Indian IT Industry

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Indian IT Industry

Not IT industry, but related;

UK company New Call Telecom bring back outsourced work from costly India
LONDON: A British company is bringing back its outsourced work to the UK after it realised that outsourcing it to India is no longer cheaper than doing the same work here.

in recent years, increasing prices in India have made it a less attractive option than retaining the work in the UK, reports say.

New Call's chief executive, Nigel Eastwood, said: "We did a cost and service analysis of returning home and there was an absolute parity between what we are paying for a third-party call centre in India and here in the UK."

He added that using British staff will also cut costs in the average amount of time taken to deal with customer inquiries.

Eastwood said: "The average handling time in the UK is three minutes. But if you go out to India, you need to add another minute unless it's a very efficient operation, so that means we can actually reduce the headcount with the saving".

He added: "In India in the past decade, as call centres have grown, real-estate prices have gone up massively, while salaries have also crept up."

New Call will pay 4 pounds a square foot for space in Burnley, which Eastwood says is similar to that in Mumbai and New Delhi.

Eastwood said: "Salaries in India aren't that cheap any more. Add to that the costs of us flying out there, hotels and software, and the costs are at an absolute parity. In the UK we will pay workers the minimum wage.

The use of foreign call centres has proved unpopular with many customers, who say they prefer to deal with British staff, the report said.

Singha wrote:I think the whole GC thing is a well designed scam to ensure stability of workers in american cos and keep wages lower than they would be if lakhs more desis and chinis has free mobility. the cos want it slow to ensure people are locked in and cannot even get promoted (no change of job role for duration of filing) ...and managers can always say crap and put some fear in them, and the govt is anyways happy not to waste resources speeding it up - they get the same income tax, GC holders have more rights and can cause more trouble - so they depute probably their worst and slowest set of workers to it :)

there is always the vague anxiety in h1 and gc filed status - just read the postings in murty.com and lots of people are at any time in some sort of crap situation. even in my h1 days there was always something going on either with mine or wife's passport - some stamping to be done, some renewal, some filing...never really in the clear.

The biggest scam is the social security taxes. GoTUS knows that there is slim chance (last 3-5 years) that H1 workers are going to get any benefits. So why should we pay for the social security of US citizens?

Singha wrote: other than periodic noises GOI has has no success in 'convincing' the GOTUS that our PF system is same as their SS and the payments made by H1 workers who stay(ed) less than 40 qtrs be refunded. I lost $12,000 or such to that scam. these things will never happen unless we seriously start playing hardball with massa on multiple fronts.
Few moons ago people in Nukkad told me that this pact has been signed?

Another trend is that many R2Is are GC holders or US citizens. I wonder what their tax strategy would be. Nice if they pay taxes to india (utilizing 96K limit clause of us taxation system).

I have been paying the SS taxes for 15 years and hope to take them when I R2I

Singha wrote:that being said, we should formalize and implement a visa system in which highly educated people from arab countries, nepal, bhutan, bangladesh, maldives and sri lanka can more easily come over and work in India (something like 10 yr TN visa) . likewise streamline the student visa process and attract more foreign students to our good schools.

trade and employment opportunity is what builds co-prosperity spheres.
I think that is already in place. There are quite a few non-Indians in IT industry. My brother rented his apartment to a Korean couple for the past 3 years.

yes there are and not just in IT but in manufacturing and marketing also- esp from south korea, thailand and china, but the process of getting work permit visas is not as streamlined and the validity not of much duration. there is also the foreigners registration office wherein they have to periodically (6 months iirc) go and re-register.

our Govt is not geared up to manage a large number of guest workers and foreign students and it shows. thats because nobody had a reason to come and work in india enmasse earlier.

I imagine if H1 visa holders were put through such a process there'd be howls of protest.

for a start for lack of a better model we can copy the h1 6-yr + 6-yr visa system and also introduce a "green card" and "citizenship" law for India - net its a +ve gain if talented people from any other nation decide to settle here and increment our skills base. its not that the govt is hostile to foreigners but the inertia of decades of doing nothing is hard to shake off.

