The Jan Lokpal Bill, Anna Hazare, and Baba Ramdev II

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: The Jan Lokpal Bill, Anna Hazare, and Baba Ramdev II

And sicing the full might of CBI on the core AH team! Pot calling kettle black and all that.

Pranav wrote:@Swamy39 Subramanian Swamy

Now that Vishkanya's diagnosis is Glioma, and US doctors give her 7 more months to 18 months, patriots must ensure MMS lasts till July 2012.

http://twitter.com/#!/Swamy39/status/127238189533499392
Truely has to have a real pair made of steel to put up such tweets against the ruler of this nation!!!!

No way in hell could this confidence of no harm happening be possible without some real high level protection being provided discreetly ( mostly by MMS, IMO)
Pranay

Post by Pranay »

http://news.outlookindia.com/items.aspx?artid=739034
Yoga guru Ramdev today asked the people to "teach Congress a lesson" by not voting for its candidates in the upcoming Uttar Pradesh Assembly polls over the party's "failure" in bringing back black money stashed away abroad.

"Neither the Congress is willing to bring back the black money stashed away in foreign banks, nor is it willing to reveal the names of those Indian nationals who have accumulated ill-gotten cash abroad.

"People should teach a lesson to Congress by not voting for the party candidates in upcoming Assembly polls in UP," Ramdev said, addressing a gathering at his yoga camp here.

He said the defeat of Congress in the recently held bypolls showed the "anger and frustration" of people against the policies of the party.

The yoga guru said the police action at Delhi's Ramlila ground against him and his supporters, including women and children, was "very unfortunate" and "shameful" on the part of Congress.

Dismissing the affidavit filed by Delhi Police stating there could have been communal tension as people living in nearby areas of the ground belonged to minority community that prompted the police to take action, Ramdev said he had in the past organised his yoga camp at the venue and no such tension was witnessed then.{Was not aware that the DP had such a specious argument...} :roll:

Taking a dig at Rahul Gandhi, he said Congress would not get any benefit by his repeated tours to Uttar Pradesh.

The giloma would explain sighting in Bay Area for UCSF is the lead researcher for the medicines.
It was wrongly given out as stan madrassa.
Narad

Post by Narad »

Pranav Da, Thank you for sharing such an important peice of information.

Interestingly, SS calls all patriots to hold MMS as long as possible, so that buddhu does not swoope in too fast.
She wants as soon as possible. The word is out that everyone including those in the Opposition must target MMS and make him resign.
And now I recall this article in Indian express dated 5 Aug.
Last edited by Narad on 21 Oct 2011 23:52, edited 1 time in total.

is the diagnosis true? if so, very interesting times. RG unlikely to have the brains to command INC to these heights again. Sister could well step in. a truly genius move would be if sister suddenly shows up at a camp of BR and touches his feet and apologizes for DP actions. that would redefine the game with very powerful imagery associated. it could change the game and open up a new phase of politics in India.

Brihaspati ji's wish might be coming true sooner rather than later.
Narad

Post by Narad »

Double Post

Narad, There was story that the group never met even one time during the absence.

^ Not even in Anna episode?

devesh wrote:is the diagnosis true? if so, very interesting times. RG unlikely to have the brains to command INC to these heights again. Sister could well step in. a truly genius move would be if sister suddenly shows up at a camp of BR and touches his feet and apologizes for DP actions. that would redefine the game with very powerful imagery associated. it could change the game and open up a new phase of politics in India.

Brihaspati ji's wish might be coming true sooner rather than later.

Sistah as per Subbu Swamy has two big weaknesses - Vadra and bottal. Has a major addiction problem

^ if true, good for India.

sum wrote: Truely has to have a real pair made of steel to put up such tweets against the ruler of this nation!!!!

No way in hell could this confidence of no harm happening be possible without some real high level protection being provided discreetly ( mostly by MMS, IMO)
Swamy is truly a courageous patriot. He has faced death threats in the past as well, when he would openly criticize LTTE.

Had the privilege of listening to him in Massaland. I used to think he was a bit of a CT-obsessed guy, whose statements often stretched credibility. But 2G was the turning point & Twitter provides scale to the widespread distribution of his thoughts. I am beginning to believe in a lot of what he says.

ramana wrote:The giloma would explain sighting in Bay Area for UCSF is the lead researcher for the medicines.
It was wrongly given out as stan madrassa.

Glioma does explain 2 points.. Memorial Sloan and bay UCSF ...both the places are associated with intra-cranial malignancy research ...But I seriously doubt it's the truth...

If it is glioma than considering her age it ll be more likely Glioblastoma multi-forme...

Median survival is 16 months or so...

Treatment is==

external beam radiotherapy--(this is the first line , and here lies the problem , i seriously doubt she has under-gone cranial irradiation recently , though I am not a neuro-oncologist I am still aware of the basics it is highly implausible)

chemotherapy - temozolomide

surgery - stereotactic , "cyberknife"--- this would need shaving of part or more commonly who of scalp..she has hair intact ...so she may not have undergone this...

