Statewide and National runup to 2014 General elections

Re: Statewide and National runup to 2014 General elections

Some rubbish. INC is fighting a very disorganised and disjoined fight for Karnataka. They show no seriousness at all. They think that the result is a forgone conclusion in their favour. This over confidence will be INCs "India Shining". I certainly hope so.

Muppalla wrote:Folks, please post C-Voter Times results from their survey. It is projecting a 93 seats for INC and that is a very important number as never ever INC was projected that low irrespective of its later hara-kiri. It is being swept away from Maha and AP and itself will kill UPA. In AP TDP seems to be getting 20+ seats and will probably be single largest there after Jagan. It is even losing Haryana to INLD (both father and son are in Jail). See the irony, Jagan, Chautala et al are going to win because they are in jail.

Is there a chart like results somewhere? Video is too long to watch all that.

BJP 140 is not to worry. Now it is very clear that they need to go with a leader who can rally its voters.
Is there a tabular data?

Is that fellow Shakeel Ahmad a local or national INC leader?

So they need a little more push for 10-15 more seats in KT to get a chance at Govt. formation.

I will try to get some analysis on Karnataka going. Please feel free to add if you have any insight/observation about a particular area/constituency. Please keep the analysis dispassionate. Idea is not to predict but try to understand the dynamics better. No wild speculations please.

2008 assembly results:

http://www.mapsofindia.com/assemblypoll ... sults.html

Please note that the numbers below the map are wrong. They're from the 2004 election. You can find the correct numbers here:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Karnataka_ ... tion,_2008

Broadly KA can electorally be divided into these areas:

Coastal areas + Malnad + Kodagu (DK,Udupi,Theerthahalli,Koppa,UK,Kodagu): Traditionally its a fight between BJP and Congress here. As you can see on the map, its not a saffron washout here as many expect. I'd expect it to be similar this time with a few more seats going to Congress.

South Karnataka: This is mostly Vokkaliga heartland comprising mainly of Hassan,Mysore,Mandya,Ramanagar,Bangalore Rural/Urban and Kolar districts. Except Bangalore Urban it's typically a split between Congress and JD(S). For all the scorn heaped on urban people in this thread, the lone saffron patch in South Karnataka is in Bangalore. This time there is resentment in BLR over the handling of garbage issue(justifiably so),water mafia etc, so BJP will probably take a hit here as well. There is heavy infighting within Congress in this region, not sure how it'll play out. But i dont see BJP benefiting from that.

Hyderabad-Karnataka region: Mainly Raichur,Bellary,Yadgir (and portion of Gulbarga?) districts. BJP obviously did well in Bellary but this place was a Congress stronghold before Reddy brothers came in as far as i know. BSR Congress has the capability to damage BJP if they fight seperately, so we'll have to watch out how it plays out there.

Rest of North Karnataka: Pretty much the entire saffron swathe on the map from Tarikere to Bidar. KJP's impact will be mainly here especially in the lower reaches like Davanagere,Shikaripura (BSY's constituency),Haveri etc. This is a Lingayat stronghold and i think BJP still retains lot of goodwill. But i think it'd be very difficult to repeat the kind of sweep seen in 2008.

With BJP losing a few seats in the coast and many more in North KA i think we'll see BJP ending up with 60-80 seats. Congress probably will gain the most and might touch around 100. I would be surprised if there is a rout. Feel free to correct me on any of the observations i've made. I'm not really very familiar with North KA dynamics. There is lot of analysis by constituency happening on Kannada channels but i haven't been able to follow in detail.

to what sriman has said, personal random sampling from coastal ka says bhajpa has lost goodwill in one of their strongest footholds. SoKa never enamoured with them, CoKa gone, which means onlu NoKA left.

