Re: Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan (TSP): 31 Oct 201

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Discussion: slavery, genetic history of South/Central As

shiv wrote:Islam means killing and slavery. That killing and slavery are part and parcel of the "Islamist values and drivers". Nothing else. That is the model. Please educate me if Islam means anything more than that to you. As long as you labor under the delusion that there is more to be found - you will believe that I am somehow being insulting to Islam by attributing "human foibles" to murderers while ignoring "Islamic values and drivers" which you somehow believe exist beyond what I have described.
half right, half wrong!

You're right that Killing and Slavery are part and parcel of the "Islamist values and drivers"! However with the position you have taken, you wish to deny that there is a method to these atrocities! You're portraying them as mindless acts.

You're also ignoring expansionism in Islam as a main driver!

shiv wrote:Islam means killing and slavery. That killing and slavery are part and parcel of the "Islamist values and drivers". Nothing else. That is the model. Please educate me if Islam means anything more than that to you. As long as you labor under the delusion that there is more to be found - you will believe that I am somehow being insulting to Islam by attributing "human foibles" to murderers while ignoring "Islamic values and drivers" which you somehow believe exist beyond what I have described.
half right, half wrong!

You're right that Killing and Slavery are part and parcel of the "Islamist values and drivers"! However with the position you have taken, you wish to deny that there is a method to these atrocities! You're portraying them as mindless acts.

Please RajeshA ji. Once again you are attributing words to me where no such words have been used. YOU are accusing me of calling Islamic murders as "mindless acts". Nowhere have I said that. I have been insisting that the murder and coercion are premeditated and are part of the design. How does that become "mindless" in your perception?

Power hunger and domination is the first design in Islam. (You better believe this or else...!) Expansionism is a secondary consequence of the hunger for power and domination. Piety and protection are not anywhere near the top design goals. The view you seem to favor is one in which Islamic hordes were in the business of piety and protection of Muslims and elimination of Hindus. Is this correct?
dada

Post by dada »

In a system, intelligent actors are characterised by their ability to adapt to & shape their environment (by hook or by crook) In case of muslims, the army (organised band of young men prepared for organised violence) has been the core of their strategy Have muslims ever been driven by the need to "co-evolve" with their environment in which they are embedded ? . This means that muslims have to be prepared for a substantial change or evolution in their "IDENTITY" . On the contrary we see the extremist elements in their system , slaughtering & effectively silencing people with a different worldview ! Thus the islamic social system is rightly expected to maintain its identity by all possible means (including violence ) This process has just started as globalization of ideas picksup strength !

#Shiv
Collective Islam is driven by a hunger for ABSOLUTE POWER & DOMINATION
This is its CORE DRIVER
In this Aspect, Muslims are extremely clear headed than all others
They murder-kill with an absolutely clear conscience

(Note: Study the Logic behind Qurbani offered during Eid etc. Amazing Strategy to inculcate
this sense among Muslims, Camel Slaughter Videos on Youtube show even Muslim children as small as 3 yrs watching them with great pride !)

Expansionism, Piety,Protection,Coercion are all secondary Things in their Scheme of Things

We are dealing with a MIND-FUL organised Animal !
First we need a strategy to deal with it
.........and LAST we need a Strategy to fix it permanently

RajeshA wrote:half right, half wrong!

Please RajeshA ji. Once again you are attributing words to me where no such words have been used. YOU are accusing me of calling Islamic murders as "mindless acts". Nowhere have I said that. I have been insisting that the murder and coercion are premeditated and are part of the design. How does that become "mindless" in your perception?
I did not say, you used the words "mindless"! I just said, you portrayed them as such through your earlier position.

Your position was/is that Islamic Power Elite targeted both - Subcontinental Dharmics as well as Subcontinental Muslim Converts for killing and slavery! They did not discriminate, discrimination was not a tool they used.

Secondly you said, that "killing and slavery are part and parcel of the Islamist values and drivers. Nothing else." That sounds to me pretty much like "mindless" killing and slavery with no further motive than the acts themselves!

Now you say that "the murder and coercion are premeditated and part of the design"! That is BTW the position, I too stand for.

If according to you, coercion was 'premeditated and part of the design', then to what end? If the design was conversion of the Subcontinental Dharmics, then how would it work if there was no use of discrimination as a tool! Why would a Subcontinental Dharmic want to convert if he was going to be thrashed by the Islamic Power Elite regardless of his conversion! If I am going to be punched regardless of whether I recite the Kalimah or not, then why should I recite it and give up my Dharmic faith!

So I just have some difficulty understanding how the "Premeditation and Design" work together with "Both Muslims and Hindus were targeted"!
shiv wrote:Power hunger and domination is the first design in Islam. (You better believe this or else...!) Expansionism is a secondary consequence of the hunger for power and domination. Piety and protection are not anywhere near the top design goals. The view you seem to favor is one in which Islamic hordes were in the business of piety and protection of Muslims and elimination of Hindus. Is this correct?
I have long advocated that the Piety is simply a thin veneer that Muslims wear. It is just another word for "Submission" to the Diktat of the Islamist Overlord and Islamic Brutalism.

There is also as far as I am concerned much evidence of "Protection of Muslims" being a top priority. In fact, on the contrary, the Islamic Power Elite makes it its business to use the Muslim masses as fuel for its power hunger. Why else would one encourage 'Fidayeen' and suicide bombers? Why else would one be so war-mongering unless one was indifferent to the safety and protection of one's Muslim people?

Elimination of the Hindu however is a different cup of tea and was given much priority. There was also a second option given to Hindus, that of Dhimmism. Dhimmism is a secondary route to the same effect - submission to the diktat of the Islamic Power Elite. Dhimmism also gives the Islamic Power Elite Islamic sanction to fully exploit the Dhimmis - for slavery, for rape, for jiziya!

But even Dhimmism too can only exist if the Islamic Power is strong and can rule the land, and that is possible if there is a large section of the population whose loyalty belongs to the Islamic Power Elite, and those can only be Muslims. So conversion of the Subcontinental Dharmics remained a priority. Otherwise a handful of Central Asian Turks would not have succeeded in ensuring that 40% of the Subcontinental people would have become Muslims by 2011.

