Page 8 of 95
Re: Indian Autos Thread
Posted: 05 Sep 2008 11:16
by Avinash R
Mercedes-Benz to sell 3,000 units by year-end
New Delhi, Sep 4 (UNI) Mercedes-Benz India today said it plans to sell 3,000 units by the year-end.
The company has already sold 2,487 units by August-end, this year.
''We plan to sell 3,000 units in 2008, of which we have already sold 2,487 units by the last month,'' company Managing Director and CEO Wilfried Aulbur told reoperters here.
The company assemble chassis for Mercedes C, E and S classses and for buses in the Pune plant.
The company plans to enter the market of light and medium trucks through its Chennai joint venture.
Posted: 05 Sep 2008 13:58
by Himanshu
Posted: 06 Sep 2008 01:12
by John Snow
I sent a email to Tata Nano team ( from web site) asking for how to book a nano. I got a very impersonal reply dear sir madam at this time we have not started booking will get in touch with you.
The email did not even parse the name to the reply!
Here it is
Dear Sir/Madam,
We thank you for the interest shown in our product. We have not yet started the process of accepting bookings, though we have stored your contact details in our database and will surely get in touch with you as we reach close to the launch date and begin accepting bookings.
Now we have another way of keeping in touch with the nano. We are there on facebook. Click on the following link to view our page.
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Tata-Nano/16336837009
Once again, thanking you for the interest shown in our product.
Yours Sincerely,
Tata nano Team

Posted: 06 Sep 2008 03:53
by bart
John Snow wrote:I sent a email to Tata Nano team ( from web site) asking for how to book a nano. I got a very impersonal reply dear sir madam at this time we have not started booking will get in touch with you.
The email did not even parse the name to the reply!
Here it is

The car has not been launched, its at least several months away from even the most optimistic of launch dates, the factory where it is supposed to be built has been shut down, and its a frigging one-lakh rupee car, not a Rolls Royce for liveried attendants to wait on you hand and foot.
What did you expect? A personal call from Ratan Tata or Ravi Kant?
Posted: 06 Sep 2008 07:08
by John Snow
thanks bart, for diminshing my stature and knocking some reality
All I was saying is that if TCS is doing some data base work storing information, they could have easily parsed my
yours sincerly
John Snow part and addressed me as such.
Well if a smart BRFite like you could not parse my agony what chance does Tata have? any way bye bye on this aspect of discussion.
Thanking you once again bart ji
Very respectfooly

Posted: 06 Sep 2008 07:22
by John Snow
bart ji on a second thought you bring some valid points which shows your understanding.
a) Suppose the car ie Tata nano is away by few months, tata can start collecting nominal deposit of 50,000 rs as part of booking and raise some capital no? Yes a nominal interest rate could be paid on those amounts till the car is delivered. I am sure the cost of capital this way is going to be less than market on going rates of tatas.
This was infact done by two wheelers and maruti also if my memory serves me right.
b) you say this is frigging 1.25 laks car not a rolls royce, my dear fellow cars are no longer the luxary component the gas is.
c) If 1.25 lakh car does not deserve a reply for its may increase the cost of marketing then they should not even create a data base for prospective buyer.
d) How did you assume I was buying only one car? If I had booked 25 cars in whole sale purchase would it not be considerable amount ( its different for you , aah it might be small change for you), but you volume is the name of the game.
If tata were not to consider at least capital cost+ Beta+ margin then you should advice them. Its not the price its the service that is going to sell after a point (atleast)
Any sorry to bother your superior intellect with these mundane points.
will consult you in future before I attempt contacting tata.

