Saral

Post by Saral »

"Premature optimization is the root of all evil" is well known aphorism in software dev. And it also applies to speeches in the context of winning an election.

I saw most of the speeches. Note the people selected as speakers. That itself gives a good hint. There was plenty of reference to the UP riots, the goondaism, the vulnerability of women etc. Sometimes you can get your point across without being crossing all the t's and dotting all the i's. Could it be improved? Maybe. But all things considered, it was a hit. Suppose you tried even a 30 second silence.. its so easy to sabotage it (one guy has to shout) and cause a ruckus. This is NOT the time and place for such hare-brained ideas (maybe a rally when is a PM may be the place to do such things). Given the crowds and arrangements, let us be thankful nothing untoward happened (this was one of those areas where such fears were being expressed). The silence/meditation idea works in spiritual gatherings such as Ramdev's or Sri Sri Ravishankar. So if you have one of those guys as the lead up speakers, maybe it can work.

Most people are not as information hungry as we are or the msm believes people to be. They want the feel-good of a strong, competent, responsible, and warm leader. It is not about specific ideological checkmarks at all; That's what Modi is presenting himself as. And doing a damn good job of it. I guarantee you.. if RaGa had the credentials and abilities of Modi, he'd be a shoo-in as next PM, no contest. He could be a religious christian and it wouldn't matter a bit. The voters of this country aren't that different from voters elsewhere in what they look for in leaders, but unlike some other countries Indians do not discriminate as much in terms of religious affiliations or gender (good leaders, across genders and religions can make their mark) whereas in the US every presidential candidate (esp Republicans) have to emphasize their Christian values/beliefs (including Obama whose religiosity can be questioned).

Sorry to say RJB is dead as a nationwide election issue; it would become alive only if hindu-muslim tensions rose dramatically across the board. And again not because RJB qua RJB is what people are dying after.. its more about seeking closure after 1000 years of subjugation and its reminders (via events like partition, riots, etc). Again, there can be multiple ways of seeking closure and healing wounds and RJB is not the only mechanism.
Last edited by Saral on 03 Feb 2014 12:22, edited 1 time in total.

If the economy is on testosterone under Modi it will be easier for him to work on RJB/Kashi/Vrindavan, Art 370, illegal immigrants, etc i.e. the contentious issues.

Chandragupta wrote:Have folks in Meerut & Muzaffarnagar. For whatever its worth, getting news that the locals are disappointed with Modi not talking about the riots & he should have been much more powerful in his speech. I hope Modi's advisers pick this up & make amends. Also, he needs to cut down on his mentions of Sadbhavana & unity and brotherhood. Not saying that he talk Hindutva but why talk about universal brotherhood and all?

I think he talked about that in connection to death of the NE guy. I too felt that this sadhbhavana thingy is not really suitable, but in this case, it maybe due to the NE guy's death and the harassment of the africans by AAP. Note that Africans and NE guy's death both involves peacefuls.
Chandragupta wrote: Also, this 'vote for India' and all is good for urban voters but I personally found it useless in a semi-urban/rural setting. He should stick to Vande Mataram & Bharat Mata ki Jai, they evoke more emotions than angrezi 'vote for india'.

All in all, I would say it is a missed opportunity. Jats were so in the bag, now they are not.
Yep, I would say that even urban voters will not be enthused by this 'vote for India' thing. But, I think its a sort of voter awareness campaign. However, Vandhe Maatharam and Bhaarath Maatha ki Jai should not be discarded regardless.
Sorry to say RJB is dead as a nationwide election issue; it would become alive only if hindu-muslim tensions rose dramatically across the board. And again not because RJB qua RJB is what people are dying after.. its more seeking closure after 1000 years of subjugation and its reminders (via events like partition, riots, etc).
Saar,
the point is the emotional issues don't go away especially when there are real or imagined grievances. The best example is separate T issue. People thought it was a dead issue a decade back. Now, thats the whole issue.

Similarly, RJB(or other temples) can never be a dead issue until there is a closure. The issue is open to be raised when there is a credible leadership. It will take sometime to catchup, but it will. Separate T is a small issue compared to RJB issue, yet, one can see the kind of frenzy that T issue can create. Imagine the kind of frenzy RJB can create.

