Indian Army News & Discussions - 11 June 2014

Bhaskar_T

Re: Indian Army: News and Discussions 11 June 2014

Post by Bhaskar_T »

Shiv - Many thanks.

PS - On a different topic, hope you did not miss Mig-21 accident occurred recently, normally you keep a good tab on such accidents. Didn't hear your view on 200 meters overshooting incident. May be Uri kept you busy. Never mind.

Bhaskar_T wrote:Shiv - Many thanks.

PS - On a different topic, hope you did not miss Mig-21 accident occurred recently, normally you keep a good tab on such accidents. Didn't hear your view on 200 meters overshooting incident. May be Uri kept you busy. Never mind.
I wanted to thank you for posting in the Flt Safety thread. Thx

The paki tank force split into 2-3 wings, and went across the longewala outpost deeper into India towards ramgarh

The IAF was looking out for them on the Longewala-Ramgarh road.
The IAF even hit a few of them across the border once they were finished here on this side.

Bhaskar_T, If the Indian Army contingent had not held the position in the night, there would have been different story. The MVC was for holding the position against a large tank force and delaying their strike. IAF did mince meat of the tanks.

https://www.thequint.com/uri-attack/201 ... terrorists
Exclusive: Uri Avenged, Spl Forces Cross LoC; Kill 20 Terrorists

At least 20 terrorists have been neutralised in a daring cross-LoC operation by the Indian Army in response to the Uri attack.
Two units of the elite 2 Paras comprising 18-20 soldiers flew across the LoC in the Uri sector in military helicopters and reportedly carried out an operation that killed at least 20 suspected terrorists across three terror camps in Pakistan Occupied Kashmir (PoK).
Casualties suffered, including those injured by terrorists, could be as high as 200, sources said.

Military sources revealed to The Quint, which confirmed this information from two other independent sources, that the operation happened during the intervening hours of 20 September and 21 September.
:twisted: :mrgreen: 8)

Kolahoi ‏@PawanDurani 3m3 minutes ago
Kolahoi Retweeted Harini Calamur
I insist that news is correct and those killed were Pakistan regulars

Aviator Anil Chopra
‏@Chopsyturvey
Elite Para Commandos of Indian Army already in PoK. 3 militant camps targeted. PM @narendramodi was in MO Ops room till 2230 last night. Wow
Aviator Anil Chopra
@Chopsyturvey
Retd Air Marshal of Indian #AirForce, Test Pilot. Member Armed Forces Tribunal
Last edited by sivab on 21 Sep 2016 22:50, edited 1 time in total.

Yes!!!! If the above news is correct, then FINALLY finally we have a leadership that has the cojones to take on Pakistani terrorists in line with the quality of soldiers & military that we have.

Sumann Sharrma ‏@SumannSharrma 33m33 minutes ago
Companies of 2 and 9 Para Special Forces conducted ops
Sumann Sharrma ‏@SumannSharrma 23m23 minutes ago
This is just a small trailer , lots to follow . Could even be pre-mature Diwali !!
Sumann Sharrma ‏@SumannSharrma 7m7 minutes ago
Op is over. Air lifted back to parent location early morning without injury
---------------------------------------
Maj Gen SK Sinha ‏@SKSk785 1h1 hour ago
@TheSherni It is trailer main film is due :)

---------------------------------------

Aviator Anil Chopra ‏@Chopsyturvey 52m52 minutes ago
Sums up the situation. The sher has got up. Just wait and see

No such report on any news channel. Will be great news if true.

Apropos Longewala, what I do not understand is, why did the Pak tanks not simply bypass Longewala and continue enmasse onto the Jaisalmer airbase? What was going on in their minds.. ? Utterly incompetent and then they go on TV with their chests out and stick hundreds of fake medals on their uniforms. For something like this, in fighting armies, the commanders would have been shot or fired/demoted at the very least.

