India Nuclear News and Discussion 4 July 2011

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India Nuclear News and Discussion 4 July 2011

PratikDas wrote:
Satya_anveshi wrote: The meaningful comparison will be countries having substantial populations comparable to India. So comparisons with China, US, Brazil and USSR are relevant. The rest is time pass.

Most of the countries living in colder regions of the world have no alternative and have to consume a large percentage for dealing with extreme temperatures of heating and cooling.
If Norway is cold, entitling Norwegians to heating and large amounts of electricity for it, so is India hot and there is no reason why Indians shouldn't benefit from air-conditioning.
Satya has a fundamental point -- there is no reason to assume that Indian energy intensity has to be as poor as Norway (GDP to energy use ratio) -- India can very well develop its own model, opting for a greater human factor input as opposed to raw resources)

Also there is a fundamental difference in basic geography, Norwegians would simply put, either die or become completely ineffective for any meaningful economic activity without massive heating needs -- not so for India. Most of India and Indian factories can work quite as well without a/cs. All India is not a IT-vity Bengaluru.

yupp.. most dilty brown yindooz must live without bijli and paani.. early man ishtyle onlee..no need of ac in factory or home ... yindoostan is natural ac...

^So exalted ones, Pray please say what should be the per capita consumption of electricity for India to be not considered early man yindoostan natural way?
Obviously, the break up of electricity usage in many of the nations depicted is not seen. If only one did a little home work and see how it pans out in Indian context may be that would be useful.
Yep, some understanding of Indian climate along with others compared would also yield some clues. But let's rant about going the vedic way if sooted booted graph from the western is not adopted in toto?

gakakkad wrote:
yupp.. most dilty brown yindooz must live without bijli and paani.. early man ishtyle onlee..no need of ac in factory or home ... yindoostan is natural ac...
Sarcasm is good, if used sparingly, if used too often, or in every other post (am not saying you do it) -- just educes the quality of discussion.

The fact remains, different countries do have different energy intensities. If we can get high GDP (per person) without using too much raw resources, that is something to be proud of, not feel bad about.

===============

PS> And oh before trying to go on a "vedic age" trip, do realize the Japanese and the Germans are trying to do exactly that these days.

You can consider it the "new" approach.

JwalaMukhi wrote:^So exalted ones, Pray please say what should be the per capita consumption of electricity for India to be not considered early man yindoostan natural way?
Obviously, the break up of electricity usage in many of the nations depicted is not seen. If only one did a little home work and see how it pans out in Indian context may be that would be useful.
Yep, some understanding of Indian climate along with others compared would also yield some clues. But let's rant about going the vedic way if sooted booted graph from the western is not adopted in toto?

italy , greece , indonesia and brazil have a "moderate" climate..ergo not much heating requirement.. There per capita consumption is 5-6 times ours.. IMHO 3500 KG0E/ANNUM should do the trick.. we need to increase our electricity production 5-7 times the present level in the next 2 decades.

Sanku wrote: Also there is a fundamental difference in basic geography, Norwegians would simply put, either die or become completely ineffective for any meaningful economic activity without massive heating needs -- not so for India. Most of India and Indian factories can work quite as well without a/cs. All India is not a IT-vity Bengaluru.
I'm quite certain this is not correct. Quality of products, productivity and worker satisfaction would increase drastically if factory workers had controlled environments. There is no reason why manufacturing in the India should remain where it is today as today's level has been determined by the shortage and cost of electricity, not due to some sort of altruism and sacrifice which only Indians seem to be held to the fire for.

Take the Swedish giant, IKEA, for example. Any product of theirs made in India, and there aren't that many, are either of natural materials, uniquely Indian designs, or hand-made products. Hardware products which need to be manufactured to precise dimensions and in very large quantities are not imported from India. I'm quite sure the supply of electricity and the availability of controlled environments are big factors.

PratikDas wrote:
JwalaMukhi wrote:The take home message from the above image is that - India is producing lesser electricity. But that is not news and is already known. This image is very interesting for psy-ops and shown for dazzling effect. Norway having a population of 5 million and other such assorted countries having population in smaller numbers are painted with better per capita to skew the relevance for India.

The meaningful comparison will be countries having substantial populations comparable to India. So comparisons with China, US, Brazil and USSR are relevant. The rest is time pass.
This chart doesn't reveal what should be considered good per capita consumption for India.

