Malaysian Airlines Flight MH-370 goes missing

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Malaysian Airlines Flight MH-370 goes missing

Even if there are intact bodies in sea water, their chances of being recovered after 3 weeks is minimal. If the water is cold they survive a bit longer although human features like eyes and face will be eaten away. If there are sharks in the area then the bodies disappear sooner.

But we are talking of 200 passengers (12-15 tons) versus debris from 200 tons of non bio degradable aircraft. I would have thought that aircraft debris will show up sooner.

If malaysians are talking that passengers may still be safe, then they are surely not in the IO. They are on land. Fishes will quickly consume any floating bodies which will remain in the seas for more than a week. So if the Malaysians are still talking that passengers/some passengers may be safe then ...

Cocos Islands is a beautiful place!! One result of this tamasha is that I have "vijited" so many places so far from Ulan Bator, and realized that whole Duniya has become homogeneous. Except for Pakistan of course. I thought Cocos islands would have a bunch of people lolling on hammocks munching on human bones, but they seem like people anywhere else. Same universal uniform of loose shirts and floppy half-trousers.

An old India Times report says that the plane was hijacked because the deviation in the route after the transponder was switched off/malfunctioned,required certain course corrections to follow the established civilian aircraft route.

http://www.indiatimes.com/news/asia/mal ... 34926.html
Malaysia Airlines Flight MH370 Was Hijacked: Here's The Proof
By IndiaTimes | March 17, 2014
There are three pieces of evidence that aviation safety experts say make it clear the missing Malaysia Airlines jet was taken over by someone who was knowledgeable about how the plane worked.

TRANSPONDER

One clue is that the plane's transponder - a signal system that identifies the plane to radar - was shut off about an hour into the flight.

In order to do that, someone in the cockpit would have to turn a knob with multiple selections to the off position while pressing down at the same time, said John Goglia, a former member of the National Transportation Safety Board. That's something a pilot would know how to do, but it could also be learned by someone who researched the plane on the Internet, he said.

ACARS

Another clue is that part of the Boeing 777's Aircraft Communications Addressing and Reporting System (ACARS) was shut off.

The system, which has two parts, is used to send short messages via a satellite or VHF radio to the airline's home base. The information part of the system was shut down, but not the transmission part. In most planes, the information part of the system can be shut down by hitting cockpit switches in sequence in order to get to a computer screen where an option must be selected using a keypad, said Goglia, an expert on aircraft maintenance.

That's also something a pilot would know how to do, but that could also be discovered through research, he said.

But to turn off the other part of the ACARS, it would be necessary to go to an electronics bay beneath the cockpit. That's something a pilot wouldn't normally know how to do, Goglia said, and it wasn't done in the case of the Malaysia plane. Thus, the ACARS transmitter continued to send out blips that were recorded by the Inmarsat satellite once an hour for four to five hours after the transponder was turned off. The blips don't contain any messages or data, but the satellite can tell in a very broad way what region the blips are coming from and adjusts the angle of its antenna to be ready to receive message in case the ACARS sends them. Investigators are now trying to use data from the satellite to identify the region where the plane was when its last blip was sent.

GUIDED FLIGHT

The third indication is that that after the transponder was turned off and civilian radar lost track of the plane, Malaysian military radar was able to continue to track the plane as it turned west.

The plane was then tracked along a known flight route across the peninsula until it was several hundred miles (kilometers) offshore and beyond the range of military radar. Airliners normally fly from waypoint to waypoint where they can be seen by air traffic controllers who space them out so they don't collide. These lanes in the sky aren't straight lines. In order to follow that course, someone had to be guiding the plane, Goglia said.

Goglia said he is very skeptical of reports the plane was flying erratically while it was being tracked by military radar, including steep ascents to very high altitudes and then sudden, rapid descents. Without a transponder signal, the ability to track planes isn't reliable at very high altitudes or with sudden shifts in altitude, he said.

AP
Missing Malaysian Flight MH370: Black holes, aliens and trips to the Moon - online theories
http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world ... 23755.html

Strangely,the report avoids the increasingly popular theory that the aircraft landed in DG and was later ditched in the IOR.
In the absence of evidence, explanation or understanding, a vacuum has been created.

