Who are you to decide what people should or shouldn't compete in? The blue film industry is terrible. All people are watching these days is white people pumped with silicone and restylane speaking in english and taking the sexual positions we came up with, and re-marketing it back to us.
NaMo has campaigned very extensively on "Pink revolution" of the Dynasty and his personal opposition to it...not sure how this is OT for the thread.
So why are you batting so much for beef ??? India isn't a nation of beef eaters and neither does it any good to us by being top beef exporter nation which goes against our culture as well. People can very well add beef to there menu in a country where consuming beef doesn't goes against there culture and people here dying to eat beef can very well move to such places but stop forcing beef eating on India due to some misplaced sense of secularism or modernity. Any such attempt will be resisted and Modi has already spoken against it so I guess you need to find another candidate to vote for.RoyG wrote:Who is forcing anything on anyone wrt beef? All I'm saying is if people want to add beef to their menu alongside chicken, fish, goat, etc why stop them? As for ***** we have temples engraved with ***** scenes and kama sutra came from our civilization. Everyone watches ***** in India these days. Why let them keep watching western stuff?
Please get a new example other than the standard jholawala Khajuraho/kamasutra to support p0rn industry in India. Having knowledge about stuff and writing/sculpting about that doesn't mean that our ancestors foresaw a thriving p0rn industry in India or they were involved in such thing at that time. Also I haven't said anywhere that people should be stopped from watching it so you can stop mutilating my responses.
+1Arjun wrote:NaMo has campaigned very extensively on "Pink revolution" of the Dynasty and his personal opposition to it...not sure how this is OT for the thread.
Do you see me in a deciding position?!RoyG wrote:Who are you to decide what people should or shouldn't compete in? The blue film industry is terrible. All people are watching these days is white people pumped with silicone and restylane speaking in english and taking the sexual positions we came up with, and re-marketing it back to us.

Archan, I think there has to be a thread generic enough to cover the social issues, which may or may not impact the elections. LGBT thread can be made more encompassing. JMT.archan wrote: Pleae take this OT stuff out of here . Both the GE thread and this is getting too much OT these days.
You said "do we need to compete in everything?" so you do have a problem with it. I could care less if its personal. However, if you decide to legislate and say ***** production or viewing should be banned in the country then, yes I do disagree.RajeshA wrote:Do you see me in a deciding position?!RoyG wrote:Who are you to decide what people should or shouldn't compete in? The blue film industry is terrible. All people are watching these days is white people pumped with silicone and restylane speaking in english and taking the sexual positions we came up with, and re-marketing it back to us.
