Indian Sports and Entertainment Industry

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
Stan_Savljevic

Re: Indian Sports and Entertainment Industry

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

If Sasikiran would have drawn the last match against balogh, he would have been on even 2682, now he sheds 3 points.

On hickey matters, ST writes: http://www.thehindu.com/sport/hockey/article1713055.ece
But the selectors could have taken a more mature view of Sardara Singh and Sandeep Singh. Their disqualification from figuring in the National squad is the result of their failure to attend the training camp in Delhi. There is confirmation that both had informed the administration of their league engagements in Belgium during that period, but the complaint is that they had not followed the procedure to take official sanction to skip the camp. The selection committee or the administration could have easily condoned this because the two star players were not on a furlough but playing in a tough European league competition, far more worthy than the routine, melancholic coaching camps.
The return of Adrian under the bar is another positive element, and this will supplement the energy and efficiency of the tested and tried Bharath Chettri. Defender Mahadik will be compelled to take more pressure on him in the absence of the brilliant Sardara.
While one cannot refrain from being amazed at Harendra Singh's resilience to be in the national focus for years which many more famous than him could not do with any measure of comfort, his stint with the ingenuous Brasa and the coaches course he attended at the last Champions Trophy in Monchengladbach should have enriched his ability to handle a national squad as the principal tactician.
KA also writes about how coachbhai is a tech-saavy person amongst the fossils that run the administrative apparatus. On another topic, the wimmens probables have been announced and it is the same set of fossils that picked the men's team. The Champions challenge will have some serious competition from Japan and Spain, I hope the wimmens team will reach the finals and take it from there. Elsewhere,
The Asian crown has given wings to Alok's long time dream of claiming the world championship. “Of course, that is going to be my next target in life,” he adds with an air of confidence. Ask the Asian champion about the next generation of cueists, he sounds a bit pessimistic. “The present generation wants to achieve everything quickly. There are some talented players and they have the internet and the best of coaching. But they lack in the effort and hard work which is so essential for any kind of success at the top level,” Alok concludes.
http://www.sportstaronnet.com/stories/2 ... 903500.htm

Continuing along the fossil theme, AG noorani belabors a simple point in hifalutin language in his podium speech. The theme is on conflict of interest for pawar as icc chief and minister in the union govt and how a tax-free status to the wc is not good. I wont post the heart-wrenching outpour lest it shall make the reader wax about how fubar-esque India is, you can go to the usual leftist outlet and read it. And btw, that op-ed on footer vs. cricket a few posts above is by Maneesha Roy in the hindu, not the telegraph. It amuses to see so many leftists get ignored by the crikkit fanatics of India.

Sigh.. so Rehman Malik confirms that Indo-Pak lovefest will start with hockey . Stan you were right.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

Hickey in India is a very poor cousin of crikkit. The funds are massively dependent on an India-pak series. That is reality on the ground. For example, the TAM television ratings* for India-pak wch 2010 match was 2.02 TVR. Buoyed by this win, the TVR for the Ind-oz and Ind-spain matches were 1.93 and 2.13, after these two losses it started going downhill badly. These numbers are 10 times lower than what we saw in world cup crikkit for the India knockout matches and even lower than what a Eng-Netherlands match fetched at the wcc (http://www.bharatiyahockey.org/calendar ... ifference3). So while we (including me) tend to sound idealistic and would want to avoid pakis like a plague, that is the last thing on the mind of a vague bania who runs hickey matters. Sure, the hickey banias are poor cousins of bcci banias, but still banias know less about politicking and more about making money or rather, running the house in hickey's case. I think we should be a bit more nicer to the hickey banias given that it is middle-class India's own massive lack of interest in hickey matters that is responsible for their seeking solace from a paki match. The onus is on bcci to avoid the paki plague, and so far they have been doing ok. So far is not meant to say it will be always this way...

* Dont ask me what these metrics are, I am just quoting numbers. The only thing I know is more the TVR, the higher the match was watched on TV.

Elsewhere, Anandbhai maintains the 2 point cushion and Sasikiran sheds 6 points. I am happy to see Wang Yue go down and Bu Xiangzhi (the boy wonder some years back) has gone so low I had to search for his name to see where he is. Somdev is still floating in the upper 70s just like what they would say in weather charts.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

Azlan begins tomorrow. Take on the Koreans first. KA has already jinxed the team saying that under JB, India did nt concede last min goals, won the first match, and have had peak fitness level. Bla bla, lets see. It is height of heat in Ipoh, lets see what happens.

And just as Azlan, so does the event to find a challenger to Anandbhai. Cant see how K-man and Aronian are in the same side of the pool leaving the other side free for T-man. But T-man will find his nemesis in Dr. Nutjob even with the hoo-haha over watching the Nutjob's latest US National win over Nakamura. All in the game onlee. Elsewhere, I already see a glorification article on Parimarjan Negi. Dude, you cant have someone bat for you at 2632, the climb to 2650 is not the end of it. Hari, Sasi and Abhijeet have been there, just that noone has made it past that stage barring the other God.

Read this post on ageing somewhere, thought someone mentioned SRT to Pos.
The Captain and Denial
http://joeposnanski.si.com/2011/05/03/t ... &eref=sihp
Vasu

Post by Vasu »

Good! Waiting for some good hockey on tv.

Never got into the IPL circus and not a big fan of English Premier League (which apparently is a rage among the aspirational urban youth).
Vasu

Post by Vasu »

Sigh. The more things change, the more they remain the same. :((
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

Another move to make it Totaaaal hickey...
Shootout to be trialed in Azlan Shah
http://www.thehindu.com/sport/hockey/article1996478.ece

In the 10th Asian Individual Chess Championships being held at Masshad, Iran; after Round 5 it is all China and India in the top spots with a sprinkling of other countries. Check here for the results/pairings: http://www.chess-results.com/tnr49118.a ... =1&wi=1000

Here is the rankings for Women: http://www.chess-results.com/tnr49119.a ... =1&wi=1000 India in the 3rd spot onlee.

India beats England 3-1 in Ipoh.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

1-1 with oz and 5-2 vs Mal today. That is a decent performance for this stage of the event. I still hate the losing out 2-3 to the koreans, even a draw would have been decent esp with Dhananjay picking that injury mid-way.