She would present with headache , seizures and focal (depending upon the area) neurological disturbances...

It might be fruitful to collect as many recent video's of her as possible..there may be some speech or gait disturbances that may be apparent in them...

Thing is that her bay area and SK-memorial sightings were largely publicised..UCSF is undergoing trials for an immunotherapeutic agent against GBM .. SKM too is in doing some work... the research is reported in the local media..so some Indian might have made an association and it may just be a rumour...

Swamy is declaring a lot of things ...many have been proven to be true...there might be a disinformation campaign... Someone from the congi camp "leaks" about glioma... swamy tweets ..all Maino has to do now is live for 5-6 years..swamy is proven wrong...and discredited ....by lahori logic all the genuine claims he made vis-a-vis black money , 2g etc are also wrong...fanbpy supporters will alienate him as a lunatic... congi's win...If I was swamy I would be careful about making such claims...especially when he himself said that and was reported in some news-channel independently that the flight arrived from london...(though it could be a connecting flight ,)
Vashishtha

Post by Vashishtha »

Swamy is declaring a lot of things ...many have been proven to be true...there might be a disinformation campaign... Someone from the congi camp "leaks" about glioma... swamy tweets ..all Maino has to do now is live for 5-6 years..swamy is proven wrong...and discredited ....by lahori logic all the genuine claims he made vis-a-vis black money , 2g etc are also wrong...fanbpy supporters will alienate him as a lunatic... congi's win...If I was swamy I would be careful about making such claims...especially when he himself said that and was reported in some news-channel independently that the flight arrived from london...(though it could be a connecting flight ,)
Gotta agree with you on this one
Pranay

Post by Pranay »

http://news.outlookindia.com/items.aspx?artid=739190

The grapes must indeed be sour for this Swami...
Activist Swami Agnivesh today alleged that Team Anna member Arvind Kejriwal has siphoned off over Rs 80 lakh donated by people for Anna Hazare's agitation by diverting it to a trust run by him.

"All the donations which were made for the India Against Corruption (IAC) were diverted to Public Cause Research Foundation run by Kejriwal," he said, alleging that Kejriwal was delaying the opening of a bank account in the name of IAC.

Kejriwal could not be reached for comments and there was no reply to a text message sent to him.

Agnivesh was ousted from Team Anna following the surfacing of a video clip during the August agitation of Hazare in which he was purportedly shown asking a person, suspected by Team Anna to a Union minister, to deal strongly with the crusader.

He said Hazare himself had asked Kejriwal to put on website the details of donations received by them in the core committee meeting. Hazare had announced that he had asked his associates to conduct a mini-audit and put the statement on website.

"Lakhs and lakhs of rupees have come. Where have they gone," Agnivesh asked.

On being questioned how he arrived at this figure of over Rs 80 lakh, he said one of the organisers had announced in Ramlila Maidan that they had already received Rs 50 lakh and urged no more donations. "Even after this, they received donations," he alleged.
Pranay

Post by Pranay »

http://www.outlookindia.com/article.aspx?278729
With Team Anna being attacked systematically on all fronts, many are but naturally wondering if it is the government which is behind all the dissension and problems within Team Anna? Is it actively trying to foment trouble in the ranks, launching a smear campaign and then standing by and watching as its members are being attacked? It is also being implied that Congress general secretary Digvijay Singh in particular has been working on the activists to quit and has publicly made it his business to attack and create as much trouble as he can for Anna and friends.

Digvijay Singh laughs off the accusation, though. “You forget that I was known as the jholawallah CM of Madhya Pradesh!” he says. “I have an old association with half the activists in the core group of Team Anna. Yes, I have known Rajagopal and supported his work and movement for a long time. I know Rajinder Singh too. But that does not mean that I discuss the movement with them or can make them join or quit it. I remain in touch with all of them but do not talk about Anna or his efforts.”
It is also not as though things are going well for the Congress. The bypoll results in Haryana, Maharashtra, Telangana and Bihar (the Congress and allies lost all four) have only added to the perception that the party is now a losing proposition. And the reports from the ground in UP do not augur well for the party.

Rahul Gandhi’s avoidable faux pas of not meeting a team from Anna’s village Ralegan Siddhi only worsened things. The Anna supporters had landed in Delhi claiming they had an appointment with Rahul, but Congress sources say the initiative was of party MP, P.T. Thomas, and Rahul’s office hadn’t given the appointment. The whole controversy thus arose out of a miscommunication. Others say since it was not an official entourage sent by Anna, it would have been inappropriate for Rahul to meet them.

This crappy leftist rag-tags are a drag on India's economy anyway and it is better they recede faster.

Holier than cow
Shekhar Gupta Posted online: Sat Oct 22 2011, 02:12 hrs

In Vishal Bhardwaj’s Ishqiya , the most adorable uncle-nephew pair of tramps (played brilliantly by Naseeruddin Shah and Arshad Warsi) is vying for the affections of Vidya Balan, apparently a widow whose eyelashes never cease to flutter. The “uncle” catches Warsi and Balan in what police press handouts would usually describe as a compromising position. Hurt and indignant, he accuses the nephew of indulging in cheap, lusty behaviour. There is a quick and devastating comeback from Arshad Warsi, who says to uncle Naseer: “Tumhara ishq ishq, aur humara ishq sex!” Devastating, indeed, as it questions a senior’s moralistic hypocrisy where you set one standard for yourself, and another for the rest. But why are we recalling that exchange today?

