Indian ASAT Test

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Indian ASAT test

chetak wrote:haven't they forgotten motilal??

Idiots this #Mission Shakti is by DRDO.

Bart S wrote:Can the ASAT missile also be repurposed to work as an AWACS-killer?
You'll have many many many options for that, once Astra enters serial production and that team starts working on new stuff.

Bart S wrote:Can the ASAT missile also be repurposed to work as an AWACS-killer?
Hain ... Yeh kaisa sawaal hai?

they were trolled, deleted it and named DRDO in the second attempt.

jaisa pappu, vaisa pappu ka praja.

They got their tweets out of order. That one was supposed to be for next week after the PSLV launch. :)

srin wrote:One question: does this mean we have a credible midcourse intercept capability ?
Glad someone asked. I think this is the point of a 300km intercept. Didn't TSP close its airspace for an IRBM test last week?
But what launches the SDRE interceptor? Can it be launched by aircrat on CAP?

Re: Indian ASAT Test

This missile weighs 20-21 tons!

Indranil wrote:This missile weighs 20-21 tons!
Indranil ji, what is the significance of this test? Is this weapon a shield against Bakistan or China? What are the practical implications?

meanwhile, back at the ranch, in bengal, hawai chappals are all aflutter...........

did auntie want a baker's dozen worth of satellites pulverized??

so little understanding of technical and strategic matters affecting national security??

This particular chaiwallah, Modi, has very few equals, even in the international arena, forget having any equals in India, in his crystal clear understanding of how the matters political directly impact the security situation.

WB CM on #MissionShakti: It's a political announcement, scientists should have announced it, it's their credit. Only one satellite was destroyed, that wasn't necessary, it was lying there since long, it's the prerogative of scientists, when to do it. We will complain to the EC. pic.twitter.com/UV6CVyYIph

16:54 - 27 Mar 2019
Mamata Banerjee added that she would file a complaint with the Election Commission, alleging that this is a gross violation of the Model Code of Conduct for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections.

Meanwhile, in what could, unfortunately, unsettle the West Bengal chief minister, sources in the Election Commission has said that the government does not need any permission to announce matters related to national security even when the Model Code of Conduct is in place.

Mamata Banerjee is not the only one who has been thrown off balance since PM Modi announced that India had successfully tested its indigenously developed ASAT missiles.

Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav was first off the block with his tweet.

Meanwhile, several leftists also kept the ball rolling to downplay the monumental magnitude of the announcement along expected lines. Congress loyalists took a step ahead to credit Jawaharlal Nehru instead of the scientists and the current political establishment for the spectacular achievement. Even the Congress President Rahul Gandhi chose to deride Prime Minister Modi while congratulating DRDO.

However, while the Congress politicians and Durbaris have attempted to downplay the entire achievement and claim credit for themselves, the former DRDO chief during the UPA regime has credited Narendra Modi for the success.

He stated, “But there were elements of technology in those days which were missing. And in the last four years, I would like to give the credit to Honourable Prime Minister Modi for giving DRDO scientists the clearance to build those building blocks which were missing and realize the ASAT system. Because of that kind of clearance and push, the DRDO scientists have been able to integrate today a very potent ASAT missile which is in a position to intercept a Low Earth Orbit (LEO) satellite with high precision.”

It is indeed a huge achievement by DRDO and ISRO and a big statement. It is reflective of India’s growing stature in global politics under the current government that it could even dare to attempt such a thing.

Our scientists have been saying since 2010 that we have the requisite capabilities for developing ASAT missiles but clearly, it was the political will that was lacking.

With today’s successfull test if anti-satellite missile, India proudly becomes the 4th country after the USA, Russia and China to acquire the capability to take down satellites in space.

There goes that. You know, F-15s used to launch the Pegasus by zooming to high altitude (maybe 30KM?), which was also intended for something like this? Midcourse kill is IMO the biggest need, but requires being in the right place, and that can only be done using aircraft. How else can one react to a 30-second warning?