Personally, I'm not advocating or discouraging consumption of beef. Who said anything about secularism and modernity? I subscribe to neither. Stop propping up these bogus arguments. All I'm saying is if someone wants to eat it let them. What makes the cow more special than any other animal? Where is the proof that cow is considered sacred throughout Indian history? They've been sacrificed and even eaten.Sagar G wrote:So why are you batting so much for beef ??? India isn't a nation of beef eaters and neither does it any good to us by being top beef exporter nation which goes against our culture as well. People can very well add beef to there menu in a country where consuming beef doesn't goes against there culture and people here dying to eat beef can very well move to such places but stop forcing beef eating on India due to some misplaced sense of secularism or modernity. Any such attempt will be resisted and Modi has already spoken against it so I guess you need to find another candidate to vote for.RoyG wrote:Who is forcing anything on anyone wrt beef? All I'm saying is if people want to add beef to their menu alongside chicken, fish, goat, etc why stop them? As for ***** we have temples engraved with ***** scenes and kama sutra came from our civilization. Everyone watches ***** in India these days. Why let them keep watching western stuff?
Please get a new example other than the standard jholawala Khajuraho/kamasutra to support p0rn industry in India. Having knowledge about stuff and writing/sculpting about that doesn't mean that our ancestors foresaw a thriving p0rn industry in India or they were involved in such thing at that time. Also I haven't said anywhere that people should be stopped from watching it so you can stop mutilating my responses.
By bringing up the kama sutra and sculptures, I was merely trying to show that we've always been open to sexuality. Your climb down is obvious. On the one hand you draw parallels between the ***** industry and legalizing beef (the latter which you have a problem with) and then you you claim that I'm mutilating your response because I claimed that people should be able to engage in ***** production if they want to.The p0rn industry also makes a lot of money and is recession proof as well are you going to advocate that for India as well ???
So we disagree then!RoyG wrote:RoyG wrote:Who are you to decide what people should or shouldn't compete in? The blue film industry is terrible. All people are watching these days is white people pumped with silicone and restylane speaking in english and taking the sexual positions we came up with, and re-marketing it back to us.You said "do we need to compete in everything?" so you do have a problem with it. I could care less if its personal. However, if you decide to legislate and say ***** production or viewing should be banned in the country then, yes I do disagree.RajeshA wrote:Do you see me in a deciding position?!
I don't deny the need for p0rrn! I don't deny the need for pr0stitution!
But I would prefer that other nationalities other than Indians cater to this demand among Indians because that is how a nation rises up in the food chain of national prestige!
You have a different opinion, so have it! Since I presume none of us are going to be weighing in on this issue too much in the national discourse, I think we both can live with some difference of opinion.
Anyway a bit OT here.
Whats your take on the reception AK might get, assuming INC supports him 100%? Will middle class/youth be swayed even partially? My assumption is Modi is too popular.. but would like your take, if you're from there.kapilrdave wrote:Yeah. Come to GJ you cockroach kejri
RoyG and RajeshA, kindly stop that before unpleasant steps are taken. Thanks.

