfl:
Backhanded compliment to the pakis hain! :twisted:
So you are sure that they will be around in 2020?
AbhishekD

Post by AbhishekD »

But it is surely a sad commentary on India's ability to organize olympic games. Only liberal atheletes are interested in coming and not somebody who is concerned about his performance and health.

I think we should fire Kalmadi immediately and get a better sports management in India. The reform should start now and a better culture should for sports should be sustained in India, so that the next time we organize such an event, we dont have to run from pillar to post to get it right and still fumble and bumble all the way to the end
Manu

Post by Manu »

Can some kindly sould post the video of the closing ceremony? Pics would be nice too....

AbhishekD wrote:But it is surely a sad commentary on India's ability to organize olympic games. Only liberal atheletes are interested in coming and not somebody who is concerned about his performance and health.

I think we should fire Kalmadi immediately and get a better sports management in India. The reform should start now and a better culture should for sports should be sustained in India, so that the next time we organize such an event, we dont have to run from pillar to post to get it right and still fumble and bumble all the way to the end
If athletes do not show up for Olympics, it is their loss. We should not be too worried about it. And more than gunning for Kalmadi, first we need to put Aiyar out into pasture. Regarding reform, the entire system is crying out for reform., at the same time, this event was held 28 years after Asiad. An entire generation of experience was lost on how to organize such large scale events.

We should capitalize on above experience and utilize the venues. We should start Asian Archery Championships or something like that with huge purse money and maybe under sponsorship from notable business houses. Same goes for wrestling, shooting, boxing etc.

Also we should organize Indian National Games on a similar large scale. Instead of selling away games village apartments, they should be reused for various small and large scale sport meets, including kabbadi and kho-kho etc.

When there is no sports meet, other functions can be held including business meets. Such large scale and small scale infrastructure should be set up in all metro A and metro B cities. Infact, legalize corruption. That is the party in power gets 10% of the contract and the next major opposition parties get 5%. The rest gets proportional to their representation, with the provision that the money be utilized in that state only (and in Rupees onleee)! And return the money if the infrastructure is not utilized. The sports infrastructure will come up fast and will be utilized. Just my thoughts.

Cross-posting from the Indo-Oz thread. Does anybody have a video link?

Can we detain this raci$t ba$tard$ and charge them for vandalism? If any house staff is injured in this, then this is due cause for assault. They should really be languishing in Kala-pani (we should open it up for such vermins).
Mahendra wrote:http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/cwga ... 750851.cms

Cricket loss makes Oz athletes take it out on washing machine
NEW DELHI: At the top of the medal tally and the undisputed champions of the Commonwealth Games, the Australian team, sadly didn't show any sporting spirit when their cricket team lost the Test series to India on Wednesday.

Enraged by the humiliating loss, some athletes, according to highly-placed sources in Delhi Police, went berserk, destroying electrical fittings and furniture in their tower in the Games Village on Tuesday and Wednesday.

Not just that, policemen posted there say they also shouted slogans against batting maestro Sachin Tendulkar, :rotfl: who played a pivotal role in ensuring India's victory in the Bangalore match, and flung a washing machine down from the eighth floor of their tower.

Their hooliganism started on Tuesday when Sachin scored a double century. "The house-keeping staff tried to stop them but to no avail," said a senior police officer handling security inside the Village. Stunned by the little master's stellar performance, they first damaged electrical fittings and fixtures in their block.

On Wednesday, when India brownwashed Australian 2-0 to keep the Border-Gavaskar Trophy, the Australian athletes reportedly threw a washing machine down from the eighth floor, said a senior officer. Mercifully, no one was injured.

Delhi Police, which received a complaint about this vandalism, tried to downplay the incidents to prevent them from snowballing into a diplomatic embarrassment for Australia.

On reports that some Australian athletes went berserk inside the Games Village after their cricket team lost the Test series to India, a senior officer posted there said that they have not received any complaints from Organising Committee (OC) which owns the property inside the Games Village. "Therefore, we have not registered any case," said a senior police officer.

Police spokesperson Rajan Bhagat said: "No complaint has been received. We have found a broken washing machine from the block where the athletes were staying. We are trying to establish as to how the machine reached there."

OC officials didn't pursue the matter. "We have not given any complaint and the matter has been sorted out after discussion with the Australian chef-de-mission," said an official. When asked whether the Australian athletes have tendered any apology, he declined any comment.
The difference between the Ozs and the Pakbarians?
Manu

Post by Manu »

India's improv skills save the Delhi Games
Toronto Star
Randy Starkman

The Games that almost didn’t make it to the start line displayed a strong finishing kick. A stirring closing ceremonies Thursday night highlighting Indian pride followed a last-minute gold medal by badminton queen Saina Nehwal that put the host nation second overall in the standings behind Australia with 38 gold medals.

Just as Canada is dominated by hockey and everything else is a distant second, the same applies to India and cricket.