Now go over what we have been hearing from several members of Team Anna as questions have been raised about their own past. One lot has been found getting very, very sexy farmhouse properties at very, very, very lucrative prices from Mayawati’s government in a totally discretionary, and non-transparent, “allotment”. Remember, it is an “allotment”, not even a lottery, or first-come-first-served. Their defence: yes, indeed, it looks rather unusual, and if somebody goes to court questioning these allotments he may have a good case. But that doesn’t mean we will be returning these since we did no wrong.

Now please allow me the licence to translate that into simpler English: Mayawati was distributing these plots on some unknown and undisclosed criteria which look legally dodgy, but if I benefited in the process, why should I complain? If you have a problem, you go to the courts.

Now what if some of the beneficiaries in the Adarsh Housing society scam had used the same argument? They would have been called thieves and hypocrites, and charged with compounding their own original crime. So what would be pristine, charming, innocent love from a lonely uncle would be straightforward lust from a randy nephew.

Let’s explore this further. Another member of Team Anna overstays his leave from his government job, flunks his employment bond, and is asked to pay back what is due to the government as per the law and procedure; it is still only Rs 9 lakh or so. And what is the answer? It is not that the government’s claim is fake or even vindictive. It is just that, what do my former employers (the Central government in this case) think I was doing? Was I whiling away my time? I was campaigning for the RTI, which is so important for my countrymen. So even if I did not come to work meanwhile, or was effectively AWOL, the government should have the good sense to waive all claims on me. Waive all claims? Use discretion? Didn’t you think this entire campaign was about curtailing discretion, ensuring rules are followed fully and no exceptions are made? And what if lakhs of absentee teachers in our government schools, who the Jan Lokpal is expected to straighten, find similar excuses?

Which leads us nicely to the more current story, involving so far the most respected and certainly most dramatically visible face of the Anna movement, who has been caught fudging her travel bills variously. Variously because she has travelled economy but claimed business, travelled for one host but asked two to pay for the same flight, travelled on deep-discounted tickets and claimed full fare. And here is her defence, variously: none of this money came to me; it came to my NGO which does such wonderful work. I only suffered the discomfort of economy-class travel to save money for my noble cause. That it is sinful to even attribute any corruption to me. Some of the explanation, in fact, has been more colourful. What if somebody invited me home and offered non-veg and veg food and I ate only vegetarian? This is where she starts running into problems.

No harm if you ate only vegetarian. But was it okay if you took your share of the non-vegetarian food home, irrespective of who you gave it to? And would it still be a kosher deal if you knew that this entire meal, veg and non-veg, had been funded by the taxpayer? Gets dodgy now, no?

Let me explain how. The angry and desperate defence unleashed by Team Anna following the expose by Assistant Editor Ajmer Singh in this newspaper on Thursday morning focuses entirely on the business/ economy-class issue. All that she did, the argument goes, was a non-violent, clever equivalent of Robin Hood. But what about the tickets bought at 75 per cent “gallantry award” discount from Indian Airlines and Air India and billed to her hosts at full price? Every paisa of these discounts on these fully state-owned and near-bankrupt airlines is paid for by the taxpayer. So, in this case, you vacuum-clean the tax rupees I, the honest taxpayer, offer you in my gratitude for your gallantry, and you divert them to your own gain, even if it is your own non-profit charity. Playing Robin Hood with money coming straight out of the Consolidated Fund of India? Maybe we do need that Jan Lokpal, after all. Would have been interesting to see how they would have dealt with something like this. And what if a political leader facing corruption charges tomorrow, like Rajiv Gandhi on Bofors or A. Raja on telecom, said hey, there was no personal gain here, I was only giving it to the party. Or Kanimozhi asked why are you raising such “silly and sinful” questions about money that has after all gone to her NGO, and whose accounts are audited? You will run into that same uncle-nephew, Arshad Warsi-Naseeruddin Shah, love-and-lust equation.

Please note that at least we haven’t yet committed the “sin” of calling somebody corrupt or even stupid. Because this argument is about arrogance and hypocrisy and not about greed or corruption. I would, in fact, go so far as to say that even if somebody came to me and said that he saw with his own eyes any of these members of Team Anna taking a bribe, I would question his sanity. They are victims of their own, unthinking, I-am-a-legend-in-my-own-eyes-so-how-could-I-have-ever-done-any-wrong arrogance. They set an impossible standard for others in the system, but fail to check if they have themselves fully lived up to it, because now they are exposed to the public gaze and will be fully, brutally tested against it. It is useful to recall former Supreme Court Chief Justice J.S. Verma’s brilliant line when I once asked him if it was possible for an individual to change the system, build an institution. “It is possible,” he said, “but you must have no past, and you must have no expectations in the future.” Members of the now disintegrating Team Anna would do well to check if they pass this test.