X Posted from the STFUP thread.
sivab wrote:https://www.thequint.com/uri-attack/201 ... terrorists
Exclusive: Uri Avenged, Spl Forces Cross LoC; Kill 20 Terrorists

At least 20 terrorists have been neutralised in a daring cross-LoC operation by the Indian Army in response to the Uri attack.
Two units of the elite 2 Paras comprising 18-20 soldiers flew across the LoC in the Uri sector in military helicopters and reportedly carried out an operation that killed at least 20 suspected terrorists across three terror camps in Pakistan Occupied Kashmir (PoK).
Casualties suffered, including those injured by terrorists, could be as high as 200, sources said.

Military sources revealed to The Quint, which confirmed this information from two other independent sources, that the operation happened during the intervening hours of 20 September and 21 September.
:twisted: :mrgreen: 8)
deejay wrote:
sivab wrote:
Aviator Anil Chopra
@Chopsyturvey
Retd Air Marshal of Indian #AirForce, Test Pilot. Member Armed Forces Tribunal
Tweet deleted.
The established track record of our Prime Minister Narendra Modi and that of the political party he belongs to, the BJP, is to be very vocal in showing that they are robust in upholding matters of National Security and Defence. The on record “silence” of PM Modi and the BJP on the so called cross border raid into Pakistan Occupied Jammu & Kashmir is thus atypical. I will need a lot more convincing that news of this so called cross border raid is anything more than a low effort propaganda ploy to attempt to conjure up an image of robust resolve on the part of our PM and the party he belongs to, the BJP.

As much as I would like to believe that our country at long last has shown the resolve it must by launching cross border raids into POK to exterminate Islamic Republic of Pakistan State sponsored Mohammadden Terrorists, for now I am not biting on the news that she indeed has done just that. I will need a lot more convincing. Wait and watch, though I fear it may be a very long wait :evil: .

sudeepj..from what i have heard they suspected extensive minefields ...so were not sure to tackle it at night ..they thought better to hunker down for the night and resume morning.

sudeepj wrote:Apropos Longewala, what I do not understand is, why did the Pak tanks not simply bypass Longewala and continue enmasse onto the Jaisalmer airbase? What was going on in their minds.. ? Utterly incompetent and then they go on TV with their chests out and stick hundreds of fake medals on their uniforms. For something like this, in fighting armies, the commanders would have been shot or fired/demoted at the very least.
I think they wanted to cross the border under cover of darkness and they needed roads for the trucks and men that were part of the attack. The tanks got across first and waited for the others to catch up by which time that small posse of Indian army men got a chance to shower them with such an intense welcome that they thought there was a huge welcoming Indian force. So the hunkered down for the night. The rest ij history as they say

ramana wrote:Bhaskar_T, If the Indian Army contingent had not held the position in the night, there would have been different story. The MVC was for holding the position against a large tank force and delaying their strike. IAF did mince meat of the tanks.
The Indian army command initially did not believe that there was a huge Paki armoured column attacking at Longewala - so the situation was dicey. The IAF could not respond at night - they promised to come at first light. Major Kuldip Singh Chandpuri could have packed up and retreated along with his 120 men and one recoilless gun. Even one tank could have overrun 120 men, let alone 60 tanks. But he held his nerve and the story I was told was that the intense firing from Chandpuris men was accompanied by the choicest Punjabi gaalis about what the Pakistanis could expect if they came any further. Nerve, chutzpah and psy-ops at their finest. Action that deserved awards and a movie - but the actual tank killing was done by the IAF

Not IA for sure .

That is not an Indian army helicopter

sudeepj wrote:Apropos Longewala, what I do not understand is, why did the Pak tanks not simply bypass Longewala and continue enmasse onto the Jaisalmer airbase? What was going on in their minds.. ? Utterly incompetent and then they go on TV with their chests out and stick hundreds of fake medals on their uniforms. For something like this, in fighting armies, the commanders would have been shot or fired/demoted at the very least.
Sudeepj - I've a book written by a Pakistan Army Col who was part of this operation. And he was from their armored corps (had also served a stint in SSG). Long story short, the formation from Pakistan side which made the thrust was in very bad shape. The troops and equipment where from a Division which was one of the 'Chinese Divisions' in the PA. These were called as such because they were equipped majorly with equipment imported from China.