I suspect china is much further along this process...we can study their system too.
Shankk

Post by Shankk »

RamaY wrote:Another trend is that many R2Is are GC holders or US citizens.
Follwing is an article from R2I website.

US Citizenship for Successful Return to India ?

Introduction

There are several threads discussing the advantages and disadvantages of going for US Citizenship.

This subject has been discussed from financial angle in the finance board too. Almost all the threads closed inconclusive. Every time when I meet any potential r2iers, this subject never fails to come up. I have expressed many times my opinions in this forum and also in the face to face meetings. But nevertheless like others myself I am not not very convinced the answer is easy or the issue is settled once for all.

It is very difficult to generalize whether US Citizenship brings a huge advantage or not for r2iers. That is because for permanent returnees the advantage of US Citizenship is marginal. Before I take up the subject of citizenship, I would like to explore the grounds of return and then review the benefits.

Motivation to Return:

There is a dramatic change in the objective of return today than it was 10 years ago.
We can divide the R2Iers into 2 groups.
Group-1) those returned/planned to return before year 2000 and
Group-2) those returned/planned to return after year 2000.

Offshore business and BPO picked up really well and very hot now than it ever was. We have also seen a dramatic salary increase in India and many of the NRI return to India to take advantage of these opportunities. I realize now these returnees are mostly motivated by the new opportunity of benefits rather than their love for their immediate family, friends, city or home land.

The people who returned before 2000, or those who dream about returning had different motivation. Generally they returned to enjoy their retirement or live a content life after living in abroad for few years and saved some money. There could be few exceptions to this rule. Why do I think so ? There was a huge difference between salary and benefits offered to an IT engineer or any other professional in India compared to some one abroad. Is that not the whole reason for our migration to abroad ? What incentive one had then to return ? Those who returned did so, for few reasons which are not monitory. They either had personal/family issues or they really felt home sick. There were some entrepreneurs too who returned. They are the only one who returned for financial/business reasons.

Compare that today. Read last 2 months threads in this board for sample. We can see many of us are motivated now by the same reasons for which we came here in the first place. Money and professional recognition ! Add Indian food and life style to that. What a mouth watering combo ? Earlier we had to sacrifice one for other. Now you get all combined and thrown in as one package deal.

Smart Returnee :

In financial world, there is a term called "smart money" ; money is never smart, but the term describes short term investment made by the investors and arbitrageurs who are constantly looking for new opportunity to get that extra return. They are not bound by any loyalty or not bothered by long term outlook. If they can make one dollar more today in this investment, that is where they invest for that day.

The returnees today are more like "smart money" - ( should we call them "smart returnees" ?). Yesterday they were in US, today in India, if Russia is good tomorrow, that is where you will see them.

In other words, I think the group-1 have more permanent returnees and group-2 has less permanent returnees. This is another reason we hear stories of R2A and why some could not make it in India even for 18 months. If money is there, we can adjust anywhere in the world. The influx of Indian migration to US or any other countries has not reduced a bit. Yes, more Indians are now finding an IT job in India itself, but that has not diminished the number of IT experts finding a job in US or the number of students who proceed to US to pursue Masters. If India is better than US today, why this has not stopped still ?

Return Challenges :

The group-2 folks are younger than group-1. This is another reason why their R2I fails. Infact, it was not R2I at all. May be we should not call that as failure. If you are younger, you have long way to go for retirement and require lot of money to be saved. Today people spend more money than earlier generations, the savings rate is lower than before. Now there are new expenses. The world is changing very quickly and we have to constantly upgrade ourselves and our electronic toys. All this new demand require money. Not to mention, women and kids are demanding than ever before and never seems to be happy or content. This all takes the toll on every family and have larger impact on returnees. It is because returnee has the potential to make a big earnings and they have to consiously settle for less. He knows that secret and his family too. Guess what ? The return to India becomes like a long vacation for him. Except it is not sweet vacation but 'sweat vacation' - have to fight many issues to settle for day to day Indian life - electricity, water, transportation, maid services etc.,

Also since group-2 is younger, they are ready to face the challenges and accept mistakes as mistakes and move on.