That vacuum is increasingly being filled with feverish speculation. Rupert Murdoch declared on Twitter that the plane had most likely been hijacked and is now hiding where the US and China cannot find it – northern Pakistan, “like Bin Laden”.

One “technology expert” told the Sunday Express it could have been hijacked using a mobile phone to hack into the plane’s computers.

Other common theories on the internet include: North Korea hijacked it; North Korea shot it down; the US shot it down, because it realised that it was carrying secret technology to China. Then there are black holes, aliens and trips to the Moon.

Because some of the passengers worked for Texas technology firm Freescale Semiconductor, a poster on the “citizens’ news site” Before It’s News suggested the plane was being used to test cloaking technology.

UlanBatori wrote:... but they seem like people anywhere else. Same universal uniform of loose shirts and floppy half-trousers.
you meen chaddi dharis :eek: "kahkee" in color?
Last edited by Vayutuvan on 30 Mar 2014 10:20, edited 1 time in total.

DoCJi, In the case of air France crash off Brazil, they took almost a week if I am not mistaken to find any debris, and after that, they found dead bodies. I forgot about the sharks you alluded to. If there are sharks in the area, the bodies are gone, thats for sure.

CRamS wrote:DoCJi, In the case of air France crash off Brazil, they took almost a week if I am not mistaken to find any debris, and after that, they found dead bodies. I forgot about the sharks you alluded to. If there are sharks in the area, the bodies are gone, thats for sure.
Bodies recognizable as human can exist up to 3 weeks or more - but having seen the body of an RAF pilot after 3 weeks in the (cold) North sea - it is a horrifying sight and unless one is willing to look closely at what is left the remains may not always be identifiable as human. It is a carcass of some sort.

But yes, "bodies" can be found after 3 weeks.
vsunder

Post by vsunder »

The Sentinelese ate them up, you know they have a long
history of cannibalism.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sentinelese_people

The other possibility are the Onge, who might have
returned to their old ways too.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Onge_people

I submit the plane flew around the indian coast and landed in Gujarat.
its for the Guj govt to confess and come clean on what they did with the plane and pax.
ball in Namo court now :)

vsunder wrote: The other possibility are the Onge, who might have
returned to their old ways too.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Onge_people
In fact recent genetics papers show that the so called "Ancestral South Indian" (ASI) genes which occur in about 40% of North Indians and 60% of South Indians have Onge genes as well. So anyone in India could have eaten those people. The original guesses of the flight path over India must have been correct.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3769933/

Just curious if this plane now being prepared to reappear on Modi's inauguration day as PM of India.

Syria might be more likelier target. This plane will crash into some turkish or Israeli ghetto and that will give excuse for all out war on Syria, wherein the forces of peaces will again reign supreme and Russians will be tied down due to moral trepidation. Two Iranians have been spotted in the plane as well, so we have the actors and the motives in place.

Somali Warlord's new Air Force One. Getting new paint job in Kahuta, PK Newclear Mijjile Copying Fajility.

This gem:
China's state-run CCTV reported... Sunday an orange "suspicious object" spotted by a Chinese plane Saturday turned out to be a dead jellyfish.
And I LOVE this from CNN's EXPERT:
Debris is ABSOLUTELY plane wreckage.
That was 3 days ago. :roll:

shiv: Time to dust off your explanation of WHY they have all been down in Dera Kangaroo Khan the past 10 days? The sheer cledibirity of that Australian PM and his saterrites, what-what? :rotfl:

Bless the relatives for not giving up. They should demand a proper check of the southern Maldives.
Last edited by UlanBatori on 30 Mar 2014 16:45, edited 1 time in total.

UB,you may be not too far off the mark,with this latest report.

Secret services involvement in missing Malaysia flight MH370 investigation sparks speculation of terrorism
http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world ... 24282.html

Malaysian authorities have revealed secret services from the UK, the US and China have been involved in the investigations into the disappearance of the missing Malaysia Airlines flight MH370, adding to speculation that the plane’s disappearance could be down to terrorism.

MI6, the CIA and Chinese agencies have been looking into the flight simulator found in the home of the flight’s Captain Zaharie Ahmad Shah, though acting transport minister Hishammuddin Hussein said the FBI has found nothing sinister in the device.