So INC can form govt on its own or needs allies?

ramana wrote:So INC can form govt on its own or needs allies?
Though some enthusiast write it will not, I think this time Congress will form the goverment on its own after a long long time. It is probably a YSR moment in Karnataka for Congress party.
kapilrdave

Post by kapilrdave »

Sankuji,

Sorry for late reply. Got time only today after weekend and even today not much. By this time the NM thread has turned over 13 more pages :eek: . I may have lost some imp conversation there.
kapilrdave wrote: The local leaders of either BJP or JDU don't agree with you per the news report I posted earlier. It deosn't specifically speak about lallu but BJP is confident of making it big with a split.
Actually no you are wrong, it specifically says that JD (U) is worried that the split will help Lalu. BJP may take a stance that their hands are forced if JD (U) walks out, if they dont accept BJP choice, but that is very different from BJP wanting to leave JDU proactively.

All the work since 82 culminated in 98. It would take 15 years of low key active work, not necessarily a big bang approach.
To cut the long discussion short, I think you have too much of faith in NiKu. I don't know how you can have it even after seeing his actions in recent times. IMO he will leave NDA if he sees advantage in doing so anytime. Then he will be no different than lallu as far as coalition politics is concerned.

One more point. May be it is more appropriate for NM thread. If so we will move it there.

You value NiKu's persistence with NDA more than NM being declared as PM candidate. I have strong disagreement with you on this. NM is going to be a huge polarizing factor in this election if projected as PM. This will bring out dhimmi youth out of their drawing room watching pathetically ridiculous Salman/Devgan/Akshay/SRK movies to actually vote and do their duty as a citizen. Remember, the recent trend of voting is to give decisive mandate. BJP owes them to draw a stark contrast between the two systems (C and BJP) to make it very easy choice for them. By not projecting NM they are blurring this contrast. You just don't project an 84 years old un-charismatic leader - who has committed serious mistakes in past (Kandhar, Jinnah, not attending RJB after promising) - to a youthful nation which desperately wants betterment. C-sys is a status quo in our country. To remove it you need to overwhelmingly over power it. Just like we needed 1:7 superiority to re-capture Kargil. You need to throw your strongest weapon at it, not the weakest.

IMO If NM is not projected as PM candidate, the voter turnout will be lower. The lost %age of voters will be more neutral which would not see any good in voting either party (or alliance). C-sys has nothing with them to attract this people. But BJP does have NM to convert at least half of them. BJP need not to register its next biggest blunder by not projecting NM as PM candidate. If that means giving a way to bhikhari, so be it.

I said this before, shiv sena is useless. They are living upto that. Wicked men are always fearful of virtuous. They fear that if NM is projected as PM their 'so called' Hindu face will lose its make-up and true complexion will be visible to all - that is goonda gardi and people will abandon them for good.

And finally Sanku ji, If you support SS's and bhikhari's adherence to NDA against NM's PM candidature then you are doing a favor to c-sys because THAT EXACTLY IS WHAT they wants. They don't want to face NM in election. They are ok with just about anybody against them but NM.

kapilrdave wrote:Sankuji,
. I may have lost some imp conversation there.
Imp or not but yes some points were indeed discussed there. I will recap them in answers.
kapilrdave wrote:
To cut the long discussion short, I think you have too much of faith in NiKu.
Then he will be no different than lallu as far as coalition politics is concerned.
No Sir, I have no faith, in Nitish, in fact I have already said that forget Nitish, even inside BJP people will behave opportunistically within their ideological parameters. Politics mein koi kisi ka saga nahi hota hai.

The reason why Nitish and BJP need each other is simple, it is a social coalition which is keeping out the UP like patter of en bloc voting my a certain community having a disproportionate effect on outcome.

The people in the social coalition on NDA side, all know this, and they know they need to depend on each other or their goose is cooked. Simple enlightened self intrest onlee.

You value NiKu's persistence with NDA more than NM being declared as PM candidate. I have strong disagreement with you on this. NM is going to be a huge polarizing factor in this election if projected as PM.
I disagree, again discussed in the NaMo thread, in a nut shell, there is no evidence on the ground to back that up. Viz Modi pulling in net effective more seats. We can continue that discussion in the NaMo thread after you have caught up with the 13 pages.
And finally Sanku ji, If you support SS's and bhikhari's adherence to NDA against NM's PM candidature then you are doing a favor to c-sys because THAT EXACTLY IS WHAT they wants. They don't want to face NM in election. They are ok with just about anybody against them but NM.
Actually I think it is you who is doing them a favor, they care about staying in power, forcing a split of NDA is going to ensure that they get it. (Again a point discussed in NaMo thread)

They dont care about NaMo at all, only to the extent that is a power issue. They beat on NaMo because beating on NaMo has ensured rich dividends elsewhere, not because they particularly see him as a threat. Similarly for rounding up of Hindu unfortunates for the terror incidents by Pakis. Col Purohit was not a threat, he was just serving a purpose elsewhere, collateral damage.

