Page 8 of 100
Re: How we treat our teachers
Posted: 07 Nov 2008 15:46
by Rahul M
true.
however this reminds me of a sick joke in which a riswat lenewala says to a reluctant riswat denewala that 'extracting money from people like you is a hard job, tougher than my office assignments !'
Re: A Project Solution to India's No.1 National Security Threat
Posted: 07 Nov 2008 23:24
by SRoy
Katare wrote:Rahul M wrote:

pvt tuition !
primary teachers at the lower end of the scale can gather anything between Rs 1-2k pm.
secondary and higher secondary can easily go up to 10-15 k pm. in cities that amount can touch 50k easily.
Rahul,
That is extra money but they still have to work for it.
It's not bribe aka free money.
It is.
The open threat to the students (science subjects) that if they don't take tuitions then they'll be unfairly dealt with in practicals is worse than bribery. It is downright extortion. That's my experience in KV's, rest of the state/central schools are worse.
No wonder the teaching community does not command the respect befitting the profession.
Re: A Project Solution to India's No.1 National Security Threat
Posted: 07 Nov 2008 23:49
by Rajesh_MR
The open threat to the students (science subjects) that if they don't take tuitions then they'll be unfairly dealt with in practicals is worse than bribery. It is downright extortion. That's my experience in KV's, rest of the state/central schools are worse.
I was in a private school(with public in its name) even there we had a teacher who would take his own private tuition in school premises and give unfair advantage to those attending his tuition by "leaking" question papers before exams. He was more of an exception than norm though.
Overall teachers get a raw deal in India. I don't think its just teachers, most of folks are not getting what they deserve because of socialistic approach we took since independence.
Posted: 08 Nov 2008 01:54
by SBajwa
I just want to remind everybody that in India Teachers are considered "Gurus"
Should we aspire to bring back at least this time tested institute?
1. A district level, state level and national level awards for Gurus(teachers). i.e. Best Math teacher.
2. New type of teachers who are specialized in "Communications", "creativity".
3. Certification tests for primary, middle and high school teachers (every n number of years).
Posted: 11 Nov 2008 00:28
by Katare
The original poster has fled the scene when confronted with the hard questions. Rahul you might consider deleting or merging this thread with education thread.
I too had a few teachers who would put pressure on their wards to take private tuition from them. I have also seen teachers who would take money to help student pass the non board exams. Most high school lecturers would take no more than two or three classes a day. They are required to come to school at 12:00PM and would leave by 4:00PM. It is prolly most aaram dayak work life in entire working world

. It is little tougher for primary school teachers....
Posted: 11 Nov 2008 01:05
by Rahul M
good point will do so.
Re: Indian Education System-2
Posted: 20 Dec 2008 20:01
by Vipul
20 new IITs,10 NITs,5 IIS, 7 IIMs, 30 Central varsities on cards.
The Prime Minister, Dr Manmohan Singh, today said that apart from the proposed eight new Indian Institutes of Technology, the Government proposed to set up another 20.
Furthermore, in the “second wave of institution building”, the Government would set up 30 new Central Universities, seven Indian Institutes of Management, five Indian Institutes of Science and 10 National Institutes of Technology.
Addressing ‘Pan IIT 2008’, a meeting of IIT alumni, over the video, Dr Singh said that also on the anvil were plans to set up 373 new colleges in districts with low enrolment in college education and a thousand new polytechnics. Dr Singh noted that for every student who got an opportunity to study in IITs, there are at least 3 to 4 who are as bright, but are denied the opportunity because of the intake capacity constraints.
“This is highly regrettable because it denies opportunity to thousands of deserving young men and women. If India is to become a global leader in science and technology as well as an economic super power, such talent must not go unutilised. Many more such institutes are needed,” he said.
While there is a need to build more institutions, “we need to keep in mind two other important factors.The first is the need to strengthen the faculty and research capabilities of the IITs,” he said.“We must ensure that the faculty is world class, especially as we expand, and that we see more productive research coming out of these institutions. If our standards are to be global, so should our reach. We should be open to the best from anywhere in the world,” he said.