Posted: 06 Sep 2008 10:45
by Rahul M
just back from a trip which had me travel over singur project area twice in two days.
some observations:
a) the place is deserted, at least at the time I was traveling (around 9 am and 8:30 on the 5th and 6th respectively). it looks like a typical Indian mela ground the day after the festivities end. only the TMC pavilion had some half a dozen guys sitting on the stage scratching their ar**. (only around 2-3 people in the audience)
b) lot's of pavilions from a myriad of parties/social orgs. those that I remember:
TMC,CPI(M),CPI(ML),JD(S), Samata Party,Samajwadi Party, Samajwadi Chhatra Parishad,Forward Bloc, Paschim Banga Khet Majur Samiti,SUCI,Singur Krishi-Jami Raksha Commitee and Namaj Ghar (!)
All mostly empty.
c) The NH in front of the project area has one lane blocked by cars/vans of these people and the media. Traffic is running smoothly thru' the other lane for the km long stretch. There is considerable police presence and fortunately they seem to be working well.
d) No work going on in the project area.
My take of the situation is the TMC has realized that the tide has turned against them and are now looking for a H&D saving formula to back-off. I predict that nano will roll out from singur within this year, even if it starts elsewhere.
OT:Incidentally, our driver, who is a devout muslim (keeping roza in this heat) supports bjp because of their development performance ! he is against all the current bengal parties and is fed up with mamata because she left the NDA alliance !
Posted: 06 Sep 2008 10:57
by Singha
Snow, high rolling fleet car buyers are based in India (taxi operators) and can send a couple
of people to the nearest dealership. It will be another generation before the big shots here
are email literate and iphone enabled. except Govt agencies I dont think there would be
Tata-to-customer direct sales. the dealers will always get some margin.
Posted: 06 Sep 2008 13:13
by bart
John Snow saab,
No offense intended to you personally.
This is an un-launched product, and no big company in India would reply personally to such mails, not even an American or European co. I think the fact that you got a response itself is quite good, most companies will not even give you that.
This is an ultra-low cost project and they perhaps cant employ people just to reply to people personally stating the obvious fact that the Nano has not been launched.
Even a company like Apple (for the iPhone launch) gave a similar 'impersonal' auto-reply to me.
Also, a 50,000 Rs booking amount is completely out of the range of the target market. Sure its possible for NRIs and well heeled fork to shell out the full cost of the Nano or buy them as diwali gifts but for the lower middle-class segment, if they had 50,000 Rs of cash lying around it would buy them a Maruti Alto.
And again, why single out Tata? Nobody will give you a personalized response for an un-launched car, not even Toyota or Honda. Last week a Honda dealership flatly denied to my colleague that a new Honda City model is around the corner, presumably so he would not delay his buying decision till the new model arrives.
Anyways, that was not intended to offend you so I am sorry if I did.
Posted: 06 Sep 2008 13:30
by sampat
John Snow wrote:thanks bart, for diminshing my stature and knocking some reality
All I was saying is that if TCS is doing some data base work storing information, they could have easily parsed my
yours sincerly
John Snow part and addressed me as such.
Well if a smart BRFite like you could not parse my agony what chance does Tata have? any way bye bye on this aspect of discussion.
Thanking you once again bart ji
Very respectfooly

As per my Knowledge, Tata Motors uses SAP CRM. This is very basic functioanlity in email campaigns. Looks like the work of some untrained or hurried consultant who forgot to insert 2 fields.
Posted: 06 Sep 2008 13:32
by Abhijeet
Is ABS useful in Indian conditions?
Posted: 06 Sep 2008 14:13
by vina
Abhijeet wrote:Is ABS useful in Indian conditions?
Very much so. Esp on anything over 40 kmph.. With cows, carts, cretins wandering about the roads and none of the roads being protected axis, you will never know when you will have to slam the brakes. Indian roads are a nightmare.. In addition to randomly parked vehicles, vehicles driving on the wrong side, absolute maniacs who should never get behind the wheels in any society, civilized or otherwise, but seem to imagine that they are Micheal Schumachers and folks who simply dont know the basics of driving.. (oh.. the white line is not the lane divider, but a guide for you to center on, with a wheel on each side of the laner marker.. 3 lanes, 4 vehicles (cars, buses etc) . but six autos in same 3 lanes..

