India-US relations: News and Discussions III

Re: India-US relations: News and Discussions III

http://blogs.timesofindia.indiatimes.co ... with-care/
"Trump’s no ally of India, handle him with care"
Forget Trump’s breezy declarations of friendship to Modi. This means no more than his telling Nawaz Sharif in December that he was “a terrific guy”. Trump wants “friends” that do his bidding. Doormats are most welcome.
He is a raging bull, raging against his country’s relative decline. He will trample those in the way of his “America First” approach, including close historical allies like NATO and Japan. India is not important enough for him to target immediately. But, make no mistake, he will not spare India his neo-protectionist, neo-isolationist avatar. He is willing to scrap the liberal economic consensus that the US forged in the 20th century, helping it win the Cold War. This is going to hurt all those who gained from that liberal, globalising era, including India.

We need to worry about the US during DT term. In the next 4 or even eight years, we are not going to a direct threat to the US. We are still growing. We only need to grow at a study pace and keep required reforms made from time to time. In international affairs, we better keep aloof for some time without making any waves.

I wouldn't lay this on DT's elevation to presidency alone, but its not the first time an Indian American SDRE has been harassed by police

http://www.cbsnews.com/news/maryland-po ... on-status/

I wish this to happen to Uncle toms like Bobby Jindal, Nikky Haley, Fareed Zakariah, Dinesh D'Souza to name a few. Then will come down from pompous high horses a notch and really understand who they are.
LokeshC

Post by LokeshC »

Not the first time, it has happened to a lot of Indian Americans. But the first time it made news. It used to be ignored earlier. Why it made news is something for us to ponder.

DT will practice an even more virulent form of realpolitik that all American Presidents before him have done. Personal rapports such as the one that existed between Modi & Obama would have no place. It would be a cold, purely transactional relationship as that is how it appears to me. No Ashton Carter would be there to take the relationship deep.

LokeshC wrote:Not the first time, it has happened to a lot of Indian Americans. But the first time it made news. It used to be ignored earlier. Why it made news is something for us to ponder.
The precise case cited has some questions that need to be asked. Remember that the old gent walking in Alabama under the saintly rule of BO, was also accosted by polis because of "complaint by neighbor". What do Polis do if they get a call from friendly neighborhood KKK wimmens? They have to respond. They ask person walking, something. The rest of the situation is unstable, and if one doesn't understand what the polis asks, and polis don't understand what one responds, things can do downhill pretty fast. And if the polis are idiots...

Come 2 think of it, I too have had polis motorcycle go by, as we were out walking (I with backpack, which caused particular sensitivities in nbd after the Boston events) and they say something friendly/jocular. What if I reacted like "Why should I answer u?" instead of a grin and a wave? No one has stopped me and asked ID, true, that IS going a bit too far. But frankly, if one did, I would show my ID (which I usually have because I am paranoid). Once one neighborhood fat idiot's son (19-year-old as I learned later from the polis) apparently ran away from home leaving a note that he had gone and sought refuge in our house (address). First we got a phone call from the Mom, and blew that off as a crank call. 15 mins later someone bangs on front door. I go out and this fat slob is there, with a policeman. Policeman politely asked me if a kid had come in, I told him that no, only the 2 of us were at home. I think his partner had gone around the back to see if anyone was running out. Slob was asked to go back to his car. Yes, I could have escalated that quite a lot, but I just casually asked the young policeman, who seemed very embarrassed, what was going on - and that's when I learned that the "kid" was 19. I said: Maybe its time he left home, hey, I left home a lot younger than that! and the cop laughed, said yeah same here, and it's not the first time he's doing this. Of course I felt mad at the slob, but then I pitied both him and those in his sad home.

Not saying that's what happened in this case, and I am glad the lady did get her voice heard and her concerns aired, now all over the world. But maybe there's nothing new here.

Just noticed. I thought Bel Air was in CA! Its in MD, hence the Baltimore Sun report. Silly me. MD is full of Pakis, they're probably the ones who called Polis.

Most people in India may not realize this but the Police here have to follow certain protocols. I am sure the following scenario has happened in many homes:

SHQ was calling Delhi, the country code to India is 91, Delhi is 11. She forgot to dial 011 first, so ended up pressing 9111. Before she realized her mistake someone at the other end picked up and said 'Emergency Services how can we help you'. She hung up immediately realizing she had made a mistake. Then dialed the Delhi number correctly.