Right now, UP has witnessed several riots. Vangal and Kerala are threatened by the jiadhis. AP is threatened by the EJs. And thats the reason these states are warming up to lotus. Not because of development. Look at AP, inspite of T issue, people are still warming up to lotus. Why? Not just because of development. Yes, development persona is necessary, but Hindhuthva persona is also equally(if not more) important.

UP, in particular, is going to vote based on Hindhuthva. The fact that Shah was sent there shows that lotus knows whats at stake. I think its the 'liberal' supporters of NaMo who are not able to understand the importance of Hindhuthva. Anyway, whats the use of development, if jihadhis rape sisters/daughters/daughter-in-laws? Whats the use of development, if jihadhis keep rioting?
kapilrdave

Post by kapilrdave »

NM going secular??!! :rotfl:

A few of updates.

1. FULL Vande Matram (including 'communal' lines) is mandatory in prayer at least once a week in Gujju schools.

2. The new IIT for teachers (NM's one of the dream project) - which will take over all the teachers' training institutes from next year - has introduced Geeta in their syllabus. All 18 Adhyay are mendatory :D . That means all future teachers will know full Geeta.

3. For the teachers' training for the literary studies, the new courses are designed in such a way that students get to learn the Indian literature and western literature in comparative manner. The course started just this year and already the students are awed and thrilled by knowing that what the modern western poetics is saying is already been said (and more) by Rajshekhar (in Kavyamimansa) in 2nd century 8) . Even the king's duties towards poets/poetry were mandated from the ancient times. Students see the gora poets as some thumb sucking kids now.

Apparently, he is doing all these in the 11th year of his rule in the state where he enjoys 2/3rd majority and has no real p-sec opposition leader to oppose him. Shows his own priority order for his agenda. He will do the development first no matter how much the hindutva agenda is close to his heart. Accept him for what he is or go and vote for congress. Simple.
dhruvM

Post by dhruvM »

Apparently, he is doing all these in the 11th year of his rule in the state where he enjoys 2/3rd majority and has no real p-sec opposition leader to oppose him. Shows his own priority order for his agenda. He will do the development first no matter how much the hindutva agenda is close to his heart. Accept him for what he is or go and vote for congress. Simple.
^ +100
Saral

Post by Saral »

johneeG.. I agree that these hot button emotive issues are always ready to emerge but NaMo can win without using them because his Hindutva credentials are well established. He is to use a American football metaphor seeking to win using the ground game (running). He does not need to throw risky passes as he is ahead on points. It will also make his first-term governance easier as these emotive topics also alienate segments.

kapilrdave wrote:Apparently, he is doing all these in the 11th year of his rule in the state where he enjoys 2/3rd majority and has no real p-sec opposition leader to oppose him. Shows his own priority order for his agenda. He will do the development first no matter how much the hindutva agenda is close to his heart. Accept him for what he is or go and vote for congress. Simple.
It is specifically because of the fact stated in this sentence, Togadiaji and a few others were disappointed. Also, the above is the same reason, there was suspicion in some Hindutva circles about Modi
-he did not blink even when it came to moving a few temples for road widening).
-he was at helm when Kodnani was sentenced to imprisonment
-strict protection to Christian converted tribals in Dangs i.e. no physical retaliation, although activities of VKA, Ghar-vaapasi activities also get similar physical protection.

Modi knows that any violence which can be remotely connected to him will result in his dismissal(this can be his handicap). Every politician can get one chance in the eyes of the larger electorate, IG had Emergency, RG had Bofors, PVNR had RJB, but a second instance of breakdown will never be forgotten. If IG had imposed Emergency second time, she would have never been elected again. An immigration guy sitting at the airport counter in Delhi told me (since I happen to be from Gujarat)that if Modi comes, riots in India will stop. I am just quoting this to give an idea of what public expects: they do not want reprisal attacks, since that will never bring stability and development.

If Modi turns on his Hindu-victimhood tap, it will indicate, BJP is getting into a rear-guard action. In the recent past, the only election where I saw Modi talking about Hindu victimhood was in Karnataka assembly elections, and we all know the circumstances of that election.

Also, I agree, Modi should use Vande Maataram more than Vote4India, makes a deeper connection.

Well... good points all.

I would however be disappointed if NM in his Guwahati and manipur addresses later this month does not rake up the illegal infiltration and demography change issues. Also, a chance to get the bodos towards lotus even though media mischief perhaps reports that bodos are targetting hindi speakers.... (either its the BD pious who're doing that or the dead are really BD pious but are being portrayed as hindi speakers).

