The Red Menace

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: The Red Menace

Pratyush wrote:The purpose of intel is to function in back ground collect info for the police to act upon. By publicising the infiltration they are mearly causing the opertion to fail.
Most likely this news would have been deliberately leaked to the media, months after all this infiltration was done and the agencies got what ever they wanted. A media report like this may induce chatter among the over ground workers and sympathiser gang as they may panic and try to reach out to each other for a short while. This may give the agencies further leads.
As the leadership will get paranoid and avoid direct contact with each other. Till such time they find out the truth and deal with the compromised personal.
:D If this news can spread confusion and suspicions amongst the naxals we should be the happiest. The naxal leadership themselves would do the job of killing each other. How ever, care should be taken to ensure that their frusturation is not taken out on innocent villagers (who the Mao pests label as police informers).

Sachin,

It is the last part that causes maximum concern to me as well.
Raghavendra

Post by Raghavendra »

Action Plan for 60 Naxal-hit districts

With the aim of giving a fillip to development schemes in tribal and backward regions, mostly affected by Naxal violence, the Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs (CCEA) on Friday approved the commencement of an Integrated Action Plan (IAP) in 60 selected districts.

The IAP would be an additional central assistance scheme on a 100 per cent grant basis. It is aimed at quick resolution of problems concerning healthcare, drinking water, education and roads.

In 2010-11 alone, each of the 60 districts will be given a block grant of Rs. 25 crore, with the total coming to a whopping Rs. 1,500 crore. In 2011-12, the grant will go up to Rs. 30 crore each.

“This is in pursuance of the Finance Minister's announcement in his budget speech of 2010-11 and the Prime Minister's address to the National Development Council on July 24. The scheme, to begin with, will be implemented over two years — 2010-11 to 2011-12,” Home Minister P. Chidambaram told journalists. .

Schemes would be decided by a committee, headed by the District Collector. The Superintendent of Police and the District Forest Officer would be its members. The IAP would be reviewed for implementation in the 12th Plan at a later stage, Mr. Chidambaram said.

KBK plan

The existing Kalahand-Bolangir-Koraput (KBK) plan would continue, with an annual allocation of Rs. 130 crore for all the eight districts in Orissa put together. The eight KBK districts have been included in the IAP. They would get an additional block grant of Rs. 25 crore each in the current year and a suitable additional amount under both State and district components of the IAP in the subsequent years.

The IAP would focus on improvements in governance and the States would have to comply with specific preconditions before availing themselves of the second tranche of the additional financial assistance in 2011-12 under the State component of the IAP. However, these conditionalities would not apply to the district component of the IAP, according to the CCEA decision.

The scheme would focus on effective implementation of the provisions of the Panchayats (Extension to the Scheduled Areas) Act, 1996, and the Scheduled Tribes and Other Traditional Forest Dwellers (Recognition of Forest Rights) Act, 2006.

While the district component would be administered by the Ministry of Panchayati Raj, the State component would be administered by the Planning Commission.

http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/article915519.ece

Raghavendra

Post by Raghavendra »

Maoists blow up ambulance, three killed in Orissa
http://www.thehindu.com/news/states/oth ... 919685.ece
At least three persons, including a health worker, were killed as suspected Maoists blew up an ambulance, triggering a landmine blast in Orissa’s Kandhamal district, police said today.

“We have received information about the death of three persons in a landmine explosion that blew up an ambulance in Brahmanigaon area of Kandhamal late last night,” Director General of Police Manmohan Praharaj told PTI.

The explosion, which took place near a culvert at Pangdugaon, about 300 km from here, killed a woman health worker, a patient and the ambulance driver, Deputy Inspector General of Police (Southern Range), R K Sharma said.

The culvert was partially damaged in the blast.

The ambulance was on its way from Gadapur to Brahmanigaon, about 2 km from the blast site, when it was targetted in the Maoist infested area close to Gajapati and Ganjam, police said.

The incident came close on the heels of the killing of a prominent contractor, Manoj Sahu, on November 25 in Brahmanigaon area.
Asit P

Post by Asit P »

Ten Naxals surrendered in Andhra today.
Raghavendra

Post by Raghavendra »

Nepal Maoists throw weight behind Indian naxals
http://www.zeenews.com/news670990.html
Raghavendra

Post by Raghavendra »

Maoists behead a farmer in Jharkhand
http://videos.sify.com/behead-a-farmer- ... fajji.html
Raghavendra

Post by Raghavendra »

Man with suspected Maoist links held in Delhi
http://sify.com/news/man-with-suspected ... bdedd.html

Delhi becoming hub of Maoists
Karn Pratap Singh | New Delhi

http://www.dailypioneer.com/301218/Delh ... oists.html
The arrest of a 42-year-old Maoist operative with huge cache of explosive materials on Friday has once again put the focus on Delhi as a transit hub for Maoists. Ever since the arrest of the top ideologue of the banned CPI(Maoist) Kobad Ghandy, several top Maoist operatives have been held in and around the Capital, where they have been found mingling into the huge urban population easy and are able to avoid detection by the police. The arrested Maoist operative has been identified as Loknath Panth, hailing from Gulmi district in Nepal.

