J & K news and discussion

Sri

Re: J & K news and discussion

Post by Sri »

Man, GOI has some ba11$... Leader of opposition being held and stopped from flying national flag...

VikasRaina wrote:Actually Bhagat Singh should not have thrown the bomb in the assembly nor distributed the pamphlets. See it hurt the British sentiments and gave fresh life to British resolve.
Instead He should have sent interlocutors to understand British PoV and sing hosannas in their praise.
Preferably let the clrown run this country while worrying about the economic growth and GDP. Why spoil the party when Brits were having fun at Indian cost.

PS: If you guys want Vina ji to support this Yatra , Make sure that the expense of this Yatra is paid only by Delhities.

geeth wrote:>>>>BJP top brass stopped at Jammu airport ahead of ‘Ekta Yatra’

They are released now...may be Omar's a$$ caught fire!
Don't count on it.
Raghavendra

Post by Raghavendra »

Woman courier of LeT arrested in Srinagar
Srinagar: A day after arresting a close aide of hardline Hurriyat Conference chairman Syed Ali Shah Geelani in a hawala case, police has arrested a woman courier of Lashkar-e-Toiba (LeT) and recovered Rs 3 lakh from her possession.

"On specific information, police station Safakadal arrested one woman courier from Eidgah area of the city last evening and recovered Rs 3 lakh from her," a police spokesman said.

He said 45-year-old Nighat Siddiqui, wife of Irshad Ahmad, was also carrying one leaf of LeT letter head at the time of the arrest.

The spokesman said the money was to be used for "disruptive purpose" in Srinagar and elsewhere in the Valley.

A case under relevant section of Ranbir Penal Code and Unlawful Activities Act, has been registered against her, he said.

The arrest of the woman comes a day after police arrested Ghulam Mohammad Bhat, a close aide of Geelani and head of legal cell of the Hurriyat, and recovered Rs 21.20 lakh hawala money from his possession.

A team of Delhi Police, which arrived here yesterday, has taken three day's transit remand for Bhat from a local court.

Bhat is presently undergoing treatment at SKIMS hospital Soura for head injury sustained during a scuffle between police and his relatives at the time of his arrest on Saturday.

The Delhi Police team are waiting Bhat's discharge from the hospital so that he can be taken to the Union capital for further investigations into the case.

Two other persons, from Kupwara and Sopore in North Kashmir, have also been arrested in connection with Bhat's case.

Militants waiting for chances to infiltrate: BSF
Srinagar: Militants across the Line of Control (LoC) in Pakistan-occupied Kashmir (PoK) are "waiting for chances" and have made several attempts to infiltrate to this side but have been unsuccessful so far, BSF Monday claimed.

"They (militants) are waiting for chances to infiltrate but the troops are on alert on the border, so far they have not been able to do anything this year.”

“In a sense they have tried (to infiltrate) but they have not been successful," Inspector General of Border Security Forces (Kashmir Frontier) Baljit Singh said.

Militants "have been trying and will be trying to infiltrate" as they continuously change their infiltration points depending on the climate in the area and the strength of troops in the region, he said.

However, there was no exact head count of militants active in the Valley and all the figures about them were speculations, Singh said.

"We can say in Kashmir Valley there are 250 to 300 militants but there is no exact head count," he said.

The intelligence inputs about the number of militants waiting across the border and LoC suggest a "large number" of militants are there, he added.

Sri wrote:Man, GOI has some ba11$... Leader of opposition being held and stopped from flying national flag...
No difference between British Empire and Congress Raj.

Arrested for raising National Flag in India!

Now people understand my question did India get Independence o Freedom in 1947?

and you praise them for having fortitude?

I guess you never saw or heard about Emergency from your elders.

Some taza khabar filtering in from my ebil coujins:

In a nice manouvre Leader of Opposition in Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha (Union Cabinet Rank and constitutional functionaries) landed in Jammu via chartered plane accompanied by Ananth Kumar MP (Kar). The city police of Jammu led by brave officers of JKP (who watched in silence when stone peltings took place) shut the terminal of the airport. The CISF sealed the perimeter of airport and did not let in any media or BJP workers who were gathered outside.