The equipment was bad with very low serviceability rate. The tanks had serious break-down issues the moment they started. These were not going anywhere.

I remember an incident which the officer narrates. I think it was after the Hunter attack - one of the tank crews BURIED their tanks in the desert sand to ensure they don't get called up to mount any attack.

Been a long time since I read that book. Will dig up more details if required.

That was either Mexico or California....
not IA....

Bhaskar_T wrote:Bandhu Warriors - I am out of ammunition, kindly provide some. My Pakistani colleague (senior in office, Naved Akram) over lunch gave me the reference of article below (indeed 2008, an old one) and said Laungewala was faked by Indian Army, major credit goes to IAF hunters. Whereas the impression I have from movie "Border" and other articles is that Indian Army did their best against numerically adverse conditions and in the morning, with the support from IAF, the battle was converted into a decisive victory.
Sorry to say but the Paki is correct. I heard a complete account of the action from my (now deceased) cousin Wg Cdr "Kukke" Suresh who took part in the Longewala action as one of the 11 Hunter pilots

The army had virtually no chance of winning the battle. The main Indian army column had crossed the border 2 days away in the north to attack Rahim yar Khan. Only 120 men were left facing 60 plus tanks. But no one can take away credit from Maj Kuldip Singh Chandpuri and the small army contingent of 120 men for holding up the huge tank attack at night by giving them all they had - making the Pakis think that there was a hu-uge Indian defending force. the next day they would have been overrun - they had no chance- but the Hunters started at first light. It was the air force that killed the attack. I recall my cousin saying he felt bad for a Paki driver whom he saw jumping with his clothes on fire out of a truck that he shot up with 30 mm cannon

There is also another great army hero that Border did not feature - Maj Atma Singh - an incredibly brave AOP pilot who guided the Hunters to the Paki tanks in a light unarmed plane that even had to force land in the battle zone. Hunters gave fire cover to Atma Singh while he fixed the plane and took off again
Bhaskar, you need to tell your colleague about role of an anvil when using a hammer.

Swinging a hammer is meaningless waste of energy. Try hitting anything unsecured with a hammer. Very little hits the object and most of the energy just dissipates.

But when used with an anvil, the full force of hammer is utilised.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anvil

A Company 23 Punjab was the anvil that held up Pakistani forces for IAF to hammer. Had IAF not turned up that morning, they would be butchered to a man, yet K S Chandpuri stood strong.

Victory has many fathers and defeat is an orphan.

In Longewala, it was K C Chandpuri and A Coy 23 Punjab's victory because they willingly faced the odds. And Major Atma Singh.

The IAF did routine strafing of gathered tanks, that they practice routinely on ranges, facing only 12.7 mm fire.

Had the Pakistanis not been "collected" by 23 Punjab like an anvil, then the 4 Hunters would have to fly many sorties trying to visually spot where the tank column was. 4 pilots scanning thousands of sq km of desert terrain is a painstaking exercise with minimal chance of success.

Had 23 Punjab did not hold their position, there was the possibility of Pakistani tanks overrunning Jaisalmer airfield from where 122 Sq operated.

War is combined arms operation. Unless both anvil and hammer work, there will not be outcomes.

Sadly, people only see the hammer because of its visual appeal. Most people don't even know what an anvil does.