The significance of this test is posturing:
1. Demonstration of capability. In 2012, it was simulations. Today it is a complete product.
2. TD of our exo atmosphere intercept capability against ICBMs. You can see that this is called PDV MkII within DRDO.
3. Ability to make large composite motor casings. All our ICBMs are going to get much lighter, smaller and mobile. ICBMs of 10,000 -12,000 kms are a matter of 3-5 years away, if we want.
4. Of course, there is a political angle. The polls are upon us. The aam junta can't put 1+1 together when VK Saraswat says that we can do this if we take a booster from here and a nose from there. Here is jeeta-jagta saboot.

By the way, why stick with 'ji' for me. What have I done?

UB sir,

That F-15 strategy was more show than actual capability. Imagine keep at least one F-15 airborne with such a missile at all times during a war. And even if one succeeded in that, the detection would start the long human based chain of actions culminating in the F-15 accelerating with full AB with such a heavy load into launch attitude and altitude.

True midcourse would probably be an automated sequence of sat-based detection leading to auto-launch of a ground based ABMs. And of course there is the dazzle of the laser based intercept which nobody is near cracking yet.

I am just so happy with DRDOs missile capabilities. Basically, they have all the pieces now. In 3 years, they are going from project go ahead to first tests!!!

Well, I am really late to the party. But congrats to all who worked on this program. A great day for India!

Jai Hind! Jai Vigyan!
Rajiv Lather

Post by Rajiv Lather »

Is it going to be 1974 all over again ?

It was in 1974 that Dev Kant Barooah, then president of Indian National Congress coined the now infamous quote, "India is Indira, Indira is India". We know how that went for Indira Gandhi, from a star of 1971 to emergency in 1975 and stunning defeat in 1977.

When educated people cannot differentiate between the interests of the nation and those of a particular political party, and its leader; then obviously things are going downhill fast. When people who question those in power are branded traitors, trolls, stupid, disruptive then one is reminded of Pakistan, or Nazi Germany or fascist Italy or Stalinist Russia. When "freedom of speech" is considered some sort of burdensome evil, then everyone beware.

Truthseeker wrote:Remarkably all is quiet on international front. No reaction from anyone. Even the rabid neighbor is quiet
Please change your username to a human sounding one. If you need help, just ask.

Rajiv Lather wrote:Is it going to be 1974 all over again ?
No.
Rajiv Lather wrote: It was in 1974 that Dev Kant Barooah, then president of Indian National Congress coined the now infamous quote, "India is Indira, Indira is India". We know how that went for Indira Gandhi, from a star of 1971 to emergency in 1975 and stunning defeat in 1977.
Please condemn Congress for what they did.
Rajiv Lather wrote:When educated people cannot differentiate between the interests of the nation and those of a particular political party, and its leader; then obviously things are going downhill fast. When people who question those in power are branded traitors, trolls, stupid, disruptive then one is reminded of Pakistan, or Nazi Germany or fascist Italy or Stalinist Russia. When "freedom of speech" is considered some sort of burdensome evil, then everyone beware.

a. You think that you can distinguish the interests of the nation and those of a particular political party. Others disagree with you.
b. You are doing your own branding, no one needs to 'brand' you.
c. Has your check from Pakistan arrived yet? [please note, I am not calling you a Pakistani agent, I am only asking a question. Surely, you wont deny me that right..]

https://twitter.com/SJha1618/status/1110832249467887616 ----> So DRDO India has released this video simulation Mission Shakti, India's first anti-satellite (ASAT) test.

Burnol :lol:

https://twitter.com/SJha1618/status/1110980322601009152 ---> So, according to this Washington did dispatch a 'Cobra Ball' to monitor the test, eh?

https://twitter.com/SJha1618/status/1110832249467887616 ---> USAF RC-135S 62-4128 CHAOS45 departed Diego Garcia at 2330Z for a mission in the Bay of Bengal to monitor India's ASAT anti-satellite missile test. USAF KC-135Rs FRESH53 & 54 provided tanker support and returned to Diego Garcia.

https://twitter.com/SJha1618/status/1110862838803783682 ---> Make no mistake, India also has the ability to quickly develop co-orbital ASATs to neutralize satellites in high earth orbit. The Moon and Mars missions themselves demonstrate what India can do in that sphere, if it wants to.