Expansionism - through conquering, migrating, converting, procreating, dhimmifying, by whatever means possible, remains an intrinsic part of Islam and is in fact crucial for the domination of the Islamic Power Elite. One cannot separate their "Power hunger and domination" from their main means of effecting that - expansionism.

What we see in Pakistan is the same Islamic script being repeated but without the Hindus to feed upon, so the Pakistanis have turned into Cannibals and are now eating away at the "less pious"! But the Ideological Expansionist dynamic is following the same script to a tee.

First the ideological tent is made narrower (Wahhabandi). Most Muslims are pushed outside the tent (Shias, Barelvis, Sufis, ...). Then the Muslims outside the tent are plundered, raped, killed, enslaved, etc. until they relent and enter the narrower tent of Wahhabandism! As long as there are people outside the tent, there will be an Islamic Mission to accomplish. Until all are within the tent, those outside can plundered, raped, killed and enslaved. Why? Because those such is the methodology of Islam to get everybody into the tent!

The point is that before this all started, it was the Subcontinental Dharmics who were the target for coercion. Muslim on Muslim Peace started only after the Dharmics became extinct in Pakistan.

The Islamic Mission legitimizes the right of the Islamic Power Elite to rule and to do whatever they please in the name of Islam. Once the Islamic Mission is 'over', then the 'pious' would be demanding that the Islamic Power Elite delivers on other things like good governance, security, prosperity, etc., all things for which there is no recipe! So the Islamic Power Elite would always like to portray to the people that the Mission is not complete and they have to suffer still more, and their sacrifices are all for the sake and in service of Islam and Islamic Mission.

The Wahhabandi Movement is giving the RAPE a big scare. One might have seen articles where "Pakistani Liberals" have been lamenting that Pakistan should not have done away with all its Hindus, or articles which say that the number of Hindus in Pakistan is much higher than census figures suggest. Why are they making such noises? It is just another means to tell the Wahhabandis that there is no need for this second phase of Islamization to start, as the first phase is not yet over - there are still Hindus to convert!

For such reasons, Pakistan would also also not let go of Kashmir issue. It is another way for Pakistani Power Elite to escape the responsibility of truly delivering to the people. It is another Islamic Mission, which is incomplete, so the people have no right to demand the luxuries of good governance, security, prosperity, education and the rest.

If some Pakistanis suggest to let go of Kashmir issue, it is because they do not want the Islamic Power Elite to continue to use the issue to deny the Pakistani people some delivery of services!

Summarizing, I just want to make the point that the Islamic Mission is central to Islam and its Power Elite can hold on to power only as long as it can show that it is pursuing it. During its pursuit all manner of atrocities on those outside the tent are allowed by Islam and the Islamic Power Elite uses that sanction to fulfill its desires of power, wealth, land and women. Before the Dharmics became extinct in Pakistan, their conversion to Islam was the main Islamic Mission. It has changed since then!

brihaspati wrote:Well, I am not too keen on giving absolution to the Islamics. Given that such a name-change will not be recognized globally - the only consequence will be lending wing to Thaparites - who always claim there never was any trauma from Islamics.
Brihaspatiji, I don't suppose a people who fear the triumph of Thaparites from an ineffective change of perception can actually be expected to go all the way and physically occupy the Hindu Kush mountains. Little wonder that an overnight conversion to Islam making one a "Killer of Hindus" from a "Hindu to be killed" would seem an attractive option.

Like I said earlier, I have three sets of people who were among my ancestors
1. One set fled from Islamic atrocities and lived to tell the tale
2. Another set were killed
3. The third set converted to Islam and started saying "I am now the victor. I have defeated the Hindus". A huge proportion of these people live in Pakistan.

There is no absolution being given to Islamics here. It is an attempt to show up Islam as it really is, rather than whitewash it and present it as a faith of fervor, discrimination and equality that discriminated between the faithful and the unbelievers and selectively weeded out the unbelievers while protecting the faithful. Islam is nothing like that. However I respect the right of people who think that is Islam to support that mis-belief.
shiv ji,
which one is a greater fantasy :
(a) proposing an unilateral name-change which we have no legal way of enforcing as globally accepted - but the proposed change in itself will be used by the establishment in its attempt to clear Islam of all guilt on the subcontinent
(b) proposing at least the idea that we plan for and prepare to extend sovereignty to the area so that we can concretely change the name?

If you think of the latter as a bigger fantasy - no problem - but it is a positive fantasy that includes the objective of the fantasy of (a) in its wishful form. You will still be able to change the name through fantasy (b) without the risk of actually it being hijacked by an establishment much more entrenched and powerful than you "now"- into clearing Islamic guilt.

Actually, it is well known that at a certain stage in India's Brit Raj period - calls for full sovereignty over all parts of the subcontinent in the hands of the indigenous - were ridiculed as a fantasy. Illustrious names - mocked the concept and their proposers as fantasy. They similarly dubbed such attempts adventurism or fantasy that is typically indulged in by people who were either instigating the nation into conflict and "hurt" and "violence" (my! my! what a shame!) or were themselves too scared to stand up and fight.

Some of the poor proposers took umbrage and went headlong into conflict without waiting for proper preparation. Of course the mockers found Brit Raj counter-action justified. At one stroke the hot-heads fell into the trap laid by their critics and were eliminated. Thus the critics managed
(a) not to allow the "full independence" proposers the proper time to prepare - organizationally, politically, and mass-mobilization-wise
(b) to gain the good-will and "I am for you oh master" - "I am your best bet if you are thinking of sharing power" - from the Brits

These very same mockers switched over to the very proposal that they had once virulently attacked - once the field was cleared by the selective action of the "masters", of all potential rivals. Switching over and radical reversals of positions are a sign of greatness perhaps - just as one greatness had no difficulty in writing a campaign letter to get recruits for a war to be fought by the Brits from Indian youth while later on clamping down on such militancy on every case such militancy went directly against the Brits. A military adventure that targeted India from outside - against the Brits - was anathema. But providing cannon fodder for the very same Brits was okay.