Rajeshji,
Okay. Agree to disagree. In the grand scheme of things the economy and national security are really what is going to make a difference to maintaining and projecting our dharmic influence. Everything else can take a back seat for now. Back to kicking the dynasty out.
One more beef post and the poster will get a warning. Archan has already asked twice on this page and you all dont get it? He is being kinder and gentler admin. Others will be forced to take it up.
OT but I was in quasi-BD. BD support if you will, more pre-sales. The dominant groups, in IL proper are the ones close to NM. In my subsidiary, they were all Tamils scratching each others' back all the time.Karan M wrote:C, thanks. Looks like the info I got was not a one off but a real issue. The guy I spoke to was in dev/testing/fixing and was again put back in something akin to quasi-testing. Basically BI platform and fixing it/customizing it. So basically matches your notes.
Were you in BD?
When you say regionalism - is it like every group for itself (depending on who is leading) or is it like 1 group dominant?
Sad to hear this though - no schadenfreude, an Indian firm with resources, yet meandering around ...
We all used to think that most admired place/oil place were full of worker bees, 24/7 busy. From what I hear now, those are the lucky ones. Rest are on bench and end up wasting time and learning little.
On December 8, when the results finally came in for Chhattisgarh I was overjoyed. If it had gone to Ajit Jogi, it would have given the Naxalites a free run along the whole Central-Eastern belt, not to speak of how many more tribals would have received a bible.
But there was also news of AAP winning 28 seats in Delhi, and that was a downer.
Today is again a day of victory for TsuNaMo. Kejriwal has today been neutralized, put out of operations.
1) Anna Hazare has made a clean cut with him, not on the virtues of electoral politics, but on the issue of Lokpal. So Anna Hazare is today a force not aligned with Arvind Kejriwal.
2) It has become clear that NaMo-friendly forces are strongly aligned with Anna Hazare, people like Kiran Bedi and General VK Singh. That means Anna Hazare would not be misused by anti-national forces to push their own agenda in India.
3) Kejriwal's tyres have today been punctured. Anna has given his approval to the Lokpal Bill being legislated upon in Parliament. That means Anna has taken away the Lokpal initiative from Arvind Kejriwal. Arvind Kejriwal does not own the issue any more. The version he is fighting for is now simply an AAP version, and not Anna's version. Arvind Kejriwal cannot claim now to be fighting for Anna's vision through political means.
Once the Lokpal Bill passes Parliament, to which BJP has already given its fullest approval and are willing to vote on it even without a discussion, then Lokpal is finished as an issue. Arvind Kejriwal can keep on telling people that his version is much better and all, but it has no value. People are not going to worry about the finer points and finer differences between the versions.
Without the Lokpal as an issue, Kejriwal has little left other than over the top populist measures like on free water and electricity. BJP already has done some campaigning on these issues albeit with different proposals.
So Arvind Kejriwal has nothing left to fight on!
4) If AAP forms a government in Delhi with the help of Congress MLAs, then the shine is also gone. Once the beauty decides to marry and settle down, her appeal to her lovers takes a deep dive. Basically then NaMo can go after AAP just the way he does with SP and BSP which provide support to UPA at the center. Then they too would have to bear the blunt of NaMo's Mantra say on price rise among other things, simply by association with Congress. So going along with Congress support is really a kiss of death of the various parties in India, except where Muslim votebanks are concerned.
If AAP does not form a government in Delhi, then too it would find itself in a quandary. Then it is just a protest party unable and unwilling to provide governance. It becomes a Rona Dhona Party (RDP). All the voters who voted for AAP based on some AAP promises would feel betrayed. They are interested only on whether AAP delivers if given the chance. The chance has been given - unconditional support by Delhi Congress. And yet AAP hesitates!
Their rhetoric on not wanting to either give support to BJP or Congress nor willing to take support from BJP or Congress citing some high moral horse is not going to work. An AAP told me on twitter, that they are against post-poll alliances and only agree to pre-poll alliances. I told him pre-poll alliances are for fighting elections. Post-poll alliances are for forming governments. With his stand, he is just claiming that all the governments which were formed in India and in the states based on post-poll negotiations should not have been formed and India should not have been provided any leadership or governance at all! This is a weird suggestion and shows a naivety.