The truth is that members of Team Anna are, individually, decent, well-meaning people. But the politics they have constructed is dangerously faulty, and the basic premise it is built on carries the trigger for self-destruction. They have built a highly personalised campaign, basically as if these 790 members of Parliament were responsible for all that is rotten with India. Unless their own past was perfect even by the impossibly high standards they have set for the rest of us, they should have expected a vicious fightback. Enough evidence has now surfaced that this Team Anna is no Team Gandhi. The more outrage it shows in its defence, the more hollow it sounds. The price, indeed, for holier-than-cow arrogance, hypocrisy and hubris.
IE is the hit-Anna job for whoever want Anna to close shop and as I said in the past this whole Anna is creation of INC. It is winding up the project as the required results did not come or not coming in the future. Secret Nielsen surveys proabaly were used in this closure.

will these journos who are now saying "as if 790 people are wholly responsible" -- will they continue this line and try to dig other many reasons which cause corruption? will they try to dig for ways in which the "system" itself is rigged in a way which allows this to happen? I hope there are at least a few journos who will think on those lines. it is high time that somebody starts questioning the essentially Colonial nature of Indian institutional setup.

http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/new ... 447063.cms
Politician-corporates nexus greatest threat for Indian economy
MARKETS PUNISH POLITICAL CONNECTIONS
"Because of all the recent arrests and incarceration of politicians and businessmen, it appears that the politician-businessmen nexus is breaking down," said veteran journalist and political analyst Paranjoy Guha Thakurta, who is closely associated with the making of the documentary 'Blood & Iron - A story of the convergence of crime, business and politics in southern India's ignored fault zone'. "One of the critical links that need to be broken is around the issue of election funding. If corrupt businessmen are funding the election of politicians of dubious record, they are going to expect returns on that investment," said Thakurta, who is one of the petitioners in the PIL filed in the Supreme Court in connection with the 2G scam. The market is taking note of the troubles of politically well-connected companies.
"Investors are increasingly realising that factors like political connections can have significant impact on the earnings of the companies they invest in," says Gaurav Mehta of Ambit Capital.
Increasingly, brokerages such as Ambit Capital are giving significant weightage to risks arising from political connections, poor corporate governance and suspect accounting policies while issuing investment recommendation on stocks. According to an April 2011 report from Ambit Capital, 'A New Dawn in India', businesses with strong political connections have underperformed the broader market by 14% in the year to April 2011, when the study was undertaken. Presumably, the underperformance could have only aggravated.
"Whilst the recent spate of corruption scandals has soured investor sentiment regarding India, it has had a salutary effect in forcing investors to focus on fundamentally high-quality companies," noted Saurabh Mukherjea and Gaurav Mehta of Ambit Capital. "For the first time in five years, we now have a situation where politically well-connected companies are no longer outperforming the market."
(Lokpal will do wonder in long run as people invest in quality complanies)

In the absence of a full liberlisation of the Indian economy, the politician businessman nexus cannot be destroyed. Also there is a crying need for the electoral reforms as in the absence of the same the Political parties will continue to collect hafta from various shady sources.
Pranay

Post by Pranay »

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 463158.cms
"Hang some of us if that helps", activist Kiran Bedi said today as she alleged a "pattern to defame" Team Anna members who are under the scanner for alleged misconduct.

"There is obviously a pattern to defame every member of Team Anna. It has been systematic from day one," Bedi, who is facing allegations of overcharging institutions by inflating her travel expenses, said.

"Team Anna is paying a personal cost for raising national concerns on rampant corruption and voter awareness to ensure the passing of the Jan Lokpal Bill in Parliament," she said.

Her response came as another activist Arvind Kejriwal was accused of depositing the donations for the Hazare campaign for a strong Lokpal in a private trust run by him. None of the prominent Team Anna activists were members of the trust.

Noting that people are aware of the machinations of the detractors, she said it only underscores the need to stay focussed on the Winter Session of Parliament and ensure that the Jan Lokpal Bill is enacted.

"It is evident why sensitive and reputed persons shy away from speaking up. Which leaves civil society without independent voices. This serves the vested interests," she said.

Bedi said the Hazare movement was of millions and there was a need for staying united.

"After that hang some of us if that helps. If my saving for poor by means I followed is wrong I be punished. Same Lokpal can punish me. Distraction is being manipulated," she said.

IE Shekhar Gupta from the very beginning opposed any movement against Corruption, Ramdev or Anna. His stand is supportive of the establishment.

Crusader Kiran of TEAM ANNA reduced to defending her excess travel charges claimed from corporates/NGOs on NDTV now. What a spectacle.
joshvajohn

Post by joshvajohn »

Exclusive: While govt fiddles, black money flees Swiss banks
http://www.dnaindia.com/india/report_ex ... ks_1601003

We should keep an eye on all private Bankings and their activities in India such as HSBC and other private banks. Without Indian Reserve Bank there is no possibility of either transferring the money to outside or inside India. Which cannot happen without government knowledge. Many of our central and state ministers and officials have accounts which the govt has the list and does not do anything about it.