It was in 1974 that Dev Kant Barooah, then president of Indian National Congress coined the now infamous quote, "India is Indira, Indira is India". We know how that went for Indira Gandhi, from a star of 1971 to emergency in 1975 and stunning defeat in 1977.

When educated people cannot differentiate between the interests of the nation and those of a particular political party, and its leader; then obviously things are going downhill fast. When people who question those in power are branded traitors, trolls, stupid, disruptive then one is reminded of Pakistan, or Nazi Germany or fascist Italy or Stalinist Russia. When "freedom of speech" is considered some sort of burdensome evil, then everyone beware.
It is easy to compare to Indira's Emergency or Nazi, but if you should also pay a little bit of attention to what "freedom of speech" earns you in the neighboring countries that are actively collaborating against us.

Freedom of speech is well in evidence in today's India. The challenge for the main opposition is the frequent bouts of foot-in-mouth disease that their leader has.

The Fundamental Right has been actively used by the award-waapsi gang and by many (dare I say) like you to belittle sacrifices of soldiers and common citizens at the hands of terrorists. At the same time the terrorists who are being referred with honour and attacks being called accidents.

Just like the princeling today, Indira didn't have the pulse of the nation before imposing Emergency and only cared for her own interests. Unfortunately for the dynasty, the nation has had enough.

https://twitter.com/SJha1618/status/1110810389355200512 ---> Understand the context in which this ASAT test has been conducted. It is no different from the NPT/CTBT noose that the incumbents attempted to put round India's neck in the lead up to 1998. A Space NPT has been in the offing & they were trying to parcel India with it.

https://twitter.com/SJha1618/status/1110811747642826753 ---> Today's ASAT test & subsequent HSTDV tests will ensure that India is front and center in the negotiations for a Space NPT, which if brought into play will see India have a status analogous to a nuclear weapons state in the nuclear-NPT.

https://twitter.com/SJha1618/status/1110811260440838144 ---> It is precisely to circumvent a space NPT trap that I had been advocating an Indian ASAT test. That has been accomplished today. Hypersonic demonstration tests are also in the offing. This time nobody is in a position to 'tell' India about what it can or cannot have.

https://twitter.com/SJha1618/status/1110870921013673984 ---> The message conveyed through the #MissionShakti ASAT demonstration is thus: "India is committed to peaceful uses of space, but will not accept any treaty with discriminatory provisions". This is very much in keeping with the current doctrine of shaping things from within.

https://twitter.com/SJha1618/status/1110803951526436864 ---> Muwahahahaha. India's first hard-kill Anti-Satellite Mission is a success! I think a lot of capitals including of course Beijing have been put on notice now.

https://twitter.com/SJha1618/status/1110870564271316993 ---> India's Ministry of External Affairs clearly articulates New Delhi's desire to play a role 'in the drafting of international law on prevention of an arms race in outer space' This is the chief reason why India had to demonstrate ASAT capability.

What has any of this to do with the ASAT test? This thread is not for political discussions. So please stop. You already have an active warning for disrupting a thread with political posts. Another one will lead to a ban.

This goes for anyone responding to Rajiv Lather as well.

sudeepj wrote:Rakesh ji converting singles to twos and twos to threes (postcount). :-P

All tweets converted into one single post. I will delete this and your post, after you see this.

Indranil wrote:UB sir,

That F-15 strategy was more show than actual capability. Imagine keep at least one F-15 airborne with such a missile at all times during a war. And even if one succeeded in that, the detection would start the long human based chain of actions culminating in the F-15 accelerating with full AB with such a heavy load into launch attitude and altitude.

True midcourse would probably be an automated sequence of sat-based detection leading to auto-launch of a ground based ABMs. And of course there is the dazzle of the laser based intercept which nobody is near cracking yet.

