Two-G (2G) Spectrum Scam Tapes and follow-up
Re: Two-G (2G) Spectrum Scam Tapes and follow-up
What a web of Dharmic connections?.Vajpayee's son-in-law puts BJP in a fix
NEW DELHI: For the teflon-coated Atal Bihari Vajpayee, son-in-law Ranjan Bhattacharya is proving to be the soft underbelly, with the young entrepreneur's name figuring for the second time in two months in headline controversies on political wheeling-dealing.
BJP was left confounded when the incendiary US cables on the trust vote accusing bribery mentioned Bhattacharya as the man who could split the party if the Congress so wanted. Only weeks ago, he was a prominent voice on Radia tapes, purportedly fixing Cabinet formation in rival Congress regime.
Both the sting-ops show the lingering influence of Bhattacharya years after Vajpayee has stepped into the political sunset. Though his name was always mentioned openly during the saffron regimes from 1998-2004, the two leaked tapes and cables show him in not so flattering light and have the potential to embarrass him among the followers of his famous father-in-law.
The US cables say that Congress MP Satish Sharma was looking at Bhattacharya to use his links and divide the BJP ranks. While the truth of the claims is a secret never to be known, the man once seen as the key to Vajpayee does come across as a political freelancer whom even the BJP rivals see as an asset.
The belief gains ground when the cable leak is seen in conjunction with the Radia tapes where he is offering his help to speak to the highest quarters in Congress to find out the fate of certain individuals in Cabinet formation, as also to convey messages to Congress.
Observers say Bhattacharya was definitely seen by Congress as a man they could use to work on the BJP. Prime Minister Manmohan Singh sought the help of a key Vajpayee aide who is close to Bhattacharya — former security czar Brajesh Mishra — to influence BJP. He did oblige by speaking for the nuke deal. Mishra was given Padma Vibhushan this year. Not that the shocks actually would surprise insiders.
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 732089.cms
Until the eeveeyums are above board, I do not believe the ruling coalition has any need for worry at all. They are thick skinned and will easily ride past all this without breaking a sweat. The sheer crassness, brazeness and openness re corruption, collusion, malfeasance etc on display suggests little else, perhaps.
Sure the media padamshrees will be called in to muddy waters and blame the communal fascist bjp and all and we'll even have sagely jingoes become joingoes in that holy din.
I don't even see the need for parliament anymore. Let Oppn block it. So bl00dy what. The oppn in a westminister system is indeed touchingly toothless only. It shows all too glaringly.
10 more years of UPA rule, at least, seem certain. After that, Yindia will be too far gone to matter or care.
Sure the media padamshrees will be called in to muddy waters and blame the communal fascist bjp and all and we'll even have sagely jingoes become joingoes in that holy din.
I don't even see the need for parliament anymore. Let Oppn block it. So bl00dy what. The oppn in a westminister system is indeed touchingly toothless only. It shows all too glaringly.
10 more years of UPA rule, at least, seem certain. After that, Yindia will be too far gone to matter or care.
Nachiketa Kapur was spotted in Satish Sharma's son Samir Sharma wedding along with Rahul G
http://wwwsunitakapoor.blogspot.com/201 ... dding.html
This is a big joke. It is like an astrologer claiming the credit for making me a king as he predicted my Ascension looking at my horoscope in my childhood. He didn't "make" my future, he just "saw" my future.Sushupti wrote:As a PM or as person who was liked by Nehru?ABV did what his dharma dictated.
INC brings this JLN's comment to portray as if ABV became PM of India just because JLN told so, and wouldn't have if it weren't for JLN's observation. This is a propaganda to tell the public that only INC can lead this nation.
Years ago I posted that another win of BJP/NDA and successful completion of its term would dethrone INC from that (self-appointed) pedestal for ever.
Die-nasty's panga with PVNR is just that. He is the only INC PM who ruled India without die-nasty's approval and support.
- Location: Pee Arr Eff's resident Constitution Compliance Strategist (Phd, with upper hand)
I think people are mixing petty politics and narrow vision on display by UPA vs the idealistic streak in NDA. I am listing facts and details of alleged event, so please judge it as it were early 2000s with ABV still in charge and mummyjis accent being the only thing that made it to headlines of national dailies.