Interrogation of Panth has revealed that he had been frequently coming to the Capital for procuring explosives and transporting them to Nepal. “His interrogation revealed that he was staying at the house of his Nepali friend in Karol Bagh who works as a cook at the residence of a businessman in Karol Bagh area. Though involvement of his friend in illegal supply of explosives has not been established, we are questioning him to find out if he is directly or indirectly associated with Maoist groups,” said a police official, adding multiple security agencies, including the Intelligence Bureau and the Special Cell of Delhi Police have joined investigations and are interrogating him to establish his local link. His boss in Nepal has been identified as Jakh Bahadur, who Panth claims is a leader of the Maoist movement in Nepal.

About the modus operandi of Panth, a senior investigating officer said the accused revealed that he wore torn and dirty clothes to avoid people’s attention. “He told us he went on without taking bath for weeks together, so that even if somebody suspected anything, he could ward them off by passing off as a beggar,” the officer said. Prima facie, it seems that Panth is well trained in his business since he was using a unique modus operandi to avoid attention of the cops, the officer said. Panth had worked in a factory in Ludhiana as a worker and we are suspecting that he has his contacts there also.

During interrogation of Panth, a senior police officer said, it was learnt that private licence holders, who keep explosives for commercial purpose, are behind the illegal supply of explosive materials from India to Nepal-based Maoists. Panth who was transporting explosive substances from India to his bosses in Nepal, was arrested on Friday by Special Staff of central district. Four-hundred-and-ninety-eight non-electric detonators and 27 meters fuse wire used for exploding explosives were recovered from his possession. Police said the Maoist had concealed the explosive materials in his specially designed belt having a slot and also in his jacket by smartly stitching them in multiple pockets.

According to an investigating officer, Panth had procured the explosive materials from Purushotam, a private licence holder for keeping explosive materials at Bhiwani in Haryana. “This is one of the biggest catches of explosive materials from a Maoist in the Capital in the last ten years. During interrogation, Panth disclosed that he had purchased the explosive materials from Purushotam a few days back. We have already sent a team to apprehend Purushotam and bring him here for grilling. His interrogation may unveil the entire network of Maoists involved in supply of explosive substance from India to Nepal,” the officer said, adding the seized detonators have been manufactured in Rajasthan.

The official added that these explosive materials are generally used in mining business and private licence holders keep them for commercial purposes. “For keeping explosives it is mandatory to get a licence from the Department of Explosives. The department appoints an inspector-level officer who regularly visits the licence holders to check where and in how much quantity the explosive materials have been used by the licence holder,” the official added.

This is not the first time that a Maoist operative has been arrested by the Delhi Police. In the past one-and-a-half years, seven Maoists have been arrested from areas like Badarpur, Basant Gaon, Shahdara, RK Puram and Govind Puri. Police officers said verification of residents does not help much as such people normally provide false details. Kobad Ghandy, a Politbureau and Central Committee member of the banned CPI (Maoist), was arrested by the Special Cell of Delhi Police in September 2009 from South Delhi where he was living since 2006. Ghandy was in-charge of expanding the party in urban areas. Gopal Mishra and his wife Kanchan Bala were arrested from their residence in Shahdara area of East Delhi on April 26 and April 27, 2010 respectively. They were involved in promoting the organisation’s activities in Delhi.

Deputy Commissioner of Police (Central) Jaspal Singh said Panth was arrested from Karol Bagh area on specific inputs. “We had received information that a Nepali citizen who is involved in supplying explosives to Maoists in Nepal is in Delhi. The information was developed and a police team led by Satender Mohan was tasked to apprehend the person. The team with the help of its sources and informers verified his presence in Karol Bagh area and apprehended him near China Market when he was coming from 100 Quarters carrying a bag,” said the DCP, adding Panth is married and has three kids. A case under section sections 4 and 5 of the Explosives Substance Act has been filed against him and further investigations are on.

Naxals in Capital

September 20, 2009 — Kobad Ghandy, a Politbureau member of the proscribed CPI(Maoist) and incharge of spreading NAxal influence in urban areas was arrested from South Delhi

February 21, 2010 — Arvind Joshi, who had acted as a key facilitator for Kobad Ghandy in establishing a Maoist base in the Capital, was arrested from Kanpur in UP

April 23, 2010 — Ajay Kumar Singh, a Maoist operative involved in many Maoist activities in Taryani area of Bihar, including the torching of a police jeep on March 23 was arrested from Govind Puri in southeast Delhi

June 17, 2010 — Abdul Shakil Pasha, a close aide of Maoist leader Kobad Ghandy, was arrested from South Delhi’s RK Puram

April 26-27, 2010 — Gopal Mishra and his wife Kanchan Bala alias Anu were arrested from their residence in Shahdara area of East Delhi. They were involved in promoting the organisation’s activities in Delhi

July 3, 2010 — Hemchandra Pandey, the accomplice killed with Maoist leader Azad in Andhra Pradesh, had his base in Shastri Nagar area of the Capital.
Raghavendra

Post by Raghavendra »

Top Maoist leader held in Kolkata
http://www.zeenews.com/news672324.html
Kolkata: One of the seniormost Maoist leaders in West Bengal was picked up by the police early Saturday, a pro-rebel civil rights group has claimed.