You will not expect that from older people who are longing for permanent retirement and return. For the younger generation it is easy to move to India and in the same stride, move back to US. Either way no big deal !

The increasing consumerism, globalization and westernization has a huge impact on Indians, Indian culture now. Our believes and values are ever changing. I am not getting into whether these changes are good or bad. It does not matter. If you don't perceive the changes happening around us and adjust our thoughts and plans, we will suffer - mentally and financially.

Change in the mind set:

There are few H1B holders who are home sick, wish to return and do return. They care less what others say. When you are home sick, your ears are closed and mind is occupied. You can also find very few green card holders who have the same sickness. Generally these people have not many reasons to return, they just want to return. It is easy to identify these folks.

They will say one of this:
1) why do I need a reason to go my home ?
2) My vacation is over, and it is time to return.
3) I came here for some savings, got it and going back.
4) What is more important than my father and mother ?
After 5-10 years in US, the US life style has a huge impact on you and in your considerations. If you are here for less than 3 years, you will not appreciate it very much. But most of the green card holders or USC holders, will do.

Once you get married and have kids, your values and believes changes. It actually does change constantly as we go older and wiser. But there is a dramatic shift after few years of marriage. If you are 35-45, you worry about kids education, retirement etc., Money and career plays very important role. Over 45, health and family takes precedence over other issues.

It is not right time to return when money and career are important in life. If you do, you are doing it for "smart" reasons. There are lot of possibilities that you will return again to US. At later stage in life, when family is important to you, you don’t want to leave your kids in US and return alone. After that age, you don’t have any motivation to return. You have social security and kids in US and nothing in India. India is just another third world country with bad roads, water problem, corruption and don’t forget mosquitoes.

r2iforums - another set of people (like tbhp) always in search of the holy grail of getting the best out of every possible angle.

would rate them on par with the Murty forums on immigration....worry warts and financially minded chaps - its hard to gell well with such a crowd.

wierd issues like having to obtain a clearance from income tax dept there before R2Iing else a week in jail direct from the airport were being debated :rotfl:

For a SDRE, only EB-1 GC makes sense to be honest. EB-2 just takes way too long and as rightly said, is another medium for exploitation. Ofcourse EB-1 is not possible for all depending on upper hand, job requirements, k.b. profile etc. but if possible should be used 400%. In our lab, ~90%+ lab rats are furrin (non-US citizen) and ~85% have GC (mostly EB-1, a few EB-2) and 0% of those plan to convert to US citizenship ever. We had 1 US citizen desi fella, who R2I'ed (using intra company transfer) back to Bangalore, Kerala with massa born teenage kids in tow some time back. One kid is now in Eye Eye Tea Dilli.

EB-1 is for upper hand and managers with multi-country stints right? Not something many can get :) If they decided to include double masters or something similar then they'd be flooded which is possibly why they don't.

yes EB1 - I think 98% of gc filers would not be eligible.

^^^A lot of desis are but they don't know that they are. BTW you dont need upper hand to apply in that category.

Desis not knowing a loophole? Tougher to find than a Paki not knowing his goat!!

Yes, upper hand is not de jure to be needed, but de facto it is.

Upper Hand is not a sufficient condition at all. I know lot of Upper Hand folks, but following post-doc stint had to get a job in industry and did not qualify for EB-1. Most are EB-2 onlee and had long waits like other unwashed abduls. I know of only one who did EB-1, but was an asst prof. when he did it.

When you are a Post Doc most univs will not even entertain GC application. Some top places like CalTech make it explicit in their offer letter even.

what is upper hand?

Bade saar, I know of plenty of post-docs who did EB-1 (Alien of Extraordinary ability - which can be self-sponsored) and successfully got their GC. In fact, one of them got it in the last month or so and she was a lowly post-doc in Columbia when she applied.