Anyway, we'll see.
kapilrdave

Post by kapilrdave »

Prahar ji, Togadiya and some other in sangh(Guj)/vhp had their own ambition which was effectively checked by NM. And I'm happy that he did.

Narendra Modi’s call leaves UP family ecstatic

Poonam feels that she is ‘immensely lucky’ because she got a phone call from Gujarat CM Narendra Modi, blessed her on her wedding day, and also a gift from him.

Her grandfather Ram Chandra Yadav had sent the wedding invitation to a number of politicians including Modi.

“My relatives in Gujarat told me Modi responds to every invitation he receives. So out of curiosity, I posted an invitation to him,” said Yadav.

He also sent invitations to UP CM Akhilesh Yadav, Samajwadi Party chief Mulayam Singh Yadav, UP minister Parasnath Yadav and also the local MLA Lalai Yadav.

None of the leaders, except Lalai Yadav, bothered to respond. A day before the wedding, the family got a call from the Gujarat CM’s office, asking for Poonam’s bank account number.

They said that Mr Modi wanted to send her a gift and we gave them the account number. On the day, we found that a sum of Rs 5100 had been transferred into her account,” Yadav said.

A few hours later Modi himself called up the bride and wished her. The family also received a letter from him, acknowledging the wedding invite.

“Imagine a CM from another state calling up the bride. In contrast, our politicians for whom we toil day and night, do not even bother to acknowledge the invitations. I am a Yadav but I will never vote for the SP. My vote and my blessings are only for Mr Modi from now on,” Yadav said.

http://www.deccanchronicle.com/140131/n ... y-ecstatic

[quote="Chandragupta" Jats were so in the bag, now they are not.[/quote]

What makes you so sure saar? I will believe this only if there is enough proof of this? Are Jats causing themselves problems by not seeing the wood from the trees?

India - Behind The Lens
Yesterday’s Rally by Narendra Modi has got positive reaction from the western UP citizens.
Overall the Local Media too gave a positive coverage which is a surprise given that Media always has haunted Modi for the last 12 years.

Even the Jat community is optimistic about Modi (except for a very few Reservation Hungry Jats)

It appears that Modi may well help BJP sweep all 14 seats of the region

panduranghari wrote:[quote="Chandragupta" Jats were so in the bag, now they are not.
What makes you so sure saar? I will believe this only if there is enough proof of this? Are Jats causing themselves problems by not seeing the wood from the trees?[/quote]

Although I do not like Chandraupgtaji's conclusion, the voting behavior of different groups in UP does reflect this type of thinking. SP would have never won majority if any of its past governance record was considered, it was all about revenge against real suffering of the masses but perceived insults/empowerment of caste thekedaars.

In all UP rallies, Kalyan Singh's speech gives very useful messages, only someone from UP can comment on how much weight the masses give to his speech. Even he did not make any riot specific comments, although he mentioned about appeasement of minorities, rising above jat-politics.

Hari Seldon wrote:Well... good points all.
Also, a chance to get the bodos towards lotus even though media mischief perhaps reports that bodos are targetting hindi speakers.... (either its the BD pious who're doing that or the dead are really BD pious but are being portrayed as hindi speakers).

Anyway, we'll see.
Hari-ji,
It is mostly Christian bodo militia outfits that are targeting Hindi speakers. There are about 10-20% Christians among Bodos. But a chance to get the Hindu Bodos should be taken.

On a general note, it takes a bit of cajoling and pampering to keep these fickle communities on your side (true for the Malabar Nairs, Jats of UP, Bodos of Assam, etc). Most of the time, it is talk, but you need to humour these fickle voters. All of them have a strong sense of community, and their sense of community often trumps every other consideration.

the bodo/rabha and few other ancient plains tribes in assam are going the way of the american indian/blacks - they got left educationally behind, are mainly agrarian and land hungry BD types (hispanics) are muscling them out not just from land , but in education and political influence as well. there are also the Santhals in the volatile mix...indian community but bengali speaking which opens another fault line.
in this situation they also lack any decent leaders just small scale warlords trying to rule over little fiefdoms.

walling themselves off inside a self-declared reservation "bodoland" with no others welcome is just a recipe for their own suicide imo.
the BDs will eat them alive. I think they will get eaten alive in all cases.

