Indian Interests

Stan_Savljevic

Re: Indian Interests

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

But Ji "Ji", what are you trying to prove here? Bandung non alignment was not Nehru's idea. Sure, it could not be his. Noone claimed it. But then that begets the question: why judge Nehru on "originality" (as you would have put it)? Why judge Nehru on "own ideas"? From what I see of you, if something good happened in Nehru's days, it was someone else's ideas. If something happened, as in example, his Ministers cocked up or the Army cocked up or the diplomats cocked up or ____ cocked up, the blame is all Nehru's. Arre bhai, that is called a hackjob in our place :).

Nehru did nt have too many bright or original ideas. But he knew what to do with good ideas. He came ahead of tito, nasser and sukarno. Nehru was tall not only in India but also around the world. Now from a Hindu revivalist perspective, that may be anathema, but the very fact that the Hindu revivalists cant ignore Nehru and have an axe to grind means that they subconsciously acknowledge his standing and even dissent that standing. Again, good leaders know what to do with good ideas. Even if those ideas are not theirs. Bad leaders know how to come up with bad ideas and/or to take bad ideas and make it theirs. Nehru was a good leader.

Even SAARC was the idea of BD than India's. SAFTA too. The Indian ocean group or BIMSTEC were all non-Indian ideas. But BIMSTEC and the Indian Ocean Rim group are becoming Indian-centric organizations. In fact, the Commonwealth was formed because south africa wanted it. Ass-tralia ran with that idea, New Zealand succored it and later Canada made it its own. The British who were the center of the whole idea came on board only much later. What does it say? To me, it says that small nations and insecure nations come up with ideas that can hold them onto things that will make them feel more secure. Nehru, who was a good leader, ran with the idea of Bandung, non-alignment etc. cos it sunk into his head that peoples and nations are coming out of colonialism and needed a vision that was due at that time.

Non-alignment was an idea that rose in its era. Without a need, there would nt have been non-alignment. Noone here is saying that non-alignment is the cardinal truth that should be regarded as a universal virtue. Nehru was a product of his era and in his era, he stood tall. Taller than anyone else around him. His impact is there for us to see. He did a lot of good things, he did a few bad things. There have been many who have been after him who have done a lot more negative things than good things, in addition to running the day2day happenings in a government. Some have done a good job, some have done a bad job. Some could have done better, some did what best they could have given the constraints they had.... and so on...

Now your specific focus on Nehru seems to be with a specific agenda. You as a right wing empathizer are faced with a formidable INC machinery. You want to be a part of the game that takes on this machinery. You can do this by projecting the virtues of right wing politics, as in Hindu assertion, equal-equal rights for everyone in India, egalitarian development economics etc. Instead you are going down the garden path of de-haloing nehru. That in itself is no issue. Just dont cloud your agenda as a holy war cos its a political hackjob. And has nothing to do with understanding policies. A political hackjob when declared upfront deserves as much attention as it gets, instead by clothing yourself in some quoted phrase of erudite gibberish and an occasional call to Indic mores and dharmic ideals, you are jus making yourself a bigger joker than you speak...

If you really had to piss on INC, I will give you points to piss on. The worstest INC PM has been Indira Gandhi. Let's look at the negatives in her days. Indira did a lot worse for India with as diverse things such as the license mafia raj, emergency, Khalistan problem, sustaining tulf, ltte and telo among other groups, Mizoram problem, etc... Much more than Nehru ever could have or did... Indira brought the word "secular" into the constitution, not Nehru.
"The word secular was inserted into the preamble by the Forty-second Amendment. (1976)"
But I dont see anyone here gunning after Indira. Why? To my silly mind, it is simple. Cos Indira delivered in 1971. That paragon of virtue and truthfulness ABV called her durga mata. In return, she kicked all the people who opposed her and put them in the jailhouse under MISA. (Edited something obnoxious on Neelam Sanjeeva Reddy with a sorry.)

The approach followed here is good things are someone else's, bad things are yours. There was an equivalent statement on victory, defeat, ********, orphan, etc.... I forget. But back to the game. People who collaborated with Indira get away. May be because they are not so important. Even Indira gets away. Why, she even made the whole Judiciary a rubber stamp except for one Hon. Justice Hans Raj khanna who dissented (god bless his soul). If there has been something negative that has happened in India in all these years of independence, the darkest and the worst were the emergency days... now that acknowledgment will take some apolitical understanding of what was India then and what is India now... But that has never been the goal with political hackjobs... by definition, it should not be.. But then political hackjobs dont self-acknowledge that they are one.. so yea.. circle of life...

Virupaksha, I find that you have some problem with Children's day being celebrated to commemorate Nehru's birthday. Bad trend, I agree. But did you have a problem with Teachers' day being celebrated to commemorate the birthday of Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan? If so, I failed to see your consistency in getting angry at the halo-ing that happens in India.

