Indian Sports and Entertainment Industry

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Indian Sports and Entertainment Industry

My focus was not the lack of money part, my focus was on the lack of national motivation to formulate vision and carry out the project.

What is 'national motivation' ? Who constitutes this 'national' entity, so that we know who specifically lacks in motivation ?

There are probably millions of kids in India who dream of being a winner in the Olympics. Even in the political level I'm pretty sure every Indian leader wants India to succeed.

We do not have a result-oriented administrative system in general, because poor performance is not punished, nor good performance rewarded with promotion up the party hierarchy, except when it comes to elections. That applies to the sports ministry as well as any other.

We do have the nascent beginnings of a formal result-driven sports system in the form of multiple private initiatives. But we will most likely not see anything out of it at Beijing, because it's too early for the results to show.

I don't expect much at Beijing, and don't intend to focus much on it. I'd rather see us quietly develop a strong base of athletes who receive enough support that they don't just max out at the continental level, something that's as far as anyone with raw talent will usually reach. There has been a broad improvement in Indian capabilities, considering we now have a solid 3rd/4th position at C'wealth Games, something that's a very recent phenomenon, though largely built around shooting+weightlifting.
Vriksh

Post by Vriksh »

What concerns me most is the fact that if they are willing to spend $8 Billion on sports with demonstrable achievements, it stands to reason that they are probably spending an astronomical amount on other facets of their mil-ind complex with similar results.
Suraj wrote:It isn't merely a question of money, but systematic focus on the Chinese part. They had a project over the last several years called Project 119, which targets 119 gold medals in various disciplines that are outside the most glamourous, competitive ones (e.g. track and field and swimming), and focusses on athlete development in those. The result is they now have strong rowers and fencing teams, i.e. sports where they had no presence at all until a few years ago. It takes such a scale of effort and focus to win.
Vasu

Post by Vasu »

Saina Nehwal beats Ella Karachkova of Russia 21-9, 21-8 in the Womens Badminton round of 64.

Vijender Kumar beats Badou GJ Jack of Gambia in Men's Middleweight boxing

From the Beijing Olympics website:

Archery Day 1 Review:
In the ranking round, each athlete shoots 72 arrows from a distance of 70 meters. The round determines the seeding for the single-elimination individual tournament, which starts Sunday, August 10 at Beijing Olympic Green Archery Field.

Mangal Singh Champia of India and Viktor Ruban of Ukraine shot the same score 678, only one point off first place. Champia will get the second seed because he shot 14 Xs compared to Ruban's 8 Xs. The X-ring does not add additional points to the archer's score but is used as a tie-breaker since it is the centre-most ring on the target.

This absolutely stinks. Look at the attitude of this braying jackass, even after Monika Devi has been cleared. Shouldn't he be bending heaven and earth to ensure that EVERY SINGLE medal hope be sent to Beijing instead of doing the opposite? They themselves withdrew her name, even after her coach asked for her to be tested in Beijing, not by the tainted "testers" in India. This is India's weakness--politics at every level.

Too late for Monika
BEIJING, Aug 9 – Amidst reports that weightlifter Monika Devi has been cleared of dope charges, the Indian Olympic Association (IOA) said today that it was too late for her to take part in the Beijing Olympics. “It is too late for Monika to come to Beijing now and take part in the Olympic Games because we have closed the entry process,” IOA Secretary General Randhir Singh told PTI.

Asked if IOA President Suresh Kalmadi could do anything to help Monika take part in the 69kg weight category competition scheduled for August 13, Randhir said it was not possible at this level.

“What can Mr Kalmadi do? It is not National Games. It is Olympic Games and only IOC can take a decision,” said Randhir who is also a member of the International Olympic Committee.

Deputy Chef-de-Mission of Indian Olympic contingent in Beijing Baljit Singh Sethi said, “Monika just cannot take part in the Beijing Olympics.

“As of now, the organisers have not accepted her entry and to be honest I don’t see her competing here,” Sethi added.