Now to enter the finals, there is zero hope if we dont beat both pakis and kiwis whom we play back2back tomm and the day after. Now if the brits draw against the assies or the koreans, that will mean they end up level on points with us and it then comes to GFor vs Gagainst on which we are up now (I think). But the big catch is the brits will play after knowing the outcome of our game, so I want a brit-white paki draw before we meet the kiwis. The assies have an easy outing to the finals with koreans, kiwis and brits (they should be expected to win at least 2 of the 3).

So there you go:
Ind --> has to beat Kiwis (not that hard), and pakis (a swingswang game dealing with emotions than much else). But we get to play the kiwis after the pakis, so the swingswang usually tells us that we go down emotionally after a win over the pakis. Have to guard on that. But we did beat the koreans in the bronze playoff in the asian games, so that tells me that this team is less swingswangy and more 2 the point. So lesseee..

Brit pakis --> Have to draw (or better if they lose) one of the 2 matches against assies or koreans. Against assies, a higher chance of a draw or a loss than with koreans. But the koreans are the picket dynamos and can turn a game in 3 seconds with their army style running skills.

white pakis --> Are essentially thro to the finals. All they have to do is to keep their collective assieness in their asses, an easy win against the commonwealth pakis, a draw or a win against the brits and/or a draw or a win against the koreans.

Lessee if the koreans play spoilsport or the real pakis turn up for the swingswang with an akhtar-esque dash.

Net positives: Before I jinx da man of the moment, Rupinder Pal Singh has become a nice cushion for Sandeep Singh. But you cant replace a one man army like Sandeep (in the defense and in the striker circle, essentially an all-in-all azhaguraja) by a one tournament tempo. Rupinder still has to prove for a long time to become the first among equals in this front. I am sure Jugraj is going bonkers seeing his job paying some fruit finally. The team is good. Sardara and Sandeep's absence has been nicely covered by Dhananjay stepping to the fore.

Negatives: Its back to square one in terms of losing the first game. Barring Dhananjay, the defence is wafer-thin. Thats where we badly miss both Sandeep and Sardara. One injury to Dhananjay and the whole back D is open like happened in the first match. We need defense, not just Sandeep and Sardara, but a whole back up unit. Can someone hear me scream "Defense, defense" like in a NBA playoff now that the Lakers are out from the 3-peat? I want Phil Jackson for the Injun hickey coach when Harendra Singh will put in his papers in the post-Londonistan nonsense that will call for a witchhunt. I grew up watching the Bulls long before the Supersonics were just called Sonics and Hakeem Olajuwon and Charles Barkley would make the Rockets even a force to be worried about, the shaq attack, the hattack, and the kobe show. Now the man is gone finally, thanks for all the fun. There has been a day of mourning announced in some So Cal circles, I dont know if its for the 4-zip or for the departure of PhilJ.

==: Coachbhai has done an == job so far. Its his usual self, nothing extraordinary, nothing totally ridiculous. Which I must admit is a net positive so far. This is his first tournament as the man in charge away from the brasa style idiocies of which there have been many, with the media waiting with their knives out, any goofup would have been fubar. Anyway, now that the IHF is back with newly laid out disciplinary rules in the post-Belgium ridicule that they have heaped on everyone, only Providence can tell if its gonna be of any utility to anyone. But mark my word, Sandeep and Sardara have been marked, and whatever they do or dont from now on, any shit can be used against em. And it will be, welcome to the shenanigans that call for a public execution a la Louis XVI but that will be met with a feather-touch gubo.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

I told ya Dr. Nutjob will win. Once T-man was uncovered by Anandbhai, the sofia scandal of silvio danailov stands exposed as nothing but a scandal. Onwards, to rock bottom and screw you on your way down. I will bet on an Aronian-Kman matchup in the other side, heh that does nt need a brain to guess right?!

Somdev is up to 68, his highest. I am waiting for the top 30, then we shall speak.

Geethu Anne Jose tries out for the LA sparks, chic sky and San Antonio. A desi in WNBA before the men start hitting the try-outs. Game on.

Isportsstar has come up with Nadal one, Borg two. That must be the resident idiot who did the rankings. Has this dork ever watched Borg on tv. Hmmm. The crowd at the Borg era was different, even Laver-esque or musketeer-esque will not fit the right word, borg was BORG. Wtf is wrong with desi media? What kinda short term memoristanis write farticles these days??! Maybe the youngistan that prowls on brf and wants BCCI to act charitable or cusses at bcci in its love for the sport? I mean, if you cant see the telly, you should at least hit a lib and see the books that describe cyborg, no?! Jeezus H Christ.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

But brain falters in rapid and blindfold contests, so its K-man vs. Grischuk on the other end. I would have wanted Anandbhai to demolish Aronian in a matchplay, instead we will get one of the four others. Well, if its Dr. Nutjob vs. Anandbhai, I can finally get to see vengeance for the Sanghi Nagar letdown before the Dragon letdown at the then WTC happened.

Meanwhile SD Varman rises to 68 in the rankings

Stan I don't have the sportsstar issue handy, but hey come on Nadal vs Borg debate does not come as a surprise to me for as far as the overall approach to point construction is concerned both have very similar styles and the fact that both have dominated the French open during their times is bound to give rise to such debates. Borg might be a legend but then Nadal's exploits too are second to none this guy has defeated Federer in his prime in AO, Wimby and French Open finals. If you ask me I would say I will answer that question when Nadal will hang his boots :)
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

It is now patently confirmed that I bring mis-fortune to our hickey team, so other than hickey political news (of which there are a ton) and post-facto discussion, I will take leave from hickey matters.

Another one bites the dust, now I will miss Shaq attack and the dissing of the Scaredmento Queens. Thanks for the fun, Kazaam.

Dont know if I should bet on a K-man vs. Dr. Nutjob contest to meet Vishy. K-man will be hypercharged to get back, but Dr. Nuts is Dr. Nuts for a reason.

