India's Border Security with China and Pakistan-2020

Larry Walker

Re: India's Border Security with China and Pakistan-2020

Post by Larry Walker »

Iyersan wrote:We will goto war as things are as on date. Beware it will cost us
Unless Chinese and XiPing's plans or atleast intentions are understood, it is very difficult to advocate de-escalation vs pre-emption.

Every thought that's exactly what the Chinese want us to do? We shouldn't walk into a trap either. We need to be firm and resolute, hold the line and keep full control of the escalation ladder despite serious provocations.
ashishvikas

Post by ashishvikas »

Indian soldiers had actually crossed LAC and set #Chinese PLA tent on fire chanting 'Jai Bajrang Bali' after 16 Bihar CO Col Santosh Babu was killed in treacherous manner & 10 members of patrolling party were held captive by #China on the night of 15/16 June
#GalwanValley

After the death of Col Santosh Babu, 16 Bihar 2IC along with two young captains led the charge of Ghatak commandos & Field Regiment soldiers creating mayhem in #Chinese camp
#GalwanValley

Actually contrary to what agreed in daytime meeting #Chinese PLA had not removed its tentage observation-post from a hillock so a patrol of about a dozen soldiers was sent without fire-arms for recee but made hostage by China in evening
#GalwanValley

When Col Santosh Babu came to know about hostage situation he along with his two buddy jawans walked upto #Chinese post to meet counterpart whom he had met in daytime but was said to be killed in Chinese post, after which about two companies of Veer-Biharis went berserk
#Galwan

During the close quarter fight, a portion of hillock fell down right into Galwan river in pitch dark night leading to deaths of soldiers of both sides in sub-zero temperature
#GalwanValley

https://twitter.com/neeraj_rajput/statu ... 24386?s=19

Larry Walker wrote:
Unless Chinese and XiPing's plans or atleast intentions are understood, it is very difficult to advocate de-escalation vs pre-emption.
Overall driving force for all Chinese expansion: We are now big and strong enough that we create our own rules. Our time has arrived after centuries. The Middle Kingdom is now the center of the world. We can therefore grab and get what we want starting in our neighbourhood.

Specificifically: Pangong Tso is a defensive move to put as much distance as possible between the road that they have built from Siritaj to G-219 and the Indian Army. So the target is to prevent the IA using their roads to reach and cut off G-219. The 10 km or more of additional buffer they now have because of the move from Finger 8 to Finger 4 is a defensive plus for them.

Control of DBO allows them to cut off IA access to the Karokaram Pass and any hope of getting GB. It also allows them a build a short cut into POK directly from G-219. Kills 2 birds with one stone. If they start building/expanding roads from G-219 to the Depsang Plains border which they apparently are, then they want to have the ability to bring maximum pressure there.

Galwan was not a feint. A successful move in Galwan would have weakened connectivity to DBO leaving only the air bridge intact. So they lost out in Galwan and now they are going for the main course.

ldev wrote:
khan wrote: This sounds much more serious than Galwan or Finger 4.
I know the Chinese are phenomenal with civil engineering and road construction but how did they get tanks and artillery onto the Depsang Plains? A cursory look does not turn up any roads on their side of the LAC and G-219 is 80km-100 km away across difficult terrain.
The Chinese are deployed/massing at all possible conflict areas, obviously there is a larger game plan. Only because we had had this incident in Galwan and the sat images of the change in positions in figure areas - most of our bandwidth is spent on this, but we should not miss the forrest for the trees.