Asked to confirm if Monika was indeed coming here, Sethi said, “See, you cannot stop anyone from coming here. But the thing is she cannot take part. Her name has been withdrawn and how can she compete? She will not be allowed to enter the Olympic village.”

Singh pointed out the draw of contestants in the 69kg category has been drawn up and Monika’s name does not figure in that.

The weightlifter from Manipur tested positive for an unnamed anabolic steroid on August 6 and was pulled out of the Beijing-bound Indian squad hours before the flight to Chinese capital.

Chinese knock out Women archers!!!! :(
Even Shamsher and Sandhu out!!!!

Slowly, each of our hopes systematically fading out... :oops:
Baljeet

Post by Baljeet »

Our national Motivation is... Ram Naam Japna Praya Maal Apna :rotfl:
As a Yindoo and SDRE we as a nation should just forget about sports. We can play politics in office, our homes, etc but sports is not for us. We are a nation of Darshaks who want to throw empty cans at players. It was best said in movie, chak de india-'Yeh lota Belen Chalaane waali bharat ki nariyaan hain...' the best chai biscoot scene ever.

When you have people like Kalmadi and Randhir Singh running show!! what you expect...
All these people participating in olympics are probably their relatives.

Bottom like is that Indians just can't compete in real sports due to their wounded civilization, malnutrition
as well as wounded psyche. and then on top the latest tag of Softest Nation.

So!! we are lucky they these 56 people are at least allowed to participate in olympics!! :(

It seems the athletes had to bribe their way into the olympics, or else why this vengeful move against Monica ?
Seems quite obvious that the dope charges against her were cooked up at the last moment to prevent her from leaving.

this is the story of Indian sports administration, lot of non-sporting farts sitting around waiting to cook up careers of budding sportsmen.

Exactly what sort of display of buffoonery is this :shock:

Are these guys strolling down Delhi Zoo or are they marching down during the opening ceremony? And whats with the variety of chappals, track suits, faded green sari (looks it just came out of the washer).....I know that not too many hopes on India getting medals...perhaps they want to entertain the crowd with acts of clowning.

All this talk about 'wounded civilization' being the cause of sporting failures is patent nonsense. The Chinese nurse a grouse against all and sundry, but have a very result driven approach. If you want to get over civilizational 'wounds', emphasizing sporting achievement is one method to do it. Otherwise people will just blame their shortcoming and failures on something that happened 1000 years ago.

Sports today is driven by science and technology, combined with skills and psychology. Those in ability driven sports have to have a base of cardiovascular capability from the childhood and teens. As cshankar repeatedly mentioned, the 10-18 age range is critical for physiological development, but by and large kids in that age groups are not made to drive their bodies to develop during that time.

I'm not an expert in this subject, but it makes sense to me that without such a base, it is hard to find kids with sufficient physical ability to compete at Olympic stage in 'ability' events like running. Those kids who do have high cardiovascular bases from childhood tend to be from poor families who were forced to walk/run a lot due to circumstances, and their physiological development is hampered by poor nutrition, making them injury prone. We could still achieve a lot, but other nations, like Kenya, have a far more advanced system in place to develop such talent.

Its obvious that better nutrition in India is showing its results, as median heights are increasing in that age group over the last decade or so. Right now we have taller but not necessarily healthier kids; nutrition alone is not sufficient, and people must have a consistent base of very good nutrition (especially protein) and significant physical activity during their teenage years, not just for overall health, but to help the would be Olympians among the Indian population to be found easily in the process.

If you want to dwell on cultural aspects, then the nutrition, health and fitness thread is an interesting indicator of how view are, with most posts being about health and nutrition, and discussion of fitness restricted to a few. From my viewpoint, being healthy is not merely about achieving normal cholesterol and BP values. How your physical endurance levels are over time also matters, e.g. what is your achievable all-out maximum physical effort in a chosen activity - treadmill, rowing or something else, today, compared to ~5 years back ?

Our Olympics results can be attributed to low supply of 'raw material' and generally non-existent processing capability to handle that raw material. There are notable exceptions, especially recent initiatives, but it is the nature of the beast that results will not happen overnight, not at Beijing at least. There's no point in using this time to just rehash the usual quadrennial wail about 'why no medals ?'