Most of the countries living in colder regions of the world have no alternative and have to consume a large percentage for dealing with extreme temperatures of heating and cooling. Hence mere survival in these regions require lot of electricity. Given the relatively milder temperature in India, what would be a good per capita consumption of electricity for India?

If someone is dazzled by looking at Norway and making a decision,one will be ready to import nuclear plant even from North Korea.
I'm impressed with how passionately you defend Norway. Here's my take on things. If Norway is cold, entitling Norwegians to heating and large amounts of electricity for it, so is India hot and there is no reason why Indians shouldn't benefit from air-conditioning. Air-conditioning in India is still in the early stages because they cost so much to run and so many homes need to be rewired to handle the current. That does NOT mean that India isn't entitled to the capacity for it.

I did NOT include Norway for psy-ops. I chose Norway because they're an energy-rich country, just like Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates and Russia whom I've also short-listed. Norwegians have worked to the top of that list. I didn't put them there. If I was gunning for psy-ops, I would've included Iceland. I didn't.

Just setting the record straight on who said what…Sanku ji (not PratikDas ji) quoted me for saying things I did not.

Also, on things that matter but I don't know I will defer to those who I consider gurus and follow the below aphorism:

Swayam Buddhi Hitharthaya { Depend on our capabilities}
Guru Buddhi Vishseshataha {Take advise from Gurus and follow}
Para Buddhi Vinashaya {Don’t get swayed by what others provoke you to do…Don’t be West’s poodle }
Stree Buddhi Pralayankara {Definitely don’t bet your life on cat fights involving the likes of Sonia and Jaya}

Before anyone accuses me of being a total MCP (though admittedly it seems I show some symptoms at times based on my wife’s feedback during my year-end appraisal :x )…I want to say that my idea of ”Guru” could be of any gender..”Stree” is symbolic of stressing emotional/subjective matters over objective.

Having said the above, just because I was pulled on this thread..here is my chavanni:

Based on what all has been posted on this thread and my *very limited* understanding of those the arguments are basically of 3 types:
•Continue with current program and if possible accelerate it
----FUK-D does not matter or has been addressed sufficiently
•Don’t continue with current program because current admin can’t be trusted with preserving Indian autonomy in these matters
----These folk’s primary concern is for them to use Indian tech and are not necessarily anti-nuke
----These folks don’t mind using current fiasco to their advantage if that puts brakes on sabotage;
oMost interestingly, these folks are put into such a situation that to prevent who they consider some Ts that want to curtail domestic capability building, they are being forced to side with (or not speak against) other set of Ts.
•There are others who just realized that they don’t want Nuke in our backyard
----These folks, IMO, have most rosy picture of renewable (not counting nuke as renewable only *because* Bush seems to have said so)
----Credibility of these folks is in doubt (IMO) an they might just create a massive misallocation of resource on unproven and not necessarily “green” thing.
----These folks too seem to be swimming with Ts

Interestingly all the 3 camps know we needed TWHs of energy YESTERDAY.

My view, IMO, is we should not be following West with the way they built (or building) their infrastructure driving by consumption of natural resources on such a scale and we ought to be taking a different route without sacrificing our chances of providing better quality of life for all Indians. The wastage of resources these models of West facilitate is mind boggling.

Given to me, I would suggest Nuke approach from Top-Down and Solar/Wind from bottom-up approaches to mitigate the risk of misallocation of resources on massive scale. If I should put it comically.. I would give the greenies a Solar Hut/Home with a light and solar a/c, with add-on charkha :P that they can keep rotating and pushing power to their home power, a solar chatri 8) with a fan underneath, a small solar borewell..however small the flow is..but can run all day long. This will be true return to independence /autonomy without sacrificing growth.
Last edited by Satya_anveshi on 11 Apr 2012 20:02, edited 1 time in total.

Satya ji, before I read your post in detail, please have a look at the post of mine you quoted. As you can see, I rightfully quoted JwalaMukhi. Sanku messed up the quotes.

Added later:
Satya_anveshi wrote: <snip>Good summary of this thread</snip>
Interestingly all the 3 camps know we needed TWHs of energy YESTERDAY.

My view, IMO, is we should not be following West with the way they built (or building) their infrastructure driving by consumption of natural resources on such a scale and we ought to be taking a different route without sacrificing our chances of providing better quality of life for all Indians. The wastage of resources these models of West facilitate is mind boggling.