bodoland
BDland
new nepal
east bihar
north west bengal
east sylhet & cachar confederacy
karimganji tribal reservation
ahomland
west nagaland
south arunachal

if everyone gets their reservation thats the future of assam. assam will be 1 distt (kamrup) with its capital dispur and thats it.

might as well do it all together, cut the carcass and end the tamasha in one shot.
rohitv

Post by rohitv »

devesh wrote:If my sister gets raped. and other women of my community in my region are being threatened. if Jihad looms large over my people, and a national leader comes to my home base and doesn't even mention it. forget mentioning it, he completely ignores it as if it's non-existent,........................
He did talk about Ma, Behan and Beti not being safe in UP anymore and how Samaj Virodhi Party (SP) is doing nothing about it. May be those who are disappointed by the speech wanted him to spell M word.
rohitv

Post by rohitv »

Joint press conference by Civil supply minister and finance minister of Gujarat in Ahmedabad at 5:30 PM today - I think it will be about this farce BLP controversy.
From twitter I gathered that Times Now will also be taking up this issue tonight. I hope BJP doesnt send the likes of Chandan Mitra and Sudhanshu Trvedi on the panel.

Clarification on this issue which shows its the Planning Commission (and by extension UPA) which is at fault:

http://deshgujarat.com/2014/02/02/centr ... ince-then/

Arunkumar

Post by Arunkumar »

very apt slogan.

kapilrdave wrote: Apparently, he is doing all these in the 11th year of his rule in the state where he enjoys 2/3rd majority and has no real p-sec opposition leader to oppose him. Shows his own priority order for his agenda. He will do the development first no matter how much the hindutva agenda is close to his heart. Accept him for what he is or go and vote for congress. Simple.
Kapil-ji,
Yesterday, NaMo simply needed to make a more emotional pitch towards his audience. Order of doing things is perfectly understandable. You saw NaMo making an emotional pitch for the Yadavs in Patna. He needed to do something similar for the Jats. It would have cost him nothing, and given the Jats a good feel. That emotional connect, particularly in the aftermath of the riots, was what he failed to do.

people does not want to hear revenge, they want to move forward in a riot free environment
that is what NaMo promised his promise is based on facts as oppose to political farts, the people wanna see 24/7 bijjili they do not want to see polis SP running around looking for lost buffalos nor they wanna see 3 polis suspended for lost buffalos, proves folks here
are not in touch of reality and NaMo is.

Rahul Mehta wrote:
I expected this, and this is precisely what a hyper cautious BJP (if that is what NaMo is being) will get. If you don't even have the courge to talk of genuine problems to people, what can you expect from them? I don't buy the theory that being called communal will damage NaMo any. If anything, it will strengthen his credentials. If 10 years of relentless mainstream media propaganda could not damage NaMo, does anyone honestly believe that empathising with the Muzaffarnagar riot victims will do so? NaMo got where he is by being honest. He will get nowhere by being dishonest, or scared to talk to people of genuine issues.

Over 98 out of 100 leaders across India believe in using activists' emotion and their concern for the causes as a stepping stone. The way a leader sees an activists is no different from the way a star sees his groupies. Now, I am NOT a leader. I am ONLY a senior activist at best. And even 98 out of 100 senior activists are also like leaders. The activists also know that over 98 out of 100 leaders and seniors are like that. But sadly, the activist doesnt know which one is The One. Solution I propose to activists is to read the law-drafts that his leader or senior activist proposes. That way, the activists will atleast learn about solutions.

OK folks, time to say AWMTA :) and also time to say that "sooner or later, you have to agree with RM the common". I was the FIRST one to raise concern that NaMo is getting cornered and hijacked by MNC-owners and Missionaries. And I was the first one to raise alarm bell as loud as thunder when he said Sb4D. You guys laughed at me. No problem with that. I am used to all that and much more. But now pls dont waste time in crying and pls start working on SOLUTION.
The problem I see here is that you can clearly recognize the first "2". The second "2" is I think a product of your imagination. Then you proceed to tell us that the solution to the problem is "5". And you make your case simply based on your clarity in seeing the first "2".

Was I disappointed that NaMo did not take up Muzaffarnagar riots in his Meerut rally. Of course! And I openly expressed that. I think there was some space to squeeze in some sympathy for Jats without relinquishing any territory as a unifying figure.