American athlete stabbed to death in Beijing
New Zealand-born coach of the United States Olympic volleyball team, Hugh McCutcheon, was today mourning the loss of his father-in-law who was murdered in an apparent random attack in central Beijing.

In news which cast a pall over day two of the Olympic Games, Todd Bachman was confirmed dead after being set upon by a knife-wielding man at popular tourist spot the Drum Tower, 5km from the main Olympic site.

His wife Barbara was also attacked, and was reportedly in a critical but stable condition after suffering multiple lacerations and stab wounds in the attack in central Beijing on Saturday.

McCutcheon's wife, Elisabeth Bachman McCutcheon, was with them at the time but she was not injured, Reuters reported.

Reports said the attacker then leapt from the 45m high tower to his death.

"For all intents, it appears to be a random attack by a deranged man," US International Olympic Committee member Jim Easton told The Associated Press.

Christchurch born-and-raised McCutcheon, 38, was told the news as he was preparing his gold medal favourite team for their first game against Venezuela tonight. He has since withdrawn from his duties for the match.

Advertisement

Need a Home Loan?
Compare Home Loans of Major Banks Select a Deal that Fits your Needs!
Apnaloan.com
Knowing your Personality
Most detailed Personality Assessment on the Internet
www.personality100.com
Security Company
Iraqis Detail Shooting by Guard Firm. Read Full Story.
www.washingtonpost.com
Advertisement

Now based in Irvine, California, he represented New Zealand and moved to the US in 1990 to play college volleyball. He took over as US head coach in 2005.

New Zealand Olympic Games chef de mission Dave Currie said he was confident his team remained safe in Beijing.

"Our team security adviser is in close and regular contact with New Zealand and Chinese government officials and we remain satisfied that the security risk to New Zealand Olympic team members is low," he said.

"We will continue to monitor the situation and will advise our athletes of any changes."

He said the New Zealand team were saddened by the news, and extended their sympathies to members of the US team.

US Olympic Committee chairman Peter Ueberroth said the team were stunned.

"It is impossible to describe the depth of our sadness and shock in this tragic hour," he said.

"Our delegation comes to the Games as a family, and when one member of our family suffers a loss, we all grieve with them. Our thoughts, prayers and deepest condolences are with the Bachman and McCutcheon families."

A spokesman from the Beijing Municipal Government told the X inhua news agency that the attacker was Tang Yongming, a 47-year-old from the eastern city of Hangzhou. A local tourist guide was also injured in the attack.

Xinhua cited Zhejiang police as saying Tang had no criminal record, and worked for a factory in Hangzhou before resigning. He divorced in 2006, sold his apartment and moved into a rented apartment.
Speaks volumes about the press control of the CCP that not a murmur occured anywhere when a person related with the olympics is stabbed to death in broad daylight!!!!!

3000 specialist sports schools and 300 elite sports training facilities nationwide.

"China does not make public what it spends on sports programs, but it is estimated to be several hundred million US dollars annually. Xie Qionghuan, former deputy secretary general of the Chinese Olympic Committee added that a clever Olympics strategy has targeted sports 'suitable to the physiques and talents of East Asian peoples.' He gave the examples of events such as table tennis, badminton and gymnastics, in which China has come to excel. These are sports that require quick reflexes and flexibility rather than raw physical strength and stamina. Some critics have claimed that China's success at the Olympics is somewhat undermined by the fact of its having targeted 'soft sports,' underdeveloped in other countries, like shooting and taekwondo as well as women's sports in general. About 63% of China's medals in Athens were won by women - excluding mixed sports - compared with about 40% for the US and Russia. China's relentless drive for Olympic glory means that even this is changing.

