Page 50 of 72

Re: Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan (TSP) : 24 July 2

Posted: 12 Sep 2012 18:44
by Lalmohan
CRamS-ji, it seems to me that GOI (including successive governments) are following a policy of not striking back above a certain threshold. The logic for which seems to be that retalliation is exactly what the paquis want us to do. having a clearly identified belligerent india gives the jarnails all the excuses they need for following their dr strangelove strategies. not retaliating means that paquis have to either put up or shut up. but we underestimate their fervour and ingeniousness for finding new and more unpleasant ways to inflict pain upon us.

its a new great game

Posted: 12 Sep 2012 18:55
by nakul
I think its a question of balancing lives. If we go to war, military lives are lost. If we don't, civilian lives are lost due to terrorism. Perhaps they want to minimise loss of lives. Due to terrorism, there are fewer lives lost than say, a Kargil type limited war. Moreover, there is no guarantee that after fighting a limited war, Pakistan would stop sending terrorists. Unless we decapitate the head, war or no war, we will continue to lose lives.

Posted: 12 Sep 2012 19:11
by Rangudu
ramana wrote:CRS, Dont be fooled. What India can do and what it cant do is not very well understood. So chill and believe.
Ramana garu,

Real life is not like a Rajnikant or Chiranjeevi masala movie where the hero is so strong and waits till he's pushed around and finally beats up the villain.

What India chose NOT to do after the worst act of war on its own soil and the gloating of the perpetrators is a clear indication of what it cannot do.

Fantasizing about mythical powers or an imagined Indian role in great power games only does a disservice to all of us.

Posted: 12 Sep 2012 19:14
by Aditya_V
And everytime There is a slatemate we lose precious miltary lives, WKK, International Non Poliferation Ayotollahs, Pakis and Hurrirats spin the thier proganda .

For Eg. Operation Parakram, Pakis had higher causualties and did not blunt any Indian attack or fight us in a battle, but is suppossed to be Miltary victory from thier point of view. Infact, only after that they agreed for a ceasefire on LOC.

We should not make an emotional decesion to go to war after a 26/11 or a Parliment attack but make a cold calculative decesive attack when the the situation ovewhemly favours, also we are advancing faster, Pakis knwo this and are desperate for we want Kashmir, for they know as time passes thier nation is bound collapse. When they are weakest we must make Ahmed Shah Abdali/ Momhammed Ghanzi type attacks to completly break them

Posted: 12 Sep 2012 19:19
by Rangudu
The issue is not abt going to war.

What RamaY theorizes is India having better than US covert intel acquisition AND strike capability.

If India has such powers then what logical reason exists for it not to have been used to take out 26/11 masterminds until now? After all, if it's covert, then it's deniable, no?

This is becoming like Amartya Sen-ish talking shop where people try to invent convoluted and internally inconsistent reasons for India to bend over and keep taking it while it supposedly has all these super-duper covert capabilities.

If you're a restrained but tough guy and your neighbor rapes your wife, kills your kids and gloats about it, then what use is the toughness?

Maybe I, CRS and a few others are not that sharp or well connected to understand this. So I request anyone who believes what RamaY is saying to explain in plain desi English to us why India chooses not to use all these super duper powers to take out 26/11 chiefs?

Go ahead, enlighten us idiots

Posted: 12 Sep 2012 19:51
by nakul
Idiot here. They have listening powers. Like in the Kahuta episode, we know a lot of info. We don't act on it. Case in point: MMS had just revealed that terrorists will attack India from sea based routes. We liberalized the visa rules. Now if they attack us, it would be our reluctance (or failure??) to act on info. Many posters have said that RAW does not have the authority to act. Having ears & eyes is a bit different from having knives & guns. Raw ajint out.

Posted: 12 Sep 2012 19:52
by abhijitm
abhijitm wrote:History!!! mdrfkrs!!! what happened 4 years back is a history!!! In that case then kashmir, sir creek, siachen and 1971 all are history and pakis should have forgotten them long time ago.
BijuShet wrote:From Tribune (Opinion piece - posting in full).
Which is the real Pakistan?
By Jyoti Malhotra - Published: September 11, 2012

So here’s the counterargument: if both countries should, indeed, move on, does this mean that Pakistan is willing to forget the Kashmir dispute and accept that the Line of Control is really an international border? That India and Pakistan must keep their respective parts of the states that they control and not yearn for the other? That Pakistan must accept the current status quo on Siachen and Sir Creek?
Is Jyoti Malhotra a BR lurker? 8)