This is what mocking "lack of will to fight and get hurt" usually leads to in India. It almost always leads to reveal the immense shortsightedness of those who manage to crawl into state power by astute collaboration with the existing establishment. The congrez faction under MKG showed this prescience repeatedly - first by mocking "full independence" as impracticable/fantasy and then shamelessly taking that very slogan up. Then putting up Islamism as an integral part of nationhood, denying the possibility of Partition - with such absolutely grounded/practicable/concrete and non-fantastical declarations that the Partition will onlee take place over some great's deadbody - to be proved wrong again, and again, and again.

I do hope people do not fall for that trap of being accused of being fantastic. Once the goal is set clear, prepare for it - coldly and calmly, without heeding detractors. We should re-establish sovereignty over the AFPak region. That is necessary for our own security. We do not have to rush into an adventure because we are being mocked at for our supposed fear of pain and hurt. In the process of obtaining that sovereignty we should not retreat from doing unpleasant stuff - as some of those regions may need unpleasant things to be done. We should not believe in the myths of unconquerability of the "tribes" - as they did appear with grass in their teeth to the proper treatment.

For the main line of concern for this thread - a reminder to the Pakis that they are mostly the product of rape - can be carried out without going for a risky name-change that may actually help out Islamism on the subcontinent.
parsuram

Post by parsuram »

brihaspati ji: As I said earlier, I agree with your suggestion that we wait until India has contiguity with the Hindu Kush before we push for a name change. Not that it is necessary, and I disagree that it would be difficult to get it done, given the offensive nature of the name in the first place. So, if India was to approach apropreate international organizations - through the UN, or some International Geographical organization etc., given the large number of useless people in such organizations, they will be more than glad to take this issue and make it a football with which to score goals in support of their own uselessness. Nevertheless, we should not do it. It is a far more difficult goal, but one that should have priority number one -re-establishing Indian sovreignity over all the lands of traditional Bharat going back to the times of the MB. After all, politically, that was what that war was all about. Duryodhan and the Kaurvas wanted "regional kings and kingdoms" such as Karna in Anga, Shakuni in Gandhar Jayadrath in Sindh, and so on, who would be feet lickers for Duryodhan and his cronies, depending on him to stay in power. Yudhishter and the Pandavas (and Lord Krishna), on the other hand, was adamant on maintaining a strong center, having successfuly carried out the horse sacrifice. Djinnha and his moslim league were later day Duryodhan and the Kaurvas. Too bad this time it was not settled and decided at Kurukshetra (what little was settled at Kurukshetra was a clear victory over the Djinnha people - there are no moslims there now, or 1-2 families who might have trickled back in). So. Yes. l am with you on this. Let us wait.
member_19686

Post by member_19686 »

Y I Patel wrote:I have authoritative sources who say that "Hindu Kush" is actually a corruption of "Sindhu Ghosh" or The King of Sindhu.
Who are these "authoritative sources"?

Extraordinary claims require extraordinary evidence.

There is some fancy claim on that wikipedia link about how Kush could be from Koh. If the argument had any merit, what is the reason why the "-koh" in the names of **ANY** single other hill around the Khyber ranges of Afghanistan did not similarly get etymologically converted into "-Kush"? We do find many hills of the Himalayan passess in Afghanistan retain the '-Koh' word to mean Hill. Some examples: Safed-Koh, Ambar-Koh, Pase-Koh, Man-Koh, Kamber-Koh, Sapal-Koh, Sera-Koh, Feroz-Koh, Shib-Koh, Zer-i-Koh Khwaja-du-Koh, Koh-i-baba, Koh-i-Safi, Koh-i-Soleman, Koh-i-Mondi, Koh-i-Qaf, Koh-i-Amroda... there are many more hill / Hill-district names in Afghanistan that retain the Arabic-Persian title of 'Koh' without corrupting into Pushto 'Kush'. Now, can seculars name some positive examples to demonstrate where 'Koh' did become 'Kush'?

brihaspati wrote: shiv ji,
(a) proposing an unilateral name-change which we have no legal way of enforcing as globally accepted - but the proposed change in itself will be used by the establishment in its attempt to clear Islam of all guilt on the subcontinent
(b) proposing at least the idea that we plan for and prepare to extend sovereignty to the area so that we can concretely change the name?
To me it is curious that you are asking such a question. In fact I never proposed a name change, while others may have suggested that in the course of the discussion.

All I have been trying to point out was relevant for the Pakistan thread, not for this thread which was created because my statements seemed to create a fairly big off topic ruckus.

To sum up, my proposition was that "slaves" kidnapped in India by Islamic hordes ended up in huge numbers within India itself - in the area that is now called Pakistan, where they were employed or used as concubines. Furthermore, because transport by land over hundreds of kilometers was not that easy 500 (or even 300 years ago) the numbers of slaves going out to central Asia were likely to be smaller than the numbers who were transported to nearby places. I also questioned the methodology by which anyone can actually count 50,000 or 100,000 slaves. In addition it occurred to me that Islamic militias are remarkably violent and indiscriminate people and may hardly have been under great pressure to verify that kidnapped people were Hindus and not Muslims. Conversion may have been no guarantee against kidnapping. In fact the conversion of the area that is Pakistan to Islam started 1000 years ago and the process of conversion was fairly mature by the 1500s as far as my knowledge goes. Most of the stories of Islamic rape and kidnapping seem to have come from Northwest India. Since that area was full of Muslims to start with (over 80% by 1947) I proposed that many of the kidnapped people who were transported across the Hindu Kush might well have been Muslim. That might also explain the almost total lack of any visible remaining evidence of Hindus in large numbers in Central Asia. All this is conjecture. I offer no proof. I never claimed that I was about to offer proof.

