Indian Sports and Entertainment Industry
Re: Indian Sports and Entertainment Industry
What a bunch of egoistic morons and these tennis players!! 

India's Deepika Kumari becomes World No. 1 archer.
India's Deepika Kumari became the World No. 1 woman archer last week ahead of South Korea's Bo Bae Ki.
Deepika, who won her first World Cup individual recurve gold medal in May in Antalya, climbed up from the third spot to the top with 253 points.
She is the second woman archer from India to achieve this feat. Dola Banerjee was the first woman to become the numero uno archer. Currently, there is no other Indian in the top 20.
Deepika has also qualified for the London Olympics along with Laishram Bombayla Devi, Chekrovolu Swuro and Jayanta Talukdar.
Last month, she beat South Korea's Lee Sung Jin by six set points to four in the final to clinch the gold. She had won the second set (29-27), fourth (27-26) and the fifth set (28-27) after losing the first (27-30) and the third (27-29).
Deepika is the current junior World Champion and a gold medallist at the Delhi Commonwealth Games. She had also won the Cadet World Title in 2009.
India's Deepika Kumari became the World No. 1 woman archer last week ahead of South Korea's Bo Bae Ki.
Deepika, who won her first World Cup individual recurve gold medal in May in Antalya, climbed up from the third spot to the top with 253 points.
She is the second woman archer from India to achieve this feat. Dola Banerjee was the first woman to become the numero uno archer. Currently, there is no other Indian in the top 20.
Deepika has also qualified for the London Olympics along with Laishram Bombayla Devi, Chekrovolu Swuro and Jayanta Talukdar.
Last month, she beat South Korea's Lee Sung Jin by six set points to four in the final to clinch the gold. She had won the second set (29-27), fourth (27-26) and the fifth set (28-27) after losing the first (27-30) and the third (27-29).
Deepika is the current junior World Champion and a gold medallist at the Delhi Commonwealth Games. She had also won the Cadet World Title in 2009.
^^hopefully she does well at the Olympics too and gets the Gold there.
Regarding tennis - I dont understand it. Did Bhupathi/Boapnna qualify for Olympics? or, is it that they have to wait to get a wildcard?
It is only Leander who has got a direct entry to Olympics by the virtue of his ranking. However, India has an option of sending two teams and hence, Bhupathi/Bopanna can play without having to wait for the wildcard.viv wrote:Regarding tennis - I dont understand it. Did Bhupathi/Boapnna qualify for Olympics? or, is it that they have to wait to get a wildcard?
Thanks for the explanation.
Who knows what is fact and what is not? Just like no one knows how popular Lee is. From what if looks from the outside, he is probably very unpopular with his fellow tennis players. I don't know, neither do you. We can only guess.Rahul M wrote:just one unsourced sentence in wiki and that becomes a fact ?both were involved with other women at that point.
About both of them after Anupama, this was the talk going on back then. You probably do not remember. None of them came out and said it though.
Hockey team doing simulated high altitude training at Pune
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/spor ... 283842.cms
if you are going to rely on talk and rumour then there are many more odd things you should believe. f.e SRT is/was close to dawood ibrahim. SCG married nagma. and many more I have forgotten.KJoishy wrote:Who knows what is fact and what is not? Just like no one knows how popular Lee is. From what if looks from the outside, he is probably very unpopular with his fellow tennis players. I don't know, neither do you. We can only guess.Rahul M wrote:just one unsourced sentence in wiki and that becomes a fact ?both were involved with other women at that point.
About both of them after Anupama, this was the talk going on back then. You probably do not remember. None of them came out and said it though.
We all decide what we want to believe and what we don't want to. You are free to choose and so am I.Rahul M wrote:if you are going to rely on talk and rumour then there are many more odd things you should believe. f.e SRT is/was close to dawood ibrahim. SCG married nagma. and many more I have forgotten.KJoishy wrote:
Who knows what is fact and what is not? Just like no one knows how popular Lee is. From what if looks from the outside, he is probably very unpopular with his fellow tennis players. I don't know, neither do you. We can only guess.
Talk and rumor many times turn out to be true. Whether this is true or not I don't know. And neither do you (unless you are LP's buddy and he told you). Or maybe YOU are LP himself.