The city police chief tried to be more loyal than the king and tried to prevent Ms Swaraj and Mr Jaitley from deplaning itself :?: which they eventually did after a war of words. Further the police chief being the smart bulb he was served them with 144 orders and told them to go back :rotfl: . He was promptly told that 144 does not mean one needs a "visa/permit" to arrive anywhere it merely gives administration the power to stop a congregation of more than specified number of people under some conditions. Jaitley and Swaraj both being lawyers told him that under the relevant sections of CrPC and given the immunity of their posts he could at best take them in preventitive custody and nothing more. The police then tried to show some tough love to the two leaders, all the while Ms Swaraj was tweeting everything to the world. Apparently Jaitley dared the pulsiya chief to "deport" them and next thing he shall hear will be from courts under All India Service rules. Realizing the logjam and public scrutiny involved mobile phone of Ms Swaraj was snatched from her to prevent any transmission of information. Considering the import of the situation and the massive protocol and legal breaches perpetrated by the Jammu police in their heavy handed ness, PC asked OA to send in DGP JKP and Chief Secretary (J&K) to thrash out a solution/compromise.

All in all a good show of gandhigiri and naming-shaming of the government. I do not know what will happen at Lakhanpur bridge but this feisty exhange by leaders of opposition made my day. Jai Hind

Boss if EU leaders are commenting on our courts, lets face it were not an independant nation. Only Pakistan flag is allowed to be raised over Lal Chowk.

Arundhati, Geelani, Mirwaiz freely allowed to enter and go anywhere they like be it Kahmir, Mumbai or CHina, but if you are from a certain Right Wing Ideology you need a Visa to Travel within this country.

vina wrote:Yes, the BJP can absolutely be a part of the solution . But it seems hell bent on creating new problems and rekindling the fires that seem to be dying down, all for what, more electoral issues to sow and reap.Sorry. Shameful to say the least.
So raising Indian flag in an Indian State is shameful? Wow.

ramana wrote: Now people understand my question did India get Independence o Freedom in 1947?
Ramanaji, actually India got autonomy in 1947 after partition. The foreign policy and military (to some extent) are still under control of colonial masters.

By the way you are true on another point as well.

Congresswallahs put party first, nation next. Vinaji proves the same point - INC first, Nation be damned.

Baba wrote:I have a small house in small town India. I want to hoist a green flag over it.

I also demand a plebiscite to declare that 135 sq yd territory as sovereign nation. It is my right as a I live in a democracy. Please help my cause in the way you are helping that of J&K peace lovers.
Great! You should get in touch with Arundhati Roy. She claims to want to do just that, secede from the world in general and create a country of ONE with her own flag and her own little square plot. She will have tips on how to do that.
Mind you, I am a Hindu.
Arundhati Roy might not have any religion I am afraid and even if she did, might not identify with any particular one. Nonetheless, you two can have each other for company :mrgreen:

Maybe we should drop this right-left characterization. It is better to distinguish between Fascist and non-fasict right wing parties.

(1) One of the primary characterization of fascism is the concept of "one party one leader" - and it is the individual personality of the leader which defines the party, with
(2) a supreme leader whose words are beyond question and to be implemented without protests or doubts.
(3) Also most fascist supreme leaders have a mortal hatred of a particular community as the source of all deprivation for their own identity. It therefore becomes necessary for the target victims of fascists to be generally seen as socially, economically and intellectually more successful than fascists.

When people try to paint the BJP/RSS as fasicsts they use primarily the (3) as an argument - carefully suppressing the "success" criterion.

Actually what OA and NC has done in J&K, and the Congress has consistently done since inception - is follow (1), (2) and (3) to the letter. It early crystallized around the concept of one-party as the sole legacy of "independence" with a Nehru dynasty to rpovide the "one supreme leader". This was exactly the replica model for the Abdullah's in Kashmir. For both parties and leading groupings - the so-called intellectual leadership of the "Hindus" and its so-called "forward sections" were the hated "other" - the more successful, "evil" who had managed to dominate society.

