Project 75I - It Begins

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Project 75I - It Begins

maitya wrote:...
Maitya-ji, please see this. TKMS is going to get the red rose :)

What a colossal waste of money this is. When all we had to do was build more Scorpenes. The Germans will take us to the cleaners and we will blissfully piss away money at this. But no money saar for flying engine test bed :cry: :roll:

https://x.com/manupubby/status/1811277425507983579 ---> Ball in Navy's court after Germany, Spain complete trials for Rs 43,000 cr submarine contest. Germany demonstrates AIP at sea, Spain showcases system on land. India needs 6 submarines equipped with both AIP and Lithium Ion batteries.

vonkabra

Post by vonkabra »

Per this IDRW article, TKMS is offering a design which will take inspiration from the stealth shaping currently being developed for the Type 212CD submarine. If true, this would be a real gamechanger - with submarines already having noise levels lower than that of the surrounding ocean, something which is even more pronounced with AIP designs not having to snorkel, active sonar protection is going to be the next big thing:
https://idrw.org/tkms-unveils-stealthy- ... i-project/
maitya

Post by maitya »

Rakesh wrote: 11 Jul 2024 20:03
maitya wrote:...
Maitya-ji, please see this. TKMS is going to get the red rose :)

What a colossal waste of money this is. When all we had to do was build more Scorpenes. The Germans will take us to the cleaners and we will blissfully piss away money at this. But no money saar for flying engine test bed :cry: :roll:
It was never going to be cheap and, in fact, I seriously doubt this quoted 43K Crores (~$5.2B for a 6-boat program) will be the final offer price. After all, FCAIP and LIB combo in ~2.2K Ton displacement platform is not supposed to be cheap, anyway - the last 2 Invincible class (Type 218SG) was priced at ~$1.8B (as of 2023).

Now how much of this, much-trumpeted 60% ToT etc, is actual manufacturing value-add, or is just another ToAST (aka F414 ToT), remains to be seen - however even the good-faith 60% ToT, is never going to provide the required design and technology capability, as far as any other similar program.
e.g. the LIB units will come in packages (not even SKD) to unpacked and installed as is.
So, if another LAB-replacement-by-LIB in say Sindhughosh/Sishumar boats is to be taken up, well we have to build them from scratch.
(in fact wasn't there another initiative wrt indigenous LIB tech dev, from a couple of years back)

Plus it seems TKMS is offering it's much vaunted fourth-generation fuel cell system (FC4G) - there's no way there'd be any form of ToT (apart from SKD assembly and testing) there as well.

So, only if some "substantial" ToT of the marine diesel engine (MTU-396 etc) and the light-weight navalised Electric motors (e.g Siemens PERMASYN units of 212A boats with 2MW o/p, but 28Ton weight) happens, that'll be the saving grace.
Non-Magnetic steel hull etc are not on offer anyway.

But I have a feeling, and most probably I've got it completely wrong anyway, but the only rational of the Project 75I, is lack of trust wrt actual deliverance of the indigenous PAFC based FCAIP capability - and is basically a hedging wrt FCAIP capability risk, via this "proven" PEMFC (or BioEtoh based FC) route.
i.e. Navy seems to think, that in future they'll only be FCAIP and SSN based 2-tier attack-submarine force (SSBNs are for "strategic" capability), no place for plain vanilla SSKs.

Nothing wrong in that kind of thinking, IMVHO, but ain't be cheap, for sure.
Last edited by maitya on 12 Jul 2024 12:07, edited 1 time in total.
maitya

Post by maitya »

vonkabra wrote: 12 Jul 2024 11:31 Per this IDRW article, TKMS is offering a design which will take inspiration from the stealth shaping currently being developed for the Type 212CD submarine. If true, this would be a real gamechanger - with submarines already having noise levels lower than that of the surrounding ocean, something which is even more pronounced with AIP designs not having to snorkel, active sonar protection is going to be the next big thing:
https://idrw.org/tkms-unveils-stealthy- ... i-project/
The actual real game-changer would have been complete ToT of non-Magnetic steel based hull fabrication ... but that's not on offer.