It is a different matter, that it is their beating which has raised the profile of NaMo, and it is coming back to haunt them, so the world is a ironic place, but per se, they dont care about NaMo at all.
kapilrdave

Post by kapilrdave »

1. JDU leaving NDA <> some BJP MP leaving BJP. That is a giddy argument. The point is, for whatever reason BJP and JDU fight the election together, the alliance has doubtful future to say the least.

2. There can be no 'hard' evidence of NM's popularity and people's desire for him. Only thing that you have to observe it and feel it around you. If lots and lots of people are talking about him including his opponents, he sure is popular. During my travelling of few states (for my personal stuffs) in recent times I have observed this wind. I can't argue if you have not. But they you also can't have the evidence of him being not so popular :). (now plz don't say - in your very own grand way of extending the logic to extreme which actually I like from you - that by that logic even lallu is popular as PM candidate.)

3. Again, there is no hard fact that we can argue about on whether c-sys wants to face NM in election or not. But if you ask 100 BRF this question, you will get at least 90 answers in negative. But ya, I know your argument. BRFites are jingo-e-hind kind :).

4. And surveys are crap :). Not that I disagree.

So peace only.

kapilrdave wrote:1. JDU leaving NDA <> some BJP MP leaving BJP. That is a giddy argument. The point is, for whatever reason BJP and JDU fight the election together, the alliance has doubtful future to say the least.
What argument is that? I did not make that argument. I made the argument that a split results in loss of votes for both and emergence of a particular bloc as a result.
2. There can be no 'hard' evidence of NM's popularity and people's desire for him. Only thing that you have to observe it and feel it around you.
There can be hard evidence. These are called election surveys, carried out both in house, through third party, and through collation of feedback from all prabhari's and state/district units. There must be hard evidence, everything else ends up being hand waving.
3. Again, there is no hard fact that we can argue about on whether c-sys wants to face NM in election or not. But if you ask 100 BRF this question, you will get at least 90 answers in negative. But ya, I know your argument. BRFites are jingo-e-hind kind :).
Correct, also BRFites are not politically savvy. They think more in terms of aar paar ki ladai, including me, that is, but I try and not be myself sometimes.

Peace indeed sir.

ramana wrote:So INC can form govt on its own or needs allies?
They have a good chance but they've royally messed up the ticket distribution and this might damage their chances. There are 2 factors which will determine if INC wins more than 110 seats:

1. Amount of damage to BJP caused by KJP in North KA. If KJP swings the contest (there aren't a lot of seats where they'll win outright) in favour of INC in a lot of seats, INC will be in with a very good chance of making it on their own. I just saw an interview with Jagadish Shettar on Public TV and he was asked what his message to the voters was. He bluntly replied saying North KA people have to be clear who they're voting for. He said by voting for BJP they will be voting for a CM from North KA! He said people shouldn't be voting for a party that does not stand a chance of forming the government on their own. When probed who he was referring to, he calmly replied KJP :). You can be sure they'll be repeating this in all their rallies in north. And there is nothing incendiary in what he said. Coast has a completely different dynamic and they don't stand a chance in South Karnataka anyway. So there is no need for them to hedge. They realize they need to prevent Congress from gaining in North KA.

2. Damage caused to INC by infighting. There has been a frenzy for INC tickets following the local body election performance. And there is a lot of infighting. As it stands there are 25 rebel candidates against INC currently. This will end up strengthening JD(S) in South KA. HD Kumaraswamy actually has a good following among Vokkaliga youth and there are no stand out leaders in INC right now (Siddaramaiah's appeal is limited to areas around MYS and SMK is being sidelined in Mandya). There is a very strong chance that JD(S) will do well this time.