Is this form of blackmail, one action leads to anther

WWF wrestler Khali puts his weight behind Anna

Land grab case filed against Great Khali

If they, they show the depths GOvt has fallen to. and how liberal free speech in this country is.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 473862.cms
aking cue from Team Anna, Muslims in UP have served an ultimatum to the Congress led UPA government asking for introduction of quota for `dalit' Muslims if party wants Muslim votes in 2012 state assembly elections.

Team Anna has launched campaign in the state against the Congress requesting people not to vote for party in 2012 UP assembly elections if the UPA government fails to enact a strong lokpal in winter session of the Parliament.

On the other hand, the Muslim Reservation Movement (MRM), a campaign launched by Muslim leaders and clerics in UP, has asked all the parties, specially Congress to take up Muslim reservation in inter session of parliament.

At a convention held in Lucknow, the MRM warned to intensify its agitation affecting their poll prospects during coming assembly elections. The MRM stand against Congress was more tough in comparison to BSP and SP.

Muslims account for 20% of UP and can tilt balance in over 150 assembly constituencies.Significantly, the Congress leaders who described Team Anna's campaign as blackmailing, they have rushed to pacify Muslim community.

While Congress general secretary Digvijay Singh met Muslim ulemas in Darul Uloom Nadawa-tul-Ulema in Lucknow on Sunday, in Delhi union coal minister Sri Prakash Jaiswal took a delegation of Muslim leaders to meet Congress president Sonia Gandhi on Moday.

The Congress has also decided to hold Muslim conventions in UP in November to woo Muslims. These conventions will be held in the Muslim dominated seven districts, including, of UP. Rahul Gandhi will address these conventions.

Congress for the first time in the last 20 years in UP assembly elections has a game plan. If they are able to execute it, they may capture power in UP. This will be regardless of the corruption issue. You heard it here first. So what is the game plan? Read On
Congress has about 9% dynasty vote (or dedicated vote). They had that vote even in their worst of time. They are on top of this wooing 3 groups, muslims (18.5% vote bank), Thakurs (6%) and Kurmis (6%). The lynchpin of Thakur votes is of course Dig Vijay Singh and of Kurmis is Beni Prasad Verma (made Cabinate minister in the last shuffle a month ago, that was only the significant reshuffle; called Vajpaye Ba$tard in the parliament). Of course some of the 9% Congress dedicated vote overlaps with this group. The total potential congress vote is 40.5%. If congress is able to get 80% of this vote (a big if) it will have 32% of the vote. Mayawati became CM last time by getting less than 30%. The sweet spot of any party to win UP (through own or coalition) is to be in the 27% -29% vote range. With Muslims traditionally voting more than their share and if they can get these communities energized the potential vote % goes to 44-45%, and then they have to only get 70% of this vote bank. Traditionally when a class (caste) of voters have moved to a party, 80% of that caste voters have at least voted for that party (Like among SC vote more than 80% vote for Mayawati in UP). Congress has a definite plan and they are working towards it.

Forgot to add, in the seat allocation of Congress for UP assembly election, you can see the trend, most seats given to Thakurs and Kurmis. Other castes (most notably Brahmins and STs ignored as they will oscilalte btween Maya and BJP, or stick to Maya)
Fanne
Last edited by fanne on 24 Oct 2011 20:11, edited 2 times in total.

Did not clarify why I posted a seemingly political post in this thread - Because the fight against corruption is going nowhere. For congress to win, Corruption is not a factor.
Fanne

vijayk wrote:http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 473862.cms
aking cue from Team Anna, Muslims in UP have served an ultimatum to the Congress led UPA government asking for introduction of quota for `dalit' Muslims if party wants Muslim votes in 2012 state assembly elections.

Team Anna has launched campaign in the state against the Congress requesting people not to vote for party in 2012 UP assembly elections if the UPA government fails to enact a strong lokpal in winter session of the Parliament.

On the other hand, the Muslim Reservation Movement (MRM), a campaign launched by Muslim leaders and clerics in UP, has asked all the parties, specially Congress to take up Muslim reservation in inter session of parliament.

At a convention held in Lucknow, the MRM warned to intensify its agitation affecting their poll prospects during coming assembly elections. The MRM stand against Congress was more tough in comparison to BSP and SP.

Muslims account for 20% of UP and can tilt balance in over 150 assembly constituencies.Significantly, the Congress leaders who described Team Anna's campaign as blackmailing, they have rushed to pacify Muslim community.

While Congress general secretary Digvijay Singh met Muslim ulemas in Darul Uloom Nadawa-tul-Ulema in Lucknow on Sunday, in Delhi union coal minister Sri Prakash Jaiswal took a delegation of Muslim leaders to meet Congress president Sonia Gandhi on Moday.

The Congress has also decided to hold Muslim conventions in UP in November to woo Muslims. These conventions will be held in the Muslim dominated seven districts, including, of UP. Rahul Gandhi will address these conventions.