Sudip Chongdar, more popularly known as Kanchan alias Batas, secretary of the state unit of the Communist Party of India-Maoist (CPI-Maoist), was nabbed by the Special Task Force of the city police, said Choton Das of the Bandi Mukti Committee.

Chongdar was one of the prime accused in the landmine blast allegedly triggered by the Maoists on Chief Minister Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee's convoy at Salboni Nov 2, 2008.

Maoist central committee member arrested in Kolkata
http://www.thehindu.com/news/states/oth ... 931291.ece
Kanchan, one of the top leaders of the Maoists after Kishenji, had planned and implemented the Lalgarh movement in November 2008. The Maoist Central committee member, who was wanted in several cases of sedition, was arrested by the Special Task force of the police on Friday.

Kanchan alias Sudip Chongdar, a Maoist think tank, was elevated to the post of West Bengal state secretary after Somen alias Himadri Sen Roy was arrested from a railway station in North 24 Parganas in West Bengal in February 2008.

His arrest is considered the most significant after that of Telegu Dipak, a state committee leader, who was arrested from South Kolkata in March this year.
Hailing from Garbeta in West Midnapore, Kanchan had been arrested previously, but was released after spending about two years in jail. :roll:
Asit P

Post by Asit P »

Some more good news on this front:
Arrest of five top cadres sends Naxals reeling
West Bengal Maoist unit decimated: Pillai

Union home secretary G K Pillai said: "The West Bengal Maoist unit is more or less decimated. Across the country, too, they are facing a steady attrition rate."
According to experts, Maoists are facing a leadership crisis. In a recent media interview, Maoist general secretary Ganapathy had admitted, "After completion of our party Congress, a considerable number of our CC members were caught by the enemy and were either killed in fake encounters or put in jails. This is the very big hindrance we are facing in achieving our goals. No doubt, this would have a grave impact on the Indian revolution.

About time they were flushed out and it finally seems like their goose it about to be cooked and eaten by Jawans of our police and para military soldiers. Finally the forces seem to have learnt the art of hunting in jungles and significantly reduced casualty rates of late (fingers crossed).
Four Maoist leaders held in Bihar

Bhagalpur: Four Maoist cadres, including a woman, were arrested in a search operation in the Belhar forest area of Bihar’s Banka district conducted jointly by state police and CRPF.

Banka SP Shyam Kumar confirmed the arrests. Of the four, Taro Mandal was a Maoist area commander. He was allegedly involved in former Munger SP KC Surendra Babu’s killing (January 2005), Jhajha railway station attack, attack on Akbarnagar police camp, blast in several government buildings and nearly 35 incidents of Maoist violence, said police.

Taro was also in-charge of the Maoist group which guarded the cops from the time they were abducted on August 29 till three of the four policemen were released on September 6. Two firearms, 45 live cartridges, cash and pamphlets related to Maoist activities were seized from them. TNN
Kishanji is alive and fit, reveal arrested Naxals

Kolkata: Arrested Maoist leaders Kanchan and others have claimed that their leader Kishanji is leading the banned organisation in West Bengal.

“According to arrested Maoist leader Kanchan and others, Kishanji is alive and well and he is leading them in West Bengal,” Joint Commissioner of Kolkata Police, Special Task Force, Rajiv Kumar told newspersons on Sunday.

Kumar quoted Kanchan as having claimed during interrogation that Kishanji could be in Dandakaranya. It had been rumoured that Kishanji had either been killed or seriously injured in an encounter.

In a severe blow to the Maoists, their top leader Kanchan alias Sudip Chongdar and four others had been arrested from Howrah district, Kumar had disclosed. Arrested together with Kanchan were state committee members Anil Ghosh alias Ajay, Barun Sur alias Bidyut and a cadre Bimal Mallick alias Shankar. PTI
http://epaper.timesofindia.com/Default/ ... =HTML&GZ=T
Raghavendra

Post by Raghavendra »

Five Maoists arrested in Orissa

Five Maoists, two of them hardcore, were arrested by security forces from Nuagaon village under K Balang police limits bordering Jharkhand in Orissa's Sundargarh district, about 150 from from Rourkela. The security forces spoiled the kidnap bid by the Maoists to three persons of Mahupada village under the same police station limit.

The villagers along with CRPF and SOG force chased the Maoists and rescued all the three.

They conducted search operation in the nearby forest of Nuagon and Raidih area of Jharhand during which five Maoists were nabbed while the rest managed to flee the place.

Police had seized two rifles and some explosive materials from the arrested Maoists identified as Bagana Tarkot, Kande Tarkot, Nancy Tarkot (woman), Mangara Tarkot and Matara Tarkot.