Both Hitler and Mussolini were actually elected to power through regular elections, even if there are accusations of manipulation in the latter phases. They were formally invited to form governments according to procedures laid out by the "democratic" and constitutional authorities and isntitutions. This is for those who will be tempted to cite "electotal" victoris for NC and the Congress as a disprover for fascism.

Since NC and the Congress both satisfy the typical three most important criteria for fascism, it is better to call them Fascist parties separating them from the BJP which is merely a Right wing [and not even qualifies to be called authoritarian] party.

What we are seeing in J&K is a fascist repsonse from those fascist parties who are in state and rashtryia power.
Last edited by brihaspati on 24 Jan 2011 20:35, edited 1 time in total.

Actually preventing flag hoisting would be a violation of Flag code of India.
HOISTING/DISPLAY/USE OF NATIONAL FLAG BY MEMBERS OF PUBLIC, PRIVATE
ORGANISATIONS, EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTIONS, ETC.
Section I
2.1 There shall be no restriction on the display of the National Flag by members of
general public, private organizations, educational institutions, etc., except to the extent
provided in the Emblems and Names (Prevention of Improper Use) Act, 1950* and the
Prevention of Insults to National Honour Act, 1971** and any other law enacted on the
subject. Keeping in view the provisions of the aforementioned Acts—
(i) the Flag shall not be used for commercial purposes in violation of the Emblem and
Names (Prevention of Improper Use) Act, 1950;
(ii) the Flag shall not be dipped in salute to any person or thing;
(iii) the Flag shall not be flown at half-mast except on occasions on which the Flag is
flown at half-mast on public buildings in accordance with the instructions issued by
the Government;

2.2 A member of public, a private organization or an educational institution may hoist/
display the National Flag on all days and occasions, ceremonial or otherwise. Consistent with
the dignity and honour of the National Flag—
praksam

Post by praksam »

SushmaSwarajBJP Sushma Swaraj
'You are under arrest' they say.
SushmaSwarajBJP Sushma Swaraj
Arrested - cars - separate - dont know where to ?
Raghavendra

Post by Raghavendra »

vina wrote:Exactly! Now, look at the first thing the Islamist nutters want to target. Music, dance, personal freedoms, an open mind and an open society (exactly the things the BJP nutters seem to get their chaddies into a twist as well, remember valentine's day? jeans?).
Who banned the book Sonia-The Unknown?
Congress party

Who banned the book Nehru Gandhi Parivar: Secular ya Varnasankar?
Congress party

Who banned the book Daniel Patrick Moynihan : A Portrait in Letter of an American Visionary?
Congress party

Who banned the book Reminiscences of the Nehru Age?
Congress party

So who is the nutter here?
Congress party afraid of books that expose its corruption that kills millions of Indians every year

So which party is restricting personal freedom?
Congress party

Its evry citizen right to hoist national flag and congress delhi sultanate imposes its black laws to arrest people unlawfully, divert trains unlawfully, restrict freedom of movement unlawfully and now send congress chamcas online to defend their black deeds.

Kuch toh sharm karo nalayak congression

RamaY wrote: Congresswallahs put party first, nation next. Vinaji proves the same point - INC first, Nation be damned.
I had respected and supported INC because of Shastriji and Indira but after them their leaders' intents and actions are proving what you have mentioned and though BJP wants to divide my state...I see some sincerity in what ever it opts...and who cares what point Vinaji proves....majority of his posts are name calling BJP which is a national party too from the times of India's birth....any decency?

^^finally some sense prevailed on JKP of Jammu City! They did not want to let them in to claim to the separatists that "ek pair bhi nahi rakhne diya sar-zameen e Kashmir par" (we did not allow them to set foot on Kashmir's land). Arrest you can with all its connotations but nothing beyond that JKP.
Raghavendra

Post by Raghavendra »

brihaspati wrote:(1) One of the primary characterization of fascism is the concept of "one party one leader" - and it is the individual personality of the leader which defines the party, with
(2) a supreme leader whose words are beyond question and to be implemented without protests or doubts.
(3) Also most fascist supreme leaders have a mortal hatred of a particular community as the source of all deprivation for their own identity. It therefore becomes necessary for the target victims of fascists to be generally seen as socially, economically and intellectually more successful than fascists.
Many thanks for explaining fascism in simple language.