The idea of stating all this was to point out the irony of the state of Pakistan:
  • That area was the first to be converted
    it is the area that has actually seen 1000 years of Islamic rule.
    Many people were kidnapped from that area over centuries. Many may well have been Muslim
    Islamic bestiality as usual was likely perpetrated on Muslims in the past, in addition to non Muslims as occurs now
For these reasons, any Pakistani triumphalism about "defeating Hindus" is laughably misplaced. Many ancestors of Pakistanis are likely the children of raped women or the descendants of forcibly converted Hindus.

Can you take the trouble of explaining to me where and how you believe I proposed a change of name?

The name change argument is a bogey - yet another cooked up strawman attributed to me. I am not at all sure why you imagined that I am demanding a change of name. Your idea of proposing occupation before name change is fine. Maybe you do want a name change. But I have not asked for that. I don't even think "we" are going to occupy that area any more than "Pakistanis' subjugated and conquered Hindustan, and a name change could come more easily if one is looking for a change of name. But it wasn't me.

I have only suggested a change of perception of what happened in Pakistan and consequently a change of perception of what might have transpired in the mountains known as Hindu Kush. I have not demanded that anyone should change his perceptions. My views are posted as "take it or leave it".

In general. a lot of unlikely things can be done if the time is right. As a no-brainer example, the creation of Bangladesh occurred because the conflict was timed to perfection. The time was right. Maybe other people have ideas about what the time is right for now, but I see the time as being right for some things now. i have only hinted at them before but have not spelt them out:

The bestial horrors of Islam and Islamic fundamentalism have been revealed to the entire world by the actions of the Taliban in Afghanistan in the late 1990s, the atrocities of 9-11, and 26/11 and the events in Pakistan. This is the best time on earth to point out what is wrong with Islam and force Muslims to choose what they want Islam to be known for. Specifically for India, which has suffered in innumerable ways from Pakistan's embracing of Islam fro the specific purpose of being a civilizational opposition to India, no time has been better than now to start setting the record straight and getting Muslims to choose what they want their religion to represent beyond all the filthy lies that have been told about "Peace" etc.

Everyone in the world is aware that some religions may have enemies. Christianity went through turmoil fighting its enemies until the Church itself was sidelined. This is the time to do it to Islam. How do you diss Islam? How do you make Muslims see the contempt, rather than fear or respect with which others hold their faith? Here is my view on that.

In my opinion, complaining about Islamic excesses against Jews, Christians or Hindus will not cut any ice with Muslims. It is normal for them to expect enmity from those groups. No Muslim supporter of fundamentalism would feel any remorse at being shown news stories or images of jews, Christians or Hindus being killed. In my opinion, the way to break into the fundamentalist Islamic supporter's peace of mind (the middle class Pakistani) is to mock Islam and make a big show of how Muslims are killing Muslims even as we laugh at that and cheer the fact that they are killing each other. It is my contention that we dare them to stop if they can. They can neither stop killing each other nor prevail over unbelievers.

The idea of introducing a revisionist view of exactly who was killed in Hindu Kush was in this connection. That is all. A bit of forum gaa*d masti if you like. :D Educating Paklurks about the fact that their grandmothers were being raped in the Hindu kush after having their burqas ripped off by the Muslim invaders that Pakis admire so much. Sorry if this is OT for this thread. But the topic was never meant to grow into a new thread in any case.

Singha,

The appearance of Romanis in the middle east is around the establishment of the Ghorid empire
i.e. post 1000 AD and the theory is that they either were forced to migrate westward after loosing
to Muslim armies or were slaves brought to the middle east. The most charitable explanation I heard
is that they were musicians and sorcerers who were brought by the Persian court but IMO it fails
to explain the large numbers (current estimate of Romani population is 6-20 million). They later migrated
to Europe.

There are scholarly work on slaves from the subcontinent during the Muslim period. One can search for
them if one is interested.

The interesting thing was that the Jannaseries who were mostly converted Slavs were routinely used in
wars against the Slavs themselves very similar to the converted population in Af-Pak being used in wars
deeper in the subcontinent.

According to some academics (I read Khushwant Singh repeating the same so as to explain female foeticide
amongst Sikhs) the concepts of child marriage and female foeticide in North-West India can be traced back
to the same period. I guess nubile, virgin females would be in great demand in the slave markets and harems.

Anyone know the Pashto name for the Indus river?

Shiv is right. We should divide the invasions into two phases. The first "raiding" phase would require slaves to be sold
elsewhere. The "settled" phase would require the slaves to be used within the Empire. So the Romanis would be the result
of the first phase and the "settled" phase slaves would now be Muslims within the subcontinent.

I have been searching for the meaning of the word Kush. Google mostly throws up Koenrad Elst's atricle on Hindu Kush. I am looking for an alternate source. Kush is not the word for kill in Pashto. It is supposed to be Persian. I am looking for Persian sources.

I have spent that last 30 minutes trying unsuccessfully. The only reference for kush is "Hindu kush". Other refs have no connection with killing at all. It seem to be the only usage of the word kush in the world judging from Google results.

The Persian for suicide is "Khud-Kushi" i.e. "self-killing".

Supratik wrote:Shiv,

The Persian for suicide is "Khud-Kushi" i.e. "self-killing".
Supratik - I am looking for a Persian/Farsi source for the meaning of the word "Kush/Kushi"

The only Farsi words I have been able to find are "Marg" for death and "Intihar" for suicide. Who exactly told the British in Afghanistan that Hindu Kush meant Hindu Kiling? Any historic refs? I found and 1856 map with the name Hindoo Koosh.

parsuram wrote:shiv ji: Try http://translate.google.com/translate_t
I found that earlier. Kush gets nothing. But the results for "death" are in Persian text

OK found one ref:
http://www.easypersian.com/farsi/lesson_22.htm

I killed him - "mein koshtaem"

Here is something:
The earliest known use of this name was by the famous Arab traveller, Ibn Battūta c. 1334, who wrote: "Another reason for our halt was fear of the snow, for on the road there is a mountain called Hindūkūsh, which means "Slayer of Hindus," because the slave boys and girls who are brought from Hind (India) die there in large numbers as a result of the extreme cold and the quantity of snow."
There are others who consider this origin to be a "folk etymology", and put forward alternate possibilities for its origin: that the name is a corruption of "Caucasus Indicus." In modern Persian, the word "Kush" is derived from the verb Kushtan - to defeat, kill, or subdue. This could be interpreted as a memorial to the Indian captives who perished in the mountains while being transported to Central Asian slave markets

brihaspati wrote: shiv ji,
To me it is curious that you are asking such a question. In fact I never proposed a name change, while others may have suggested that in the course of the discussion.