If there are reelections, neither are the voters going to give AAP votes because of any Lokpal issue, nor will they get votes due to any promises they make to improve the lives of the people. Perhaps more importantly as Delhi elections would be held together with Lok Sabha elections, all right thinking voters would completely reject a party fighting against NaMo. The only voters who are going to vote for AAP in reelections are those who really are anti-anything-Hindu. It also probably means number of AAP seats are going to fall down rapidly.
Delhites were mad at Sheila Dixit's government and wanted to shunt it out. This they have achieved either by voting AAP or voting for BJP. Now the anger would have subsided a bit. Now they would be voting not against some platform but in fact in favor of governance and development and for that they would most likely embrace the message from NaMo and vote for BJP.
AAP is simply not a virgin anymore and thus less attractive proposition. Some in Bangalore may still be smitten by AAP but once they hear about how AAP implodes in Delhi they too may think differently.
Kejriwal's best day lies behind him rather than before him. Today is one of his worst days!
But there was also news of AAP winning 28 seats in Delhi, and that was a downer.
Today is again a day of victory for TsuNaMo. Kejriwal has today been neutralized, put out of operations.
1) Anna Hazare has made a clean cut with him, not on the virtues of electoral politics, but on the issue of Lokpal. So Anna Hazare is today a force not aligned with Arvind Kejriwal.
2) It has become clear that NaMo-friendly forces are strongly aligned with Anna Hazare, people like Kiran Bedi and General VK Singh. That means Anna Hazare would not be misused by anti-national forces to push their own agenda in India.
3) Kejriwal's tyres have today been punctured. Anna has given his approval to the Lokpal Bill being legislated upon in Parliament. That means Anna has taken away the Lokpal initiative from Arvind Kejriwal. Arvind Kejriwal does not own the issue any more. The version he is fighting for is now simply an AAP version, and not Anna's version. Arvind Kejriwal cannot claim now to be fighting for Anna's vision through political means.
Once the Lokpal Bill passes Parliament, to which BJP has already given its fullest approval and are willing to vote on it even without a discussion, then Lokpal is finished as an issue. Arvind Kejriwal can keep on telling people that his version is much better and all, but it has no value. People are not going to worry about the finer points and finer differences between the versions.
Without the Lokpal as an issue, Kejriwal has little left other than over the top populist measures like on free water and electricity. BJP already has done some campaigning on these issues albeit with different proposals.
So Arvind Kejriwal has nothing left to fight on!
4) If AAP forms a government in Delhi with the help of Congress MLAs, then the shine is also gone. Once the beauty decides to marry and settle down, her appeal to her lovers takes a deep dive. Basically then NaMo can go after AAP just the way he does with SP and BSP which provide support to UPA at the center. Then they too would have to bear the blunt of NaMo's Mantra say on price rise among other things, simply by association with Congress. So going along with Congress support is really a kiss of death of the various parties in India, except where Muslim votebanks are concerned.
If AAP does not form a government in Delhi, then too it would find itself in a quandary. Then it is just a protest party unable and unwilling to provide governance. It becomes a Rona Dhona Party (RDP). All the voters who voted for AAP based on some AAP promises would feel betrayed. They are interested only on whether AAP delivers if given the chance. The chance has been given - unconditional support by Delhi Congress. And yet AAP hesitates!
Their rhetoric on not wanting to either give support to BJP or Congress nor willing to take support from BJP or Congress citing some high moral horse is not going to work. An AAP told me on twitter, that they are against post-poll alliances and only agree to pre-poll alliances. I told him pre-poll alliances are for fighting elections. Post-poll alliances are for forming governments. With his stand, he is just claiming that all the governments which were formed in India and in the states based on post-poll negotiations should not have been formed and India should not have been provided any leadership or governance at all! This is a weird suggestion and shows a naivety.
If there are reelections, neither are the voters going to give AAP votes because of any Lokpal issue, nor will they get votes due to any promises they make to improve the lives of the people. Perhaps more importantly as Delhi elections would be held together with Lok Sabha elections, all right thinking voters would completely reject a party fighting against NaMo. The only voters who are going to vote for AAP in reelections are those who really are anti-anything-Hindu. It also probably means number of AAP seats are going to fall down rapidly.