Mangara and Matara were hardcore Maoists of Jharkhand and relatives of most wanted Maoist Madhusudan Tarkot while Kande and Nancy are siblings - brother sisters.

Meanwhile, the murder of five tribals in Topadihi and Langalakata villages of Relhatu panchayat in Bonai sub-division during the last five days had spread panic in the area. Suspecting them to be police informers, the Maoist are said to have killed the five tribals.

Following a tip-off, state police and CRPF personnel were stationed at strategic points. As the rebels arrived at the village in the wee hours yesterday and unsuccessfully attempted to kidnap the villagers, they were chased by security forces during which five were nabbed while others managed to escape.

However, no firing took place from either side.

All of them were produced today before a Bonai-based court which remanded them to jail custody.

An interview with Mahender Karma , the founder of salwa judum movement in Chattisgarh.

http://news.rediff.com/report/2010/jul/ ... alites.htm
The man accused of championing and spearheading the Salwa Judum, the local tribal armed militia which fought the Naxalites [ Images ] in Chhattisgarh earlier this decade, mourns the demise of his movement.

"If I have indulged in violence, why is it that the Naxals or their people have not filed a single FIR (First Information Report with the police) against me? asks Mahendra Karma, the tribal Congress leader whose movement has been widely described as a State-supported vigilante group.

"Salwa Judum," he says, "had arisen at the local level against the political terrorism of the Naxals. The disintegration of this movement is very sad."

The Salwa Judum has been blamed for causing the widescale displacement of tribals and for many alleged atrocities, but Karma says he is being vilified by the Naxals and their supporters to discredit him.

A former leader of the Opposition in the Chhattisgarh assembly, Karma lost his seat as an MLA in the last election and has maintained a low profile after the Judum declined in influence in tribal Chhattisgarh.

To discover more about the mindset that created the Salwa Judum and his views on the Naxal problem, Rediff.com's Archana Masih spoke to Karma in Raipur recently.

The security forces have been engaged in a battle to counter the Naxals. The CRPF (Central Reserve Police Force) has suffered two major reverses in which several troops have died. What do you make of the government's current strategy?

Security forces should try and understand the techniques and strategy of the Naxals.

The Naxals are no longer running a movement, but are fighting a direct war with the forces and for this they have united all their dalams (squads). That's why the Naxals are attacking with strengths of 100, 500, 300 people.

Keeping that in mind, the forces (the paramilitary and police) should move forward together from one direction rather than engaging them from different areas.

The roads are more dangerous than the jungles. Our troops have to use the jungle as the main tool of defence against the Naxals. The forest which is a boon for the Naxals has proved to be a curse for the troops at this moment.

Since the Naxal movement began in Naxalbari (in 1967) the security forces of this country have been fighting them as a traditional enemy.

The weakness and strengths of the security forces is known to the Naxals, but the same is not true for the forces. Hence, the Naxals have continued to survive and strengthen their movement.

How has the Naxalite movement gained so much strength over the years?

The Naxalites have opened two fronts -- the gun-front and the public-front. The public-front is exemplified with demonstrations, bandhs etc, here they have spread their message so widely that on the national and international level it has divided people on this issue.

The pro-Naxalites are also part of their public-front. The Naxals try and cover all their weaknesses, violence and the excesses of their gun-front through this public-front.

Whose moral responsibility is it to stop the public-front of the Naxals? This responsibility rests with us leaders. But we are not in the field, we have given the Naxals a walkover.

If they have been successful in reaching thus far, it is because of us netas (politicians).

The answer to their guns is already being given by the security forces, but who should have countered their ideology? That moral responsibility was ours.

How many people are countering them politically?

What is the present status of the Salwa Judum, the controversial movement that you championed and led?

They are sitting idle in 17, 18 camps. When the force is already fighting the Naxals, why don't you let them also fight?

The Naxal problem is no longer restricted to our jungles. The movement (the Salwa Judum) had arisen against this political terrorism from a local level... the pause or disintegration of this movement is a very sad thing.

There are differences between the state and Centre about it that there should not be direct public participation or involvement in this front. I feel in a democracy -- where people make the government -- you are disbelieving the strength of that public.

This period of peace is dangerous for us and is being taken advantage of by the Naxals. Because we are not fighting, they have killed 400, 500 Judum people by calling them informers etc.

Your movement was widely criticised for its excesses against the tribals and saw a decline. What were the reasons for its decline?

Many political reasons. The Naxalites also tried to isolate our movement.

One of the methods adopted by them was by consistently targeting policemen -- to make the police wonder 'Why are they only targeting us? Why not the (Salwa Judum) movement against them?' So they tried creating a rift.

Similarly, by targeting the CRPF their strategy is to demoralise the forces that come from outside the state. To make the central forces feel that the Naxals are not attacking the state police, but are targeting them. By doing this they want to create a rift between the local police and security forces from outside.

To discredit the Judum, the Naxals put up many people against us to hammer us down.

Are you saying all the allegations of atrocities are negative publicity against you?

They called us a violent movement. If I have indulged in violence, why is it that the Naxals or their people have not filed a single FIR against me? Why?