What capability are you talking about? The ASM-135 was probably not going to be great as a Mid Course Interceptor. It was an air-launched ASAT weapon demonstrator. Knocking down a satellite at 500 km altitude (which it did) is a lot different than performing effective mid course intercept even against an MRBM let alone an IRBM or ICBM. Yes it provides flexibility in almost all possible scenarios for an ASAT mission but putting that capability on the VLS gets you nearly 100% of the way there barring some very few specific scenarios.

The US MDA has looked at the BPI and TPI missions for F-15's (and I don't think they've ever looked at the Mid Course defense mission) and that is something that is very doable as long as you have enough tails to deploy to that mission and enough low latency airborne sensors and data-links to get you the intercept without imposing too many performance limitations on the interceptor (that is more challenging).
Indranil wrote:
I don't get the "true midcourse" bit (it is either Mid Course, Boost/Early or Terminal phase for the most part) but you can't just launch remotely after you pick something up with EW..you have to put the warhead on track and develop a PIP..The time is shrinking but you just can't launch on detection for a mid-course intercept mission, you need ground based sensors to establish a reasonable track so that your PIP error is manageable for the onboard DACS's abilities. Missile designs would be dictated by the need to minimize time but also to compensate for track accuracy shortcomings (or lack of). One of the reasons the US has X-band radars spread around to support various deployed BMD assets (Guam, Japan, South Korea, Turkey, Israel and at PMRF and other areas to support Home based defense) is for this track accuracy issue (and end game discrimination)..Relying on ship based lower frequency radars (AEGIS) alone would result in lower track accuracy and consequently higher PIP errors to compensate for (and also poorer discrimination)..

This is different for an ASAT mission where you know the orbit and you can easily execute it with a specific interceptor (Why the SM3 IA was able to do ASAT but can't intercept an ICBM)
Last edited by brar_w on 28 Mar 2019 06:04, edited 6 times in total.

I've been getting goose pimples all day since I read about this. What a monumental achievement for India.

Dad was a DRDO scientist and dedicated his entire life to India's missile program. He would have been so proud of his beloved organization today. I am sure he is watching and smiling.

Imagine what another five years under Modi would do for India's defense capabilities!

Jai Hind and Jai Ma Bharati!

Deans wrote:My just published book on India fighting a 2 front war in 2022, (see my separate thread on this) coincidentally has India using a ASAT to kill
a Chinese satellite.
Part of the proceeds will go the Army battle casualties fund. Please review on Amazon and spread the word.
Thanks Deans Ji. Ordered the paperback today. Reminds me of General Paddy's 'India Checkmates America' - set in a futuristic 2017. Today's test brings us that much closer to the possibility!

wow, these guys still fears the debris count going away from Earth based on US test! :rotfl:
"The big question though is whether the intercept created dynamics that threw pieces into higher orbits," Weeden says. In 2008, a U.S. test struck a satellite at an altitude of roughly 135 miles. Most of the debris fell back to Earth, but a dozen or so pieces were thrown higher up and stayed in orbit for around a year and a half, Weeden says.

"If you're using in a wartime setting, it's very likely your targets are going to be at higher altitudes," he says. Clouds of debris from the conflict could make low-Earth orbit a dangerous place. "It would create a lot of space debris, which would have long-term challenges for everyone," he says.
/NPR

Just shows that the best soupah pawah is nude to such data! [scope: oped]
banrjeer

Post by banrjeer »

Possible to jam a defense sat? Would cause consternation if folks are anxious for data

Karan M wrote:Zynda, what you are suggesting requires an incredible amount of forethought, careful planning & quick execution. Can brown people do all this? I have my doubts. I am an avid NYT reader, and according to them, brown folks can barely think for themselves. *Chirp chirp*. Could it be this Microsat-R also captured telemetry which it beamed back to earth? No, perish the thought, it was Indian. And NYT knows Indians are an inferior race, who can't do such things.