Delhites were mad at Sheila Dixit's government and wanted to shunt it out. This they have achieved either by voting AAP or voting for BJP. Now the anger would have subsided a bit. Now they would be voting not against some platform but in fact in favor of governance and development and for that they would most likely embrace the message from NaMo and vote for BJP.
AAP is simply not a virgin anymore and thus less attractive proposition. Some in Bangalore may still be smitten by AAP but once they hear about how AAP implodes in Delhi they too may think differently.
Kejriwal's best day lies behind him rather than before him. Today is one of his worst days!
Mods - please lemme know if this is against BRF policy, and I will remove it.
Folks,
How many of you are planning to campaign for the BJP this time? Physically, I mean, not virtually on the net, which many of us are already doing. Myself, I am planning to return to India in March-April this year (I am owed some leave by my university) and will be campaigning for the BJP, most likely in both Karnataka and Tamil Nadu (Kannada and Tamil are two languages that I am familiar with and also, I have family in both states with whom I can stay while campaigning). .
Folks,
How many of you are planning to campaign for the BJP this time? Physically, I mean, not virtually on the net, which many of us are already doing. Myself, I am planning to return to India in March-April this year (I am owed some leave by my university) and will be campaigning for the BJP, most likely in both Karnataka and Tamil Nadu (Kannada and Tamil are two languages that I am familiar with and also, I have family in both states with whom I can stay while campaigning). .
^^ Moi will volunteer. Have registered with Indian272 volunteer mission. Will be around and available in bhagyanagaram on part-time basis for March to mid-april...
Looking fwd tot he run for unity thing... saw telugu ads in local channels featuring NM himself up front and centre... they're going all out on this one far from the blinkered eyes of dilli ingiss media. Nice.
Agree with this.Altair wrote:Forget city populations voting for NN. Infosysians will launch a mass campaign in social media which will bury him for good. When the time comes we will launch a vicious campaign on his role during Operation:Parakram. He will be finished.
A good buddy from school was in Mysore campus.. He wont spare an opportunity to get at these guys.. Nilekani, and other infosys guys.. I wont be surprised if he takes time of to work against these guys..
From the horse's mouth itself...
Chidambaram unsure of 'solid majority' in Parliament after 2014 polls
Finance Minister P Chidambaram said on Saturday thats he is not sure of a ‘solid majority in the Parliament’ after the general elections after the Congress suffered bruising defeats in polls in four out of five states recently.
Chidambaram was speaking in a panel discussion at 20th anniversary of National Stock Exchange (NSE) here.
“I am not sure that elections will throw up government of solid majority in the Parliament. But if it does, then that could be a turning point to get over our weakness,” said Chidambaram.
The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), was the clear winner in three big states – Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan that went to the polls.
Polls in Delhi ended up with a split result.
Meanwhile the Finance Minister also expressed his worries over constrains faced by the capital market, one of which being the low level of retail participation.
“The capital markets still face various constraints which need to be addressed urgently,” Chidambaram added.
Chidambaram praised the efforts of the NSE to win back investor confidence but said still more needs to be done.
“It is, therefore, important that all our institutions maintain the highest ethics and highest standards of probity.An ethics deficit can bring down the entire financial system as we have seen in the past,” said Chidambaram.
After 20 years, NSE has been successful in reforming the Indian securities market and in bringing unparalleled transparency, efficiency and market integrity giving stiff competition to others like Bombay Stock Exchange (BSE) and MCX Stock Exchange Limited.
Meanwhile the much derided (amateur?) psephologist sri @albatrossinfo of twitter goes a wee bit mainstream by featuring in an ET blog...
Are the numbers looking better for Modi now?
Interesting stuff, read in full, no point pasting excerpts for this one.
Are the numbers looking better for Modi now?
Interesting stuff, read in full, no point pasting excerpts for this one.
I have signed up. Will me in hkbd region of Karnataka. It would be nice to have BR folks work together during the campaign. Am lucky am off for most of the next year except when have to travel for weeks to khanland for work..
Chidambaram talking of ethics! Hai Ram!!!
I think he has a wig. Hair Transplant can do wonders, but it has its limits, he now almost has a full head.archan wrote:Aaj Tak is featuring this story. Apparently this happened through Varun Gandhi. As a side note, did he get hair implant? his head looks full of hair!
News indicates he might be reluctant to take up the offer though.
"Anna and Gen VK Singh giving left and right to AAPtards !!"

