The Japanese do not give grant money. Well maybe a token sum. They do give low interest loans denoted in yen. India pays back in yen. Even Delhi Metro is paying back every yen.alexis wrote:Unless HSR is going to be constructed on Japanese grant money
--------------------------------------------
BTW the problem with DFC is not funding or even land acquisition. It is just that business as usual probably means it will finish in 2025-2030. Tenders are being issued just now. Then there is a lengthy qualification, mobilization, start stop construction, contractors who run away, etc. So maybe just 1 line, very incomplete, by 2025.
I fully expect to talk about these lines incomplete in 2031. So see you then....

Personally I think it is fully feasible to construct the entire 2 lines in the next 4 years. PMO needs to change the construction process and focus lazer like on performance.
Instead pride of place in this years report is the RajBhasa efforts of the DFCCIL, for which a special officer was hired who then conducted monthly seminars for all employees and had a big annual hoo-haa on speaking Hindi. In Delhi.... Squandering of energy and effort.
---------------------------------
One can do some simple math to show the effort it will take. Right now a Dedicated mid-speed line dual track is run at about RS 10-20 Crore per km, including land acquisition. If we take the mid number of Rs 15 Crore per km. Assume 1/3 goes to wages. Rs 5 crore per km. Assume cost of labor on average works out to Rs 1 lakh per employee/year. Then 5 crore / 1 lakh per year = 500 man years per km. So 500 men/women working of one year can build 1 km of dual track.
So the ~ 1,500 km western line needs = 500 x 1,500 = 750,000 man years of effort. Assuming some management overheads, down time, etc lets round it up to a solid 1,000,000 man years per line. So to complete it in 4 years one would need 1,000,000/4 = 250,000 workers hammering away simultaneously.

Between them they need ½ million employees. If we don’t see this level of effort and right now we are not even on the ground floor, it is not going to get done in time. Period.