Negi, you can argue all that you want, but Fed-ex was on his way out after that mid-08 wimbledon loss. Fed-ex was young at that point still (all of 27), but he was old by tennis standards esp the men's world of which I can cite Djokovic and Murray as 87 born, Nadal as 86 born, Soderling as 84 born, etc. In short, Fed-ex was an anachronism even within the narrow confines of the mens tennis world. It was all written for that dramatic collapse to happen, it was a case of when, not if. I am no fan of the fcked up clay at RGarros, but Borg in his magical run at Garros beat youngistanis and == of his era (Vilas, Gerulaitis and Lendl) in comparison with Nadal (Puerta, Federer and Soderling). I cant see any logical reason why a youngistani should nt beat an oldistani in michael chang's universe. Btw, Borg met his nemesis in McEnroe with an age gap of 7 years, pretty much the same for Nadal vs. Fed-Ex if you give and take the evolution of tennis from the post-Open era to what it is now. When Nadal wins against youngistanis and remains the king of clay, we shall talk about the no. 1 spot, till then Borg is Cyborg.

Kramnik looks like the most dangerous matchplay rival among the Candidates semifinalists against Anand. The other three (Grischuk, Gelfand, Kamsky) look easier on paper. On the other hand, I would like to see Anand take on and beat Kramnik. That should put the usual wheeler-dealers into enough confusion - like how Topgun fell apart since Sofia - for Anand to keep the title upto 2015 or beyond, while the nordic superboy continues whining about the system. I hope Humpy manages to dethrone Hou this year and make it 2/2 for India in men's and women's world champion categories.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

I can actually do a pisko of this kinda sentiment that makes the sportstar journo do what he did. Deep down, there is a feeling when someone has seen something remarkable to elevate it to a special thing. Plus, its his day job and he has to write something. Like even on the crikkit dhaaga, we had people comparing 83 win with the recent win. For that one has to do a dispassionate analysis and see the cost behind it or the gains achieved in a context that requires some patience and understanding. Instant kichdi of a report that elevates xyz to emperor status are always kichdis that are fcked up.

Stan Nadal beat Federer at Roland Garros in 2005 and 2006 when latter was playing in God mode and at 24/26 one is not old even by today's standards . I shall not argue here for the heck of it for I know where you are coming from. My only point is in entire history of tennis if there is anyone who can come close to Brog's exploits in the French Open it is Nadal and he is not even 26 as we speak . Modern tennis is very different from the tennis played in the era of Borg. The speed at which the ball comes at you has simply increased by a significant margin, use of modern graphite rackets with head-sizes in excess 95 sq cm ensures that one can hit the ball harder and still manage to keep it in play by imparting more topspin compare this to Borg & Co who used to play with a wooden racket strung with natural gut , headsize ~65-75 cm sq, iow the game has totally changed so I would not compare the two players solely on the basis of how many majors each one of them won. Tennis like kirkit is no longer the gentleman's game it has become a lot more physical and fast, one cannot imagine a 5 7" guy to even compete at the highest level today, compare that against Rod Laver winning the calendar GS twice in his lifetime. I am a big fan of Fed-ex for some reason I see a lot of similarity between him and 'God'. :wink:
Vasu

Post by Vasu »

suryag wrote:Meanwhile SD Varman rises to 68 in the rankings
That kid's amazing, he, Saina and the boxers are leading the charge of the next brigade, definitely. Its a pity he lost out in the first round of the Zagreb Open though, where he was the second seed!

and another great sportswoman i admire:

Mary Kom is a supermom
Mangte Chungneijang Mary Kom won a tough contest against Kim Myong Sim of North Korea 4-3 to win the Asian Cup women’s boxing gold at Haikou, China, on Monday. But the Indian boxer fought a bigger battle, which was beyond the perimeter of the ring. Mary Kom, the boxer, was up against Mary Kom, the mother.

The world champion had her eyes fixed on her opponent — an Asian champion — but her mind must have wandered several times to a hospital in Chandigarh where her three-and-half-year-old son has been hospitalised.

According to Mary Kom’s husband, K. Onler Kom, their child, K. Khupneivar, who developed some heart problem, was admitted to the hospital a few days before she left for China, after attending the training camp in Patiala.

However, the mother of two showed great grit and character to overcome the odds and prove, once again, that she remains a cut above the rest.

“It was real hard time for us,” said Onler Kom. “Only a few days before she was to leave for China, the doctor told us to admit the child in a Chandigarh hospital. His mother was extremely reluctant to go, but I told her to perform the national duty.

“I told Mary to concentrate on her game as I am attending the child here. She was naturally upset and kept on calling me every few hours. Thankfully, our son is much better now,” he said.

^^ One sentence in a different article seemed relevant for this thread:
If you fail once try again
From this year the Sports Authority of India doest not have any recruitment process for people who have written the Mains. They respect the hard work that candidates put in during the civil services exams and allow you to apply to the post of an assistant director. This year there are 20 posts up for grabs.
Vasu

Post by Vasu »

Dempo Manager Armando Colaco is appointed interim coach of the Indian national football team.

Interim coach Armando promises attractive football
Armando Colaco, appointed India's interim coach on Friday, has promised to change the face of Indian football but begged for sufficient time to implement his forward-thinking ideas.

The All India Football Federation (AIFF) executive committee rubber-stamped Colaco's appointment, giving the hugely-successful Dempo Sports Club coach four months at the helm.

"It's a win-win situation for both sides. The AIFF can see my work during these four months and, should they be impressed, can offer me a longer contract.

Armando's first task is to make sure India negates the first 2014 World Cup qualifying hurdle against the United Arab Emirates (UAE) in July.

Early June, Armando will be part of a Dempo delegation that will travel to Denmark and visit FC Mitdjyland with whom the club has an exclusive understanding.

Once the four-day visit ends on June 10, the coach will announce the probables for the camp, almost certain to be held in New Delhi which will host India's World Cup qualifier against UAE on July 28.

Players like Naoba Singh, Mehtab Hossain, Harmanjyot Khabra (all East Bengal), Anil Kumar, Raju Gaikwad (Indian Arrows), Salgaocar's midfield trio of Francis Fernandes, Gilbert D'Mello and Cajetan Fernandes, besides Armando's own proteges like Debabrata Roy, Peter Carvalho and Valeriano Rebello are expected to be called to the national camp.
India vs UAE in New Delhi in July. They're ranked 111 now, according to Wiki, but they've been ranked as high as 42.