Posted: 12 Sep 2012 19:55
by Gus
nakul wrote:I think its a question of balancing lives. If we go to war, military lives are lost. If we don't, civilian lives are lost due to terrorism. Perhaps they want to minimise loss of lives. Due to terrorism, there are fewer lives lost than say, a Kargil type limited war. Moreover, there is no guarantee that after fighting a limited war, Pakistan would stop sending terrorists. Unless we decapitate the head, war or no war, we will continue to lose lives.
I submit that it is just paralysis and no accountability to do anything other than say some platitudes and sit tight and people forget. They get voted in anyways. There is a very small constituency for national security matters in the voting public.

Patil was brought back as home minister in MH and you can hear crickets chirping. The nuke on jingopura scenario is not far fetched.

Posted: 12 Sep 2012 20:00
by Rangudu
nakul wrote:Idiot here. They have listening powers. Like in the Kahuta episode, we know a lot of info. We don't act on it. Case in point: MMS had just revealed that terrorists will attack India from sea based routes. We liberalized the visa rules. Now if they attack us, it would be our reluctance (or failure??) to act on info. Many posters have said that RAW does not have the authority to act. Having ears & eyes is a bit different from having knives & guns. Raw ajint out.
Please read all the claims made by RamaY, endorsed by stalwarts like Ramana. It is not just eyes and ears - they are talking about covert kinetic operations capabilities and joint ops with Unkil etc.

Please try again.

Posted: 12 Sep 2012 20:03
by nakul
Its not my fault the PMO, RamaY & ramana don't share their raw data & sources with me. You can check their data. I can only provide open source data during my travels on BRF. Rest is maya.

We also have nuclear weapons, 180 Su 30 MKIs, nuclear subs. We don't go to war with Pakistan doesn't imply that we don't have the means. The rest is for the reader to decide.

Posted: 12 Sep 2012 20:04
by Kati
Eh, a lot of abduls have become halaal in karachi fire.
Is MMS sending lota-kambal?

Posted: 12 Sep 2012 20:04
by abhijitm
anupmisra wrote:But Mr. Kapor is of a generation far removed from that era. What has turned him to believe this way? Does he only see Veena Malik and Nusrat Fetah Ali and not remember Lt. Kalia and others who suffered from the likes of paki jehadis? I weep for this new oblivious tweeting SMSing generation. History is replete with, and brutal to, people like Mr. Kapoor who dont seem to learn from it.
These are gullible or opportunists who get invites from Aman Ki Tamasha type funded organizations/groups for a foreign trip or lavish dinner party on the name of indo-pak bhaichara, become oblige and in return write such throw up articles.

Posted: 12 Sep 2012 20:20
by Neela
Lalmohan wrote:CRamS-ji, it seems to me that GOI (including successive governments) are following a policy of not striking back above a certain threshold. The logic for which seems to be that retalliation is exactly what the paquis want us to do. having a clearly identified belligerent india gives the jarnails all the excuses they need for following their dr strangelove strategies. not retaliating means that paquis have to either put up or shut up. but we underestimate their fervour and ingeniousness for finding new and more unpleasant ways to inflict pain upon us.
its a new great game
Professor-ji,
If you can recall, I think this is what Mr.Saran was also saying in his article. It has been linked here. Not falling for the mad-dog is fine.
( I have asked this before too ) But then the question comes up to the grand table of India strategists and think tanks: what kind of OTHER leverage have we cultivated in the last 6 decades. Surely, you must have some cards to play the game no?

The Indian army may respond to LoC firing with even more heavy shelling. But those conflicts are handled locally and a lot of it goes unreported. They get their justice soon because they have the means to respond.

Unfortunately for the larger populace of India, the GoI is the only means by which ANY kind of "hurting" Pakis can be mobilised. And GoI has not got its act together for the last 6 decades. We have nothing to report since the 1990s. Guess what happens when we chose not to respond or not to hurt them - the acts of macabre violence only becomes more audacious.
Fine, all ends of the spectrum must be seen. Carrots have been given, a man and his asha seems to be ever so active : all on one extreme. In the middle we have this posture of no response to provocation. But what of the other end? Who is leading that? What are his options in the other extreme?

Posted: 12 Sep 2012 20:25
by nakul
There are reports that India is tightening its strategic partnership with Saudi Arabia. Perhaps the only way to control a mad dog is to control its owner???

