sanjaykumar wrote:Hindi came from Khari Boli not directly from Prakrit.
khari boli is hindi by most considerations.
It is not so much that Urdu comes from Hindi that they both come from Prakrit. Historically they are same onlee.
by the time mughals came into India, hindi was already an established language. of course it wasn't identical with today's hindi but urdu came into being as a combination of persian and hindi.
we can continue in some more appropriate thread if you want.
Karan Dixit wrote:Your argument does not appeal to me because it attempts to establish a parallel between democratic and tolerant India and intolerant monarchy called UQ .
My friend, I request you to keep aside the "establish a parallel between" part for a while
1. The Muslims (or any one) who whines that UK is discriminating against them always have the option to go back to a place which they feel is best suited for them. Why this attitude that Muslims (or any one) can march up to any place and then start "demanding" that the people who were there, should now behave in a manner which should please the new comers??
2. The monarchy in UK I feel is a kind of a "rubber stamp" with the decision making authority firmly with the elected Parliament. And the parliament is elected in a democratic manner. It is very much to what exists in India as well (infact we are modelled on the British Parliamentary democracy ).
Sorry, I can only consider the whines of UK Muslims as just the standard rhetoric of the Muslim society in every part of the world; a society which assumes that it is their god given right to march in every where but showing no signs of assimilating with the people who were originally there.
In a civilized society like India , everyone gets to live a dignified life whether they are tough Punjabi or thin rice eating Bengali .
Oh.. I never knew that every thing was peaceful in India . I am living in India for the last 30+ years, we have our own fair share of regionalism, communalism etc. Groups have also fought based on that. India is not a Somalia or Afghanistan, but I dont think we have reached a stage that every single individual leads a "dignified" life . And yes the definition of "dignity" could also be subjective.
i think you are mistaken. the british like almost all other races/societies have a streak of xenophobism. in their homelands, they have always first reacted against and then assimilated migrants - be it hugenots, east european jews, carribean blacks or south asian browns, and now east european former communists turned capitalists, somalis and other assorted asylum seekers. every new community experiences prejudice and then eventually becomes absorbed. right now UK society is at a stage of having absorbed the 'jewboys' and is halfway through absorbing the 'curryboys'. in my observation there is no specific anti-muslim structural bias - that does not equally apply to other communities. recent events have brought the spotlight back onto muslim communities because of radicalism and despite all the political correctness, there is definitely a murmur of a backlash at the street level. i have to say that the modern british are quite dhimmified, they put up with a lot of direct provocation from the islamists, and frankly they are entitled to hit back at this islamist provocation.
why are muslims in 'khatra'? lack of education, lack of a culture of progressiveness... these might be far larger factors at work than pure discrimination. modern british society is relatively meritocratic - which is why the east european jews, indians, chinese and west africans are generally thriving economically, and therefore culturally. These communities are generally better educated and more affluent than the white average.
Even the far more 'backward' Sylheti migrants have through hard work and enterprise pulled themselves up from the bottom of the heap, which is remarkable considering where they have come from socio-economically. What then is special about the Mirpuri ummah, that keeps them locked up in the Northern ghetto's in poverty, crime and radicalism?
perhaps it was their inner pakistaniyat all along?
Ameet wrote:"We pulled the plug on overseas recruitment far too quickly," said Professor Derek Gallen, who is postgraduate dean of medical training for Wales.
"[We didn't] realise what the implications of that action would be two, three or four years down the line," he added.
As a doctor who had to leave UK thanks to "pulling the plug".. I'd say serves them right a lot of them have overflown into land of Oz or just returned back home.. their loss..
there's a recent channel4 documentary on the HMS daring, royal navy's latest type 45 AAW destroyer. at the end of the program there's some footage from an exercise it took part in. now guess what the simulated enemy were exercising against ? 2 talwar class frigates, a tanker named aditya and jaguars armed with sea eagles and a couple of other(not Indian) types like OHP.
Ameet wrote:"We pulled the plug on overseas recruitment far too quickly," said Professor Derek Gallen, who is postgraduate dean of medical training for Wales.
"[We didn't] realise what the implications of that action would be two, three or four years down the line," he added.
As a doctor who had to leave UK thanks to "pulling the plug".. I'd say serves them right a lot of them have overflown into land of Oz or just returned back home.. their loss..