Now time to find which leader fits this profile.

1) one party one leader -Congress party, Sonia gandhi
2) a supreme leader whose words are beyond question and to be implemented without protests or doubts -Sonia gandhi
3) fascist supreme leaders have a mortal hatred of a particular community as the source of all deprivation for their own identity -Sonia's visceral hatred towards Hindus and Hindu gurus, killed Swami Laxminand, arrested and foisted false cases against Shankaracharya and now targeting Swami Aseemanand
Last edited by Raghavendra on 24 Jan 2011 20:39, edited 1 time in total.

jamwal wrote:Not bad. Except for the fact that there are no Kashmiri Pandits left in the valley. Survivors are scattered all over and not organised enough.
See, that is exactly why you should do what I suggested. Get the Pandits together under one platform and start a major media tamasha and make noise about "Kashmiris going back to home for independence day" . Call the bluff of the separatists who claim that the Pandits are always welcome and keep promising "security" and "peace" and "Kashmiriyat" and all that airy fairy things. How about independence day of 2011?. Organize something like that and you would have drawn some incredible amount of global attention to yourself. Two can play this game you know.

If the separatists play the victim and a tear jerker worthy of a 1960s Bollywood movie, you can do it too and can do it better! Get BBC/CNN and other international TV media to put out your sob story (there is a massive receptive global audience out there, especially with all the shenanigans the Islamist groups throughout the world, esp in Europe and America have been upto, it is a cinch and should be easy) and you can have a slam dunk. Once you do that , Boorkha Auty will go hysterical in getting behind your cause and histronic rants about the "righteousness" of it all will follow. Boorkah and the rest of the Dilli Media will sound like a bunch of clods if they don't echo the oh so fashionable global media.

But no, the Pandits are largely cushy sitting in Dilli and all over the rest of India (there is at least one Pandit kid in my daughter's class at school). Get worked up and start organizing. If you expect others /rest of India to do what you should be doing, you will be waiting forever. Be the vanguard and the rest of the country can back you to the hilt. But let the BJP do it's politicking and trying to hijack Kashmir, it is just going to antagonize the Kashmiri Muslim even further and it is counter productive for you. Get organized under a "Kashmir " banner, start getting the non separatists Kashmiri muslims into your tent, that is the way I would think makes most sense.

vina saar,

OK, so you know some pandit kid in some dilli classroom. So, it follows that 'em pandits are all cushy in Dilli, eh? I think the insinuation there that the KP community are leading cushy lives was kinda unseemly. only.

Anyway, always easy to lecture victims of ethnic cleansing than provoke the islamist bigots in the valley that did the ethnocide, I guess.
Last edited by Hari Seldon on 24 Jan 2011 20:46, edited 1 time in total.

The congress was organized to show the colonials that the Indian natives could rule themselves. You know show themselves a civilized. The non-violence movement was of a piece with that. Sometimes the congress wallahs can be more loyal than the masters.

Still don't know why the Pandits left so easily. And now don't go back. Is there violence and intimidation, sure, but there a couple of hundred thousand pandits. They could easily start a proper return movement. If anyone should raise the flag in Srinagar I should be them. Preferably in front of world media.
Last edited by Theo_Fidel on 24 Jan 2011 20:47, edited 1 time in total.
Raghavendra

Post by Raghavendra »

jamwal wrote:Not bad. Except for the fact that there are no Kashmiri Pandits left in the valley. Survivors are scattered all over and not organised enough.
See, that is exactly why you should do what I suggested. Get the Pandits together under one platform and start a major media tamasha and make noise about "Kashmiris going back to home for independence day" . Call the bluff of the separatists who claim that the Pandits are always welcome and keep promising "security" and "peace" and "Kashmiriyat" and all that airy fairy things. How about independence day of 2011?. Organize something like that and you would have drawn some incredible amount of global attention to yourself. Two can play this game you know.
So why dont you do all these things?

Why should congressi like you dictate terms to BJP on what should be its mode of protest?

Why are you restricting the personal freedoms of BJP and dictating terms to it?