PS: keep an eye out for this boy from Mizoram: Jeje Lalpekhlua

He's scored 4 goals in his first three games for the senior team.
ManjaM

Post by ManjaM »

I just realised that Indian Kabaddi Team has done a hattrick in Kabaddi by winning 2004, 2007 and 2010 WC.
http://www.kabaddiikf.com/2cswckc.htm
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

OT, but I always thought that Barry Bonds had a whinefest that was understandable and legitimate. White vs black, The treatment meted out to Mark Mcgwire and Lance Armstrong vs the shabbiness in which he has been treated etc. I dont know if anyone here follows the perjury trial, but I do, as usual. I also go past Mark Mcgwire Way very often, which seems not even close to changing its name to something else even after I-70 went Mark Twain Highway a year or so back. Here is one more nail in the "too big to fail" coffin:
http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2011/m ... tml?hpt=T2

Grischuk or Gelfand, god knows. Could nt care less. Waiting for Anandbhai's next tournament.

Sudirman cup qf on thursday.
nithish

Post by nithish »

Saina stuns China; India go down 1-3
India ended their campaign at the Sudirman Cup badminton tournament on a disappointing note with a 1-3 defeat at the hands of rampaging China in the quarterfinals at Qingdao, China Thursday.

Top Indian shuttler Saina Nehwal had the consolation of beating world number three Xin Wang in straight games but her thrilling victory failed to lift her colleagues' confidence at the Qingdao Sports Centre Gymnasium.

It was always going to be an arduous task to dent the Chinese wall for the Indians who entered the last eight of the prestigious tournament for the first time since its inception in 1989. The Indians though did not go down without a fight.

World number four Saina scripted a convincing 21-15 21-11 victory over Xin in a 32-minute contest in the women's singles to level the score after Rupesh Kumar and Sanave Thomas lost to their higher-ranked Chinese opponent in the first rubber.

Rupesh and Sanave lost 15-21 14-21 to world number five men's doubles pair of Yun Cai and Haifeng Fuin in a 29-minute encounter to hand over the advantage to China.

Locked 1-1, Commonwealth games bronze medallist P Kashyap took the court against world number three Lin Dan and though the Indian played his heart out, he failed to match the class of the Beijing Olympics gold medallist and lost 14-21 14-21.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

Gelfand it is. Some mud on the face of Gen ZZZ lovebirds, but that still does nt stop clamor calls that Carlsen and now Nakamura :rotfl: are banging on the door. Someone needs to tell these jokers that crossing 2730 does nt get you an automatic right to bang on any door. Anand has been around 2730 since Linares 91, I think. And half the grandpas that play now still used to play with him too, Ivanchuk, Gelfand, Kramnik, Kamsky. Only folks MIA are Kasparov, Karpov, Beliavsky, Jan Timman, Valery Salov, etc.

Parupalli Kashyap has been a revelation in this tournament. Gone are the days when one would have searched for Anup Sridhar or Chetan Anand. That also said, if we had beaten Taiwan. Had V. Diju not got injured, we would have been facing Denmark and not having to face china till the semis. The doubles were always bad, just shows that badminton still has miles to go in India.

Santhosh Trophy finals: Manipur vs winner of Railways and Bengal. Manipur beat Services in the semis. Where are Goa and Kerala? Where is Delhi?

The 2011 Candidates championship is very surprising. I expected Kramnik, Grischuk or Aronian to be the challenger, or at least Radjabov. But Gelfand ? He's a wily old fox who's been around for a long time. Anand probably knows him well. But he's not flamboyant or a crowd-puller. The 2012 Championship sounds like a Karpov vs Korchnoi in the making. If Anand plays steady and strong, he has a good chance of extending his reign until 2014-15. I didn't know the Candidates event had been on, and I'd pretty much assumed Kramnik would make it through. I guess he's rather suspect at tournament play compared to matchplay. I would have liked to see him or Topalov play Carlsen in extended matchplay just to see the kid get worn down.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

The surprise is not the winner, its the format to elect the winner. Short 4 match classical contests to pick a winner who will meet Anand in a 8-12 game matchplay. Duh! Seriously, FIDE is on a roll here. It only adds more voices who will get later to say "but Anandbhai did nt beat T-man or Aronian or K-man or Carlsen in 2012 onlee"... Not like it matters, but aval pori for the chatterbozos.

Who cares ? We can just turn around and say why did Toppy, Aronian or Kramnik land on their faces in the challengers if they were so worthy. Anand is probably preparing for the 2012 event with a smile now. Carlsen baccha can go beat up someone like Wang Yue or Bu Xiangzhi regularly whenever he feels like walking around like a Paki jernail calling himself the greater thing since sliced bread. History will just show Vishy as world champion, hopefully for a reign lasting 10+ years if he wins next year.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