Devesh, wow, Nehru was no. 1. PV Narasimha Rao was no. 2, ABV was no. 3 in your list. I am curious to see how Indira Gandhi fits into this billing for being more influential (negatively as I point out above) in post-47 India. I dont want to score own goals, but I do feel the itching need to point out some things about Shri. Rao's regime. Positives: Look East (may be, if the self-acknowledged pontificators dont question the originality of the policy and bequeathed that policy to a diplomatic note sent by xyz diplo in South Block). Other issues which I wont label as positives or negatives because what is positive for me is most definitely negative for you and vice versa: completing a five year term (clouded with the JMM scandal and assorted horse trading attempts), Harshad Mehta scandal, Babri Masjid demolition and Bombay blasts, getting caught while trying for nuclear explosions in Pokharan, .... The chargesheet for ABV is: Pokharan blasts, Lahore bus diplomacy, failed Agra talks, Kargil, Parliament attack, Op. Parakram, IC-814, Pyrdiwah incident, NSCN talks in Bangkok and the acknowledgment of Naga history as unique, Nuclear diplomacy with Strobe Talbott, India-Shining, ... (In fact, I ask the Hindu revivalist and empathizers, what exactly positive happened for Hindus under NDA? Article 370 remains, D-voters and NRC updates not done, cow slaughter ban not done universally, fencing in BD border has been slow. Duh! if that is what a Hindu gets in return for supporting someone who breathes Hindu rights at the drop of a hat, DUH!) You can re-assess who comes in 2 and who comes in 3. If you ask me, I will place Gulzari Lal Nanda high on the totem pole for handing over the PMship back to the elected PM, not once, but twice. Any Musharaff could have taken over India to any mode he/she so could have chosen, but Shri. Nanda was an honorable man. Assessments require some level of honesty, instead whitewashing hagiography is all we get. Sure, there are enough hagiographies on Nehru and Gandhi, but dude, this is brf where people are expected to read instead of getting caught with their pants down on whitewashing and revisioning history (or her-story).

And Sanku man, when you claim "Arnab, Stan used the link I provided to tell me that JP has used 356 21 times between 1975 and 1980" at http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 5#p1195535 you most clearly are showing that you hardly read my posts and bs-all over. I did nt use a link your post had. Go check. You brought Article 356 cos you thought you had a point, some detailed look shows Nehru in relatively good light, then you pull up Sachar's remark and when asked if you will accept Sachar's report on Muslim status, you pull random remarks. Dude, you are bad at changing goal posts and hiding that. Thankfully, I dont indulge in nukular debating with you, I will pull whatever hair that remains in my head and die like a Jaina sadhu.

And all the drum yoddhas of nukkad, point noted. But I did nt claim "guru" status. That is a loserly title given by malleable folks to even more losers. Everyone has the power to be the guru that they want to be, and not depend on others to collate information from the Internets. In other words, you have the power to be not lazy :).

Back to dhamaka time...

Stan_Savljevic wrote: Virupaksha, I find that you have some problem with Children's day being celebrated to commemorate Nehru's birthday. Bad trend, I agree. But did you have a problem with Teachers' day being celebrated to commemorate the birthday of Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan? If so, I failed to see your consistency in getting angry at the halo-ing that happens in India.
Oh! I dont have a problem with that :rotfl:
It seems you have a problem with seeing all halos as equal, however large or small they might be.

P.S: Btw dont you think it is peculiar that children "celebrate" a day for father of nation, first prime minister, second president but not the first president. I wonder why, is it because the first pres was pushed out by the first prime minister.

Oh, I do not have a problem with that. its just how the game was played by the congress at that time.

What I do have a problem is people saying that no such game was played and all is/was/will be equal-equal onlee. Some people did get the bad end of the stick while the others were sucking lollipops - deserving them or not.

^ Or
Sri Radhakrishnan was thought to be an ideal teacher (post independence) where as Sri JLN an "impressionable" kid ;)

Stan,
[Apologies for forgetting that you hated "ji" after you name the last time I thought we had decided not to respond to each others posts after your tirade in reaction to my objection to your frequent use of dhoti-twisting or dhoti-knotting. Those two - dhoti-knotting-twisting and ji - things should have given me the clue as to what item you would hate. Apologies again. ]

Actually it is a good tactics. First issue blank cheques about JLN did this, JLN did that. JLN did not deceive anyone on Partition, JLN did not do anything like duplicity in treatment of Hindus/Sikhs vis-a-vis Muslims where genocide was concerned. JLN wiped out colonialism in Asia at Bandung. JLN had immense personal courage in the face of crowd hostility.

When these are challenged with actual incidents - then first some personal attack based on assumed religious beliefs of the poster, one's own divine descent, declaring the offending poster a victimist for posting accounts of Muslim and Christian atrocities on Hindus, and then mocking based on a language not properly known or never cared to learn.

Then downhill skiing - Bandung? what Bandung - who said Nehru dominated Bandung so much so that he wiped out colonialism/imperialism from Asia at Bandung - who me - never! Did I say Nehru alone wiped out colonialism at Bandung? I simply said Nehru did it - I never said others did not do it too! This is the level of logical sliminess your arguments sink to. Why get so worked up if the reality of Bandung dhamaka of "anti-colonialism" is explored? I have not judged in favour of anything - merely reported contemporary perceptions.

There are no axes to grind about JLN in particular. Just objections to positive qualities attributed to him he does not show or outright contradicts through actual behaviour and incidents.

A man who obviously discriminates between Hindu and Muslim lives, under pretexts of legalities which he himself conditionally breaks - urges ahimsa for Hindus when it comes to Muslim on Hindu violence, but does not hesitate to order shooting when it comes to Hindu on Muslim violence - one who comes to formal agreements to prevent escape of Hindu refugees from East Pakistan - cannot be someone who is declared to be above deception or above knowing connivance in selective genocide. That is the only issue.

Of course to hagiographers of personality cults or those with perhaps political axes to grind but masquerading as neutrals doing equal equals onlee- such incident/direct-quote-from-JLN - supported evidence needs to be denounced as "axes-to-grind". Stop and think whether by abusing posters for their quotation of public domain records - personally - not show up possible hidden political agendas too.

