Indian Autos Thread

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Indian Autos Thread

Sudip wrote:
Yogi_G wrote:Staying in a 2nd floor building, I wonder how I can ever manage to recharge a electric car? 8 hours recharge times defeats it all. In TFTA lands with garages it is not at all a problem but I just dont foresee me buying a electric car until I buy that dream land of mine, build an "independent" home, have a garage and then the electric equipment needed for these recharges. I am sure this is true for many a middle class Indian.
Not everyone lives in independent house in TFTA land. I live in los angeles. Its opposite. small 2-3 storey apartment complexes. many families live this way. Also dont foreget EV market also pertains to those who have tight pockets and are getting tired of gas prices, so EV targetted for big garage owners certainly not true

So how do the apartment vasis do it in Khan land? Do they have a common place for the apartment complex where people go to recharge? Wondering how it works with 8 hour recharge times? :?:
Pranay

Post by Pranay »

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-15815850

The Nano gets a makeover...
The world's cheapest motor car, India's Tata Nano, has been given a makeover, after disappointing sales since it was launched in 2009.

The 2012 Nano will be available in more colours and have more luxurious interiors, as part of an effort to rejuvenate its appeal.

The manufacturers also say the car will be more fuel-efficient.

Tata motors, which makes the Nano, also manufactures British luxury cars Jaguar and Land Rover.

The modifications were made after feedback from Nano owners, Tata Motors' India operations director, PM Talang, is quoted by AFP news agency as saying.

The engine will be increased by three horsepower to 38 and the company says the inside of the car will be quieter.

The car's makers say they hope the new model will help to increase sales. The price of the car will remain the same.

Last December it was reported that sales of the Nano had plunged by 85% compared with a year earlier.
Pranay

Post by Pranay »

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-15794997

The Nano's bumpy ride...
There were several other issues that conspired to turn chairman Ratan Tata's dream sour.

Most of these revolved around inept marketing rather than the product itself. The first round of bookings for the Nano was a lottery for many and hence it was hard to gauge the true demand for the car.

The Nano has to be seen as the car you want to buy rather than the one you need to ”

The booking system alienated a lot of genuine buyers and it didn't help when sales failed to reopen for more than a year because of production delays.

Some advertising experts say that Tata Motors became complacent after the huge bookings it received and didn't implement a comprehensive advertising strategy to keep the Nano brand pumped up, relying on the hype created by unprecedented media coverage. Ironically, this was the Nano's undoing.

While industry analysts, experts and the media lauded the Nano as the world's cheapest car and praised Tata for its frugal engineering and cost structure, customers didn't take kindly to this tag.

In fact, the biggest reason why many potential Nano buyers turned up their noses and walked away is because they did not want to be seen in the world's cheapest car.

Even at the bottom of the pyramid, a car is highly aspirational and image is crucial. To be seen in the world's cheapest car gave the message that you couldn't afford anything else.

To make things worse, Tata Motors jacked up the price of the Nano by around 10% at the beginning of this year, which in effect made it a 200,000 rupee ($3,900; £2,470) car (for the top-end model). But the perception was that it still cost around 100,000 rupees.

Nano sales are beginning to pick up. 6400 units sold in November and they have a facelift version rolling out.

Any mullah here has owned an Audi A4 or an A6? If so, what was your experience re. reliability of the car, maintainence cost and servicing? Can one do basic servicing on these cars by themselves (topping fluids, oil change etc.) or does one pay out of the nose for each of these?

My BIL just got A6 and seems very happy and satisfied man.
saptarishi

Post by saptarishi »

a4 is rocking,my friend friend's father just got it.he bought it as a replacement of the old c-class merc. suspension is great,interiors are top class.but i would recommend camry or accord if price becomes an issue cause these to cars have all the goodies of a4,sans the german brand name.even teana is good

Any idea how long these guys have owned their Audis? Usually problems in new cars start creeping in year 2-3+ onwards.