All I have been trying to point out was relevant for the Pakistan thread, not for this thread which was created because my statements seemed to create a fairly big off topic ruckus.

To sum up, my proposition was that "slaves" kidnapped in India by Islamic hordes ended up in huge numbers within India itself - in the area that is now called Pakistan, where they were employed or used as concubines. Furthermore, because transport by land over hundreds of kilometers was not that easy 500 (or even 300 years ago) the numbers of slaves going out to central Asia were likely to be smaller than the numbers who were transported to nearby places. I also questioned the methodology by which anyone can actually count 50,000 or 100,000 slaves. In addition it occurred to me that Islamic militias are remarkably violent and indiscriminate people and may hardly have been under great pressure to verify that kidnapped people were Hindus and not Muslims. Conversion may have been no guarantee against kidnapping. In fact the conversion of the area that is Pakistan to Islam started 1000 years ago and the process of conversion was fairly mature by the 1500s as far as my knowledge goes. Most of the stories of Islamic rape and kidnapping seem to have come from Northwest India. Since that area was full of Muslims to start with (over 80% by 1947) I proposed that many of the kidnapped people who were transported across the Hindu Kush might well have been Muslim. That might also explain the almost total lack of any visible remaining evidence of Hindus in large numbers in Central Asia. All this is conjecture. I offer no proof. I never claimed that I was about to offer proof.

The idea of stating all this was to point out the irony of the state of Pakistan:
  • That area was the first to be converted
    it is the area that has actually seen 1000 years of Islamic rule.
    Many people were kidnapped from that area over centuries. Many may well have been Muslim
    Islamic bestiality as usual was likely perpetrated on Muslims in the past, in addition to non Muslims as occurs now
For these reasons, any Pakistani triumphalism about "defeating Hindus" is laughably misplaced. Many ancestors of Pakistanis are likely the children of raped women or the descendants of forcibly converted Hindus.

Can you take the trouble of explaining to me where and how you believe I proposed a change of name?

The name change argument is a bogey - yet another cooked up strawman attributed to me. I am not at all sure why you imagined that I am demanding a change of name. Your idea of proposing occupation before name change is fine. Maybe you do want a name change. But I have not asked for that. I don't even think "we" are going to occupy that area any more than "Pakistanis' subjugated and conquered Hindustan, and a name change could come more easily if one is looking for a change of name. But it wasn't me.

I have only suggested a change of perception of what happened in Pakistan and consequently a change of perception of what might have transpired in the mountains known as Hindu Kush. I have not demanded that anyone should change his perceptions. My views are posted as "take it or leave it".
shiv ji,
I posed the question of which one you thought is a bigger fantasy : in that post - nothing I have written ascribes that "you" have proposed a "name change". You had a certain opinion about the humbleness of my proposal, and we exchanged quite a few posts on that argument. My post was in continuation of that discussion about proposals.

Changing of perception is not a bad idea - if I was entirely against it - I would not have posted several items before, where I have tried to analyze what could realistically have happened. I have even provided a quote about Chitrali practice of enslaving fellow Muslim clansmen.

But this change of perception cannot come at the cost of any possible historical reality of the slave trade. It cannot be at the cost of wiping out the memory of any atrocity that was justified in the name of Islam. Even if it was on onlee a thousand Indians. It has nothing to do about revenge but making sure that next time someone plans such mouth-watering adventures on India they would remember and cringe in horror.

Without retribution of erasure - complete erasure in all possible cultural senses - of any of the memes that leads to such justification of such things, things will repeat and continue, and continue.

I am not sure what retribution of erasure means but, as I have said before, the wise seek balance. Will the wise men of Hindustan name the Kargil mountains as Mussalman Kush? Never, so why not take your lumps, Hindus, and move on? :)

The discussion of slavery, genetics has been concentrated on area occupied by present day Pakistan. But, large parts of Afghanistan where as much part of India as were areas in present day Pakistan. Afghanistan, which was the first area of India to be run over by the Islamic hordes, served the same purpose when first Islamized as that today's Pakistan wrt Hindu India. To the knowledgeable folks, from when were the Afghans given a separate identity from the "Hindus" (possibly by the Arabs/Persians ?) ?
The Ibn Battūta reference about Hindu-Kush tells about "slave boys and girls who are brought from Hind" which means that Hindu Kush wheren't considered to be part of Hind. By Ibn Battūta's time, the areas of present day Afghanistan had been Islamized for more than 500 years.

Let us not go into repeating the standard technique : mock and denigrate "revenge" or "erasure" after "erasure" was used to establish identities and claims - so that counter-revenge or "erasure" of erasure, does not take place.

The Brits formed their empire on slavery and then abolished it - and made it "oh so bad", so that no one had the idea to use the legitimization of slavery back on the Brits in the future. Muslims have used it too to spread and establish.

Erasure does not have to be channelized into "Mussalman Kush". We had names for this places in our pre-Islamic literature. We simply can revive those names.

b ji I used to tell in the katcha language longtime back on the forum. The standard against India in contemporary foreign policy or even any history based argument is modeled after American football. You move few yards at a time and then say the game starts now from here.