One more remote possibility is if JD(S) does really well at the expense of INC in South KA and BJP does reasonably well in North KA. If they manage to win 100 seats (say 60 BJP, 40 JD(S)) both parties will be open to a coalition. Their votebanks are not the same. Yeddi will want to win 20-30 seats and hope he gets to play kingmaker.

The Shettar interview will probably get uploaded here later:

http://www.youtube.com/user/publictvnew ... a?feature=

http://www.indianexpress.com/news/in-jo ... e/1104602/

In jolt for Goel, Rajnath says BJP has not decided on CM candidate

Sanku wrote:http://www.indianexpress.com/news/in-jo ... e/1104602/

In jolt for Goel, Rajnath says BJP has not decided on CM candidate
Excellent. Hold some primaries of sorts. Let the ordinary karyakarta on the ground have a say in such big decisions. My feeling is Dr Harshvardhan will be by far the janta's choice.

Could there be a Modi hand behind the decision?

Andhra CM and PCC chief were invited to Delhi to meet Sonia Gandhi and Gulam Nabi Azad so they can help fund Karnataka Elections

http://www.suryaa.com/state/article-133474
ఆ మేరకు సీఎం, పీసీసీ చీఫ్‌ను ఢిల్లీకి పిలిపించారు. పార్టీ అధినేత్రి సోనియా, రాష్ట్ర ఇన్చార్జి గులాంనబీ ఆజాద్ ఇద్దరూ వీరితో విడిగా భేటీ అయిన సమయంలో, కర్నాటకకు నిధులు అందించాలన్న చర్చ వచ్చినట్లు తెలుస్తోంది. మిగిలిన విషయాలు మాట్లాడినప్పటికీ, ప్రధానంగా దీనిపైనే చర్చ జరిగిందంటున్నారు. ఈ భేటీలో ఆజాద్‌తోపాటు, అహ్మద్‌పటేల్, మోతీలాల్ ఓరా కూడా పాల్గొన్నారు. ఆంధ్ర-మహారాష్ట్ర నుంచి వచ్చే నిధులతోనే కర్నాటక ఎన్నికలు పూర్తి చేయాలని నాయకత్వం భావిస్తోంది.
The issues related to Andhra governance can wait:
- Telangana demand
- Water scarcity
- Unending power cuts
- Slow industrial growth
- Stalled Power/Hydal projects
- deteriorating law and order situation

This is the congress-system some self-styled liberal, wise forum members support and want to persist on Bharat.

RamaY wrote:Andhra CM and PCC chief were invited to Delhi to meet Sonia Gandhi and Gulam Nabi Azad so they can help fund Karnataka Elections

http://www.suryaa.com/state/article-133474
ఆ మేరకు సీఎం, పీసీసీ చీఫ్‌ను ఢిల్లీకి పిలిపించారు. పార్టీ అధినేత్రి సోనియా, రాష్ట్ర ఇన్చార్జి గులాంనబీ ఆజాద్ ఇద్దరూ వీరితో విడిగా భేటీ అయిన సమయంలో, కర్నాటకకు నిధులు అందించాలన్న చర్చ వచ్చినట్లు తెలుస్తోంది. మిగిలిన విషయాలు మాట్లాడినప్పటికీ, ప్రధానంగా దీనిపైనే చర్చ జరిగిందంటున్నారు. ఈ భేటీలో ఆజాద్‌తోపాటు, అహ్మద్‌పటేల్, మోతీలాల్ ఓరా కూడా పాల్గొన్నారు. ఆంధ్ర-మహారాష్ట్ర నుంచి వచ్చే నిధులతోనే కర్నాటక ఎన్నికలు పూర్తి చేయాలని నాయకత్వం భావిస్తోంది.
The issues related to Andhra governance can wait:
- Telangana demand
- Water scarcity
- Unending power cuts
- Slow industrial growth
- Stalled Power/Hydal projects
- deteriorating law and order situation

This is the congress-system some self-styled liberal, wise forum members support and want to persist on Bharat.
AP mess was created to screw BJP in Karnataka. I alluded this point many times. AP BJP also enthusiastically participated in INC strategy to screw KT BJP. :rotfl:

YSR/Jagan, Yeddy/KJP, Ballari Reddys/BSR, Telangana/Coastal moneybags are all participants in the Maya strategy.