Koneru Humpy finishes joint winner at the superstrong Kazan Chess tournament, outdoing world champ Hou Yifan and finishing with a rating performance of 2642 compared to her current rating of 2589. She would have been sole winner if the tiebreak score was used, but the rules don't provide for that. Her rating will rise 8 points after this.
ToI claims she was solo winner, contrary to chessbase:
Koneru Humpy triumphs in Kazan
ToI claims she was solo winner, contrary to chessbase:
Koneru Humpy triumphs in Kazan
Ive missed something. Who are SRT? SCG?Rahul M wrote: if you are going to rely on talk and rumour then there are many more odd things you should believe. f.e SRT is/was close to dawood ibrahim. SCG married nagma. and many more I have forgotten.

Sachin Ramesh tendulkar
Sourav Chandidas Ganguly
Just hypothetical rumours onlee.
Sourav Chandidas Ganguly
Just hypothetical rumours onlee.
- BR Mainsite Crew
ASPuar wrote:
Ive missed something. Who are SRT? SCG?
search for SCG, nagma, srikalahasti.

I have read the story about Paes and Bhupathi exchanging blows over a pyt elsewhere including tennis forums where I lurk/post, I am not sure whether it's true or not.
negi that supposedly took place circa 2000/2001. they were happily together by all indications till 2006.
In case anyone missed this super match:
I really got a kick out of how the commentator was constantly wondering out aloud towards the closing stages of the deciding set as to why Sania was not showing any fatigue after a gruelling tournament in Thailand the previous week and after having to work 1 hour 30 mins more than her Chinese rival in getting into the finals, including a super tough semi-final.
If anything the Chinese girl seemed to lose her bearings after losing two match points in the second set. Even during the post match interview Sania looked as freshed as she did when she started the match. It's rare to see such fitness in Desi players. Hat's off to you Ms Nehwal may you be the new flag bearer for the new generation of sportspersons!
I really got a kick out of how the commentator was constantly wondering out aloud towards the closing stages of the deciding set as to why Sania was not showing any fatigue after a gruelling tournament in Thailand the previous week and after having to work 1 hour 30 mins more than her Chinese rival in getting into the finals, including a super tough semi-final.
If anything the Chinese girl seemed to lose her bearings after losing two match points in the second set. Even during the post match interview Sania looked as freshed as she did when she started the match. It's rare to see such fitness in Desi players. Hat's off to you Ms Nehwal may you be the new flag bearer for the new generation of sportspersons!
yea..I saw it in some blog that I came across accidently. He claimed his friend/bil was there. So did not pay it much attention, but one could google for it.negi wrote:I have read the story about Paes and Bhupathi exchanging blows over a pyt elsewhere including tennis forums where I lurk/post, I am not sure whether it's true or not.
thanks Amit!! this was a great match and Saina is an amazing sportswoman!!!
^^yes, thanks for the link. It was a real good match to watch. Congratulations to Saina and hopefully she wins at Olympics.
Hey, guys your welcome!
Here's the semi-final match between Sania and South Korea's Sung Ji Hyun
Enjoy!
Hey, guys your welcome!

Here's the semi-final match between Sania and South Korea's Sung Ji Hyun
Enjoy!
And finally, here's the 1 hour 46 minutes marathon quarter-final between Sania and world No3 Wang Shixian. This has been billed as one of the most epic matches of this year till now.
looks like our brf demand for her to improve raw physical fitness was taken up!
nobody can play 1 hr 45 min of high level badminton without being hyperfit.
Singha-sir,
That is what i had mentioned on the day of the match after the match had ended. There was a visible difference in her stamina levels compared to earlier.
Honarary Iyer wrote: Saina - unless she loses some bulk and gets leaner it will be tough for her in 3 set matches against the top chinese girls. this aspect seems missing (so far) in her armoury - she has great strength, placement, strokes, but not yet the stamina to go all out in a 3 setter and that is why there are still 3-4 chinese girls still sitting on the top. they know she is going to fade in 2nd half of a long 3 setter.
she should avoid the AC gyms and treadmills and go into rocky3/rocky4 mode - jungle gym, mud tracks, log huts mode....the black horse must rise again. I am sure indian army unit based in Hyd would be willing to provide some coaching if asked.
^^ Yesterday's match seemed to show a different thing since she seemed to find some extreme strength and willpower to claw back right from the fag end of the 2nd set and carry on through a gruelling 3rd set also.
