2019 General Elections News and Discussion

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: 2019 General Elections News and Discussion

Last edited by UlanBatori on 27 Apr 2019 02:52, edited 1 time in total.

Grand alliance (maha thug bandhan > arithmetic transfer of votes on lines of state elections) and hope of exploiting tribal sentiment behind opposition glee in Jharkhand https://www.thehindu.com/elections/lok- ... 958940.ece
As far as issues are concerned, the Opposition alliance is convinced that the State government’s attempt to tweak Section 21 of the Chotanagpur Tenancy (CNT) Act and Section 13 of the Santhal Pargana Tenancy (SPT) Act, enabling use of agricultural land for non-agricultural purposes, would electorally backfire on the BJP.

Next attack on Modi, that his supporters resort to such profanity!

must listen, with earphones:

https://twitter.com/India_Policy/status ... 8371342336
Watch Just for FUN

I was one of the early adopters of gmail, and so I have a gmail address that is only my name.. By happenstance.. I share my name with a senior ECI officer. So I frequently get mail that people intend to send to him, but end up sending to me instead. Most of it is bills, travel agents etc. but sometimes I get a few chuckles when I get an email asking me to '..arrange the protocol necessary for Ms. Okowango Nmbesha, the electoral commissioner of Nigeria..' This time, I got a dark email from a group of people unfortunate enough to be deployed as polling officers in Bengal. Written in painstaking English, with a lot of typos, sent by someone who was obviously struggling with the software.. Requesting that all polling stations in Bengal have Central forces. Providing the example of the panchayat polls when state police was unable to protect them.

ECI in India has a lot of powers.. TN Sheshan demonstrated that to us. Its time the ECI exercised its power again and made Indian elections safe again.

Sudeep, can you screenshot the email and post here? Black out your personal details, of course. Also maybe redact the names of the individuals who sent it.

Did you forward all the emails to the real ECI officer?

nachiket wrote:Did you forward all the emails to the real ECI officer?
No. I always respond to the sender telling them I am not the person they are trying to reach.

Modiji made a good point
security. IPL,elections, Ramazan..all handled by the govt simultaneously. Big scoring point over UPA.
UPA could not handle IPL and Elections

Kaal Chiron writes:

MH-INC has signed its death warrant by outsourcing its campaign to Raju Painter. He will thank them for this lease and contribute towards Cong-Mukt MH. :lol:

Watch the fun in Nov. Raj is occupying position of BJP’s principal opponent without having a single MLA

Lazy Congis. :lol:
https://twitter.com/Kal_Chiron/status/1 ... 37024?s=19

https://twitter.com/5Forty3/status/1121 ... 69600?s=19

Dr. Praveen Patil :
Massive meltdown for the opposition has begun everywhere. Karyakartas are abandoning posts, booth level infrastructure is vanishing, opposition leaders have stopped spending money. Sympathietic (to opposition) local reporters have gone into slumber!

Just entering wave territory
Our reading suggests that most of the opposition is stunned because they expected MGB in UP, TMC in Bengal and INC-JDS in Karnataka to perform well in first 3 phases.
Nobody (including us) expected BJP to crush the entire opposition so strongly in these 3 states

Modiji warning against complacency at 2:04

He says some people are saying Modi has already won and there is no reason to vote now. Don't fall for such rumours and go out and vote.

+100 Nachiket ji,
The defeats of MP KA Raj by few thousand votes by congi local tactics of fanning caste dis-affectation is still rankling .
And when ever i see rosy predictions from PIF side i get irritated .

The last thing we need is underestimating the BIF in this existential fight for Bharat.