1) A private citizen who is not into politics
2) Important family of India's opposition and one with a history of taking on Khan
3) A foreign country's foreign agency that cannot be trusted with anything Indian (I think this is the point people find undigestible, I am questioning the entire drama as a charade by that nation's agencies)
So people expect a statesman leader like ABV and visionary alliance NDA to (a) Throw principal opposition's family members to dogs in a foreign nation (b) Charges and things that are best described with one word DCH (c) File domestic charges based on an unethical geopolitical machination? Today I am sure UPA will do all that and more with a few "progressive" posters cheerleading from behind!
This era is different from 1990s and early 2000s India of today is little better than a Pakistan of 1980s, with a few sparks here and there expect complete recolonization with policy diktats coming in from lands afar....
1) A private citizen who is not into politics
2) Important family of India's opposition and one with a history of taking on Khan
3) A foreign country's foreign agency that cannot be trusted with anything Indian (I think this is the point people find undigestible, I am questioning the entire drama as a charade by that nation's agencies)
So people expect a statesman leader like ABV and visionary alliance NDA to (a) Throw principal opposition's family members to dogs in a foreign nation (b) Charges and things that are best described with one word DCH (c) File domestic charges based on an unethical geopolitical machination? Today I am sure UPA will do all that and more with a few "progressive" posters cheerleading from behind!
This era is different from 1990s and early 2000s India of today is little better than a Pakistan of 1980s, with a few sparks here and there expect complete recolonization with policy diktats coming in from lands afar....
Munna, Even in 1999 if it was the INC in charge and the tables were reversed they would throw the BJP leaders in jail and throw away the key. They might even give evidence so they get locked up in foreign jails. (S.C. Bose)
Dont justify gullibility and delusion as raja dharma.
- Location: Pee Arr Eff's resident Constitution Compliance Strategist (Phd, with upper hand)
Ramanaji NDA and ABV tried and failed to make India an independent pole in world. Domestic political parties took help of outsiders to subvert that and come to power. When a section of Indians did not buy that vision and instead wants to be "pitthu" of other powers, it really is not the fault of the dreamers you see. Although they get blamed left, right and center.ramana wrote:Munna, Even in 1999 if it was the INC in charge and the tables were reversed they would throw the BJP leaders in jail and throw away the key. They might even give evidence so they get locked up in foreign jails. (S.C. Bose)
munna ji, though I concur with the jest of the post and I vehmently oppose calling Vajpayee and Brijesh types as some sellouts there is a huge dhimmitude from ABV government in not utilizing the opportunities. It is a huge and massive failure of assessing the reality and realistic future. For example when they are in power, INC with the help of Nutwar Singh and Kofi Annan's son milked the oil for food program of Iraq via scandal. I gaurantee you if there is any chance to fix ABV or LKA in similar situations of Rahul G they would have been in jail today. So I don't like this useless and costly magnanimity. All they need to do was to bring them from US clutches and should have applied laws of India and put all sorts of cases agains RG. It is a huge mistake. The entire BJP was suddenly in la la land and thought that they have changed India forever and there is no chance of brutal-INC politics. Hell fell on them and the nation for their lack of foresight.
Issue is not the dreams of ABV but his loyalty to dynasty over the party(and its ideology) which made him PM.Ramanaji NDA and ABV tried and failed to make India an independent pole in world.
It would be nice for the IT panel to go after all these folks accused of taking bribes in crores and charge them with IT evasion and let them clear themselves.
Bossji please do not exceed the realms of plausibility. Do you know Madan Lal Khurana ex-CEC (Chief Executive Councillor) and later CM of Delhi? He started his career as Student Union Chief of DU and was invited by Nehru to his office! When leaving the office Nehru walked with him to the door and shew him the way out. ML Khuranaji was suitably impressed but still he went on to create BJP in Delhi all by himself and brought one of the first ever state governments of BJP after its foundation! An entire generation of BJS, JP and BJP met and knew Nehru but they were no dynasty loyalists, heck there was no dynasty back then in 1950s.Sushupti wrote:Issue is not the dreams of ABV but his loyalty to dynasty over the party(and its ideology) which made him PM.