But let's be clear. NaMo is playing an extremely high stakes game here of perceptions, and he is doing so with foreign media, India's mainstream media, and a good presence of AAPtards and eNREGA trolls loose in the social media as well. The secular front is being driven ever more into a corner and they are looking for some way to hit back.

They're itching to let a few hundred die and to use MSM to lay the blame at NaMo's doorstep.

They were able to twist the puppy remark. Sauron's Eye is searching mercilessly for some chinnnk in NaMo's armor, some mistake. Whatever small remark NaMo may make which sounds anti-Muslim, Congis can bring all the media resources to bear on that one remark, and magnify it in public perception to a size bigger than MK Gandhi's murder.

So NaMo just doesn't have that kind of leeway with words.

I don't know. RSS could have made NaMo the head of Bajrang Dal in 2002 and not Gujarat's CM. Then one would have seen a more aggressive NaMo. But as a present CM, and a PM candidate, he just does not have the luxury of giving his ideological tilt a free reign over duty as embodied by his office.

Published on Feb 03, 2014
By Dr Praveen Patil
The 1996 warning to 2014 and the beginning of a new electoral cycle: 5forty3
Another tactical error was Modi’s lack of aggressive direct appeal to the Jats in his first outing in Western-UP at his rally in Meerut yesterday. This was a classic error of judgment on the part of Modi, for he seems to be variously limited by the Lutyens agenda of secular-communal hyperbole and is not grilling secular governments and their horrendous mishandling of one of the biggest communal riots of our time. Jats have decisively turned towards BJP, but this Meerut cold-shouldering has left a bitter after taste at least in West-UP. Today many of these groups have limited options before them, but a political party can take them for granted at its own peril.

^I guess we are not just argumentative Indians, we are also impatient Indians. Have a little faith people. Actions speak louder than words and yet we still insist on verbal diarrheas. Words are cheap and sympathy by words are cheaper still.

I don't know but I would have liked NaMo to say something on these lines

"Brothers and sisters, I know there is a lot of seething anger here in Western UP. I know people are suffering because of vote bank politics. Parties like Congress & SP have placed vote bank politics over the dignity of your bahu & beti. But rest assured, in less than 6 months, we will end this vote bank politics for good & destroy it from its roots. We want you to have patience and we want you to exercise your right to vote carefully, for the coming elections are not just between NDA & UPA, but between a rotten system, a rotten dynasty and our idea of new Bharat."

It would have satisfied the Jats.

As far as MSM's agenda to call NaMo 'communal' is concerned, they still called his current speech communal, so what is the difference anyway?
gashish

Post by gashish »

http://epaper.jagran.com/epaper/03-feb- ... eerut.html

Read this edition of Dainik Jagran, most of the pages dedicated to yesterday's rally: "Krantidhara mein namo-namo"
Very positive coverage of a "successful" rally.

Interesting tidbits:

Blurb of Jat votebank on page 21:
It says he addressed all pain points of this community -sugarcane,unemployment, and dignity. Didnt explicitly mention on Mzfnagar riots, but mentioned the core issue - "bahu-beti" ka samman, and its importance.
Jats turned out in large numbers not only from Mzfnagar,Baghpat, Merrut for the rally but also from Amroha, Muradabad, Rampur, Bulandsehr, Sambhal and far-flung areas.

Rally was successful, but challenge is to convert it into votes. Organization still needs to be strengthened;30%of the booths still don't have booth management committees.

Page 22:
Housewives are hopeful of security if Modi comes to power. Many of them watched on TV from home.

If turnout is high among women, expect that vote going to Modi.

Page 13: Family returning from the rally was attacked by believers in Dhaulana. Situation tense.

Those were BJP MLA's who hit back in Muzzaffarnagar. BJP facilitated them publicly in Meerut rally in front of the entire nation. What another message Jats are expecting from BJP? BJP's action speaks for NaMo and NaMo speaks for BJP. I take the point that he should have given "something" to the crowd. That did not happen but it is not a complete disaster. And even if it is, it is no way irreversible.
Comer

Post by Comer »

