MiG-21 Bison shoots down F-16 in Kashmir

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: MiG-21 Bison shoots down F-16 in Kashmir

Not questioning Abhinandan, but from reports and videos it was after he launched R 73 and was turning back he got hit. If the other IAF aircraft had launched BVR's at the other F16's to scatter them then perhaps he could have got back, however I also accept other arguments of short time frame, fear of hiting Abhinandan Mig 21 etc might be valid reasons why they didnt lau ch missiles to spoof the other PAF F16's

Lalmohan wrote:more and more the logic towards a significant growler fleet becomes imperative
isnt one of the Su30 mission profiles/fit out a bit growlerish? (growler ka beta)
at present we do not have any prowla/growla. only SPJ are fielded not any standoff jamming or escort jammer

Elta has this escort jammer a small formation could use but nothing in growler league
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TezbnRmG1g4

allegedly a Mig21 squadron had been equipped with some swedish saab jammer but the choice of platform with its limited range, in service life and power budget, plus 1 seater clearly was pre su30 days. and the pod may be very dated now.

Aditya_V wrote:Not questioning Abhinandan, but from reports and videos it was after he launched R 73 and was turning back he got hit. If the other IAF aircraft had launched BVR's at the other F16's to scatter them then perhaps he could have got back, however I also accept other arguments of short time frame, fear of hiting Abhinandan Mig 21 etc might be valid reasons why they didnt lau ch missiles to spoof the other PAF F16's
Depends on how far the f16 mig21 fight was happening. They cannot fire BVR if distances were like 200km

The other scrambled Mig 21 Bison were not 200Km from the F-16's

off the shelf (israeli maal) stand off jammers could be rack mounted in an An32/HS748/Saras... nothing too clever, just something to block out spectrum from afar

or something more specific built into a Su30 to go with some buddies on an eeriye hunt?

We have the big wide band jammer from dare. Similar to sap518. Don't know it status though..

Lalmohan wrote:off the shelf (israeli maal) stand off jammers could be rack mounted in an An32/HS748/Saras... nothing too clever, just something to block out spectrum from afar

or something more specific built into a Su30 to go with some buddies on an eeriye hunt?
Definitely Bizjet, bigger antennas, wider coverage, more ERP, and you can even put in a couple of operators inside to track/manage the suite. The Su-30s will be getting the DARE jammers sometime soon. This can be a quick "black" program, have the IAF, DARE, ELTA guys all sit together in a room and come up with what's possible with the Elta or Rafale or Elisra portfolio. Just 2-3 aircraft. Use the DARE focus on building up desi SPJ/Escort jammers in the meantime.

Lalmohan wrote:more and more the logic towards a significant growler fleet becomes imperative
isnt one of the Su30 mission profiles/fit out a bit growlerish? (growler ka beta)
Yes, with DAREs advances I don't see why we don't invest in a program for this specific purpose. Build some dedicated jammers powered by ram air turbines and not driven by aircraft electricals for the fighter escort role where the bizjet jammers can't accompany the package.

Singha wrote:
at present we do not have any prowla/growla. only SPJ are fielded not any standoff jamming or escort jammer
We have a mix of systems.
http://www.indiandefencereview.com/spot ... tiplier/2/
Elta has this escort jammer a small formation could use but nothing in growler league
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TezbnRmG1g4
That's basically A2G in particular. Very similar to Rafael SkyShield.
allegedly a Mig21 squadron had been equipped with some swedish saab jammer but the choice of platform with its limited range, in service life and power budget, plus 1 seater clearly was pre su30 days. and the pod may be very dated now.
This was way back, likely all the airframes are retired. This was a mixed MiG-21, Canberra squadron.

need su30 with 3 huge external fuel tanks (to extend endurance)
2-4 AAM under belly
2 turbine driven jammer pods
2 wingtip pods
no more stores under wings to avoid interference

thats the desi growla spec

Desi growla would be like the Su-34 with khibiny pods. The krasukha is the land based versiin of the khibiny. And believe it or not, it was a khibiny that jammed USS Donald Cooke.