I have heard of a couple of cases of suicides directly related to the shattering of the UQ dream. Quite a few went into depression and probably squandered away promising careers.
UQ will have no trouble attracting junior doctors from India to come and work in the UQ. Even though standards have slipped recently, UQ experience is still considered gold standard in the middle y-east. Non training posts are still an attractive option for junior doctors from India looking for a quick buck.
A taxi driver drove his vehicle on a shooting spree across a tranquil stretch of northwest England on Wednesday, methodically killing 12 people and wounding 25 others before turning the gun on himself, officials said.
Rahul M wrote:there's a recent channel4 documentary on the HMS daring, royal navy's latest type 45 AAW destroyer. at the end of the program there's some footage from an exercise it took part in. now guess what the simulated enemy were exercising against ? 2 talwar class frigates, a tanker named aditya and jaguars armed with sea eagles and a couple of other(not Indian) types like OHP.
Mahendra wrote:UQ will have no trouble attracting junior doctors from India to come and work in the UQ. Even though standards have slipped recently, UQ experience is still considered gold standard in the middle y-east. Non training posts are still an attractive option for junior doctors from India looking for a quick buck.
Also the 'bing' factor might be too hard to resist..
With all due respect, you can trawl the internet for all sorts of stories about bigotry, racism etc in the UK, the fact remains YES these incidents happen, are they widespread?? NO they are not.
Where do you actually live?? in the UK or elsewhere??
Have you actually visited the UK, if so for how long? what was your direct experience??
People vote with their feet, if it was that hostile here, then quite frankly we would not be here.
most of the desi-docs i met over the past five years who had come to the UK had done so primarily for monetary reasons, not for training purposes. however, since many had made substantial investments to come do so, several found themselves stranded when they were unable to get paid (non experience) jobs afterwards. yes it was distressing, but some did find jobs and get well established. others had to return. in all highly specialised professional fields there is always a time lag problem - a gap in the market generates extra economic opportunity which is then chased by many and the long time period taken to become established means that the gap could be closed before all the pipeline of arrivals has cleared. the same problem exists in other highly qualified fields too. sometimes its all about the timing and there are no sure fire ways of doing it.
in the UK's case, being part of the EU means that they have to give preference to EU candidates by law before they can offer the job to non-EU candidates, which makes things even harder. On top of that, the new government has announced substantial cuts to the national health service, if you're a doctor and thinking of coming in the next couple of years, please think things through very carefully.
bideshis seem to pay very particular attention to psyops videos and putting their best foot forward in defence eqpt.
witness all that time lapse video in shipyard was recorded and used. I have seen such used to show CVN construction as well.
why cant we for instance produce a similar slick looking iphoneish product for the Shivalik ? or the P28 ?
Carl_T wrote:Enjoy Sanskrit? You cannot be serious. How can you enjoy a language that has like 3 different past tenses...good reason it is a dead language.
The most radical plan will involve importing a Canadian-style "star chamber" in which members of the cabinet will be forced to justify their budgets in front of a group of ministerial and civil service heavyweights.
This follows the example of the former Liberal Canadian prime minister Jean Chrétien, who turned a fiscal deficit of 9.1% of GDP in the mid-1990s into a surplus by slashing federal budgets by 20%. Under his "nothing off the table" approach, ministers had to justify their budgets in front of colleagues.
It’s not brown man’s burden
S U D ES H N A S E N on INDOPHOBIA
IT’S LIKE those invisible mosquito bites, the ones you ignore — until they give you malaria. Slowly, invisibly, the level of xenophobia, and more specifically Indophobia — yes, there is such a concept, says Wiki — is rising, in inverse correlation to the respective economic indicators of the developed and emerging markets. Since I’m not Chinese, I can’t speak for them, but increasingly, Indians working in the professional and business communities in the UK, and I hear in Europe as well, are getting the feeling we’re living and working in hostile territory.