From what I saw in these three matches, her fitness level is unbelievable. In the semi final the Korean girl was panting halfway into the first set, and Sania hadn't even broken into sweat.Singha wrote:looks like our brf demand for her to improve raw physical fitness was taken up!
In the final the Chinese girl looked visibly tired and shaken in the third set in which Sania actually increased the tempo.
I dunno if she'll be able to win the gold in London but I'm sure if she keeps this level of fitness and commitment she's going to go up the ranks from her current No5 position.
Pity is there's nobody else there. The Chinese have so many world class players!

well most indian girls from early teenage try to remain slim by eating less leading to stick thin legs, weak bones....the type who eat well and play physical sports are like 0.1% - just take a look at the next lot of school girls from a good school (no lack of food availability at home) and see.
in my sons school (grade2) they offered choices of many things and you had to choose 1 for a extended 2 hr activity each week. chess, dance, music, football, basketball, athletics, cricket, arts n crafts.
my kid chose football he was saying among some 30-40 boys there are 2 girls who chose it.
in my sons school (grade2) they offered choices of many things and you had to choose 1 for a extended 2 hr activity each week. chess, dance, music, football, basketball, athletics, cricket, arts n crafts.
my kid chose football he was saying among some 30-40 boys there are 2 girls who chose it.
More drama, although she makes some good points.
Sania Mirza upset about Leander Paes pairing, blames male chauvinism
http://sports.ndtv.com/tennis/news/item ... eststoriesNew Delhi: Indian tennis player Sania Mirza has finally broken her silence on the whole tennis row after she was awarded a wild card in the women's doubles event at the London Olympics on Tuesday.
In a press release on Tuesday, Sania criticised the All India Tennis Association (AITA), Leander Paes, his father Dr. Vece Paes and Mahesh Bhupathi for their roles in the tennis crisis.
Sania lashed out at AITA for their decision to pair her with Leander Paes in the mixed doubles event to get the latter to agree to participate at the London Games, saying the decision reeked of 'male chauvinism'.
"As an Indian woman belonging to the 21st century, what I find disillusioning is the humiliating manner in which I was put up as a bait to try and pacify one of the disgruntled stalwarts of Indian tennis. (Read full text of Sania's letter)
"While I feel honored and privileged to have been chosen to partner Leander Paes, the manner and timing of the announcement wreaks of male chauvinism where a two time Grand Slam champion, who has been India's number 1 women's tennis player for almost a decade in singles and doubles is offered in compensation to partner one of the feuding champions purely in order to lure him into accepting to play with a men's player he does not wish to play with!
She added this arrangement by the AITA was a 'blatant humiliation'.
"This kind of blatant humiliation of Indian womanhood needs to be condemned even if it comes from the highest controlling body of tennis in our country."
Sania, meanwhile, also hit out at Leander Paes, who is angry at being paired with the 207-ranked Vishnu Vardhan in the men's doubles at the Olympics, saying it was 'demeaning for me, Vishnu and Leander Paes' for Paes to consider playing with Vishnu only if she gave a written assurance to play mixed doubles with him.
"To Leander Paes I would like to point out that Vishnu Vardhan is an extremely talented player, who I had the privilege of partnering. We went on to win a silver medal for India at the 2010 Asian Games, when all the three male stalwarts of Indian tennis had opted to stay away from Guangzhou. "I am convinced that he can go one better when pitted with someone as good as Leander as partner.
"For Leander to consider partnering with Vishnu only if he has a written assurance from me to play mixed (as Vece Uncle has suggested in his television interviews) is, I think demeaning for me, Vishnu and Leander Paes."
Sania also had some harsh words for Leander's father, Dr. Vece Paes, for asking her to give in writing that she would team up with his son, insisting that her committment is only to the country.
"To Dr. Vece Paes, who has on camera asked me to give in writing about my intention of partnering his son for the mixed doubles event at the Olympics, I would like to point out that my commitment is to my country.
"For the sake of India I am committed to play with Leander Paes or Mahesh Bhupathi or Rohan Bopanna or Somdev Devvarman or Vishnu Vardhan or any other person that my country feels I am good enough to partner. There should never ever be a question on this although if asked, I am entitled to have my preferences. I will do everything i possibly can to win a medal for Inda."
Sania did not even spare Mahesh Bhupathi, her mixed doubles partner on the regular tennis circuit, and is upset with him for choosing to sacrifice his pairing with her to keep his team with Rohan Bopanna intact.