Better to put one's effort in influencing the undecided to turn them towards PIF rather than indulging in academic exercises of seat prediction .
Dumal

Post by Dumal »

sudeepj wrote:
No. I always respond to the sender telling them I am not the person they are trying to reach.
So, the ECI bigwigs too are left to use gmail accounts still? While so much of governance today is online, we still have not addressed this problem broadly and effectively!

https://twitter.com/newIndia_2019/statu ... 9170089984
Ashok gehlot rally.. Then they will say EVM has been hacked..

https://www.timesnownews.com/amp/column ... ssion=true
Gandhi-Vadra Party Circuit

While Prime Minister Narendra Modi has been sweating it out and his 'Chanakya' Amit Shah has been planning booth level organisation of cadres ahead of every phase of polling, it was really surprising to learn that the night before the crucial third phase of polls, some people spotted Priyanka Gandhi Vadra and her husband Robert Vadra at a plush five-star hotel’s terrace bar. At a time when the speculation over Priyanka Gandhi Vadra's likely candidature from Varanasi to take on Modi in the election bout was peaking, the buzz in Lutyen’s Delhi began about whether the scions of the Grand Old Party really had the fire in their bellies to take on the meticulous, election-winning machinery of the Modi-Shah duo. While the BJP was planning its booth circuit, the Vadras were more worried about their party circuit.

Witty Prime Minister

During an interview that Prime Minister was doing with a leading channel, the interview was interrupted in between, only because after a walking interview, when the PM came and sat down on some garden chairs, the sunlight hit his eyes and spectacles directly. The PM raised his hand and asked for a cut. Soon after the crew wanted to adjust his chair so that he would be moved a little into the shade of a tree. When the cameraperson stood beside his chair, Modi looked up and said “Kya chahiye, bhai?” The cameraperson sheepishly said, "Sir, if you stand up, I need to shift your chair." Pat comes the witty response from the Prime Minister: "Bhai, main akela Prime Minister hoon jiski kursi koi bhi kheench sakta hai!!” The entire crew was left floored!!! :rotfl:

Bolein Taare

A close friend of Prime Minister Narendra Modi recalled the 2006 visit of the then Chief Minister of Gujarat to the Ashram of Satya Sai Baba of Puttaparthi fame. Just as Modi was walking up to the revered soul, the latter's assistant whispered into his ears that this is the Chief Minister of Gujarat. Sai Baba folded his hands and said “Namaste, Prime Minister”. His embarrassed assistant whispered again in his ears that this wasn’t the Prime Minister but the Chief Minister of Gujarat. Unfazed, Sai Baba said, “I know, but when I will not be around, this man will be Prime Minister.” But this was not the only bhavishyavaani. A few years later a renowned astrologer from Kerala (Panicker by name) had prophecised that the Chandrama dasha for Modi begins from 2013-end and will last 10 years. Which means Modi will remain PM till 2024. Is this the reason for Modi’s supreme confidence about a second term?

Fund-drought in Congress

Congress Insiders have their shoulders slumped after the third phase of polling. After Prime Minister Modi’s blitzkrieg in Varanasi, the buzz is that the Congress has given up the fight. The reports from within the battleground states of Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Karnataka are less than promising about a bounty of seats for the Congress Party. And after much speculation when Priyanka Gandhi Vadra also chickened out of a fight in the elections, the Congress seems to have lost its nerve. The latest is that in the remaining phases of polls, the Congress has now pulled back on releasing funds for its candidates. Candidates have been asked to generate funds from their own resources and not depend on central funding from the party. Has Congress conceded defeat even before May 23?

^^ The bull probably came from TN and thought it was a jallikattu contest :rotfl:

Hope the police guy did not get injured by the fall.

Without doubt the GREATEST sporting dynasty the world has ever seen. India is truly blessed. (List first complied by @rvaidya2000)

Guys, watch this terrific interview ModiJi gave to India Today and Aaaj tak journos

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V7Ep4VtePPk

And this interview was no soft ball back and forth. Rahul Kanwal challenged ModiJi on many of ModiJi haters' pet peeves, failure of demo, GST, farmers, jobs etc. And ModiJi answered the questions as best as he could. His haters will not like his answers, but at least he took the questions. Then those 2 ladies, Anjana Kashyab, and I forget the other lady's name, both were respectful but forceful in their questioning. Burka Bibi must be seething with jealous that she didn't get to do the interview.

And I am a bit Hindi challenged, but ModiJi's sense of humor is cutting edge. The last bit is worth watching where he cuts a joke on what SM will say about the interview with the 3 journos. Even I burst into laughter :-).