Out of its 3.5 friends, if we can manage to whittle it down to 2, it should cripple its economy. That has affected the running of camps in PoK. There are lots of them returning to India. This ensured that a 2 front war will be more of a 1.5 front war. However, we have to continue to reduce the remaing 0.5 as well...

Posted: 12 Sep 2012 20:32
by RamaY
nakul wrote:I think its a question of balancing lives. If we go to war, military lives are lost. If we don't, civilian lives are lost due to terrorism. Perhaps they want to minimise loss of lives. Due to terrorism, there are fewer lives lost than say, a Kargil type limited war. Moreover, there is no guarantee that after fighting a limited war, Pakistan would stop sending terrorists. Unless we decapitate the head, war or no war, we will continue to lose lives.
Wrong!

Loss of Life - Paki terrorism cost >60,000 since independence compared <10,000 military lives in Indo-Pak wars.
Economic Costs - Paki terrorism cost ~1% GDP growth in the past 20 years (since 1990s at least) - Assuming India GDP to be $1.7T in 2012 with a 10% growth (gives us $220B GDP in 1990s), the economic costs come to $160B. This is definitely less than the cost of all Indo-Pak wars.
Social Costs - This ensured that the Indian public did not realize their true potential in all the realms. It is OT to this thread
Geopolitical Costs - Imagine the geopolitical gains (especially in the areas of Afghanistan and Energy security and influence over China) of having regained PoK. I am sure China would have given the nukes to Pakis in either case so it may not be a game changer.

Uttistha Bharata is all I can say.

Posted: 12 Sep 2012 20:33
by RamaY
Rangudu wrote: What India chose NOT to do after the worst act of war on its own soil and the gloating of the perpetrators is a clear indication of what it cannot do.
This is a leadership issue (including BJP) and not a capability issue. I can give analogies but would be OT.

Posted: 12 Sep 2012 20:45
by RamaY
Rangudu wrote: What RamaY theorizes is India having better than US covert intel acquisition AND strike capability.

If India has such powers then what logical reason exists for it not to have been used to take out 26/11 masterminds until now? After all, if it's covert, then it's deniable, no?

This is becoming like Amartya Sen-ish talking shop where people try to invent convoluted and internally inconsistent reasons for India to bend over and keep taking it while it supposedly has all these super-duper covert capabilities.

If you're a restrained but tough guy and your neighbor rapes your wife, kills your kids and gloats about it, then what use is the toughness?

Maybe I, CRS and a few others are not that sharp or well connected to understand this. So I request anyone who believes what RamaY is saying to explain in plain desi English to us why India chooses not to use all these super duper powers to take out 26/11 chiefs?

Go ahead, enlighten us idiots
1. You and others are not idiots. You just have strong opinions.
2. India doesn't have to have better intelligence agencies than others. It just have to be good in one or two cases, or could stumble on to something even when it was not trying. It is called chance in life.
3. Amartya-Sen became important, especially the in the Indian circles with low self-esteem, that too only after he got Nobel prize.
4. Lack of action does not mean lack of information. For example - Key people in MB have had (sometimes prior) information on Dusthachatusthaya's plans. Yet they didn't action. Some just took enough precaution, when the life danger is imminent, even then created enough smoke screens to make people believe that their plans were successful. When a new leadership decided to stand up to the nonsense, even the mightier side lost, miserably. Another example from another Epic is that the husband knew all along about the boons he gave to his wife, but couldn't anticipate the timing and intensity of the wishes. So anything is possible in Rajadharma. It is up to the leadership to be self-aware.
5. The unrealized tough guy is standing quite, in the name of secularism, when the internal neighbors are raping his wife, daughters and so on... They repeatedly elect the rashtra mechanism that sadistically supports this socio-political-cultural orgy, so why this surprise all of a sudden?
6. You have a right to NOT to believe what others say. You also have the right to criticize an idea. You also have the right to accept other ideas, however conflicting they are.
6. You and others are not idiots. You just have strong opinions.

Posted: 12 Sep 2012 21:08
by Rangudu
nakul wrote:Its not my fault the PMO, RamaY & ramana don't share their raw data & sources with me. You can check their data. I can only provide open source data during my travels on BRF. Rest is maya.

We also have nuclear weapons, 180 Su 30 MKIs, nuclear subs. We don't go to war with Pakistan doesn't imply that we don't have the means. The rest is for the reader to decide.
Please read what I wrote.