"Mahesh Bhupathi has firmly stood by his commitment to play together with his men's doubles partner, Rohan Bopanna as he genuinely believed it was good for India. However, in the process, he sacrificed the commitment he made to me to try and win an Olympic medal together for India. Each person has his or her own priorities and I would like to believe that Mahesh made his choice in the best interests of the country," said Sania.
The ace tennis player said she had chosen to speak up on the issue now as she was now assured of her participation at the Games.
"Since the day AITA (All India Tennis Association) announced the team for the Olympics a lot of questions have been raised by friends, colleagues, their parents and of course, by the media. As I thought these questions were purely hypothetical without my having qualified into the London Olympics, I did not think it was appropriate for me to respond to them at that point of time. However, now that I am officially a part of the greatest sporting event in the world, I think it is imperative for me to clarify my feelings."
Earlier, the AITA had announced their decision to pair Sania with Paes, India's highest ranked player at No.7, in the mixed doubles as the latter was unhappy to have been teamed up with the much lower ranked Vishnu Vardhan in the men's doubles. The AITA had been left with little choice after both Mahesh Bhupathi and Rohan Bopanna refused to partner Paes at the Olympics. AITA had to finally give into their demands and Bhupathi and Bopanna were eventually paired together.
Adds more credence to my view that LP may be among India's greatest players, but he does not seem to be liked by his compatriots.
Good letter from Sania. I hope she wins something (terrorist jamaai notwithstanding)
In any case, it is sad that our players are squabbling like this in public. Goodbye to tennis medals.
Good letter from Sania. I hope she wins something (terrorist jamaai notwithstanding)
In any case, it is sad that our players are squabbling like this in public. Goodbye to tennis medals.
I would not be surprised if the letter was prepared by the company that manages Ms Mirza. But these long shot deductions are of no use, Indian tennis is wrecked as it is.
Pls win us a medal in the end and all will be forgiven. We would rather be screaming at your sagaciousness as how you decided to pair up with the best possible player despite the risk of being thrown out of OG Team.
He was not quite sure if training abroad before Olympics [ Images ] would help much but after spending a fortnight preparing in Ireland, London-bound Vijender Singh [ Images ] said the experience has done a world of good to the Indian boxers ahead of the mega-event this month.
An unprecedented seven Indian male boxers would be participating in the Olympics in London [ Images ] and six of them were in Dublin for a fortnight last month to train for the Games.
Vijender SinghVijender (75kg), Shiva Thapa (56kg), L Devendro Singh (49kg), Manoj Kumar (64kg), Sumit Sangwan (81kg) and Jai Bhagwan (60kg) were the ones who trained in Dublin under the watchful eyes of national coach Gurbax Singh Sandhu, while Vikas Krishan (69kg) stayed back to give his college exams.
Vijender said he was skeptical about going abroad with just a few weeks left for the Olympics but has come back more assured of his preparations for London.
"I was not sure how it would help us; I thought training in Patiala would be better. But after going there, I realized how much difference it could make to our preparations," Vijender said.
"It made a huge difference as we got acclimatised to European conditions. It is biting cold there and extreme heat here. So, now when we go to London, we won't exactly be shocked by the weather. It would be easy to adapt," he said.
The Indian boxers are in the country for just 10 days before they pack off for London, where they will train before heading to the Games Village in the last week of the month for the July 17 to August 12 event.
"We followed an exhausting training schedule in Dublin. It was perfect to put us into rhythm for London. We used to train twice a day in Dublin. In the morning, we practiced among ourselves while in the evening we used to spar with other teams which had come there," Vijender explained.
"I think we have come back a stronger bunch and it would show in our results in London," the strapping six-footer, who became India's [ Images ] first boxing medallist in the Olympics, said.
The Beijing [ Images ] bronze-medallist, who also bagged a bronze at the World Championships in 2009, will be joined by the young brigade of teens such as Shiva and Devendro, in London and they also claimed to have gained from the trip to Dublin.
"It was a really good experience. We trained in 10 to 15 degrees of temperature and it benefited us a lot," said Shiva.
"I think it will be easier for us to adapt when we reach London after this experience," he added.
National coach Sandhu said the purpose of the trip was acclimatisation and it has been fulfilled.
"The boys had a great time because they had the best of training and also got a fair idea of the conditions in Europe. Now they are better prepared for London," he said.