Minor irritants in isolation, but it’s building up. It’s the one thing I’ve always appreciated about Britain, despite everything else that’s falling apart. It’s not racist, and it used to be the most welcoming and tolerant of foreigners in the EU. We’re used to being asked if we speak Indian. We’re used to being slightly patronised. After all, we’re strangers in a strange land. But it’s becoming a bit of a strain to be the ‘front-office’ face of the accidental victor in this shift of economic power from west to east thing. We didn’t invent the global financial crisis. We didn’t decide that European employers should go belly up and sell out to Indian owners. We’re not to blame that we still have jobs, savings and, well, a reasonable lifestyle, while the locals don’t.
I’ve been asking around — the anecdotal evidence, as market researchers say, is mounting, unfortunately; most of which I can’t even mention. When job cuts are being discussed at the office lunch, Indians will be told, ‘but you can always go back and get a great job in India’. Or an acquaintance tells me, “Ever since we bought the BMW, our neighbours on the street stopped talking to us.”
At least three rather anguished Indian businessmen types have asked me why, for instance, the British press is getting so negative about India; “Why do they keep trying to find fault, unnecessarily?” Maybe because it’s human nature to be resentful or sceptical when you keep reeling off double-digit numbers, and they’re usually working in percentage points? I dunno. Ask them or the PRs.
Others ask me why, when they’re FDI investors, setting up companies, hiring locals, creating jobs and growth, paying chunky taxes, and contributing to the UK economy, they face resentment. Maybe because, unlike India, this has never been a capital-starved country till now, so they don’t still see you as some kind of economic saviour? I’m just guessing here. I just know I pop a lot more BP pills these days while I’m out and about to avoid busting a gut from periodic attacks of indignation.
It’s definitely not racism, because the hostility is quite as much, if not more, from British Asians. It’s not post-colonial stress syndrome either. No young Briton gives a hang about empire; that’s only among the WWII generation. If you talk to the Brits, they’ll insist it’s just the anti-immigrant xenophobia sweeping what they call Middle England and working classes — the UK aam aadmi — an issue that dominated recent elections. Nothing to worry, Britain’s really, really open for business. Okay, but how do we go about transacting that business? The buyer-seller, employer-employee, owner-tenant, supplicant-donor, Alpha male equations are changing, at the micro level. It creates for a lot of friction. While all that talk about economic power moving east sounds terribly nice in talking head conferences, nobody seems to be writing any management books on how to manage the transition at ground zero.
The kind of people I trust for cross-border insights tell me I’m picking up signals of this socio-economic shift. There’s a generation of Europeans and Brits (and Americans) who never dreamt of living with economic insecurity — and are suddenly faced with it. Nobody wants to lie down and meekly surrender power to the other side of the world. The angst and envy ascribed to the underprivileged is becoming socially-upwardly mobile. That argument I can buy — after all, I rarely have to interact with a typical Sun reader, the kind who’s being blamed by the local establishment for all this xenophobia, in the course of my professional life.
On the Indian side, while most Indian-Indians are used to blatant gender, community, caste or class biases — rampant all over Indian workplaces — what they don’t understand is being pilloried for success. We worship success; the Brits don’t.
Besides, in the last five years, a new class of Indians has migrated out to Europe following the globalisation trail of India Inc. They won’t stay in desighettos, they insist on having nice homes in nice neighbourhoods, reading their Kindles and iPhones in the tube, sending kids to private schools, driving around in swish cars. They’re seen splashing out at restaurants and shopping malls. If they’re doing business or working here, they’re doing it on their own terms; many have come with wider global experience. They don’t exactly see why they should defer to their juniors or suppliers, not their bosses.
As an aside, though, trust me, there’s very little conspicuous consumption — not even a fraction of the level common in India now; it just isn’t done in this culture, and the habit of understatement rubs off. Meanwhile, I think I should ask for a hardship allowance now, like expats in India do. Why should heat and dust be any different from living with Indophobia? Or being in the frontlines of the next big socio-economic warfront be any different from other kinds of political risk?