Given to me, I would suggest Nuke approach from Top-Down and Solar/Wind from bottom-up approaches to mitigate the risk of misallocation of resources on massive scale. If I should put it comically.. I would give the greenies a Solar Hut/Home with a light and solar a/c, with add-on charkha :P that they can keep rotating and pushing power to their home power, a solar chatri 8) with a fan underneath, a small solar borewell..however small the flow is..but can run all day long. This will be true return to independence /autonomy without sacrificing growth.
Satya ji, I agree with the first part. Adding NPP won't by default bring transmission lines and water supply to the villages. The bottom-up approach you suggest is a good start for those in need, but only setting the stage for greater expectations and demands in the future IMO. The notion of the solar hut/home for those who have nothing at the moment is even romantic as I write this post from a room at 75°F, no more, no less. The disparity between rural and urban development has to be capped and remain capped even as urban dwellings modernise. Arsenic in bore-well sourced water is a huge problem in some parts of India and water purification might require power as well.
Last edited by PratikDas on 11 Apr 2012 20:20, edited 1 time in total.

Thanks. Modified my post to address accordingly.

PratikDas wrote:
Sanku wrote: Also there is a fundamental difference in basic geography
I'm quite certain this is not correct.
I'm quite sure the supply of electricity and the availability of controlled environments are big factors.
We are talking of heating requirements being essential for working of a factory, not a "controlled environmental" or power for tools or xyz.

Are you claiming that Norway and India require same amount of power for heating/cooling for a habitable environment? Please answer specifically in a yes/no basis please.

PratikDas wrote:Satya ji, before I read your post in detail, please have a look at the post of mine you quoted. As you can see, I rightfully quoted JwalaMukhi. Sanku messed up the quotes.
Please revisit, you will find that quote gets messed up not in my post but later.

Amit et al - One recent statement from coal lobby made lot of us :rotfl: . The clip also made it to a few night time comedy shows.

Background: After recent announcement by Obama about tough regulations by EPA on coal ash and other aspects of coal burning new power plants.. the coal lobby spokesperson blamed Obama to be as ruthless against coal lobby as he was against Osama,, :D let me put the exact quotes:
The Navy SEALs shot Osama Bin Laden in Pakistan and [EPA administrator] Lisa Jackson shot us in Washington :rotfl: ,
Another important tidbit caught my eye, as I was not aware for it and is quite important for India.

US (since it will have tougher EPA regulations - so will be careful in expanding coal PP's) is exporting coal... and major buyers of american coal include:

India: Up 65 percent, to 4.5 million tons.
Japan: Up 119 percent, to almost 7 million tons.

(I can understand Japan, after Fukushima they closed all NPP's and it may take some time before they start thinking straight.. but why should India import so much coal?

Link:U.S. Coal Exports Soar To 1991 Heights

PratikDas wrote:I'm quite certain this is not correct. Quality of products, productivity and worker satisfaction would increase drastically if factory workers had controlled environments. There is no reason why manufacturing in the India should remain where it is today as today's level has been determined by the shortage and cost of electricity, not due to some sort of altruism and sacrifice which only Indians seem to be held to the fire for.
There are ways to control environment and benefit from passive systems that vastly reduce the use of energy. In fact I know that the Borgwarner factory in Chennai for instance uses 1/3 the energy of a comparable non-A/C factory anywhere in India. It has a passive cooling system that uses waste water, highly insulated walls and maintains a 28C temperature year round with almost no A/C use. All the large machines are in individual enclosures that run at higher temperature's and individually ventilate/exhaust to the outside. A high cost of electricity means it is valued and real price is put on the suffering others endure.

What Jwalamukhi is saying that our Tropical/Sub-tropical environment gives us the opportunity to live comfortably in balance with the environment if good design and thoughtful planning is used. I have often pointed this out, that in India we often suffer needlessly.