THIS IS NOT ABOUT GOING TO WAR

This is about covert strike capabilities i.e. take out Hafiz Saeed, Dawood Ibrahim etc.

Posted: 12 Sep 2012 21:17
by nakul
Rangudu wrote: Please read what I wrote.

THIS IS NOT ABOUT GOING TO WAR

This is about covert strike capabilities i.e. take out Hafiz Saeed, Dawood Ibrahim etc.

Both require political will. The first one is the public domain. The second is not. We infer the second based on the first. If someone thinks it is not so, we have no way to prove him.

As for Dawood & Hafeez, tabloids have been doing a good job of tracking them all this time. RAW would be overkill. We will only know for sure when it actually happens. Till then, its all conjecture.

The day when a political leader arrives who is willing to assassinate them, only then we can say with certainty that it is a capability we have or not. Until then it is either a lack of will or capability. Take your pick.

Posted: 12 Sep 2012 21:18
by Karan M
R, please don't bother.

The quality of GOI, the ruling classes with their pseudo secularism and crony capitalism (votebanks and money making is all), plus the sheer idiocy and apathy of the common Indian who elects these jokers on the basis of caste/TV-media manipulation is well known. On Karnad's website, you can see the quality of esteemed luminaries like Saran who say India should not be aggressive to get its way. Another great strategic analyst writes in that amazing paper the TOI about the south indian jihadis caught recently - "If they were angry against hindutva elements its understandable, but if they were targeting defence establishments its ominous". In other words, kill/attack/target people whom current GOI rulers and bureaucrats are not idealogically aligned with, thats "understandable", any GOI establishment though is a problem. This is the quality of many of our "intellectuals". Our great PM, surrounded by Z-category security, is busy having visa's freed up for Pakistanis (including tourist groups of 20-30 people who can now apply for visas).

So forget about retribution or anything else. For all practical purposes India is a dhimmi state, through and through. All the courage its people display in adversity etc or even war counts for little, when its leaders (and a significant group who elects these turds) are thoroughly woolly headed and care two hoots about theirs or others lives. Its all about money, and living a fast life. Even the occasional Mumbai 26/11 is not enough to bother about. Train attacks, hospital attacks etc - well that's just too bad and small fry.

What talk of retribution? As regards competence and lack of thereof, we all know by now the immense success a certain three letter agency started to fix political opponents err..fight terrorists has had.

BTW, other snippets in todays paper/s, one of the gents who was questioning the validity of a certain three letter aerospace program at a public seminar (browse through this website's archive itself) is now also a beneficiary of the coalgate scam. Buy coal cheap, sell power high

Everything and anything is for sale in India. Those who are not on the gravy train, are figuring out ways to get in on it. All this talk of national security etc is just an impediment to the all important issue of money and wealth.

Every nations people get the leadership it deserves, and by now it should be apparent, Indians are getting what they deserve. The frustration felt by those who feel the nation or its citizens deserve better is of little consequence. Islands of excellence will exist, but the overall country is headed where it was headed before.

Posted: 12 Sep 2012 21:33
by abhijitm
RamaY, without political will power how and why the army built this 'covert action' capability? And as per your source the unit was ready by 2011 to carry out the operation? Which means they were undergoing thorough training and exercises at least 4 years back and had all necessary equipments and logistical support ready by 2011.

26/11 demanded the response from India's bestest best commando unit. Do you think that their operation was swift and they had all the best available resources at their disposal? Do you think today the lessons are learned and all necessary measures have been implemented and their modernization is complete?

Nov 2008 taught us how insufficiently equipped, reactive and preplanned we are. Do you think somehow they turnaround things in just 1-1.5 years and were all ready to cross pakistan border and kill OBL?

It only sounds a far fetched fantasy.

Posted: 12 Sep 2012 22:09
by ramana
Rangadu, First things first. Never ever put yourself down. The whole world is there to do that.

Second I say again the Indian capabilites are there and not many know and understand them.
Thirdly they are not for catching mere terrorist spokespeople.

Posted: 12 Sep 2012 22:23
by Anindya
Given that we have not heard of beards taking to the streets in Pakistan, as has happened in Libya and Egypt - it would seem, that the beards are essentially puppets on a string. But, I do expect that the beards and burkas in Pakistan will come out in protest quite soon.