They framed so many charges against me -- crowds used to follow me wherever I went and I know I have never indulged in any violence.

In an excited movement, excited people indulge in some small incidents, you cannot stop that.

Even when Gandhiji was doing his satyagraha, he had to break his movement several times, that was not Gandhiji's or the revolutionaries' intention, but sometimes it happens.

But the Judum has been accused of unleashing numerous atrocities on the tribals.

They levelled charges against us, but there is not a single FIR.

Even the National Human Rights Commission...

That they did in the court, but not in a thana (police station). All this was to defame us. To remove us from this battle. Even the court did not send us any summons.

But a chargesheet was filed against you.

That was against the government. Not against us.

What about the Judum's many excesses?

That is negative publicity by the Naxals. This is a routine stunt by the Naxals to defame any force that takes them on.

But all these charges can't be false.

So why haven't they -- the Naxals or their sympathisers or the human rights commission -- filed any FIR against me? I was waiting, why didn't they?

I don't understand -- does it ever happen that in a movement the leader goes scot free and the rank and file gets caught?

In the history of the world has there ever been a movement like this (the Salwa Judum) against political terrorism?

Naxalism is political terrorism.

India [ Images ] is emerging as a superpower and anti-democratic forces want to destablise the government, so they also get international support from such forces.

Naxals are getting direct or indirect support. If this problem is not solved, then this country and its people will have to pay no less a price than what they paid for freedom.

I am a democrat and live in a democratic system. If they are against our system, then it is a rebellion and should be crushed like one.

The biggest drawback of our democracy is that democrats don't have a commitment to their democracy.

The Salwa Judum is accused of displacing tribals in village after village and committing excesses against them. You will always be blamed for those excesses...

I am a tribal. We tribals are pro-nature. We have our own customs, norms socio-econimic set-up. These comrades came and converted us tribals into comrades.

Why do you write your surname? Tell me. You write it because it is linked with your family, your ancestors, your tradition.

If you remove your surname, will it not bring changes to your living style, ideas?

If you are removed from your religious, cultural base, how would you feel?

They make us (tribals) comrades by pointing a gun at us. Being a tribal leader, is it not my responsibility to ask them to leave our land and let us live?

I have fought that fight, if I am wrong in that fight, I am willing to commit that wrong again.

But you have used violent means.

That is negative publicity done by them (the Naxals). The people in the villages know me more than the press. Why isn't there a single allegation, FIR, against me then?

Why should we be forgiving of Naxals after the attacks they have done on rail lines, CRPF etc?

I don't think anyone is forgiving the Naxals for that.

I am saying that if any of these was even marginally true I would have left politics.

In my movement, wherever I went, the forces were with me -- SP (superintendent of police), collector. We used to go with 10,000, 20,000 people, so this is not true.

What lies in the future for you and the Salwa Judum?

When I am in the right place politically, I will revive my movement. My confidence has not been damaged. I can finish Naxalism, whatever be the situation.

If I had some political support or if I came back into the political mainstream I believe the Naxals will themselves flee.

They know I am Karma and I know their weaknesses.

You have to fight them in the jungles, if the DGP (director general of police) goes to the jungles his forces will have greater confidence to fight. If politicians go to the jungles, the public will follow them.

You say you can finish Naxalism if you had public support?

I can finish it with a public movement, I won't even need political support. This is not a battle to win a jagir or land. The day peace loving forces are in majority, that is the day we will win this war. We are becoming victims of fear.

Can the Naxals move beyond the forests and reach India's towns and cities?

Towns and cities are weaker than the villages. At least the border of each village is united. It has some autonomous functioning, which is not so in cities.

A single Dawood (Ibrahim) crippled Bombay. He has fled the city, but is still extorting money from outside.

The cities are not safe, Naxals will reach them very soon.

One of the reasons for tribal resentment is the government's failure to bring about development, infrastructure and progress.

Naxals are the biggest enemies of development.

From 1947 whatever infrastructure, development, was made was destroyed by them. Their theory is to keep the tribals away from progress.

If they want a revolution in these areas they have to keep progress away from the tribals. This is their hidden theory and we grieve that the Adivasi is not seeing any progress, that they are being displaced.

Today wherever there are natural resources, there is a jungle, where there is a jungle, there are tribals. Exploration (for mineral resources) is being done for decades, but based on that when we talk of any industry, why do we talk about tribal exploitation only then?

If that is so, why don't you stop the effects of those resources? What is buried in the ground for millenia can remain buried. It's not as if you don't exploit it, it will suffer any loss.

You want the tribals to remain like that. What about their children? You have to listen to their voices. These people who support the Naxals don't want the Adivasis to get educated and progress.

There is no concept of an educated Adivasi, we have no thinking about them. We have to think about them. It is unfortunate that they don't feature on our radar.

If you revive the Salwa Judum, how different will it be?

Now I will include everyone -- even the media so that they can see where we are violent. I want all people to join, it should not be limited to Adivasis.

I am repeatedly saying I am not violent, neither was my movement violent. I deny this accusation by the Naxals.