BTW the shortage in India is not of electricity. The shortage is the ability to pay for the electricity. Utilities are simply unable to supply electricity at prices the people are willing to pay. One only has to look at the bankrupt Tamil power supplier and the AMMA roll back drama to see why we are short.
-----------------------------------------------

WRT coal I have been pointing that out for some time. The 500 kg Gorilla in the room is the USA with 5,000 Billion tons of coal. When the prices spike internationally the USA will turn on its export machine. Irrespective we will need about 500,000 MW of power over the next 20 years. Right now 90% is coming from coal/gas. In future too Nuclear power will not make any difference. The only one that can is Solar/Wind. Hmm, what happened to all those wails of coal too pricey, supply not coming, doom, doom, doom....
------------------------------------------------

BTW the entire import of Chanaakya's numbers were conveniently missed in the weepy post about how we are not man enough to be French. The DAE plan is far more aggressive than the French ever were. 93,000 MW Nuclear power in 20 years is no joke for a country in our stage of development. This would match the USA in one fell swoop! But the fact that even then Nuclear power will be 6% of the energy mix was obviously lost on the self confessed Foreign National Nuclear Industry Pusher.

Sanku wrote:Please revisit, you will find that quote gets messed up not in my post but later.
This is your post. I didn't quote Satya but you [inadvertently] made it look like I did. It's not a big deal for me.

PratikDas wrote: I'm quite certain this is not correct.
I'm quite sure the supply of electricity and the availability of controlled environments are big factors.
We are talking of heating requirements being essential for working of a factory, not a "controlled environmental" or power for tools or xyz.

Are you claiming that Norway and India require same amount of power for heating/cooling for a habitable environment? Please answer specifically in a yes/no basis please.
I am NOT claiming that we need as much as the most prolific user, which in that illustration is Norway. I am saying that the disparity between India and the energy-rich countries is NOT one that can be tolerated or allowed to continue. Norway is just one data point that adds to the pool of energy-rich countries.

Theo's position is that India has all the electricity it needs. Indians are not using it efficiently. This is bogus propaganda and the use of the Chennai factory is a strawman. People in western countries use snow blowers to create artificial snow for leisure when mother nature doesn't provide enough and somehow India is supposed to use every kWh of energy frugally at the expense of highly energy-efficient but costly building materials. I've lived outside India long enough to know that when people build homes, they think about diverting funds to square-footage, not thicker insulation. Why should India work differently?

India's choice of energy efficient materials and processes are India's to make, and capitalism ensures that it will happen sooner or later, and not one to be enforced by any tree hugging organisation or country. Try getting the US to reduce their per-capita consumption to UK's level. Then we can talk.

There is a reason why so much of the world's factory output is in China. It is because China does the dirty work for the western countries of producing in the cheapest manner possible. For sure, Chinese production methods are not the lofty energy efficient models the Greenpeace folks hold so dear. It is too easy to pontificate on how China, India and other countries should be frugal while the activists carry iPhones and iPads made cheaply by Foxconn in China to suit Apple's love for profit. Walmart loves it too. The millions of people who buy from Walmart love it as well. Pray tell why retailers in developed countries are not forced to by from energy-efficient manufacturers onlee.

Amber G. wrote:A typical news head line from "Nuclear Paid Jehadis ... and all one can show is some djinn predictive technology"(quoted from Chaankaya's) ...or thoughts from Industry experts from many countries (including India) on the sidelines of Nuclear Security Summit not too long ago in Seoul, (at which top officials from 53 nations met, including Obama, and MMS)..

Nuclear power only option despite Fukushima: industry
(Almost 200 experts and leaders from 36 states met at an industry summit in Seoul to discuss ways to ensure safety of nuclear energy one year after Fukushima's atomic disaster in Japan) .. FWIW ..From a keynote speech ..
..nuclear power was uniquely able to deliver on a global scale both energy security and environmental protection ..........
"Those with a mind for real-world solutions know that this transformation can be attained only with nuclear power in a central role...,
Despite all this tamasha from Nuclear Jehadis (term coined by Amit , methinks, you can read Nuclear experts instead) ) If India achieves 6% of NPP totaling 89GW I would be surprised, but then India would have >995 GW in Coal Power Plant, still 60%. Does it hurt that after all these meetings by Nuclear experts etc and Govt Officials, our official targets in NPP is no more than 6% and Coal is 60%. Theo is right in insisting we mustn't ignore the BIG BEAST in the room. Talk of real world solutions by Bookish experts with no say in India's Energy Planning. It must be hurting ones ego to see that official target is only 6% for NPP and remains so. Read Intenpol if you really care to know more.