Besides, in the last five years, a new class of Indians has migrated out to Europe following the globalisation trail of India Inc. They won’t stay in desighettos, they insist on having nice homes in nice neighbourhoods, reading their Kindles and iPhones in the tube
partially true, that is probably 10% of the new migrants, 90% are the IT boys and girls who have had a vernacular education, been to a 2nd tier university and come from the smaller towns. they have oil in their hair and eat daal-chawal in the office canteen at lunch time and have a tendency of calling anyone senior to them "sir" or "madam" despite being told not to and never saying no to that person despite there being no hope in hell of the answer being yes. until they feel as comfortable at the dorchester grill room as in chennai dosa..., etc., etc.. this is the rise of the real middle class of India, not just the priviledged few who went to the tier 1 universities and learnt to speak convent english and who look down or askance at their 'poor cousins'. its not until this generation become globally confident enough to call the 'white man's bluff' will india become a great power
UK: Convicts converting to Islam for jail 'benefits'
June 08, 2010 15:39 IST
A substantial number of prisoners in UK jails have converted to Islam to gain the advantages of being part of powerful Muslim gangs including special food and time-out for Friday prayers in jails, reported UK-based Times Online.
Chief Inspector of Prisons Dame Anne Owers, in her report titled 'Muslim Prisoner's Experiences, said the number of Muslim prisoners had risen from 2,513 in 1994 to 9,795 in 2008 -- a rise of 6 percent in 14 years.
However, Dame Anne has warned that the rise in conversion was a worrying fact as "the prison experience will create or entrench alienation and disaffection, so that prisons release into the community young men who are more likely to offend, or even embrace extremism".
She has suggested that the staffers of jails must be proactive with the prisoners to arrest the rise in conversions.
According to the report, several high-profile terrorists were jailed recently but less than 1 in 100 Muslim inmates were convicted of terrorism. The reason is, she says, prison staffers are suspicious about Muslims but treating Muslim inmates as potential or actual extremists risks could amount to radicalism.
"Many Muslim prisoners stressed the positive and rehabilitative role that Islam played in their lives, and the calm that religious observance could induce in a stressed prison environment. This was in marked contrast to the suspicion that religious observance, and particularly conversion or reversion, tended to produce among staff," the report said.
Prison staff of high-security jails fear non-Muslims may also have been converted forcibly.
Among the special benefits of being a Muslim includes halal menu, a menu that is considered better than the usual meals. Also, Muslims are exempted from work during Friday prayers.
The report quoted a prisoner saying: "Food good too, initially this is what converted me."
Another reason for conversions among convicts is that Muslim gangs are powerful.
One inmate quoted in the report said: "I've got loads of close brothers here. They share with you, we look out for each other."
Besides, in the last five years, a new class of Indians has migrated out to Europe following the globalisation trail of India Inc. They won’t stay in desighettos, they insist on having nice homes in nice neighbourhoods, reading their Kindles and iPhones in the tube
partially true, that is probably 10% of the new migrants, 90% are the IT boys and girls who have had a vernacular education, been to a 2nd tier university and come from the smaller towns. they have oil in their hair and eat daal-chawal in the office canteen at lunch time and have a tendency of calling anyone senior to them "sir" or "madam" despite being told not to and never saying no to that person despite there being no hope in hell of the answer being yes. until they feel as comfortable at the dorchester grill room as in chennai dosa..., etc., etc.. this is the rise of the real middle class of India, not just the priviledged few who went to the tier 1 universities and learnt to speak convent english and who look down or askance at their 'poor cousins'. its not until this generation become globally confident enough to call the 'white man's bluff' will india become a great power
just my thoughts
When I was a boy, we had a "servant boy" at home imported from Bangalore to Poona it was Poona then). My late mother attempted to teach him some English and I recall being amused (I was a schoolboy of the so called "Convent education type") when I heard him mispronounce the word "challenge" as "ko-hallanj". We still call him Kohallanj. His son got into one of Bangalore's numerous engineering colleges and became a "software engineer" - and when least heard from was working in the UK.
Your story has a positive ending, it is this kind of social mobility that we need to see more of.
I have a similar type of story.
Many years ago, about 18 infact, I used to work for some wealthy Indians in the UK. They all went to the top schools in India.
They employed two of the laziest, dumbest parasites you could imagine.
One was the daughter of a judge in India, she was obviously employed because the judge could be or was a useful "asset"
The boy's father was a senior Indian diplomat/MEA official.
They would always boast of their high society contacts and what schools/universities they attended. Always sneering & mocking our London accents & the fact that my father came to the UK as a Labourer.
The girl would literally spend all day picking her nose (in full view of the office), reading papers or shopping.
One day I overheard them in conversation, they were discussing job opportunities in India & elsewhere, UK, USA etc.