But apparently they cannot dive deep. USA has removed magnetic anomaly detector from planes and helicopters. You have to be almost above the sub to detect it, which is a very tall order in an infinite ocean. A better strategy would be to use sonar. If you look at the graphs posted in this thread, a sonar can pick anything in radius of 25 km (subject to its limitation).
In an open ocean and deep ocean, a sub will return the sonar ping from a helicopter or other means, in shallow waters it can be near ocean floor or between hills and valleys and mask its presence (that’s why deep sea ocean research vehicle map the surfaces, mostly near land, island (like Chinese are doing in Maldives).
There was few months ago a graph of where the IN mq-9 flew - 90% of it was around Chennai offshore (and perhaps near Vishakapatnam). This is where enemy subs will be lurking. Masked by terrain, but they have to surface to charge and then you have persistence mq-9 presence to detect it.
Last edited by fanne on 12 Jul 2024 19:14, edited 1 time in total.
maitya

Post by maitya »

Rakesh wrote: 10 Jul 2024 16:24 https://x.com/manupubby/status/1810934523510579312 ---> Not the final design, but a sneak look at what the MDL-TKMS offering for Indian Navy's P-75I requirement could resemble. Angular design for enhanced stealth. TKMS says older 'round designs' offer limited stealth. TKMS detection analysis of the new design on offer against conventional classical design on older submarines. The Indian P 75I submarine will have both AIP and Lithium Ion battery for enhanced performance.
Betw we got side-tracked on other aspects, but doesn't this look way too similar to Type 212CD:

Image source: TKMS Offering Type 212CD E Submarine To The Netherlands

Now, Type-212CD was initially not made available for export, but then the Hans changed their mind and made exception for Norway (and was also offered to Netherlands as Type 212CD-E, a few years back).
Ofcourse it lost to Naval Group, but if this 212-CD E variant is indeed being now offered to us, the SDREs, that's quite a bit of climbdown by the Hans, don't you think.

Betw, the E version is 3Kton (>80m length) behemoth :-?, but retained all the cutting edge technological aspects of the CD like:
... reduced target echo strength (attributed to a unique diamond shape outer hull) ...
... use of amagnetic steel for the pressure hull (to prevent localisation by amagnetic anomaly sensors) ...
From: TKMS Offering Type 212CD E Submarine To The Netherlands
The additional displacement and length (over and above the 2.5K Ton with 73m length of 212CD) is mainly due to:
... a hull insert to increase fuel capacity for longer endurance, and improve accommodation space for extended missions ...
Now a 10m beam vis-a-vis 8.4m length of Brahmos-ER, plus all these talk about a hull insert etc, things may become really interesting ... :twisted:

Added Later: Is the loss of Netherlands contract had an impact on this sudden TKMS's change of heart and (re)enter the P-75I RFI/RFP. Timings are too close-by, to not consider this aspect.
Last edited by maitya on 14 Jul 2024 09:58, edited 1 time in total.

These are new “unproven” designs. No guarantees they work well :twisted:

There may be lot more work post induction.
maitya

Post by maitya »

srai wrote: 14 Jul 2024 03:59 ^^^
These are new “unproven” designs. No guarantees they work well :twisted:

There may be lot more work post induction.
:mrgreen: :mrgreen:
If you ask for all bells and whistles (like FCAIP, LIB, VLS etc) all-together, it's bound to be the new (and unproven) designs isn't it - and thus the risk of years of fixing issues/upgrading, post manufacturing the first boat (during initial operational years), will have to be taken.

Fact is, except for the KSS-III Batch-II, which anyway was not available for export (DSME-3000 was the export variant, minus the K-VLS cells), none had all these incorporated in the same platform.
In fact, there also, no KSS-III Batch-II (on which DSME-3000 variant was based) boats are operational, but 2 are currently on order/under construction.
(KSS-III Batch-I boats, 3 (?) of which are operational, doesn't have LIB)

Either way, DSME later withdrew, so these points are moot anyway.

Similarly, Germans have atleast 2 boats (and 4 more for Norway) of 212-CD type, on-order/under construction - that way, it evens out the competition (wrt S-80 operational boats, with all the offered-features incorporated - there are none), I think.

However, TKMS does have quite a few FCAIP based operational boats in Type-212A, 214, 218SG etc (but none in 212-CD class), which gives it an advantage over the S-80 class, competition - between the 4th Gen FCAIP being offered for P-75I is not available in any of these classes, anyway.
So there again, the competition evens out, vis-a-vis demonstration via the operational-boat examples, that features these *offered* capabilities.