Not a single Judum member has a FIR against him, he hasn't been to court -- all these human rights people they should ask our activists or name us by name. These are all allegations.

^^^Wow. Amazing. Breathtaking, in fact.

That intvw with shri Mahendra karma cold do with a lot more dissemination. If only some news org would be true enough to do the right thing....."sigh".

But publicity apart, at least on the ground, things haven't entirely gone the maopest way. There is resistance from the tribals and that resistance is mobilizing and finding strength, support and momentum. Jai ho.

Binayak Sen found guilty by Raipur Sessions court ..
http://www.hindustantimes.com/Activist- ... 42218.aspx

viv,

You beat me to it. Socre one for the nice guys.

Lets wait and see the International outrage triggred by this conviction.
Suppiah

Post by Suppiah »

One can expect song and dance from Nandigram rapist goons and their yellow puppets..

Without even a prosecution let alone a conviction, these mass murderer Beijing puppet traitors start maligning the entire Hindu community as terrorists. Now what will they say? Of course, talk with forked tongues.

Expect the American Beijing puppet blogger to post junk in his blog as well as in his yellow daily..

Strange is the defense offered by these comrades..
reading Mao's collected speeches does not make someone a Maoist
...it makes him a Gandhian I suppose...one wonders what the Stalinist rapist goon propagandists will write if Vir Savarkars or SP Mookerji's writings are found in the home of someone they are trying to frame on Hyderabad blast case...they would trumpet that as another 'proof'
Binayak Sen meet Sanyal 33 times in less than 35 days," underlined the prosecution. The defence responded that Sen visited Sanyal on his brother's request
Brotherly love requires 33 visits in little over a month?

Maybe it is gay love.
milindc

Post by milindc »

Vishnu from NDTV asks some PUCL secretary if there is political conspiracy against Binayak Sen;
She replies absolutely yes

expect a huge writeup by arundhoti roy in the next issue of outlook about this gandhiji v2.0

Singha wrote:expect a huge writeup by arundhoti roy in the next issue of outlook about this gandhiji v2.0
Also in New York Times.

darshhan wrote:An interview with Mahender Karma , the founder of salwa judum movement in Chattisgarh.

http://news.rediff.com/report/2010/jul/ ... alites.htm
The man accused of championing and spearheading the Salwa Judum, the local tribal armed militia which fought the Naxalites [ Images ] in Chhattisgarh earlier this decade, mourns the demise of his movement. ..... .
I am an SJ supporter. Let EVERY Tahsil in chhatisgadh have 1 to 5 Mahender Karma. We need 100s of SJ all over chhatisgadh . In fact, EVERY citizen in chhatisgadh should be made SJ-soldier and make the naxals flee.

=====

Was Vinayak Sen involved in gun-running for Naxals? Was he involved in assisting Naxals (except treating a Naxal leader in prison, and was treated upon with GoI permission)? So what exactly was charge against him?
Suppiah

Post by Suppiah »

The main thing is such prosecutions and convictions, even if overturned or diluted subsequently in higher courts, bring out one significant aspect of the Lal-parivar - that they all act in concert and like the musketeers operate on one for all and all for one philosophy.

Even though the stalinist rapist goons claim that they are in 'ideological battle' with the Maoist eye-gougers, it is quite obvious that this so-called battle is a fake battle waged for the sake of bringing everything under Beijing's control. It is not a Coke versus Nimbu-Paani or Naariyal Pani battle, it is Coke versus Pepsi sort of battle. Same bottled sugary crap.

They worship the same mass murderers and same despots and essentially follow the same ideology.

That is amply proved by the 'Shared services center' they run together, paying costs together. The very same fake intellectuals and fake human rights campaigners and other fakes and traitors that defend the rapist goons also defend the eye-gougers making it quite clear to anyone with sense that the so-called ideological battle between Stalinists and Maoists is nothing but eye-wash. It is about who delivers the carcass of India to their paymasters in Beijing and collects rewards - not silly 'friendship' rewards, but real ones that come with right to rule perpetually at gun point.

It is also clear why some commanders of the Stalinist rapist goon army goes often to Nepal to hobnob with the Maoists there...perhaps Beijing has outsourced some tasks?

So you will see the same bunch of treacherous yellow puppets and red propagandists doing a lot of rona-dhona tomorrow and for next few months over this matter. Yet they are same ones who will, without batting an eyelid, accuse Mamata of being 'Maoist supporter' even though the evidence they have to offer against her is much less than what is known against Binayak & Co. If Mamata offers to work under the unified command, then of course, all will be forgiven.

If the yellow puppets of the Stalinists are genuinely in some ideological battle they will not offer any support or comfort to anyone associated with Naxal/Maoist interests - be it in Bengal or elsewhere.

Will Congress have the guts to break this Shared Services center and expose these mass murderers and their useless ideology flushed away as sewage by their paymasters in beijing and bottled and resold here by their puppets?

