The Jan Lokpal Bill, Anna Hazare, and Baba Ramdev

Re: The Jan Lokpal Bill, Anna Hazare, and Baba Ramdev

somnath,

why is it that you are so consistently admiring the "work" of those who take pleasure in bashing and denigrating Hindus? why is it that so many people are likable to you, who make it a habit to ridicule everything that Hindus do? this man who ridicules the Amarnath yatra is so very likable to yoy, why? let us Hindus visit our religious places. why do you fake Hindus have a problem when we visit our temples? why do you pick on us? why not pick on the Islamics? the Christians? why only Hindu pilgrims?

Agnivesh is a paki and terrorist sympathizer ; his social work is usual truck load of usual arya samaj baggage (sati pratha and other similar chutzpah; lets see him talk about reforming society at large which btw has folks from 'other' faiths too) . Somnath as usual is ARoy of BRF trying to defend likes of Binayak sen, Agnivesh and others I am sure he might have a thing ro two good to day about Doggyraja . Hey guess what even Dawood has a pretty good name in slums of dharavi and bandra for he did help a lot of folks there; so what gives ?
sanjeevpunj

Post by sanjeevpunj »

http://www.poultrybrief.com/2011/05/18/ ... hypocrisy/
Swami Agnivesh might be wrong here, as he calls it hypocracy to visit Amarnath and no Hindu likes to hear that. It is like telling muslims that going to Haj is a hypocrisy, no one would tolerate that.Despite his comments, however, I feel the man has done some good work, and should not be brushed aside as anti-hindu.I feel Somnathji is admiring his good works.
somnath

Post by somnath »

sanjeevpunj wrote:A deft logician when he talks to the press, and a peacemaker, surely.He surely stands out, as I said before.
IMO thats because he has been in this activist "lobbying" business far longer than any of the current media heros, including AH and his "team"...He knows the gaps between the plausible, the possible, the ideal, the fantastic, and the ludicrous ...Democracy is actually all about that, including systemic change..
devesh wrote:why is it that you are so consistently admiring the "work" of those who take pleasure in bashing and denigrating Hindus? why is it that so many people are likable to you, who make it a habit to ridicule everything that Hindus do?
I dont know what you are referring to, I am only referring to SA's commitment towards admirable causes for many years that I have noticed, including at a time when these things were not so "fashionable"...What is interesting about him is also a detachment from trappings of wealth and a detachment from chumminess with assorted politicians (which most gurus seem to revel in today)....It certainly doesnt mean that I am SA's "shishya" or I have to agree with everything he says.....

Anyway, SA is way OT for this thread - I was only wondering how he has come to be "mainowadi"....

sanjeevpunj wrote:http://www.poultrybrief.com/2011/05/18/ ... hypocrisy/
Swami Agnivesh might be wrong here, as he calls it hypocracy to visit Amarnath and no Hindu likes to hear that. It is like telling muslims that going to Haj is a hypocrisy, no one would tolerate that.Despite his comments, however, I feel the man has done some good work, and should not be brushed aside as anti-hindu.I feel Somnathji is admiring his good works.
When he gives such comments only and only against hindus, but not a pipsqueak against others, When he always sides with the murderous communists and opposes any actions against them,Yes people would see him as the trash he is, anti-hindu and a maoist. This person who calls himself as the president of "world council of arya samaj" has been officially kicked out of the proper arya samaj.

Oh yes, Raja is said to have not shared all of his loot but distributed to Sonia as well. Should we admire him for not eating all?? or should we admire the british rule and ask them to continue ruling us inspite of their mass murderous ways, because they built the railways for carrying their loot.
Last edited by Virupaksha on 01 Jul 2011 11:23, edited 1 time in total.

^ Obviously we should MMS himself did so. :evil:

somnath wrote:Not sure he has come to be known as "mainowadi", but then stranger things have been said! :wink:
Agnivesh is first and foremost a hard-core marxist....with all the usual anti-diluvian and obscurantist positions that his comrades are known for, including strong support for exclusivist ideologies that pass as religions. In this, he would definitely find a fair bit of commonality in thinking with the Mainos.