He said the Inspector General of Police has highlighted the “four possible scenarios of what could have caused the plane to disappear, which are terrorism, hijacking, personal and psychological problems, or technical failure.

“These scenarios have been discussed at length with different intelligence agencies,” he added.

Meanwhile, Chinese relatives of the passengers on board the missing Malaysia airlines flight MH370 have flown to Kuala Lumpur in frustration to try and find answers from authorities, as an American naval officer has said the search could take years.

The relatives claim they have not been given enough new information from authorities dealing with the search, and on Sunday held a press conference in which they held up banners and the Chinese flag, chanting: “We want evidence, truth, dignity.”

The group, of which some have accused Malaysian withholding information, held up banners that read: “You must return relatives of MH370, no strings attached”.

They have demanded an apology from authorities for its handling of the disaster, and for Prime Minister Najib Razak’s earlier statement that suggested the plane had crashed with no survivors.

Two-thirds of the 227 passengers on board the flight that went missing on 8 March were Chinese. Jiang Hui, the relatives’ designated representative, said the group felt the decision that there would be no survivors was made without sufficient evidence.

Malaysia’s acting transport minister Hishammuddin Hussein said on Saturday the search for survivors would continue, claiming “we are hoping against hope that we will find survivors”.

But a U.S. naval officer on Sunday suggested the search could take years.

U.S. Navy Captain Mark Matthews told journalists at Stirling Naval Base in Perth, Australia: “Right now the search area is basically the size of the Indian Ocean, which would take an untenable amount of time to search.”

He added: “If you compare this to the Air France flight 447, we had much better positional information of where that aircraft went into the water.” The Air France flight which crashed in 2009 near Brazil was missing for two years before it was found.

Captain Matthews is in charge of the U.S. Towed Pinger Locator (TPL), an unmanned underwater vehicle designed to locate the aircraft’s black box, which can trace pings emitted from as deep as 6,000 meters underwater. It has been loaded onto the Australian warship Ocean Shield as it sets off to the search area along with other acoustic detection equipment.

Ships from China and Australia managed to retrieve “objects from the ocean” on Saturday, but none have been “confirmed or related” to flight MH370, according to the Australian Maritime Safety Authority, which is overseeing the search.

There are now 10 ships and 10 aircraft searching a massive area in the Indian Ocean to the west of Perth, in a race to find the crucial black box recorder before its batteries are expected to die in the coming days.

The search zone is roughly the size of Poland and it is expected to take Ocean Shield three to four days to travel the 1,150 miles from Perth to reach the designated area.

The black box could hold the key to understanding what happened to the flight when it disappeared three weeks ago. The device consists of two boxes that record vital information; one is a cockpit recorder that stores conversations and other noises from the area, while the other records a stream of flight information.

Of course, Phillip. 8)
“four possible scenarios of what could have caused the plane to disappear, which are terrorism, hijacking, personal and psychological problems, or technical failure.
They should add: "Ernst Stavro BLOFELD". Or Prof. Muammar Bin Moriarti, (pbuh)
Or, since China is involved, WOLFAT.

Probably :rotfl: with his hand-held PAKSAT Interrogation Non-traceable Ground-based Emitter-Receiver (PINGER), plotting where to send the next "ping". My question has been very simple:
If the whoever was smart enough to switch off the transponders and the ACARS thingies, why would you assume that they didn't know about the INMARSAT pinger - so how can you assume that the pinger was on the aircraft at all?

So now the plane could be anywhere on the planet, and completely re-done to appear as something completely different. PITA Flight 666??

..on second thoughts - fuggedabahtit

shiv, hold everything! The Search is about to win 400% credibility! The retired Air Chief Marshal has taken over.
Houston, a retired Air Chief Marshal, will head a new joint agency coordination centre, based in Perth, which will oversee the efforts to find the plane.
Harpal Bector

Post by Harpal Bector »

When the ac was not recovered in 5 days, the Bayesian pointed away from a technical failure and towards a hijacking.

Most airplane hijackings for the usual political/commercial reasons resolve within 21 days of the event. That line was crossed yesterday.