Muppalla Ji,
Very apt analogy. It also require team buliding before getting into the match . The pile gets tihickest in last few yards and only toughests go through successfully. Beisdes we can kill all of the bad guys. Existence of Evil is necessary to recognise the good .

brihaspati wrote:There is a certain perception that acknowledging an atrocity by another ideological grouping - is about humiliating oneself. In this we can take a leaf out of the evil evil yahudis many of us feel compelled to chastize - for their inhuman "treatment" of peaceful "Palestinians" and "Muslims". The Yahudis wear their trauma on their sleeves - and use it to sharpen the blade against the Muslim neck. Even atrocities or traumas are useful. Forgetting them or allowing them to be hijacked into mythmaking of whitewashing other groups of all responsibilities - is often a self-goal.
I agree fully with your suggestion that India still needs to build up and project real hard power before it can demand such name changes. We have to be in a position to hurt them economically and militarily when we "request" a name change, and then we can choose to accept their name-change gesture as the beginning of Islam's journey on the long road of repentance and reform. From that superior position we can be seen to be bighearted, charitable and gentle in our restoration of justice.

But its almost predictable that some Hindus these days like to identify with Jews. If you don't mind my saying so, I find it a little irritating that some people want to hitch India's convalescence to the Zionist project, whose darned religion is the root of the Abrahamic attitude of godgiven right to snatch and enslave, coupled with wailing and moaning about an enemy's oppression. There is no principle or precedent in Indic spiritual culture to justify such a strategy of wallowing and scheming at the same time. Rather, for us although the path begins from vishaada-yoga, it proceeds by large-heartedness through the present moment to a rediscovery of Truth anew, and then total victory.

No one said anything about forgetting or allowing Moslems to forget or whitewash. Never. We will press them relentlessly, for them to acknowledge the history in their books (which most boast about anyway), and to question their fundamental religious tenets and their conscience. But the questioning has to come from a level above, not a trauma that's still stuck below and keyed-in. The latter shows the inefficacy of our dharma to free us or enable us to fight. Righteous anger comes from a higher platform. India rising does not need to "wear its trauma on its sleeve" like the Zionists. उद्यमो भैरवः - The Rising is (like) a Lion (Shiva Sutras of Vasugupta).

If you want to take a leaf out of anyone's book, try China. It is rising by its relentless build up of strategic hard power by the sacrifices it has made, it talks clearly with a loud voice, and it demands its stolen treasures back from Western robber nations. At the same time, it is starting afresh in terms of its culture and is hopefully on the cusp of turning around and rediscovering its spiritual heritage in present time, instead of carping and complaining about past associations. Note, I'm not saying we do everything they do, but since you want to "take a leaf out of" someone's book, why not China?

China does not use memories of atrocities by current "groups". It has almost none [except Mongolia] except the colonials who are no longer there. They use claimed past "glorious" empire.

Taking a tactical tool where Islam is concerned - is not equatable to hitching the wagon to Judaism. Finding things worthy of copying in the modern state of Israel is not equatable with admiring Judaism.

Why should the Jews alone remain taboo! Moreover, China has an entirely different attitude towards Islamism. It is ruthlessly suppressing Islam within its own sovereign territory - but from its initial foundations during the Long March - Mao had tremendous fondness for Islam and islamism. it was that underlying feeling of potential "converts to communism" that has allowed the growth of modern Islamism in China in the NW.

Are you saying we can try and liquidate the Islamic institutional structures or "control" them by setting up who becomes the mullah and the mufti through a government department and even regulating azaan times - a la the Chinese?

brihaspati wrote:Are you saying we can try and liquidate the Islamic institutional structures or "control" them by setting up who becomes the mullah and the mufti through a government department and even regulating azaan times - a la the Chinese?
Firstly, I had put in a caveat that the China example was limited to its "attitude", not all of its policies. As for the above suggestion, I do think a certain level of public focus does need to be put on mullas and other Islamist leaders in India, on their philosophical orientation, foreign institutional links, etc. It cannot be actual government control due to our constitution, but there can and should be some very candid public focus, questioning and debate about it.

Back to the topic, I agreed with your point that India needs to grow taller before it can talk about name changes, etc. But there is little for us to borrow from Zionists, who play victim while simultaneously playing usurper. Admittedly, its a rather crazy and knotty part of the world they're in, which is all the more reason why we needn't identify with anyone there - though we can freely interject sympathetically as an independent commentator with one or the other party when necessary. Who said anything about Jews being "taboo"? Again the same old "victim in a corner" narrative?

Carl wrote:
brihaspati wrote:Are you saying we can try and liquidate the Islamic institutional structures or "control" them by setting up who becomes the mullah and the mufti through a government department and even regulating azaan times - a la the Chinese?
Firstly, I had put in a caveat that the China example was limited to its "attitude", not all of its policies. As for the above suggestion, I do think a certain level of public focus does need to be put on mullas and other Islamist leaders in India, on their philosophical orientation, foreign institutional links, etc. It cannot be actual government control due to our constitution, but there can and should be some very candid public focus, questioning and debate about it.

Back to the topic, I agreed with your point that India needs to grow taller before it can talk about name changes, etc. But there is little for us to borrow from Zionists, who play victim while simultaneously playing usurper. Admittedly, its a rather crazy and knotty part of the world they're in, which is all the more reason why we needn't identify with anyone there - though we can freely interject sympathetically as an independent commentator with one or the other party when necessary. Who said anything about Jews being "taboo"? Again the same old "victim in a corner" narrative?
The point I had raised about Yehudis was only about their not being ashamed to hide the myth/reality[depending on what side of the Isalmophile/Christophile division one stands] of their supposed trauma at the hands of Islamists/Arabs/Palestinian Arabs in the past - and use the same for mobilization purposes. I had pointed out that they use it as a weapon - whereas we were seeing it as an embarrassment and an obstacle.

There is no "victim in a corner" here.

^^^ That is true, we do need to puncture the inflated Islamist and EJ baloons, and nothing better than the pin-pricks of conscience to do the job. But we need to be careful about getting too cozy with Zionist types while we do that.

Taking an insight from Zionist tactics is not the same as becoming cozy with Zionists. On the other hand, if being cozy with Zionists helps the long term management of ME islamism that might nurse eventual expansion plans on the subcontinent - there should not be any discomfort in being cozy. Its all situational onlee - if we can rub shoulders with out and out Islmists of the Gulf in "national interest" onlee, no discomfort, no itch, no shame - why should we hesitate to rub shoulders withe Zionists in national interests onlee?!! :D

Encouraging Zionists are a good way of attracting Islamic bees to the honey of jihad in Palestine. That engages Jihadi energy which always turns to India when they do not have soft targets - as it happened after the Soviet withdrawal.