"China's sports system is adapted from that of the former Soviet Union. It relies on an extensive network of scouts and coaches who ferret out the best sporting talent from the country's vast pool of youngsters studying in primary schools. Potential future champions are given detailed physical exams to test whether their bone structure and bodies are likely to develop in a way appropriate for a certain sport: height is key for volleyball, strength for weightlifting, agility for gymnastics. Those chosen are then funneled into a pyramid-like sports training structure. At the top of the pyramid are some 300 elite sports training schools nationwide where 46,000 youngsters aged six to 18 undergo intensive daily training. Below this tier of top schools are another 3,000-odd, level-2 specialist sports schools with about 400,000 children in training. Finally at the base, 6 million youth hone their skills at 11,400 regular schools that also happen to specialize in one or another sporting category.

"In Athens, students from Shishahai [one of China's top athletic schools] alone won five gold medals, three in individual and two in team sports. Specializing in six Olympic sports - table tennis, badminton, gymnastics, volleyball, boxing and taekwondo - the school has an annual budget of about $30 million. Two-thirds of this comes from the government. A visit to the cavernous gymnastics training hall revealed row after row of toddlers, some as young as five. Looking cute in leotards, many had missing baby teeth. They lined up obediently, their expressions neither sad nor happy, for hours of bone-aching exercises. Others hung from rings or cart-wheeled perfectly across long mats. The coaches were stern. There seemed to be few allowances made for their age or the fact that at five and six they had virtually no say in the decision to enter training.

"'Sacrifices are necessary to be a champion,' said Liu Hong Bin, the school's director, by way of explanation for the harsh regime. However, the emphasis on sacrifice for the glory of the country to the detriment of the personal fulfillment and on occasion even health of individual athletes is perhaps the most trenchant criticism of China's sports machine. For many athletes, playing through injuries is standard practice. The celebrated diver Hu Jia for example will be participating in the Olympics despite damage to both retinas of his eyes. Champions also face tremendous pressure from the state not to retire even if they feel burnt out. Sports historian Zhao Yu holds that the government-led nature of sports in China leads to an over-emphasis on medals and winning, while developing grassroots love of sports remains neglected."

superb panda assembly line efficiency.
gogna

Post by gogna »

lets hope nation of one billion plus hindustan might come back with one bronze, don't hope for anything else. sad but thats the reality

you might be pushing luck by expecting a bronze, the way things are going...

Of course, I hope we get 10 golds.

Suraj:
India is a case for "In spite of the System". So why don't we have a result-oriented system? Why are we not creating it? I think it is because we lack the motivation to create such a system. We don't have the vision and neither the inclination to create large pool of athletes consistently. So what is 'national motivation' - I define it as the system. All the existing apparatus that can get us a medal. Unless you, me and others form part of the system, our desire and hopes will mean nothing in the end. PT Ushas, Milka Singhs, V.Ananad, Amritaj, Krishnans, Tendulkars are remarkable individuals. These folks are aberration in the system.

We are are not sport materials or sportive. otoh, we dont mind spending billions to make SRKhans and A-mear guys... but we don't have any stuff!~ elsewhere where it demands to show our brain blend with muscle. Our muscle power is genetically programmed for no sports.. we need a new radiation from Sun flares or some nukes to transform (corrections) us.

/.. waiting to get banned for having said this.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

Guys, to be honest, this moral self-flagellation has crossed all limits. The OG is 2 days old. And there are a cpl more weeks left and the best stuff is YET 2 come. And we have folks predicting a bronze, and others believing there will be none. As a die-hard follower of Indian sports, I am aghast, I must disagree, and I am pissed. And having followed much of the team so far, I must protest your lack of belief in them. I hope everyone of you nay-sayers assemble when the medals come and say that you were wrong. That would be decent of you. And I am bloody sure that will happen soon.

What is annoying is that the more sensible adminullahs and the oldies have joined in this chorus of beating their chests out. Can there be some sense and sensibility here? I believed that this is the thread for reporting sporting news, not a lot of whinefests. Whinefests based on facts is fine, but based on what you believe is happening without much credibility that it is not a personal bias is the same as trolling on the nukular thread. Why different standards?

Can we have some normalcy here? All year long, we saw hardly anyone here making any posts let alone opinions, now we are whining about a lack of sense of interests in sports?! Surprises me a bit when these opinions were absent the rest of the year. And charity should begin at home. If BRF reflects India on other threads, so does it in terms of sports interests. And to be honest, the fact that the rollcall was missing before shows that all this whinefest now is a bit like crocodile tears. Sorry if that hurts a bit.