It is really a sad day when basic civility and courtesy was replaced by throwing of files in front of opposition leaders (yes a certain snow white man in charge does it away from media glare). But this is what he have come to? No difference from Pakis and yes any dissent is to be categorized as "speculation", "unverified" and "agenda". It happened in nuke thread, it happened in pokhran re-evaluation thread, it happened in Ekta Yatra and it is happening in Japan thread. Let us wait and see how long this "prapanch" lasts?
Muppalla-ji I agree with you, the cost of dreaming and being generous has been far too high. Lessons have been learnt and will be applied.
So sri hasan aali surrenders on SC orders to ED again.The same ED that is determined to mismanage the prosecution case and set ali free.
Saving Grace!!. Thats what matters.Lessons have been learnt and will be applied.
I never called them sellouts. "Right man in wrong party" yes, but not sellout.I vehmently oppose calling Vajpayee and Brijesh types as some sellouts
I didn't authorise anybody to purchase votes: PM
Where is the Ack Thoo icon when one needs it?
Shri ManMohan "squeaky clean" Singh has well and truly graduated into a full time politico and lie through his teeth with a straight face...Prime Minister Manmohan Singh on Friday broke his silence over the United States diplomatic cables accusing the United Progressive Alliance led by him of purchasing the votes of Members of Parliament for the Trust Vote over the Indo-US nuclear agreement in 2008.
The PM insisted that he had "not authorised anybody" to purchase votes nor was he involved in any such "transactions".
"I think, people who are affected by them (Wikileaks expose), they have already commented on them, casting serious doubts about the veracity of allegations made in these diplomatic despatches," Dr Singh said while commenting on the Wikileaks expose.
"I have no knowledge of any such purchases and I am absolutely categorical, I have not authorised anyone to purchase any votes. I am not aware of any acts of purchase of votes," he said while replying to questions at the India Today Summit.
"I am absolutely certain in asserting that I am not at all, I think, involved in any of these transactions," the prime minister insisted.
His response, however, did not categorically clarify whether or not the purchases took place at all before the Trust Vote on July 22, 2008.

Where is the Ack Thoo icon when one needs it?
Strange how nobody but nobody in the (alleged) parliamentary 'opposition' has not deemed fit to question smt sonia G directly? Or not demanded SG come clean on the appointments (CVC issue), on 2G, on cash-for-votes and now also on cabinet appointments (how was a whiz like sri montek left out of the finmin??) etc.
Reminds me of Voldemort or Sauron - 'he whose name we do not take. '
Saarjee, and please tell me which party is the Right party ?Sushupti wrote:I never called them sellouts. "Right man in wrong party" yes, but not sellout.I vehmently oppose calling Vajpayee and Brijesh types as some sellouts
^^ I would assume that the Padmasri DDM and state machinery would come down so hard on any person even daring to take the name of "the person who shall not be named" that the fear itself makes even the mightiest to shut their trap and not bother.
The amount of character assassination that would take place in the DDM of the person who dares do such a thing would make Hitler seem like a saint.
sum, MMS is right.. He didn't authroize any purchase of votes. It was suspected to be done by INC handlers and now confirmed by MMS.
IT panel should ask for taxes to all those named in the reports.
Does anybody know what is sri hasan ali baba's source of income? For an overdue tax bill to reach $6 bn means, income of the tune of $18 bn at least. No? How was the tax fig arrived at, I wonder.
^^ Ramana-garu, how does that tie up with the statement( bolded) from the cable:
Surely, the Akali Dal wouldn't have been persuaded without cash from a "financier" like Chatwal ( who was duly given the Padma for his services the very next year)?Independently, Mr. Sharma told the Political Counselor “that PM Singh and others were trying to work on the Akali Dal (8 votes) through financier Sant Chatwal and others, but unfortunately it did not work out.”
He could be a front for business interest in Mumbai with expensive house. The political actors are minor account holders. Taxes include penalty.
sum, its hearsay from a known liar (Satish Sharma)! Recall he denied he has any aides!
BTW Chatwal also has advanced Indian interests in US politicial circles. His proximity to Ms Clinton made her opponent call her Democrat-Punjab!
sum, its hearsay from a known liar (Satish Sharma)! Recall he denied he has any aides!