In an ensuing panel discussion, the point about foreign institutions setting up shop in India came up. Prof. Sanjay G Dhande, Director, IIT, Kanpur said that IITs need not have anything to fear from competition. The IITs, he said, must come up with a game plan to be a significant member of global universities.
Prof. Dhande said that IITs should work towards credit transfers (across institutions), award of joint degrees and student exchanges.
On the question of the appropriateness of the Joint Entrance Examinations (JEE), which admit students into the IITs, it was accepted by many panelists that the JEE was a very tough examination.
Participating in a panel discussion, Prof M S Ananth, Director, IIT-Madras, said that he wanted the IITs to get into medical education. Even as of today, there are 20 doctors working as faculty in IIT-M. The institute is offering courses in areas such as clinical engineering and instrumentation.
Prof. Ananth said he wanted to expand the IITs course offering in medicine.He, however, stressed that he did not want the IITs to be “constrained” by the All India Council for Technical Education.
Posted: 22 Dec 2008 08:02
by negi
Ek ek se Ma@#$#%^& hain is desh mein.
Amartya Sen backs quota in IITs
Counselling critics of reservation in Indian institutions like the IITs to take a long-term view of the delicate social issue, Nobel
laureate Amartya Sen on Sunday said the justice component in quotas could not be wished away, as many sections of Indian society had been denied access to education for centuries.
Education, hah.. why is every wannabe reformist and jholawallah hell bent on fiddling with our premier institues ? Some one should tell these bunch of jokers that the down trodden and the actual have nots do not even have access to basic schooling , I asume the retard in question knows that for getting into an IIT one has to complete 12th Std.
Btw why does not wannabe reformist advocate quota for 'Blacks', 'Hispanics' and other 'ethnic communities' in the Ivy league ?
Posted: 27 Dec 2008 10:56
by putnanja
Arjun skirts IIT council on chiefs - Minister picks 4 directors on his own
Arjun skirts IIT council on chiefs
- Minister picks 4 directors on his own
CHARU SUDAN KASTURI
Arjun: Appointment trouble
New Delhi, Dec. 26: The human resource development ministry has chosen to ignore the IIT council — the highest decision making body of the IITs — in selecting institute directors, a job legally entrusted to the council.
Government documents accessed by The Telegraph show the HRD ministry had turned down proposals from its own officials to call meetings of the council on more than one occasion over the past two years.
Instead, as chairman of the IIT council, HRD minister Arjun Singh approved the appointments of at least four directors without involving other members, the documents suggest.
The IIT Act of 1961 specifies that the council is the body entrusted with appointing directors.
It does not mention any executive powers of the chairman of the council — specifically, it does not grant the chairman any power to take decisions on behalf of the council.
On Tuesday, Madras High Court had struck down the appointment of IIT Madras director M.S. Ananth. Citing the IIT Act, the judge set aside Ananth’s appointment as it was approved by the ministry and not by the IIT council.
Internal ministry documents, however, reveal that officials had proposed calling meetings of the council at least twice over the past two years.
The proposals cite the fact that the IIT council cannot be ignored under the IIT Act, and suggest writing to all council members to fix an appropriate date and time for a meeting.
The HRD ministry had turned down each proposal.
Instead, Arjun approved the appointments of at least four IIT directors — including Ananth’s reappointment in 2007 — without consulting any council member.
The council consists of the directors and chairmen of the board of governors of the IITs and the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, heads of scientific bodies and secretaries to ministries.
It also includes three members of Parliament, a representative of the Confederation of Indian Industry and the chairman of the All India Council for Technical Education.
Council members confirmed that they had been ignored by the HRD ministry, though some requested anonymity.
“Ignoring IIT council members in taking decisions pertaining to the institutes is akin to a public sector company working as a proprietary possession of an individual or a group of individuals,” said Baijayant ‘Jay’ Panda, Biju Janata Dal MP and member of the IIT Council.
The HRD ministry has not bothered to explain why it has not called meetings of the council, said Ananta Nayak, BJP member of Parliament and also a council member.