We need time to prepare - don't we?
member_19686

Post by member_19686 »

KrishG wrote:The discussion of slavery, genetics has been concentrated on area occupied by present day Pakistan. But, large parts of Afghanistan where as much part of India as were areas in present day Pakistan. Afghanistan, which was the first area of India to be run over by the Islamic hordes, served the same purpose when first Islamized as that today's Pakistan wrt Hindu India. To the knowledgeable folks, from when were the Afghans given a separate identity from the "Hindus" (possibly by the Arabs/Persians ?) ?
The Ibn Battūta reference about Hindu-Kush tells about "slave boys and girls who are brought from Hind" which means that Hindu Kush wheren't considered to be part of Hind. By Ibn Battūta's time, the areas of present day Afghanistan had been Islamized for more than 500 years.
More like less than 400 years, Kandahar was only lost in late 10th century. Check:
In 962 CE the Turkic amir Alptegin decided to wage holy war on the Hindus. The shAhIya-s taking up the challenge, pushed back the Mohammedan assault, and took the fort of garjanaka. However, he sent a force to take it back in 963 CE. With this the opening round in the second great Mohammedan surge towards India was initiated. Alptegin purchased Sebuktegin from a pious Arab slave dealer Nasir Haji, just as Alptegin himself had be bought by the Samanid sultan. In 965 Sebuktegin was sent against the Hindus. The Hindu army intercepted the invading army of Islam near Lamghan in Afghanistan and a fierce encounter took place and the Moslems were repulsed. Over the next 8 years there were marauding Mohammedan raids to seize women and boys. In 973 CE the jayapAla the shAhIya king realized the great danger of the Jihad powerfully retaliated by a raid on garjanaka; however he failed to take Ghazni, though his effort put the Moslems on the backfoot. He also communicated with the vijayan ruler of Khotan, pagan Turkic chiefs and the Mongol khan of the Khitan kingdom to form a large network against the army of Islam. In succeeding years, Alptegin died and there was a contest between his son Ishaq, their homosexual lovers such as Pirai and the pagan Turks like Bilgetegin and Toghan. At the end of this contest it was Sebuktegin who was successful and became Amir of Ghazna. He immediately prosecuted the jihad with greatest vigor by invading and seizing Kandahar in 977 CE. Not put off by this jayapAla immediately assembled his army and launched an attack on the Mohammedans. There was a fierce encounter near Jalalabad and the Mohammedan army was forced to retreat. Over the next few years there continued to be raids but on the whole Sebuktegin had been checked...

http://manasataramgini.wordpress.com/20 ... -identity/
Right from the vedic period Afghanistan was a border zone between Indo-Aryan and Iranian. These languages were both seen interacting in that region as supported by Iranian influences on the vedic dialect there and vice versa on Avestan. Thus we had a continuous speech of Vedic Sanskrit then Classical Sanskrit closely juxtaposed with Old Iranian and then Middle Iranian dialects. Some people have even claimed that the vedic ethnonym paktha is related to the modern ethonym pakhtu of the dominant tribe in the region. In the post-Sanskrit development we have a well known Prakrit known as Gandhari that was quite comparable to the literary Prakrits of inner India. This seems to have further evolved into different vulgar offshoots that might find representation in the surviving Indo-Aryan tongues of the region. A variant of Gandhari spread through central Asia and is called Niye Prakrit. Even after invasion of Mah'd Ghaznavi Sanskrit did not die off entirely because we notice that he minted Sanskrit coins imitating the Hindus he had just overrun. But with the subsequent Jihads of various Mohammedans the Indo-Aryan languages gradually shrunk and attained their present status.

The post Prakrit IA languages from gandhAra that still survive of which we have a record are:
lahndI - close to kashmiri
khetrAnI - North of Baloch
poThohArI - Ravalpindi and further north
Hindko- Peshavar and North
Shina -upper Indus Swat Gilgit
BashkarIk/gAwrI -Kohistan
maiyA
kanyawAlI -- all further north TSP-Afg border zone
gawar-bAtI -- south Afghan near Bashgal river.
ningalAmI, gR^ingalI, shumAshtI kaTArqala, sAvI, tirAhI all extinct or nearly extinct distributed throughout Afghan and remnant of the old Gandhari
pashaI- gAndhArI descendant in Lamghan region
kalaSha- the language of the Kalasha who were denuded by the jihads of Timur, Akbar, Jahangir and finally by Abdur-Rahman Khan the 1800s precursor of the modern Talibs.

There are additionally the Nuristani family of languages for which look up:

http://users.sedona.net/~strand/Nurista ... anis1.html

Evils of Islam continue to destroy whatever remains of Indo-Aryan presence in those regions.

Nuristan used to be non Muslim until 1895-1896 Jihad by Abdur Rahman and was called kafiristan. Check the Richard Strand site for more info.

In support of shiv ji,
The genetic profile of mtDNA profiles in modern Pak shows, that there is a very clear divide in the female stock along the Indus. On the eastern side, the females are in common genetic pool with further east into the plains. On the west they have greater continuity with the west.

We have to remember that mtDNA is only inherited through the mother and therefore is a good indicator of female heritage. But also note that a man can pass on his mothers mtDNA through one of the X's he contributes to a daughter.

So a "western" man could in theory contribute a western female component in a "eastern" female stock, but since that is a rarity to find now - the eastern sector was not enslaved to the degree claimed. of course if slaves were exported out - that would not be traceable as they would be displaced gradually in a large "western genepool".

However, the western sector leaves both possibilities open - that the "western" component came out of local prior origins of a subclade [possible] or a case of massive rape and fostering a "western" descent. No ts ufficient samples and contiguity studies as yet to rule out either.

brihaspati wrote:Encouraging Zionists are a good way of attracting Islamic bees to the honey of jihad in Palestine. That engages Jihadi energy which always turns to India when they do not have soft targets - as it happened after the Soviet withdrawal.