BTW Chatwal also has advanced Indian interests in US politicial circles. His proximity to Ms Clinton made her opponent call her Democrat-Punjab!
Reasons to despair
18 March 2011: How does the UPA leadership get away duping the country time after time, with the story repeated with the new Wikileaks? Here are some reasons:
Splitting the spoils is the new UPA "coalition dharma". Every coalition partner in the UPA government is permitted its share of corruption, with a portion allocated for the main ruling party.
Don't imagine only the DMK is involved in the 2G loot. But it is the first scapegoat when corruption charges smash the UPA.
It leaves the lead Congress party relatively insulated and it can use investigating agencies like the CBI to arm-twist allies for more assembly seats.
So far, it has been win-win for the Congress. But it could boomerang.
Bureaucratizing corruption: Nearly every top bureaucratic appointment in the UPA government comes with a price. The price is to assist the ruling dispensation with the plunder.
The idea behind making P.J.Thomas CVC was to institutionalize and systematize corruption. The advantage of using the bureaucracy is that the corruption process can be kept relatively banal, low-key, and triple-wrapped in procedural complexities.
Certainly, this has made bureaucrats more audacious than perhaps in any previous government. One measure of this is Thomas's refusal to accept the Supreme Court's annulment of his appointment, pointing to powerful backers in the ruling apparatus.
Congress ministerial corruption: Besides the allies and bureaucrats, ruling-party ministers are deeply implicated in scams. Corruption in so-called ATM ministries no longer raises eyebrows.
But since nearly every ministry is now awash with funds, the scope for corruption is broader. Here, too, an unwritten but tightly-enforced rule applies. A share of the loot has to be passed to the chief bagman.
If the loot is not shared, a minister may be relocated. This happened with a top cabinet minister. Since everyone is looting, no one has a desire to rat.
So far, this system of collective loot has kept the UPA in power.
No V.P.Singh: L.K.Advani insightfully pointed out that the Congress/ UPA was safe because of an absent V.P.Singh who pulled the plug on Rajiv Gandhi.
There is another reason you can't easily do a V.P.Singh on the UPA. There is no equivalent of a Rajiv Gandhi in government.
The prime minister is a nobody. Real power resides outside the government with no accountability.
Manmohan Singh as PM: While the prime minister may or may not be monetarily corrupt, he is politically immoral and intellectually dishonest.
He lies when he says the vote that saved his government in July 2008 and favoured the Indo-US nuclear deal was clean.
Officials in the PMO were involved in corrupting MPs. His ministers were implicated, leave aside dodgy Congress heavyweights and their flunkeys.
Because Manmohan Singh has become addicted to prime-ministership, he will stoop to save his job. And so long he heads the government, the UPA's superstructure of corruption will remain intact.
First-time MPs: The UPA's biggest enablers in power are the first-time Lok-Sabha MPs, who constitute an astonishing fifty-nine percent.
Elections are expensive and they don't want early polls, not being assured of party funding, which typically favours veterans.
In the face of the resistance of first-time MPs, the opposition is powerless to move a no-confidence motion against the government.
And this adds to the UPA's confident arrogance to loot the country without let.
Uneasy bedfellows: While it is true that the BJP and the CPI-M/ Left have cornered the UPA-2 government repeatedly and successfully, they still make an uneasy and unlikely pair because of their conflicting ideologies (at least on paper).
Which is why even on the Wikileaks scandal, the NDA and Left launched formally separate campaigns, although the two leaderships have never been closer.
On the flip side, repeated Congress attempts to drive a "communal" wedge between the Left-NDA tacit alliance has so far failed, which is good for opposition politics -- and, at a remove, you and I.
De-personalizing attacks: In theory, this is good. But in an age of dynastic politics, how do you get away from the personal?
Could you, in all honesty, de-personalize DMK or Congress or NCP wrongdoing?
This writer was not convinced by Sushma Swaraj's forgiveness of the PM on Thomas. Subsequently trapped in the Rajya Sabha, Manmohan started a blame-game, which could lead to the core of the crooked Thomas appointment.