can only happen in India kind of thing).
Point is , you need all the safety you can get. ABS is a must in my book.
Posted: 06 Sep 2008 15:27
by Dileep
In the past 1+ years, a highly defensive scaredy cat driver moi was saved (from dents) a few times by the ABS on the Fiesta.
Posted: 06 Sep 2008 15:46
by Abhijeet
Thanks for the info - something to look out for.
Posted: 06 Sep 2008 20:22
by Avinash R
Discussion on; Hopes for solution to Nano row in sight
Kolkata, Sep 6 (UNI) Keeping hopes alive for a long-desired solution to the ongoing row over the Tata Motors' Nano project at Singur, the second round of discussion continued today between the West Bengal Government and the Opposition at Raj Bhawan.
Representatives of both sides had a prolonged discussion this morning to break the stalemate.
The first phase of the second round talks, which started at 1100 hrs, continued till 1400 hrs. Talks will restart at 1600 hours this afternoon after lunch break.
Yesterday the meeting lasted for three hours.
State Industry Minister Nirupam Sen was heading a seven-member government team, including Panchayat Minister Surjyakanta Mishra and Chief Secretary Amit Kiran Deb.
The Opposition side is headed by Leader of Opposition Partha Chatterjee, a close aide of Trinamool Congress supremo Mamata Banerjee and six other representatives of the Krishi Jami Raksha Committee (KJRC), a platform of 22 outfits.
With Governor Gopalkrishna Gandhi playing a key role to get both sides reconciled and come to a compromise, yesterday's meeting ended on a high note with ample hints of a climbdown by both sides from their respective stands.
Posted: 07 Sep 2008 05:46
by Dileep
To add on ABS:
I never had the opportunity to trigger the ABS while in massa. I knew how it worked, but had no clue how it really felt. The Fiesta is the first ever ABS car I drove here in desh.
One day, while trying to PARK, the front wheels got into a mud slime patch. Since the wheels did slip, the ABS triggered. It felt like running over a rumble strip. Being unexpected and unexperienced, I thought I hit something. Checking didn't show anything unusual. It took a few minutes to realize what happened.
Once you get used to it, it is very reassuring psychologically.
Posted: 07 Sep 2008 10:12
by John Snow
First time I was driving (in 1998) my Jimmy (then new) through a patch of water in fall rain puddle, my reflex action of moving from gas peddle to the brake peddle activated the ABS system, I felt the brake peddle kind of pushing against my foot and as you dileep described it sounded like I was on shoulder with rumble pad.
You never pump a ABS break system like conventional brakes (which is in fact manual ABS system nearly, to prevent locking and uneven braking force)
Posted: 07 Sep 2008 19:59
by Rahul M
TV channels reporting that mamata withdraws agitation at singur.
govt okays some land but it is not clear how much of that is to come from tata area.
project to go on.
So, I was right that TMC was looking for a face saving formula.
Posted: 07 Sep 2008 21:08
by Avinash R
Rahul M wrote:TV channels reporting that mamata withdraws agitation at singur.
govt okays some land but it is not clear how much of that is to come from tata area.
project to go on.
So, I was right that TMC was looking for a face saving formula.
rahul cant believe mamata. she will find a new reason to start her agitation.
Posted: 07 Sep 2008 21:33
by Rahul M
she has !!
just in ! mamata makes fresh demands, discussions between the CM and MB are expected to continue well into the night.
Posted: 07 Sep 2008 21:43
by Avinash R
^mamata doesn't care what happens to singur farmers. all she wants is free publicity to keep herself in the limelight.
Call up local channels and request them to stop broadcasting her images and soon she will stop this never ending saas-bahu type agitation.
Posted: 07 Sep 2008 21:46
by Bade
Mamata is the worst kind of newer leaders emerging everywhere in India. Very personal and very vindictive breed.