However, I do suspect/speculate, that TKSS is betting that winning the 75-I order, would open-up for many more such orders with other countries (e.g. like in Su-30MKI or Rafale programs etc.). That is the reason for all of their sudden eagerness wrt P-75I, over last 2 years.
Also, given that the first of their ordered Type-212CD boats are going to be available by 2029-30 (and 1/year there-after), the 75-I project, gives a nice opportunity (to the OEM) not only to spread the developmental risks, but also to incrementally-add any new learnings from P-75I boat manufacturing (the IP will be jointly owned), to their own boats.
Aka we pay they (and rest all) benefit - remember, the original Jaguar DARIN program, anyone?

* The deal for three more Scorpenes is expected to be concluded by the end of this year ---> viewtopic.php?p=2625073#p2625073

* Desi diesel engine (likely) for Project 76 ---> viewtopic.php?p=2625081#p2625081

^^Huge news
Timeline for delivery?? 2028
isn't it a bit too ambitious?
But hey even if that happened even by 2030 its a fantastic achievement

I read the PIL carefully again. They are talking about the P 75.

That is Kalvari class.

They are talking about the screwdriver giri again. For the 3 boats they're going to order.
maitya

Post by maitya »

Pratyush wrote: 16 Jul 2024 11:02 I read the PIL carefully again. They are talking about the P 75.

That is Kalvari class.

They are talking about the screwdriver giri again. For the 3 boats they're going to order.
So, this indigenization effort is a toss up between:
P75/Kalvari Class: MTU Series 396 SE84 (V12-Cylinder): 1,040-1200 kW at 1,800 rpm of early 1980s vintage (more than 15,000 delivered globally)
AND
P75I/Type-212CD Class: MTU Series 4000 (V12-Cylinder): 1,300kW at 1,800 rpm of 2015-18 vintage (submarine variant)

:(( :((
This is all too much of mental gymnastics!!
All in all screwdrivergiri!!!

IMVHO, Navantia will lose the P-75I contest.

And that is not because the S-80 is a bad submarine design, but rather the Type 212CD boat from TKMS is technologically better.

https://x.com/alpha_defense/status/1813823182769635766 ---> Navantia's offer for P-75I Program of the Indian Navy: S-80 Plus.

https://x.com/sriramthg/status/1816455828846555231 ---> Expect more PLAN submarines in the IOR. At a time when India's submarine fleet strength is nowhere near enough and we're still doing trial-trial games for P-75I instead of going ahead with P-76 on our own.

maitya

Post by maitya »

Rakesh wrote: 26 Jul 2024 19:40 https://x.com/sriramthg/status/1816455828846555231 ---> Expect more PLAN submarines in the IOR. At a time when India's submarine fleet strength is nowhere near enough and we're still doing trial-trial games for P-75I instead of going ahead with P-76 on our own.
It seems, the P-76 is currently in preliminary study stage, post which it'll be taken for a formal program sanction etc - so it's going to be atleast a decade+, for the first of these boats to be entering service.

The report also mentions, the mid-life refit of the Kalvari class boats, first of which is scheduled for next year and is supposed to incorporate the DRDO FCAIP plug, will take approx 2-3 years to complete - so minm 2027, maybe even later, for them to return back to service i.e, there'll be no immediate relief wrt the operational submarine capacity shortage.

Until and unless, some unconventional route, like leasing (10 year lease) of SSNs and maybe even, SSKs is considered - but lease from whom, Germany is it - sort of like a package-deal along-with the P75I?
Very, very minimal chance of that happening though!!

The report also states, there are efforts to increase the power-output of each of the indigenous FCAIP modules by ~15% - but for P76, the aim is for a whopping 20KW/module (~48% increase).
And with that the FCAIP output, with a stack of 24 fuel cells, is going to be mammoth 480KW etc - so it's safe to speculate that this in itself indicates the design-intent is of a minm 30-35K Ton class boat, and thus VLS based SLCM is a given.
Let's see!!

I have been thinking about the timelines for the indigenisation of the Diesel electric plant for our future submarines.

We know that the CVRDE is also developing a 1500 hp diesel engine. Can this engine be used as an electric generator when it's mated to an alternator unit?

I ask this question, because the power output for the CVRDE engine and MTU power plant are nearly identical.