You gotta read the wailing on fckbase at the Candidates eventuality, its not just funny but super-cathartic. Danailov, T-man's second man and idiot-bunny, is wailing about how Sofia rules should have been introduced earlier. "People" are calling it the "worst Candidates match" ever. Here is what happened, if you did nt know it already:
-2) The people in the contest were Aronian, K-man, T-man, Kamsky, Radjabov, Mamedyarov, Grischuk and Gelfand. Now, who the fck wanted a no-name Mamedyarov and Radjabov in the top 8? Please.... Why is Ivanchuk not a worthy man in the list? He has been at the top 5 for god knows how long and is far worthy a QF candidate than Radjabov or Mamedyarov. Btw, live ratings show that Gelfand, Grischuk, Radjabov and Kamsky are 12-15 while Mamedyarov is no. 9.
-1) In any case, here is the official explanation given for this choice:
Aronian, Grischuk, Radjabov -- from Grand Prix (top 3 in standings)
Gelfand -- from World Cup winning (in fact, Gelfand had beaten Jakovenko, Karjakin and Ponomariov to win the World Cup)
T-man -- as a sore loser from last time
K-man -- based on rating
Kamsky -- as a loser in the Challenger
Mamedyarov -- as a wild card. WTF is a wild card, given to a number 9 ranked no-namer? Mamedyarov also finished no 8 in the Grand Prix standings. So the logic or its lack thereof, God knows. No, even god cant fricking know.
0) In any case, its a bit rich for Danailov to crib about a winner of the Challenger having to go through the shit-parade while Anand sits at home because T-man has enjoyed the benefit of getting to the Challenger because of the contract he had signed earlier and not because of any special-chess worthy reasons. So there you go.
1) In the real games, Gelfand beat Mamedyarov in a classical game to win his QF.
2) Meanwhile, Kamsky dumped T-man in a classical game again to get to the semis.
3) Aronian-Grischuk and K-man-Radjabov (another joker) ended draw in classical. While Aronian-Grischuk swung back and forth in the rapid tie-breaks (G winning first, A second), A eventually lost the fourth rapid to get dumped out. OTOH, K-man drew all his rapids and in the blitz tie-break used a technical issue (clock abruptly stopped) to study the board and dump out Radjabov. Aronian was claiming to be the rapid and blindfold champion winning Amber recently, ahead of Anand and Carlsen. So he must have thought through it well nuff to sign up to this agreement. So there is no reason to complain. K-man benefited clearly from the blitz tie-break and the technical issue, so he did enjoy lady luck ah-but-once. For what its worth, Aronian was never seen complaining, just K-man.
4) In the semis, both the matches ended in draw score after classical. In the rapids, K-man-grischuk contest was fully drawn too whereas Gelfand came from behind to draw against Kamsky. Grischuk beats K-man in blitz blindfolds while Gelfand dumps out Kamsky. Grischuk is the giant killer by now, has beaten both Aronian and K-man, in contrasting styles too - rapid and blitz blindfold.
5) In the finals, it was all draw till the final classical game when Gelfand wins.

What more should Gelfand do? Gelfand won everything that was put on his face, two on classical and one come from behind in a rapid to win in a blitz blindfold. Seriously, Gelfand may not be the 2800+ prima donna and the new age madonna of chess from some no-name land with a unique hybrid combo like Anish Giri from Netherlands or a Wang Yue with a big market from sankar-land or a Carlsen who has been anointed a King by just beating fellow-idiot charioteers, but he is a worthy winner by any definition of winner. Gelfand has gone through shit -- he has beaten six players in all to get through to where he is now, to steal his thunder is like being a prick with a pickaxe of a brain. I cant help if this pricky attitude can be attributed to Gelfand being a Jew.

Seriously, get a life fckbase. And Danailov cribbing, of all the people in the world, when T-man is out in the QF in classical is a bit of a bullshit move. Sofia rules were manufactured for your buddy, its not what FIDE adopted. If you want to bulldoze your rubbish, win the elections. Kirsan Ilyumzhinov just won, he beat Bessel Kok last time and Karpov this time, by near-identical margins. Your writ runs only through European Chess Union. The same fcking creepy crap we get under FIH, you oiropean dimwits cant take in FIDE?
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

Unk is back with pol noose on the hickey front, but for conveying this kinda noose, Unk would rather have a real noose put on his head and commit soosai than yak endlessly. You see, Unk is not the former speaker of the Parliament who posts on brf with his real name. At least that speaker shut up after a while when he realized that he could nt put down the ruffians that throng the wells of the Lower House or put up with them. OTOH this speaker will argue that bleeding heart communism is closer to hindoo-ism cos red is a thrice-removed twice-forgiven cousin of saffron. IOW, Unk bhai forewarns brf that this latest Gurudev (with a 108-man tongue and a 1008-man derriere for passing hot gas) shall speak-eth till the Big One hits the brf servers in Londonistan... and the back-up servers get rattled by another Big One in the San Andreas and San Gabriel faultlines... a long time folks, put up with super comprehension man as shaata fata Mod-ulla advised you on the nukkad thread.

In any case, here is noose:
i) Bad noose: Pargat bhai wants to do kaphal bhatti, but even Jaspal bhatti wont laugh at this bs show that Pargat is putting on. Unk's retort: "Dood, you are on the fricking Hickey India panel for tech experts and also one of the five members of the coach-selection panel. You contested the elections unsuccessfully, yet have a foot in the tent by being invited to be in the tech experts committee. If you cant fricking fix the system sitting inside, what will kaphal bhatti help you with? Peristalsis?!"
ii) Foot in the mouth noose: On India's immediate task of qualifying for the London Olympics, Pargat said, “Given the current scenario and set-up, it is highly unlikely for this team to meet that objective." No need for Unk's retort on such pita fitmas.
iii) Bada bad noose: Dubai wants to re-brand itself as the new venue of India-pak bhaichara, this time in hickey. Unk's retort: "Thanks, but no thanks."
iv) Worse noose: Hickey India wants to appoint a naya coach throwing out Harendra bhai after just one flop show. Even for the ring-a ring-a roses thats HI, this is beyond imagination.
v) Worsht noose: Paul Lissek is in the reckoning. If you thought RicC was a retard in doing a chappal on India, Lissek == both the twins. Only a few months back, PHF had been knocking on Lissek's doors for the coach job and thanks to the better than the better taleebs of poromboke-istan, Lissek retorted with "no thanks."
vi) Worshest noose: Also in the reckoning is.... drum roollll blij.. Jose Brasa. Unk's retort: (sound of Kaphal bhatti in the background).

PS: Hopeless on the field version, Unk tunes into a Cup finals named after his thrice-removed coujin and who does he bet for? hard to pass up on a team that goes by the name Canuckistanis, nein ja. No love lost for those who claim to be more Pats than the Pats.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

OGQ support for hurdler Ashwini Akkunji
http://www.thehindu.com/sport/athletics ... 074176.ece