The Bayesian now points away from hijacking for the usual reasons, that means the ac if intact will be used for something else.

Absent recovery of debris, I am afraid that at this point I can only recommend one thing, put a CAP on airborne alert over major population centres and instruct all 777 pilots to strictly follow their declared flight paths only, to stick to one and only one squawk code and never turn their transponder off regardless of which FIR they are in.

If someone is trying to turn the MH370 ac into a flying bomb of some kind, procedures like this may be the only defense one has.

So far I have clung to the hope that there was a more benign explanation for all this but now the balance of probability appears to be shifting towards something very nasty.

I can only hope I am wrong.
vsunder

Post by vsunder »

The forum moderator who signs off as Shri Olaf Biglund please do allow the liberty
of these very serious posts, after all the rest of the world is even more "selious"( sic).

Yes, Shivji, your next meal at Barbeque Nation maybe like the 1857 Mutinee
only not made of cow and pig fat but something else fat. You know

The steak that was made for Caesar,

Do you know how it came into the freezer.

Yes, yes, lal jellyfish. Chinese Academy of Sciences
is having H&D problem ( all those saterrites and jellyfish), now Longzhi Lin and Weixiong
Chen and Miaomiao ( I kid thee not) are preparing a paper where the Gauss-Bonnet
theorem and Bayesian analysis will locate the plane to within 5 feet.
It will also be posted on Arxiv.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gauss%E2%8 ... et_theorem

Miaomiao has already posted a previous
paper on this topic, some bad, man real bad Yindoos were also
quoted:

http://arxiv.org/pdf/1101.1966.pdf

Then all the people who are talking about Arxiv can check it out
when the new paper is posted on Arxiv.

deleted by moderator How the pakistan does one type up such papers? First from the name of first author I thought it was a spoof, but it must take more time to type up that paper than it does to search all the world's oceans. They must know LaTEX better than I can play the piano. Scratch that, I can't play the piano at all! :( At the end of all THAT, they say, AHA! Hence, plane located down to 1.237654897 millimetres CEP??? :eek:

Today I went out for a walk, and Supreme HQ lost a hair ornament. Plastic, blue, I was asked to forget it, but I thought of the MH370 Search. This should have been visible in bright sunlight from 50 meters away on the (stationary) black asphalt, no problem, so I said, ha! we just retrace our steps and I'll find it in a jiffy. Let me show you how a REAL search is done!

Was about 400 meters back up this hill, when Supreme HQ yelled at me to return: object found about 200 meters behind me, in a shaded area. 0.3 meters from where I walked right past it. My 400% reliable Dual Stereoscopic Broadband Parallel-Processing Spectroscopy Systems had completely missed something that obvious when it was all I was looking for.

Never again am I going to poke fun at ppl searching for hours for objects from 500 meters sitting in a noisy airplane moving 130 meters PER SECOND over rough waves and looking through spray-clouded windows. I am deeply repentant. :oops: :((

For the next 5 minutes until I read CNN and irritation at the pompous little cheneys swamps all sense of fairness.

Meanwhile, results of "promising new leads":
Debris spotted by aircraft and then picked up by ships combing the new search zone proved not to be from the Malaysian Airlines' Boeing 777, the Australian Maritime Safety Authority (AMSA) said.

"It appeared to be fishing equipment and just rubbish on the (ocean's) surface," an AMSA spokesman told AFP.
Also this:
Australia's Rescue and Coordination Centre (RCC) has detected a signal from an emergency distress beacon registered to a fishing vessel in the far southern Indian Ocean near Antarctica.

The Australian Maritime and Safety Authority (AMSA) said in a statement the RCC was unable to establish communication with the vessel and the nature of the distress was unknown.
"The RCC has retasked a Royal Australian Air Force P3 Orion from the search for (Malaysia Airlines') MH370 to fly to the area and render assistance if required," it said on Sunday.
The P3 is capable of dropping survival equipment, AMSA said, adding that it would take five hours to reach the location of the beacon.
It is located about 3,241 km southwest of Perth and 648 km north of the Antarctic mainland.

Blofeld? Or a real fishing boat that far out? if the latter, I hope all this search effort ends up saving a few lives, at least.