This Muslim blackmail of the country has to stop. They will vote for corrupt anti nationals just to serve interests of the mullahs. Sort of nation within a nation. I thought we had already paid the price in 1947

INC stalwarts are winding up AH movement before it has the potential to become a political challenge.
Hence all these revelations about finances, govt service leave, slaps etc.

Very well done as it took the ball of corruption for legitimate Opposition* to own agents who are now discredited.

*Its another matter that Opposition has Don Quixotes leading it and riding chariots.
Pranay

Post by Pranay »

http://outlookindia.com/article.aspx?278752

Anna Hazare's retort to the systematic effort by the INC in trying to pull the rug under their feet, rather than having come up with an effective anti-corruption legislation in the first place.

Posting in full...

"Rise And Fight Against 'Gang Of Four'"
'The way these people are leveling allegations against Team Anna it shows they are not bothered for the well-being of our nation or society at large. They are casting aspersions on others for their own selfish interests'

Full, unedited text from the blog Anna Hazare Says

My Dear Sisters and Brothers,
Namaskar!

Kiran Bedi has been accused of being involved in air-travel corruption. She has time and again made it clear that if she has done such a thing and used the money for the benefit of her family then the government should take help of one of its own inquiry agencies and if found guilty should take stringent actions against her.

But the government doesn’t seem forthcoming in taking such a step. To accuse and humiliate seems to be the mantra of the few. This is not the first time that such accusations have been leveled against Kiran Bedi. Every member of ‘Team Anna’ had to face accusations and character assassination by the ‘gang of four’. Who are these people? Those are the very same people who are not in favor of Janlokpal Bill.

Let’s give it a thought to the initial days of the movement when Joint Committee was to be formed to draft Janlokpal Bill. Who were the people opposing the Committee? You will realize these were the very same ‘gang of four’ who stood in opposition. After much deliberation on 5th April 2011 I began my fast on Jantar mantar where people gathered in large numbers. It was then they realized their mistake and agreed to form a ‘Joint Committee’.

On 4th June 2011 as Ramdev Baba’s agitation was in progress on Ramlila Maidan I was supposed to meet him on the following day i.e. 5th June 2011. But on the night of 4th June 2011, at 1:30 pm the Delhi police launched a brutal attack on the unsuspecting crowd of men and women old and young alike and innocent children. The Government’s intention was clear-‘Anna Hazare and Ramdev Baba should not meet’. By ruthlessly beating up women was the Delhi police trying to prove they are man enough? Who were these men who did lathi charge on the women? Those were the same people who are now playing accusatory games aren’t they? The mystery will surely unfold.

Joint Committee was formed but these people did not want the Janlokpal Bill passed. This ‘gang of four’ now started accusing Shri. Shanti Bhushan and Shri. Prashant Bhushan on the CD issue. Like Kiran Bedi, Shri. Shanti Bhushan and Shri. Prashant Bhushan too maintained their stand on being innocent and asked the government to conduct an enquiry in to the matter. But these people are aware that their aim will not be fulfilled if they follow the legal path. The only way out was to spread dissention in ‘Team Anna’ thereby spreading misconceptions among people who will be dissuaded from participating in the movement.

One of the honest members of Team Anna, retired Judge Shri Hegde Saheb who was responsible for sending the BJP Chief-Minister behind bars was also accused. Who were these people? You will soon understand that these were the same ‘gang of four.’ Accusations were leveled against Arvind Kejriwal and he was attacked with slipper in one of his gatherings. Who was behind this act? On 16th August 2011, I was to hold a demonstration in Delhi demanding the government pass the Janlokpal Bill. It was for more than a month that I was trying to seek permission for obtaining a venue for the same through letters and personal visits. But purposefully we were not assigned a place for my fast and the matter was stretched until 15th August 2011. They applied IPC 144 on all the public places in Delhi. Finally we decided we will get ourselves arrested and go on fast in jail. The ‘gang of four’ were behind this conspiracy is now clear.

Early morning at 6’0 clock on 16th August 2011, I was arrested from my house. I had not committed any crime hence they had no right to arrest me from my house. These people wanted to humiliate me intentionally. I was sent to Tihar Jail. It was four in the afternoon till necessary formalities were completed and we were taken in to Tihar Jail. We were allotted one room, set of clothes and at 6:00 pm an officer came with the news that my sentence was pardoned and I was free to leave. We have been directed to leave you at the place where you were arrested from.

I was surprised as the government had arrested me because my protest was causing disharmony and within next two hours I was set free! Had the government had some sort of divine intervention? Is this government a joke? You arrest someone at your whim and then set them free. Is this democracy? The police resorted to lathi charge on the peaceful protestors and whisked away Ramdev Baba to Haridwar in the middle of the night at 2:00 am by plane and was prohibited from stepping in to Delhi. His movement was crushed and now the ‘gang of four’ wanted to do the same to me. Their plan was to release me from jail and under the pretext of taking me home bundle me in to a car and take me to Delhi airport where an air-force plane was waiting to taxi out. Next I was to be flown to Pune and kept at unknown place; all this to thwart my movement in Delhi. Who was behind this conspiracy? These were the same people who were spreading derogatory remarks about ‘Team Anna’. Their conscious is not clear. I was suspicious right from the beginning when the jail authorities planned to release me within two hours of my arrest. I flatly refused to leave the jail premises. I told them if I was given a seven day sentence then I will stay in jail for seven days.