A similar case was 1971 IAF strafing of Government House at Dhaka. The highly accurate intelligence gathered by SIGINT folks is never appreciated. A few words or lines are given for the intelligence folks
Last edited by tsarkar on 24 Sep 2016 16:13, edited 1 time in total.

tsarkar wrote:
shiv wrote: Sorry to say but the Paki is correct. I heard a complete account of the action from my (now deceased) cousin Wg Cdr "Kukke" Suresh who took part in the Longewala action as one of the 11 Hunter pilots

The army had virtually no chance of winning the battle. The main Indian army column had crossed the border 2 days away in the north to attack Rahim yar Khan. Only 120 men were left facing 60 plus tanks. But no one can take away credit from Maj Kuldip Singh Chandpuri and the small army contingent of 120 men for holding up the huge tank attack at night by giving them all they had - making the Pakis think that there was a hu-uge Indian defending force. the next day they would have been overrun - they had no chance- but the Hunters started at first light. It was the air force that killed the attack. I recall my cousin saying he felt bad for a Paki driver whom he saw jumping with his clothes on fire out of a truck that he shot up with 30 mm cannon

There is also another great army hero that Border did not feature - Maj Atma Singh - an incredibly brave AOP pilot who guided the Hunters to the Paki tanks in a light unarmed plane that even had to force land in the battle zone. Hunters gave fire cover to Atma Singh while he fixed the plane and took off again
Bhaskar, you need to tell your colleague about role of an anvil when using a hammer.

Swinging a hammer is meaningless waste of energy. Try hitting anything unsecured with a hammer. Very little hits the object and most of the energy just dissipates.

But when used with an anvil, the full force of hammer is utilised.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anvil

A Company 23 Punjab was the anvil that held up Pakistani forces for IAF to hammer. Had IAF not turned up that morning, they would be butchered to a man, yet K S Chandpuri stood strong.

Victory has many fathers and defeat is an orphan.

In Longewala, it was K C Chandpuri and A Coy 23 Punjab's victory because they willingly faced the odds. And Major Atma Singh.

The IAF did routine strafing of gathered tanks, that they practice routinely on ranges, facing only 12.7 mm fire.

Had the Pakistanis not been "collected" by 23 Punjab like an anvil, then the 4 Hunters would have to fly many sorties trying to visually spot where the tank column was. 4 pilots scanning thousands of sq km of desert terrain is a painstaking exercise with minimal chance of success.

Had 23 Punjab did not hold their position, there was the possibility of Pakistani tanks overrunning Jaisalmer airfield from where 122 Sq operated.

War is combined arms operation. Unless both anvil and hammer work, there will not be outcomes.

Sadly, people only see the hammer because of its visual appeal. Most people don't even know what an anvil does.
Well said Sir.

rohitvats wrote:Been a long time since I read that book. Will dig up more details if required.
Could you share the name of the book?
parashara

Post by parashara »

In the light of these riveting accounts of the battle of longewala and the courage of our forces, I just wanted to put down some of my thoughts and emotions regarding the recent Uri attack and the various responses I have been witnessing. I am not trying to rebut anyone's arguments. This is just my personal opinion and I wanted to place it before the BRF community.

I know this isn't directly related to this thread but still...

1. A lot of people (including to my surprise - a person like Raghu Raman) have come out saying that the anger in the country and pressure for a military response is irresponsible jingoism. Some people have said that most of this has emanated from civvies and ex-generals who, comfortably ensconced in their armchairs, are playing with the lives of soldiers on the front line. I personally think that this is the most ill-informed and unfortunate viewpoint. First off, the folks most desirous of a military strike are the forces themselves. And naturally so. Further, I don't think anyone should deride the emotional outburst of the Indian people who openly support their forces. After all, these sorts of attacks have become so frequent that the burning desire to hit back is a perfectly natural, organic, human reaction that must be celebrated. I would be very worried if such a response was *not* visible. Are we just bales of straw? Can't we be even allowed to feel justifiable anger? I think we would be a very sad and unhealthy nation if we attempted to solve every challenge thrown at us through calculation, analysis, option-weighing, risk mitigation etc... For god's sake - just give them a tight slap first. And the folks administering the slap know the capabilities of who they are slapping. Why all this over-analysis? And that brings me to the second point.