Well, within two minutes there was a banging at our front door, the cops had shown up. We realized what had happened and told them it was a mistake on our part as we were dialing India. The cops wouldn't take that for an answer and walked in, went around every room and even into our basement in case we were under duress and were being forced to make that statement.

Years ago my daughter who was 7 at the time was out in a mall with us, as we were sitting in the eating area, she wandered off to the payphone and for fun dialed 911 and said hello, but hung up as soon as she heard somebody ask questions. Within a minute the place was crawling with cops asking if a child had called 911. At that time we did not know it was our daughter who had done that, she told us later when we reached home.

There are plenty of stories of this sort I can relate. Overall in the more than thirty years abroad, my experience with cops has been very positive. Even when in the wrong (speeding, parked wrongly, making wrong turns, minor accidents), their attitude has been what you would want it to be.

Even in the South (Nevada), I was surprised by how polite the police were to us. And I am as SDRE as they come.

Having said that, there will always be bad apples.

Overall in the more than thirty years abroad, my experience with cops has been very positive. Even when in the wrong (speeding, parked wrongly, making wrong turns, minor accidents), their attitude has been what you would want it to be.
+108

In all my years in Oz I can echo the same experience (not 911) but random breath tests, parking etc. they were all,polite and the experience was pleasant.

Many w)o try the desi method of rationalising by contextualising (but but my stomach is upset, but but my granny is hungry, but but we will miss our flight, bUt but it's late for my lovely cute 2 year old or heh heh but but its my daughters marriage :mrgreen: :mrgreen: ) are the ones who land up in deep doo doo. And, I am as SDRE as they come.

If this the the standard for poor then there are no words to describe the behaviour of our SDRE police with SDRE's. Sometimes, we defend the indefensibles because they are our genetic relation[sic] :rotfl: :rotfl:

Info on Trump's draft proposal for technical workers:
https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles ... e-for-tech

by Primus
Most people in India may not realize this but the Police here have to follow certain protocols. I am sure the following scenario has happened in many homes:

SHQ was calling Delhi, the country code to India is 91, Delhi is 11. She forgot to dial 011 first, so ended up pressing 9111. Before she realized her mistake someone at the other end picked up and said 'Emergency Services how can we help you'. She hung up immediately realizing she had made a mistake. Then dialed the Delhi number correctly.

Well, within two minutes there was a banging at our front door, the cops had shown up. We realized what had happened and told them it was a mistake on our part as we were dialing India. The cops wouldn't take that for an answer and walked in, went around every room and even into our basement in case we were under duress and were being forced to make that statement.

Years ago my daughter who was 7 at the time was out in a mall with us, as we were sitting in the eating area, she wandered off to the payphone and for fun dialed 911 and said hello, but hung up as soon as she heard somebody ask questions. Within a minute the place was crawling with cops asking if a child had called 911. At that time we did not know it was our daughter who had done that, she told us later when we reached home.

There are plenty of stories of this sort I can relate. Overall in the more than thirty years abroad, my experience with cops has been very positive. Even when in the wrong (speeding, parked wrongly, making wrong turns, minor accidents), their attitude has been what you would want it to be.

Even in the South (Nevada), I was surprised by how polite the police were to us. And I am as SDRE as they come.

Having said that, there will always be bad apples.
Yep! some relatives who were staying at my house dialed 911 trying to call India and then hang up at 1:00 AM. Police came and went to each room (they did ask me for my permission). I didn't even knew at that time that someone has dialed 911 only next morning we figured it out.

One time I had 1 shot of whiskey and then ran out of alcohol. It was December 23rd and liquor stores were closed for Christmas break for 2 days. So I went to liquor store got alcohol and was driving back when I ran through a yellow-red light. Police stopped me and when I explained my story., he give me a choice that he will drop me home (and leave car/alcohol at some parking lot)., or get DUI. I off course parked car and went with him.

I have had many other positives with police.

I do know that police along the border areas in Florida, Texas, Arizona and California have right to ask people to show the citizenship/green card/etc papers for all people in any vehicle.

With E911, officers are able to get a fix on 911 call origination using GPS. Which means you can be approached and asked if you happen to be in the vicinity of someone who happened to dial 911, by mistake or for real.

Meanwhile...
Mock Donald Trump shooting gets Indian origin teacher in trouble

Again, note that is a comment from PACOM. And, India forms the geographic boundary for PACOM.