If you have khujli, scratch it, dont tell others to do it. :mrgreen: Will create a messy situation

^^No wonder MKG wanted to disband the INC after the Briturds left.

IN any case, merit-based and non-dynastic INC leadership has proven to be patriotic and visionary.

Anyway, always easy to lecture victims of ethnic cleansing than provoke the islamist bigots in the valley that did the ethnocide, I guess.
Nope. You should go back and show those who did that to you that you are alive and well and back to kick their ar*es and yeah, if they try that "cleansing" stunt once more in the changed circumstances, they are going to get 72s very quickly indeed from the security forces! What better way to needle them than to show that you are fine, you survived and stick it right in the islamist bigot's faces what needles them most.. worshipping idols, women dancing with men, women uncovered and alcohol flowing freely and of course raise the tricolor!. Just go home and do it!Call the bluff of the separatists I say.

But the way to get that message across has to be smart. Use the brains and not the balls I suppose.The BJP numbskulls with their hate baggage you simply don't need. No one can stop the Kashmiri pandits from going home to organize a flag raising . Not OA, Not MMS , not old stiff Gilani, not Mirwaiz, not any JKLF retard, no one.

The history about INC it's inception should go to other thread but if one were to summarize the kind of leaders it produces an old adage would suffice 'Lahu lagake shaheedon mein shamil' (Smear the blood on oneself and masquerade as martyrs).

BTW NDTV reports that Sushma Swaraj, Arun Jaitley et.al have been "arrested" and moved to an undisclosed location.
NDTV
Abhi_G

Post by Abhi_G »

vina wrote: But the way to get that message across has to be smart. Use the brains and not the balls I suppose.The BJP numbskulls with their hate baggage you simply don't need. No one can stop the Kashmiri pandits from going home to organize a flag raising . Not OA, Not MMS , not old stiff Gilani, not Mirwaiz, not any JKLF retard, no one.
So there are no pandits or Kashmiri Hindus in the ranks going to Srinagar?
Last edited by Abhi_G on 24 Jan 2011 20:58, edited 1 time in total.

This is turning out to be a full blown fiasco for the Congress.
The congress spokespersons on TV are not coherent enough in their replies to the simple question that the BJP has raised. This is almost reminiscent of the Emergency that Indira Gandhi had applied.
The issue has gotten really unfavourable for the Congress ever since the Pakistani flag was raised at Lal Chowk.

The congress may take all means to win this battle, but this issue might ensure that they lose the war at the next elections. Also some heads will roll in GoI because of this - I wonder if Yuvraj might make his entry now.

Vina wrote:The people to raise the flag are the Kashmiris themselves.
Like this?

Or this?

Ajatshatru wrote:using words like 'cushy' etc when talking about them? .. you would lose all sense of perspective in your blind, visceral hate....
The ones I see in Bangalore (a couple of my neighbors in the apt complex) are all well integrated long time well settled folks in IT/Vity and other stuff and are pretty decently off and live life just like any other Indians and not the stories we hear of them languishing in migrant camps in Jammu.

These are the ones I think I would like to see getting more agitated about and getting more active if you really want to see change come about.
kittoo

Post by kittoo »

vina wrote: But no, the Pandits are largely cushy sitting in Dilli and all over the rest of India
Wow! Never expected this from such an experiences poster. Such blatant hatred for a party that judgement is completely clouded.

Nope. You should go back and show those who did that to you that you are alive and well and back to kick their ar*es and yeah, if they try that "cleansing" stunt once more in the changed circumstances, they are going to get 72s very quickly indeed from the security forces! What better way to needle them than to show that you are fine, ...
How are the Pandits supposed to guarantee that? Isn't it the job of the GOI and the K&K govt. to ensure that KPs are settled back in their home state and protected?
But the way to get that message across has to be smart. Use the brains and not the balls I suppose.The BJP numbskulls with their hate baggage you simply don't need.
What hate baggage are you talking about here? Spell it out.

This whole thing is a fight between those in the administration who are vehemently opposing UPA policies and MMS. Period. BJP is just a pawn being used for getting maximum effect.
Abhi_G

Post by Abhi_G »

vina wrote: These are the ones I think I would like to see getting more agitated about and getting more active if you really want to see change come about.
There may be some merit in this.