As for Indira ji - I think I have posted a few times - that retrospectively I see her intervention in the formation of BD as long term counter productive. It did not stop atrocities on Hindus or Buddhists, or land alienation and dispossession and forced conversion or rape and abduction. It did not stop enforced migration of Hindus out of BD into WB. It provided a second haven for anti-Indian forces and a second base for islamism and Chinese as well as "western" manipulations against India. Even if one day Pakistan "falls" - Islamists will have a second haven to survive and regrow under the pretext of an independent nation. Anti-Indian sentiments have never reduced and is connected strongly with Islamism.

The regional Islamist faction in the east used India to get free from the western islamist dominance over the economy - but their islamism remained intact. So that as soon as the purpose was served India was basically kicked out, and people suspected of being sympathetic to India were liquidated.

Now even if we finish Pak off - BD will be used as bastion of Islamism and anti-India manipulations by imperialists. [Oh yes they seem to have survived in influence in Asia even after Bandung - and the so-called compromise formula about "all forms and manifestations of colonialism" that included Chinese imperialism].

Whether I want a right wing politics, or I subscribe to right wing politics, or intend to impact Indian politics in s specific direction - are assumptions on your part - which I suggest you should refrain from. I have not made similar assumptions yet for you.
Last edited by brihaspati on 16 Nov 2011 03:50, edited 1 time in total.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

Games have been played all over history across time-scales, and across regions. Why, they get played even here on brf. Its not an acknowledgment of games (aka history), it is assessment that assigns the appropriate weights to both positives and negatives. Ideally, opinions should be based on facts, here facts are used to fit opinions. Makes for a wonderful world....

Stan: Why measure originality? As long as a leader has provided a constructive and progressive vision and is able to set the nation on a path, slow or fast, but steady; she or he has done something good for the country. Like I pointed out earlier, when India, the modern one, was born in 1947 - the World had just come out of WWII. Europe was a mess (like today). China and Japan were no good. America and Russia were the two powers that influenced the World. Nehru, and India, did not want to truck with just any one. Wouldn't NAM be original :mrgreen: then?

Stan, at the first look the word secular does look menacing. Probably a blunder of IG; on the other hand I could blame our 'original' founding fathers and their Constitution. They modeled it after Western Constitutions. So IG was just following the trail blazing traits of our Constitutions makers. If you attribute the mistake to IG, then you would have to blame others too :-)

From a State vs Citizen, I would rather have a secular government that does not interfere with Citizens' religious affairs then a non-secular State. During the monarchy, Kings routinely built temple, buddhist viharas, jain monastries itaydi - hence can be called State sponsored religious symbols. Secularism is a double edged sword, it depends on who uses it and how it is used.

Theo_Fidel wrote:Back to religion bashing I see. Sigh!
you're not addressing the issues and question that were raised. merely, bashing what you believe to be "bashing". please refute the points that were raised in the previous posts about Nehru's illustrious history in defending Abrahamics, always, always, AGAINST the indigenous.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

I am political, so you can make all the assumptions you can make. I am extremely sympathetic to the Establishment that runs the machinery. I am sympathetic to the Dravidian parties in some of their language based whine profile as you must know now from reading my posts elsewhere. I am not sympathetic to their rubbish on religiosity, rationalism, religion, etc.

What points. I don't see anything except rolling smiling faces. How is one supposed to take this seriously. Seriously think long and hard before calling Christians and Muslims non-indigenous.

SwamyG, you see why I'm forced to brandish my Aruval.
----------------------------------------------------

Hard though it maybe to imagine our positions are very very similar. We are nit picking over the details.

In 50 years time, when this grinding poverty is behind us, we will look at JLN very differently. It must be remembered that till the 1920's the USA too was a land of grinding poverty. It is only with the prosperity of the past 50 years that their founders turned into these champions of a 'shining city on a hill', etc. Only now that Mt Rushmore was carved.

50 years from now, Indians will hate JLN after the present regime passes its usefulness and under a new regime, light is thrown on all the interesting details of his ideology and regime that he helped construct....
in 1911, the high and mighty of India and also the British Empire's Who's Who assembled in Delhi. if anybody had told them then that India would be free of their rule within 40 years, they would have laughed in your face. they would have also most likely advised you to get your mental health checked out....but 40 years changed a lot didn't it?!

All these good talks about Nehru, let me put my 2 paise only.

To say that Nehru was more secular than others is a myth, especially when secularism was absent at other places in the past. Which other countries have sarve dharma sama bhava even now? Even now many first world countries and of course middle eastern countries do not show maturity of post colonial times. So who is setting the standards of morality here?

The Dharmic people of India are setting standards of morality and some pseudo seculars are not, nor at any times the barbaric invaders from the north or from the sea. To say that Nehru was epitome of secularism, is also ignoring all other people, so let me add here:

Netaji - what happened to Netaji, by the way?

Sardar - Why was he not made head of Congress party despite getting majority?

Can be many more.

There could be many more. Those who collect secular credentials away from Dharmic people should better think 100 times and come up with facts about who has ever set morals of secularism in the world. I see very few, and the rest are just bloodthirsty warmongers in sheeps clothing.

Nehru was no Gandhi, and also it is inhuman to ignore human rights of Hindus too. Therefore Nehru was indeed at times inhuman towards Hindus in those tough times.

To reinforce that Nehru was only secular during those times is just a plain lie. There are others more secular than Nehru, Netaji and Sardar included.

SwamyG wrote: 'Good boy image' muje kya deta hain bhai? kooch be nahin to :-)
You will find out when you lose it buddy.
:wink:
First you made gratuitous regional remarks. .......... Now you are labeling posters.
Why?
For the simple reason, because that is how I see you in this light. Simple. You folks are just JLN basher. Period. Nothing is going to happen trying talking sense on this subject. People are wasting their time. Seriously, when did labeling posters scare you :-) If you cannot find one redeeming quality, why do people even bother wasting their time.
Well then I hope you are prepared to be labeled back, posts reported and generally find that the people who could have a decent debate with you turn all nasty on you.