The said officer passed on my message to the senior D.I.G who said I had come out of the jail to meet him in his office hence I cannot go back. I replied, ‘I came here because you wanted to speak to me and now you say I cannot go back, this is wrong on your part. You are not letting me go back in the prison neither I am stepping out of the prison gate. You have to push me or else carry me out.’ I refused to budge out of the jail. Thus the tables were overturned on the ‘gang of four’ as the officers carried out discussions with the government past one in the night. My decision had landed them in trouble. They were clueless as to what was to be done. For the next three days I was neither in jail nor outside jail. I was in D.I.G’s office. I had not had my bath for three days as there was no bathing facility there. Thus the people realized that the government had covert plan in its mind and hence the people lost their temper. The ‘gang of four’ had conspired to put me in jail so that they can cast aspersions on my team.

The government had no alternative but to grant permission to carry out my agitation on Ramlila grounds. When I came out of the jail I was overwhelmed by the large crowd that had gathered there. Whenever the ‘gang of four’ tried to play mischief their tables were overturned and once again they found themselves on the receiving end. For the next two and half months Joint Committee met seven times. The issues raised by Team Anna were discussed at length and then they did a turn-a-about. We will present your draft of Janlokpal Bill before the cabinet they assured us but in reality they presented government’s weak draft which had deadly loopholes in the issue bypassing what we had to say.

I do not blame all the ministers from the Congress party or the Government as a whole. There are some righteous and committed people in the government but they cannot raise their voice because of this ‘gang of four’. We are dashing off letters to all our members that saints, Mahatma’s, Prophets and Great men had to endure hardships and criticism when they tried to do good to humanity. (I appeal to my closer ones) Please do not react again and again on any or repeated allegations made by the ‘gang of four’ (and their agents from various fields). People are wise enough to understand what the truth is. Thus it becomes futile on their part. Corruption has driven people to their brink. People are weary of the rising corruption level. That is the reason the people of this country are unhappy with the present government.

Corruption has given way to inflation. It is becoming difficult for the common man to run his house. The common man understands we are fighting for his sake. Hence no matter how many aspersions are cast on us people’s support for us will remain undeterred. We have to move ahead through the obstacles. People who chose the path of righteousness always have to face difficulties. But truth has always prevailed as seen in history. So we should keep walking the path of truth.

The only thought that keeps us going and binds us together is it doesn’t matter if someone is trying to spread dissent in the ‘Team Anna’ or maligning our reputation. Why do people stoop so such low level? They have their own reasons. They are afraid if Janlokpal Bill is passed they will be stripped off their power. They will no longer be able to take bribe. Hence under any circumstances they will see to it that the Janlokpal Bill as a law does not come in to existence. They will keep blaming Team Anna so they can go on doing corruption.

The number of Ministers who are opposing Janlokpal Bill in Cabinet is handful. It is similar to a village where there are 2 to 4 goons who hold the entire village to ransom. In government there is a majority of people who are righteous but can’t go against these ruffians. Leaving aside these specific 4 to 6 people no one points a finger at us.

Prime Minister Manmohan Singh has assured us in writing that he will pass a law in favor of Janlokpal Bill during this winter session. He has also given this assurance before television channels. Shri. Salman Khurshid too has promised people that he will see to it that Janlokpal Bill is passed during the winter session. This shows that righteous people are in majority as to ‘gang of four’. The way these people are leveling allegations against Team Anna it shows they are not bothered for the well-being of our nation or society at large. They are casting aspersions on others for their own selfish interests. They are quite capable of pressurizing the government not to bring Janlokpal Bill and if need be might take help of the handful belonging to the opposition party.

But I think this storm will give birth to Lalbahadur Shastri’s Congress, Vallabh Bhai Patel’s Congress and Kamraj’s Congress. Today people will carefully sort out the unwanted from the list and this to happen is the need of the hour. In order to achieve a bright future and corruption free India the country and its country men have to do this. If need be I too will tour the nation and campaign for the cause.

I will be writing a letter to Prime Minister Manmohan Singh that the draft for the Janlokpal Bill to be passed should be put on the internet so that people can have a look at it and not limit it to the Joint Committee. Late Prime Minister Shri. Rajiv Gandhi before making amendments in the 73rd and 74rth Act had sent a letter to 5.5 lac villages to call for Gramsabha vote. When we speak about democracy, Independence and Republic we have to take the people of this country in confidence before any law is drafted. But as per Prime Minister and the other Ministers assurances I have kept on hold my agitation till the winter session. If the law is not passed in the winter session then I will tour the five places where assembly elections are due to be held and then tour the rest of India during national elections. People should make it a point that they form a resolution on the Janlokpal Bill to be passed in Winter Session or else we will once again agitate and send it across through their village panchayat and Gramsabha to Manmohan Singh, Sonia Gandhi and to the President. From all over India 35 to 40 lac resolutions should reach the government.