2. These very same people (again including RR) trot out endless arguments about how it would be better to employ diplomacy, the global economy, the baloch faultline, intelligence gathering yada yada to bring piggistan to its knees. I am not disagreeing with a single one of these remedies. But pray - why should this preclude a surgical military strike? Why on earth do we buy endless weapons and train our massive forces - if not to strike when the need arises and when the nation is angry? If military strikes are never an option, why do we train with Israeli forces and US forces who never shy away from military strike options? Along with these prescriptions comes the endless whine (RR isn't guilty here) that India has no international support for military strikes. IMO, this is lopsided - we don't have international support precisely because we don't assert our rights to strike militarily. When you act strongly, world opinion falls in line.

3. Finally - the most insidious statement (one that sadly, RR makes) is that the forces have been short-changed (in salaries and equipment) and that to expect them to put themselves in harm's way is hypocritical on part of the populace. Wow! Where do we go from here? I am stunned into silence. Is this what India is all about? Is this what a shivaji, a rana pratap, a lachit barphukan, a krishna deva raya, a tanaji malusare would say? But for the above heroes, my ancestors may have been forcibly converted or killed. I owe my existence and freedom to these giants among men.
Isn't there anything to say about shining courage and valour? What kind of a world are we living in? Am I just an old fashioned jerk?

Please excuse my long winded rant...

parashara wrote:What kind of a world are we living in? Am I just an old fashioned jerk?
I find myself asking these questions everyday.

I work in a major corporation two levels below the MD & CEO. Whenever such incidents occur, my colleagues reaction is like someone somewhere caused an irritation like pigeon droppings on their Audi/Beamer windscreen. Of course, the same people were shitting bricks when they or someone they knew were trapped/killed at the Taj & Trident. These people shed crocodile tears for the departed and went on with their lives. Selfishness is so epidemic in our nation that greater values are just those silly Facebook & WhatsApp spam forwards.

Also, very sadly, public promotion battles have made our top military leadership susceptible to political - and more importantly - bureaucratic pressure.

Contrast that with General Rajendrasinhji Jadeja refusal to be part of Nehru's political scheming against FM Cariappa.

Or the very able Lt. Gen. Thorat superseded by Nehru for standing up for Gen. Thimayya and the infamous Pran Nath Thapar made head of Indian Army.

Or General Prem Bhagat, Victoria Cross, superceded because Indira Gandhi did not want a strong military leader like Sam Maneckshaw.

Those with an interest in military history can read the biography of some of India's finest generals here

http://veekay-militaryhistory.blogspot. ... chive.html
anjan

Post by anjan »

tsarkar wrote: Had the Pakistanis not been "collected" by 23 Punjab like an anvil,
The Armored column stopped because they ran into a cattle fence and in the darkness thought it was marking a minefield instead.

Between a war's need for heroes and the toxic internal medal politics of the Army quite a few heroes get made and quite a few get ignored. This is true the world over but is amplified by the nature of cap-badge rivalry in the Indian Army.

parashara, perhaps one should be surprised about sri RR's views. while he is one fine orator, the fact that he was appointed by a dispensation not known for appointing capable and motivated people and that he was unceremoniously removed by the current one might give us an idea.

parashara wrote: 1. A lot of people (including to my surprise - a person like Raghu Raman) have come out saying that the anger in the country and pressure for a military response is irresponsible jingoism.
My OT reply is here :
viewtopic.php?f=24&t=7212&p=2049037#p2049037

Agree completely tsarkar. Taking nothing away from the IAF but my heart is with the bravehearts chandpuri and his soldiers who stood there with death staring them in the face.

parashara wrote: Please excuse my long winded rant...
No rant. Nice piece
parashara

Post by parashara »

Manish ji - The person I was referring to was Raghu Raman (as against Raghuram Rajan the ex-governor of the RBI). Raghu Raman is an ex-captain of the IA and the former CEO of NatGrid.

I am indeed aware of the fact that RR's contract at NatGrid was not renewed by the Modi govt. And as Rahul ji points out - maybe this indicates his (probable) political leanings.