Posted: 12 Sep 2012 22:30
by jash_p
By MARGARET COKER The US Ambassador to Libya, Christopher Stevens, was killed when suspected Libyan religious extremists stormed the US Consulate in Benghazi late Tuesday night, according to Libyan Deputy Prime Minister Mustafa Abushagour
Egyptians and Libians have scored against satanic kauffer. Why still McDonald and KFCs are standing witout harm in land of PURE? How come Pakis are docile?Are not they are sward of Islam? What Mullahas and Imran Khan is doing? Are they hiding behind their women?

Posted: 12 Sep 2012 22:47
by johneeG
Anindya wrote:Given that we have not heard of beards taking to the streets in Pakistan, as has happened in Libya and Egypt - it would seem, that the beards are essentially puppets on a string. But, I do expect that the beards and burkas in Pakistan will come out in protest quite soon.
Beards and burkas are always puppets on string...whether in pak or libya or...whatever. What is remarkable is their ecstatic enthusiasm in participating in such events. It well inculcated trait seen across the national boundaries.

Posted: 12 Sep 2012 22:53
by Anindya
Yes, JohneeG - I expect that protests (probably violent) may happen in India too. Sorry OT.

Posted: 12 Sep 2012 23:15
by member_23629
arun wrote:Holding my nose and suppressing my gag reflex:

Aman Ki Asha: How I started loving Pakistan
When do we see an article like this about India written by a Paki? Or is it that useful idiots are found only in India these days?

Posted: 12 Sep 2012 23:21
by Anujan
To all Indians who say "Pakistan - India equal equal" I ask them to run one simple experiment
1. Go to Srinagar, grow a beard, yell "Aaaazaaadeeeee!!!" in lal chowk
2. Go to Balochistan, get clean shaven, yell "Aaaazaaadeee!!!" in Quetta city square.

I will make sure their body pieces are flown back home and given a proper funeral.

Posted: 13 Sep 2012 00:01
by KLNMurthy
jash_p wrote:
By MARGARET COKER The US Ambassador to Libya, Christopher Stevens, was killed when suspected Libyan religious extremists stormed the US Consulate in Benghazi late Tuesday night, according to Libyan Deputy Prime Minister Mustafa Abushagour
Egyptians and Libians have scored against satanic kauffer. Why still McDonald and KFCs are standing witout harm in land of PURE? How come Pakis are docile?Are not they are sward of Islam? What Mullahas and Imran Khan is doing? Are they hiding behind their women?
Or are they women themselves? Where is mardangi and ghairat?

Posted: 13 Sep 2012 00:14
by partha
Anujan wrote:^^^^
To all Indians who say "Pakistan - India equal equal" I ask them to run one simple experiment
1. Go to Srinagar, grow a beard, yell "Aaaazaaadeeeee!!!" in lal chowk
2. Go to Balochistan, get clean shaven, yell "Aaaazaaadeee!!!" in Quetta city square.

I will make sure their body pieces are flown back home and given a proper funeral.
Good experiment. Noted down.

Posted: 13 Sep 2012 00:28
by ramana
Anujan, They would already have a chopper fuenral!

Posted: 13 Sep 2012 01:54
by Prem
Islam ke Naam pei Djinnam , Banaya tunne Pakistan
Islamiat ki beemari se subb sick fuddu Poaq terre
Sarre Duniya Marre Joooote , Phir bhi Aqal na Koi Parre
Shia, Ahmadi orr other Kaffir, Ki Nikle Daily Jaaan
Banaya Tuune Pakistan, Nikle Zadeh terre Haram.

Posted: 13 Sep 2012 02:26
by anjan
Rangudu wrote:If India has such powers then what logical reason exists for it not to have been used to take out 26/11 masterminds until now? After all, if it's covert, then it's deniable, no?
Given that the organizations are heavily trained, equipped and probably manned at places by personnel from Pakistani government agencies/forces, I'm not sure what taking out one, two or even 10 people would do. It's a bit like trying to assassinate a Corps/Army Commander. In a war you might do it to spread confusion for a while and damage enemy morale. With time to regroup and no loss of organization though they'd simply be replaced by someone else. And the cost needs to be assessed in terms of likely loss of own troops, possible escalation etc. beyond the monetary cost, which is not trivial either. The only exception is some super charismatic leader I suppose but even then you have to wonder.

I'm not saying super dooper covert capability exists. I'm saying even if it did it might make little sense to exercise it in taking out individuals. I wonder if the US is any safer for taking OBL out.