Also DBO/Depsang plains are one place there have been no sat photos yet - will be interesting if they turn up in the coming days.
ramdas

Post by ramdas »

GoI should exercise control on what the press publishes on this matter. Even journalists such as Manu Pubby that are not fully part of the BIF gang like Ajai Shukla is were insisting on the PLA being inside our side of the LAC in Galwan and Hot Springs as well. Now the same person quotes sources to say that they are inside our side of the LAC in Depsang plains. Part of the problem could be carelessness distinguishing between ``inside our side of the LAC" vs ``massive buildup on their side of the LAC with the intention of pushing inside our side..", but in these times, such carelessness is inexcusable and gives BIF/INC elements another opportunity for their vicious propaganda.
Larry Walker

Post by Larry Walker »

So exactly as I have been saying, if Chinese are trying to prevent Indian Army from reaching G219 or some other place of tactical or strategic importance - then why are they assuming that Indian Army will try to do that. India being a democracy and overall much less powerfull than China would definitely not initiate a conflict in which IA wil surprise Chinese by dashing towards G219. IA will undertake these campaigns only in response to a pretty significant Chinese aggression. So by trying so feverishly to prevent IA from undertaking these campaigns are they betraying that they have a plan in motion to attack India in near future ??

Post by khan »

abhik wrote:
ldev wrote:
I know the Chinese are phenomenal with civil engineering and road construction but how did they get tanks and artillery onto the Depsang Plains? A cursory look does not turn up any roads on their side of the LAC and G-219 is 80km-100 km away across difficult terrain.
The Chinese are deployed/massing at all possible conflict areas, obviously there is a larger game plan. Only because we had had this incident in Galwan and the sat images of the change in positions in figure areas - most of our bandwidth is spent on this, but we should not miss the forrest for the trees.

Also DBO/Depsang plains are one place there have been no sat photos yet - will be interesting if they turn up in the coming days.
One thing I have noticed about these satellite pictures is they focus much more on the Chinese positions than our positions.

I think all these “OSINT“ people with access to satellite imagery are our people (or our allies) & there is a specific reason they haven’t shown anything about Depsang plains.
Pashupatastra

Post by Pashupatastra »

https://twitter.com/drapr007/status/1274402981241208838

Action on Pak front too. 15 -20 Pakis eliminated.
ramdas

Post by ramdas »

khan wrote: I think all these “OSINT“ people with access to satellite imagery are our people (or our allies) & there is a specific reason they haven’t shown anything about Depsang plains.
What do you think the reason is ? Serious intrusion by PLA or counter action afoot from our side ?

Evidently we have built up our forces equal or even more so than the Chinese in all these areas. But where are the photos showing our large encampments? Maybe because we don't want to be sitting ducks the way the Chinese are and we have camped strategically in safe areas. It's quite evident in Pangong Tso and Galwan that the Chinese camps are big targets.

But the Chinese are not stupid. Why are they sitting out in the open? It's almost as if they are egging us to drop a bomb on them. What happens next? War, right? So it seems like they are hoping that we push them into war. If that's what they want, that is what we should not give them.
ldev wrote:Control of DBO allows them to cut off IA access to the Karokaram Pass and any hope of getting GB. It also allows them a build a short cut into POK directly from G-219. Kills 2 birds with one stone.
East-West connection is crazy impossible in those areas. You will need a road through Siachen glacier. Our own DBO backup road through Saser La is a (necessary) exercise in insanity being over a glacier - which is ok for a backup route to an outpost. But such a road is not practical for commercial traffic so I don't see any merit in G-219 linking to GB through Karakoram pass.

Also keep in mind that Karakoram pass is one of the few settled boundaries, so any change to status quo would basically render all prior settlements to revision.

khan wrote:
abhik wrote:

One thing I have noticed about these satellite pictures is they focus much more on the Chinese positions than our positions.

I think all these “OSINT“ people with access to satellite imagery are our people (or our allies) & there is a specific reason they haven’t shown anything about Depsang plains.

Please look at Google's Edwards Air Force base. There are two planes to be seen.

There have been sat images of indian positions too in Galwan, you can refer the following tweet ( all public of course, and apparently from the chinese commercial side).
https://twitter.com/detresfa_/status/12 ... 1591007232

I believe this is Depsang on LAC. The LAC line on Google is actually incredibly good. In here it is right between where our road ends and the parallel to LAC Chini road.