Published on Apr 20, 2013
Narendra Modi first among equals in PM candidate race: Kalyan Singh: PTI
Etah: Joining the chorus, BJP leader Kalyan Singh on Saturday said there are a number of able and experienced leaders in the party, but acceptability of Narendra Modi as prime ministerial candidate is "highest".

The former Uttar Pradesh chief minister told reporters here that Modi is a popular leader of the country, "who is voice of the people".

He termed the Gujarat Chief Minister as 'vikas purush'.
In reply to another question, Kalyan said that alliance with SP, BSP and Lok Dal was BJP's "mistake" which will not be repeated again.

Coomi Kapoor's Column
All in the family
Usually, an MP heads the vigilance cell in his or her constituency. But Sonia Gandhi recently deputed her daughter Priyanka Vadra to take her place on the Rae Bareli vigilance committee. Vadra has been frequently touring her mother's constituency this year and it is presumed that she may well contest the elections from Rae Bareli. Sonia Gandhi is expected to stay out of the electoral fray because of her ill health. Priyanka has her work cut out. In the last Assembly elections, the party won only two seats in the family's three pocket boroughs of Rae Bareli, Amethi and Sultanpur.

Searching for seat

L K Advani is looking for a safe seat from where he can fight in the next general elections. Because of the bad vibes between Narendra Modi and Advani on the leadership issue, the latter does not want to put himself at Modi's mercy by standing again from the Gandhinagar seat. Advani has reportedly set his sights on the Bhopal constituency since Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan is a friend who can be relied upon. An advance team has already gone to Bhopal to make an assessment of the constituency.

Caught out

The case of the surveillance of Arun Jaitley's phone gets curiouser and curiouser. It now transpires that it was not just an unauthorised policeman who had obtained Jaitley's phone records but the South and Central divisions and the Crime Branch of the Delhi Police had separately made official requests for the BJP leader's call details. The excuse proffered for this unlawful invasion of the politician's privacy was that the police discovered a large number of SMSes from Jaitley's phone to certain person. It is well known in party circles that Jaitley does not use SMS, at best there are occasional thank you messages sent out by his secretary.

Gujarati influence

With Narendra Modi's rising clout, the Gujarati influence in the BJP is apparent. But even in the Congress, party functionaries from NaMo's home state have a major say in the decision-making process. Sonia Gandhi's political secretary Ahmed Patel has been a power centre for long, but of late he has competition of sorts from Madhusudan Mistry, also from Gujarat, whose duties have increased significantly. Mistry, who is a favourite of Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi, played a key role in the distribution of party tickets for the Karnataka Assembly elections. Mistry is also a member of Rahul's Rakabganj Road war room where the strategy for the 2014 elections is being chalked out. Mistry has been touring different parts of the country to provide inputs for ticket distribution for the next general elections. Mistry's NGO background impressed Rahul Gandhi. A third Gujarati who is also close to the Gandhi family is Sam Pitroda. Pitroda is adviser to the Prime Minister on Public Information Infrastructure and Innovation.

Pawar games

Who was the leader from among the UPA allies who allegedly tried to incite former BJP president Nitin Gadkari to topple the government? Though Gadkari has not spelt out the name, there are enough hints to guess his identity. Sharad Pawar is the obvious suspect, since Gadkari is comfortable with his fellow Maharashtrian. Pawar in recent days has been warning that the UPA government may not complete its full term. While Pawar is willing to work under Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, it is not known whether he would be comfortable with a relative youngster like Rahul Gandhi as his boss. Pawar has also shown his hand in his own party by chiding his nephew Ajit Pawar even after Ajit had already apologised for his "urine-in-dam" remark.