RajeshA wrote:Published on Feb 03, 2014
By Dr Praveen Patil
The 1996 warning to 2014 and the beginning of a new electoral cycle: 5forty3
Another tactical error was Modi’s lack of aggressive direct appeal to the Jats in his first outing in Western-UP at his rally in Meerut yesterday. This was a classic error of judgment on the part of Modi, for he seems to be variously limited by the Lutyens agenda of secular-communal hyperbole and is not grilling secular governments and their horrendous mishandling of one of the biggest communal riots of our time. Jats have decisively turned towards BJP, but this Meerut cold-shouldering has left a bitter after taste at least in West-UP. Today many of these groups have limited options before them, but a political party can take them for granted at its own peril.
I don't know who is limited by Lutyen's secular definition, Modi or this commentator?
If the Jats or Iyers are just seduced by rhetoric and not actions I am sure there are multiple peddlers of balms available in the market. They can choose whatever rocks their boat. Just like how parties are accountable it is high time people as individuals are accountable for their own choice. Then don't lament that you have chosen a wrong party/guy. Accountability goes both ways.

abhijitm wrote:Those were BJP MLA's who hit back in Muzzaffarnagar. BJP facilitated them publicly in Meerut rally in front of the entire nation. What another message Jats are expecting from BJP? BJP's action speaks for NaMo and NaMo speaks for BJP. I take the point that he should have given "something" to the crowd. That did not happen but it is not a complete disaster. And even if it is, it is no way irreversible.
Look - this goes deep into the UP politics. They are just emerging from casteism of the Mandal era. The three honoured by the BJP in the Muzaffarnagar business were non-Jats (Hukum Singh is a Gujjar, Sangeet Som is a Thakur. Not sure about Suresh Rana, but I think he is also a non-Jat). There was a bit of heartburn even at that time - in the Agra rally, there was heartburn that no Jats had been honoured by the BJP in the Muzaffarnagar business. Today, NaMo not mentioning the Jats has added insult to injury, as they see it, since the Jats did the bulk of the fightback against the Muslims. UP is a casteist minefield, and you need to tread very carefully. ALL - repeat - ALL castes have hyperinflated egos, thanks to Mandal and caste based votebank politics. BJP needs to flatter and cajole them. You think this is just silly, and in a logical sense it is. But not on an emotional level. They wanted NaMo to acknowledge the Jats. They wanted to be made to feel good. And in that sense, NaMo failed them. Mentioning the riots and promising them that he would take care of the law and order situation would have been a good statement. Holding a silence period for the dead would have been another thing. And a bit of flattery for the Jats would always have been useful (really, what does it cost NaMo to harp a bit on Jat greatness?). Honouring a few prominent Jats (and heck - even Gujjars and Tyagis) before the rally (like NaMo did with the three BJP legislators) would also have been a good idea. Really - atmospherics count for a lot.

Your talk about them needing to grow up and get out of their parochial mentality is true in a logical sense, but not in the emotional connect. They will come round, but it takes flattery and caresses to persuade them out of that mindset. You can catch more flies with honey than with vinegar.
subhamoy.das

Post by subhamoy.das »

well, jats can only pick from the options which are on the table. And the options on the table are cong(i), sp, bsp and bjp. Here bjp option is tantamount to nuke where as all others are small arms when it comes to taking on the jehadis. So they will surely pick the nuke knowing that is is not armed mode at this time

He or Amit Shah should meet the parents of the boys who were the first to get killed defending their sister in Muzaffarnagar. That'll be a good gesture.

There are some very good actionable suggestions from Nageshksji and Chandraguptaji, please share them with either NaMo directly or with his cell. The feeling of hurt and feedback for next rallies should be shared for it to be effective. Is the next rally final Lucknow rally? That rally should leave no stone unturned to discredit the SP/BSP/Cong trimukhasur.

I have thought on it for a day, and my 2 cents on the topic -
1) There is one group of people who are saying, Modi is turning out to be 'secular' (as in Jinnah was secular) (one other poster has been claiming that from beginning Modi is sold out, only he is great, but later on that). Having followed Modi and known him, I think that is pure Bunkum. This point can be dismissed right away, he is not doing anything like that nor will do in the future.
2)He is trying hard to win the election. He has two group of voters (without any he cannot win, he may get seats, but that would be enough for him to be leader of opposition), one core vote and the other accumulated vote. What binds both is development, what separate both is issue of secularism. He has to appeal both, at the same time not put off the other group. The first group is loyal, the second group is congressi educated, give them a reason and they will not vote BJP.
3)His MayaRashtra (founded by Mayasura, Ravana's FIL) speach was good for the second group of 'secular' voters. First group also had many points covered. As far as JATS are concerned, he talked about Bahu Beti Ijjat, Sugarcane and riot free. Till now it was a good balance between the two groups of voters. However, he can have made an emotional pitch, only 1 sentence (as in Yadava's case, it was Cuop de grace, I went to India and at least talked to over 100 yadava's all remember his that one line), for Jats. Btw it can be done now also, and should be done fast. Nothing rhetorical, but one line (I do not know what that 1 line is). Probably in his mind he did deliver that one line (or few lines), but it did not have the impact.
rgds,

In the quest to be subtle Namo went too subtle about the riots, now Amit Shah would have to do some heavy lifting to balm hurt caused by the over subtleness. Namo must maintain his aggressiveness in words as well and not just in actions.