Hope the dynasty finds the guts to do so.
Suppiah

Post by Suppiah »

Do those that make noise against Salwa Judum have the guts to question this? Or is okay for reds to do what they want and kill/rape whoever they want?

http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/article976989.ece

Some snippets
The Home Minister also said it was “a matter of grave concern” that these cadres have been provided with arms. He said the “violence presented an alarming picture,
Where are the arms coming from, who is paying for them?
The Home Minister reminded the Chief Minister about a meeting they had some time back where they discussed about the ‘Harmad Vahini’ that is active in West Bengal and that has given rise to apprehension and complaints
Is this Salwa Judum by another name? Why are rapist goon's yellow puppets not making noise about this one? Why are they so obsessed about SJ?
Complaints and references received by us indicate that armed cadres of the CPI(M) were deployed in a covert manner
to protect whose interests?

The usual suspects ....
“Convicting Dr. Sen shows that sections of the judiciary are willing to act as instruments of a State's policy to silence dissent,” said senior Supreme Court advocate Prashant Bhushan, “This will undermine the people's faith in the lower sections of the judiciary.”

“A couple of years for the bosses of Union Carbide and a life sentence for Binayak Sen,” said celebrated writer and activist Arundhati Roy, referring to the sentence handed down to those accused in the Bhopal Gas Tragedy of 1984.

“After producing Marx's Das Kapital and a letter from the Indian Social Institute as evidence against him, the crisis of Indian democracy does not get more dangerous than this,” Ms. Roy said, referring to the quality of the evidence marshalled by the police in their case against Dr. Sen. (Madam! Are you afraid your turn is coming next? Or may be jealous that Binayak might get Nobel Piss prize)

“Where is the crime? Where is the deterrence?” asked counter-terrorism expert Dr. Ajai Sahni when asked if the verdict would serve any purpose in the government's battle against the CPI (Maoist). “This is a perversion of the investigative process and an index of the incompetence of the Chhattisgarh police,” he said.

“It is scandalous to say that he [Dr. Sen] was working against the interest of the country,” said Justice Rajinder Sachar, former Chief Justice of the Delhi High Court and member of the People's Union for Civil Liberties (PUCL). (The hard core terrorists have infiltrated the upper echelons of the judiciary)

Similarly if all the criminals and terrorists are punished by the law, the common man can sigh a relief and can feel peace.

The Barking Mutt on the degeneration in Indian society. Shameless as you can get

Lost in the din

Madam roy is just jealous at not being arrested and generally ignored by goi as a angry but impotent creature.

media mutts will be in full bark mode for a couple of weeks....time to shut the news channels off my viewing list. X-men The last Stand was so much better.
Suppiah

Post by Suppiah »

Interestingly, Sen's wife talks about sad day for 'democracy'. These people are so shameless they use words like democracy without any hesitation as if they patented it. What if these eye-gougers come to power? There will be Kangaroo courts, mass murders, womanising by the dictator, just as it is in their paymasters land or in their ideological motherlands...

>>“Where is the crime? Where is the deterrence?” asked counter-terrorism expert Dr. Ajai Sahni when asked if the verdict would serve any purpose in the government's battle against the CPI (Maoist). “This is a perversion of the investigative process and an index of the incompetence of the Chhattisgarh police,” he said.

I am almost certain that this quote has been taken out of context to present a particular shade of opinion.

Suppiah wrote:Interestingly, Sen's wife talks about sad day for 'democracy'. These people are so shameless they use words like democracy without any hesitation as if they patented it. What if these eye-gougers come to power? There will be Kangaroo courts, mass murders, womanising by the dictator, just as it is in their paymasters land or in their ideological motherlands...
They have a very different concept of democracy. For them the D in DPRK, and erstwhile GDR is not a sick joke but stands for a genuine democracy.

Our favorite newspaper in righteous outrage...

A shocking verdict
The life sentence handed down to Binayak Sen by a Chhattisgarh trial court on Friday is so over the top and outrageous that it calls into question the fundamentals of the Indian justice system
Meanwhile the CPI(M) - Chinese Puppets in India (Morons) chimes in...

Binayak Sen’s conviction ‘travesty of justice’, says CPI

meantime today 1 BSF KIA and 3 injured in a landmine explosion in Purulia distt of west bengal...
Suppiah

Post by Suppiah »

Gerard wrote:Our favorite newspaper in righteous outrage...

A shocking verdict
The life sentence handed down to Binayak Sen by a Chhattisgarh trial court on Friday is so over the top and outrageous that it calls into question the fundamentals of the Indian justice system
Meanwhile the CPI(M) - Chinese Puppets in India (Morons) chimes in...

Binayak Sen’s conviction ‘travesty of justice’, says CPI
To the nandigram rapist goons and their yellow puppets, where the good work is done makes a lot of difference - do it in Chattisgarh, you are a 'human rights activist'. Do it in Bengal the exact same way, like some genuinely foolish 'intellectually' do, then you get labelled as ' media glitteratti, assorted do-gooders and anti-development'. Binayak is smart, though Bengali he chooses another state, so he is obviously not anti-development, he is human rights hero.