Posted: 07 Sep 2008 21:51
by Avinash R
bade, mamata is over 50 years old. she is not a 'new' leader.
Posted: 07 Sep 2008 21:59
by Rahul M
avinash, tho' mamata is certainly not new to politics, at 50 she is young at least !
Posted: 07 Sep 2008 22:01
by Bade
I know but in a country where leaders are 70+ and hitting 80's , being fifty is very young indeed. I have seen her low level supporters from some 20+ years ago when she was in her 30's. So she is fossilized as a 'new' leader in my mind. Both WB and Kerala have too many very old leaders.
Posted: 08 Sep 2008 17:18
by Avinash R
Mamata to inx network wrote:
I love industry.
I can make a jano car.
If everything is free i can make a car in 5000Rs.
there maybe a repeat telecast on inx news. watch it.
Posted: 08 Sep 2008 17:23
by Rahul M

post it in nukkad avinash! I doubt we will ever review the 'jano car' in this thread.
Posted: 08 Sep 2008 17:51
by Avinash R
post it in nukkad avinash! I doubt we will ever review the 'jano car' in this thread.

rahul the singur saga is not yet over. Tata's are reportedly unhappy with the unilateral decisions being taken and in other serious revolutionary news mamata has already designed and manufactured the jano car which resembles a hand drawn cart and costs less than the nano. this cart has revolutionary potential as it stops the corporate industry from oppressing the common people and is non-polluting so that pachuri of the no-bell prize fame can have a sound sleep at night.
Posted: 08 Sep 2008 17:52
by bart
Even if Mamta backs down, I don't think the Tatas will continue with the same business plan. At least Singur will not be their primary Nano plant.
Business confidence and good investor environment takes decades to build up and can be destroyed in no time at all. In this case Humpty Dumpty has already fallen and broken into a million pieces.
Posted: 08 Sep 2008 18:13
by Avinash R
Tatas shocked by Govt, TMC deal; it makes project unviable
Kolkata, Sep 8 (PTI) Miffed at not being consulted before West Bengal government reached a settlement with TMC's Mamata Banerjee, Tatas could pull out from Singur as they feel that return of any portion of land would make the project to manufacture the world's cheapest car unviable.
Groping in the dark about details of the settlement, which the state government had not communicated to them till late afternoon, the corporate house said: "Tata Motors is distressed at the limited clarity on the outcome." They also announced that they would continue the suspension of work on the controversial project, which was under siege from TMC protesters demanding return of 400 acres of land to farmers. After the settlement yesterday, TMC announced it would end its dharna against the project.
Sources in the know said that Tatas had already returned 40 of the 997 acres of the land leased to them before starting the project and had made it clear that any further withdrawal of the land would make the project "unviable".
"We will review our stated position only if we are satisfied that the viability of the project is not being impinged, the integral nature of the mother plant and our ancillary units are being maintained, and all stakeholders are committed to develop a long term congenial environment for smooth operations of the plant in Singur," Tata Motors said in the statement.
Suspending the work last week, Tata Motors had said in a statement that ancillaries were an integral part of the project and its viability, thus making it clear that they were not willing to accept any change in the project plan wherein vendors would be relocated to an alternate site.
Posted: 08 Sep 2008 19:46
by John Snow
Amazing Only in India!
Auto threas has to go into politrics also. Indians like this onleee

