Archan, you are right. The fact of IPL rejecting Paki players, in itself, has no strategic implications and more than likely no strategic motivation behind it. It would have made bad business sense to hire Pakis and that was that. Ask any multinational corporation which hires international H1-B workers and they will probably have similar reservations about hiring Pakis for similar reasons.archan wrote:
1) A private entity took some decisions.
2) The decisions created uproar in another country.
3) The private entity said we took the decisions solely based on business. They don't even claim to have any nationalistic/patriotic reasoning behind those decisions.
4) The govt. said they had nothing to do with it. They in fact, regret the decisions.
So why do we keep claiming "India did this, India did that"? can we please stop coloring everything with "strategic" colors? events have their own dynamics and no amount of jumping up and down on internet fora is going to affect it.
The UK government has announced a ban on the export to Iraq and Afghanistan of some so-called "bomb detectors".
The device is sold by Jim McCormick, based at offices in rural Somerset, UK. The ADE-651 detector has never been shown to work in a scientific test. There are no batteries and it consists of a swivelling aerial mounted to a hinge on a hand-grip. Critics have likened it to a glorified dowsing rod.
Mr McCormick told the BBC in a previous interview that "the theory behind dowsing and the theory behind how we actually detect explosives is very similar".
He says that the key to it is the black box connected to the aerial into which you put "programmed substance detection cards", each "designed to tune into" the frequency of a particular explosive or other substance named on the card.
Newsnight obtained a set of cards for the ADE-651 and took them to Cambridge University's Computer Laboratory where Dr Markus Kuhn dissected a card supposed to detect TNT. It contained nothing but the type of anti-theft tag used to prevent stealing in high street stores. (Pakis know this tag very well...)
Dr Kuhn said it was "impossible" that it could detect anything at all and that the card had "absolutely nothing to do with the detection of TNT". "There is nothing to program in these cards. There is no memory. There is no microcontroller. There is no way any form of information can be stored," he added.
"These are the cheapest bit of electronics that you can get that look vaguely electronic and are sufficiently flat to fit inside a card," Dr Kuhn told Newsnight.
Iraq paid around $40,000![]()
for each device. They are in use everywhere from Thailand to Pakistan
and Lebanon.
http://tinyurl.com/scratch-and-GrabPakistan has a declared nuclear doctrine, an operational nuclear command authority and tested nuclear security systems. The proof of our nuclear security is that despite its space satellite network, state-of-the-art intelligence network and wide array of surveillance sensors, the US authorities have not been able to locate the sites of Pakistan's widely dispersed nuclear assets, their launch systems or their trigger mechanism. How does it expect a bunch of rag-tag militia to commandeer Pakistan's nukes, which are not Rugby balls that one would pluck it and carry in one's arms pit? Highly sophisticated technologies are involved in their production and their trigger/launch technology. It is impossible to be used by one who is not highly trained and competent. These rustic and illiterate Taliban can never handle the intricate artefacts, let alone lay their hands on them.
