chetak wrote:Relax, Karan M ji, and don't get all sanctimonious. My statement was sarcastic.
Sanctimonious? Your posts come across as making light of the rampant molestation and murders of civilians and women and would rather it is ignored?
while a proud hindu, you are ok, with whats happening to sri lankan tamils most of whom happen to be hindu, at the hands of sinhala revanchists, who proudly videotape their antics and excuse it as shit happens in war, india does likewise in cashmere etc.???
Like it or not, whats happening to the tamilians at the hands of sri lankans is sickening. Like I said, go back and check your earlier posts and how they come across.
for hecks sake, i respect your opinion and all, but go ahead and do some looking around. whats happening in SL is not some EJ sponsored, LTTE aided propoganda. these warcrimes apart, tamil women are being attacked by SL goons even after the LTTE war is over.
its pure and simple bigotry and now the LTTE is not around, tamil women are fair game.
War is a dirty business whichever way you look at it.
Ah, which is why professional armies have professional standards and adhere to small things such as the Geneva convention right?
Tell me again, how many sri lankans did the IPKF assault and murder like this? if you can't see the difference...
The lankans have successfully overcome a vicious terrorist organisation, done what many countries in the world could not do and certainly some unwanted incidents would have taken place, exactly like in cashmere.
so now you are comparing to cashmere..
when was the last time Indian soldiers and officers deliberately took women and others captive during a war and then a) molested them b) executed them?
sirji you are scoring own goals on the indian armed forces commitment to discipline. given that you were once a member of the aforesaid force, it just speaks volumes how your dislike of the LTTE seems to have taken over any and every bit of prudence in your zeal to defend the indefensible.
Some of us have had the dubious privilege of seeing at first hand a few of the kindly ministrations of the ltte and their oftentimes tender interactions with their own Tamil people.
and so that justifies the same tamil people being brutalized yet again by the SLA?
We have also seen how they treated the Indians who went over to help.
and here lies the crux of the issue. the fact that the ltte and ipkf engaged in a vicious fight and finally that all whats happening gives you a sense of schadenfreude. all very well, except that what the SLA is doing is indefensible.
"committed warcrimes on an industrial scale". You don't know the half of it.
i wouldn't want to either. seeing what the SLA is doing, is bad enough.
compared to the ltte, the lankans were/are mere babes in the woods. The ltte has treated the tamils far worse than the lankans can ever do in ten lifetimes. I am not justifying anything but merely pointing out that shit happens, period.
well if you are not justifying anything, why the stuff about how bad the LTTE was, in response to evidence of women prisoners being assaulted and murdered, unecessarily bringing in "cashmere"..
merely shit happens.
just that shit in the case of the SLA seems to be pretty well organized, includes women captives being assaulted, murdered and then video footage being taken in the process.
How come no one is pushing for investigations of the war crimes of the ltte or is all forgiven and forgotten because some old reprobate TN politicians have got their mundus in a twist?? or that the EJ press is playing down the other side of the coin??
sirji, who the f.. cares what EJs think or TN politicians think. stop equivocating and answer simply. do war crimes by the SLA which involve rampant assaults on tamil women and executions therein deserve investigation and censure or not. no equivocation about EJs, TN reprobates, evil LTTE etc. answer yes or no.
if yes, that is it.
all this equivocation only gives the EJs and what not a chance to stick up for the very people you are chucking aside.
The Indian Army is being accused of the very same thing in cashmere. Doesn't mean that I am going swallow bullshit purveyed by EJ terrorist film makers or by islamic terrorist "children" throwing stones.
the indian army does not have tons of videographed evidence of unclothed tamil women around with bullet wounds after having caught alive. the indian army investigates each and every incident of even minor HR abuse and ruthlessly punishes the perpetrators.
in 1971, the indian army did not take revenge on pakistani prisoners of war and their families for the actions of other pakistanis.
in your dislike of the ltte, a)you are making unnecessary comparisons by comparing the kind of rubbish the SLA has done, with the indian army, which is clearly a far more professional force and b) you are coming up with equivocation
Phillip ji has warned of the revival of the ltte in Tamil Nadu. It is very much happening as we speak because we do not know how to differentiate between "our" Tamils and the other tamils. The ltte now has in Tamilnadu what it did not have earlier, open political support that can be demonstrated on the street without fear of reprisal from any quarter either from the central or the state government. The EJs have cunningly parlayed the elections to do their dirty work.
yeah, i lived through an era when the khalistani movement was revived and yet punjab remained part of india. we have seen enough ej activity in other parts of south india that matches tn, its no exception. there are enough issues throughout india in terms of poverty, maoism and what not and india is still together and will improve with decisive leadership if the UPA goes
sorry, i dont buy the hyperbole expressed by philip et al that tn is now LTTE central and will secede.
Don't push the lankans beyond a point. As far as their tamils are concerned, politely speaking, "our father's nothing goes". If we can accommodate 15 million bangladeshis, surely we can get all the lankan tamils to India and look after them, After all we have free food, free education and MNREGA too.
for your father nothing may go, when it comes to those tamils. for other tamils, they may feel that their ethnic kin are being discriminated against and they have a right, a democratic one to feel upset. same as every indian on this board gets upset when nris or people of indian origin get discriminated against.
by doing this sort of argument, you effectively do make the point that tamilians in india need to be purer than driven snow, and on top of it open them up for exploitation to EJs and all sorts of other agencies who claim to feel for them.
think about that.
not buying your "dont push the sri lankans stuff" at all. on the contrary, an assertive india could do far more and make the SL quake in their boots, EJ or no EJ.
Foreign policy is the exclusive prerogative of the center, had the center balls of any size. A lot of us did not want MMS speaking to the pakis, did the center listen?? The numbers who do not want MMS talking to the pakis is very much greater than a few thousand tamils in TN.
if the center does something idiotic that makes the other indians unhappy, the others have every right to hold the center accountable.
you are again confused here.
two wrongs dont make a right.
just because mms is wrong in talking to the pakis does not mean that doing something wrong with SL is ok.
ity that MMS does not see a nobel prize here. This petty minded man has subverted the nation's good for his own party's good.
agree
And finally if the kangress cared anything about the persecuted Hindus in bangladesh or pakistan our country would have reacted very much differently than it has done so far, so please don't fool yourself.
sirji you are confused
you want center to care for persecuted hindus in bangladesh or pakistan. but dont want persecuted hindus in sri lanka to be helped. why? because they are being harmed in the name of the ltte, which had ej influence, and you dislike that organization. talk about own goals. so india will not help hindu tamilians, they will be then prone to ej influence and on top of it, when that happens you will blame the tamilians for being ej influenced.
look beyond your dislike of the ltte - they are dead, gone and kaput.
sri lankan tamilians remain.
they are a diaspora, and they are human beings. them being attacked, assaulted is not a good thing.