Mattis being from CENTCOM will always think in terms of working with Pakistan. So far Mattis has not projected a stance that is detrimental to India and I do expect that in the next few years. But I think the golden era of Carter will only be achieved via more effort than has been expended in the past 2/3 years. And PACOM will need to lead, which is what they are doing.

And the Indo-US "strategic" relationship will work very well only in this thin slice. PACOM.
Joint Chief do no act this way
The Def Sec will continue the same policy as the previous. the main challenge will be China and its proliferation to Pak
They have to work on the alliance on all sides

http://www.grandforksherald.com/news/4207600-police-bomb-threat-suspect-grand-forks-airport-was-headed-minneapolis
A bomb threat prompted officials to evacuate the Grand Forks International Airport early Saturday morning, Jan. 28.

Grand Forks officers responded at 5:14 a.m. to the airport after a traveler told a ticket agent there was a bomb in his bag, according to a news release. The suspect, who was taken into custody there without incident, was identified as Paraman Radhakishan, 53, of India.

Operations were suspended while the Grand Forks Regional Bomb Squad "evaluated the validity of the threat." Officers did not find a bomb or threatening devices and the airport resumed normal operations.

The Herald was unable to reach airport administration Saturday to confirm how many passengers and employees were at the terminal at the time of the incident.

It’s unclear why Radhakishan is accused of making the threat, though he was set to get on a flight from Grand Forks to Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport, according to police.

There was a Delta Airlines plane leaving Grand Forks at 5 a.m. for Minneapolis, and the next Delta plane was scheduled to leave for Minneapolis at 11:05 a.m., according to Delta’s website. An Allegiant Air plane also was set to leave the North Dakota airport at 10:42 a.m. flight for Orlando Sanford International Airport in Sanford, Fla.

Those flights left on time.

Radhakishan faces terrorizing charges and was booked at the Grand Forks Correctional Center.

Sushma Swaraj ‏@SushmaSwaraj 3h3 hours ago

I have asked for a report from Indian Ambassador in U.S. @IndianEmbassyUS.

http://indiatoday.intoday.in/story/vado ... 70479.html
According to local media reports, a traveler had informed a ticket agent of a bomb in Radhakishan's bag, and subsequently the Indian man from Vadodara was arrested.

No bombs or threatening device were however recovered, and normal operations resumed at the airport. Police have not provided details as to what might have been the motive behind the bomb scare.

http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/I ... 113807.ece
Mr. Radhakrishnan then allegedly entered into an altercation with airlines staff, and was accused of threatening that there was a “bomb in his bag”, local newspapers reported. “Police say the leading theory behind what may have caused the suspect to make these threats is that he became disgruntled with airport staff, but they say regardless of the reason, any threat of this nature at an airport is taken seriously,” Grand Forks police spokesperson Jay Middleton said.

EO around the corner for reducing H1-Bs. Wonder what people who go for masters to US will do now.

From Bloomberg:
Trump’s Next Immigration Move to Hit Closer to Home for Tech
After the new president banned refugees and travelers from seven predominantly Muslim countries, Google, Facebook, Salesforce, Microsoft and others railed against the move, saying it violated the country’s principles and risked disrupting its engine of innovation. Trump’s next steps could strike even closer to home: His administration has drafted an executive order aimed at overhauling the work-visa programs technology companies depend on to hire tens of thousands of employees each year.

If implemented, the reforms could shift the way American companies like Microsoft Corp., Amazon.com Inc. and Apple Inc. recruit talent and force wholesale changes at Indian companies such as Infosys Ltd. and Wipro Ltd. Businesses would have to try to hire American first and if they recruit foreign workers, priority would be given to the most highly paid.
Basically, instead of picking H1Bs from a random list, the plan is to pick them from highest-to-lowest salary order, thereby stopping some of the worst abuses of the program. Cognizant's stock took a small dive after the news was released, the next few months will be interesting for TCS, Wipro, Cognizant and Co.

in my H1 days (98-04) the big outsourcing firms had not cornered and gamed the system by filing 1000s of applications. at present product cos there are crowded out of hiring h1 though over the years they have always continued or wanted to hire at the same rate like low 100s per annum. main players then were the big mncs vs desi mom n pop bodyshops. the indian cos had 20k staff each. if they hire from contractors who have h1 onsite and available its not much of saving as they have to pay market rate as well. there is also much more local engg grads compared to my era.

so Acme inc who pays 120+esop to fresh h1 ms grad is getting crowded out by someone who grudgingly gives 75 for the same area. not fair. sad - and has to hire the guy as a contractor paying 150 to outsourcer who pockets the 75 profit - not fair. sad :(

the people camped in the visa mill "universities" will be brutally hit by this.
but their game was anyway far removed from original intent of the h1 program.
some other new promised land has to be found for that set of people.

this gig is surely going to be over soon enough.
komal

Post by komal »

This whole debate borders on insanity.