However, he can have made an emotional pitch, only 1 sentence (as in Yadava's case, it was Cuop de grace, I went to India and at least talked to over 100 yadava's all remember his that one line), for Jats.
+1.
Anyway, hope his 1-liner on the NE won't be lost on the NE voters... Can we now count both of Arunachal's seats in the bag?

P.S.
BTW, FP reporting pappu's verbatim statement at Jantar mantar to meet protesting NE students "The death of Arunachal pradesh is unacceptable." No, really...

Am sure sanjay jha will figure out a way to spin this into a masterstroke of unvarnished genius...

11 rupee BPL issue is more serious at this point. has to be resolved fast.. lapse of guard by bjp and guj govt..

Atri wrote:11 rupee BPL issue is more serious at this point. has to be resolved fast.. lapse of guard by bjp and guj govt..
http://deshgujarat.com/2014/02/02/on-bpl-critaria-row/

^^ Trust NDTV and AAJTak to twist this to sky high. And people talk about NaMo should say this and that.

In short., GoG is tracking BPL for accounting purposes. That is the Centre reimburses money for BPL purposes. What GOG is saying that track the ration cards for BPL as BPL so that we can get the reimbursement from Center. However issue Ration Cards to families above the BPL criteria as well, this will be funded by GoG.

Text in full from above:
As communicated by GoG sources, this is with regard to the news being run in NDTV India:

First of all, these are not new guidelines but only a clarification issued to do away the mis-understanding among the field functionaries for issuance of BPL ration cards only and not for any other purpose.

For getting a BPL ration-card, as per GOI guidelines, a person has to be in BPL list of Rural Development with a score less than 16 (0-16) or has to fall into other asset based criterion. Or should have monthly income of less than Rs. 324 in rural & Rs.501 in urban areas.

But what about a family who is poor but somehow does not fit into this asset-based criterion. The provision of OR in the above guidelines of GOI debars such families from getting a ration card.

Our clarification of income criterion (Rs. 11/17 per day) is an enabling additional criterion for such persons.

Thus, it applies to those who are not falling in the BPL list because of the asset based criterion

GOI and planning commission do not recognise this additionality and do not give food-grain for these additional poor families.

The problem with GOI BPL list was that it was based on asset based criterians only without any income criterians. Govt. of Gujarat added the income criterian in 2003-04, entitling the BPL ration-cards even for those who were not BPL as per GOI (asset base criterions) but were actually having less income.

There are 21.00 lakh BPL families as per GOI criterion. For which GOI is giving us ration. But GOG, from its own sources, is giving the ration to 32.00 lakh families. Thus, we are reaching to the poorest of the poor on the one hand and also to those who are marginally better in terms of possession of assets.

Actually, there are lakhs of families in Gujarat whose income is far above this limit (Rs. 11/17 per day) but are having BPL ration-card as they figure in BPL list of GOI.

Definitely trust #mediapimps to twist a departmental circular on clarification as a Government policy and blow to Modi.

On Ajay Maken's comments on NaMo's BPL decision

http://storify.com/KartikeyaTanna/on-aj ... l-decision

Okay, folks. Getting some more feedback from the Jats in the region. It seems that a lot of villagers are being harassed by police with often false cases of rioting. The people (not just Jats) would have welcomed legal help from the BJP in stopping this harassment by the SP incited police. I am no legal expert, but isn't there something that the BJP's legal cell can do to stop these blanket harassment tricks of the SP? Can anyone and everyone be accused of riots as and when it suits the SP thugs?

Added: This is a great opportunity for the BJP, but it is also a huge opportunity for the AAP. Their left wing NGOs are good at this - helping people legally. If the BJP does not move fast, it is going to lose a huge opportunity to the AAP.