btw coming back to topic, what would have happened had our rescue chopper would have indeed picked up abhi from across LoC. Pakis would have lost a few more assets hopefully in full public glare. Paki air force doth plan too much, they planned exact time of civilian air traffic, then they planned for daylight ops to take videos (something similar to turk adventure), then they possibly took care to hurl standoff bombs that would not detonate or did not detonate. The perfect reposte to their planned ops would be an attack like a hammer blow, bludgeoning everything in path. A few cries and screams will ensue but they will be pretty quiet for a long time after that.

i am hoping that any rescue operation would have been in the shadow of the dance of the rambhas from above... a lone chopper going in would be highly vulnerable

habal wrote:Desi growla would be like the Su-34 with khibiny pods. The krasukha is the land based versiin of the khibiny. And believe it or not, it was a khibiny that jammed USS Donald Cooke.
Please read up on the systems in question. They are nothing alike. The Krasukha is a completely different and more powerful system than a 2 pod Khibiny. Second, the Donald Cooke story was a hoax. KRET noted:
The company, known by its acronym, KRET, published an article in February 2015 saying that the Khibiny system was not installed on the particular plane and that while it can neutralize enemy radar, the article that said it completely shut down the American destroyer “is nothing but a newspaper hoax.”

point noted Karan, but I am still hoping it can pull of something like that though in that particular instance it may not have been the case. Khibiny was said to have been the result of some breakthrough technologies which were later passed on to the french and their submarines managed to repeat pretty much the same results as was said in thay 'hoax'. Btw the new improved Donald Cook is back in black sea instigating the Russians.
Lalmohan wrote:i am hoping that any rescue operation would have been in the shadow of the dance of the rambhas from above... a lone chopper going in would be highly vulnerable
all PAF fighters had by then scooted away from that location. SAM & manpad threat remained but it is difficult to post a manpad on site at what would be such short notice and IAF would be aware of SAM sites. Thus they took a calculated risk. If they would have pulled it off it would have been fantastic.
Last edited by habal on 04 Apr 2019 22:29, edited 1 time in total.

EW needs power generation capability - which is lacking on fighter aircraft in general. IIRC growler also uses wind turbines like IL-78MKI uses them on the aar pods

Habal, Khibiny is an advanced PESA antenna based DRFM jammer, while capable it's very heavy and not suited for aircraft with heavy loads (will cut into the envelope). The French have their own advanced EW set ups, amongst the most advanced in the world (check their radars for instance), they wont be needing Russian assistance.

i reckon on an AN32, you can rig up a spare APU and generator circuit in the hold to get as much power as your little heart may desire for jammin'

Post by khan »

Aditya G wrote:EW needs power generation capability - which is lacking on fighter aircraft in general. IIRC growler also uses wind turbines like IL-78MKI uses them on the aar pods
Given that Pakistan is right next door to India & has almost no depth, is there any reason electronic jamming cannot be done from the ground (maybe via mobile units) without the power limitations & cost of an airborne platform?

To me, Growler type solutions are more for China & Navy.

Not easy to jam an antenna on the top of a moving platform from one on the ground.

khan wrote:
Aditya G wrote:EW needs power generation capability - which is lacking on fighter aircraft in general. IIRC growler also uses wind turbines like IL-78MKI uses them on the aar pods
Given that Pakistan is right next door to India & has almost no depth, is there any reason electronic jamming cannot be done from the ground (maybe via mobile units) without the power limitations & cost of an airborne platform?

To me, Growler type solutions are more for China & Navy.
We probably need both. The horizon might be a limiting factor for jamming ground based systems.

Horizon, angle/directionality, response time, flexibility all favor airborne responses to airborne threats.

The interesting thing is the number of systems India is working on, can establish us as an EW player same as our investments in radars paid off.

Right now we have:

MiG-29, D-29
Jaguar DARIN-3, D-Jag
Su-30 MKI, HBJ pod
LCA Mk2, RWJ program
LCA Mk1/Mk1A - IUEWS program (tested and validated on prototype, basically a RWJ). A podded variant may be developed as a TD/alternative to EL/L-8222 to go along with Uttam.

These programs can firmly reduce our reliance on imported SPJs etc. We already had a bunch of domestic EW pods deployed on Jaguars and MiG-27s in the pre-DRFM era, now the above are the next gen.