"We had competitive bouts as well but there were no winners or losers as that creates unnecessary pressure. So overall it was a good trip before the Olympic battle," he added.
© Copyright 2012 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
An unprecedented seven Indian male boxers would be participating in the Olympics in London [ Images ] and six of them were in Dublin for a fortnight last month to train for the Games.
Vijender SinghVijender (75kg), Shiva Thapa (56kg), L Devendro Singh (49kg), Manoj Kumar (64kg), Sumit Sangwan (81kg) and Jai Bhagwan (60kg) were the ones who trained in Dublin under the watchful eyes of national coach Gurbax Singh Sandhu, while Vikas Krishan (69kg) stayed back to give his college exams.
Vijender said he was skeptical about going abroad with just a few weeks left for the Olympics but has come back more assured of his preparations for London.
"I was not sure how it would help us; I thought training in Patiala would be better. But after going there, I realized how much difference it could make to our preparations," Vijender said.
"It made a huge difference as we got acclimatised to European conditions. It is biting cold there and extreme heat here. So, now when we go to London, we won't exactly be shocked by the weather. It would be easy to adapt," he said.
The Indian boxers are in the country for just 10 days before they pack off for London, where they will train before heading to the Games Village in the last week of the month for the July 17 to August 12 event.
"We followed an exhausting training schedule in Dublin. It was perfect to put us into rhythm for London. We used to train twice a day in Dublin. In the morning, we practiced among ourselves while in the evening we used to spar with other teams which had come there," Vijender explained.
"I think we have come back a stronger bunch and it would show in our results in London," the strapping six-footer, who became India's [ Images ] first boxing medallist in the Olympics, said.
The Beijing [ Images ] bronze-medallist, who also bagged a bronze at the World Championships in 2009, will be joined by the young brigade of teens such as Shiva and Devendro, in London and they also claimed to have gained from the trip to Dublin.
"It was a really good experience. We trained in 10 to 15 degrees of temperature and it benefited us a lot," said Shiva.
"I think it will be easier for us to adapt when we reach London after this experience," he added.
National coach Sandhu said the purpose of the trip was acclimatisation and it has been fulfilled.
"The boys had a great time because they had the best of training and also got a fair idea of the conditions in Europe. Now they are better prepared for London," he said.
"We had competitive bouts as well but there were no winners or losers as that creates unnecessary pressure. So overall it was a good trip before the Olympic battle," he added.
© Copyright 2012 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
Cheers for the National Boxing Coach Sardar Gurbax Singh Sandhu!! He indeed is a Dronacharya at much less cost than foreign coaches to have such rare insight.
http://www.rediff.com/sports/report/ind ... 120705.htm
In news that will delight hordes of India [ Images ]n football fans, India captain Sunil Chhetri has reportedly joined Portugal's premier league club Sporting Lisbon [ Images ].
Sporting Lisbon has had a hand in producing national football heroes -- Cristiano Ronaldo [ Images ] and Luis Figo.
Sunil ChhetriChhetri will initially join Sporting's reserve team (B team) to get acclimatised to the team's style of play.
The deal had been arranged by sports management firm, Football One, the football arm of new Wizcraft International Entertainment venture Sports One.
Chhetri is the second footballer from India to play in Europe after India's legendary Baichung Bhutia signed a deal with English club Bury FC in 1999.
In the 2010-11 season, Chhetri briefly played for MLS side Sporting Kansas City.
http://www.tribuneindia.com/2012/20120705/cth2.htm#10
NBA director hunts for city talent
Deepankar Sharda
Tribune News Service
Chandigarh, July 4
“The more you sweat, the more you learn,” this is what Troy Justice, the senior director of basketball operations of the NBA in India since January 2010, believes when it comes to the achieving laurels, in the world of Basketball.
Troy, who is in the city, to head a junior talent hunt initiative as a part of the 2012 Junior NBA/Junior WNBA basketball development program in India, was seen enjoying his maiden visit, here. The talent hunt will be organised on July 6, at New Public School sector 18, here.
During his first day, he has taken a special on-court clinics and classroom sessions aimed for the coaches and inspiring coaches. “For the past two and half years, we have been organising the talent hunt programmes for the players of junior level. We have been to Delhi, Banglore, Pune and the response was tremendous. In the city, we are organising the event for the first time and hopefully, we will get an overwhelmed response from region’s players.” said Troy.