Singha saar, Upper Hand = Upper Hand in Technology strategee.

Its not even necassary to manage 20-50 resources , the only qualifying criteria is the person should have title of atleast a "manager" to whom people should be reporting to.I have seen a lot of Indian IT employees get the GC on EB-1 when they have been sponsored for through this route.

Self deleted
Last edited by RamaY on 11 Jul 2011 00:12, edited 1 time in total.

Marten wrote:Vipul, imo the title may be manager, but the role should not be merely a supervisory one. i.e. the person should be in an executive role to manage a budget, hire/fire resources, and perform roles that are not merely supervisory.

This is really where it all depends on how flexible the company sponsoring the individual is. As fas ar i know the Budget control is not really a criteria (even though it may be impled).Most important in the paper work for such filings is for the Company to give a Orgn Chart diagram showing the level at which the employee is working /has worked in the US office location and the overseas location.Needless to say there should be atleast a couple of heads(positions) which should be shown as being under the person being sponsored for.This type of filing is not as uncommon as percieved.

Folks, this is the Indian IT Industry thread, not the Yoo Ess immigration thread :)

Indian vs. American programmers: Whose code is best?

Gild's assessment says Indian programmers are better at math and logic but American developers are particularly good at Web programming
CEO Sheeroy Desai says Gild's coding competitions and assessments take the form of a problem statement, followed by a snippet of code. Gild members then have to state whether there's a problem with the code (and what it is), if there's a better solution to the problem (and what it is), or the outcome of the code.
Desai, who was born in Pakistan..
How did that happen? Paki woman married a Desai :)
Gaurav_S

Post by Gaurav_S »

Infosys says it needs 50+ acres, Gujarat govt offers 2 locations
Infosys chief mentor NR Naryana Murthy may not have talked about a campus with the state government, but his company officials who had visited Gujarat in May have demanded at least 50 acres of land for the project. And to meet their requirement, the state government has short-listed and offered them two locations to choose from.

The two plots short-listed by the government are: the plot given to Satyam near Infocity,and another piece of land near GIFT City in Gandhinagar. The land given to Satyam was retuned to the government after scam hit the IT company. This piece of land is spread over 38 acres.

The piece of land near GIFT City is spread over 50 acres and meets the requirement of Infosys. However, it is much more expensive than the Satyam land. Government sources said that they are waiting for Infy's decision on any of the two plots short-listed for them.

Before leaving Infosys, the company's human resource head Mohandas Pai had visited Gujarat in May. "At that time, government officials and Pai spoke at length on setting up an Infy campus in Gujarat. At that meeting, Infosys had asked for at least 50 acres of land," said an official closed to the development.

The official informed DNA that since there was a change in the Infosys management, the decision on the piece of land could not be taken. "Most probably, the Satyam land on SG Highway will be finalised. In that case, the government is ready to give another 12 acres of land adjoining the existing 38 acres," said the official.

The government had given the 38-acre plot to Satyam in 2007, but after the scam the land was returned to the government. "At that time, the cost of the land was around Rs1,100 per square yard.

Now the prices have escalated to anyone's guess," said the official. He said the newly appointed chairman of Infosys, KV Kamath, had informally approved the plan for Gujarat. "We have got an informal confirmation from KV Kamath on behalf of Infosys for setting up a campus in the state. The confirmation says that the company is interested in setting up an export-oriented campus in Gandhinagar," said official. At present, the Bengaluru office of Infosys has more than 400 engineers from Gujarat. "So, for the company, there is not going to be an issue of getting employees after it sets up the campus in the state," he said.

India gets its first solar powered desktop.

The desktop is powered by the sun and it will work wonders for locations encountering frequent power cuts. Moreover, the company claims, that it not only runs with sunlight, but also saves power which allows it to run for another 10 hours in the absence of sunlight. The PC is priced at an affordable rate of 28,990 as well as a year's worth of on-site warranty. Is the Indian govt missing out on Mumbai everytime when it comes to terror attacks.?