JE Menon wrote::mrgreen:

you might be pushing luck by expecting a bronze, the way things are going...

Of course, I hope we get 10 golds.
In absence of many countrymen to cheer for (only Rathore and Champia left...Sania I will wait till she actually puts her performance where her mouth is) I am just taking refuge in cheering on students I used to teach before....one of them medaled yesterday in swimming (no, I didn't teach him how to swim :mrgreen: ).

Stan, if what you predict is true, I will be happy to come here and say I was wrong but unfortunately if history and current performance is any guide JE Menon might just be right. Giving support and benefit of doubt is fine but doesnt cut it anymore....sports even in the Olympics is now all about cutthroat competition and results (cut it whichever way you want....medals have become 99% of what matters despite all pious claims (mostly by medal winners) about sportsmanship and olympic experience being the most important onlee). Ofcourse what you say is also correct....we have been indulging in too much whinefest....the issue of lack of facilities/funding/raw talent/corruption/awareness has been beaten to death....perhaps it is better to just keep silent and hope for the best. But then again we BR jingos need an outlet for our frustration also and being SDRE we need to vent them on a forum instead of a punching bag in the gym! :D

guys, a word of advice, stop the whinefest and enjoy the game.

Indian sports and athletics have come a long way from even 1990. we may not win too many golds at the OG but that does not mean we are not improving. current performances of our competitors at the world events were unthinkable even a decade ago.

Pockets of excellence are being built up all the time and we will only improve from here.

It may take some time but we WILL get there eventually. have some patience.

p.s. kudos to stan ji and others like vasu moshai for keeping us informed about some heartening developments !!

Stan: Well there is some truth in what you are saying. Just partly.

What to you is self-flagellation or whinning is discussion for others. Well you might have faith in the current delegation, good for you. I do not lean either way. And my posts are not a reflection of lack of belief in them, but about the Indian system.

So what when the Olympics are happening, you don't want us to talk about the drawback in us? You expect just jingo posts? Just because you saw people hardly making any posts or that you are the resident-die-hard-follower of Indian sports does not mean that only your posts are the sensible ones, and the rest meant for the trash.

It is natural that people discuss the events that are happening. You want this to be just news, eh? I am sure each one of us have the ability to go to the Olympics website or NBC's (in USA) to read the news about it.

You expect the aam aadmi to behave and act as Indian sports authorities? Little unfair. I am ready to put my money where my mouth is. I am ready to send some small hard cash to a fund that can be setup to earn one Gold medal for us in 2012. Say $100 for 4 years from me. Promise.
Vriksh

Post by Vriksh »

Why blame the system. India is the sum of its parts (and its citizens)! I could care less about Olympic medals etc if in India we popularized artistic + athletic stuff like the Brazilians have done with Capoeira in order to improve fitness, we could do the same with KalariPayattu.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Capoeira
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kalarippayattu

I also ask each member of BRF to do his or her part in demanding that the children they see around them be encouraged to develop athletic ability. This requires discipline and constant attention until such ideas are part of the child's life and not a luxury. It is just like potty training an infant or getting them to brush their teeth etc. In 10-15 years time these efforts will yield results. For example if any of you have children get them to start living life where they push themselves physically to attain things that ordinarily they would not do, get them started on a balanced exercise routine that hones their nascent abilities. There are plenty of websites that offer good advice. And you can always come to BRF to tailor things to Indian needs.

As a culture we have not realized the importance of being physically fit, having athletic prowess etc, since many of these attributes do not have much importance in the current marriage market. However as more and more Indian travel outside and realize that they have neglected an important facet of life, things will change.

Secondly of the reasons that India does so badly in organizational realms is: there was a lack of communication between the peoples of India which is only recently changing. Most other countries/civilizations have had stronger central communication systems that were able to propagate ideas far more effectively than the Indian system has been able to do.