Its military is battle hardened and its Nuclear Command Authority fully capable of exercising the nuclear option at the exact moment and the precise targets. Our South Asian neighbours should join forces to thwart any external aggression. If India is also involved in this conspiracy, it should be mindful that if the Pakistani nukes are targeted today, the Indian nukes can meet the same fate tomorrow
jingoistic statement implying that India might attack Pakistan in case of another Mumbai-like incident is indicative of short-sightedness. In fact, it amounts to playing in the hands of the terrorists. Al Qaeda would not like the countries, targeted by the terrorists, to join hands to wage a concerted war against them, which is possible only if there is an understanding between Pakistan and India, leading to peace in the region.Statements of the type, issued recently by General Deepak Kapoor, in fact are counterproductive as they could serve as an incentive to al Qaeda, and other terrorist groups, to launch another attack inside India to involve both countries in a bloody and devastating strife. One had expected that Robert Gates, who is supposed to have a more comprehensive view of things, would impress upon the Indian leadership the dangerous consequences of any flare-up in South Asia, which would be detrimental not only to the interests of Pakistan and India, but also the US. That he should agree to be the carrier of ultimatums of the sort is highly unfortunate.The war against terrorism can only be won if Pakistan is enabled to focus on the terrorist groups' single-mindedness. External threats of the sort coming from India are bound to distract Pakistan and shift its focus to strengthening its military position along the LoC and the international border with India. What is more, these are bound to create hostility between the two countries, instead of promoting amity. Both Washington and New Delhi have to realise that Pakistan, being the frontline state in the war against terror, and the principal target of al Qaeda and the Taliban, is best positioned to devise its own strategy in the fight
While this part is true there is nothing that prevents the 'highly trained' TSPA itself from transforming into the Taliban and even worse the AlQ.Prem wrote:Shri.Mati.Haali
http://tinyurl.com/scratch-and-GrabPakistan has a declared nuclear doctrine, an operational nuclear command authority and tested nuclear security systems. The proof of our nuclear security is that despite its space satellite network, state-of-the-art intelligence network and wide array of surveillance sensors, the US authorities have not been able to locate the sites of Pakistan's widely dispersed nuclear assets, their launch systems or their trigger mechanism. How does it expect a bunch of rag-tag militia to commandeer Pakistan's nukes, which are not Rugby balls that one would pluck it and carry in one's arms pit? Highly sophisticated technologies are involved in their production and their trigger/launch technology. It is impossible to be used by one who is not highly trained and competent. These rustic and illiterate Taliban can never handle the intricate artefacts, let alone lay their hands on them.
Its military is battle hardened and its Nuclear Command Authority fully capable of exercising the nuclear option at the exact moment and the precise targets. Our South Asian neighbours should join forces to thwart any external aggression. If India is also involved in this conspiracy, it should be mindful that if the Pakistani nukes are targeted today, the Indian nukes can meet the same fate tomorrow
This Abdul Ruff whoever he is, on a first glance looks to be from a puki madarassa in Bhawalpur,Prem wrote:http://tinyurl.com/[b]wuff-wuff[/b]
Janab,Rudradev wrote:.All they can do is wait till the adversary acts first and then come out with some mealy-mouthed, half-witted response like Chidumberum did by "regretting" the IPL's decision. Hack thoo.
RAW ..AL..PINDI, Jan 26: The United States should talk to the Afghan Taliban leader Mullah Omar if it wants to resolve the conflict in Afghanistan, a former ISI officer who is believed to have trained Omar, said in an interview to a US-based news group.Retired Brigadier Sultan Tarar, known as Colonel Imam, said Mullah Omar was open to talks. He said if a sincere message 0000000came to him from the Americans, it will be heard.f a sincere message comes from the Americans, these people (the Taliban) are very big-hearted. They will listen. But if you try to divide the Taliban, you'll fail[/b]. Anyone who leaves Mullah Omar is no more Taliban. Such people are just trying to deceive,” said Tarar, in an interview with McClatchy Newspapers. His comments come as the United States and its allies seem increasingly restless to find a path toward a political solution to the war in Afghanistan. Meanwhile, US national security adviser James Jones said that the Obama administration is "pursuing a general strategy of engagement."
"We'll see where this takes us," Jones said.
I believe that is GoI's stand even now. They had nothing to do with IPL and even IPL says they have no control over who the franchises pick, because the franchises are spending loads of money ($750K for average players is a lot). So the franchises have to look at their money, no one can blame them for that.CRamS wrote: Had Indian govt stuck to its original stand, someone, I believe it was Tiwari who said (I am paraphrasing) Indian govt had nothing to do with IPL, but at the same time, instead of mass hysteria, TSP must look at its own conduct to see why IPL franchises felt it was risky to pick TSPians. That was a dignified and mature position.
That is fine, whether he had any business or not is a matter of opinion. You may feel he did not (and I would agree with you on that). However I do keep in mind that we don't know everything that goes on in diplomatic circles and statements often have hidden reasons behind them.CRamS wrote: But then comes PC and blows cold about why its an outrage not picking TSPians, TSPians are the best in the world and they should have been picked bla bla, it took away the sheen from India's previous statement. He had no business saying that.
No point in discussing something which we have no basis for. However...CRamS wrote: So much is in the public sphere. Now heaven knows how much pressure Lalit Modi & co are in provate to reverse the decision. Hence his latest comment.