Raja Bose wrote:Any mullah here has owned an Audi A4 or an A6? If so, what was your experience re. reliability of the car, maintainence cost and servicing? Can one do basic servicing on these cars by themselves (topping fluids, oil change etc.) or does one pay out of the nose for each of these?
Used to drive an A4 for a few years. I loved the car, it's not as expensive to maintain as it's made out to be. Spares are not that expensive and you can do basic servicing yourself. Dealers are absolute rip offs though. Find a decent european car specialist (must be plenty in Cali) and get spares online if required. It'll have niggles compared to your civic. Mostly sensors going bad, axles are another issue (lost count of the number of times the CV axle boot got ripped). You're f*cked if you end up with a lemon (engine or transmission issues) but that's the case with most brands i suppose. But the cars are superb and no amount of Vina telling me they're babu vahans will make me change my mind :mrgreen:

I bought in it's 7th year and drove it for 30000 miles. Issues that came up:

1. Front axles going bad thrice. Usually starts off with the axle boot getting torn and it's cheaper to replace the entire axle. I usually went for after market axles.
2. ABS sensor went bad. I didn't replace it and the ABS unit went bad. Had it rebuilt for around $300.
3. Rattling issues because of bearings. Easily fixed.
4. Headliner started sagging, another $100.
5. The MID went kaput. Happens with most A4s. You get after market replacements for $200 i think.
6. One of the ignition coils went bad. I was told rest of them are likely to go bad too, but nothing happened.

End of the day it'll cost you more than a japanese car in maintenance.You'll have to take a call if the driving experience is worth it. I always got it repaired through a small place specializing in VW cars.
Last edited by Sriman on 04 Dec 2011 13:07, edited 2 times in total.

Problem is even Civics have gotten cheap in their build quality and gone down in reliability. Its no longer a question of plonking down the cash and buying a Civic blindly, knowing you can't go wrong. :(( :((

Our team car is a Passat CC (chankian strategy on my part to get some prolonged free test driving on kampani dole since I was considering that as an option :mrgreen: ) but its too big, feels really under-powered and slowly the cost-cutting is coming out in the open (panels rattling, some glaring cheapness in the interiors etc.). It looks pretty on the outside though.

With Audi we get a company discount plus I like the new design cues. Wonder what other good cars are there with budget <= ~$40K. Speaking of Acuras, my goal was to buy an Acura as my 1st car out of college and then they introduced the horrible redesign of the TL :evil: :evil:
Last edited by Raja Bose on 04 Dec 2011 13:18, edited 2 times in total.

Raja Bose wrote: With Audi we get a company discount plus I like the new design cues. Wonder what other good cars are there with budget <= ~$40K. Speaking of Acuras, my goal was to buy an Acura as my 1st car out of college and then they introduced the horrible redesign of the TL :evil: :evil:
A Mitsu Evo :mrgreen:
Or buy an used S4 :)
pandyan wrote:Sriman - also include the hassle of taking to the service center (everytime something goes bad) and staying without a car for whatever sweet time it takes to fix the car.

These days, I dont even step into german car dealership...because the minute you enter one, your heart will overrule your brain/mind.
True saar, but they're brilliant automobiles (close friend had an M3) :(

RB mullah - I bought a 2010 a4 close to two years ago. At that time i had to choose between a 335i, G37 and the A4. The A4 was the best in looks(both SHQ and i concur), it is roomier inside. But if you are looking at raw power go for a 335 or a g37. Not that the A4 is underpowered it is in fact very good but you dont have that rough Yamaha RX100 power output. Get the one with the eyeliner may be 3-4k extra. As for problems until now had a rear brake lights fuse out a fuel gauge problem(where the fuel gauge conked) but it revived on its own. All these cars are good for 3-4 years after that each item that you go to fix it will cost you on an average 500$. But you feel good as long as you drive. Audi a4 has picked up in sales of late and i see a good number of vehicles on the road. also look at leasing it is better in some cases, you get to drive a new car and if you manage to sell it better than the residual value you can make some money and go for another lease

Well if you can wait a few months, you could get the Subaru BRZ :mrgreen:

pandyan wrote:TL got a mild redesign for this year and is a much better looking car now. Go and check it out in-person....