“There is certainly a hint of wrongdoing in the manner in which the IIT council is being completely ignored,” Nayak said. Milind Deora of the Congress is the third MP in the council.
The head of one of India’s top science research bodies said he felt “useless” being in the council.
“The truth is that the government has reduced the council to a state where it exists only on paper. Our job as the top decision-making body for the IITs has been robbed by the government,” the official said.
The chiefs of the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Chennai Mathematical Institute, Central Scientific Instrument Organisation and the Prime Minister’s chief scientific adviser, C.N.R. Rao, are among the members.
Based on Arjun’s approval, the HRD ministry had approached the office of the President for sanction to each of the appointments. The President, as visitor to the IITs, is the highest authority on the institutes.
Once the President’s approval was obtained — single-sentence communications merely stating that the visitor had approved the appointment — the ministry approached the chairman of the IIT board of governors.
In each case, the board chairman issued a formal invitation to the “appointed” person to take over as director.
Posted: 27 Dec 2008 17:25
by Stan_Savljevic
^^^^ This is the way IIT directors have been appointed from 1962 and up. While there is a constitutional need for the IIT council to meet and confirm, it has always been the case that the HRD ministry picks the next appointee. And so far there has not been anything positive or negative about either thing. The case filed in Madras high court is one where someone looked at the bye-law book, saw that the IIT council has not met in the last three years and went overboard and filed a case. In fact, the guy who filed the case is an alum of IITM. Well, at the end of the day, MS Ananth has done far better in terms of roping in the alum network to donate cash for alma mater than anyone before him did. Of course, he had the IT-vity revolution to bank on, but the case filed against him on this count is one of procedural count rather than endemic anything.
“There is certainly a hint of wrongdoing in the manner in which the IIT council is being completely ignored,” Nayak said. Milind Deora of the Congress is the third MP in the council.
This is politician speak. Did this guy whine similarly when the same procedures were adopted under MM Joshi?
The head of one of India’s top science research bodies said he felt “useless” being in the council. “The truth is that the government has reduced the council to a state where it exists only on paper. Our job as the top decision-making body for the IITs has been robbed by the government,” the official said.
This is called pissing in the wind in the name of anonymity. Why cant these nameless leviathans be honest and shoot in the open? What are they so afraid of? MS Ananth, or the fact that he is doing a honest job and so they cant whine openly against him, or that he is a friend of them, or is that an ego issue that they have been ignored?!
Posted: 27 Dec 2008 20:44
by SaiK
agree with you Stan, but the court is not wrong as well!

Posted: 27 Dec 2008 20:58
by Stan_Savljevic
SaiK wrote:agree with you Stan, but the court is not wrong as well!

The Hon'ble court is not wrong, the media is sensationalizing something that has been an issue ever since time immemorial, as if its a new issue. Why did the alum file the case just now? Why not when someone else took over as Dean? Why are the politicians whining now? Why are the other IIT council members whining just now? What were they doing all these years? Not one or two, but 47 years!! They have been sitting on their asses for 47 years and then whining! If its an internal matter, it should be resolved internally, not brought into the media limelight where tom dick and harry takes a one two sucker punch in the cloak of anonymity.
These are common-sensical questions any one from outside will ask and should ask. Unfortunately, the media either report what is fed to them from select quarters or are not doing their sifting and winnowing job with alacrity. Instead, they are passing the buck and sensationalizing trivial things time and time again. Why dont they ask Prof. Ananth for his opinion given that this item is no longer subjudice? Why is he being tarred for what is MHRD "protocol"? What is Shri Murli Manohar Joshi's stand on this matter? He is a former Minister of HRD, he should have some opinion no?! Why are anonymous beings, like bhoot, making their presence felt now? If they cant say what they have to say straight on the face, why are they hiding? They are not making anonymous statements on brf, they are tarring someone in the national media, someone who has done his job to his very best given all the constraints from all that I can say.
From all I can see, all those publicly whining are the BJP and NDA types. I would nt be surprised if the anonymous bhoot is a BJP follower too. Maybe not. But given the report, I cant say much else. So that means, surely Shri MM Joshi is a party to this. Let him come on the forefront and speak too. He was a MHRD.