Highlighting on the talent hunt programme, he said, “A total of 10 players (5 boys and 5 girls) will be selected form each city. And the selected pair will qualify for the national-level selection, to be held on July 14, at Tyag Raj Stadium, New Delhi. Then further, one boy and one girl will be selected for the exposure trip to the USA, where they will be meeting NBA players, coaches and also get a chance to undergo a proper training session, for few hours,” said Troy. Adding further, “The trails will include skill, speed and accuracy tests. The trails will be organise through out the day and the best scorers or best timing holder will be selected for the further stage,” said Troy.
When asked about the present infrastructure, in nation, he said, “The infrastructure is an essential part and as per my personal experience, the concrete courts are as essential as wooden courts. It all depends upon, how we use it. During this particular class, I was telling the presence about the usage of infrastructure,” said Troy adding further, “Except infrastructure, the coaches also play an important role in nurturing a player. I suggested them to have a broad and learning vision. After all, it is all about the knowledge one has,” said Troy.
When asked about his expectations form city, he added, “The city is always been in my target lit, to find the talent. Earlier, we visited Ludhiana and received a good response. Being a centre of the region and equipped with all modern facilities, I hope we will find some real good talent, on the trails day. This talent hunt is a real exposure for the kids ageing 10 to 12 years. This hunt is slowly gaining the pleasing eye and will make it big, this time,” said Troy.
NBA director hunts for city talent
Deepankar Sharda
Tribune News Service
Chandigarh, July 4
“The more you sweat, the more you learn,” this is what Troy Justice, the senior director of basketball operations of the NBA in India since January 2010, believes when it comes to the achieving laurels, in the world of Basketball.
Troy, who is in the city, to head a junior talent hunt initiative as a part of the 2012 Junior NBA/Junior WNBA basketball development program in India, was seen enjoying his maiden visit, here. The talent hunt will be organised on July 6, at New Public School sector 18, here.
During his first day, he has taken a special on-court clinics and classroom sessions aimed for the coaches and inspiring coaches. “For the past two and half years, we have been organising the talent hunt programmes for the players of junior level. We have been to Delhi, Banglore, Pune and the response was tremendous. In the city, we are organising the event for the first time and hopefully, we will get an overwhelmed response from region’s players.” said Troy.
Highlighting on the talent hunt programme, he said, “A total of 10 players (5 boys and 5 girls) will be selected form each city. And the selected pair will qualify for the national-level selection, to be held on July 14, at Tyag Raj Stadium, New Delhi. Then further, one boy and one girl will be selected for the exposure trip to the USA, where they will be meeting NBA players, coaches and also get a chance to undergo a proper training session, for few hours,” said Troy. Adding further, “The trails will include skill, speed and accuracy tests. The trails will be organise through out the day and the best scorers or best timing holder will be selected for the further stage,” said Troy.
When asked about the present infrastructure, in nation, he said, “The infrastructure is an essential part and as per my personal experience, the concrete courts are as essential as wooden courts. It all depends upon, how we use it. During this particular class, I was telling the presence about the usage of infrastructure,” said Troy adding further, “Except infrastructure, the coaches also play an important role in nurturing a player. I suggested them to have a broad and learning vision. After all, it is all about the knowledge one has,” said Troy.
When asked about his expectations form city, he added, “The city is always been in my target lit, to find the talent. Earlier, we visited Ludhiana and received a good response. Being a centre of the region and equipped with all modern facilities, I hope we will find some real good talent, on the trails day. This talent hunt is a real exposure for the kids ageing 10 to 12 years. This hunt is slowly gaining the pleasing eye and will make it big, this time,” said Troy.
http://www.tribuneindia.com/2012/20120710/sports.htm#4
Novelty at senior level will help me in London: Amit Kumar
New Delhi, July 9
He might lack the experience of competing at the highest level, but Amit Kumar, the youngest member of the Indian wrestling contingent, believes that his being an unknown quantity can work in his favour at the upcoming London Olympics. "It has not been long since I have started to contest in the senior category. I am totally new to many of my opponents. They don't have much of an advantage when it comes to strategising against me, as there are not enough videos of my bouts available. This one aspect can work in my favour in London," Amit said.