Chetak, the caption should be, this was Microsat-R.
From The Hindu: https://www.thehindu.com/sci-tech/scien ... 072511.ece
This is much lower than any of its civil Earth observation spacecraft, which fly pole to pole over the globe at between 400 km and 700 km.
According to information obtained from different sources Microsat-R and its payload come assembled from a handful of laboratories of the Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) and is meant for military use. The satellite was “assembled outside and ISRO only interfaced it” with its own systems and the launch vehicle, just as it treats any customer satellite.

the comments of daily mail made my day ....aak thoo..
souravB

Post by souravB »

source: Vipin Narang twitter
Just a reminder that an ASAT test is essentially a BMD test:instead of firing an incoming missile target, one just uses a satellite in orbit, in this case a LEO satellite at 300km. And India’s missile defenses don’t have to deal with ICBM class targets, which are very hard to get
This is exactly what I have been thinking whole day. This is a capability demonstration of BMD.
In a decade or two the premium nuke delivery methodology will move from ICBMs to HGVs and HMaVs.
Due to developments in BMD tech for interception of hypersonics, interceptions rates will improve drastically and even ICBMs let alone IRBM/MRBMs could be intercepted like rockets.
Any country with only IRBM/MRBMs will be left nook nude with no credible means to deliver their nuclear weapons.
We just need to test our HSTVD and start to scream for non-proliferation of BMD and hypersonic tech.
Pakis will lose their only deterrence option. :D

ArjunPandit wrote:the comments of daily mail made my day ....aak thoo..
Link? I love to see Burnol :lol:

Brar sahab,

1. Got confused onlee. I somehow remembered the air launched weapon to be an ABM. Stupid of me onlee.
2. I am not very knowledgeable of the whole sequence of events that have to transpire from detection to launch. But, I certainly did not mean the satellite will detect an enemy missile and our ABM missile would launch. I meant the satellite will detect, which would start an automated (fast pace) sequence of events that would lead to our ABM missile being launched. Obviously tracking the projectile all throughout after the detection for all the calculations leading up to the launch would be part of the sequence.

So two mea culpas. Par aajke din itna toh chalta hai :D

Indranil wrote:So two mea culpas. Par aajke din itna toh chalta hai :D
Maaf Kiya! Aap Log Mera Mithai Ko Bhi Maaf Karo! :mrgreen:

https://twitter.com/livefist/status/1110856818685816832 ---> 'I remember giving presentations in 2012 seeking project clearances for the ASAT weapon, unfortunately government didn't respond. Current Govt has appreciated the need for such a capability,' former DRDO Chief VK Saraswat tells Livefist.

Indranil wrote:So two mea culpas. Par aajke din itna toh chalta hai :D
Maaf Kiya! Aap Log Mera Mithai Ko Bhi Maaf Karo! :mrgreen:
Aaj ke din, mithai khilate hai, maaf nahi karwate :D

With Fire From Missile & Space Program, India Tests Anti-Satellite Weapon
https://www.livefistdefence.com/2019/03 ... eapon.html
Dr Saraswat said, “When we carried out the Agni-V development and capability demonstration, it was political decision. The government of the day (the Congress-led UPA) gave us clearance to proceed. In the case of the A-SAT, clearance was once again needed for such an exercise. I remember making presentations to ministers (AK Antony was defence minister) at the time and the National Security Advisor (Shivshankar Menon) saying please give us clearance and finances for this, it will be a great deterrent and strategic capability. Unfortunately, the clearance we sought wasn’t forthcoming. When we did the nuclear tests in 1998, it was the political will of Prime Minister Vajpayee. Similarly, with Agni-V, it was the political will of PM Manmohan Singh. But for reasons not shared with us, we didn’t get clearance for A-SAT. Prime Minister Modi and NSA Ajit Doval had a real appreciation of the need for such a capability, and our scientists had the ability to demonstrate it.”

Indranil wrote:
Rakesh wrote: Maaf Kiya! Aap Log Mera Mithai Ko Bhi Maaf Karo! :mrgreen:
Aaj ke din, mithai khilate hai, maaf nahi karwate :D