The solar PC is powered by a Via C7 1.6 GHz processor, 1GB RAM and includes 160GB HDD and a 15.6-inch LED monitor. The keyboard and mouse are included and the operating system on the computer is Linux. The solar kit includes a 74W solar panel with charge controller, SMF battery and AC inverter.

Bhailog,

Anyone ever developed a USSD gateway for SIGTRAN interface? We have one with SS7/MAP interface, but for a prospective the partner telco will only supply a SIGTRAN link. Need some quick info.

1. What OS?
2. Open source / commercial stack?
3. Any reference implementation?

Any info will help. Thanks in advance.

anishns wrote:Indian vs. American programmers: Whose code is best?

Gild's assessment says Indian programmers are better at math and logic but American developers are particularly good at Web programming
WTH does that mean? :-?

That means American debelopers write good htmal pages where as Indians write the logic and validations for those pages.

We need to see the programs this Gild guy wrote.

Yes, possibly means: Indians do <=3GL; Americans do >= 4GL

Raja Bose wrote:
anishns wrote:Indian vs. American programmers: Whose code is best?

WTH does that mean? :-?
It means Indians do programming, and Americans play with shiny UIs :mrgreen:

Vipul wrote:India gets its first solar powered desktop.

The desktop is powered by the sun and it will work wonders for locations encountering frequent power cuts. Moreover, the company claims, that it not only runs with sunlight, but also saves power which allows it to run for another 10 hours in the absence of sunlight. The PC is priced at an affordable rate of 28,990 as well as a year's worth of on-site warranty. Is the Indian govt missing out on Mumbai everytime when it comes to terror attacks.?

The solar PC is powered by a Via C7 1.6 GHz processor, 1GB RAM and includes 160GB HDD and a 15.6-inch LED monitor. The keyboard and mouse are included and the operating system on the computer is Linux. The solar kit includes a 74W solar panel with charge controller, SMF battery and AC inverter.
With this you can run any desktop.

Bharat Electronics showcases $75 solar-powered Android tablet.

India-based Bharat Electronics Limited has announced the development of a $75 solar-powered tablet. The company has been able to design, manufacture and ship 2000 sample tablets in less than five months. Maintaining an approach to low cost computing, these tablets will be much handy in power deficit rural areas. BEL, a leading manufacturer of radars and communication equipments for the defense department in India, has bagged this order from the Ministry of Rural Development of India. The Managing Director and Chairman of BEL, Ashwani Kumar Dutt, was proud to announce the launching of solar powered tablets within a record low time period.

Running Android 2.2, this tablet is equipped with a solar powered power back up and will allow data storage through a cloud based server. The tablet will store data to the central server running on a solar powered battery. The tablet comes in a decent leather pouch with a keyboard connected through a cable. Other specifications have not yet been disclosed, but it seems that this $75 Android tablet is practically viable than the previous $35 Sakshat tablet, launched by Kapil Sibal. The subsidized $35 tablet released by Indian HRD ministry could not gain steam owing to its manufacturing cost and features.

Tablet manufacturing is picking up in India, and this Android tablet has been designed indigenously to create waves in the market. Other factors like running capacity of the tablet, durability and maintenance are to be considered as these are specially meant for the economically backward class. The tablet may not be modish in appearance, but will surely serve the purpose.

BEL has targeted to release 600,000 tablets by this November that will boost its revenue significantly through this first civilian order. Given the falling prices of tablets in the world, this cheaply priced and indigenously built Android tablet is ready to take on any low priced tablet in the international market. The price and customization facilities may pose few challenges to BEL in the future, but this has been a commendable achievement for the organization to manufacture 2000 solar powered tablets within a record time.

BEL has taken up this project with a long term vision, as it spent about $1.5 million in creating additional facilities to produce modernized versions of solar powered tablets for the students. Although, this tablet is not available for the masses, but BEL is not ruling out the possibility of manufacturing for the commoners in future.