It happens, you are going down the path of choosing to make enemies because of ideology.

Meanwhile, I am aware of "oh I will not say anything because everyone else is a close minded idiot and wont listen" -- is actually dont have anything that can stand scrutiny.

Sorry boss sometimes the heros and icons are false. Worshipping false gods cuts various ways.
Boss, me hamesha galath, aap hamesha sahi. Abhi aap kush ho?
Nahi, because you dont mean it. You are obviously not always wrong, and obviously I am not always right. However on JLN I am still waiting for some one to share redeeming qualities.
:P
I know not to wrestle meaninglessly. I kinda earlier directed that there is a JLN dhaaga for all of your bashing. No body seems to pay heed - including moderators.
I guess the posts can all be moved there, this might not be such a serious issue.

Theo_Fidel wrote: In 50 years time, when this grinding poverty is behind us, we will look at JLN very differently..
Actually JLNs myth is crashing by the day and times goes by, very soon he will be considered like one of the Popes that asked Galileo to be crucified and not a Voltaire or Pascal.

History is cruelest on those who murder the present to make their grand tombs to last into the future.

Stan,

Separate from this whole beaten-to-death topic of Nehru, I'd like to comment on one of your thoughts on page 62 of this thread..(this thread is speeding faster than the TSP dhaga :lol: )
Brf has by association made right-wing nationalist and left-wing traitorous. This is what I mean by the "with me or against me" syndrome that is so nauseating. The opposite of right wing is not left wing, but not-right wing. Ditto for the other extreme.
I have a fundamental problem with the bolded part... seen this argument used too many times in hypocritical fashion by the left. Any attempt at using terminology such as 'left wing' / 'right wing' invariably involves pigeon-holing a diverse range of views into convenient buckets. 'Right wing' for instance - covers a range of viewpoints ranging from the more liberal ones to the more extreme.

What you cannot have is the liberty to pigeonhole the right - but then protest when the same standards are applied to the left.

The yardsticks need to be consistent...if the spectrum of views were to be represented by a line, you can either select the mid-point and use that as the marker to separate out left and right wings, OR you can define two extremes and call them the wings with everything in center being 'centrist'. But what you cannot have is one yardstick for defining the 'right' and a separate one for the 'left'.

Btw based on accepted international conventions - any view that is supportive of welfare spend / big government and is supportive of standard 'multiculturalism' is regarded as 'left wing'. Do look up wiki if you need any evidence. The INC is very much a leftist party by these norms.

Theo_Fidel wrote: <SNIP> IA- You read the old papers the question always was about resource diversion. Nehru made a bet that economic development should be priority over military and lost. The Army gave dire warnings all the time. Still does within limits. To be honest we are making the exact same bet today as well.
---------------------------------------------------------
<SNIP>
Sorry, it was more that the simple butter versus guns issue. It was the undermining of the Armed Forces as an institution which led to the debacle of 1962. It started in 1947-48 when Kashmir was ours for the taking and culminated in 1962. Thank god he was not there in 1965.

He dis-regarded the warning of IA on the 1962 - choosing to rely on Menon and then playing favorites in the selection process. IA had the might to stall chinese in 1962 - only 16% of IA's strength was used in 1962, think about that.

Theo_Fidel wrote: <SNIP> IA- You read the old papers the question always was about resource diversion. Nehru made a bet that economic development should be priority over military and lost. The Army gave dire warnings all the time. Still does within limits. To be honest we are making the exact same bet today as well.
---------------------------------------------------------
<SNIP>
Sorry, it was more that the simple butter versus guns issue. It was the undermining of the Armed Forces as an institution which led to the debacle of 1962. It started in 1947-48 when Kashmir was ours for the taking and culminated in 1962. Thank god he was not there in 1965.

He dis-regarded the warning of IA on the 1962 - choosing to rely on Menon and then playing favorites in the selection process. IA had the might to stall chinese in 1962 - only 16% of IA's strength was used in 1962, think about that.
Without northern J&K, India is cut off from Central Asia and related mutually beneficial economic activities. What an economic blunder!

Another example of Nehru's worldly profile going nowhere in times of war:
From The strange case of the air force in wartime
Column of Inder Malhotra
To be sure, the Indian Air Force was used to the hilt, and it did its job as best it could. It dropped in the two battlefields, North-East Frontier Agency (NEFA) and Ladakh, no less than 8,000 tonnes of supplies for the army a day — though much of these were lost, especially in NEFA, because of the treacherous terrain. But the exclusion of the air force from combat was inexcusable...
To cap it all, the most powerful constraint on the use of air power against the Chinese came from the United States through its ambassador, John Kenneth Galbraith. He was highly respected in any case because of his stature as an economic guru and had become highly influential because of America’s immediate promise to give India all assistance in its hour of need. He constantly told Nehru, foreign secretary M. J. Desai and others that the use of air power would needlessly escalate the war and the situation might get completely out of hand.
Even this pales, however, compared with the crowning irony that, all the while the Americans were advising us not to use air power, the CIA knew that the Chinese were in no position to launch any air operations from their bases in Tibet. No air base had a runway long enough, and the Chinese were woefully short of aviation fuel and other essential supplies. Moreover, the Chinese fighter aircraft were concentrated on their eastern coast. They had received a categorical assurance from the US that it “would not unleash Taiwan against them” (Henry Kissinger’s words) yet they wanted to take no chances.