On Galwan it is right on PP14. On the lake it is on Finger 4!

https://www.google.co.uk/maps/place/Dep ... 77.9820734
Leonard

Post by Leonard »

LakshmanPST wrote: Even if what he says is true, what is the need for him to post the number on Twitter...? What is he going to achieve expect to say "I told you so" when Govt. releases the same officially few days later...?
There is a narrative war parallelly going on between India and China... What is the need for him to post anything that may potentially spoil India's narrative...?
There are some ppl who have questioned him about this and asked him to name his sources and he is simply calling them names...
Saurav Jha is mentally unstable, he is constantly in pi$$ed off mood, always ready to block even if somebody asks him genuine question which he doesn't like.

He is constantly on blocking and abusing spree. Usually we BRFites are in agreement with him because he always bats for indigenous weapons, but there is a dirty side to him too.

Here it shows in competition with other journalists he disses our own armed forces & how porkistani handles are loving him for it.

Mentally sick fellow!

williams wrote:
Yea we can use artillery, but the best thing to do is use air power. Throw some cluster bombs and take out the large base with food storage facility 10 km down to the plains and you are done. But that is an escalation and you should be prepared for a response. In fact, we can simply enforce pre-April positions with just airpower. The problem is always about managing the post escalation scenarios. We need time to prepare for that.
After we bomb them what then?
They unleash their H6K Bombers firing CJ-10 Cruise Missiles plus let loose those 100s of ballistic missiles upon our forces. War starts!

The public news of buying Mig29 reported as "urgent" purchase was probably to get Russia in a nice little trap. We will know where the wind is blowing based on how Russia responds to the request..

Ofcourse India let them a little room to wriggle, as it was planned last year and they can give the same excuse to the Chinese..

I expect the news to come up again when RM reaches Moscow..

Rony wrote:
Some in forces favour ‘limited action’ to send message to China .

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/ind ... 453968.cms
Whether it remains "limited" or not isn't in the hands of one party. What if other side doesn't allow it to stay "limited"? These people if they had guts would have said "action" without adding "limited" to it. That would have shown "guts" for aar paar ki ladai.

Like the Pakis,the Chinese retreat only when they meet steel.We must not bother so much about territory but inflicting unacceptable losses of men and material.Killing as many Chin forces as possible and destroying their military infra must be our
goal.The next step when the balloon goes up should be massive use of air power,arty, and missiles to wipe out their positions.Inflict hell upon the enemy using a variety of ordnance,cluster bombs,incendiaries,etc. Heliborne spl. forces could be inserted to ambush reinforcements or take key heights,etc. Chin airfields and bases to be put out of action.On the high seas seizure of its tankers ,MVs,destroying its warships and subs,reinforcing our strength in the ANC which the Chins will target,plus also consider forward ops in the Indo- China Sea,where there are two juicy targets,their flat tops. If we possessed LRMP strike aircraft like Backfires, it would hugely increase our strike capability. Leasing a decent number is something we must pursue.

TWITTER

@KDRtweets:
"BJP govt gave all powers to the Army. During Congress rule, we used to keep rifle just for showcase. We were not having the power to use it. There were pay fines for every round. Today even if you fire the entire magazine, nobody asks. No need to take permission." SKR, Veteran.
https://twitter.com/KDRtweets/status/12 ... 11936?s=20

Indian Jyotish prediction is giving that indication - with 100% guarantee.
So folks do buckle up, tell your near and dear ones to stay put.

nam wrote:The public news of buying Mig29 reported as "urgent" purchase was probably to get Russia in a nice little trap. We will know where the wind is blowing based on how Russia responds to the request..

Ofcourse India let them a little room to wriggle, as it was planned last year and they can give the same excuse to the Chinese..