PratikDas wrote:
Theo's position is that India has all the electricity it needs. Indians are not using it efficiently. This is bogus propaganda and the use of the Chennai factory is a strawman.
theo is bang on target
India's energy deficit at current generation base is only 11-13%. We are certainly not using it efficiently as out AT&C losses are 14-62% against 5-6% of SOKO. Energy Conservation potential is 25% or more. As Energy intensity of GDP /our economy increases we have to improve energy efficiency of GDP as well. And to call it a bogus propaganda shows that you have not studied the numbers properly. Please visit relevant sites giving these details in Indian context. Chennai factory is only one such example. We are fixing targets for all such high energy consumers the targets for savings so they become more efficient or face penalty. If they achieve more savings then that could be traded.Lets hope it works.

For perspective
On the demand side, there is a considerable scope for enhancing the efficiency of energy use in major energy consuming sectors. The industrial sector consumes 51.4% (as fuel and feedstock) of the total energy consumption in India, with some eight industries accounting for 80% of the total industrial use of energy (TEDDY 2002 4). The energy use per unit output in these industries is high when compared with other countries, indicating the large gains possible from improvements in energy intensity.

PratikDas wrote:Theo's position is that India has all the electricity it needs. Indians are not using it efficiently. This is bogus propaganda and the use of the Chennai factory is a strawman. People in western countries use snow blowers to create artificial snow for leisure when mother nature doesn't provide enough and somehow India is supposed to use every kWh of energy frugally at the expense of highly energy-efficient but costly building materials. I've lived outside India long enough to know that when people build homes, they think about diverting funds to square-footage, not thicker insulation. Why should India work differently
This is not my position at all. India will have to be frugal for our sake.

We don't have access to cheap coal and Uranium. We have some gas and need to find the rest. But with 1.2 Billion people on 2.5% of the earths land I don't see any situation where we are swimming in resources. We will always be starved of resources. It is how we figure out how to be productive within that circumstance that will determine our future. Massaland can be profligate because they sit on wide open spaces and easy coal. we don't. To thingk that our aim is to be that profligate is just going against reality.

And we know how the square footage race ended right!Why would you want Indians to blindly follow the west in stupidity as well. And yes we can be that rich and grow wealthy while the rest of the world is profligate. That factory in Chennai produces real wealth with little energy and no straw or even strawmen or strawwomen (strawperson?). That cardboard box with gigantic square footage and no insulation destroys wealth.

Theo, it is our decision to make. In fact, I would say that it is our situation to manage and improve over time. Not one to be enforced by another country or bloc.

PratikDas wrote:
Sanku wrote:Please revisit, you will find that quote gets messed up not in my post but later.
This is your post. I didn't quote Satya but you [inadvertently] made it look like I did. It's not a big deal for me.
Oh dear, :oops: I did mess up.

Apologies, and thanks for being a good sport about it.

chaanakya wrote:We are fixing targets for all such high energy consumers the targets for savings so they become more efficient or face penalty. If they achieve more savings then that could be traded.Lets hope it works.
Who is "we" and who hopes it works?

chaanakya wrote:
Amber G. wrote: "Those with a mind for real-world solutions know that this transformation can be attained only with nuclear power in a central role...,
Despite all this tamasha from Nuclear Jehadis (term coined by Amit , methinks, you can read Nuclear experts instead) ) .
Since we are talking of "real world solutions"; in the real world, when a lobby of a particular industry meets, it inadvertently pitches for 400% diversion of all resources in the world towards itself because then it will over next two weeks create perpetual motion machines.

That is a typical sell. Ever heard a conference say "we are limited, please look at alternatives. We really arent cost effective, please cut down our funding and spend wisely else where"

PratikDas wrote:
chaanakya wrote:We are fixing targets for all such high energy consumers the targets for savings so they become more efficient or face penalty. If they achieve more savings then that could be traded.Lets hope it works.
Who is "we" and who hopes it works?
MOP/GOI

PratikDas wrote:Theo, it is our decision to make. In fact, I would say that it is our situation to manage and improve over time. Not one to be enforced by another country or bloc.
I agree and that decision is ours and ours alone.

its absurd to think that per capita power requirements won't rise and that we have surplus capacity ..bla..bla...

In 10 years time we ll have a nominal per capita income of 8k-10k USD..Every household will own a television a refrigerator and a microwave.

We need enhance intra-city public transport. In the next 2 decades 50 or more of our cities will have a metro rail in place or under construction..

Our manufacturing output is supposed to increase by 4-6 folds in the period..