A Pentagon study immediately after the ceasefire concluded that if India had used its air power, “It would have made a significant difference to the war’s outcome”. (Emphasis added.)

Even at this distance of time it hurts that the Americans did not come clean and concealed from us what they knew.
All the secular outlook of Nehru in the world where secularism is a joke makes no sense. It was misused to make fools out of the civilized Indians again & again, thereby costing Indians international support while promise of 'unleashing Taiwan attack' to score against India; while seculars like Nehru behaved as if watching from sidelines.

The court holds that Prima facie there was no case of graft against the MPs since they did not take the money and also that the tapes are genuine.

Then why were the 4 arrested in the first post. Also why have the beneficiaries of the act gone untouched. With no charges having brought against them.

Sanku saar:
Forget my image saar, it was thrust up on me :-) As it is said 'tali ek hath se nahin baj thi'. What ideology are you refering?
All I seek is a glimmer - one or two bashers at least saying one or two things positive about Nehru. If one were to read some of your collective (not just you), it would appear JLN was the worst thing that happened to India.

What redeeming quality do you seek? Let me throw you this one - stability. I have been consistent with that word and concept even in our current Economic dhaaga. I am against organized retail and industries taking over mom-n-pop shops and unorganized industries. I have been asked why? My answer has been stability, balance and security. For any society to flourish, it requires peace and stability. Our Vedic seers were able to philosophize only because they did not have to bother about the mundane because someone else ably took care of that responsibilities. Farmers safely tilled the lands, because they were not troubled with wars. Merchants and artists moved about freely because there was a class that was taking care of strategy, security and stability. Nehru made political flaws - big one in my mind Tibet. He had his personal/human side of the flaws - which do not matter to us now.

He provided a stable climate for the country to stand up in on its feet. Just turn your head and look at the countries around India. India is what it is today because of its people and culture. Our parents and grand-parents moved it to where it is now. And some of our leaders provided that vision and climate. JLN was one of those leaders.

ps: Thanks for seeing me through :-)

SwamyG wrote:What redeeming quality do you seek? Let me throw you this one - stability. I have been consistent with that word and concept even in our current Economic dhaaga. I am against organized retail and industries taking over mom-n-pop shops and unorganized industries.

Something we agree on!

The court holds that Prima facie there was no case of graft against the MPs since they did not take the money and also that the tapes are genuine.
This was know to all since the beginning. Beneficiaries from INC and DMK , embroiled in hundreds of big , bigger and biggest scams scaling its own previous highs ( remember Bofors was biggest of its time by INC), have tried to portray those persons as criminals who exposed their Cash for vote Scam to get nuclear deal passed in Parl. Even a child can see through it.

Attempt to cast doubts on CAG figures and accusing Mr Joshi , PAC Chariman of improprietary are all part of this game. It is funny to see how they think that if some how figure is whittled down to something like 2000 cr from 176,000 cr, criminality of action would vanish. Pathetic.

Stan,
I mentioned JLN, PVNR, ABV, and IG. I said that JLN and PVNR are the trend setters (2 most influential PM's). IG followed in her father's footsteps and ABV followed in PVNR's. I said all that in my post. But somehow, you've completely missed my reference to IG....

Why PVNR? Is it the financial reforms? Hopefully not because he bucked the dynasty :) --- which I feel is one reason why there is an additional level of anger against JLN. His blunders did cost the nation, but he was the PM who held India together in those early days. The 'additional layer' of anger is because those that followed him used his name for their own gain, and so Nehru's many sins pull down the rest associated with his legacy. The same goes for his defenders.

His blunders on national security have really cost the nation, and the general populace recognises it - Kashmir not so much, but China 1962 primarily. However, he is also viewed as someone who was trusting (like so many other foolish rulers in Indian history), and one betrayal died of shock soon after - a sort of repentance. I've always felt that MKG did the nation a big wrong by asking the Sardar to make way for Nehru. At the same time Nehru presided over massive changes in the country - from a slave to sovereign for 17 years. He did not mandate IG to be the PM, and she was not initially. Just look around to other countries becoming independent around the same time. So while his blunders and other sins exist, he is not the demon the reading above would indicate.

some poster pointed out that PVNR, intentionally or unintentionally, did things (or *failed* to do certain things at certain times) which have made it so that Nehru dynasty has not been able to claim the top seat after him. they might be the real puppeteers, but still official seat they haven't gotten yet since PVNR's time.

Punjab, Nuclear issue, economic reforms, Ayodhya, relations w/ABV, there are many such issues where PVNR's hand is visible for those who wish to see. unfortunately, he had his weaknesses which stopped him from going full circle and undoing some of the other things that Nehru institutionalized. but PVNR was the first step in breaking away from Nehru regime.

x-posting my own post from "Epics" thread:
JMTP's,

Arjuna was the "wandering soul" among the Pandavas. Yudhishtira is seen to be hankering after Dharma and "holding back" the rest of the brothers. but in reality, once Yuddha was decided, the Dharmaraja didn't hesitate in executing the war with all means necessary. it was Arjuna who was constantly in doubts over this and that issue.

regardless of the politically correct interpretation, Krishna decided not to make Arjuna the "supreme commander" of their armies b/c he detected long ago the "wandering" mentality of Arjuna and knew that in the middle of war if Arjuna was having one of his "episodes", it would be disastrous for their side as a whole.

so instead, Drishtadyumna was made the Pradhaana Senapati. he didn't have any of the "distinguished" titles of Arjuna, but Krishna rightly recognized that Drishtadyumna had the vengeful ruthlessness to win the war at any cost necessary. Krishna's decision to pick Drishtadyumna and not Arjuna is an important lesson for modern India.

in matters that pose an existential threat to the nation, the men/women who should be leading the charge have to have the qualification that Dhrishtadyumna had (the whole story of "born to avenge Drona's insult" is a cover for basically a ruthless intent to destroy the Kaurava side and Drona, for the "insult" and whatever other reasons there were). the "titles" and all the distinguishing individual achievements are useless if the single-minded will against the enemy is absent....

if we model Nehru as Arjuna, where is Krishna? MKG had the same views as Nehru and didn't have the "ruthlessness" of Krishna. secondly, if Nehru was Arjuna, then he shouldn't have been the PM. somebody else should have.

