Re: Social Media Watch Thread
Posted: 12 Jul 2025 14:51
Consortium of Indian Defence Websites
https://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/
Sirji, have you ever driven on a bridge that makes an abrupt 90-degree turn and that too one supposedly designed to ease traffic congestion? Not every criticism is some grand conspiracy to malign the government; they’re perfectly capable of damaging their own credibility without any help. Many here must be exceptionally lucky never to have dealt with a government office or its babus to truly grasp the scale of corruption and incompetence. Your tier3 city NHAI officer takes home over Rs50 lakhs per month after meeting the office's monthly rishwat quota!LakshmanPST wrote: ↑12 Jul 2025 15:34 I have noticed a sudden rise of social media handles complaining about Indian infrastructure... The handles are all verified and most of these posts are going viral...
While it is true that there are issues with some infra projects, this sudden over focus on infra projects look unnatural...
The pattern looks similar to atrocity literature... Where they create political narrative by mixing genuine issues with fake issues...
It all started with random '90 degree bridge' over a Railway line... (Personally, I didn't find any big mistake in the design...)
Now I'm seeing a post about one unfinished flyover, held up due to land acquisition issue... A building needs to be demolished...
However, it is being portrayed as if some fool planned it without noticing a building, and only noticed the building after construction started...
https://x.com/gemsofbabus_/status/19357 ... 76130?s=19
Many may disagree with me, but this sudden focus on infra projects does seem unnatural...
Since Modi Govt. is pushing heavily in infra sector, some vested interests are building up "atrocity literature", to discourage or even block the infra projects...
That's just my theory...
That is an extraordinary claim. I know that there is a lot of graft, but this figure is unimaginable. Maybe I am too much removed from the current day India. The very fact that recently some "luxury" flats in Gurugram were sold for Rs 50 cr and Rs. 150 cr boggled my mind. The rate was quoted as Rs. 50K per sft. With that kind of money, one can get really really really great apts. in Chicago with lake view and all that.
True story from my third cousin twice removed. Their company wanted to acquire two acres of land to build company office on one acre and a couple company guesthouses on the other acre. Seller agreed to the price but one sticking point was that a NH would go through the land dividing the two acres into two unconnected parcels. Seller said they had some pull in the local govt. and would get the plan changed so that the NH would not divide the land. They in fact got it changed. The company was about to buy the land but the plan was changed once more. It seems there was another parcel of land that would get divided now with the new plan of the NH. Those had influence at even higher levels in the govt. and got it changed back to the original. In the end, the company did not buy the land nor build an office. They simply leased office space and company folks visiting the India office would stay in serviced apartments. This was ca 2001. Company would have made lot more money on the two parcels than they have made in the last 25 year profits from the company operations.LakshmanPST wrote: ↑12 Jul 2025 15:34 Now I'm seeing a post about one unfinished flyover, held up due to land acquisition issue... A building needs to be demolished...
However, it is being portrayed as if some fool planned it without noticing a building, and only noticed the building after construction started...
While 90 degree Bhopal bridge gained critics, this Z shaped 90 degree bridge from Pune stands tall without any guilt for few decades now. It's also called as Lover's point.
The acocryphal story I related above took place in Pune.