Posted: 13 Sep 2012 02:55
by BijuShet
BijuShet wrote:From Tribune (Opinion piece - posting in full).
Which is the real Pakistan?
By Jyoti Malhotra - Published: September 11, 2012

The new visa regime enables discussion about what Indo-Pak relationship is really about.

The writer is a consultant and a freelance writer based in New Delhi, where she writes for Business Standard and blogs for The Times of India.

My friend and fellow The Express Tribune columnist Ejaz Haider had another interesting thesis that I hadn’t heard before or — more to the point — hadn’t wanted to hear before. According to him, the Indian army was known to conduct false flag marches in (Indian) Kashmir, meaning they had killed scores of Indian — read, Muslim — civilians in Kashmir under the guise of offering protection to them.

What did this have to do with Mumbai, I asked Mr Haider? Was he implying that the Indian security forces — the army, paramilitary or the police — could have turned upon its own people in Mumbai? That could be one possibility in a range of several possibilities, he replied.

Khar’s forceful passion at the press briefing notwithstanding, the penny seems to have finally dropped in my own head: a section of the Pakistani intelligentsia believes the terror attack against Mumbai was just retribution — for 1971, for Balochistan, for Karachi, and anything else it believes India is responsible for.

Published in The Express Tribune, September 12th, 2012.
From Tribune ( letters section) Ejaz Haider responds to Jyoti Malhotra’s article of September 12, “Which is the real Pakistan?”.
ISLAMABAD: This is with reference to Jyoti Malhotra’s article of September 12, “Which is the real Pakistan?”. Never did I think that I would have to write such a clarification, and that, too, regarding a friend, and, even more significantly, a seasoned journalist. Not only has Ms Malhotra described what I said incorrectly and without context but, worse, she has made public a private conversation without bothering to clear it with me. I am appalled, to put it mildly. Ms Malhotra should know that a) her reproduction is incorrect and decontextualised and b) she has made public a conversation which was private.

Ejaz Haider

Published in The Express Tribune, September 13th, 2012.

Posted: 13 Sep 2012 03:04
by BijuShet
From Tribune (news article - posting in full including readers comments).
Pakistan urges regional peers to repeal non-tariff barriers
By Shahbaz Rana - Published: September 12, 2012
"A lot has to be done to bring down the non-tariff barriers for greater intra-regional trade," says Qamar. PHOTO: FILE

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan urged its regional peers to bring down non-tariff barriers for promotion of trade as the pool of regional experts suggest to reinvent the South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (Saarc) and to break barriers before finding solutions to common problems.

While proposing finding common grounds to emerging problems, Pakistan’s Defence Minister Naveed Qamar said that a lot has to be done to bring down the non-tariff barriers for greater intra-regional trade. Qamar was speaking at the inaugural session of the fifth round of South Asia Economic Summit on Tuesday.

Delegates gathered in Islamabad for the three-day conference with an aim to find ‘out of the box solutions’ to break from the chains of the past to achieve greater regional integration. The prime objective of the summit is to formulate policy recommendations for the 18th Saarc summit. The participants suggested establishing a South Asia Commission on Environment to tackle emerging climate change problem.

Speaking on abolishment of tariffs, Qamar said that progress has been made and in January 2013 the tariffs will be further reduced, hinting at complete trade normalisation between India and Pakistan. Islamabad is expected to remove the last legal hurdle in the complete trade normalisation process but that requires repealing the non-tariff barriers enacted by India.

Qamar said that the issue of climate change has long been ignored by South Asia and has now begun to haunt the region. He suggested formulating a regional climate change policy and to allow food movement across the borders.

He hoped that thaws in relations between India and Pakistan will give a boost to the efforts to find mutual solutions to mutual problems.

Published in The Express Tribune, September 12th, 2012.

Reader Comments (10)

gp65
23 hours ago
This is a deliberate lie that Pakistani leaders are telling its people. PAkistan is not in compliance with WTO and has not been for last 16 years by denying MFN to India. India’s non-trade barriers on the other hand are NOT Pakistan specific. Thus India is and has been in compliance with WTO since 1996 – when along with other WTO member countries it also granted MFN status to Pakistan.

To link the 2 things is deliberate deviousness and a way to provide excuse for not meeting their own commitments when India met its commitments in terms of releasing its objection to Pakistan specific trade exemptions by Euro.