MB war seems quite different, when we model Arjuna as a "vacillating" mind. Picking D'dyumna for above reasons is valid. also, that could have been a tacit acceptance that Pandavas, no matter the empire they later inherited, didn't have the required "respect" of the allies; therefore, picking one of the Pandavas for the "pradhaana senapati" would not have sat well with the allies. so, Krishna had to manage this situation by picking a non-Pandava for the post and then staying with the Pandava that was prone to vacillation.

situation with JLN could have been salvageable had the Kauravas (British) had been totally annihilated in the War (independence struggle). in the modern context, this would involve complete elimination of those aspects of the Indian rashtra which supported the British, and those which were created by the British to shackle Indians. this "total" destruction was never done to Kauravas in the modern time.

had MKG picked Nehru and also the path of total destruction of British, then the power vacuum after JLN would have resulted in the emergence of non-dynasty forces and India history would have been different. but MKG did not go for that route. and even if he wanted to, at first sign of such motives, he was conveniently assassinated by "right win Hindus". as such, even then, there would have been significant pressure from US and Soviet to insert their interests.

when "vacillating" minds are at the top, there has to be a parallel force which works with the "top" to ensure the elimination of "evil" forces. otherwise, we see that the "vacillating" and the "evil" join hands to create their own interests. and even in the future of the heirs of the "vacillating" decide to break free of the parasitical relationship, the network of interests has become so strong that they can't break free. and therefore, the cycle begins again: the "evil" forces eventually subordinate the heirs of "vacillating" to once again create the same scenario of powerful "evil" forces taking over.

if Krishna had been "eliminated" from the game during or before the war, Arjuna would have been the convergence point of Kaurava interests and the "compromise" would have been made in which "troubling thorns" like Draupadi and Vidura would have been silenced, and history would have been quite different.

SwamyG wrote:Sanku saar:
Forget my image saar, it was thrust up on me :-)
But it has worked for you, nevertheless.
What ideology are you refering?
Sorry I am lost here, in what context?
All I seek is a glimmer - one or two bashers at least saying one or two things positive about Nehru. If one were to read some of your collective (not just you), it would appear JLN was the worst thing that happened to India.
Well a number of people have said the above bolded portion quite explicitly. So, yes, that is certainly a firm opinion of number of people. It is natural that they will try and convince others of the same.

Whether its a fact? Certainly JLN's effect (net-net) if bad, would be very bad. It can not be somewhat bad, this is a function of time and space and the power that he had been given at that time.
What redeeming quality do you seek? Let me throw you this one - stability.
While I completely am with you on the importance of stability -- I am not so sure on how this is being ascribed to Nehru.

How does this quality become a part of Nehru's legacy? Seriously? He gifted us the long war of 47-50. He gifted us 62. Though 65 did not happen under his watch, it was primarily his doing (created the conditions for the same).

Your family might have benefited from a stable India, but hey I know of many families that saw a very turbulent India in that period, so I do not think your personal experiences can be extrapolated.

I would personally need to think of this a bit more.

the British gave stability too. I mean why bother with the "independence" struggle and all those things which require fighting and conflict. just accept their rule and you have "stability". it is the same philosophy applied to Nehru: just accept his "rule" b/c you will have "stability"......utter nonsense.

Sanku wrote:Your family might have benefited from a stable India, but hey I know of many families that saw a very turbulent India in that period, so I do not think your personal experiences can be extrapolated.
Yes, My father always says that post Independence was extraordinarily turbulent. Every couple of years famine threatened, jobs were eliminated wholesale and wars seemed endless. We think Kargil was a big deal but think of 1962 when people were preparing themselves mentally to loose the whole of undivided Assam.

At least in TN things were very unsettled politically as well. Social reforms were just beginning and no one knew where the new lines on behavior would end up.

As far as dynasty, Nehru was strongly opposed to it. He refused Indira any role in the party and kept her quite inexperienced. If Shastri hadn't died there would be no dynasty. Indira was brought in as young and easily manipulated by the big wigs. She then proceeded to dismantle the entire leadership and sent large numbers to jail. Indira was the start of Dynasty. It was always clear with her that either Rajiv or more likely that Buffoon Sanjay would take her place. She was also the source of the low IQ problem, more specifically her husband Feroz of Parsi origin.