Can't imagine Pappu or any of the thugbandhan 'leaders' even coming close to such mastery over various issues, much less sense of humor.

CRamS wrote:Guys, watch this terrific interview ModiJi gave to India Today and Aaaj tak journos

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V7Ep4VtePPk

And this interview was no soft ball back and forth. Rahul Kanwal challenged ModiJi on many of ModiJi haters' pet peeves, failure of demo, GST, farmers, jobs etc. And ModiJi answered the questions as best as he could. His haters will not like his answers, but at least he took the questions. Then those 2 ladies, Anjana Kashyab, and I forget the other lady's name, both were respectful but forceful in their questioning. Burka Bibi must be seething with jealous that she didn't get to do the interview.

And I am a bit Hindi challenged, but ModiJi's sense of humor is cutting edge. The last bit is worth watching where he cuts a joke on what SM will say about the interview with the 3 journos. Even I burst into laughter :-).

Can't imagine Pappu or any of the thugbandhan 'leaders' even coming close to such mastery over various issues, much less sense of humor.

the press is beginning to realize that Modi uses these interviews to project his point of view rather than the presstitutes pushing their agendas.

this medium is one double edged sword that has lost it's charm for the commies and naxals, now that the tables are being turned regularly against them by Modi.

Prof. Hari Om @Prof_Hariom 23 hours ago

Wonderful news

Terrorist and murderer Yasin Malik's Pakistani wife #MushaalHussainMullick denied visa to enter Kashmir.

She is asking Pakistan Government to approach International Court of Justice at Hague.

Well done MEA @SushmaSwaraj
PM @narendramodi , congratulations.

47 replies 1,520 retweets 3,531 likes
banrjeer

Post by banrjeer »

Primus wrote:
Sidharth wrote:
Having worked in various corporate roles in US, Mexico, Germany, Indonesia etc, I can vouch for the importance of diversity and hence my posts always touches up on it.....................
I live in the US, The political correctness notions of egalitarianism and moral upmanship ( a new kind of racism) is not that deep rooted and is a function of prosperity.

The true test is when there's a resource crunch and people are at subsistence level, The subcontinent is quite unique in being able to maintain a social fabric thru situations where there would be complete anarchy anywhere else in the world. guns would be out.

diversity is a new fangled and barely 50 years old ... a lot of koolaid.
We don't find Eunuchs fighting elections...

lets remember the nazis, Nagasaki the forced march of cherokees, Mccarthyism slavery etc... 56 million natives americans wiped out causing global cooling !

So Siddarth opposes UPA where they are spreading divisiveness by dissing North Indians taking everything away from South Indians? SO he is basically saying vote for BJP

Well put banrjeer

Despite high pop we did not wipe out large mammals too as greedy colonists and euros did

Folks Modiji has given a string of interviews. Ddm heavily criticized his interview with Arnab and akshay as being soft but he has since given a few more where he has taken the challenge head on and exposed the biased media.

Mean-e-while Rahul baba is MIA in this regard. How come no one from media is crying that they don’t have access?

Looks like part hypocrisy and somewhere they know how useless shezada is.

जिसको जो गाली देनी है वो सारी मोदी के खाते में पोस्ट कर दो, और मैं गंदी से गंदी चीज से भी खाद बनाता हूं, कितना भी गंदा कूड़ा कचरा हो, मैं उससे खाद बनाता हूँ और उसमें ही कमल खिलाता हूँ : PM @NarendraModi जी https://t.co/vVC76IKkuW
Translation:
"whosoever wants to hurl abuses can post their abuses in my account. I take the dirty & dirtiest only to turn it into FERTILIZER & lotus grows in it."
~ PM Narendra Modi

https://twitter.com/PiyushGoyal/status/ ... 29795?s=19
syam

Post by syam »

Ok, I finally understood why ppatil being so confident about his estimates. His account is hacked by amit shah,

Hapur's Satta bazaar discounts 'Modi wave', but predict BJP win in LS polls
"We are expecting the BJP to win 240 seats. At best, the tally may touch 245 but not more than that," said one of the operators in the satta market.