We need a great deal of electricity for the purpose.. We may never need the American per cap consumption. But we surely need the brazil or the italian level ...unless of course someone can suggest a lean mean green djinn solution..

chaanakya wrote: We are fixing targets for all such high energy consumers the targets for savings so they become more efficient or face penalty. If they achieve more savings then that could be traded.Lets hope it works.
What will stop Indian consumers importing goods from China or some other country where they couldn't give a damn, thereby bypassing the need for those Indian industries altogether?

Australian businessmen are on record saying that it is much easier setting up a business in China than in Australia, not because Australia doesn't have good infrastructure but because Australia has onerous regulations and difficult labour laws. Similary a high energy consumption penalty in India will simply push manufacturing overseas in those industries. What then? Sit on the laurels?

And if you're thinking of stringent import duties then what about Hillary and WTO throwing a tantrum?

gakakkad wrote:...unless of course someone can suggest a lean mean green djinn solution..
Sir ji
Green is lean was assumed. But UK experience ( see few pages earlier ) shows that without subsidies green is dead!

IPratikDas

am sure you are not supporting wasteful or inefficient use of energy at cheaper prices. If India can afford it , well do it. I don't think India can afford it. China advantage is cheap hydro power and probably subsidised too and chepest labour and poorer labour conditions. How long wil it continue remains to be seen.
Double standards of western countries and some of the posters are well known, They want goods at cheaper prices and shift production base to inefficient economies which may emit more GHG yet they want less CO2.

I'm suggesting we not take the economy down with the greenhouse gases. If that means we use nuclear, solar, wind, gobar gas fusion, or hamster treadmills for us to remain competitive then so be it. And coal, how could I forget.

PratikDas wrote:I'm suggesting we not take the economy down with the greenhouse gases. If that means we use nuclear, solar, wind, gobar gas fusion, or hamster treadmills for us to remain competitive then so be it. And coal, how could I forget.
Quite agree.

However do note that improvements in energy efficiency are for me at least, primarily a economic and geo-strategic argument. I would dare say it is the same for most people who talk about industries being more frugal in Indian context.

In fact I am most suspicious of the "CO2 lobby"; with arguments being made like "any sacrifice needed to save a single ounce of CO2 is worth it. CO2 OMG, Global warming OMG, xyz OMG "
Sanatanan

Post by Sanatanan »

In the light of recent posts in this thread (such as Theo_Fidel's Post of 11 Apr 2012) on energy conservation and an example thereof about BorgWarner factory at Chennai (European-in-India?), the following links/quotes bringing out energy conservation measures achieved by DAE in Indian Heavy Water Plants may be of interest.

1. Article by Dr K.S Parthasarathy in Deccan Herald, in 2009 India's heavy water project comes of age
India is the largest manufacturer of heavy water in the world, perhaps the only country which has mastered the two processes (hydrogen sulphide-water bi-thermal and ammonia -hydrogen mono-thermal) to produce it. HWB is developing a technology at Baroda using water — ammonia exchange process to operate a heavy water plant independently of fertiliser plants. The cost of energy constitutes 70-80 per cent of the operating cost of HWPs.

HWB could reduce over the last decade, specific energy (energy needed to produce a kg of heavy water) consumption by about 36 per cent by systematic energy conservation measures.
2. Hazira heavy Water Plant:
The isotopic exchange process is energy intensive since enrichment requires is of the order of 9000 times and handling of large quantity of feed stock. However the specific energy consumption at Hazira is lowest amongst all the Heavy Water Plants in India.

India is the only country in the World where this process is successfully employed for production of Heavy Water.
3. Presentation on Energy Conservation by Dr. S. Thangarathnam, Member TN Electricity Regulatory Commission
Slide 20 of 39
Heavy Water Board is an independent unit under the Department of Atomic Energy. India is the second largest producer of heavy water. It is a highly energy intensive unit with 70 % production cost. This high technology under went many challenges and setbacks. Having mastered the technology from seventies till nineties there was a paradigm shift in the focus from “ production at any cost” to “production with least cost”. Tremendous efforts were taken and extensive energy audits were carried out in the plants to reduce wasteful energy and the plants were re-optimized to operate at highest possible efficiency.
Extensive energy saving measures were carried out in waste heat recovery system, recycling of effluent water, re-optimizing of hydraulic loop by impeller trimming and by the use of variable speed drive, re-optimizing of cooling water and refrigeration system using innovative and integrated system designs.