I expect the news to come up again when RM reaches Moscow..
The purchase is over a year old, not new

Manish_Sharma wrote:TWITTER

@KDRtweets:
"BJP govt gave all powers to the Army. During Congress rule, we used to keep rifle just for showcase. We were not having the power to use it. There were pay fines for every round. Today even if you fire the entire magazine, nobody asks. No need to take permission." SKR, Veteran.
https://twitter.com/KDRtweets/status/12 ... 11936?s=20
Just to add to that, the Fauji (ret) gives an example of how in 10 feet of snow in -30C temp, he had fired once and he was asked to get the bullet back. He spent the night in the snow looking for the bullet. This was how things were dealt with in the Congress times.

Manish_Sharma wrote:
ks_sachin wrote: After we bomb them what then?
They unleash their H6K Bombers firing CJ-10 Cruise Missiles plus let loose those 100s of ballistic missiles upon our forces. War starts!
Yep sort of documented many years ago in this great book https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00FP ... bl_vppi_i1 :)

I remember Indian publishers refused to publish this book since there are too many details that are too realistic.

nam wrote:.... There was nothing permanent Indian structure, so the Chinese could walk in.

If there was a ITBP post, they cannot come in, without force.
One point Shiv ji is making on twitter, that wherever he sees chinese posts they have bunker + TRENCHES around that Bunker, while we only have Tents.

Please see excellent video by Gen V K Singh, this skirmish happened at finger 4. Chinkis planned to dislodge our troops from finger 4 :

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6zDnij2J1ZY

This happened after chinkis agreed to go away from the grey zone.
Once they started erecting more tents in the area, our troops went forcibly to remove them from place
Once our troops started taking agressive posture, they sent in reinforcements. My assumption is col got martyred in this attack. (They came with construction weapons).
Our troops called in for reinforcements and this is where his 2IC went for revenge, and they took as many chinking with them as they can.
Chinnis lost many and we lost our injured ones due to cold in the Galwan Valley.

==========================
Now this is just an incident. There is a method to this madness, again this is just one analysis from one person so take it FWIW :

Once India repelled Article 370 and took j and k and Ladakh in one swoop, it threw spanner in works for both CPEC road and porkis.
They went on overdrive to get us out from j and k and go back to status quo.
Remember two times there was closed door meeting requested by chinkis at behest of porkis to discuss Kashmir, both the times India was able to deflect it (The last one was after Covid hit).
Seeing that nothing worked I believe this plan was enacted to sort India out, because window for any misadventure in this area opens up only during summer months.
Porkis tried every trick in the book but all their plans failed, meanwhile India goes on aggression and starts targeting Porkis on border with unprecedented losses (and I say very big). Also the plans about recapturing Pok goes on overdrive with DD showing weather of G-B in our map.
Now chinkis had to act as this was the price they had to pay to protect its bitch and in turn shield CPEC from being a disaster because once we re-capture G-B all its dreams will remain sweet dreams.

This is a Kargil like misadventure to cut off our road to DBO, once they have that Karakoram pass is gone for India and prepares them to be on favorable position for future operations.

Also they are messaging that we have to be prepared to fight on three fronts (China - Pakistan - Nepal) if you wish to escalate.

===========================

It had to be done now, but bravery of our jawans threw everything out in open. May parmatma grants moksha to the departed souls.
They are waiting for India to make a mistake,

The response should be give them a war at our time of choosing, for now do aggressive assertion of border control on Chinese front..
Take as much area of Pok by salami slicing. The effect would be heard in Beijing.
They will have to declare open war if they want to come to aid of porkies, at that time they will committing the suicide.
Get some weaponry we badly need, prepare economy for war.
The aim should be around September and October. Then we reap porky meat in winter.
They want war they will get one, all the three.

Post by khan »

Thing is, if this becomes a total war situation, Chinese will lose a lot (as will we). These types of total war loses might be enough to embolden Taiwan to declare independence.