And the PM is at it again, being at his cavalier worst about Wikileaks. How can political discourse be kept "decent" and "polite" and "non-confrontationist" in the face of the wholesale abuse of Indian democracy and the mass scamming of the people?
In America's interest: Finally, it is to US advantage to keep the disgraceful Manmohan Singh government in power. Wikileaks reveals the shocking depth of US interference in the Central government.
A weak, pro-US PM obviously suits America. And Manmohan Singh's direct rival, Pranab Mukherjee, can forget about succeeding him in 2012, because America is on his tail, and distrusts him.
So there is no respite for India till 2014 -- and then, don't be too sure of that, either. What was revealed by Wikileaks was known before: that the DMK won a Lok Sabha and assembly seat each by bribing voters on an unprecedented scale.
If it can be done in Tamil Nadu, why not elsewhere?
It's all about money. And the UPA is far ahead in the loot game.
Worse may be in store.
http://www.newsinsight.net/archivedebat ... recno=2118
Unfortunately the poor people have had to pay a steep price so that folks like ABV can get some education. Prithviraj Chauhan syndrome was mentioned.munna wrote: Muppalla-ji I agree with you, the cost of dreaming and being generous has been far too high. Lessons have been learnt and will be applied.
By the way, I had posted an article a few days back about how Vajpayee's relatives were connected with unrestrained looting. Maybe not on the same scale as Rahul Baba, but Vajpayee is indirectly responsible for 2G family loot, by letting Rahul Baba off the hook.
- BR Mainsite Crew
Sirjee,Pranav wrote: Unfortunately the poor people have had to pay a steep price so that folks like ABV can get some education. Prithviraj Chauhan syndrome was mentioned.
By the way, I had posted an article a few days back about how Vajpayee's relatives were connected with unrestrained looting. Maybe not on the same scale as Rahul Baba, but Vajpayee is indirectly responsible for 2G family loot, by letting Rahul Baba off the hook.
What you said is
"A bystander for a rape committed the actual rape".
kani and dayalu are likely to be named in CBI Charge sheet to be filed before 31st . Elections on 13th. Interesting twist.
If somebody had taken an solemn oath that he would protect the victim, and then he remains a bystander, he is worse than the rapist.ravi_ku wrote: Sirjee,
What you said is
"A bystander for a rape committed the actual rape".
If they are *not* in the chargesheet, one can be sure that the CBI is still not functioning independent of the central government. It is as much a test for the ability of the SC to oversee an investigation independently, as anything else.chaanakya wrote:kani and dayalu are likely to be named in CBI Charge sheet to be filed before 31st .
There was a lot of gossip about her daughter and Rahul G spend some quality time together. Knowing Renuka, I won't be surprised that she will encourage her daughter.ramana wrote:Pranav wrote:This fellow Nachiketa Kapur who showed the cash to the Americans seems very well connected (to JN Dixit, Renuka Chowdhary and others). To be fair PMO seems to have been trying to put a rein on him. See Why Congress fears the latest Wikileaks revelation - http://www.rediff.com/news/slide-show/s ... 110317.htm
Interesting how at odd moments Renuka Chowdhary's name pops up. She is a non-entitiy in Hyderabad now, but has some weight in Delhi.
http://www.newsofap.com/news_details.ph ... start=3280
Sonia Gandhi's tensions with Renuka Chowdhury
One does not know on who started the voices of dissidence, but all of a sudden, today, the various Andhra Pradesh Congress leaders met the Congress High Command and voiced against nominating Renuka Chowdhury for the Rajya Sabha seat.
They contend that since she lost the last elections by a huge margin, it is not proper for the Congress High Command to give preference to her while ignoring many other senior leaders.
But incidentlaly the decision to nominate her was taken around one week back and the Congress High Command blames the YS Jagan group for starting this dissidence since Renuka and Jagan are not at good terms with each other.
Incidentally Renuka Chowdhury's name was popped by none other than Sonia Gandhi and one has to wait and see whether she would bow down to this so called dissidence.
Last edited by ramana on 19 Mar 2011 09:06, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Edited
Arre Yaar! give the man the benefit of doubt..As someone else said, he may be technically right - in the sense that it was Sonia who arranged the cash and her henchmen who distributed. He is also right when he says he has not authorised anyone..Don't we all know that he is just a rubber stamp and has no authority to do anything independently, leave alone authorise to purchase MPs.Shri ManMohan "squeaky clean" Singh has well and truly graduated into a full time politico and lie through his teeth with a straight face...