The Chinese with the central bureaucracy/language formulated from Beijing.
Islam with the Mecca/Medina, 5 prayers and going to the Mosque on Fridays
The west with Church etc.

All these were place where people could meet socially, exchange and propagate ideas with some kind of central authority able to sift thru the noise and propagate ideas that were useful. A single language was also useful in such exchange of ideas. It is only now (~10 years) that I can sit on my computer and communicate with fellow Indians about various things I care about.

In ancient India temples were a place where all people used to congregate regularly and the affairs of the state were freely discussed, it was also a place where all kinds of education was imparted to the Hoi Polloi. A destruction of the native education systems by various invasions changing times etc has destroyed Indian ethos, even today the temples indulge socially less useful rituals rather than the deep scholarship they were known for. I fail to understand why even today there is no mass movement to force local temples to coordinate services such as tuition for underprivileged children
Ameet

Post by Ameet »

Jeev Milkha Singh is tied 7th after 3rd round in the PGA. Hope he can finish in the top 5.

http://sports.yahoo.com/golf/pga/leader ... rqyQIogsUF

by Stan
I must protest your lack of belief in them. I hope everyone of you nay-sayers assemble when the medals come and say that you were wrong.
I will be the first one to say that I was wrong. Let's cheer them.

Raja Bose wrote:Are these guys strolling down Delhi Zoo or are they marching down during the opening ceremony? And whats with the variety of chappals, track suits, faded green sari (looks it just came out of the washer).....I know that not too many hopes on India getting medals...perhaps they want to entertain the crowd with acts of clowning.
Boss, at least tell us what would you have preferred?
Ameet

Post by Ameet »

Raja Bose wrote:Exactly what sort of display of buffoonery is this :shock:

Are these guys strolling down Delhi Zoo or are they marching down during the opening ceremony? And whats with the variety of chappals, track suits, faded green sari (looks it just came out of the washer).....I know that not too many hopes on India getting medals...perhaps they want to entertain the crowd with acts of clowning.
It was no different to many other athletes and officials from various countries. Men in suits had their shirts untucked / half tucked, Nadal himself had his hair greasy as ever looking completely unkempt. It was hot, humid and the teams had to wait for hours while the chinese celebrated finishing themselves off in red glory. It was a celebration, that it was the Indian team was doing.

We don't expect too much form the Indian team and are aware of its shortcomings, but there is no reason to pick on the minutest details.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

SwamyG wrote:Stan: Well there is some truth in what you are saying. Just partly.

Boss, my being an expert at anything is non-sequitur here. There is a way to word whinefests too. Its not like I dont whine. I have whined more on this thread than most, but I dont see a point in whining that "we wont win, we are like this onlee" et al. The timing is also weird. What kind of a constructive comment is all this, but a reflection of self-bias on the negative aspects of things? I mean I dont even see a semblance of rationality in some beliefs/claims, except that some of the folks having see a cpl of instances of heart-breaking losses and then claim "we are like this onleee." You can fine-word it as "all for the sake of discussion." A discussion should have a thesis, what is yours? The Indian system is super-bad that we wont have winners?! What else?!

FWIW, let me tell you what mine is. "India may not be super hunky-dory like the Chinese factory system or the Oiropean self-interest-based competition system, but we are not super terrible either. So much that all this whining would be rotfl-able had it been on the nukular thread or other strat-based threads. We have a system where personal interests and fondness overcomes resistance from institutional and other oiseaulish roadblocks. So we need to cherish what we have given what is put in. When the GoI has nuff cash to blow on all these extra-curricular stuff, and one day it will, we should bitch and moan when the system produces less than what is put in." That is what "patience" and "perspective" means.

OTOH, I see more world champions from India today than I did when I started scouring for news years back. Watch that word: We have world champions. That is NOT a semantic one, but that is the truth. We do have world champions. If you dont know who they are, sit back and watch this space as the news keeps pouring out. I also see many future world champions. I dont claim innocence when I say I dont see many posts here. That is the truth. I knew it would be emotionally hurtful, but I am bloody sure if many of the sportsmen looked at this thread to keep them updated, they will puke at all the negativity. I say that at having tried one or two competitive sports and giving up.