Posted: 08 Sep 2008 22:09
by Rahul M
nirupam sen says TMC misunderstood and has clarified that no land from tata project area is to be given back.
Posted: 09 Sep 2008 20:10
by Avinash R
Tata Motors cautions WB govt
Kolkata, Sept 9 (PTI) Cautioning the West Bengal government, Tata Motors today said it should not take any step which might disturb the integrated auto cluster in Singur comprising the main plant of Nano and the vendor park.
Tata Motors M D Ravi Kant in a letter to the state government said they have noted the clarification that it will maintain the integrated nature of the auto cluster.
"Therefore, the government should not take any step in future which may disturb this arrangement and understanding agreed upon earlier," Industry Minister Nirupam Sen told reporters at the secretariat quoting Ravi Kant's letter.
Tata Motors had yesterday sought a clarification from the state government on the actual position on the return of land after the understanding between Chief Minister Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee and Trinamool Congress chief Mamata Banerjee on Sunday.
The Tata Motors MD in his letter also said, "we will like to be clearly told about those future arrangements, understanding or commitment which will go contrary to the arrangement and which may result in not honouring that commitment." Sen said that the four-member committee, formed to look into the possibility of identifying and returning land keeping the Tata project intact, met for the first time during the day and will inspect the project site tomorrow.
After the meeting of the committee Trinamool Congress, MLA Rabindranath Bhattacharya told reporters here "we have sought 300 acres of land from within the project area".
Posted: 09 Sep 2008 22:28
by Avinash R
Posted: 12 Sep 2008 10:34
by Nayak
Managed time to jazz moi car. Got the following things done -
a] Seat covers - Art Leather / dual tone - 4,800
b] Steering wheel cover - 400
c] fibre glass wing on the rear - 2600
d] Snazzy Exhaust Pipe - 400
e] Power windows - 12,500
f] Brighter interior LED lights - 200
g] Ambipur - complimentary
Need to do next time I am back -
Alloy rims
Graphics
DVD player and a Screen combo
Snazzier speakers.
Posted: 12 Sep 2008 12:03
by Nayak
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/Tata ... 474340.cms
Tatas to roll out 1,000 Nanos from Pune plant
12 Sep 2008, 1020 hrs IST, Sutanuka Ghosal,ET Bureau
KOLKATA: Tata Motors is all set to manufacture 1,000 Nanos at its Pune plant. The vendors have released their last lot of components for Nano on Thursday, which will be delivered to Pune within a day or two.
“Tata Motors, which is keenly watching the developments at Singur, is getting itself ready to rollout Nano in October. If the Singur logjam is not resolved within a fortnight, then they have to make some arrangements to roll out Nano from any of its plants. As of now, this does not look to be a part of the much-speculated Plan B,” Tata circles indicated.
Incidentally, Tata Motors had informed its 55-odd vendors of Nano to supply components for 1,000 Nanos by September 8 to the Pune factory. This was also confirmed by a leading vendor, who had invested in the Singur vendor park, and will be supplying sheet metal for Nano chassis.
Incidentally, nearly 3,000 components are required to manufacture a Nano. However, the vendors also feel that the Pune plant will not be able to meet the volumes that Tatas are looking at for Nano in the next two to three years time.
The official Tata Motors spokesperson told: “Tata Motors wishes to dissociate itself from any speculation regarding Nano.”
Interestingly, after tension escalated at Singur, Tata Motors had issued technical approvals to vendors which will enable them to supply components for Nano, if the car is produced at the company’s Pantnagar, Pune and Lucknow plants.
Work at the vendor park in Singur has come to a standstill after the decision on Sunday to stop work there till the joint committee zeros in on land that can be doled out to the landlosers.
A senior official of Rucha Engineering said: “We can only start work at the site if Tata Motors gives us the green signal and if the environment becomes conducive at Singur. Tata Motors has given us a October 1 deadline to be ready with our plant. As of now, we have not got any other communication from Tata Motors. We are hopeful that Singur issue will be resolved at the earliest.”
www.economictimes.indiatimes.com
Posted: 12 Sep 2008 12:49
by Avinash R
20% biofuel blending in auto fuel by 2017
Friday, September 12, 2008 10:58 [IST]
NEW DELHI/ MUMBAI: The Union Cabinet has approved a policy that aims to achieve 20% biofuel blending in all the auto fuel used in the country by 2017. It also plans to make 10% ethanol doping in petrol mandatory from October 1.