Absolutely. That's precisely why we don't want to be seen as joined at the hip with Zionists, because then we also become targets.

Rather, we should moralistically take the high ground and preach impartially to Zionists, Islamists and EJ's while selectively rubbing shoulders with all three. We should preach to them about howmuch they have in common with one another, how ridiculous and cultish their religions look in this holy spat, and to "stop fighting", etc. That way we draw an == around all of them and are able to rise superior to their morale's target ability in terms of jihad (Islamists), conversion (EJ's) or co-option (Zionists) respectively.

However, they sense this moral threat and so they often band together in "interfaith dialog" (actually interfaith diplomacy) initiatives whose sole aim is to occupy the world stage as an exclusive cartel with a monopoly on "monotheism". We need to trash this nonsense also and bamboozle our way into this cartel, or otherwise have the dais collapse. Now many Indics may be wary of getting in on the "monotheism" game because of the false semantic data that is prevalent, but we can't afford to be too shy about this. The fact is that the Veda has all including the narrowest parts of the funnel of consciousness mapped out. Its is not only 'zero' and 'infinity', but also the being bounded by the 'One' that it speaks of. I wanted to reply to that post you had made on GDF, but it got lost and I couldn't find it. We have to clearly and forcefully present ourselves. See, early they tried to show that only the Judeo-Christian-Islamic versions had any concept whatsoever of One God. The Islamists even go so far as to try to portray Zoroastrianism as a "Dualistic" Mazda-Ahriman religion, but these days many Christians, Jews and a few Irani Moslems will admit that Zoroastrianism is as much monotheistic as the Abrahamics. We need to tear them a new one and tell them where it all comes from and how it gets watered down as it goes West. Once this is done then they are bracketed and can be broadsided.

Carl wrote:
brihaspati wrote:Encouraging Zionists are a good way of attracting Islamic bees to the honey of jihad in Palestine. That engages Jihadi energy which always turns to India when they do not have soft targets - as it happened after the Soviet withdrawal.
At least 15-20 years. IMHO,India should venture out as Tau only after 2035.

Carl ji,
I have started writing about the "One thousand years of inventing imperialism as religion" - "from Death of Buddha to Birth of Muhammad". This is not the thread to discuss this. But in many senses, we can trace out a lot of the stuff - from post Buddha Buddhism - GV imperialism -to proto-Graeco-Judaic-Christo threads - to post Christ Christianity - post Nicean Christianity - Paulician iconoclasts - Islam. We can understand clearly what happened when we factor in the imperialism - without which we cannot understand anything.

In fact what is relevant for this thread is the peculiar commonality of perceptions and representations of "slavery" - which is an inherent part of imperialism - which runs through this 1000 year development.

the question of supporting Israel in their existential war against Islam arises because there is such a threat. now, if Islam was in some remote corner of the world, and not in our neighborhood and threatening us, then we wouldn't care for Israel or Islam. but that is not the case. if Israel goes down, then there is absolutely no doubt in my mind that the next target will be India. making sure Israel survives is a good way of keeping Islamist distracted and their attention diverted. also, keeping Israel alive makes it possible for outside powers to exploit the various divisions within Islam. Israel is an opening into the Islamic world. "cozying up" with Israel is inevitable for India. it will happen. and a future Indian regime which breaks away from the shackles imposed by Nehru's ideology, will most definitely incorporate Israel as a tool against Islamists. this is INEVITABLE. if some people have problems with it, they will be politely heard but their protestations will amount to nothing. this is simply because Israel is a good way to keep the Islamists off of India's back...
parsuram

Post by parsuram »

Carl, Re:
these days many Christians, Jews and a few Irani Moslems will admit that Zoroastrianism is as much monotheistic as the Abrahamics
What is far far worse is that J.Christ plagerized a huge concept entirely from Zaruthstra, that of "children of light and the children of darkness", and put it in his sermons as if it was his own. This is not the only instance of JC doing this. He lifted the entire "Sermon on the Mount" from Siddharth Gautam Buddha; he got it from thr Buddhist monks at the monestary in the Sainai (or the one near alexandria). About 30 % of JC's theology came from Siddharth Gautam, and about 20% from Zaruthrastra. The rest 50% was from the Jewish Essenes. That is what gives us Christianity - should be Gautamaruthrastrianity.

^^^ Parsuram ji, I was just about to reply to Devesh ji's post (below) and make a point which you just alluded to above!
devesh wrote:if Israel goes down, then there is absolutely no doubt in my mind that the next target will be India. making sure Israel survives is a good way of keeping Islamist distracted and their attention diverted. also, keeping Israel alive makes it possible for outside powers to exploit the various divisions within Islam. Israel is an opening into the Islamic world. "cozying up" with Israel is inevitable for India.
Yes, but India has to fabricate "gloves" with which it enters and manipulates things inside the laboratory madhouse called "middle-eastern religions". We should not do it by direct contact. We can support Israel and keep it alive via support networks which we can be part of. Think in terms of Chankian indrajaal rather than just maitra or bheda, etc. These support networks can be via our relationship with Euro and American entities.

But wanted to make a theological point that Parsuram ji alluded to above. The New Testament sticks out like a sore thumb amongst the Abrahamic religions. The Hebrew scripture, the Old Testament of the Christian Bible and the Qur'an are cut from the same cloth. But the NT is different, and it has a counterpart in some Sufi groups. There are several points of emphasis in the NT that run contrary to the emphases in these other portions. So "Christ" is another entry point for Indics in the ME. In the grand "second coming" drama, we can openly hint that we will be aligned behind "Christ", but that we cannot align behind the others. We can also use the NT to clobber Western imperial Xianity over the head and embarrass it, while at the same time being closely aligned. Also, aligning behind "Christ" still keeps us roughly equidistant from all the three nuts - Zionism, EJ'ism and Islamism.

brihaspati ji, I look forward to your book.