But my question did not relate to who or what party Agnivesh supported - rather it was to do with what Hindu symbolism / representatives the Mainos would feel comfortable identifying with without holding their noses.

You have not answered my question. But then that is also exactly what I expected from you.

somnath wrote:
devesh wrote:why is it that you are so consistently admiring the "work" of those who take pleasure in bashing and denigrating Hindus? why is it that so many people are likable to you, who make it a habit to ridicule everything that Hindus do?
I dont know what you are referring to, I am only referring to SA's commitment towards admirable causes for many years that I have noticed, including at a time when these things were not so "fashionable"...What is interesting about him is also a detachment from trappings of wealth and a detachment from chumminess with assorted politicians (which most gurus seem to revel in today)....It certainly doesnt mean that I am SA's "shishya" or I have to agree with everything he says.....

Anyway, SA is way OT for this thread - I was only wondering how he has come to be "mainowadi"....
SA's entourage of cars and his security cordon will shame anyone who says "detachment from trappings of wealth and a detachment from chumminess with assorted politicians".

Atleast BR has a legal and well known source of funds. Who funds this particular "social activist" is ofcourse a question that no one should ask.
sanjeevpunj

Post by sanjeevpunj »

I carried on discussing Agnivesh because of what he said about the Lokpal Bill.
I am quoting some statements by Swami Agnivesh here- "I congratulated the government for improving the 2010 Bill. I hope that the remaining other contentious issues will also be finetuned and refined. We should be able to get all the contentious issues resolved amicably," Agnivesh told . "The present government and some leaders of the ruling Congress are actually denying the fundamental rights of the freedom of expression and agitation within the frame of law given to every Indian by the constitution of India," he told.
Doesn't the above statement mean that he is also not with the government on this bill? First he congratulated the government on the draft, and then he contradicts himself when he says "the current government and some leaders in INC are denying the fundamental rights of freedom of expression and agitation".So he is quite right on that.
Last edited by sanjeevpunj on 01 Jul 2011 11:31, edited 1 time in total.

Arjun wrote:
somnath wrote:Not sure he has come to be known as "mainowadi", but then stranger things have been said! :wink:
Agnivesh is first and foremost a hard-core marxist....with all the usual anti-diluvian and obscurantist positions that his comrades are known for, including strong support for exclusivist ideologies that pass as religions. In this, he would definitely find a fair bit of commonality in thinking with the Mainos.

But my question did not relate to who or what party Agnivesh supported - rather it was to do with what Hindu symbolism / representatives the Mainos would feel comfortable identifying with without holding their noses.

You have not answered my question. But then that is also exactly what I expected from you.
These are EXACTLY the ideologies represented in the uber of uber democratic NAC.

The answer to your question is none. Remember MMS saying muslims being the persons with the first rights. Where does a hindu come in his pecking order, my best case scenario is tenth.
Last edited by Virupaksha on 01 Jul 2011 11:34, edited 1 time in total.

sanjeevpunj wrote:I feel Somnathji is admiring his good works.
Agnivesh is a marxist and supporter of exclusivist ideologies. Its these aspects that resonates with Somnath.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vigil_Indi ... ghts_Award

The list of the recipients of the Rev. M. A. Thomas National Human Rights Award and what the person who established the award also established should give a pretty good idea of what gang SA belongs to and why Somnath ji seems to like him so much.

It was founded by Rev. Dr. M.A. Thomas, who also founded the Ecumenical Christian Centre Centre in Bangalore in 1963 and Association of Christian Institutes for Social Concern in Asia.

Named after the founder of Vigil India, the organization makes a widely recognized and prestigious [1] annual award, the Rev. M.A. Thomas National Human Rights Award. The recipients since 1993 include:

Swami Agnivesh, 2006
Teesta Setalvad, 2004
Harsh Mander, 2002
Medha Patkar, 1999
Mr. Justice V.R. Krishna Iyer, 1998
Ravi Nair, 1997
somnath

Post by somnath »

Arjun wrote:rather it was to do with what Hindu symbolism / representatives the Mainos would feel comfortable identifying with without holding their noses
Well, simple..I am not sure what "mainowadi" means, far less which religious motif mainowadis would be identifying with..(About the same way as I am not sure about taking positions on relative liberalisms of religions)...