Who is your India here? a decision made by commercial franchises - is that India's - the nation's - decision?CRamS wrote: Does all this not show that India cannot make a decision, even if it makes business sense, if it hurts TSP's H&D.
Can you explain how a secular India does not want to fight to defend itself.durgesh wrote: On the other hand is a secular India, which is looking for reasons not to fight.
There is no such person at JNU. This is a non-de-plume used by a number of Pakistani writers.Lilo wrote:he is from JNU and the worst part - this guy's 'research' (along with his lodging and food) at JNU is being subsidized to a pittance by indian taxpayers
An Intelligence Bureau (IB) doument that TIMES NOW has accessed lists out the latest worry for the security establishment. Pakistan is now trying to Talibanise Syed Salahuddin-led Hizbul Mujahideen, the largest indigenous terrorist organisation to increase its lethal capability.
In fact, the document goes on to say that some of the Pakistani terrorists arrested in Kashmir this year belonged to NWFP in Pakistan, where the Taliban are in control.
In fact, LeT, known to be active in the valley has recently shifted some of its facilities towards the western side in Pakistan, the Talibanised areas.
Disturbingly, an effort was afoot to increase the foreign component in Hijbul-Mujahideen.
Acharya ji, i donot know what you inferred from that sentence. My point was pakis look at India as a Hindu nation while India thinks of itself as a secular nation. As far as the will to defend itself is concerned , you tell me how is India defending itself from the terror ? If you think sending a dove card or dossier is the way to defendAcharya wrote:Can you explain how a secular India does not want to fight to defend itself.durgesh wrote: On the other hand is a secular India, which is looking for reasons not to fight.
How can you infer this. GOI governance is secular.durgesh wrote: India thinks of itself as a secular nation.
How can you infer that it is not ?Acharya wrote:How can you infer this. GOI governance is secular.
OK I got it now.pgbhat wrote:^ What he means is citizens cannot be secular but governance can be.
I know this guy Abdul Ruff. IIRC he used to teach Russian at CIEFL in Hyderabad.Lilo wrote:This Abdul Ruff whoever he is, on a first glance looks to be from a puki madarassa in Bhawalpur,Prem wrote:http://tinyurl.com/[b]wuff-wuff[/b]
But surprise !!
he is from JNU and the worst part - this guy's 'research' (along with his lodging and food) at JNU is being subsidized to a pittance by indian taxpayers
Has Times Now replaced Maroof Raza & GP with the likes of Mr. Mani Shankar Aiyar ? Is this a fall out of the on-going tamasha ?durgesh wrote:Tonight on Times Now , Zafar Hilaly, Aiyar and two other guys were there and a debate . . .
Surinder - you have come up with an important factor in the quest for truth. Honesty and absence of hot air. I would guess that 99.9% of people protesting and squealing the 1000 years of Mughal rule assertion themselves do not have the requisite detailed knowledge to do this or even the dedication to the cause to work on it. It's all very well to shout and rant about distorted history - but when one asks about what is the real story there is huge gaping hole and this is one example.surinder wrote: What you are proposing is an area-averaged time of M rule.
I had proposed the same on this forum the same thing a little while back when this 1000 year rule thingie was discussed. Just like you, I too lack the knowledge of history to do it.
Rudradev wrote:A final word about cricket, IPL etc. Yes it is just a sport, and should not be blown out of proportion, but its political value as an emotive touchstone among the aam janata of the subcontinent cannot be underestimated.
If we carefully analyze Chidambaram's statements, a few things would be obvious.CRamS wrote:But then comes PC and blows cold about why its an outrage not picking TSPians, TSPians are the best in the world and they should have been picked bla bla, . . .
Well going back to good old times is what the whole subcontinent wants. People are yearning for Jinnah across the border. Even I - in times of distress, cry for my momma who is no more. I want to go backwards in time.durgesh wrote: India needs an Indira to save it from terror across and within the border.But what we have is eu**chs running the country.Nothing can provoke them to fight back, just nothing.
I think this IPL selection is being made into a bigger thing on BRF than it actually is, but the media must take some blame.V_Raman wrote:pak is being S-e-Sed again on this IPL thing. all the noise from people in govt, but no action in the end.
Notwithstanding the humiliation faced by Pakistani cricketers in the IPL auction, all-rounder Sohail Tanvir on Tuesday said he has no problem with playing in the Indian Premier League, if invited again and PCB allows him to do so.