All these JLN haters discredit themselves the instant they fail to recognize the devastating impact of IG on India. She caused more damage than 10 Nehru's put together. My Father's most devastating comment on her is always that she lacked a sense of decency.

devesh wrote:the British gave stability too. I mean why bother with the "independence" struggle and all those things which require fighting and conflict. just accept their rule and you have "stability". it is the same philosophy applied to Nehru: just accept his "rule" b/c you will have "stability"......utter nonsense.
X-Posting from UP thread...
devesh wrote:actually, one sees in history that when the Islamist infested UP areas start playing sub-regional politics; there is strong trend toward smaller territories playing politics against each other in the Gangetic belt. all the influential players who started the game were eventually swallowed up by those who didn't start the game but strengthened their position in lower GV and later, as the original players in Upper-Central GV got exhausted, absorbed those regions away.

if history is a process of "patterns", then those who start the game and are most influential in the intial stages, will likely get absorbed by forces which rise later and didn't have any hand in the "original" game.
Reminds me of a Telugu Article I read today http://telugu.greatandhra.com/cinema/20 ... 10_mbs.php

It explains the efforts of a British soldier Philip Meadows Taylor (The story of My Life) in Nizam kingdom, and how people like Meadows Taylor who built the infrastructure that are wrongly attributed to Nizam.

The writer (MBS Prasad) summarizes the whole situation (failure of 1857 mutiny) as this
The independence movement was started by educated Indians. They started this agitation as they wanted to bring the democratic governance model to India - instead of British kingdom. But the commors did not join them at the begenning. The commonors like the order in society (civic infra, law and order etc) that is brought in by British rule. They were scared that all these benefits will be lost if the kingdom model returns.

It took lot of effort to convince the common Indians that we are not going back to the feudalism and we are going to continue the democratic model even after independence from British. Gandhi, Nehru and others were able to do it that is why they are the leaders of Independent India (contrast this with some of the Swaraj Party ideas; which were in support of feudalistic structures).
Coming to the current topic, smaller states will bring the feudalistic structures back IMHO. Given the current corrupt political, administrative models most of these small states will go into the control of 30-50 MLAs/MPs (new feudals). There is a very high chance that these politicians are direct descendants of past feudal structures; and we are back to 500+ samsthanas. That will be undoing of democracy.
Last edited by RamaY on 17 Nov 2011 00:17, edited 1 time in total.

Theo_Fidel wrote:All these JLN haters discredit themselves the instant they fail to recognize the devastating impact of IG on India...
Let us divide Nehru's mistakes in 3 ways - external, on the borders, & internal, regardless of Indira.

Externally, Nehru did not recognize that very few nations are 'secular', and went on to preach secularism which was not too 'smart'. Even now see what is going on in the world, and imagine what the world could be in 1947 onwards, with Chinese running amok, USA inheriting the super power status from barbaric invaders, and so on, including a manipulated UN where the Kashmir issue still going on inspite of even Pakistan saying that it was 'invaded' by 'irregulars'. On the borders, he was very soft to Pakistan, in spite of wars. Chinese fooled him 'Hindi Chini bhai bhai' and launched war. Internally, he amassed power on himself played favorites.

Being the first PM of India, he remained passive which was not good at all, especially when pakis and Chinese were running all over Indian periphery. In fact, a gentleman should be smarter and sharper than troublemaker per me, but he turned out to be quite ill tempered and short sighted.

I don't think that being a gentleman just means being passive in the name of Ahimsa and peace.

Theo_Fidel wrote: As far as dynasty, Nehru was strongly opposed to it. He refused Indira any role in the party and kept her quite inexperienced. If Shastri hadn't died there would be no dynasty. Indira was brought in as young and easily manipulated by the big wigs. She then proceeded to dismantle the entire leadership and sent large numbers to jail. Indira was the start of Dynasty. It was always clear with her that either Rajiv or more likely that Buffoon Sanjay would take her place. She was also the source of the low IQ problem, more specifically her husband Feroz of Parsi origin.
If we see closely it is more to do with the "INC System" than the family. This system coronated the family members whenever they cannot find a leader among themselves. Often times this die-nasty is resurrected by the feudal turned politicians. This is what needs to be broken permanently.

This morning I was thinking about this deeply and I thought perhaps we should reserve all political positions (from village panchayat member to PM to president) to Hindu lower castes (No Christians and Muslims please) until next constitutional change.

Theo_Fidel wrote: All these JLN haters discredit themselves the instant they fail to recognize the devastating impact of IG on India.
IG's impact was quite devastating on certain counts no doubt, the 20%+ inflation, insertion of secular and socialist BS in the preamble, creating the Punjab problem (she carried her dads hate for the Akali's), a practical shutdown of all enterprise and nationalization. Emergency etc...

The reason why IG is bashed less is because

1) Nehru was given both power and opportunities which were unparalleled, by the time IG took charge, Nehruvian policies had already taken the country to a dead end (policy and growth wise)

2) She grew India (Sikkim), and broke our enemies (in however flawed manner)

3) Stood up to US et al, I mean really stood up to them, unlike Nehru who was all fire and brimstone in a debating club but would go crawling back to same US at the first sign of pressure (food, external security)

4) She gave India her first clear cut victory, the value of that can simply not be underestimated.

5) Courage for Nuclear tests.

She for all her flaws comes across as a fierce combative doer -- as opposed to Nehru who comes across as a sniveling coward, who would strut around like a peacock when things were not too bad, but turn into quivering jelly at the first sign of trouble (this pattern was seen even during the real freedom struggle phases)
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

IG also gave away Katchhathheevu in some misplaced sense of camaraderie with Sirimavo. What she won in the BD war, she lost on the table. J&K was not solved. The Indira-Mujib agreement was signed by her which is now coming full circle with the handover of all the contested territories in the border with BD. So IG was a mixed bag too, so was everyone.

Under Nehru, Hyderabad (the biggest princely state) was united by force. You dont have to give Nehru the credit, but dont de-chronologize facts. Goa was united by force in 61. The reintegration/merger/reorganization of states went all the way through 56 or so, if I am not chronologically wrong. Nehru was decent in terms of linguistic politics once he saw the show of democracy. He accepted that his way wont be there and moved on. As much as you put it, Nepal and SL were never a part of the equation in terms of merger. Nepal hardly ever wanted to be a part of India. I can show that with historical documents, need time. Same for SL.