I was only referring to pretty interesting liaisons of assorted INC-wallahs with various sadhus/sadhvis over the years - makes for interesting reading at times...Nothing "deeper" than that...

I am not sure what obscurantist" position SA has taken - I didnt even bring up his reference, you did...but his is a sane, sober and influential voice in this campaign for Lokpal - that is what matters in this context..Thats all...

Rest is, POV...You are welcome to it...
sanjeevpunj

Post by sanjeevpunj »

ravi_ku wrote: It was founded by Rev. Dr. M.A. Thomas, who also founded the Ecumenical Christian Centre Centre in Bangalore in 1963 and Association of Christian Institutes for Social Concern in Asia.
Named after the founder of Vigil India, the organization makes a widely recognized and prestigious [1] annual award, the Rev. M.A. Thomas National Human Rights Award. The recipients since 1993 include:

Swami Agnivesh, 2006
Teesta Setalvad, 2004
Harsh Mander, 2002
Medha Patkar, 1999 Mr. Justice V.R. Krishna Iyer, 1998
Ravi Nair, 1997
Who is Rev.Thomas! Doubting thomases is always fun, hehe :rotfl: . So all those who are social activists are propped up by the church? Interesting discovery. 8)
sanjeevpunj

Post by sanjeevpunj »

somnath wrote:
Arjun wrote:rather it was to do with what Hindu symbolism / representatives the Mainos would feel comfortable identifying with without holding their noses
Well, simple..I am not sure what "mainowadi" means, far less which religious motif mainowadis would be identifying with..(About the same way as I am not sure about taking positions on relative liberalisms of religions)...
The "vaadi" is added to the preceding name just as "ism" is added, So we would have Mainovaadi or Mainoism. Maovaadi or Maoism.

somnath wrote:I am not sure what obscurantist" position SA has taken - I didnt even bring up his reference, you did...but his is a sane, sober and influential voice in this campaign for Lokpal - that is what matters in this context..Thats all...
I didn't bring up a reference to "Mainovadis' in this discussion either....it was always the Mainos.

SA and Prashant Bhushan are birds of the same feather.....only SA is worse because he extends his marxist views beyond economics to religious affairs where he commits the same mistakes in logic that the marxists do wrt the economy.

This is a guy who believes the US is Terrorist #1, and that Islamists don't even come close.

As regards his influence on the Lokpal, I actually do agree with you - as long as Prashant Bhushan, Agnivesh etc can bring something positive about while ensuring that guys like themselves can never even remotely think about becoming a Lokpal or have any executive powers - we are fine. This is exactly my same position on BR as well - only I would be somewhat more positive about any potential BR role in the executive.
somnath

Post by somnath »

sanjeevpunj wrote:The "vaadi" is added to the preceding name just as "ism" is added, So we would have Mainovaadi or Mainoism. Maovaadi or Maoism.
Well, then seems that a lot of people here give too much credence to the intellectual level of Sonia Maino (nee Gandhi)! I mean, "ism" isnt typically a loosely used appendix..Typically, it is done for people with an enormous amount of intellectual and/or social impact....I dont credit Sonia with anything like that - she's just a run-of-the-mill politician of the Indian dynastic type....

anyway, its really making this discussion OT..
somnath

Post by somnath »

Arjun wrote:guys like themselves can never even remotely think about becoming a Lokpal or have any executive powers - we are fine.
I know nothing about the Bhushans, but SA has never been after "posts"...I know for a fact that he was offered MP-ship once (source - chaiwallah from the current AH camp :wink: ) - he refused...

But,
Arjun wrote:I didn't bring up a reference to "Mainovadis' in this discussion either....it was always the Mainos
Didnt you specifically bring up SA as the religiosu motif for mainowadis?