Data pertaining to energy savings achieved in the HWPs, in tabular form, may be found in Slide 30 of 39.
4. Article in The Hindu Bussiness Line about a scheme for energy efficiency notificatified on March 30, 2012 by Ministry of Power and Bureau of Energy Efficiency (BEE). This not specific to HWB; rather, according to the article, applicable to 478 identified industries.

Neela wrote:
gakakkad wrote:...unless of course someone can suggest a lean mean green djinn solution..
Sir ji
Green is lean was assumed. But UK experience ( see few pages earlier ) shows that without subsidies green is dead!
green djinn onleee. :mrgreen:

On a serious not , "eco friendly" designs can at most save 10% power. If we reduce our t&d loses , which by all means we should do , than we can prevent wastage of upto 15% of our total capacity..

But in spite of that our per cap consumption is 5-6 times less sub tropical countries like Brazil ...

ergo we need to increase our total capacity by 5-6 times...

Just to provide an idea of how the 5 to 6 times increase would look like. India would be close to what china consumes. And a snap shot of how china got there. Please pay close attention to what the energy mix matrix (draw your own conclusions of what it means) of china looks like in second link. Apologize for the formatting. Easier to look at the link.
This is just a snap shot. Is India going to be able to magically change the energy mix matrix?
http://www.nationmaster.com/red/pie/ene ... onsumption
Extracted text electricity consumption:
United States 21.7%
China 19.3%
Japan 4.8%
Russia 4.8%
India 3.2%
Germany 3.1%
Canada 3%
France 2.5%
Brazil 2.3%

http://www.nationmaster.com/compare/China/India/Energy
Energy stats: China vs India

Chinese Energy stats Indian Energy stats

Coal consumption 1,310,000,000 339,000,000

Coal > Production 2,204,729,000 ton 407,013,000 ton

Commercial energy use 904.93 494.03

Electricity > Production by source > Fossil fuel 80.2% 81.7%

Electricity > Production by source > Nuclear 1.2% 3.4%

Gasoline prices 0.66 0.98

Geothermal power use 8,724 699

Natural gas reserves 1,290,000,000,000 cubic feet 542,400,000,000 cubic feet

Nuclear energy consumption 25.9 terawatt-hours 19.4 terawatt-hours

Oil Consumption > Thousand barrels daily 6,684 2,555

Oil imports > Net 1,600,000 barrels per day 1,200,000 barrels per day

Oil reserves 18,260,000,000 barrels 5,700,000,000 barrels

Primary Energy Consumption > Million tonnes oil equivalent 1,386.2 375.8

Traditional fuel consumption 5.7% 20.7%

Uranium > Production 730 ton 230 ton

Wall plugs > Voltage 220 V 240 V

Wind energy installation 764 MW 2,985 MW

India overtook russia last year.. we are adding close to 30k MW every year..(THATS twice the total capacity of porkiland :mrgreen:) ....we ll read chines levels in 15 years time if all goes well..

gakakkad wrote: On a serious not , "eco friendly" designs can at most save 10% power. If we reduce our t&d loses , which by all means we should do , than we can prevent wastage of upto 15% of our total capacity..

But in spite of that our per cap consumption is 5-6 times less sub tropical countries like Brazil ...

ergo we need to increase our total capacity by 5-6 times...
OTOH imagine if we can save 15% of our current output/need (say X), what will be the net amount which is 15% of future needs? It would be 15% of 5-6X. That is 75%-90% of X.

So if we are frugal, we can for the future save energy comparable to our entire production today.

Put in that perspective, thats huge saving isnt it? :mrgreen:

OTOH imagine if we can save 15% of our current output/need (say X), what will be the net amount which is 15% of future needs? It would be 15% of 5-6X. That is 75%-90% of X.

So if we are frugal, we can for the future save energy comparable to our entire production today.

Put in that perspective, thats huge saving isnt it?
Thats why it is important to prevent power wastage and add capacity simultaneously .. Wherever possible underground wiring must be done.. THe T&D loses in Mumbai are less than 5% , due to underground wiring..Private companies can be made charge of transmission and distribution , and minimization of lose should be made an incentive..

gakakkad wrote:

Put in that perspective, thats huge saving isnt it?
Thats why it is important to prevent power wastage and add capacity simultaneously .. Wherever possible underground wiring must be done.. THe T&D loses in Mumbai are less than 5% , due to underground wiring..Private companies can be made charge of transmission and distribution , and minimization of lose should be made an incentive..
I agree with you.
To supplement your point, though news is little old but relevant here
http://www.business-standard.com/india/ ... nt/309397/
State government-owned power distribution company, Mahavitaran, has managed to reduced its transmission and distribution losses (T&D) by 6.5 per cent in 2007 leading to a rise in the discom’s average monthly revenue from Rs 1,200 crore to Rs 1,700 crore. With this, the company expects to breakeven by the end of current fiscal year.