At any rate my angst is that we, as a people, are becoming accustomed to complex, cynical and fruitless ruminations instead of spirited living. The closest samskrit word for this is "manasika vikshiptata".

My opinion (others may vehemently disagree) is that we are now fortunate to have a Raja who can lead us out of this. Hope the praja will take heed and follow.
Marten
Location: Engaging Communists, Uber-Socialists, Maoists, and other pro-poverty groups in fruitful dialog.

Post by Marten »

Rahul M wrote:parashara, perhaps one should be surprised about sri RR's views. while he is one fine orator, the fact that he was appointed by a dispensation not known for appointing capable and motivated people and that he was unceremoniously removed by the current one might give us an idea.
RR is Group President in Reliance. Did he retire due to medical reasons? I mean retiring as Captain means the gent didn't complete his full tenure. Genuine question, not implying anything.

parashara wrote:Manish ji - The person I was referring to was Raghu Raman (as against Raghuram Rajan the ex-governor of the RBI). Raghu Raman is an ex-captain of the IA and the former CEO of NatGrid.
Ah ok this one :

anjan

Post by anjan »

parashara wrote: 3. Finally - the most insidious statement (one that sadly, RR makes) is that the forces have been short-changed (in salaries and equipment) and that to expect them to put themselves in harm's way is hypocritical on part of the populace. Wow! Where do we go from here? I am stunned into silence. Is this what India is all about? Is this what a shivaji, a rana pratap, a lachit barphukan, a krishna deva raya, a tanaji malusare would say? But for the above heroes, my ancestors may have been forcibly converted or killed. I owe my existence and freedom to these giants among men.
Isn't there anything to say about shining courage and valour? What kind of a world are we living in? Am I just an old fashioned jerk?
The sadness is all great as long you're not putting yourself on the line. Courage and Valour? Some of the folks here should go see the single engine helicopters that cart supplies to the LC/glaciers and the hand held GPS that are the cutting edge of technology on them. Or the shapes of some of our shelters on the same LC. Torn and wind leaking through in that almighty white hell. It's ONLY courage and valour that's stopping the enemy. Otherwise we've spent our time systematically and professionally degrading the equipment and morale of the armed forces (although the later is more like a passionate hobby for the IAS). We've degraded the institutional status of the soldier with every means available to the point where the soldier is left to feel he's fighting more enemies within. The anger in the armed forces is now deep and palpable. And we can carry on with all this for some time but ultimately it'll all come crashing down. What you see are the first cracks.

Read this piece by Gen. Hasnain:
http://swarajyamag.com/defence/my-hq-wa ... -live-with

Edit: I can remember making exactly the same argument a couple of years back in the same forum for a similar question. It's pathetic that in the intervening decade nothing has changed but the depth of the anger.

Confirmation that the “Surgical Strikes” carried out by India was indeed a Boots on the Ground Cross LoC raid.

Confirmation delivered by M Venkaiah Naidu, Minister for Information & Broadcasting.

Confirmation is welcomed.

Minister Naidu’s use of the Telegu saying “A thief bitten by a scorpion will never cry or shout inside your house but bears the pain” to describe the Islamic Republic of Pakistan was apt.
Pakistan is like a thief bitten by a scorpion, cannot cry out even when in pain: M Venkaiah Naidu
By Aman Sharma & Vasudha Venugopal, ET Bureau | Oct 04, 2016, 07.11 AM IST Post a Comment

Why were the surgical strikes required?

Pakistan has gone too far. It has been aiding, abetting, funding and training terrorists for long; it’s now an international secret. Many times we tried to counsel Pakistan, but it hasn’t walked the talk.

There have been 20 intrusion attempts. Then Pathankot, then Uri. People of the country were very upset. PM Modi, contrary to his image (everybody says he is very hard, etc), invited heads of states of all the Saarc nations to his swearing-in ceremony. He went to Lahore, an unprecedented event, and met all the members of Nawaz Sharif’s family.