If no system is available off the shelf, and I can't find a single real high power Israeli or French system, amazingly enough, then we should do what we are doing elsewhere and work with a partner to develop high power hardware and take the lessons learnt from the above program and go for a Biz jet deployment to target AWACS class targets.
MeshaVishwas

Post by MeshaVishwas »

Did India Shoot Down a Pakistani Jet? U.S. Count Says No.
https://foreignpolicy.com/2019/04/04/di ... qfFVZexicU-Lara Seligman
Two senior U.S. defense officials with direct knowledge of the situation told Foreign Policy that U.S. personnel recently counted Islamabad’s F-16s and found none missing.

And "No first use" Narang adds :D
“As details come out, it looks worse and worse for the Indians,”
The four father to the rescue.

Mesha Saar, you beat me to this wonderful gem. I was about to post this and saw your post above.

They found none missing because they have delivered one to them :lol:

And then there is this gem from the above article....
Some of the aircraft were not immediately available for inspection due to the conflict, so it took U.S. personnel several weeks to account for all of the jets, the official said.
They just confirmed that Pakistan did indeed use the F-16 and their end use agreements means squat.
When the incident occurred, India asked the U.S. government to investigate whether Pakistan’s use of the F-16 against India violated the terms of the foreign military sale agreements. However, the first defense official said the agreement did not involve any terms limiting the use of the F-16s. “It would be incredibly naive for us to believe that we could sell some type of equipment to Pakistan that they would not intend to use in a fight,” the official said.
MeshaVishwas

Post by MeshaVishwas »

This Friday is auspicious.
CouptaJi and Manu BARby(Pubs are expensive) getting named by shafted dalaal and the above article.
What a way to celebrate New Year's Eve!

Post by khan »

MeshaVishwas wrote:Did India Shoot Down a Pakistani Jet? U.S. Count Says No.
I think we should take this seriously.
MeshaVishwas

Post by MeshaVishwas »

khan wrote:
MeshaVishwas wrote:Did India Shoot Down a Pakistani Jet? U.S. Count Says No.
I think we should take this seriously.
I think we should ignore.
This (F)article is what men in Black (coats) call Conflict of Interest.

Congratulations to the State Dept for activating its assets to do an equal equal and put India in its place, and also for ensuring the end of the F-16 and F-18 in the MMRCA. I do hope Lockheed Martin and Boeung communicate their joy with the SDs activities to the highest levels of the USG with pleasure and joy.

Jokes aside, I am confident better sense will prevail and we do not reveal Netra's capabilities just to prove a point.

In other news, U.S State Department also counted the Amraams ......

CBN asked for proof and SD delivered...

Let the US Govt come out with an official statement, that farticle is aTSP sponsored statement. Note words nothing missing no mention of the word intact. Even debris means aircraft is not missing
mmasand

Post by mmasand »

Times like this I wish I chose a career as a lobbyist, any bets on who paid for that piece? Unkil or Lockheed Martin?

It is better our diplomats get an official statement from the US State Depratment regarding the verification.

Its definitely US SD with support from Lock Mart. If Boeing has any brains, they should activate their sources to get the truth out unless they are ok with losing 20 Billion dollars.

Karan M wrote:Its definitely US SD with support from Lock Mart. If Boeing has any brains, they should activate their sources to get the truth out unless they are ok with losing 20 Billion dollars.
Why do you think Boeing will go against SD when it needs SD support for not just SEF but naval fighter tender also?

Yes let SD make official statement on this issue, rather than sponsoring farticles on unnamed sources. This is where I see our diplomats failing us.

Karan M wrote:Its definitely US SD with support from Lock Mart. If Boeing has any brains, they should activate their sources to get the truth out unless they are ok with losing 20 Billion dollars.
Boeing isn't going to do it either. Better to give the large MIC the middle finger by developing aircraft like the LCA Tejas Mk 1, Mk 1A, and 2 in very large numbers over a thousand in the next 10 years.

Keep in mind that the Pentagon arranged for an F-104 transferred from Jordan to the PAF following the 1971 war to demonstrate little loss of numbers.
Last edited by Mort Walker on 05 Apr 2019 10:09, edited 1 time in total.

Guys we should use our various interests int he US to get the US SD to make an official statement, I belive Pakis in putting this article have been Tactically brilliant but strategically stupid, they will now force the SD to take a stand if we are smart.