Triple jumper Mayookha Johny is capable of bigger deeds: coach
http://www.thehindu.com/sport/athletics ... 074204.ece
Mayookha recaptured the triple jump national record with a 14.02m effort while winning the bronze in the third leg of the Asian GP Series in Wujiang the other day. With that, she became the first Indian woman to cross the 14-metre barrier in the event and regained the record which M.A. Prajusha, also from Kerala, took with a 13.68m jump in the New Delhi Commonwealth Games last October.
“This is just the beginning stage of our Olympic preparations, she is definitely capable of going to 15m, not just 14.30 or 14.40 in the triple jump. We have to reach such a level if we are serious about the Olympics, we have to improve in a big way and the potential is there.”
A big triple jump will do a world of good for Mayookha in the long jump too, says Shyam. He believes that the ONGC athlete – who improved on her triple jump previous best of 13.68m by more than a foot in China – is capable of going past former World championship medallist Anju Bobby George's long jump national record of 6.83m. “She can achieve 7m in the long jump, she has it in her,” says Shyam.
Meanwhile, Prajusha – who emerged from Mayookha's shadow while sensationally breaking the triple jump National record and then taking the long jump silver at the New Delhi Commonwealth Games – feels that Mayookha's 14-metre effort will motivate her to come up with a big one too. “When somebody who has been closely competing with you breaks a big record, you are motivated too,” says Prajusha, who trained for a few days in Thiruvananthapuram before going to Bangalore. “You know you're capable of doing it too.”
And colaco's new team is Goa-heavy, wonderful. Here is yet another Krishnamachari Srikkanth and a yesteryear Mumbaiyya of the BCCI Selection committee or put it as one of the yet another Baljit Singh's of the IHF Selection committee of the bygone era.
http://www.telegraphindia.com/1110603/j ... 065486.jsp
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

Indian shooting has tasted fresh blood. There is young talent thirsting for success, pouncing on opportunities on the world stage with vigour and vitality, making the sport in the country throb with life.
With double world record holder Gagan Narang and Hariom Singh having secured two quota places in the World Championship in Germany last year, Indian shooting had already announced its readiness to wage a war for the Olympic medals in London next year, with seven quota places in all. The good thing is the promise of winning more quota places and improving on the record of nine shooters sent to the Beijing Games. With two more World Cups apart from the Asian Championship ahead, there is no doubt that the promise would be fulfilled. For, there are a whole lot of champions who have not yet asserted themselves in clinching an Olympic quota berth, with Olympic and world champion Abhinav Bindra being the foremost. He is getting closer and could soon clinch the deal.
Incidentally, of the nine who made it to the Beijing Olympics in 2008, only two — Narang and Rajput — have won the quota places again in the current cycle.
What can one say about double trap shooter Ronjan Sodhi, who has taken the sport to a completely different level, after effortlessly taking the reins from Rajyavardhan Rathore! He has been one Indian shooter who has been taming the world repeatedly, with a string of world records.
Apart from established names like Abhinav Bindra, Anjali Bhagwat, Suma Shirur, Manavjit Sandhu, Mansher Singh, Rajyavardhan Rathore and Samaresh Jung who are attempting to pin the Olympic quota places there are some other shooters like Heena Sidhu, Harveen Srao, Omkar Singh, Amanpreet Singh, Anisa Sayeed, Ayonika Paul, Tejaswini Sawant, Seema Tomar, Shagun Chowdhary, Satyendra Singh and Imran Hassan Khan who may also rise to the challenge.
http://www.sportstaronnet.com/stories/2 ... 303400.htm

Seemed like Hou Yifan was pitching a battle with Humpy at the FIDE charts. But at the Hainan Danzhou, she has shed 36 ELO points to head back to 2570s. Wang Hao falls down too. Its a case of one step forward, two back for sankars. We need shanghai statistics and funan fck-ups. Oh, did I add that I did nt see a Sister Hou comment on tching ching chong yet?
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

I must say I am reading a lotta good stuff about Ajay Maken, the Minister for sports and youth affairs. Far different from what MS Gill used to be questioning who Guru Satpal is, who Gopichand is etc... One more stuff in this trend:
Maken summons HI, IHF for merger talks
http://www.rediff.com/sports/report/hoc ... 110609.htm

The bottomline is: If politicians have good administration in mind, no amount of civil society or jhoothagiri can supplant that. Thats one reason why businessmen/women, politicians etc. should not become pariahs for sports administration. Nor should it be made the recluse of former sportsmen/women. Good sportsmen in the past dont necessarily make good administrators, and bad politicians dont necessarily make bad administrators. Hope the new hickey body goes BCCI way, hope... Everyone has been hoping for that for god knows how long that even hoping about hope is no more hip.

Santosh Trophy: http://www.sportstaronnet.com/stories/2 ... 802800.htm
Unlike Bengal, Manipur presented a team that was truly constructed out of native talents gleaned from its development programme. Coach S. Ekendra Singh was at the head of this resurgence being a part of the think-tank that supervises Manipur's successful youth-development programme under the AFC's Vision India project. With the tournament schedule clashing with I-League dates, most of the big names of Indian football gave the tournament a miss and thus the stage was set for the newcomers to sizzle. “On the positive side this is giving a lot of young players the chance to showcase their talents in absence of the so-called stars who generally block the places,” said Ali. Goa, the last year's semifinalist, seemed to be hit hard by the relative imbalance owing to by the absence of the stars. But this vacuity created opportunities for the likes of Victorino Fernandes, Augustin Fernandes and Cavin Lobo to showcase their ability.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

Bhopal National hickey semifinal line-up:
Karnataka vs. Punjab
Jharkhand vs. Haryana
Karnataka beat Air India (another heavyweight) in a lacklustre encounter. Punjab swamped Bihar as expected. Haryana just managed to squeak past Orissa and JHK beat Railways.

From nowhere, former pak coach Brent Oeltmans is the leading contender now. Weird.... Seriously weird. Elsewhere, IHF and HI seem nowhere close to calling it a truce, IHF wants the merged organization to be called IHF and not HI (because it was under the IHF banner, Indian won its 8 golds). 17-16 split on the patron committee is seen as not fair. At this stage, nothing will please either side. For fcks sake, can you nimrods get to the moon and fight over your pompous shit, leave hickey alone, jackoles.

So there is no Bhaichung in the team no more. Thanks for all the fun and sorry to see it end this way. At least with Katso, some fatsos whined. With our mess and cell in the ear jungli ride, sunset moments never get to be bright.
http://www.telegraphindia.com/1110618/j ... 128961.jsp

National record in decathlon set by Bhartinder Singh in the recently concluded meet. Joe Abraham lost in the 400 hurdles which is good news for comepetishun. So we have catfights in mens 400 hurdles, womens 800 and womens long jump, all where we can get medals in Asiad and come close to a bronze or so in OG if lightning strikes.