Whether these Games made an impact in how the rest of the world sees India remains in the eyes of the beholder. The British media seemed unwilling to let go of the image of the “Shame Games.” But these are the same people who hammered the Vancouver Olympics unmercifully. {This is for You, Philip}

The Canadian athletes were unanimous in praising the Games, from the beleaguered village to the way the sports were run.

“Our buses were always on time, the competitions always started on time,” said Canadian flag-bearer Tara Whitten, winner of one gold and three bronze in cycling. “On the track, that’s actually unheard of, to be as on time as we were.”

The crowds came around, too. In the second week of the Games, there were packed, enthusiastic houses for track, boxing, wrestling and field hockey, and decent turnouts at most venues as organizers seemed to get their act together and locals suddenly developed a huge appetite for an event they were now proud to be part of.

Perhaps no one was tougher on the Games than the Indian media, but they came around, too, in the end.
Every major competition has missteps. The New Delhi Games were not marred by the death of an athlete like the Vancouver Olympics, where a Georgian luger died in a training crash. Most of the sports went off without a hitch. But all the negative publicity leading up to the Games shone a spotlight on every mistake.
I suppose, now we can start the Corruption Audit and Blast those who screwed up....

Rediff comment:
kalmadi was a dissapointment. He should have extended his wonderful speech by at least half an hour. While he paid tribute to every politician in the Congress, inclusing the greatleader and his anadaataSonia, and his littleleaderRahul, he failed to pay obeisance to the other littleleaderPriyanka, her children Inky,Pinky and Sinky and her two dogs Ghatojkhaj and Pandharibai. Shame on youKallu !

Kalamati should have spared a sentence for Aussies since they outshined every one and performed very well, and applauded spirit of small countries like St Helena who travel 35 days to reach India, he should have thanked every participants, frm whever they came but he turned it into a political speech, thanking Sonia, Rahul & others...just shows how much clean up work is pending for us.

One thing is for sure, with successful organisation of this event, I feel culture of sports will improve & shine, and that will be a major outcome..!

For those who was not able to watch the closing ceremony. This is one segment that's of good quality. The others are all about speeches etc. So dont worry. But this one is a must watch.

Kalmadi, Doordarshan were working based on a plan.

They didnot attribute the games organisation to Yuvraj & his mata. They only attributed the games success to their inspirational presence in the stadiums.
this way they get the credit without taking flak for the poor organisation.

At the top of the medal tally and the undisputed champions of the Commonwealth Games, the Australian team, sadly didn't show any sporting spirit when their cricket team lost the Test series to India on Wednesday.

Enraged by the humiliating loss, some athletes, according to highly-placed sources in Delhi Police, went berserk, destroying electrical fittings and furniture in their tower in the Games Village on Tuesday and Wednesday

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/cwga ... 750851.cms

Not just that, policemen posted there say they also shouted slogans against batting maestro Sachin Tendulkar, who played a pivotal role in ensuring India's victory in the Bangalore match, and flung a washing machine down from the eighth floor of their tower.

akumar wrote:Highs:

1. UKstani prince riding an Indian owned Land Rover to the stadia.
2. Parts of martial dance which had Naga and Manipuri dancers.
3. Services band
4. Railway beeline by the games marshals and their enthusiastic presence till the end.
5. Spectators
6. Athletes – even the gori motorhams – having a ball.
Lows:
1. Mascot on auto with that dumb lip synch singer
2. Kalmadi.

Highs:

Starting of Agni event with chantings of Richa from Rigved's Agni suktam
Full Rendering of Vande Matarm and Rangoli created by kids
Relaxed attitude of performers of almost all the events
Presence of Ila Arun, Sunidhi Chauhan and some desi songs sung by them
Players Enjoying the event
Railgaadi Railgaadi, Dindigul Guntkal Guntkal Dindigul, Dhadak Dhadak Lohe Ki Sadak

Lows or Extremely lows

DD Broadcast
Shiamak Dawar
Shaan
Sukal's long, boring speech

Hey if some of you have complete videos of closing ceremony, please post them here. Thanks.

DD did not show UKstani contingent in closing ceremony. Were they there or were hiding somewhere
Sagrawal

Post by Sagrawal »

I think the successful games will be a boost for tourism in India. I really got the feeling that all foreigner guests were really happy in the end and I guess many of them will return to visit India again. I hope that Incredible India campaign is revamped and aggressively marketed in world market.

Sagrawal wrote:I think the successful games will be a boost for tourism in India. I really got the feeling that all foreigner guests were really happy in the end and I guess many of them will return to visit India again. I hope that Incredible India campaign is revamped and aggressively marketed in world market.
Boosting of Sports in hinterland should be the only objective of this games. Let the hidden talents come out from the deepest corners of desh.