Raj - USA
21 hours ago
What exactly are the non-tariff barriers from the Indian side. i have heard Pakistan complain on this often but have not read the specifics anywhere. Would appreciate if someone can list the barriers.

gp65
19 hours ago
@Raj – USA: The non-tarriff barriers are not Pakistan specific and relate to India’s red tape and infrastructure bottlenecksmaking imports more expensie in relation to domestic goods . Some examples:
1) Delays and corruption on Indian ports which add cost and delays to the overall transport process
2) The requirement for local testing instead of relying on international certifications which agains adds to cost and time
3) Import rates which even after 2 decades of liberalization are higher than our key trade partners.

I hope this helps.

19 hours ago
cannot understand how people in pak believe these lies one after another.. its so shameful that our country is in blatant violation of WTO rules. Other countries like India can drag our nose to ground on international forums over this. We must be grateful to indians, instead telling lie and double speak.

Raj - USA
18 hours ago
@gp65:
Thank you for the info. Appreciate it.
Nothing could be done for item # 1 you have mentioned. However the remaining two items can be and should be addressed. In the long run it would be beneficial for India also.

gp65
17 hours ago
@Raj – USA: The first issue also can be addressed through
-addressing the labour unions and mathadi workers issues at large ports like Bombay port
-greater investments in containerization
-more berths (some delays are due to botlenecks which can definitely be cleared.
– th corruptio is actually directly liked to point 3. If import rates are lower the corruption motivation automatically goes down.

At one time customs duty was viewed as a key source of revnue (constituted 40% of total tax collection in the cuntry). It now constitutes just about half as much i.e. 20% of tax base. But the resistance to lowering tax rates comes from domestic manufacturers who want protection. Car making is a classic example. In fact duties on iported cars is one of the biggest holdups in the Indo -Euro FTA from their side.

Gary
16 hours ago
@Raj – USA: It’s not so simple and India might not do it for now. India is following what Japanese, and other developed nations did. It’s an another way to compel companies to set up manufacturing facilities in India…

BlackJack
15 hours ago
@gp65:
A couple of points where I have a different PoV:
1. The port delays and infrastructure bottlenecks are not non-tariff barriers that can easily be dismantled. However, given that Pakistan is the only country that will use the Western land route, any infrastructure bottlenecks on that side will indeed be Pakistan-specific barriers. Further, there are NTBs in place such as designated imports through specific terminals that need to be addressed.
2. Local testing, lab testing of textiles and labelling requirements are indeed major NTBs, and labeling/ safety standards regulation is one that most western nations impose.
3. Import rates are not NTBs since they are related to the tariff itself; however, imposing restrictions on minimum import prices for certain goods is an NTB with which India safeguards itself from dumping by China – again most other nations have some form of this NTB in place.
4.Additional documentation is a big bottlneck that can be eased. As you indicate, this is applicable for all trading partners. However, Pakistani products and documents are subject to a high degree of scrutiny which can cause delays. This has already been brought up in the last trade talks.

Apart from these, quantitative restrictions on certain categories, rules of origin (not really practiced by India), and phytosanitary restrictions are also in vogue in most markets in the world including India.

gp65
8 hours ago
@BlackJack: “mport rates are not NTBs since they are related to the tariff itself; however, imposing restrictions on minimum import prices for certain goods is an NTB with which India safeguards itself from dumping by China – again most other nations have some form of this NTB in place.”

You are right about this ofcourse. Seems to me our opinion did not differ on much else, though you did elaborate on some other NTBs.

Hamid
5 hours ago
For God sake, go and sleep !!!!!!!!!!

Posted: 13 Sep 2012 03:07
by KLNMurthy
anjan wrote:
Rangudu wrote:If India has such powers then what logical reason exists for it not to have been used to take out 26/11 masterminds until now? After all, if it's covert, then it's deniable, no?
Given that the organizations are heavily trained, equipped and probably manned at places by personnel from Pakistani government agencies/forces, I'm not sure what taking out one, two or even 10 people would do. It's a bit like trying to assassinate a Corps/Army Commander. In a war you might do it to spread confusion for a while and damage enemy morale. With time to regroup and no loss of organization though they'd simply be replaced by someone else. And the cost needs to be assessed in terms of likely loss of own troops, possible escalation etc. beyond the monetary cost, which is not trivial either. The only exception is some super charismatic leader I suppose but even then you have to wonder.