When resolution for Lokpal Bill is passed a bill for Lokayukt should be brought and the state’s Chief-Minister, Governor should pass a resolution for this purpose. The directives for Lokayukt Bill will be sent on behalf of the Government. Before that a resolution comprising of our demands should be sent to the Chief-Minister and the Governor of our own state. We are short on time hence please send the said resolution as soon as possible. Those who are trying to create mischief will learn a lesson. This is the only opportunity we have in order to get a corruption free India, ‘now or never’. If the Government goes back on its word and refrains from passing the Janlokpal Bill then it will have to face much more damage than they are facing now. But if a stringent Janlokpal Bill is passed then the government will be able to bounce back from the damage it has faced till now. For the past 25 to 30 years I have led agitations without taking in to consideration any political party, person, part of society, state but have always kept in mind the well-being of the nation. Henceforth my agitations won’t be any different.

Inquilab Zindabad! Vande Mataram! Bharat Mata Ki Jai!

K. B. Hazare (Anna)

any guesses who are in this gang of 4 ? is one a patel and one a singh (not MMS!)
kshatriya

Post by kshatriya »

PC/Sibal/Diggy/Ahmed Patel ?

fanne,

Thanks for the educative post on the current state of UP caste politics! I will certainly remember your analysis when the next elections roll around, but let me add a mild dissent to what you say.

Every once in a while, there comes along a wild card issue that breaks across caste lines. In the current context, what we need to know is the fraction of the target communities (Kurmis, Thankurs...) that you mention who have moved into the middle class over the last several years. For them, middle class issues (corruption) will trump over caste based loyalties. The number swayed may not need to be a very significant fraction - like you say, this is all a game of percentages and if enough of the target castes hold back (or are swayed by AH anti-corruption movement) then the anticipated swing towards INC may not be strong enough. Plus, Mayawati in particular is a very canny operator and she is likely to have her own set of moves to counteract INC designs.

So it is wait and watch :)

Y I Patel wrote:fanne,

Thanks for the educative post on the current state of UP caste politics! I will certainly remember your analysis when the next elections roll around, but let me add a mild dissent to what you say.

Every once in a while, there comes along a wild card issue that breaks across caste lines. In the current context, what we need to know is the fraction of the target communities (Kurmis, Thankurs...) that you mention who have moved into the middle class over the last several years. For them, middle class issues (corruption) will trump over caste based loyalties. The number swayed may not need to be a very significant fraction - like you say, this is all a game of percentages and if enough of the target castes hold back (or are swayed by AH anti-corruption movement) then the anticipated swing towards INC may not be strong enough. Plus, Mayawati in particular is a very canny operator and she is likely to have her own set of moves to counteract INC designs.

So it is wait and watch :)
Meira Kumar is a trump card either as President or MMS's replacement as seat warmer par excellence.

She (meira kumar) certainly and desperately wants to be the president but may settle to become just that via the stepping stone of the PM's chair to play the rani's trump to undercut maywati.

`Cometh the hour, cometh the man' ( or woman, in this case), both current incumbents can easily be brushed aside citing ill health.

Patel Sahab,

My take is different on the situation. I am talking about Cong game plan. That doesn't mean it will pan out. I don't want to put my take, because if it is correct it gives ideas and solutions to this camp. Some part of it will definately not work. I did not say corruption will not effect these two communities. In fact I don't if it will. I don't want to use even 10 year old model to predict it. But sufficient to say, cong is not playing to get just 50 seaths out of 400 from UP. It is playing for a bigger number, now it is for others to spoil the party. I have outed the game plan (IF it is ture), now others can counter it.

I wish we have a Tweet button on each post and we click the button to tweet directly. Fanne's earlier post is a very good one and should be tweeted.

Anyone sat down and analysed the Harayana election? What impact did the 'corruption' really have? And wat is the socio-economic data of that LS seat?

http://www.lensonnews.com/lensonarticle ... -poll.html

To assess the impact of Anna’s call, non-Congress voters were asked if they would have voted for the Congress party had Anna not issued the ‘Vote against Congress’ call. Twelve percent (1 out of every 8) non-Congress voters answered in the affirmative meaning that they would have voted for the Congress party had Anna not issued the appeal. This is the estimated extent of the swing in vote against Congress that may be attributed to Anna’s appeal.

The LensOnNews poll findings suggest that Bishnoi was assured of a victory due to the strong anti-government sentiment, even without Anna’s appeal. The HJC’s alliance with the BJP had further boosted the prospects of HJC candidate. The intervention of Anna Hazare has only widened Congress party’s margin of defeat and increased its woes.

Ps - The poll prediction just for 1 LS seat went horribly wrong. Bhisnoi did not get 50% as predicted but 38.7 % (chautala got 37.1%). So TIFWIW. My take is corruption will have minimal effect. Other issues like inflation and otehr factors would have already turned many people against congress. It may act as a catalyst.