twitter

not sure what he has done in the polling booth...

sudeepj wrote:
sudeepj- my perspective.
THis particular e-mail is different from the rest of the emails you have received on this gmail account. The person(s) who sent this .... quite possibly their lives and security are under threat. There are other posts in this page showing people in their roles have been publicly killed in WB , so this is clearly some truth to this. The email is a petition for help. My request would be to treat this particular email differently from others you have have received. If you can, please try to communicate this in some form or other to someone in ECI (after all redactions etc).

twitter

Having worked in various corporate roles in US, Mexico, Germany, Indonesia etc, I can vouch for the importance of diversity and hence my posts always touches up on it.....................
None of these countries are known for diversity. US tolerates diversity for strategic reasons but doesn't believe in it. In US token diversity ends after putting check marks for African Americans, LGBTQ and now Muslims. It never extends to accommodate to the level of vegetarian Hindus. Forget about breaking the glass ceilings of corporate and political structures, wake me up when they bring me vegetarian food to the level of making sure that it's satvik like they do for Jewish and Muslims with kosher. We all know how Tulsi Gabbard gets treated in US and she's not even topical brown Hindu. Let see how these countries behave when their cores are asked to take the back seat in the name of diversity like being asked of Hindus in their own civilizational land.

Congress is a feudal system ran by Nehru clan where there's no diversity. Forget about allowing opposition to flourish, congress doesn't allow flourishing within their own party. We all know about Shashtri and PVNR and how they became PM and it wasn't because of flourishing within the party. When party itself doesn't believe in diversity, how's that going to bring diversity elsewhere. And transplanting rohingyas in Hindu backyards as landmines is not what I call diversity. Congress diversity plan doesn't include RSS and Hindus in the Hindu land itself.

Any given day BJP is generations ahead in providing diversity. They have chaiwalla who flourished within the party and became PM. I don't see founding or senior members' family running the party as a feudal system.

The Congress Party set for landslide election victory
As India is in the throes of its 2019 general election, the mood of discontent in the current social, economic and political climate across the nation is seeing Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Hindu Nationalist Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on the brink of collapse.

A significant majority of the electorate is voting for the Government’s leading Opposition party, the Indian National Congress (INC), whose leader, 48-year-old Rahul Gandhi, is witnessing a remarkable surge in popularity.
https://medium.com/@gabriellepickardwhi ... 9ce1492aa9

darshan wrote:
None of these countries are known for diversity. US tolerates diversity for strategic reasons but doesn't believe in it. In US token diversity ends after putting check marks for African Americans, LGBTQ and now Muslims. It never extends to accommodate to the level of vegetarian Hindus. Forget about breaking the glass ceilings of corporate and political structures, wake me up when they bring me vegetarian food to the level of making sure that it's satvik like they do for Jewish and Muslims with kosher. We all know how Tulsi Gabbard gets treated in US and she's not even topical brown Hindu. Let see how these countries behave when their cores are asked to take the back seat in the name of diversity like being asked of Hindus in their own civilizational land.

Congress is a feudal system ran by Nehru clan where there's no diversity. Forget about allowing opposition to flourish, congress doesn't allow flourishing within their own party. We all know about Shashtri and PVNR and how they became PM and it wasn't because of flourishing within the party. When party itself doesn't believe in diversity, how's that going to bring diversity elsewhere. And transplanting rohingyas in Hindu backyards as landmines is not what I call diversity. Congress diversity plan doesn't include RSS and Hindus in the Hindu land itself.

Any given day BJP is generations ahead in providing diversity. They have chaiwalla who flourished within the party and became PM. I don't see founding or senior members' family running the party as a feudal system.

Towards the end of the LKA and his lootyens pasand associates ( mentioned solely with tribal association connotations) era, Modi flourished in spite of the party.

It was only after the relentless, punishing and almost solo campaigning where the BJP's lootyens pasand leadership hoped that Modi would fall flat on his face and depart disgraced forever from the political arena, that Modi actually came into his own and hit his political stride.

It certainly has not been smooth sailing for Modi and his unexpected and amazing almost miraculous blossoming, and growing into the international stature that he has garnered for himself as well as for India today.