Hiring a few hundred thousand or even a few million foreign tech workers has probably adds hundreds of billions of dollars annually to the U. S. economy.

If they can't hire in USA, tech companies will hire and relocate the staff elsewhere -- Ireland, Dubai, Singapore, Chennai, etc. where they will be welcomed. And the value will still go to the U. S. economy. The direct economic boost from those jobs will go to the host country.

komal wrote:This whole debate borders on insanity.

Hiring a few hundred thousand or even a few million foreign tech workers has probably adds hundreds of billions of dollars annually to the U. S. economy.

If they can't hire in USA, tech companies will hire and relocate the staff elsewhere -- Ireland, Dubai, Singapore, Chennai, etc. where they will be welcomed. And the value will still go to the U. S. economy. The direct economic boost from those jobs will go to the host country.
Most tech companies are tax cheats that US gov can catch them if it wants to use sticks. As long as they are working for US or US value add, US gov is in firm control. Working for mentioned host countries' value add will not fetch money to have economic boost.

DT may understand that. Most of this is posturing, and end product may be not one he is saying or doing now. From what I read about him ( yes I have his "deal" book.) he always takes maximum position at the start of the negotiation. Is it what he is doing now? I am not sure. But I think that is what he is doing. Maybe H1 visas may be allowed to Indians, and in return, we need to buy something from the US or something like that.
komal

Post by komal »

ShyamSP wrote:

Most tech companies are tax cheats that US gov can catch them if it wants to use sticks. As long as they are working for US or US value add, US gov is in firm control. Working for mentioned host countries' value add will not fetch money to have economic boost.
If the workers are in USA -- USA can tax income. If the workers are in Ireland, there is no way USA can tax their income.

And we have a President who boasts about not paying taxes.

Singha wrote:in my H1 days (98-04) the big outsourcing firms had not cornered and gamed the system by filing 1000s of applications. at present product cos there are crowded out of hiring h1 though over the years they have always continued or wanted to hire at the same rate like low 100s per annum. main players then were the big mncs vs desi mom n pop bodyshops. the indian cos had 20k staff each. if they hire from contractors who have h1 onsite and available its not much of saving as they have to pay market rate as well. there is also much more local engg grads compared to my era.

so Acme inc who pays 120+esop to fresh h1 ms grad is getting crowded out by someone who grudgingly gives 75 for the same area. not fair. sad - and has to hire the guy as a contractor paying 150 to outsourcer who pockets the 75 profit - not fair. sad :(
Who pays 120+ for a fresh grad? They would be lucky to get 75k.

It has been a lottery system for many years now and only one application per person or you will be disqualified. There has been constant pressure on the companies to get their act together. Earlier B1s and L1s were being exploited too but don't know the situation now.

I don't see how product companies are crowded out. They don't hire fresh grads now a days. And the h1-b quota applies only to first time applicants. Once you got an H1 approved, any further h1s applications do not count towards the yearly quota. If the product companies want to hire, they can always hire people who already have h1s rather than freshers.

Now no body hires fresh grads and that is the reason the body shops survive as they are the only resort to get a H1. Even here there is a lot of scrutiny depending on if it is a boom or bust. If there is a boom, nobody bothers. If there are layoffs, then there will be noises on how h1s are stealing IT jobs and there are raids on the body shoppers.

If they reduce the OPT period too along with the h1s, any body who is not receiving financial aid, especially girls who don't work odd jobs but pay lakhs of rupees from their pocket will stop coming to the US for study.

I just hope all this highest salary first will not suck out the good and experienced candidates and leave the mediocre engineers for India.