Indian Navy's new Scorpene submarines to have Made in India 'Heart' by BEL with French architecture: French Naval Group
https://www.aninews.in/news/world/asia/ ... 729133835/
29 July 2024

What is the crux of the article, I got virus and comp shut down

fanne wrote: 29 Jul 2024 19:20 What is the crux of the article, I got virus and comp shut down
The SUBTICS combat management system will be replaced with an Indian one from BEL, with support from France.
KSingh

Post by KSingh »

always so many plans and reports but the reality is 6 new SSK in ~30 years whilst the PLAN have 3-6 subs in production at any one time

P75 repeat orders aren’t even cleared let alone ordered

P75I is going around the typical Indian mega deal death spiral

P76 doesn’t even have AON

P75A- not one recent (positive) update after we heard they’d culled orders to 3+3

Come 2040 at most the 6+3 P75 will be in service vs the 1999 MoD approved plan for 24

You really can’t know to cry or laugh

No point in crying.

Rather laugh at the incompetence.
KSingh

Post by KSingh »

Rakesh wrote: 29 Jul 2024 20:04 No point in crying.

Rather laugh at the incompetence.
As always incompetence is almost indistinguishable from sabotage.

Same story with engines.

Every strategic project undermined.

Indian Navy approves Mazagon Dock to build 6 submarines with German collaboration
https://www.msn.com/en-in/news/India/in ... aboration/
11 August 2024

extracts...
In a major development, the Indian Navy has cleared the state-owned Mazagon Dock Limited (MDL) to build six submarines with the projected cost upto Rs 60,000 crore. The decision follows the completion of trials for submarines under Project 75 India, according to defence sources.
more details...
MDL, in partnership with Germany's ThyssenKrupp, was competing against Larsen & Toubro and Navantia. The Indian government is focused on enhancing public sector units for job creation and technology development.

India plans to acquire six advanced conventional submarines equipped with an Air-Independent Propulsion (AIP) system, allowing them to stay underwater longer than previous models without AIP.

The Taigei-class submarines for the JMSDF are approximately 635 million USD a piece. What is being bought in this project that each of the boats is going to be twice the price of the Japanese boats.

It was no surprise that the Germans cleared the technical trials in the P-75I. This is the boat the Indian Navy wants.

MDL clears crucial trials in Rs 60,000 crore P-75 India submarine tender
https://aninews.in/news/national/genera ... 811220510/
11 August 2024

https://x.com/manupubby/status/1822859258733412513 ---> Advantage Germany in high stakes contest for next generation conventional submarines under Project 75I. MDL bid with TKMS for Rs 43,000 cr procurement ahead after trials completed.

And right on cue.... :lol:

Russia Tempts Indian Navy With Brahmos-Armed Amur 950 Submarine With Vertical Launch Capability
https://www.eurasiantimes.com/russia-te ... h-brahmos/
08 August 2024

Rakesh wrote: 12 Aug 2024 18:46 And right on cue.... :lol:

Russia Tempts Indian Navy With Brahmos-Armed Amur 950 Submarine With Vertical Launch Capability
08 August 2024
Hahaha for a moment I though I had entered a time machine and gone back into the past. Only if Philip was still here to complete the experience.

So, the tamasha goes like this

1) Let HDW experience & lines go waste
2) Belatedly order 6 Scorpenes
3) Let that line go dry
4) Order 3 more but with AIP, new contract etc, making it a decadal project
5) Launch the P-75I tamasha (the IN's very own MRFA bondoggle) for a measly 6 numbers. Different vendor, ensuring zero commonality or knowhow-sharing with the Scorpene
6) Wake up lazily, yawn & kickstart the P-76 desi-SSK project, which will take 1-2 decades to materialize, while the world has moved on
7) Sprinkle Lithium-Ion tech in-between, when it turns out that, in between perpetual waiting & piecemeal orders, the state of the art has moved, which justifies more waiting & more piecemeals

....meanwhile, forget China, even Pakis leapfrog us in both numbers & quality
maitya

Post by maitya »

Rakesh wrote: 12 Aug 2024 18:46 And right on cue.... :lol:

08 August 2024
But must say, got to give it to the Russians ... how the hell, they could squeeze in a VLS system for a 8.4m long missile in a boat of just 5.6m beam (and with just 1300Ton displacement) - the end-to-end hump allows that I guess, seems like the boat itself is designed keeping this particular (Brahmos) VLS system in mind.
And that too, a 10 cell VLS system - WoW, just WoW!!!!! :shock:
A comparative western platform will ask for a minm 2.5-3K Ton displacement boat, to even think of accommodating such a VLS system. :-?