At the end of the day, I think sports is a method to get fit. All this self-flagellation et al would make more sense in a system where diabetes and heart attacks are common place, if it is translated to something like more people taking to methods to get personally fit so that a long, healthy life becomes a reality. There cant be a better way for the Indic system to get farther than others: The workforce being healthy and fit. Let me also go underhand in asking how many of you here prepare for a marathon. Rotfl-able in the general context, not now, I guess.

If there had been a reason for folks to whine about crikkiters, I would have been ok, alas a bit grudgingly. Heh, these folks need your support whatever that word means. Not some "Anjali did nt make it. Awneet did nt make it. Sania wont make it." Do you even know what it means 2 diss at these folks? I dont ask it semantically, I am asking an honest question. Does any of you who disses at the system and the folks in general know what it means for the real sportspeople? I hope none of these guys ever read some of your negative comments. I mean it.

This thread, and the whole forum, in some sense has degenerated into a sort of place where folks whine their biases without having any patience to have a constructive argument. It has become a forum for showing off the fact that each one has a big ego. And the "information" I get comes after looking at reams of threads of flame-baiting. The rest of the stuff that is unrelated to my point, I will skip. Same case for other posts that dont any meaning to this thread. Sorry to see this thread has become the last resort for those who cant whine about things in general elsewhere on this forum.

I am ready to put my money where my mouth is. I am ready to send some small hard cash to a fund that can be setup to earn one Gold medal for us in 2012. Say $100 for 4 years from me. Promise.
Now you got something constructive. Let me get back to you soon about some ventures that will take your cash and get you some tax benefits too. I have to say that I have to search, but my initial search on this was all fruitless. I will search more. The womens hockey team should be real happy to hear from you.

edited.
Last edited by Rahul M on 11 Aug 2008 01:01, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: OT post deleted.

SaiK, let me remind you that we are homo sapiens, not Mus musculus.
that post poves nothing whatsoever.

moreover, a plethora of pointless (and undecipherable) posts is no substitute for discussion. If you can't contribute constructively, please rethink your posting habits.
regards,
Rahul.

Satya_anveshi wrote: Boss, at least tell us what would you have preferred?
I would prefer some respect for the event (it is after all the Olympics not a local mohalla competition)....and uniformity in dress (call it an uniform if you will).
Ameet wrote: It was no different to many other athletes and officials from various countries. Men in suits had their shirts untucked / half tucked, Nadal himself had his hair greasy as ever looking completely unkempt. It was hot, humid and the teams had to wait for hours while the chinese celebrated finishing themselves off in red glory. It was a celebration, that it was the Indian team was doing.

We don't expect too much form the Indian team and are aware of its shortcomings, but there is no reason to pick on the minutest details.
Granted it was a celebration but it was also the opening ceremony march past of all participating contingents. Now nobody is asking the athletes to do a military style march but hardly means you stroll down the path in a loosely formed crowd usually seen at railway station ticket-counters with various stages of dress (see other pics on the rediff slide show for comparison between various national contingents).

Mind you this has nothing to do with the athletic shortcomings of the present Indian team (I still have hope in double trap and archery) but Impressions matter...public perception and presentation matters....these minute details do matter. They are only representing the country in the top sporting event in the world. Hardly an excuse to point at other contingents and say they were also like this onlee....their sloppiness is their business. As desis we can always take an attitude that we are like this onlee and who gives a damn about presentation....high thinking simple living and all that....but then the consequence of that is you wont be taken seriously because it shows lack of seriousness (aka chalta hai attitude) and respect. Same reason why one does not turn up for his/her job interview in chappals, shorts and t-shirts.

If you want to argue that first we should try win more medals and then pay attention to these other details later....thats like saying lets make sure every man woman and child in India lives comfortably with roti, kapda, makan before we start doing any research in areas like aerospace, nuclear physics, defence etc. All this stuff matters....its part of the same package.