Indian Open is back on Asian Tour
http://www.telegraphindia.com/1110618/j ... 129237.jsp
Note that the Asian Tour has a new rival in the oneAsia tour, which came up around 2009. Majorly backed by china, korea, australia and has pulled in indonesia recently into the sandwich. With four Order of Merit winners in the last 10 years, India stands to gain by propping the Asian Tour. Also the prize money for this year is 1.5m, up from 1.25m last year. Only equalled by the oneAsia championship and the Australian open.
Patni

Post by Patni »

‘Pakistani artists are exploiting us’
Robin Bansal, Hindustan Times
New Delhi, June 16, 2011
Singing legend Jagjit Singh is upset with the fact that a bevy of Pakistani artists are thronging India for work while talented Indians are hardly getting any opportunity. “We have been giving them opportunities and they are exploiting us. They don’t have any future in Pakistan. India is their only
market so they are encashing on it. And then Indians have this approach that everything that is imported is good,” says the singer, who was recently in the Capital to perform at the launch of Brys Group.
“No doubt they have talent and we never closed doors for our neighbours, but now, it is their turn to open doors for us which they will never do,” adds, Singh, who was also vocal about Pakistani artist Rahet Fateh Ali Khan’s recent detention at an Indian airport for carrying undeclared cash.

“If he does an illegal thing, he will get caught. He was carrying undeclared cash, that too without paying taxes. He is a criminal in that case. Authorities have full right to take action,” says the singer, who was recently honoured at the House of Commons in London.

“It was honoured by the Indian societies there and the venue by the House of Commons,” says the singer, who has just wrapped up his London tour and is now heading to Mauritius for a week.

Known for evergreen renditions like Hothon se chulo tum, Jhuki jhuki si nazar and Hosh walo ko khabar kya among others, Singh, 70, has been absent from the Bollywood scene for quite some time.

“Nobody calls me in Bollywood now. Their style and poetry have changed. They have vulgarity now. I’m not needed,” says the singer, who wouldn't mind composing for the big screen, if approached.

But does that hurt him as an artist?

“No. It doesn’t hurt me because my plate is always full with something or the other,” says the legend, who has no qualms in accepting that “it’s the colour of money” that still keeps him going full throttle.

"When you get rewarded for your efforts, you put in more,” he says conceding music changed drastically over the course of years especially ghazals.

"Music has changed drastically. People don’t have the time and patience now to sing for long classical sessions. Neither do they read Urdu poetry. They are trying to forget their culture and are copying west blindly," he says.

Upset with the discrepancy in royalties for musicians in the country, Singh, is also upset with the rising numbers in piracy.

“People don’t give us the royalities here vis-à-vis the West. Music companies just gobble it up. We don’t get even 20% of what we should,” he says.

"Then there's piracy. Tere should be a proper copyright act that could help artists. But then nothing will change as stealing is in our blood. Hence we’ve given birth to piracy," he adds.

Hence, he is now also going digital with his music.

“I’ve released a new Punjabi song, Leke phulkari soe soe rang di, on iTunes recently to test waters and will take it forward in the digital arena,” says the singer, who has a slew of national and international tours lined up apart from a at least four albums this year.
As predicted and observed on BRF by multiple gurus, the lure of greener grass on east of Wagah is getting stronger and stronger!

Finally people are waking up to the fact that Pakis are here to make quick money. First Abhijeet and now Jagjit Singh. They don't even bring any freshness to the table. The worse part is that every Pakistani kid sings like Nusrat fateh Ali khan in a irritating Punjabi style with lots of noise and no substance.
If you want sweetness of rustic Punjabi flavor, look no further than Daler Mehndi...
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

Karnataka beats Punjab 2-1. VR Raghunath is the hero.
Haryana inches past JHK in sudden death, goal missed by Roshan Minz. Sandeep Singh had a forgettable match.

Dont know if anyone watches golf, but Rory McIlroy's climb has given the idiot wannabes a good platform to tout of the next champion. This business of pimping from the center-stage is itself a nice business. And Tiger is on the verge of losing his top spot in the highest earned category to Phil Mickelson.
I love this guy, Gelfand... Read some of the answers

Fckbase: His birth was probably inspirational for you while playing…
Gelfand: It was, of course, very significant – gave me a lot of motivation. Thanks to technology I saw him in Skype. Incidentally, Anand had his first child a few weeks later, so when I met Vishy in Monaco I gave him tips as a veteran father to a new one. It’s funny, twenty years ago our generation would talk only about chess. Now when we meet and socialize, we talk only about children…

Fckbase: Still many make note that you’re not ranked even in the top ten at the moment. That your qualification is an accident or a system fault…
Gelfand: To my mind rating is overrated. I know that some grandmasters are willing to get themselves literally killed to gain two rating points. I simply don’t care, and never did. I like to play and not protect every rating point [Ivanchuk and Gelfand are exceptional in this area – S.B.]. There was a period when I was sixth in the world, and yet had no invitations to tournaments. Then, when I went down to twelfth, the invitations suddenly started flowing – thankfully people like me can rely on our name and not on our rating points. Perhaps others can’t.

Fckbase: Yet Kramnik exemplified his argument with the unusually high number of draws in the classical game part?
Gelfand: I think it is an invalid argument, because many of these games were defended superbly. Many extremely difficult positions were saved. Grischuk saved a number of difficult positions, I saved one against Kamsky and vice versa, Mamedyarov had an advantage in his first game against me while I had an advantage against him in the second game. So nothing was easy. One must realize that when eight top players play each other they will defend well. To revisit soccer: the 3-1 between Barcelona and Machester is a maximal score; previous finals ended 2-0 and 1-0 because both were top level teams. High scores usually occur only when a weak team plays a top team. It happens in basketball as well: one sees that the better teams excel in defence. As the NBA saying goes: attack wins the season but, defence wins the playoffs.

Fckbase: However, as you are aware, there is a heated debate about the future candidates system – some would want to see three points for a win, others would want to see a double round robin tournament between the candidates. Where do you stand?
Gelfand: Three points doesn’t make sense, because it was born under the assumption that the players don’t want to take any risks, just make quick draws and take away decent money. I know who invented this theory: Silvio Danailov, who doesn’t regard players very highly. He thinks that he’s the most important person in the chess world. But I happen to disagree with this….
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

Haryana beats Karnataka 2-1 in the finals, scorers are Sandeep Singh, VR Raghunath, Mandeep Antil. VRR ends with 12 goals in the event, Sandeep with 11. In bronze playoff Punjab beats JHK 4-1. But Bhopal stadium seems to have been empty with boredom following the Obaidullah Cup craziness. Should have held the event elsewhere, I guess.