Now, purely theoretically, if we are ok to have FCAIP plug for Kalvaris/P75 boats, why not for this as well ... :twisted:
After all we are ready to shell out ~$4B (35,000Cr) for 3 non-VLS FCAIP-equipped western platform isn't it - so, why can't something similar be worked out with the Russians?
Another, say a 3-boat program, wouldn't hurt - will mother Russia, throw us a bone for a package-deal of "upgrade/mid-life-deep-refit" of the Sindhughosh class boats with such a FCAIP and VLS plugs, alongside this 3-boat Amur-MKI (you heard it hear first 8) ) program ... :P :P

After all, we are a nation that takes pride in creating veritable museums of imported platforms (in piecemeal numbers) - another one shouldn't matter much , I guess. :roll:

:((

Maityaji
This Navy menagerie as far U-boats are concerned!! I wonder this a move towards superspecialization in Pandubbi management (a la medical super specialist) :P
Wonder what happens if a HDW-wallah is posted on the super-uber Amur with VLS??
accidental ejaculations like Chota Brahmos sent to coldstorage depot in Jihadistan may happen and may flatten Chini port in Gawadar noo. :lol:
There is a method in the madness
Its just us mortals wont know or dont understand the 'Game of Thrones' being played!!

This guy claims deal sign with Krupp and MDL for USD 7 Billion, any truth to this

The deal has not yet been signed. It's under process. MDL and HDW are the shortlisted vendors.

Aditya_V wrote: 20 Aug 2024 14:43 This guy claims deal sign with Krupp and MDL for USD 7 Billion, any truth to this
The above video is from one of those run-of-the-mill defence handles. Best ignored.

But that having been said, this contest is for HDW to lose. They are favoured candidate.
maitya

Post by maitya »

Upping this thread - with this:
Indian Navy’s Scorpene submarine to get strategically critical Air Independent Propulsion by 2026: DRDO chairperson
Dr. Kamat:
We have a small laboratory, Naval Materials Research Laboratory at Ambernath. It is a small facility that consists of around 70 scientists. They started a scientist and technology project sometime in the early 2000s to make fuel cells…they developed a phosphoric acid fuel cell of one kilowatt as demonstration. From that small fuel cell, we have demonstrated a land-based prototype of an air independent propulsion system, which can deliver more than 200 kilowatt of power to a conventional diesel electric submarine.
Today I can proudly say that we are only the third country which has developed this capability. When the Indian Navy’s P75 scorpene submarine comes for refit in 2026, this AIP is going to be inserted by cutting the submarine and it will improve the capabilities of our conventional submarines significantly.

India could have moved closer to its own SSK by ordering the second set of 6 x Scorpene-A with major IDDM components:
* AIP
* combat management system
* sonar
* self protection systems and decoys
* kitchen, living/sleeping quarters
* etc

Then another 6 x Scorpene-B with additional IDDM:
* weapons - torpedos, anti-surface missiles
* sensors
* surface stealth sonar coating
* propulsion
* etc

In parallel, R&D IDDM P-76 SSK to be ready in two-decades.

Whatever happened to follow on of 3 more scropenes with DRDO - AIP?

Cybaru wrote: 09 Sep 2024 03:37 Whatever happened to follow on of 3 more scropenes with DRDO - AIP?
DRDO's AIP is coming on the first batch of six Scorpenes, during their mid life refits.

The deal for the second batch of three more Scorpenes is due by the end of the fiscal year (prior to March 31, 2025). See below.

Indian Navy's new Scorpene submarines to have Made in India 'Heart' by BEL with French architecture: French Naval Group
https://www.aninews.in/news/world/asia/ ... 729133835/
29 July 2024
The Defence Ministry is looking at completing the acquisition process within this fiscal year with a minimum of 60 per cent of indigenisation.

Germany was the favoured candidate to win the P-75I contest, with their Type 212CD offer.

Waiting for news on whether the Type 212CD will feature a VLS cell for the Indian Navy.

Germany’s TKMS with MDL or Spain’s Navantia with L&T? Navy set to decide who will make 6 new submarines
https://theprint.in/defence/germanys-tk ... s/2262085/
11 Sept 2024
The Navy is all set to recommend the joint bid of the state-run Indian shipyard, Mazagon Dock Shipbuilders Limited (MDL), and the German naval giant, ThyssenKrupp Marine Systems of Germany (TKMS), to manufacture the diesel-electric submarines in India, ThePrint has learnt.