My 400% reliable Dual Stereoscopic Broadband Parallel-Processing Spectroscopy Systems had completely missed something that obvious when it was all I was looking for.

(Also known as Eyeball Mk-1) :)
They sometimes tool along at about 300 feet height to investigate contacts.

Very very exhausting for the pilot flying at this height.

PDF file - output from Mathematica 8.

Not very elegant. I had a lot of debugging time, having to relearn Mathematica syntax.
Hope it is readable.

As far as I can tell, the link works, please let me know if there is a permissions problem.
https://sites.google.com/site/arunsmusi ... ects=0&d=1

a. I'm not sure of my Doppler calculation, I'm getting twice the frequency shift expected. Too fed up by now to debug.

b. As far as searching for the plane goes, the difference between great circle and loxodrome (curve of constant heading) is significant.

c. As far as satellite data goes, for our favorite scenarios the difference between great circle and loxodrome isn't all that important.

d. Towards the end of the PDF, I draw a plane path over India and over the southern route; the doppler curve and the satellite position - no significant difference between the two that I can see.

e. IMO after this exercise -- INMARSAT by itself cannot rule out a northern route; it is the non-sighting of MH370 from northern radar that rules it out.

f. The Mathematica notebook is downloadable here, hope it works.
https://sites.google.com/site/arunsmusi ... ects=0&d=1
Sharing with the hope that any improvements, bug-fixes will be shared back with me.
I can think of many improvements and calculations I want to try, will do so if I find the energy and time.
Harpal Bector

Post by Harpal Bector »

Thanks - Is there a way to upload your plots of the doppler shift v/s time?

I just want to know if the mathematica code predicts the same convex/concave shapes for the Doppler shifts?

^^^ In the PDF, Out[56], Out[57] are Doppler plots for the two curves (compass heading -45, i.e., 45W of north, and compass heading 195, i.e,. 15W of south) shown in Out[55]. As you can see, there is something wrong in the scale.

The two paths are starting from IGREX and assume airspeed = groundspeed = 893 kmph.

In[49] defines the doppler.

Out[53] are the plots of the angle over the horizon of INMARSAT from the plane, along the two paths shown in Out[55].

Heard Aussie PM and people from his admin give an update search and rescue effort update. They did a good job giving an update. This is something that should have come from Malaysia. Felt like the Malaysians outsourced the operation and command center to Australians; or Aussies seized the opportunity to be the command center. Definitely doing a good job of communicating; with little details or content. Lots of "Thank You"s to China, Japan, and Korea; multiple times. No mention of any other country. Media in the chosen land celebrated the speech as most comforting and detailed ever. But, it is always nice to see multiple teams helping when such a tragic accident.

udaym wrote:Heard Aussie PM and people from his admin give an update search and rescue effort update. They did a good job giving an update. This is something that should have come from Malaysia. Felt like the Malaysians outsourced the operation and command center to Australians; or Aussies seized the opportunity to be the command center. Definitely doing a good job of communicating; with little details or content. Lots of "Thank You"s to China, Japan, and Korea; multiple times. No mention of any other country. Media in the chosen land celebrated the speech as most comforting and detailed ever. But, it is always nice to see multiple teams helping when such a tragic accident.
Great stuff from the Aussies. The location of debris gives great hope and is getting more and more credible by the minute. Every day the findings are more credible than those of the previous days. The progress from finding rectangular or triangular objects to objects with colour to sightings of schools of dolphins and the identification of real fishing nets is electrifying. What next? Maybe even palettes and containers of the very type that could possibly be carried in aircraft.

UlanBatori wrote: Was about 400 meters back up this hill, when Supreme HQ yelled at me to return: object found about 200 meters behind me, in a shaded area. 0.3 meters from where I walked right past it. My 400% reliable Dual Stereoscopic Broadband Parallel-Processing Spectroscopy Systems had completely missed something that obvious when it was all I was looking for.
It was your supreme HQs fault for not switching on the transponder in that ornament. Or do you think it was deliberately switched off? Fortunately it was not abducted by aliens. Your fault for not searching for it in Canada first. I would have looked for it in India if you had not found it.