Addressing a press conference, Mahavitaran managing director AB Pandey said, “We were always reminded about Maharashtra’s high percentage of T&D losses, which stood over 32 per cent in 2005, and were always compared with Andhra Pradesh and Gujarat on this front. But today, we stand in the league of Gujarat and Andhra. While our T&D losses are now around 22.35 per cent, Gujarat’s losses are around 21.6 per cent and Andhra’s at 22.70 per cent.”

In the year 2005-06, when the erstwhile state electricity board was trifurcated and three separate companies for generation, transmission and distribution were created, Mahavitaran’s losses stood at Rs 300 crore. This was reduced to Rs 100 crore in 2006-07.
And yes we need to add substantial capacity as our needs are growing. But Nuclear wont be anywhere near 100%.:D as dreamt by some.

While Mumbai has reduced T&D losses,it does not generate much power. Maharashtra T&D losses are high at about 34%.
Bihar is 36% and UP in 35% TN 17% ( all approx in nearest digits)
Amazing.

While some are busby causing scare techniques, calling Indian Scientists idiots and nuclear jeehadis...enabling ..Sri Lanka to be afraid of nuclear plants in India ...
Sri Lanka-India resolution row goes nuclear

Statements like these may look very familiar to some posted in brf ...by those who think Busby is their hero and members of scientific community are nuclear jihadis...
Villagers said that in the event of a Fukushima-type disaster, a rapid evacuation would be impossible as over one million people live within a 30-kilometer radius of the plant. ..

{why blame them, when millions of deaths due to radiation, Sr, seeping everywhere, Fish dying of fission ( :?: ) is repeated ad-absurdum }

If there is any doubt, about motives of such people ..please also read .. from the above story...
Sri Lankans are hailing support Colombo received from its "true friends", China and Pakistan at the UNHRC. They are saying that India must be made to pay a price for its treachery. ..
Jai Ho!

While Rest of the world moves on .. (xpost as it is really important for India to watch the world)
(From main-stream media in US )
NuHub Launches Partnership with NuScale to Revolutionize the Nuclear Power Industry
COLUMBIA, S.C., April 11, 2012 -- /PRNewswire/ -- NuHub announced today that it has partnered with NuScale Power, LLC, which is developing a modular, scalable commercial nuclear power technology, to recruit the nation's first small modular nuclear reactor (SMR) models to South Carolina
Even NYtimes grudgingly has a head line:

Nuclear Power’s Death Somewhat Exaggerated

from NYTimes Link above
Looks like it is on ventilator . But for hope in India and China, it would have long gone????
Don't understand why Unkil gace permission to build only one in last 30 years despite indian sidekicks of great scientists supporting loudly and explaining this to their Amirkhan students. Are their students morons ??
NUCLEAR energy is going through an odd patch. It refuses to die, but it does not prosper.
Senator Lamar Alexander, a Tennessee Republican who has called for building 100 reactors in the next few years, told a conference of industry specialists in late March that the long-ballyhooed “nuclear renaissance” did not really exist anymore. Now, he said, it is an “awakening to the awareness of nuclear.”
the 33rd anniversary of the Three Mile Island accident, a few weeks after the Nuclear Regulatory Commission gave permission to build a power reactor for the first time in more than 30 years, for the twin Vogtle reactors near Augusta, Ga.
The industry’s three great recent stumbling blocks, the Fukushima accident of March 2011, the exceptionally low price of natural gas and a recession that has stunted demand for power, mock the idea that dozens of new reactors are waiting in the wings. But in an era of worry over global warming, support is plentiful for at least keeping a toe in the water.
If the nation’s 104 reactors, all but one finished by the 1980s, were eventually replaced, it would be with equipment that has fewer moving parts and fewer ways to get into accidents. But they may not be replaced because the competition from other sources of electricity is strong.
And the Fukushima meltdowns did not help.
How the phrase "Meltdowns" have become so common place while describing FUK-D, once derided upon.