The 55kg free-style grappler, who surprised one and all with his gold medal performance in the Asian Qualifying Tournament in Astana, Kazakhstan, in March this year, is aware that one moment of glory at the London Games will take him miles ahead. "I never expected that I would be competing in the Olympics so early, I had set my eyes on the 2016 Games. But since I have made it to the Olympics, I don't want to let go this chance easily. An Olympic medal can change one's life and I know what it would mean to finish on the podium in London," said the 19-year-old lad from Haryana, who along with Sushil Kumar, Yogeshwar Dutt, Narsingh Pancham Yadav and Geeta Phogat, is going through the rigours at a training camp in Colorado Springs, USA.
Amit conceded that lack of experience at the senior level can be a factor against him, but insisted that it is in no way going to be a handicap for him. "Experience can be a factor, but I am trying to improve on every aspect of my game. The coaches have been very supportive and with still some time left for the Olympics I am working hard to iron out any lacuna in my game," Amit said. "I am also keeping an eye on what my opponents are doing and I am confident that I will put up a decent performance at London," he pointed out. — PTI
Novelty at senior level will help me in London: Amit Kumar
New Delhi, July 9
He might lack the experience of competing at the highest level, but Amit Kumar, the youngest member of the Indian wrestling contingent, believes that his being an unknown quantity can work in his favour at the upcoming London Olympics. "It has not been long since I have started to contest in the senior category. I am totally new to many of my opponents. They don't have much of an advantage when it comes to strategising against me, as there are not enough videos of my bouts available. This one aspect can work in my favour in London," Amit said.
The 55kg free-style grappler, who surprised one and all with his gold medal performance in the Asian Qualifying Tournament in Astana, Kazakhstan, in March this year, is aware that one moment of glory at the London Games will take him miles ahead. "I never expected that I would be competing in the Olympics so early, I had set my eyes on the 2016 Games. But since I have made it to the Olympics, I don't want to let go this chance easily. An Olympic medal can change one's life and I know what it would mean to finish on the podium in London," said the 19-year-old lad from Haryana, who along with Sushil Kumar, Yogeshwar Dutt, Narsingh Pancham Yadav and Geeta Phogat, is going through the rigours at a training camp in Colorado Springs, USA.
Amit conceded that lack of experience at the senior level can be a factor against him, but insisted that it is in no way going to be a handicap for him. "Experience can be a factor, but I am trying to improve on every aspect of my game. The coaches have been very supportive and with still some time left for the Olympics I am working hard to iron out any lacuna in my game," Amit said. "I am also keeping an eye on what my opponents are doing and I am confident that I will put up a decent performance at London," he pointed out. — PTI
This tension of how our shooters and boxers will fare is killing me. Waiting for the games to begin:
India, China in Mexican standoff
One of shooting’s most sophisticated rivalries has almost silently taking firm roots in the soundless 10 metre ranges across the world. It’s the one involving Indian and Chinese shooters with Abhinav Bindra, Gagan Narang, Zhu Qinan and Wang Tao being the principal players. Earlier, this year at the Asian meet at Doha, the four crossed paths and with their Olympic quotas secured, it was a seen as a dry run ahead of London.
Wang and Zhu set the early pace with identical 598s/600. Bindra was a point adrift at third. Gagan struggled to hold his own after first two series of 99. Once in the final, the tables were turned. Bindra went past the Chinese with a 10.6. Then Qinan stormed back in the lead, but Bindra reined him in with a near-perfect 10.5 to bag gold. Wang, meanwhile, after slipping to fifth, had bounced back to win bronze. Narang ended strongly with the second best scores in the final after Bindra. A re-run of such hues is widely anticipated at London, four years after Bindra reduced silver-medallist Qinan to tears on the podium. There’s also multi-discipline winner Peter Sidi and current World No.2 Niccolo Campriani in the fierce field.
But Indians know, and Chinese know that Indians know, that come London, this could be as head-to-head as sport shooting could go.
Chinese shooters aren’t known to talk much. But it’s apparent they hate losing to Indians. Shooting medals have been very dear to them after Xu Haifeng’s maiden success with gold in pistol at the 1984 Olympics.
Qinan cried at Beijing. In his book ‘A shot at history’, Bindra says, “Somehow, he doesn’t like Chinese.”
Rivalry may not be the sole driving force, but awareness of what the other is doing is fuelling competition.
Prior to Beijing, Bindra came to know the Chinese were using a different type of pellets. Unable to source them from Chinese manufacturers, he simply got a friend from Hong Kong to buy him 10,000 rounds.