i think there is only one slip between the lip and the first aap sip... their aam will soon turn to aapil.
Any news on the run for unity being organized today?

Cut out the paid media middlemen and follow @Runfor_unity on teeter directly.

There are two types of 'modern' - the modern 'business'-oriented type and the 'modern' liberal arts-type. At the risk of over-generalization, I would say that the former is majorly into Modi bigtime...the latter majorly against Modi.saravana wrote:It is not a binary that "modern" people look down on BJP and "traditional" people vote for BJP. This is a bit of caricature like Manoj Kumar movies. Going by the posts here, the looking down happens from both sides, if at all. If the beer swilling guy looks down on BJP, BJP looks down the guy who will probably support the party. It needs to be a big tent.
As an aside, there's also the academic STEM type - who is neither 'business' nor 'liberal arts'....My guess is they are also generally pro-Modi - but inputs from folks who are more attuned to that set would be welcome.
^ +1. Well put. Alum networks online from my STEM days in undergrad and yumbeeyay days in grad school shows a silent NM wave with a smaller but far more vocal AAP section. The abrahamics are strongly anti-NM though, almost without exception.
Unbelievable that this isn't getting more attention in MSM...actually i take that back...its not. This event is such a good idea.Hari Seldon wrote:Any news on the run for unity being organized today?
Most admired co founder slowly onto NaMo bandwagon
Modi should be allowed to show sense of contrition: Narayan Murthy
Infosys chief NR Narayana Murthy today said that Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi should be allowed to show a "sense of contrition" and then move on as otherwise the debate on him in the context of the post-Godhra riots would be unending. "When it came to the discussion of a certain somebody from a certain party, I said, look, the reality of the matter is as long as we accept that we did something that was not right, as long as we are willing to show a sense of contrition, we'll have to move on.
Otherwise we will argue on this till the fire freezes," he said in a discussion at the NDTV Solutions summit here. Narayana Murthy. Reuters Narayana Murthy. Reuters Murthy did not name Modi or referred to the Gujarat riots.
When asked if he was referring to BJP's prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi, he nodded in agreement. One of the most noted leaders from the IT sector in the country, Murthy said if "we fail to do this", such an issue will be debated time and again. "Let's also remember one thing that the courts have not indicted the gentleman. The courts have not passed any strictures, any judgement and therefore the best we can do at this point of time is to accept a sense of contrition from the individual and then move on. Because, otherwise we can go on with this time and again for the next 100 years," he added. Murthy said: "While, I am fully committed to secular democracy as the fundamental corner stone of India for ages to come, I only said that we are all human beings. God is not finished with us. Therefore let us give an opportunity to the individual to show his sense of contrition and then move on."
It is a surprise that runforunity has such a traction in all cities. It is trending in the top.
^^ Arjun, The apartment complex where I live is fairly big. Me and group of guys decided to informally campaign for NaMo a while back. To begin with we targeted people whom we casually know. It was still dicey affair since people don't want to mix politics with acquaintance. Going by that experience I would mostly agree with your characterisation. Guys in their 30s and above and including senior citizens are mostly fine with NaMo. Women are a mixed bag. I think it could be because they may have a liberal arts background. We didnt want to involve kids but some kids in college spoke up when we were talking to their parents and disappointingly it is like hitting a brick wall.
The 30s and above guys are mostly STEM and "modern". And these people can influence decisions in their family. They seem like socially liberal and want good future for their kids. NaMo seem to satisfy their thirst for development and prosperity. But not the social part. We didn't pursue it either because what can we say?
There is a bit of anxiety in girls and women about the moral policing part. They can't differentiate between BJP and other parts of Sangh parivar and fake goons like Mutalik. It is a reality. Wishing away is not going to help.
The students and above are a lost cause now. Possibly they didn't see the glory of pre-liberalisation India so that can be forgiven. But I don't think BJP currently worries about them nor they worry about BJP as an alternative.
Take it with a bucket of salt since this is an urban area and mostly socially homogenous. I can't extrapolate to wider city, let alone the country.
The 30s and above guys are mostly STEM and "modern". And these people can influence decisions in their family. They seem like socially liberal and want good future for their kids. NaMo seem to satisfy their thirst for development and prosperity. But not the social part. We didn't pursue it either because what can we say?
There is a bit of anxiety in girls and women about the moral policing part. They can't differentiate between BJP and other parts of Sangh parivar and fake goons like Mutalik. It is a reality. Wishing away is not going to help.
The students and above are a lost cause now. Possibly they didn't see the glory of pre-liberalisation India so that can be forgiven. But I don't think BJP currently worries about them nor they worry about BJP as an alternative.
Take it with a bucket of salt since this is an urban area and mostly socially homogenous. I can't extrapolate to wider city, let alone the country.
^^^Yes muppala garu. Surprising and heartening too. Lotsa school principals were approached and am sure the draconian provisions in the UPA's RTE might have convinced some to lend full support onlee...
runforunity pics coming up...
From Mumbai...