They resented the fact that someone without their high society contacts could
A/attend university
B/Attain professional qualifications
C/Earn more money than them
D/Have a management position & give them orders.
The boy says to her, and the words sickened me so much I remember them to this day.
"Education in India, needs to be made so expensive that only the rich can afford it, that is the only way we can safeguard our position"
The little ba$tard reads the news on an Indian TV channel now!!
One of the best Indian authors on the subject of Social mobility is Gurcharan Dass, I read his book India Unbound.
munna wrote:Quite a few folks fit the exact same profile, we need more hints!
Yes I am sure you do, and I do not need rich powerful, well connected enemies!!!!
But seriously he was a little $hit. We used to go to the pub together and on the day he went back to India, I drove him to the airport, even brought the rodent a farewell gift. The little rat ignored me at the airport, he didn't want his friends to see him talking to the "Driver".
My parents came to Britain from rural Punjab, when we used to visit we hated it, no running water, the keth was our toilet, mosquitos, rats, heat.
However my father built a house (a bloody big one), brought land.
The house will be turned into a hotel, thereby providing jobs for the locals and setting my cousins up in business, they were daily wage labourers, the land will have an education & skills training center, with a library built upon it, named after my father.
My cousin is training to be a chef in London and he will be the cook, translator & guide, he speaks good english.
And thanks to Facebook I have managed to contact literally thousands of people who enjoy a spiritual link to India, all goras, willing to spend their money in a little town in Punjab, that you would have difficulty finding on a map.
I am glad my dad wasn't a judge or a senior MEA official.
The future is bright for India, hell I will probably retire there. If any of you guys need a drinking buddy when your 75, keep in touch, I drink a lot of beer
just my thoughts
LalMullah ji, Isn't it possible for category II (oil slicked, dosa eating types) to "upgrade" to Category I ?. No problem at all, I assure you. All it takes is a little Chutzpah and just the "don't care a ph**ck" about others 'tude.
Once you have that , Cat II can immediately upgrade to Cat I and order the Filet Mignon or the Sole or Foie Gras and stuff like Escargot in the Dorchester Grill room menu .. All very possible I can assure you from personal experience. No problemo.
Moi went to school where chappals were the uniform, and in college, the less said the better. None of the suited/booted/blazer wearing Doon,Lawrence, Lovedale, Mayo - Eton/Harrow wannabes and I didn't go to Oxbridge (or even aspire to for that matter, that Oxbridge going and flaunting is the ultimate badge of arrival for the Dilli Billis).
Guys, guys, guys...chill a little. Doon, Lawrence (Lovedale), Mayo, Sanawar, etc... are not producing solely assholes you know. Although quite a few of them are and I can assure you I have intimate knowledge of this particular bunch... There are quite a few decent guys coming out of the shooted/bhooted schools. Hell you may even know one or two here and there.
Haresh, the guy you noted, with his comment about increasing education costs is the worst kind of traitor to the motherland. No question. There are many like him.
[quote="vina]LalMullah ji, Isn't it possible for category II (oil slicked, dosa eating types) to "upgrade" to Category I ?. No problem at all, I assure you. All it takes is a little Chutzpah and just the "don't care a ph**ck" about others 'tude..[/quote]
vina-ji that is precisely the point i was making. we've all been on that journey in our own different ways, and some of us in the dark days when the host society was not at all receptive. trust me i speak from personal experience, i was certainly not born with a silver spoon in my mouth
and ajatshatru-ji, i have friends in both categories, have had for several years, and i meet many of both types all the time professionally and personally, so my sample size is possibly in excess of 100 and slightly less than 200 plus those folks that come into contact with my other friends who also observe - making it an indirect sample of around 500. besides, when i am sitting at chennai dosa, i can easily hear the conversations around me no?
Haresh bhai, any more hint on which news channel this son of an MEA official reads the news for? Did he study CA in London and would be about 60 years old, Father bengali, Mother English/Irish? and does he run one of India's most sucessful news channel?
Aditya_V wrote:Haresh bhai, any more hint on which news channel this son of an MEA official reads the news for? Did he study CA in London and would be about 60 years old, Father bengali, Mother English/Irish? and does he run one of India's most sucessful news channel?