Anyway, not important....
sanjeevpunj

Post by sanjeevpunj »

Back to Lokpal Bill- At 74, Anna Hazare is busy with his road show. He is spending his time meeting one political party after another. His calling card: his team's version of the Lokpal Bill, intended to check corruption among politicians, and rejected by the government as impractical.The Gandhian met this morning with senior BJP leader LK Advani. Yesterday, he met with Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar. He will meet Congress President Sonia Gandhi on Saturday at 4 pm, possibly the most crucial pit-stop before Sunday.

Read more at: http://www.ndtv.com/article/india/anna- ... -116041&cp

somnath wrote:(About the same way as I am not sure about taking positions on relative liberalisms of religions)...
If you are indeed interested in understanding liberalism and trying to figure out what the appropriate stance should be, I suggest you visit the Liberalism thread and debate things out.

If you are not interested - you might want to stop bringing in comments about religion, liberalism and such matters that you don't really feel you are equipped for.

somnath wrote:Didnt you specifically bring up SA as the religiosu motif for mainowadis?
Do go back and cross-check what I wrote.

Agnivesh is "free from trappings of wealth???" :rotfl:

this is more lies being propagated. I have been seeing news items of Agnivesh with AH on every opportunity. he's been going around courting Marxists and Commies in Chattisgarh. on Amarnath Yatra (which i'm sure is beneath your level of concern), he is colluding with Islamists and sharing platforms with them and ridiculing the Yatra. so a guy who is meeting and releasing press conferences and all making all kinds of political actions with various political interest groups, is now free from "political/wealth trappings." :lol:

this is pure Maino-logic. only Mainovadis (advocates of a de-Hinduised, Hindu-hating, and EJ/Islamist conquered India as a great example of secularism and freedom) can come up with such logic.
somnath

Post by somnath »

Arjun wrote:Do go back and cross-check what I wrote.
Ok, so "Maino family", as distinct from "mainowadi" - ok..Either way, I have no clue on what can be the religious motif of the Maino family - I have no access, privileged or otherwise to them...

Enough of the facetiousness..I would stop here on topics that I am quite ill-equipped to handle :wink:

somnath wrote:Well, then seems that a lot of people here give too much credence to the intellectual level of Sonia Maino (nee Gandhi)! I mean, "ism" isnt typically a loosely used appendix..Typically, it is done for people with an enormous amount of intellectual and/or social impact....I dont credit Sonia with anything like that - she's just a run-of-the-mill politician of the Indian dynastic type....
You are making the mistake of thinking any intellectual level is implied or attributed in the term. Have you heard of Bushism or Hooverism? Basically as long as a person most represents some core beliefs or attributes - adding the 'ism' is fine.

In the Mainos' case - the core attribute is a slavish devotion to sustaining dynasty combined with a strong support for exclusivist ideologies.
Last edited by Arjun on 01 Jul 2011 12:36, edited 1 time in total.
sumishi

Post by sumishi »

Arjun wrote:...
This is a guy who believes the US is Terrorist #1, and that Islamists don't even come close.
[OT] There is some truth to that -- actually US is the engine, manipulated by the anglo-american banking-industrial-military complex.
somnath

Post by somnath »

devesh wrote:Agnivesh is "free from trappings of wealth???" :rotfl:

this is more lies being propagated. I have been seeing news items of Agnivesh with AH on every opportunity. he's been going around courting Marxists and Commies in Chattisgarh. on Amarnath Yatra (which i'm sure is beneath your level of concern), he is colluding with Islamists and sharing platforms with them and ridiculing the Yatra. so a guy who is meeting and releasing press conferences and all making all kinds of political actions with various political interest groups, is now free from "political/wealth trappings." :lol:

this is pure Maino-logic. only Mainovadis (advocates of a de-Hinduised, Hindu-hating, and EJ/Islamist conquered India as a great example of secularism and freedom) can come up with such logic.
Boss you dont like SA? Fine! Suit yourself, whats the big deal?!

boss, you like SA. fine, suit yourself, what's the big deal?

the question of SA's integrity came up and I feel the need to contribute my part. why is it causing you khujli???
sanjeevpunj