I'm not saying super dooper covert capability exists. I'm saying even if it did it might make little sense to exercise it in taking out individuals. I wonder if the US is any safer for taking OBL out.
Taking out a chief, even if replaceable sends a message that there will
be a price to pay, hence deterrent. Some things are worth more than money and risk though both need to be managed.

Posted: 13 Sep 2012 03:50
by anjan
KLNMurthy wrote:Taking out a chief, even if replaceable sends a message that there will be a price to pay, hence deterrent. Some things are worth more than money and risk though both need to be managed.
Did taking out al-Mussawi deter Hezbollah? Heads of organizations are often replaceable people. Especially when the organization has the support of an untouched government. Anyway, then what? Take out the next guy after the next terrorist attack and so on? Each time with proportionally increasing risk to your own assets? And then be locked into a cycle where you've lost the initiative to the opponent? It can't be that hard to find 50 people with decent organizational skills who are willing to die for their beliefs in a dysfunctional country that specializes in producing nutjobs. Perhaps there is a point where the individual is so important that the risk is worth it like maybe with people with technical or other skills which are not easily replaceable.

I don't think deterrence can be achieved short of a disproportionate response. With their nuclear capability and given that they have less to lose than us that kind of response is politically difficult.

Posted: 13 Sep 2012 03:56
by Prem
http://dawn.com/2012/09/12/at-least-63- ... e-officer/
Death toll of Karachi factory fire rises to 289
KARACHI: The death toll from a garment factory fire in Karachi’s SITE area rose to 289 as more bodies were recovered from the gutted building, the city’s top administration official said Wednesday.“The death toll is 289. This is not final, search for more bodies continues,” commissioner Karachi Roshan Shaikh told AFP.Karachi city’s police chief Iqbal Mahmood also said rescue teams were still trying to gain access to parts of the factory, which caught fire late on Tuesday, and the death toll could rise.“We found dozens of people dead in a large room of the factory’s basement. It was totally burnt and parts of it were smouldering, which we put out before shifting the bodies to hospitals,” Karachi fire chief Ehtesham Salim told AFP.
(NSFW photo but they all look so Arabic ,CARish and Scandinavians)

Posted: 13 Sep 2012 03:59
by Prem
Gen Kayani’s service extension challenged
Chodhri Ki Khopri
ISLAMABAD, Sept 11: Service extension given to Chief of Army Staff Gen Ashfaq Parvez Kayani has been challenged in the Islamabad High Court.But Chief Justice Iqbal Hameedur Rehman has directed the petitioner to satisfy the court about his locus standi (being aggrieved) and to submit copies of relevant documents annexed with the petition and adjourned the hearing.Petitioner Col (retd) Inamur Rahim, convenor of ex-servicemen legal forum, told the court that the forum was of the opinion that the extension given to the army chief was immoral and unconstitutional.He said there was no provision in the Pakistan Army Act of 1956 and in the rules under which an extension of complete tenure could be granted to any person subject to the Army Act.The petitioner said the ex-servicemen society, which represented hundreds of thousands of retired military men, had been expressing serious concern over extension given to uniformed people because it would adversely affect the entire fibre of command – a hallmark of any disciplined force.He said the extension of Gen Kayani was granted by the authority concerned in a mechanical manner. While granting a tenure extension of three years nobody bothered that it would surpass the age of superannuation (60 years) on April 20, 2012. As per the army list, the date of birth of Gen Ashfaq Parvez Kayani is April 20, 1952, and under the Army Act nobody is permitted to remain in uniform after attaining the age of 60.

Posted: 13 Sep 2012 04:18
by KLNMurthy
anjan wrote:
KLNMurthy wrote:Taking out a chief, even if replaceable sends a message that there will be a price to pay, hence deterrent. Some things are worth more than money and risk though both need to be managed.
Did taking out al-Mussawi deter Hezbollah? Heads of organizations are often replaceable people. Especially when the organization has the support of an untouched government. Anyway, then what? Take out the next guy after the next terrorist attack and so on? Each time with proportionally increasing risk to your own assets?
Locking up a criminal is expensive and doesn't end crime but we still
have crime fighting machinery.

Decapitating strikes are a part of the solution, not a one-shot permanent solution. Fighting terrorists and TSP is costly, and yes, it does leave some initiatitive in the hands of the terrorists to up the ante at will. But not fighting, for reasons of cost and risk, is worse. Fighting requires patience and willingness to stay in it for the long haul and victory is not guaranteed, let alone quick, easy, cost and risk-free victory.

TNSTAAFL.