Can it happen - absolutely, Xi’s behavior as of late has been very aggressive. But does he want it to happen? I think it’s unlikely.

khan wrote:Thing is, if this becomes a total war situation, Chinese will lose a lot (as will we). These types of total war loses might be enough to embolden Taiwan to declare independence.

Can it happen - absolutely, Xi’s behavior as of late has been very aggressive. But does he want it to happen? I think it’s unlikely.
This is where you make mistake of reading Chinese, they want to assert themselves while they are strong and others weak. They want this war , they have prepared for this war. Just look at the CPEC command, porkies deploy a general rank officer into joint command last December with Chinese. He is not there to play kabbadi. All these brow beating is to get India to subdue without getting injured in the process but if push comes to shove they will.

This was always the plan but they believe now is the time, now or never. We should give them a war but not now in another few months when we want it.

Post by khan »

Leonard wrote:New Bridge in Galwan valley ..

https://twitter.com/MarkKumar3/status/1 ... 36/photo/1

Who is this idiot posting pictures like these on Twitter at a time like this?

Manish_Sharma wrote:
Rony wrote:
Some in forces favour ‘limited action’ to send message to China .

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/ind ... 453968.cms
Whether it remains "limited" or not isn't in the hands of one party. What if other side doesn't allow it to stay "limited"? These people if they had guts would have said "action" without adding "limited" to it. That would have shown "guts" for aar paar ki ladai.
Limited action has a meaning here Manish. Their response would be based on a question no. Do you know what question was asked?
Please just pause before calling the names....

khan wrote:

The bridge does look impressive to me, better than the bridges in Delhi for sure.
Kamran Husain

Post by Kamran Husain »

Kamran Husain wrote:No more of this please.

If one is upset with the Govt of the day, please run silent, run deep as the IN submariners say. We can't be seen to do politicking, even if that was not the intent anyhow, during the course of a conflict. The PRC deeply monitors and encourages such efforts, and we have to nip it in the bud.

Post conflict, you can exercise all the right to dissent and ask for any corrective measures. But during the conflict, request you to to hold the course.

Mod note
Roger

krishna_krishna wrote:Please see excellent video by Gen V K Singh, this skirmish happened at finger 4. Chinkis planned to dislodge our troops from finger 4 :

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6zDnij2J1ZY

This happened after chinkis agreed to go away from the grey zone.
Once they started erecting more tents in the area, our troops went forcibly to remove them from place
Once our troops started taking agressive posture, they sent in reinforcements. My assumption is col got martyred in this attack. (They came with construction weapons).
Our troops called in for reinforcements and this is where his 2IC went for revenge, and they took as many chinking with them as they can.
Chinnis lost many and we lost our injured ones due to cold in the Galwan Valley.

==========================
Now this is just an incident. There is a method to this madness, again this is just one analysis from one person so take it FWIW :

Once India repelled Article 370 and took j and k and Ladakh in one swoop, it threw spanner in works for both CPEC road and porkis.
They went on overdrive to get us out from j and k and go back to status quo.
Remember two times there was closed door meeting requested by chinkis at behest of porkis to discuss Kashmir, both the times India was able to deflect it (The last one was after Covid hit).
Seeing that nothing worked I believe this plan was enacted to sort India out, because window for any misadventure in this area opens up only during summer months.
Porkis tried every trick in the book but all their plans failed, meanwhile India goes on aggression and starts targeting Porkis on border with unprecedented losses (and I say very big). Also the plans about recapturing Pok goes on overdrive with DD showing weather of G-B in our map.
Now chinkis had to act as this was the price they had to pay to protect its bitch and in turn shield CPEC from being a disaster because once we re-capture G-B all its dreams will remain sweet dreams.

This is a Kargil like misadventure to cut off our road to DBO, once they have that Karakoram pass is gone for India and prepares them to be on favorable position for future operations.

Also they are messaging that we have to be prepared to fight on three fronts (China - Pakistan - Nepal) if you wish to escalate.