I have nothing personal against India
they had a good previous experience of playing in India
Changing his tune now. Money talks, huh? Shame on the Indians if this loser is given a visa and allowed back in.When I went to India with the Pakistan team in 2007 and after that for the IPL inaugural season, I was warmly welcomed and treated well by the Indian people
No Noooo!!!anupmisra wrote:Didn't this mixed-breed insult the entire Hindu Quam on TV?
Sohail ready to play in IPL if invited
Shame on the Indians if this loser is given a visa and allowed back in.
The article, by Mohammad Kamran Talib, is titled "Polio: Disease or Dangerous Jewish Conspiracy?" It was published in the Urdu-language monthly magazine Mahnama Banat-e-'Aisha ("Daughters of 'Aisha" – 'Aisha was one of the wives of the Prophet Muhammad). Mahnama Banat-e-'Aisha is a sister publication of Haftroza Al-Qalam, an Urdu-language weekly loyal to Jaish-e-Muhammad, an Al-Qaeda-linked militant organization based in the Pakistani province of Punjab. The article first appeared in June 2006 an Urdu-language magazine called Mahnama Rahnuma-e-Sihat, and was reproduced in the October 2009 issue of Mahnama Banat-e-'Aisha.
Interesting...I know this guy Abdul Ruff. IIRC he used to teach Russian at CIEFL in Hyderabad.
I was very young (around 5-6) when I first met him. I remember him as a nice clean cut young guy (no beard) - he might have have had a strange personality, but I was too young to judge him by anything other than his appearance and the way he treated kids.
could be an India, but JNU does not seem to have listed him listed. also he has listed his location as US on FB, whereas his articles mention him being a JNU faculty & not ex-JNU facultysum wrote:Interesting...I know this guy Abdul Ruff. IIRC he used to teach Russian at CIEFL in Hyderabad.
So, the BR myth that the name is a Paki nom-de-guerre is busted then? Shocking amount of venom he seems to have for his own country.
ISLAMABAD – US covert organisation Central Intelligence Agency’s (CIA) notorious reputation to eliminate its ‘enemies’ is known well to the world and its intensive efforts, which have been underway since long, to form a vicious alliance with Israel and India have finally begun to show.
More importantly, this meeting followed a low-profile visit of Israeli Chief of Defence Staff, Lt Gen Gabi Ashkenazi to India earlier in the same month, during which he had met the top brass of the Indian armed forces. According to the news service, these developments can be evaluated in the pretext of reports that India has bought military hardware and software from Israel worth $8bn since 1999, making India the biggest buyer of Israeli arms across the globe.
Given that the US barely sees any signs of success in its so-called war on terror in Afghanistan, US and Israel are encouraging Indian military and economic presence in Afghanistan to serve the purpose. While Pakistan is asked to ‘do more’ the US and India, with the help of pro-American Afghan government, are all set to engage ‘likeminded’ and moderate Taliban into talks, to use them for destabilising Pakistan and Iran. Under the scenario, the situation deems fit into what is described by some analysts as FINISH plan, abbreviated from “financial ruin, infrastructure destruction, nuclear scientists elimination, Indian hegemony, seizing of physical nuclear weapons and harassing Pakistan’s leadership and its public.”
archan wrote: ...
However I do keep in mind that we don't know everything that goes on in diplomatic circles and statements often have hidden reasons behind them.
PC is simply going by what is his govt.'s stated (and pre-decided) position on relations with Pakistan. I agree he need not comment on decisions made by private franchises but it his his choice. He can express his opinion but he cannot force it on the franchises. He cannot use his position to affect their decisions. If he does so, he will be deserving of this criticism.
What irritates me is when we are assuming a lot and ranting away based on those assumptions.
We (I mean aam-janata abduls) can make any statement on any topic and get away with it, as there will be little follow-up action and consequences. But our beloved Chidu dada is different.SSridhar wrote: ...
On the whole, he could have avoided certain things; probably he made them because of his bitterness with Lalit Modi. But, he also conveyed a message regarding a Pakistani team's visit. How steadfastly GoI will remain in not allowing a Pakistani team to come here is another moot point.