Post by sanjeevpunj »

I always hold that each individual, politician,proletarian or just a common criminal for that matter, has a good side. There is no point in arguing about individuals at all.The important thing to argue about is if this Lokpal bill will be passed and if its contents will be effective in curbing corruption and eventually ending corruption.Peace!
somnath

Post by somnath »

sanjeevpunj wrote:Back to Lokpal Bill- At 74, Anna Hazare is busy with his road show. He is spending his time meeting one political party after another. His calling card: his team's version of the Lokpal Bill, intended to check corruption among politicians, and rejected by the government as impractical.The Gandhian met this morning with senior BJP leader LK Advani. Yesterday, he met with Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar. He will meet Congress President Sonia Gandhi on Saturday at 4 pm, possibly the most crucial pit-stop before Sunday.
This is quite brilliant, in fact laudable...The textbook way it should be in a democracy...

What should be kept in mind is the reaction of various CMs - Jaya, Badal...
sanjeevpunj

Post by sanjeevpunj »

^^^^ Yup the man AH is going great guns as of now.Well concerns of a showdown after Independence Day are always going to crop up, unless something happens this month that changes the flow of events in a positive direction, and then we may not have AH fasting on 16th August. Depends a lot on how events unfold this month.Nothing like a perfectly democratic way of ushering in the Lokpal Bill. Peace to all.
ravar
Location: हिमालयम समारभ्य़ यावत हिन्दु सरोवरम, तम देव निर्मितम देशम हिन्दुस्थानम प्रचक्षते

Post by ravar »

sanjeevpunj wrote:
ravi_ku wrote: It was founded by Rev. Dr. M.A. Thomas, who also founded the Ecumenical Christian Centre Centre in Bangalore in 1963 and Association of Christian Institutes for Social Concern in Asia.

Swami Agnivesh, 2006
Teesta Setalvad, 2004
Harsh Mander, 2002
Medha Patkar, 1999 Mr. Justice V.R. Krishna Iyer, 1998
Ravi Nair, 1997
Who is Rev.Thomas! Doubting thomases is always fun, hehe :rotfl: . So all those who are social activists are propped up by the church? Interesting discovery. 8)
OT but you haven't seen it all yet!

Archbishop of Guwahati, Vatican agent from Kerala nominated for Nobel Peace Prize
Archbishop of Guwahati Thomas Menamparampil has been nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize by an Italian magazine 'Il Bollettino Salesiano' which also published a four-page story on Menamparampil in its June edition titled 'A Bishop for Nobel Prize'.

...The so called peace negotiation done by this Keralite Christian are with Bodo’s – A Christian terrorist organisation whose aim is to have a separate Christian Nation in North East. So here you see the Violence Instigation and Peace Negotiation ; both done by Church agents. The church had played an important role in the ethnic clashes in North East as part of their agenda to divide Hindu tribals. And the very same church and people like Thomas Menamparambil will appear as Peace Negotiator with a white flag.
sanjeevpunj

Post by sanjeevpunj »

Divisive policies followed by so called "priests" have often bugged India, not lately but from the time when the British,French and Portugese entered our country.While they happily part with the Love for Humanity as long as it goes into the hands of converted christians, they tell the poor Hindus and Muslims to go to their Gurus and Mullahs.Their agenda becomes more of "spread the rule of Vatican" and not "spread the love of god for humanity" It is not surprising.They divided regions of the Middle East by creating conflicts there.Most of this comes from white-skin supremacists, who push the average "Man Friday" into doing their bidding. So the indirect approach keeps them aloof while "Man Friday" bear the brunt of action and reaction.

In questioning the propriety and legality of the Comptroller and Auditor-General holding a news conference on its 2G report, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh ignored not only past precedents but also a court ruling upholding the CAG's right to do so.

In his interaction with a group of editors on Wednesday, Dr. Singh criticised the press meet held by the CAG in early January after the report on 2G spectrum irregularities was tabled in Parliament. He said: “It [has] never been in the past that the CAG has held a press conference. Never in the past has the CAG decided to comment on a policy issue. It should limit the office to the role defined in the Constitution.”