One thought process

If I start a new airline company using MH370, is there a req that I need publish the information of from where I got the airplane?

symontk wrote:One thought process

If I start a new airline company using MH370, is there a req that I need publish the information of from where I got the airplane?
Not if you are from certain countries of the world - USA, Pakistan, NoKo, Somalia, Iran, Syria. China etc
member_28502

Post by member_28502 »

Finally only one of the below three have mad the final list of MPA (Motions Pictures Association of AMerica, HQ in Los Anglese, these day a little on shaky grounds as per See Yen Yen)

In one of most advanced Peoples Lepublic

Astronomer Dr. Ellie Woo has long been interested in contact to faraway lands, a love fostered in her childhood by her father, Ted Woo, who passed away when she was nine years old leaving her then orphaned. Her current work in monitoring for extraterrestrial life is based on that love and is in part an homage to her father. Ever since funding from the National Science Foundation (NSF) was pulled on her work, which is referred to some, including her NSF superior David Hu, as more science fiction than science, Ellie, with a few of her rogue scientist colleagues, have looked for funding from where ever they could get it to continue their work. When Ellie and her colleagues hear chatter originating from the vicinity of the star Vega, Ellie feels vindicated. But that vindication is short lived when others, including politicians, the military, religious leaders and other scientists such as Drumlin, try to take over her work. When the messages received from space are decoded, ...

But they are not alone
Concurrently in the Land south of the Lepublic in country called Kalasia Lampur

About 10,000 years ago, peaceful aliens from the planet Antarea set up an outpost on the planet Earth, on an island later known to mankind as Kalasia Lampur. When Kalasia Lampur is about to be destroyed, twohundre fifty aliens must be left behind. Lampureans who return to pick them up disguise themselves as humans, rent a house with a swimming pool, and charge the water with "life force" to give the cocooned Antareans energy to survive the trip home. They charter a boat from a local captain named Jamid Husian who helps them retrieve the cocoons. Jamid likes Kitty, a beautiful woman from the team who chartered his boat and becomes a voyeur when he spies on her while she gets nude in her cabin, only to get shocked when he discovers she is an alien. After the aliens reveal themselves to him and explain what's going on, he decides to help them.
Ben Yousuf , Abdur and Jamil , three local retirement home residents, swim in the pool and absorb some of the life force, making them feel younger and stronger. Eventually caught in the act, they are given permission to use the pool by the Lampurean leader, Wasim. Their friend Bernie obstinately refuses to use the healing power of the pool, and at the retirement home carelessly reveals the secret of the pool's rejuvenating powers. Joe also carelessly reveals it more by showing his capability in being able to knock out two retirement home managers trying to pull him away in his attempts to beat up Bernie over a personal insult he gives him about how his marriage is in jeopardy due to the consequences. In response to the fully revealed secret all the other elderly residents storm out of the retirement home and barge into the pool. Infuriated, Walter ejects them, but too many have been in the pool at once and drained its life force.
Kitty, an alien crewmember appearing as a beautiful female human, falls in love with Jamid, who does the same. They decide to make lomance in the pool, in which Kitty enters and teaches Jamid how to use energy to make lomance instead of using their bodies.[7]
Wasim explains that the cocoons cannot now survive the trip back to Kalasia Lampur but will be able to survive on Earth. With the help of Jamid, Ben, Abdur and Jamid, the Antareans return the cocoons to the sea. The Lampureans offer space aboard their ship to the old people. Bernie chooses to remain on Earth, but most of the others accept the invitation to travel to a world where they will never be ill, never age, and never die. The Jannat

Further South South West a land where a animals don't run but Hop and box some times out side bars