===========================

It had to be done now, but bravery of our jawans threw everything out in open. May parmatma grants moksha to the departed souls.
They are waiting for India to make a mistake,

The response should be give them a war at our time of choosing, for now do aggressive assertion of border control on Chinese front..
Take as much area of Pok by salami slicing. The effect would be heard in Beijing.
They will have to declare open war if they want to come to aid of porkies, at that time they will committing the suicide.
Get some weaponry we badly need, prepare economy for war.
The aim should be around September and October. Then we reap porky meat in winter.
They want war they will get one, all the three.
Krishna you cannot do much there in winter?
Think of this from the options available to us perspective.

Post by khan »

krishna_krishna wrote:
This is where you make mistake of reading Chinese, they want to assert themselves while they are strong and others weak. They want this war , they have prepared for this war. Just look at the CPEC command, porkies deploy a general rank officer into joint command last December with Chinese. He is not there to play kabbadi. All these brow beating is to get India to subdue without getting injured in the process but if push comes to shove they will.

This was always the plan but they believe now is the time, now or never. We should give them a war but not now in another few months when we want it.
I could be wrong & maybe I am thinking what I want to think, because war is a horrible thing, but if the Chinese were serious about this, they would be whipping up nationalist frenzy in their own media - that hasn’t happened yet.

From what I can tell, if they start something now, they will get badly mauled - if not totally defeated. The only conflicts I have seen them undertake are conflicts where they think it will be walkovers like 1962, Vietnam (After they spent a long time fighting the US), salami slicing us, South China Sea islands etc.

I don’t really know any examples where they have have started anything with anyone with the will & capability to fight back. (That skirmish with Russia I don’t know enough to talk about - but my understanding is it was over some little island that they didn’t expect the Russians to fight back over - essentially salami slicing backfired there).

But there is a new man in power & he is a nut, so who the hell knows.

Manish_Sharma wrote:
nam wrote:.... There was nothing permanent Indian structure, so the Chinese could walk in.

If there was a ITBP post, they cannot come in, without force.
One point Shiv ji is making on twitter, that wherever he sees chinese posts they have bunker + TRENCHES around that Bunker, while we only have Tents.

Manish our bn once spent an entire tenure fortifying defences around one of the areas here.

I know what this means and things would have improved once 14Corps came into the pic.

Post by khan »

khan wrote:

I am sorry, but this really bothers me, can someone with a twitter account please privately message this idiot to not post these pictures?
Kamran Husain

Post by Kamran Husain »

Hi Larry

Personally, I feel that the government should have from April / May 2020 should have told the country that China was trying to alter the status quo in various parts of the LAC. It should have told the country that this is a serious situation but our forces are capable and there are enough boots on the ground to maintain the status quo. It should have asked all the political parties for support in this critical time. (We had economy trouble, migrant issue, lock down, corona increase- all happening simultaneously).

I think one of the main reasons why 1962 happened was because of public pressure. But why was the public pressure allowed to be built up to that level? I guess because the entire nation felt betrayed by China after the whole hindi chini bhai bhai fiasco. Government knew from the 1950's about the Chinese incursion but did not appraise the people about it.

Let us remember that only a well informed citizenry can take a correct decision. If the government does not want the public pressure to build up then it has to communicate the facts on the ground clearly.
ManuJ

Post by ManuJ »

The bridge is not in Galwan Valley, it's across Shyok river connecting Galwan Valley to the DBO road.
Multiple news outlets have given the length of the bridge as 60m which is just ridiculous. Probably missing a zero.
khan, don't worry about the picture. It's not a secret and GOI wants everyone to know about it.

Kamran ji, I am inclined to believe otherwise. Our country has its media more or less in the hands of the Leftist, with a few honourable folks being the bulwark against the leftists in our media.
The narrative would have been spun in an altogether different way in its tone and tenor. The government would have another area to handle along with,
Wuhan Virus
LOC
LAC
Economy
Migrant issues and other issues currently in play.