It was pity that they did not show much of kallaripayattu, gatka, talwar raas and manipuri marshal arts in the closing ceremony.

well if australians in other sports get so much takleef from cricket losses, its good - shows that their psyche is quite vulnerable ... it could just be the aftereffects of a boisterous drunken party though.
Vasu

Post by Vasu »

Like everybody's been saying, three cheers to our athletes, who delivered. What a fantastic feeling to see them out there competing and winning every day of the games. Excellent feeling.

Turned on the tv after returning from work, and as my luck would have it, right when Kalmadi was starting on his speech. I could only stand a few minutes, otherwise I would have a nervous breakdown too.

Oh, and I finally know why our athletes did so well - it was because the Prime Minister of India graciously alloted Rs. 700 crore for their training. Never mind the equipment not reaching on time, never mind the games village and venues not ready on time, never mind the thousand instances of incompetence that these a*holes demonstrated.

It was a great feeling to see people at work take off from their desks to watch our stars play for the gold. There was such a buzz around the mens hockey final, people were checking what time it was, cheering the team. Almost everybody took some time out to be in front of the tv to watch Saina play.

DD's production, as expected, was atrocious. Their skills and technology are still 20 years behind, with such shoddy and ugly presentation. We'd watch the games highlights at night, and realize they have absolutely no editing skills. Suppose its a boxing match, DD will show everything in the highlight reel except when the punches were thrown.

So is it "let the audit begin?", or the Royal family will forgive and forget?

Rajmata seemed a wee bit mifled with Mrs MMS sitting between her and Shree MMS and Yuvraj sitting far away in the VIP lounge as opposed to VVIP lounge,
MMS looked like a school kid caught in act of some mischief, Mrs.MMS was real SHQ, what with her commanding MMS when to sit or stand or clap.
i usualy change channel whenever the speech begins and so it was this time, most of the VIPs looked awed by the Martial Dance, the Military Band calmed their nerves.
BTW i think it was good, Open with friendliness and bid adieu with a warning of sorts.

Murugan wrote:It was pity that they did not show much of kallaripayattu, gatka, talwar raas and manipuri marshal arts in the closing ceremony.
The performers were low on energy. Plus DD was showing closeup of faces instead of the weapons handling.
Both failed to excite.
(Does anyone recall the barcelona olympic ceremony. i think that was the best one that i can recall.)

BTW, Why doesnt DD use Pic-in-Pic technology & permanently focus on Rahul baba. That way we can will get double entertainment. I have always found him emotionless when the camera focuses on him. Even when the crowd is going hysterical celebrating the indians
Gaurav_S

Post by Gaurav_S »

An Indian military marching band performs at the closing ceremony of the XIX Commonwealth Games at Jawarharlal Nehru Stadium in New Delhi.

ri Lankan President Mahinda Rajapakse (L) and Britain's Prince Edward, Earl of Wessex (R) attend the closing ceremony of the XIX Commonwealth Games at Jawarharlal Nehru Stadium in New Delhi. Photo: AF

(L to R) Indian singers Kailash Kher, Ila Arun and Usha Uthup perform. Photo: AFP

he closing ceremony of the XIX Commonwealth Games at Jawarharlal Nehru Stadium in New Delhi. Photo: AFP

The closing ceremony of the XIX Commonwealth Games at Jawarharlal Nehru Stadium in New Delhi. Photo: REUTERS

The closing ceremony of the XIX Commonwealth Games at Jawarharlal Nehru Stadium in New Delhi. Photo: AP

Indian athletes participate in the closing ceremony. Photo: AFP

Portraits of indigenous peoples are projected onto the aerostat during the closing ceremony. Photo: AFP

Would the chinese allow them in their ceremonies?

would the chinese allow anyone to boo their politicians/leaders/organisers so publicly?!?!
i also agree with para-sports competition being held simultaneously - best way to do it
all in all, the games worked
i am now waiting for the post game security revelations on number of plots busted and jehadis intercepted... i am sure that the forces of darkness were not sleeping through this

p.s. can we have an icon on BRF of horseman carrying the tiranga?
sampat

Post by sampat »

Things I don't understand:

1) People voting in Congress after Mumbai massacre.
2) People cheering for Rahul baba and Soniaji in CWG, after allegations of congress corruption.

I started feeling sorry for poor Suresh K. That guy was nervous whenever his name was mentioned. :D He should have skipped the speech altogether. Anyhow, Kalmadi and Bhanot are the fall guys and Sheila Dikshit, Raj Parivar and everyone else will continue their normal way.

Sometimes, I suspected if crowd was really cheering or DD cleverly inserted digital cheering for Rahul Baba :D :twisted:
Vasu

Post by Vasu »

Gaurav_S wrote: Image

(L to R) Indian singers Kailash Kher, Ila Arun and Usha Uthup perform. Photo: AFP
Thats Shobha Mudgal and not Usha Uthup.

Has only Sidney Morning Herald got it wrong or has Indian media also been misreporting?

One of the best things about the games has been been hosting the para games in conjunction. And watching the differently abled children perform during the ceremonies just as endearing.