Stan, since you said you have done an initial search....do these olympic ventures started by Padukone and Mittal accept donations from private citizens?
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

Raja Bose wrote: Stan, since you said you have done an initial search....do these olympic ventures started by Padukone and Mittal accept donations from private citizens?
I had not done that. I had checked with a few hockey folks at bharatiyahockey, and they had no idea how to send contributions to deserving people. I did nt want to go through the IHF route, as I was nt sure if it would go to the "below-national-level at this point, but could get to the national level soon and a financial incentive would definitely help at this stage" people + coaching centers folks with help in machines, facilities etc. I have read a cpl of stories about the womens hockey team {even the national one}is paired up 6 folks to one hotel room! That is the state of women's hockey despite all the chak de bs. What chak de, how much money did SRK & co donate to the women's team from their profits? Should nt that be a trademark infringement of some sorts, if they did nt help the team in return. At least, legally, let alone morally and ethically.

But I checked the olympic gold quest webpage. And this is what it says.
Clicky
Seems tailored to ensure maximal pain for NRIs. I wish every one of these "please contribute" links had a use your credit card, click it and get done with button.

Mittal does nt seem to have this contribute button. Here is their link.
Clicky

Thanks for the links. I guess Mittal doesn't need donations but appreciate what he is doing despite living abroad.

The OGQ page does have a Citibank A/c no. though still need routing info. Probably drop them an email at the email address given on the page. Is there an equivalent of Paypal in India (since eBay owns Baazee)?....this check/DD business is designed to cause maximal pain for NRIs.
Stan_Savljevic wrote: But I checked the olympic gold quest webpage. And this is what it says.
Clicky
Seems tailored to ensure maximal pain for NRIs. I wish every one of these "please contribute" links had a use your credit card, click it and get done with button.

Mittal does nt seem to have this contribute button. Here is their link.
Clicky

not even one medal so far.

Zero and counting.

http://sports.yahoo.com/olympics/beijing/medals
Ameet

Post by Ameet »

Jeev Milkha Singh finishes the PGA tied 9th. Congrats.

In men's trap shooting, Mansher Singh would have been in medal bracket but for one round. His preliminary card read 24,25,20,24,24 giving him 117 out of 125. The silver medallist scored 120, which Mansher would have achieved had he scored just a 23 in the 3rd round. The gold medalist scored 121.

In the 10m men's air rifle event, Abhinav Bindra is in the final, finishing 4th out of the 8 finalists with 596/600. Gagan Narang narrowly missed out, in 9th place, with the same score as those in 5-8 position, of 595/600, but worse progressive score it appears. Final is in half an hour:
Men's 10m air rifle qual
Men's 10m air rifle final list
Vivek Kumar

Post by Vivek Kumar »

First post here on BR.
Bindra doing great. Rank 2 at present.

watch live at http://www.nbcolympics.com

Three more shots left. Bindra is in #1 position
1 1334 BINDRA Abhinav IND 596 10.7 10.3 10.4 10.5 10.5 10.5 10.6 73.5 669.5
2 1240 HAKKINEN Henri FIN 598 10.1 10.2 10.5 10.0 10.2 10.3 10.0 71.3 669.3
3 1128 ZHU Qinan CHN 597 10.2 10.0 9.9 10.2 10.1 10.7 10.1 71.2 668.2
4 1598 MOLDOVEANU Alin George ROU 596 10.2 9.8 10.2 10.1 10.4 10.4 10.7 71.8 667.8
5 1321 SIDI Peter HUN 595 10.3 10.8 9.6 10.8 10.0 10.2 10.7 72.4 667.4
6 1655 PLETIKOSIC Stevan SRB 595 10.3 10.4 10.6 9.7 10.8 10.6 9.6 72.0 667.0
7 1623 PRIKHODTCHENKO Konstantin RUS 595 10.1 9.4 10.5 10.3 10.6 10.6 10.3 71.8 666.8
8 1620 KRUGLOV Serguei RUS 595 9.2 10.4 10.0 10.7 9.7 10.6 10.5 71.1 666.1
Vivek Kumar

Post by Vivek Kumar »

Bindra is number1 now. I hope he carries it through.