I have to agree that previous year model was hideous, one cannot make out which side is front and which one is rear.
My brother bought a TL about 3 or 4 years ago and he has had quite a few problems with it. Matter of fact, he's looking to turn it in and get a new car.

I had a second-hand BMW for years and while it gave me some issues here and there (and these issues cost more to fix than a Japanese car, also probably since I was going to the dealer to get them fixed, instead of a 3rd party mechanic), it also served me very well for a good 7 years or so.

Raja Bose wrote: With Audi we get a company discount plus I like the new design cues. Wonder what other good cars are there with budget <= ~$40K.
You'll have a very large choice with that budget. Lexus IS 250/350, Infiniti G Series, Nissan Maxima, BMW 3 series, Merc C class, Buick Lacrosse....

suryag mullah, fuel gauge conked out?! :shock: That hasn't happened to even decades old Civics - whatever happened to mythical Germanic engineering??

I am not a big believer in building equity in a depreciating asset hence, also looking at leasing as an option. If it was good enuff for Mahdi, it should be good enuff for SDRE, hain ji :mrgreen:

With a closed lease I thought you just return the keys and you are done - you don't need to purchase it. I am looking at the leasing option since I don't drive more than 10K/year. From what I am hearing here, with the Audis the 1st 3-4 years are good - in that case leasing might make sense since they typically last for that period onlee, no?

Anyways this is the time of the year when I always have haraam thoughts of a new car and then I look at the old gal and the great service it has given me over the years without complaining and one more year passes....

No point in abandoning the old girl. I bought the A4 only because SHQ was tired of travelling in a 1996-camry which still runs well. I too think that leases are good in the sense that the monthly payments are smaller and if you really like to you could own it later on. Sort of like living in kind of stuff after three years you can walk away with some good memories or stick on. A4 before 2010 had some quality issues(recalls IIRC) and were apparently a maintenance heavy vehicle so i guess they last without kitkit only for 3-4 days after that they are a drain. Btw another thing i found is a pain is that these audi/bmw cars need 91 octane gas and my a4 returns only 19 in city away from the claimed 22 in city despite driving it very carefully dont know why

Will Petrol hitting Rs. 70, Indian auto lost its following it seems, so this thread has moved to a Massa Autos thread.

Raja Bose wrote:Any idea how long these guys have owned their Audis? Usually problems in new cars start creeping in year 2-3+ onwards.
I own a 10 year old A4 that I obtained second hand when it was about three years old. The thing is still rock solid. It helps if you are willing to do your own maintenance and do the required services at their specified intervals. They tend to have niggles, as people mentioned, but unless you get a lemon, the general user experience is one of a solid car with an excellent engine. The niggles I've had are one of the rear windows not opening or closing easily, and the trip computer display sometimes going on the blink. But it's never left me stranded, and the stuff that needs to work always did.

Would I get another ? Maybe. I don't know how good the latest model edition is. From the research I did when I got mine, each model takes a couple of years to iron out kinks; mine was the last year of the B5 model, and it was the most refined one, both from reviews and my own experience.

Thanks that kind of info is quite helpful. A whole bunch of fellas I know have Audis but then we have a whole bunch of germans too so that is kinda expected. At the low end, I really like the Hyundai Elantra's curves - very Chitragandha like onlee.

Bose Mullah, you are looking at the wrong set of wheels. Given your soon to be settled end state, I can think of wheels like Honda Odyssey, Dodge Minivan, Ford Minivan, Nissan Minivan, Toyota Sienna etc.

And what do you have here, going and drooling over "Jurman Babu Vahans" :lol: :lol: and that too, because you are getting it at a discount!.