But a 2005 judgment of the Madras High Court, upholding the right of CAG and its functionaries to brief the media on the contents of reports prepared by them and presented before the relevant Legislature, leaves no ambiguity on this count.

http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/a ... epage=true

Pranav wrote:
In questioning the propriety and legality of the Comptroller and Auditor-General holding a news conference on its 2G report, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh ignored not only past precedents but also a court ruling upholding the CAG's right to do so.

In his interaction with a group of editors on Wednesday, Dr. Singh criticised the press meet held by the CAG in early January after the report on 2G spectrum irregularities was tabled in Parliament. He said: “It [has] never been in the past that the CAG has held a press conference. Never in the past has the CAG decided to comment on a policy issue. It should limit the office to the role defined in the Constitution.”

But a 2005 judgment of the Madras High Court, upholding the right of CAG and its functionaries to brief the media on the contents of reports prepared by them and presented before the relevant Legislature, leaves no ambiguity on this count.

http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/a ... epage=true
When the coffin scam came out everybody was cheering CAG, now they are the Villians, times have changed indeed.

1 crore plus 'agitators' behind Anna Hazare - http://daily.bhaskar.com/article/NAT-TO ... 31823.html
New Delhi: It started with one man’s call to support his fight against corruption. Three months later, the Anna Hazare led India Against Corruption (IAC) campaign has received the support of over 76 lakh people from across the country.

On April 5, when Hazare started his fast-unto-death at Jantar Mantar in Delhi, organisers requested the public to give a missed call on 022-61550789 to register their support. “By June 28, we got over one crore missed calls of which 76.83 lakh were unique missed calls, all different numbers and no repetition,” said Kunal Dixit of Netcore Solutions Private Limited, who is handling this scheme for the IAC.

“This data clearly proves that Lokpal movement is not limited to just a few thousand people. The whole country is behind us,” said Arvind Kejriwal, RTI activist, IAC member and one of the civil society representatives in the Lokpal bill’s joint drafting committee.
somnath

Post by somnath »

Arjun wrote:
somnath wrote:(About the same way as I am not sure about taking positions on relative liberalisms of religions)...
If you are not interested - you might want to stop bringing in comments about religion, liberalism and such matters that you don't really feel you are equipped for.
Sure, as long as you return the favour by not imputing "exclusivist" ideologies et al..

OT here, but its funny to hear about comparative liberalism of religions, when liberalism itself as an ideology is at war with organised religion - the big debates are on whether they can even co-exist..But not my area of interest - so I would stop here...
sanjeevpunj

Post by sanjeevpunj »

Ajatshatru wrote:Slightly OT but some present day Jaichands and/or Brown Sahibs (Hindus by birth but, perhaps, raised in an environment of dhimmitude and an extreme hatred for anything symbolising Hinduism) make it their mission to give their support to any organisation(s) and/or person(s) degenerating Hinduism. Some may even be closet marxists.
What exactly is "Dhimmitude"? Couldn't find it in the dictionary or google.

Sanjeev Ji, this is a word in use. But it's context on this thread is irrelevant really. Eliminating corruption is not about religion or religious views one bit in the present Indian context. Eliminating corruption is also not about tackling a single party. However there is a word Dhimmitude,.

Wiki:
Dhimmitude is a neologism first found in French denoting an attitude of concession, surrender and appeasement towards Islamic demands. It is derived by adding the productive suffix -tude to the Arabic language adjective dhimmi, which literally means protected and refers to a non-Muslim subject of a sharia law state.

Dhimmitude has several distinct, but related meanings depending on the author; its scope may be historical only, contemporary only, or both. It may encompass the whole system of dhimma, look only at its subjects (dhimmis), or even apply it outside of any established system of dhimma.
sanjeevpunj

Post by sanjeevpunj »

Oh well i didn't really wiki it, my bad, thanks Harbansji.
Pranay

Post by Pranay »

https://spreadsheets.google.com/spreads ... c6MQ#gid=0

Jan Lokpal Bill - Citizen's Referendum. Feel free to participate....