There is not a single politician of his entire generation, bar none, that would or could have done what Modi has done.

Gora politicos who arrogantly anticipated dealing with a simpleton and bullying their way through have gone back mauled and bleeding in ways that they cannot believe or even fathom.

theresa may, trudeau and the european union are just some of the sorry examples who underestimated Modi, and paid the price, returning bereft of their reputations as well as their personal pride.

I shudder to think what would have happened to India had LKA and his lootyens pasand associates come to power instead of Modi.

Anshul Saxena

Verified account

@AskAnshul

A labourer who was putting Rahul Gandhi's posters, was removed from Congress office in Jaipur as he wore t-shirt with PM Modi's name on it

A man wearing BJP cap garlanded Kanhaiya Kumar during his election campaign, No one criticized him

But Congress is the saviour of Democracy

vimal wrote:The Congress Party set for landslide election victory
As India is in the throes of its 2019 general election, the mood of discontent in the current social, economic and political climate across the nation is seeing Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Hindu Nationalist Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on the brink of collapse.

A significant majority of the electorate is voting for the Government’s leading Opposition party, the Indian National Congress (INC), whose leader, 48-year-old Rahul Gandhi, is witnessing a remarkable surge in popularity.
Medium, eh? An article like this will be used later to discredit the elections. "See, we predicted a different result", blah, blah. Never mind that this lady has no idea about the ground reality, but a gora publication has called a result, so we must follow the guidance onlee.

Btw, vimal-ji, thanks for sharing this article. We need to know what others think of the election, so we can expect what's to come down the line.

arshyam wrote:
vimal wrote:The Congress Party set for landslide election victory

Medium, eh? An article like this will be used later to discredit the elections. "See, we predicted a different result", blah, blah. Never mind that this lady has no idea about the ground reality, but a gora publication has called a result, so we must follow the guidance onlee.

Btw, vimal-ji, thanks for sharing this article. We need to know what others think of the election, so we can expect what's to come down the line.
This trash is being spread on facebook by none other than uber secular Tufail Ah-mad. I used to respect this Tufail guy but he has gone completely bonkers ever since Modi came to power. He is as green as they come.

BTW, I checked out the bio of the writer of that article and here is her linkedin profile.

https://www.linkedin.com/in/gabriellewh ... bdomain=uk
Experienced Freelance Journalist and B2B Copywriter with a demonstrated history of working in the online media industry. Skilled in Search Engine Optimization (SEO), WordPress, Journalism, Magazines, and Newspapers. Strong media and communication professional with a Bachelor of Arts (BA) (2.1) focused in Communication and Media Studies from Liverpool John Moores University.
Clearly a paid article.

darshan wrote: Any given day BJP is generations ahead in providing diversity. They have chaiwalla who flourished within the party and became PM. I don't see founding or senior members' family running the party as a feudal system.
Towards the end of the LKA and his lootyens pasand associates ( mentioned solely with tribal association connotations) era, Modi flourished in spite of the party.

I shudder to think what would have happened to India had LKA and his lootyens pasand associates come to power instead of Modi.
No disagreements here. I have seen power people from both sides in Gujarat and I don't put Nehru feudal system in the same category as LKA and others jockeying for power. How would Nehru dynasty have reacted in the similar situation? Two anecdotes are Taskent episode and disdain for PVNR.

Mort Walker wrote:Hapur's Satta bazaar discounts 'Modi wave', but predict BJP win in LS polls
"We are expecting the BJP to win 240 seats. At best, the tally may touch 245 but not more than that," said one of the operators in the satta market.
The main reason given is 30 seats loss in UP. Sigh, each one coming up own numbers. Amit Shah says in video shared above 15% of combined SP BSP voters will not transfer votes or are not happy with alliance therefore not vote for their respective parties. If what AS says is accurate then BJP's vote share will only increase. So 30 seat loss seams too high.

Medium is a personal blog platform like wordpress and blogspot. You can pay 10-20 dollars to anyone to write a 800-1000 words article on any topic. This writer is a professional in this online promotions, not Indian politics.