Prepared to go solo

Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar seems to be quietly preparing for possible elections, which he may have to fight solo. Last fortnight, he transferred some 75 SDMs who serve as returning officers during elections. A large number of DMs and SPs have also been shifted.

Aam aadmi party allies with NCP in Arunachal Pradesh. :D

^So kejri co. thinks pawar family and ncp part of upa are corruption free :rotfl:

It ij sekoolar karapshan onlee...

Explains how UPA can come to power twice. Programmer under oath admits computers rig elections: http://youtu.be/1thcO_olHas

If Congress comes to power in Karnatka, then all this Modi wave will be proven just another internet fad.

jamwal wrote:If Congress comes to power in Karnatka, then all this Modi wave will be proven just another internet fad.
Karnataka BJP is itself responsible for what happens there. Modi is not a magician. Why should people vote for him, as he is not going to be part of the State Govt. anyway.

Atri wrote:Aam aadmi party allies with NCP in Arunachal Pradesh. :D
@KrishnaBaaluu
#AAP exposed! Kejriwal 2 support Aboobackers communal left party "Social Democratic Party of India in Karnata polls proved?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Social_Dem ... y_of_India

Leader E. Aboobacker

A large part of Modi wave is the hatred against Congress policies. Congress won in Himachal even when BJP didn't do that bad there. They just won due to seemingly good campaigning (and I suspect EVM rigging).
But a lot of things have happened after that and people have become even more disillusioned by Congress. If it wins the elections inspite of all the sentiment, then there is something very wrong with voters or EVMs

BTW, news about AAP alliance with NCP or aboobacker whatever was fake.
Last edited by Pranav on 21 Apr 2013 21:58, edited 1 time in total.

jamwal wrote:If Congress comes to power in Karnatka, then all this Modi wave will be proven just another internet fad.
Karnataka is different; it's in the south zone elections will be won/lost on basis of local issues here. Modi is not coming here and I am glad that he is not cleaning up Yedurappa's potty. BJP deserves to get booted out of here so that if the top command has a sense of direction they better come up with better leadership here. There is actually no difference between BJP and INC in Karnataka.

I understand, but I just don't want Congress winning either

I hope it belongs here. From WikiLeaks
https://www.wikileaks.org/plusd/cables/ ... 380_a.html
Tytler's day in court is long overdue. In
the days after Indira Gandhi's assassination, he was among
the local Congress Party leaders competing with one another
to see which wards would shed more Sikh blood. In exhorting
his party cadres and goons to kill more Sikhs, he is reported
to have told them they shamed him in the eyes of the top
Congress leaders because there were fewer killings in his
wards. The killing by his henchmen apparently ensured his
success in establishing Congress Party bona fides and
demonstrating fealty to the Nehru-Gandhi dynasty because he
has regularly been given the Congress Party ticket in
parliamentary elections since then and has served as a
federal Minister in Congress-led governments.

Mulayam fires another salvo, says UPA govt should quit

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 668327.cms

Any former or current TN vaasi would not think twice before agreeing DMK and AIADMK are filled with goons, and Karunanidhi and JJ share equal blame and credit for the affairs of TN, and that both leaders are corrupt, egoistic and eccentric in their own ways.

Raja and DMK have no clean hands, however such huge sums of money can not be scammed without other important and powerful leaders knowing about it or sharing the spoils. Even the bribe collected in the RTO is shared by the office bearers, even the bribe collected by traffic cops is shared by select cops in the food chain. Without the blessing of higher ups it is tough to loot such large sums of money.

DMK has decided it will go down fighting. So it is going to ask tough questions Now. It is like one crook questioning another. If it was not sad, it would be funny.

Since there is no shame in dirty politics, now DMK and INC might bicker, but pretty soon they could scratch each others back.

http://www.firstpost.com/politics/how-p ... 16452.html

Good analysis by Pramod.

SRT is going to break many hearts with his uncalled legions (may be Madam has a dossier on him). Anyhow, the occasion is Rajiv Shukla's online news paper (its not a sports news) launch.

@SandeepWeb 29m

So Advani's election speech at Ranebennur was a major flop.