IG was vindictive, vituperative and psychologically a woman in a man's world and acted/was brutal to establish her name, fame and respect. JJ, Maya, Mamta, Sushma, Sonia, all are very much the same. I can vouch for JJ's capricious acts as something psychological. The men you see/saw did nt need to prove much to command respect. Some commanded respect by their tallness, perceived or otherwise. Some commanded respect by certain benevolent acts, some by brute force and capriciousness.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

Nehru's contribution to codifying succession laws via the http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hindu_Marriage_Act is often seen as a revolution. Sure, marxist historians yea yea. But from what was there in pre-47 era to what was made, it was a revolution.

When Manipur, Nagaland, etc. declared independence, under Nehru, the Army marched in. When Mizoram insurgency was around, guess who asked the AF to bomb civilian areas, IG. This is probably the only use of aerial bombardment of civilian areas in post-47 India. Not even for the maoists has this force tactic been tried. OTOH, when the language dhamaka was going full blow in 56, guess who was sent as an emissary by JLN: IG. She was trusted by all sides and she stitched an uneasy truce that has come to stay with us.

Stan_Savljevic wrote:Nehru's contribution to codifying succession laws via the http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hindu_Marriage_Act is often seen as a revolution. Sure, marxist historians yea yea. But from what was there in pre-47 era to what was made, it was a revolution.
Do not understand what is JLN contributions to such laws. If majority Hindus were against it then we can understand his leadership, if any. It is the inherent hindu nature that allowed all these reforms to take place thru govt legislation. It is the hindu populations realization and acceptance that led to most of reforms in pre and post independence India, same way it happened time immemorial.

Can you please show one piece of legislation that JLN enacted that would push forward secularism in Christian and Muslim constituencies? Perhaps that might show some leadership and vision on JLN's part.

To JLN supporters -

JLN was a good PM of India. But there were many leaders who could have been better PMs given the same conditions.

All these good leaders agreed to put JLN at the front and allowed him a pan-Indian identity in order to advance India. To understand their leadership, imagine JLN's role in Indian politics if he were not made PM and was asked to play secondary role. If you want an example, look at his father who started a separate party when INC did not play to his tunes.

No need to make a god out of JLN. The more unreal importance and leadership you attribute to JLN, the more skeletons will tumble from the closet. He is just like any other 2nd class leader of his period who got more than he deserved.
Last edited by RamaY on 17 Nov 2011 01:08, edited 1 time in total.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

Anything that happened under Nehru's rule is not Nehru's contribution but something that happened under PVNR/ABV is their contribution though? Anything negative that happened under Nehru should be an albatross singularly borne by Nehru but similar stuff for other regimes can be explained away (e.g., IC-814, Godhra, Babri Masjid, etc.).

This takes the cake for madrassa logic that is the overarching theme of this thread.

Stan_Savljevic wrote:Anything that happened under Nehru's rule is not Nehru's contribution but something that happened under PVNR/ABV is their contribution though? Anything negative that happened under Nehru should be an albatross singularly borne by Nehru but similar stuff for other regimes can be explained away (e.g., IC-814).

This takes the cake for madrassa logic that is the overarching theme of this thread.
Yes. Because you guys are behaving like the madarssa-educated sycophants. Please read my post above.

"mulluni mullu tone tiyyali" = Only a thorn can remove a thorn from the flesh

SwamyG wrote:What redeeming quality do you seek? Let me throw you this one - stability. I have been consistent with that word and concept even in our current Economic dhaaga. I am against organized retail and industries taking over mom-n-pop shops and unorganized industries.

Something we agree on!
We BRFites agree on lot of things, it is just that small 1% where we disagree with each other. We all want to see a strong and progressive country where people are free to pursue their path to success. I would say Moksha, but Stan might get upset :-)))) We want citizens to be happy, healthy and India to stand up and shine domestically and internationally. We treasure our rich history. We want to remove the flaws, pull out warts and grow. Roti, kapada aur Makha made sense two thousand years ago, and makes sense even now.

If people have clean water, air and toilets they will find their way to prosperity. Of course we need right vision and leaders on the way to help them and to ensure individuals or groups don't hijack or create obstacles.

Sanku:
I am not sure what you mean by worked for me? Do I get special privileges? Nope.

You introduced the word 'ideology' so I sought explanation. Throw this legacy vegacy out the window. I do not care about his legacy. As a leader did he steer the country or not is an important question to me. I say he did. Looks like you agree stability was and is important. Would you not say, a young infant needs more protection than say a toddler than say a teenager? Vivekanada said something similar with a analogy to young plant versus a full grown tree. Modern India was young, and JLN leadership had something to do with stability and his vision of setting up institutions etc was the need of the time. It was also the need of the time to not buckle under pressure to USSR or USA.

As I said before I already see drawbacks in his leadership. He should have done more for the Tibetan cause. He could have done more to keep SL and Nepal in India. But those are my wishlists. It is a different issue if Sardar or Nehru could have achieved them. I might want an Akhand Bharat, but that might be just a wet dream. Realities are different. So I am not going to defend the indefensible policies, actions or inaction of Nehru.
Your family might have benefited from a stable India, but hey I know of many families that saw a very turbulent India in that period, so I do not think your personal experiences can be extrapolated.
So.....it boils down to something which I said earlier. JEM said I was degrading the discussion. And many others followed JEM line of thoughts. I believe, I might have touched some raw nerves there.