But then is this not a repeat of the same silence from sections not affected by partition of Bengal and Punjab?

Unaffected ones of India just remain silent since it did not happen to them? That is exactly what INC did with the refugees from Punjab and more specifically in Bengal.

^^^Gagan, let's not get carried away. All this will be forgotten by next week, I can assure you of that. Down the memory hole only.

Besides, I place full faith n trust in the innate democratic wisdom of my countrymen in the jammu and ladakhregions where, despite police brutalities against peaceful protestors in Jammu, the 2009 LS polls saw the INC take those seats only. Now I understand (assuming no EVM tampering) why the INC believes it can get away with murder and more against us dumb stoopid yindooze only. Unless we mobilize, plarize and identify as a community and thereafter vote accordingly for our interests to be protected, our interests as a community will most certainly not be protected only. Period. This is going OT. Sorry for the diversion.

Well, I've lived in Delhi and Jammu long enough to know that the Pandits who were displaced from the Valley are not living it up. Most are living in urban ghettos and are somehow scrapping by. People who had their own businesses and shops are now working for others or as daily wage earners.
Pandit kids are frequently around asking people for money for school fees - I know because I actually went to a school for a vaccination camp and spoke to a few teachers there. A few NGOs provide books for the kids, but there are so many displaced people around.

Gagan wrote:Well, I've lived in Delhi and Jammu long enough to know that the Pandits who were displaced from the Valley are not living it up. Most are living in urban ghettos and are somehow scrapping by. People who had their own businesses and shops are now working for others or as daily wage earners.
Pandit kids are frequently around asking people for money for school fees - I know because I actually went to a school for a vaccination camp and spoke to a few teachers there. A few NGOs provide books for the kids, but there are so many displaced people around.
All the more reason for the KP to organize and get their story across. They are totally absent from the discourse. If you ask around in Bangalore, you run into them as colleagues and neigbhors and in PTA meetings and playing with your kid in the park. Few , if any know the story of the ones in Jammu and probably some by lanes of Dilli.

GET ORGANIZED , GET SMART and start fighting your own battles and for heaven's sake, leave the BJP out. They and their hate baggage of long time baiting of the Muslims is like waving a red rag in front of a bull to any Muslim.
Last edited by vina on 24 Jan 2011 21:11, edited 1 time in total.

the Pandits are largely cushy sitting in Dilli and all over the rest of India
Well I didnt think I will see this day in Brf. Should I laugh at this day??

Just because Congress treats KPs like shit, you are the ones who decide how the KPs should organise?
ManuT

Post by ManuT »

I am still somewhere on page 61, so my apologies if someone already posted along these lines. (I am slightly behind the curve on BRF he he.)

About the Tricolour (flag) itself. Till recently about 10 years ago, when a Mr Jindal got it cleared from SC that the mango people are bright enough to fly it by themselves without cutting their fingers, that the mango people could do so.

So this Lal chowk flag issue could not have come up earlier, as GOI would have easily booked the opposition party cadres for showing disrespect to the flag! 

The current incumbent party represents the Govt. should not confuse itself into thinking itself to be THE Govt. and ony itself to be worthy of unfurling the Tricolour.  

Knowing what is known of GOI's handling of the Rubaiyya kidnapping (or the Bhopal) case one cannot just blindly trust GOI to take care of the interest of Indians. Hence, the current track II smell like a foul odor.

Only by the interactions of the various moving parts of the Parliamentary Democracy (and that's what is happenning) can one know what is going on. 

What the current event is doing is scratching the surface between theory and practice. Do Indians have a right to the Flag? In a public place? In J&K? In the valley? The opposition party is saying, ok let's test this.
Calling humans by other names is racist, IMO.     
Passport is not a right and can be denied by GOI.

vina wrote: GET ORGANIZED , GET SMART and start fighting your own battles and for heaven's sake, leave the BJP out. They and their hate baggage of long time baiting of the Muslims is like waving a red rag in front of a bull to any Muslim.
and who attacked the KPs, yes I know the djinns. This is getting ridiculous