How many brats can you pack into that Babu Vahan, along with SHQ and inlaws etc . Be practical, get yourself a Honda Odyssey! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Aha! Finally vina mullah gets baited out in the open! :twisted: :twisted:

Arrey vina saar, Germanic babu vahans like bimmers and mercheates are for TFTA Yum Bee Aye beebuls onlee saar. Moi boor SDRE cannot aspire for such phat khat vahans which require separate chalak and koi hai boy for operation. :mrgreen:

Raja Bose wrote:Moi boor SDRE cannot aspire for such phat khat vahans which require separate chalak and koi hai boy for operation. :mrgreen:
Aha.. But the Boor SDRE was eyeing Babu Vahans, now why would you do that unless you have 40K sloshing around in the top drawer as liquid cash hain ji ? So use that 40K and get yourself a fully loaded Odyssey!.

But really Audi is the quintessential Babu Vahan, not just for retired German Babus. Just google around and find out why Audi is the top selling luxury brand in China! Evidently the CPC Babus and apparatchicks and party functionaries are buying them up in the 100s. The Audi is the Babu Vahan of choice there (BMW is seen as too youngish/dangerous, Porsche reeks of real estate /crook/ corrupt practices shadiness and not safe for Bbaus, Merc is for businessmen etc), so safe choice for Chinese Babus is to plunk for Audi!

Check this out. In China Car Brands Evoke Unexpected Set of Stereotypes
Last edited by vina on 05 Dec 2011 13:03, edited 1 time in total.

RB,
Does it have to be a boring 4 seater sedan? A fully equipped 370z could be gotten for under 40k :)

Prasad wrote:RB,
Does it have to be a boring 4 seater sedan? A fully equipped 370z could be gotten for under 40k :)
Tut. Tut.. How many kids can you pack in that ji ? And where do you expect the inlaws to sit ? On the roof ? That kind of car will see him Qadrified and Bull-Cattled by his SHQ!

Raja Bose wrote:Moi boor SDRE cannot aspire for such phat khat vahans which require separate chalak and koi hai boy for operation. :mrgreen:
With a 40K budget you're no longer in a position to call yourself a boor SDRE anymore, Bose babu.

Honda Odyssey is 40K?! :eek: Point to remember when I get gray and balding like vina mullah :P

Speaking of which, vina mullah what car do you drive (or get driven around in), hain ji?

Prasad mian, have driven a 350z and the new avatar 370z many times - it is too impractical a car.

suggested vehicle for RB: http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/c ... _v_sst.jpg

spreading peace, democracy and love up and down the wild shores of big sur and marin county...

Speaking of which, vina mullah what car do you drive (or get driven around in), hain ji?
A Volvo - B7R .. only that it has 6 wheels!

4 back...2 front???? like auto

In that case vina mullah joo are 2nd coming of Elvis, what with traveling in your own private touring bus! :mrgreen: Can I join as koi hai boy??

Anyone can have his/her own touring bus. Just pay the fare (mine usually runs to Rs 35 !) , as for koi hai boy, you have to pass the Karnataka civil services exam, get some 10 NOCs in triplicate, have them laminated and join as a conductor in BMTC , when you can answer to Koi Hai and ask for tickets! :rotfl: :rotfl:

I think Vina is meaning the KSRTC Volvos, 500 series which run in Bengaluru. RB do you want to shift to Bengaluru to enjoy such trips?

Yeah yeah vina mullah, make fun of us mango abduls by mocking state transport buses while you Ivy liga walas whiz around in your aphrodisiac scented Daimlers flicking Cuban cigar ash out of the window :(( :((

pandyan wrote:what has this world come to? a mini-van? this is like mrca thread :twisted:
Exactly and Vina mullah is like Col.Shukla telling Bose mian what he should go for

pandyan wrote: if and when bose babu gets married, shq will decide what "her" next car/suv/van is going to be...he doesnt have any choice. Right now, plijj stick with the cars onlee
That is why chankian Bose babu is waiting to replace his old Civic. He will wait till one month before ze wedding when soon-to-be SHQ is dreaming about which luxury car she will make Bose babu buy. Then he'll get a spanking new Mustang GT convertible and proudly present it to SHQ. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
devaraj_d

Post by devaraj_d »

Very nice video. Thanks for posting.
MN Kumar

Post by MN Kumar »

Tata's new concept car.

Tata Pixel