This is what bothers me more than anything else..Why did Sushama Swaraj tweet and say "let us put the matter to rest" after PM admitted some shortcomings in selection of P.J. Thomas? Did she think that it was an exercise to score brownie points or was she in a pissing contest with the PM & Chidu?Hari Seldon wrote:Strange how nobody but nobody in the (alleged) parliamentary 'opposition' has not deemed fit to question smt sonia G directly? Or not demanded SG come clean on the appointments (CVC issue), on 2G, on cash-for-votes and now also on cabinet appointments (how was a whiz like sri montek left out of the finmin??) etc.
They (BJP) should have been more agressive after PM admitted mistake, because till then they were all stoutly denying any wrongdoings. Why did they not corner SG in this incident? Has the individual BJP leaders got some skeletons in their cupboards too, which would tumble out if they go beyong certain limits?
I have a feeling the testes of atleast some of the BJP stalwarts are firmly in the vicelike grip og SG. It is people like Shourie, Modi Yeddi, Gadkari types who are fearless. They should take the centre stage now and push the stage managers like Jaitly, Venkaih, sushma Advani etc to the back.
I used to get annoyed when Spinster used to shower his choicest Gaalis on ABV and LKA. I now realise he was far ahead of the times (atleast a decade!).
Yeah why don't you think the reasons and post them.
Addressed to me? if so, about what?Yeah why don't you think the reasons and post them.
Geeth, Why do you think Sushma Swaraj tweeted that?
I think for her it was to get PJT out and not MMS.
When I spoke to Shri Subramaniam Swamy MP that is what he said. He suspects the same thing and he says there is enough evidence against SG.geeth wrote:
I have a feeling the testes of atleast some of the BJP stalwarts are firmly in the vicelike grip og SG.
I became suspicious because, till the time the verdict was out, Sushma was very agressive and was indulged in a pissing contest with Chidu about who said what at what time. Logically, anyone would expect that the matter is pursued further after Supreme Court confirmed what she had been saying all along.ramana wrote:Geeth, Why do you think Sushma Swaraj tweeted that?
I also did not expect her to ask for the resignation of the PM. What I was expecting was that Sushma would immediately demand the resignation of Chidu (which he woudn't have done anyway) and also fix the responsibility for not presenting the full details with the Ministry of Personnel. That way she/BJP could have atleast asked the resignation of Prithviraj Chawan (and indirectly attack Sonia). They had, later, but Sushma's tweet had taken the wind out of the opposition demand.
If there is a larger plan of not touching the PM now (as mentioned by Swamy), I can understand that..but then, the reason for not touching the PM is obviously to bring Sonia in the limelight and ultimately expose her. But here I see Sushma in a hurry to put to rest the controversy. There were also press reports mentioning Jaitley saying exactly opposite to that of Sushma. Later Gadhkari is reported to have told her not to tweet too much.
May be she is scared of some Bellary Skeletons tumbling out of her cupboard - I don't know. Anyway, I expected her to be more agressive.
Hope they get married soon, rahul can her teach money smuggling while she can teach him how to pub bharovijayk wrote:There was a lot of gossip about her daughter and Rahul G spend some quality time together. Knowing Renuka, I won't be surprised that she will encourage her daughter.
Duffer marries Drunkard, all are invited

Government ignored intelligence inputs on Shahid Balwa's D-links
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 740157.cms
NEW DELHI: The security establishment has several specific details to link Shahid Balwa, his father Usman Ebrahim Balwa, Vinod Goenka, his father Krishna Murari and brother Pramod Goenka to the Dawood gang and Chhota Shakeel. Shahid Balwa and Vinod Goenka are currently in jail in connection with the 2G scam.
Over the past seven-eight years, there has been a stream of inputs on the underworld links of both the families, a senior official said. The official, who looked at the two families as well as companies such as the Jet Airways in the past told TOI, "It's disheartening. We invest so much resource because there are serious issues of national security. But governments just ignore them."