Sharif had such a good relation with Modi…the last call he made from his operation table in London was to Modi, asking for his good wishes.

But what happened subsequently needs investigation. Whether it is Panama papers or Pak military…the moment Nawaz came back from London, he changed language and then these incidents happened.

So public anger is a factor?

The government gave a free hand to the Army that something preventive has to be done.

The wish of the ordinary people was that India should go and hit the terrorist camps. But there are limitations. Keeping that in mind, the Army made a surgical strike on the terrorist launch pads. It is the Pakistan Army which escorts terrorists and launches them into India. People are happy. People’s sentiment has been respected.

But Pakistan is denying the strikes...

There is a saying in Telugu: A thief bitten by a scorpion will never cry or shout inside your house but bears the pain. That is what is happening to Pakistan. So it is denying it.

Listen to the reaction of Pak defence minister on the very first day. He said it is aggression, then he said two Pakistani soldiers have died. Now he is saying nothing happened. Sharif said it was aggression. They don’t know whether to talk about it or keep quiet.

Is it because they are humiliated?

Naturally. They got it back. It was a foot operation done by the Army, no choppers were used. Our Army went 2-4 km inside and destroyed the launch pads. Pakistan knows the casualty figure. It is the same Indian Army as 10-20 years ago. But you need political clearance too.

PM cautioned Pakistan in Kozhikode.

Why not make video evidence public?

Let us wait. People of India and international community believe Indian government. You can never convince Pakistan. Pakistan has decided not to get convinced. Appropriate action will be taken by the defence ministry at an opportune time. No foreign country has contradicted us, no one sympathises with Pakistan.

Surgical strikes were done earlier too but not made public...

No problem. But this government has sent a signal to Pakistan and the international community. US killing Osama Bin Laden inside Pakistan made it clear that it was sheltering terrorists.

Now, international community is believing us because they know that Pakistan has done it earlier too.

We are not war-mongers. It was a pre-emptive strike. Even in old times, Ram and Ravana fought but Ram did not claim Lanka. We did not claim Bangladesh. We want Pakistan to behave — you take care of your country, we take care of ours.

Pakistani media claims there were no funerals or bodies on their side of the LoC...

It is a pity that Pakistan is not recognising its own citizens. That speaks of the current situation in Pakistan, a rogue state.

Even if Pakistan shouts a 1,000 times, it can never think of getting Kashmir. Not an inch will be given. We did not cross into Pakistan by crossing LoC. PoK is not a part of Pakistan, it is a part of India.

What should be the role of media?

Everyone is a citizen first, they have a responsibility towards the nation. National interest is people’s interest. I expect media to be objective, and, also, it should keep national interest in mind. Some people are aggressively criticising India on TV...

We are a free nation and believe in freedom of expression. It is for those people to think what they are doing. They are harming the country’s interest. In a way, they are serving Pak interest.

What about Pakistani film stars working here?

In normal times, there is no problem as art has no barrier. When such a situation arises, these people should keep local sentiments in mind. I am not advocating that they should be sent back.

If they condemn the Uri attack?

That will really help the situation.
From Economic Times:

Clicky

Spokesperson of the Dynastic Nehru-Gandhi family led Congress Party, discloses that the Indian Army carried out cross LoC raids in 2008, 2009, 2011 and 2013.

Congress confirms noiseless surgical strikes
atul.arvind

Post by atul.arvind »

Dont know if its already posted or this is the correct thread .

An account titled “Army Welfare Fund Battle Casualties” has been opened
at Syndicate Bank, South Block Branch, New Delhi (IFSC Code:
SYNB0009055), with account number 90552010165915, which has been
approved by the Integrated HQ of Ministry of Defence (Army) and as per their
approval the donations received in the fund will be utilized to pay financial
assistance/grant to widows of our Battle Casualties, their next of kin and
dependents.

This is good initiative and information above is verified by DM himself .So a good place to contribute from us mango ppl like us ..!!