Top 20 IT companies headquarters – city wise rank positions:
Bangalore was leading the list of cities, with more number of IT companies in the NASSCOM report, with 6 companies; followed by Mumbai (5 companies), New Delhi (3), Pune (3), Chennai (1), Indore (1) and Hyderabad (1).

Not Even One Andhra Pradesh Company Listed Among Top 10 Indian IT Companies

^^ G-chacha buys up Motorola mobility for 12.5B$... :eek: :eek:

Sanjay Jha really hit the jackpot here!!!

US news report - Most hated industry in US is the IT industry

Acharya wrote:US news report - Most hated industry in US is the IT industry
:rotfl: Damn you Repo guys! You win again.

ECIL to manufacture high speed routers.

A router developed for the first time in the country will soon be translated into a manufactured in India product.

The developer is IIT-Bombay while the manufacturer will be Electronics Corporation of India Ltd (ECIL), Hyderabad. The public sector electronics giant has entered into a licence agreement with IIT Bombay to manufacture high speed transport routers.

A router is a device which helps forward packets of data along networks, says the Internet. For the common user, router is necessary in a LAN (local area network) to connect several computers to the Internet.

The Gigabit Networking Laboratory at IIT Bombay has developed an innovative technology under the leadership of Prof. Aswin Gumaste to make these routers, which promise to set new price/performance benchmarks in an industry dominated primarily by imported products.

With built-in security features and a fully Indian design, this development is significant in the context of fears expressed by experts about the vulnerabilities posed by ‘black box’ products, populating the information highway that carry vital and strategic data, ECIL has said.

With the national data infrastructure set to grow manifold and gigabit pipes slated to enter villages, this development augurs well and fits into indigenous technology space. The ECIL Chairman and Managing Director, Mr Y.S. Mayya, and the IIT Bombay, Director, Prof. Khakkar, signed the agreement on Wednesday.
Gaurav_S

Post by Gaurav_S »

TCS to open 2,000-people BPO centre
India’s largest information technology (IT) services provider, TCS, is setting up a greenfield business process outsourcing (BPO) centre in Ahmedabad that can house 2,000 people. The centre would be located at the company’s upcoming 35-acre campus, Garima Park. It will also house TCS’ IT operations.

In the first phase, expected to be completed by December, TCS BPO would employ 1,000 people.

India’s Next Outsource Market Converges With IPhone Apps
http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2011-08-2 ... -tech.html
Between piles of trash and stray dogs near a Mumbai slum is the entrance to MoFirst Solutions Pvt., where two dozen workers sit shoulder-to-shoulder with no air conditioning and write code for iPhone apps on laptops. “The rates Indian developers charge are very low,” said Akash Dongre, chief operating officer at MoFirst Solutions, where clients pay as little as $15 an hour for a programmer. MoFirst is tapping India’s next wave in outsourcing, with thousands of programmers that charge a fraction of Silicon Valley prices to capitalize on demand for programs for Apple Inc. (AAPL)’s iPhone and devices running Google Inc. (GOOG)’s Android software. Developers-for-hire for mobile applications may generate $5.6 billion in revenue by 2015, a 14-fold jump from this year, Forrester Research Inc. (FORR) estimates. “India is a logical place to do it for the same reason the software and services model has worked here: lower cost,” said Anshul Gupta, an analyst at research firm Gartner Inc. in Mumbai. Applications on Apple’s online store have been downloaded more than 15 billion times since its opening in 2008 -- with the Cupertino, California-based company getting a 30 percent cut on each sale -- as the surge of iPhone sales spawned demand for games and applications. “It’s not about the device -- that’s not what makes sales happen -- it’s about the ecosystem,” said Gupta. “You need to have applications

India innovates in abstract in a way no one else can : Navneet Bhushan, Crafitti Consulting

We did this interview. He is an Ex DRDO. Some really good insights and a lot of hits. i thought, I'll share it folks down here.