The national policy on biofuels seeks to ban import of certain biofuels, proposes no taxes and duties on bio-diesel, encourages free movement of biofuels within states, and ensures a minimum price for biofuel producers.
The minimum purchase price for bio-diesel would be linked to the prevailing subsidised diesel price.
"In the event of diesel price falling below the minimum purchase price, oil marketing companies may be compensated by the government," an official statement said.
"Statutory minimum price mechanism for sugarcane could also be examined for extending such a mechanism for oilseeds to be utilised for production of bio-diesel by the processing industry," the statement said.
Biofuel makers welcomed the clarity. Pramod Chaudhari, chairman of the CII National Biofuel Committee and also of Praj Industries, the Pune-based biofuel equipment maker, said the policy is the need of the hour.
"Many countries have gone ahead with their plans for alternate energy and it is high time we did it too. The policy is good for the industry."
Vishal Rawat, president of the bio-diesel making unit of IKF Technologies, said, "The policy will help ease pressure on the economy by reducing dependence on imports of mineral oil."
India currently imports 70% of its oil requirement. Amol Tilak, analyst with Kotak Commodities Services Ltd, said the policy will be beneficial to farmers and sugar mills in the long run.
"We have still another 8 years to go to for the 20% blending to kick in. So we could see a situation where demand for ethanol would be on the higher side," he said.
Rajiv Kumar, director, Icrier, said the provision for bringing biofuels under the ambit of declared goods will integrate the domestic markets.
"The liberalisation of movement in agro products is a good start. With this, prices tend to equalise and also get lower with the growing economies of scale," he said.
Kumar, however, pointed out that the policy lacks clarity on what specific incentives will be provided to encourage oilseeds plantation on wasteland. "I hope the policy has adjudged the real trade-off between bio-fuels and food supply, which has become a real issue across the world," he said.
The ministry of panchayati raj is also working with a couple of state governments, wherein community-owned wastelands are given to farmers to grow bio-fuel crops, Rawat said.
Rawat hoped that in case the price of diesel falls below that of bio-diesel, the government provides subsidies to bio-fuel producers.
Rajiv Kumar, however, feels the policy is incomplete without removing subsidies on hydrocarbons.
"A realistic policy doesnt work without the right market price for fossil fuels," he said.
In October 2007,the government made it optional for oil marketers to blend 5% ethanol.
But oil companies couldnt reach the target, aggregating around 3% blending levels.
The Centre now plants to double the current blending target to 10% from October, which is the start of the new crushing season for sugar.
But implementation is stuck over the floor price for ethanol -- oil marketing companies are unwilling to pay Rs 21.50 a litre demanded by producers.
Posted: 12 Sep 2008 13:59
by Tanaji
Mullah Nayak uddin
c] fibre glass wing on the rear - 2600
d] Snazzy Exhaust Pipe - 400
e] Power windows - 12,500
f] Brighter interior LED lights - 200
One word: Rice!
/Ducks and Runs for cover..
Posted: 12 Sep 2008 14:03
by Rahul M
20% biofuel blending in auto fuel by 2017
it would be an incredibly stupid decision to divert Indian agricultural land from food production to this. moving towards fuel cells/battery cars would have been better.
Posted: 12 Sep 2008 14:26
by vina
I have given up expecting any rationality and intelligence from Indian babus.. This bio fuel thing is right up the alley, along with brain dead scheme for dual pricing of diesel which the babus are "examining" (I cant think of a bigger source of corruption).
Think of it.. Agriculture gets diesel at Rs 35 , while you will have to fill up for Rs 57 at a pump ?. Why every friggin tractor in this country will become a mobile fuel pump!

.. The farmers will have a far more profitable stream of income than farming! He will make Rs 12 a liter by doing nothing.. Sell 10,000 liters that way and you become an instant lakhpati!.

Like one of my colleagues was telling me about the time when Haryana introduced prohibition.He was sitting in a bus next to a Haryanvi and was speaking to him and asked him.. Tauji.. It must be difficult for you these days, with prohibition.. The reply.. On no sir..On the contrary , it is much easier. No need to go the the shop to get it. It gets delivered at home!!