Narang’s form, on the other hand is an enigma. He’s out to avenge fate or whatever it was that led him to shoot a shocking 8 that edged him out of Beijing finals. Narang still outdid the Chinese in the 3-position event at Doha, fighting back like a champion. Lying as lowly as eighth after the standing discipline, Narang bagged bronze in 3P and his surge to that of Sanjeev Rajput’s gold, pushed the Chinese including Qinan away from the podium. “This was the first time we beat them by 90 points. And credit to Gagan and Rajput for the way they stuck to their gameplan and in windy conditions,” coach Stan Lapidus says of his favourite disciple.
What you expect from the yellow Pakis!!
The next Saina ? She won the World Juniors Last Week. Much taller and Athletic. Could be even better.
Slowly but surely, we also start adopting the Chinese method of athlete grooming to further improve our chances at 2020. Hope it bears fruit:
SAI to launch ambitious plan for 2020
'Catch them Young' seems to be the catchphrase of Sports Authority of India (SAI) that has come up with an ambitious plan under which it wants to spend a whopping sum to the tune of USD 178 million (approx Rs 984 crore) to prepare athletes for the 2020 Olympics.
A programme 'Vision 2020' under the aegis of Union Sports Ministry has been chalked out, which aims at selection of the junior talent, imparting good training and arranging for their exposure tours abroad.
The unique scheme, based on the pattern of Chinese and Eastern European countries, is aimed at identifying the talent at the age of 13-15 years and to provide them with the best of facilities and systematic training over a period of eight years so as to enable the players to attain peak performance at the 2020 Olympics, resulting in at least 25-30 medals for India in the Games.
The major funding involves national coaching camps and international exposures till 2016-17 (Rs 380 cr); national coaching camps and international exposures from 2017-18 to 2020-21 (Rs 300 cr) and 38 foreign coaches' salary (Rs 90 cr).
The scheme, launched under the guidance of former SAI Director General Desh Deepak Verma and headed by Roque Dias, Regional Director (LTDP - Youth OG' 20), will involve agencies like Indian Olympic Association (IOA) and National Sports Federations (NSFs).
The importance will be given to all the disciplines identified by International Olympic Committee (IOC) by forming a core group of 2500 trainees from the initial 8500 trainees in the Zonal camps.
The camps will be organised from 2012-13 for all the Olympic disciplines to be part of the 2020 Games.
The SAI has set an aim of 20-30 per cent selection of the athletes from the scheme for the 2016 Rio Olympics.
After the Rio de Janeiro Games, the athletes in certain disciplines will be provided with high altitude training camps so as to get Olympic quota in the recognised World Cup/World Championship, Olympics qualifying events and Asian Championships.
At least 60-70 per cent of trainees selected in this scheme (sub-juniors/juniors/youth) will be expected to perform and win medals at the 2018 CWG/World Championships and the 2019 Asian Games.
About 80 per cent of the participants will be from the scheme (age 21-23) and the remaining will be selected on the basis of their performance during competitions and trials (age 23-36).
The best foreign coaches available will be appointed along with the Indian coaches to train the young athletes and as an integral part of the training, yoga experts for each discipline will be attached with the team.
The best and latest technology along with scientific back up and sports facilities available will be provided to these sportspersons from the very beginning of their training. The video analysis software will be utilised for performance analysis during training and competition and sportspersons will be given diet and training at par with the senior category.
This is actually very good for all sports where stamina is required (badminton, boxing, tennis, hockey, swimming, football, athletics, etc). I remember tracking over to 16000 feet in Himalayas(Garhwal) in three days and over 10,000 ft you gasp for air every 20 or so steps, vivid dreams, hallucinations, etc but on the second day it gets better and by the third day it is over and you are used to it. This does build up stamina if athletics train at least two weeks before any major competitions over 15,000 ft.the athletes in certain disciplines will be provided with high altitude training camps
1. Heated Swimming pool at Siachin or even at Hemkund Sahib (16000 ft)
2. Couple of Indoor running tracks and living quarters at places like Nanda Devi Base camp.
3. A dedicated places for each sports (boxing, hockey, football, badminton, etc to have their individual)
This is where money should be spent., and I am sure that we have excellent sportsmen/women from the troops deployed at Siachin somebody needs to identify them and train them.