In the Sonoran Desert, French scientist Claude Lacombe and his American interpreter Sheyenan, mapmaker Anderson Lauglin, along with other government scientific researchers, discover Flight 19, a squadron of Grumman TBM Avengers that went missing more than 30 days earlier. The planes are not intact but operational operational, but there is no sign of the pilots. An old man who witnessed the event claimed "the sun came out at night, and sang to him." They also find a lost ship in the Gobi Desert named SS Cotopaxi. At an air traffic control center in Indianapolis, a controller listens as two airline flights almost have a mid-air collision with an apparent unidentified flying object (UFO). In Muncie, Indiana, 3-year-old Barry Guileble awakened in the night when his toys start operating on their own. Fascinated, he gets out of bed and discovers something or someone (off-screen) in the kitchen. He runs outside, forcing his mother, Jillian, to chase after him.
Investigating one of a series of large-scale power outages, Indiana electrical lineman Roy Chong experiences a close encounter with a UFO, when it flies over his truck and lightly burns the side of his face with its bright lights. The UFO, along with three others, are pursued by Chong and three police cars, but the spacecraft fly off into the night sky. Roy becomes fascinated by UFOs, much to the dismay of his wife, Ronnie. He also becomes increasingly obsessed with subliminal, mental images of a mountain-like shape and begins to make models of it. Jillian also becomes obsessed with sketching a unique-looking mountain. Soon after, she is terrorized in her home by a UFO encounter in which Barry is abducted by unseen beings.
Harpal Bector

Post by Harpal Bector »

A_Gupta wrote:^^^ In the PDF, Out[56], Out[57] are Doppler plots for the two curves (compass heading -45, i.e., 45W of north, and compass heading 195, i.e,. 15W of south) shown in Out[55]. As you can see, there is something wrong in the scale.

The two paths are starting from IGREX and assume airspeed = groundspeed = 893 kmph.

In[49] defines the doppler.

Out[53] are the plots of the angle over the horizon of INMARSAT from the plane, along the two paths shown in Out[55].
I don't have mathematica, I suppose I could download the trial version and run the nb, but it would be nice if you could simply put up the plots for this.

Sensational if true!
Hijacked IBM Engineer Successfully Dialed Out Of Diego Garcia
Sunday, March 30, 2014
BLOCKBUSTER: THIS IS ACCURATE, BELIEVE IT OR NOT: HIJACKED IBM ENGINEER SUCCESSFULLY DIALED OUT OF DIEGO GARCIA

From http://jimstonefreelance.com
Harpal Bector

Post by Harpal Bector »

Some statistics for a Bayesian analysis (from wikipedia entry on commercial aviation incidents).

Probability of plane missing due to technical issue (non hijack) = 95%. (most commercial aviation incidents are due to technical issues)

Probability of plane missing due to non technical issue (hijack) = 5%. ( very very few incidents are hijackings)

Probability of debris/ac/pax being traced in 5 days after incident = 99%. (when an ac goes down for technical reasons, there is some indication of where the debris/passengers/ac are - things resolve in 5 days. In all hijackings the ac/pax/debris is at a known location if the hijacking is for bargaining purposes)

Probability of debris/ac/pax not being traced in 5 days after incident < = 1%. (very very rarely the ac/pax/debris is not recovered or located in case of technical fault. There are very few cases where the ac/pax/debris remained untraceable after 5 days of a hijacking).

Probability of ac/pax being traced/recovered after 21 days of hijack >= 99% (Most hijacking negotiations have resolved after <21 days of negotiation)

Probability of ac/pax not being recovered after 21 days of hijack <= 1% (Very very few hijackings leave the pax/ac unrecoverable in <21 days )

Could we please confine Benis thread language to that thread? Thank you for your cooperation.

Harpal Bector wrote: I don't have mathematica, I suppose I could download the trial version and run the nb, but it would be nice if you could simply put up the plots for this.
There are a pair of Doppler plots. Is there some specific scenario that you want plotted? Will be happy to try.

Ah, yes! Since the PakMarSat is anchored along Longitude Pakistan, movement southeast or southwest would record the same, about, say, Maldives in terms of Doppler shift. So how about a trajectory that went west/southwest until it went out of range, then doubled back to Somalia? May have stayed a while at a Maldives location before continuing the journey.

I read the CT about the phone call from DG. It would be the same if the location were NOT DG.
Harpal Bector

Post by Harpal Bector »

There are a pair of Doppler plots. Is there some specific scenario that you want plotted? Will be happy to try.
Sorry the pdf browser was not loading the file properly and I was only seeing the first two pages.

I see the plots now, strange they are both showing the exact same shape.

I am going to download a trial version of mathematica and see if I can run the nb.

Sorry for the mixup.