Its very difficult to be a missionary without an agenda. Be it religious or political [then again which politics is also not a religion, and which religion is not a politics!]. Vinayak Sen was walking on a razor's edge. I can understand the process by which a pure "missionary" can become soft towards radicals - it is not new in India, and many "religious missionaries" often blurred their ways with radicals pre-Independence.

But to talk of democracy in the context of communism is mischievous at its best. Forget foreign communist countries, even the party spokesperson who spoke up on the behalf of one party - is and was never known for even "inner party democracy". It was standard practice for that party to "expose" those party members who lost out in intra-party struggles and were expelled as a result of personal political vendettas - so that these members lost cover all of a sudden and even worse were deliberately put in a position by which they fell to rashtryia repression.

The wife also is making a mistake - who said anything about democracy being "just"! She is mixing up the case of "justice" with the mode of representation in the rashtra.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

The NDTV big fight: watch Gautam Navlakha :).
http://www.ndtv.com/video/player/news/i ... air/183874

JEM, there is more to this case than we know or what gets bandied about in the press (the charge-sheet is not there, the verdict is not there, the evidence list is not there, the proceedings are not there, so we are all as wise as ducks). I dont claim privy to anything deep here, but my take based on what little I know. Ajai Sahni's "deterrence" remark is spot on.
1) Is this a test case? Yes.
2) Is this going to deter anyone from being an open sympathizer? No, the folks who choose to defy defy knowing what they are up against. And they could nt care less.
3) So why is this a test case? Because the state apparatus has not openly said "we will hit you back" so far. The response has been muted. UAPA could have been used N times in the past (the CPI(Maoists) have been banned, but you have the burden of proving someone is a member of the said party, not just a sympathizer, but still!!!), but only now do people fall back on it. Ok, I take that back. It is NOT the UAPA, but the Chhattisgarh Special Public Security Act that has been used to hammer the point.
4) What is in it for the GoI? The LWE menace cant be done with unless they bring in both JHK and CTG (the two frontline states now -- they lost more people than any other state in the last 1-2 years of LWE, but bound to change in the short- as well as long-term) on board. A while back, all the five states (Orissa, CTG, JHK, Bihar, WB, now JHK is under Prez rule) were run by non-INC governments. If I were a foil-hatter, I would blame GoI and I could cite how AP put things down. I will have a good justification for whining about the GoI. The key repartee for folks who claim that Police is a state subject is that "But Goddess Lakshmi is a central subject." In fact, the Raman Singh government demanded certain big ticker items from the MHA and ended with mud on its face, not just him alone, it is across the board insulting in some sense or the other. Naveen Patnaik, Nitish Kumar, Shibu Soren, Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee, all refused to cooperate. Cmon, Buddha leads the CPM goons, he cant be digging his own grave, he cant be so stupid and yet survive for so many years in the CPM. Now see, PC has asked WB to disband the neo-SJ type outfits. So much for inter-state collaboration, the way MHA wants to fight this menace, if you can read what I can read, you will die of a heartattack. And silently agree before you die that "India is one not because of its politicians, but despite them."

Anyway, it is the BJP government that is going to take the flak or bouquets at the end of the day. The INC (if you are so sensitive, the PMO and MHA) is watching silently and they dont want to get involved given how much it can burn, literally. If things go well, they will pick the baton at some point down the road. If things dont go well, well its the BJP's problem. A certainly determined way at tackling what is the BIGGEST Internal Security nightmare in decades, one should admit.
5) Is this punishment deserved? That is what the Raipur Sessions and District Court thinks so. It will go to the Chattisgarh High Court and then, the Supreme Court (there are no "if need be" caveats here, it will go because both sides have a point to make). And I am worried if it goes all the way to the Hon'ble SC for various reasons. The best recourse is for Binayak Sen to kick the bucket before it gets that far.
6) What is the whine about? See, they are trying to polarize opinion by creating a sympathy card. Bugger is a heart patient and that is the key polarizer (we Indics are so nice, no?!). They are trying to sway opinion on what they cant prove legally with a public debate. The "intellectuals" are NOT after Binayak's release, the cause is bigger than one person, and even if he is released, he may not last all that long. They want a public debate on Naxalism vs. "state repression." Period. They want more cadres, more populism and subversion from within than from out, nothing better than by tilting some brainwashed people with pseud statements of "state repression." Sad to state that our policefolk dont help matters either, but thats an entirely different story. The key precedent into this sympathy card is when Binayak sought bail, the Hon'ble SC denied bail first and then approved it. There you go, the Hon'ble SC is going to hold me contemptuous of the august body. I apologize in advance and will sign on the dotted line to that effect (in triplicate if need be).
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

If you have that much of a keenness, please note the following in news reports:
Kishen, the rat gets called Kishenji.
It is Dr. Binayak Sen, informing us of his esteemed qualifications.
It is Mr. Narayan Sanyal and Mr. Piyush Guha. Er, is it Mr. Dawood Ibrahim?

Anyway, one has to understand the man of the moment (even if via a slanted take), spending his Christmas behind bars. Ah, did I reveal something scandalous already? :)
http://www.issuesinmedicalethics.org/153ed104.html