Out of the 85000 h1s annually, only half are so are IT. So much noise for a paltry 40000 jobs. More than that many American software engineers must be retiring every year.
Last edited by hanumadu on 31 Jan 2017 12:37, edited 1 time in total.
komal

Post by komal »

Yagnasri wrote:DT may understand that. Most of this is posturing, and end product may be not one he is saying or doing now. From what I read about him ( yes I have his "deal" book.) he always takes maximum position at the start of the negotiation. Is it what he is doing now? I am not sure. But I think that is what he is doing. Maybe H1 visas may be allowed to Indians, and in return, we need to buy something from the US or something like that.
H1 visas benefit the USA more than they benefit India, China, etc. People want to come to the USA to work and live. For that benefit, foreign workers will do work that Americans will not (I am talking about debugging C++ code written in 1995, not picking grapes)

komal wrote:
ShyamSP wrote:
If the workers are in USA -- USA can tax income. If the workers are in Ireland, there is no way USA can tax their income.

And we have a President who boasts about not paying taxes.
Ability to sell workers' output at premium will not be there. Good luck if you can make product for India and fetch same price and income.

Singha wrote:the people camped in the visa mill "universities" will be brutally hit by this.

Common Singha, what do you have against them? Let the US not give them visa's if they don't want them. They are trying to make a living like every body else. The thing is even they get hired and do their job. They wouldn't get hired if there were Americans to do their job. That's the bottom line.

Its a net loss for the US if jobs move over seas, but DT is a man of action. :lol:
And Bannon sir doesn't care about the economy. A country is not just an economy, it is white Christians.
Last edited by hanumadu on 31 Jan 2017 12:53, edited 1 time in total.

komal wrote:
Yagnasri wrote:DT may understand that. Most of this is posturing, and end product may be not one he is saying or doing now. From what I read about him ( yes I have his "deal" book.) he always takes maximum position at the start of the negotiation. Is it what he is doing now? I am not sure. But I think that is what he is doing. Maybe H1 visas may be allowed to Indians, and in return, we need to buy something from the US or something like that.
H1 visas benefit the USA more than they benefit India, China, etc. People want to come to the USA to work and live. For that benefit, foreign workers will do work that Americans will not (I am talking about debugging C++ code written in 1995, not picking grapes)
Yep, there is always some study or the other that show h1bs and even outsourcing bring net benefit to US.

hanumadu wrote:
Singha wrote:the people camped in the visa mill "universities" will be brutally hit by this.

Common Singha, what do you have against them? Let the US not give them visa's if they don't want them. They are trying to make a living like every body else. The thing is even they get hired and do their job. They wouldn't get hired if there were Americans to do their job. That's the bottom line.
I see these visa mills as "You want our finest grade engineers, you will have to take our not so fine ones too"

Anyway there must be only some 60-70 universities which maintain the standard and which probably take 100 foreign students each year. That's not even 10,000 per year for the whole country. And the rest just want foreign master students for their money. They have diluted their syllabus just to be able to admit 200-300 students every year. It doesn't matter if some one gets a degree in the visa mills or these big universities but are still visa mills anyway. They are all going to the same body shop. No company is coming to the campus to hire them.

hanumadu wrote: Who pays 120+ for a fresh grad? They would be lucky to get 75k.
In people's republic of california, you can get 120+ at a reputed big or medium sized co, its not uncommon.

The H1 may help US economy as a whole but will it help in job creation in the US? We do not know. Perception is that it is stealing gora people jobs. It may or may not be true. For the political purpose, perception is crucial. So DT has to attack H1 based on that reason and not based on the sound economic logic that it helps US economy.

Raja Bose wrote:
hanumadu wrote: Who pays 120+ for a fresh grad? They would be lucky to get 75k.
In people's republic of california, you can get 120+ at a reputed big or medium sized co, its not uncommon.
Are we talking about masters? And outside a top 20 college?
asgkhan

Post by asgkhan »

I see opportunity of massive hiring in desh because of this H1B policy. Hopefully not in Bangalore !!

^ :rotfl: amen to that sentiment birader, but you know and I know whats the reality - 80% of new itvity hiring is in blr onlee.

I am thinking of digging a secret Nusrat type tunnel from my home to a empty patch near my office..and install a small rail flatcar within for my commute. a good party place to hangout for future brf meetups unless SHQs launch drones to surveil the area and use ground penetrating radar before letting in swarms of black rats at both ends to maul us cowering mujaheeds.

for people with huge loans currently studying in 2nd tier US univs its a bleak situation, not funny for sure.
Marten
Location: Engaging Communists, Uber-Socialists, Maoists, and other pro-poverty groups in fruitful dialog.

Post by Marten »

Basically more work will be outsourced if hired H1 resources cannot be hired locally! DT has done what he promised his electorate.