From Hyd... where interestingly sri VVS also participated enthusiastically

From bengaluru...

LKA doing his bit at the sabarmati riverfront in Amdavad (guess this means LKA will fight again from the amdavad LS seat, hain ji?)
Nirmala garu in chennai holding impromptu presser

Sizeable NE contingent was there at the delhi run apparently

And this from amaar kolkata... heck I know which street this is...

And this from... hold your breath... Hong Kong...

500+ muslims joined the run in manipur

And so on and so forth...
runforunity pics coming up...
From Mumbai...

From Hyd... where interestingly sri VVS also participated enthusiastically

From bengaluru...

LKA doing his bit at the sabarmati riverfront in Amdavad (guess this means LKA will fight again from the amdavad LS seat, hain ji?)

Nirmala garu in chennai holding impromptu presser

Sizeable NE contingent was there at the delhi run apparently

And this from amaar kolkata... heck I know which street this is...

And this from... hold your breath... Hong Kong...

500+ muslims joined the run in manipur

And so on and so forth...
This from Nagpur...
School kids are well represented too. Time the romila thaparite brainwashing of our history as taught in schools get some pushback and the contribution of greats like sardar patel take centerstage...
In any case, can;t help but notice a few things...
1. All participants seem to have numbers assigned --> implies good arrangements fro registration etc were in place
2. hopefully that extends to good arrangements for path clearing and security as well
3. Hopefully teh registrations will be mined for potential volunteers and so on come GE2014
4. social media up at the forefront... folks taking pics and putting up on instagram and twitter --> traditional media sidestepped.

School kids are well represented too. Time the romila thaparite brainwashing of our history as taught in schools get some pushback and the contribution of greats like sardar patel take centerstage...
In any case, can;t help but notice a few things...
1. All participants seem to have numbers assigned --> implies good arrangements fro registration etc were in place
2. hopefully that extends to good arrangements for path clearing and security as well
3. Hopefully teh registrations will be mined for potential volunteers and so on come GE2014
4. social media up at the forefront... folks taking pics and putting up on instagram and twitter --> traditional media sidestepped.
MSM has almost blacked it out except for advt.Hari Seldon wrote:Any news on the run for unity being organized today?
God, so much happening in India! I wish I had been there to participate in one of the cities.
I would be very worried about the quality of our youth if NaMo is a lost cause among this set...and the fact that of all countries in the world, India's population is the most skewed towards the youth makes this doubly worrying. Seems to me though that NaMo's reachout to the youth will ultimately have effect.saravana wrote:The students and above are a lost cause now. Possibly they didn't see the glory of pre-liberalisation India so that can be forgiven. But I don't think BJP currently worries about them nor they worry about BJP as an alternative.
Possibly the youth may not have enough experience under their belt to analyze the alternatives. But if they have been given the privilege of exercising their franchise, it would be a disaster if this exercise of franchise is happening without adequate thought or understanding of reality.
Youth should typically be interested in one or more of the following:
a) Seeing India as a strong economy and a world-beater in Business
b) Seeing India as a world-beater in Science and Innovation
or c) more into Liberal Arts, sports and the like and uninterested in either (a) or (b).
If they are either in buckets (a) or (b), it would not be a tough sell to have them give credence to the views of leaders in each of these categories in India. Business leaders are most definitely for NaMo and that statistic is widely available in MSM...I wonder what the views of DRDO, scientific establishment leaders are - but my presumption is that the nationalist science leadership mostly root for NaMo. So (a) and (b) can be converted with rational arguments. If (c) is the dominant category - it is not good news for India as a country in any case. But that is not a lost cause by any means either. Icons from sports & liberal arts - like Ganguly, need to be roped in to openly articulate their stance.
Modi should think about introducing a civics course in secondary school that talks about the elements that need to be considered while exercising the right of franchise...