For those who dont know, the National Championship started in 1928 right before hockey became an olympic sport in the amsterdam games. Much of it due to IHF's canvassing efforts. To figure out the olympic bound team, an inter-provincial championship was held in feb 1928. Five provinces took part: United Provinces, Central Provinces, Punjab, Bengal and Rajputana. In the finals, UP beat Rajputana 3-1 with Dhyan Chand being the dazzler in the field. Some more selection trials later, the olympic team was figured, but somehow it managed to lose to a Bombay XI team. Low on cash with Bombay, Madras and Burma provinces not contributing to the coffers, somehow the team managed to eke out the cash needed for an Oirope tour before the amsterdam games. Boria bhai has a nice summary of the trials and tribulations of the amsterdam bound team and how the Pinneger led team managed to give the oiropeans the cold feet literally.

There was no trophy in the first few years and buoyed by 1928's success, a bi-annual event was conducted. On a visit to NZ in 1935, the maoris presented a trophy to the Indian team to honor their hockey skills (~580 goals were scored in ~48 matches, 40 conceded). This was what was presented from 36 to bengal through 47. In 44, the event became annual and in 46 and 47, Punjab won the trophy and it was displayed at the PHA office in Lahore. With 47, the pakjabis refused to return the trophy and 48-50 saw play without a trophy. In late 50, the Hindu group and its editor C. Rangaswamy presented a substitute trophy which became the Rangaswamy Cup aka Senior National championship. The first time the Rangaswamy Cup was skipped in the annual calendar was 91, the year when Pargat Singh's team captured Azlan after a long break. Subsequent skips in 95, 96, 98, 2001-04, 2007-10 etc means that the event has not been played more often than played in the last twenty years. In the last event in 2006, jointly held by Punjab and Delhi associations, Punjab and Sind bank beat delhi to win the Cup. This is the first rendering under Hickey India, thus some of the spoons are calling it the first Senior national championship forgetting the 62 other previous renditions of it. It is really amusing in a country with a national game that people tend to choose their history based on what is suitable for their professional progress.

PS: IHF in fact organized the 63rd Rangaswamy Cup in the same Bhopal in July 2010, but with sparse attendance from famous teams. HI had been planning on one for a long time, but had been forced to skip it due to 108 other reasons. The success of the July 2010 event to some degree meant that fast-track plans for this 63rd edition were put in. With Shivraj Singh Chouhan as the benefactor, Aishbagh stadium has really seen two 63rd editions in < 1 year.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

But what worries the former players and the selectors is that very few young players have stood out with their performance at the national championship that concluded in Bhopal on Sunday. Consequently, the selectors, who were scouting for a few fresh legs for the national team, have been forced to retain the same core group while forming a separate developmental squad of around 35 players.

One of the few young players, who managed leave a good impression on the selectors, is Karnataka centre-half SK Uthappa. With some stellar performances, the 20-year-old was adjudged the man of the tournament.
Meanwhile, Sandeep Singh and Sardara Singh have been recalled to the national camp that will begin next month. Both players were excluded from the squad for the Azlan Shah Cup on disciplinary grounds. Sandeep finished as the second best scorer in the tournament with 11 goals, one goal less then top-scorer VR Raghunath of Karnataka. Raghunath, too, features in the core group and has improved his chances of making a comeback to the national squad after a year.
http://www.dnaindia.com/sport/report_on ... ls_1557249

ToI has this to say: http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/spor ... 924818.cms
The national selectors, who were camping here since June 10, picked 48 probables for the national camp and 37 for the developmental side. The list will be submitted to Hockey India (HI) for approval and the national camp will begin shortly.
Karnataka defender S.K. Uthappa, who was adjudged the player of the tournament, will be a new face in the senior national camp. The selectors were also impressed with some youngsters from Orissa, Punjab, Karnataka and Jharkhand. Orissa, comprising mostly juniors, made it to the quarterfinals while a young Jharkhand side upset Services and Railways to make the semifinal of the national championship. The selectors, however, felt that the youngsters should be drafted in the developmental side to provide them with exposure before they graduate to the senior team.

Elsewhere, Bhoopinder Singh Hooda (Haryana CM) congratulated his state team on Haryana's first win in the Rangaswamy Cup. If Yeddy bhai can come out of his Kottakkal Arya Vaidyasalai nap and congratulate his state team, finally some semblance of political backing that has long been overdue will be put in force. This game has no future unless sportsy politicos such as Sh. Singh Chouhan, Bhoopinder Singh Hooda, JJ, etc. come forward and display their interest in some game other than crikkit. Mayor Radhakrishnan stadium is actually rotting, we can have a SAF games de javu by calling up the white pakis or assie pakis. I would prefer white pakis. Amma, nuff biryani, wake up.

http://www.daijiworld.com/news/news_dis ... ters+Chess
<snip><snip><snip>
Apart from Hou, the other participants will be World Junior No.1 GM Fabiano Caruana of Italy, Philippines' No. 1 GM Wesely So, Czech Republic No. 2 GM Viktor Laznicka; India No. 2 GM Krishnan Sasikiran and the reigning Indian National Champion GM Parimarjan Negi.

The tournament will offer prize of $24,500. The winner will take $8,000 and the runner-up $6,000.

Hou, who interestingly will be challenged by India's Koneru Humpy for the world title later this year, is using the tournament as part of her preparations. She was recognised as the Best Sportswoman in China in a sport that is not included in the Olympic programme.

<snip><snip><snip>

Hou hails from Xinghua, which is famous for holding top level Chinese individual chess tournaments for the past three years. The town has two women grandmasters, eight national champions and over 10,000 playing youngsters live here.

According to Susan Polgar, one of the strongest-ever women's players, but now retired, Hou is preparing for her match against Humpy and all these Open events are part of her larger plan.

This will be India's first ever Category 17 chess tournament with a unique group of six grandmasters playing in a double round robin event from June 21 to July 2.