Posted: 27 Dec 2008 21:08
by SaiK
may be the babooze don't want another channel of money making going the honest way into all maters.
Posted: 29 Dec 2008 10:31
by Keshav
On Narendra Modi's website, he has the following comments about exam stress and the future of schooling that he envisions for Gujarat. Questions were posed from people (mostly students) and he answers.
Q: You have initiated imparting education through computers.
Now when shall we able to go to school without the burden of books?
A:Vraj has asked a question that is relevant to all. All educationists are concerned about it, education without any stress or burden ‘Burden free Education.’ It’s true that technology is going to contribute in making education less burdensome, computers will make learning easier, but in order to make the overall education less burdensome, we shall have to change things from the grass root level. In today’s world of information explosion, information is the primary requirement. In fact the education should encourage a child to do experiment. Experts would certainly think in this direction. I will welcome any such experiment in this state.
Another issue is the examination; education has been linked with examinations. And as a result, parents are also keener on marks than on merits. Should we be thinking or merits or marks? In the process, the child is treated like a machine. The child is pushed into one end of the pipeline in the morning and he comes out of the other end of that pipeline at nine in the night. We need to change this situation. Marks will automatically follow merits. How do we focus merits? If we think of the merits, marks will automatically follow and shall get rid of the cut throat competition. We shall look into and these fundamental issues.
We may have to do a lot but it will make things easier, for instance if you want to draw something if you want to paint something you will not need to carry your coluor box. But all that will happen when all schools have computers and each child accesses computer. Today we may not have one computer per child, but we have decided to have at least 10 computers per school, so if there are 40 students in a class then they may work in groups of three and get used to with computers. I have given a call to people to donate computers and people have started donating also. But, as I said we all will have to change our mind set. It’s true that it has become a grave issue. The burden of education is weighing on students’ minds and need to come out of it. Vraj’s question expresses a painful scenario.
Q:What have you thought about removing examination fear from school children?
A: The spirit of competition - racing prevails in the environment. As a result the parents pressurize children to score high percentage. In some cases if the boy scores low marks, the parents don’t even move out of the house for long. And if some guest comes to their place and asks the boy his percentage, the parents would send the boy to fetch water and avoid telling the percentage.
We need to change this environment. All the experts need to come forward and find a way out. We all have studied and taken examination but it never used to be so stressful. I feel that the student should look at his achievements in other fields as well then he may not find getting less percentage so stressful. We may also relate these examinations with life situations.
For instance if the examiner had a fight at home he may fail you. We face this situation day in and day out. If the newspaper reporter didn’t have a good tea he would portray the whole Government worthless. In fact we are also trying our best to change this environment.
Last year we told a university to hold open book examination. Tell me one thing, if the student has not touched his book for the whole year, is he going to find his answer from the book in the exam hall? In that case what’s wrong in allowing students to carry books in the examination hall! Students, would you not like to take open book exams? These experts do not understand it..! If students are allowed to keep book with them in the examination hall the stress will reduce automatically. Are we testing memory or understanding? The students should be tested for understanding and not the memory. But we all are after memory. So, one who has mugged up things gets good marks and the one who has understood but could not memorize, gets less marks. I am a politician and not an educationist, so I can’t say a final thing. But I do feel that something should be done about this examination stress. I assure you that before 2010 some change will take place.
Q: I would like to know your plans for strengthening English of Gujarati medium students
A: All experts including sociologists and educationists all over the world accept that mother tongue is the best medium for imparting education. But child has tremendous capacity to learn languages. He can learn any language easily. Besides mother tongue, if he learns one more regional language such as Bengali, Telugu or Marathi and also one foreign language it would add to the human resource. But in order for a child to learn many languages we need to create that environment. There are highest numbers of Hindi - speaking people in India, as India is a country with the population of one hundred crore. But if we want to think in the Global perspective, we shall have to learn English well. But, we should neither be impressed with English nor should get depressed by English. We should learn English as any other language.
I would like to share one of my experiences with you. I began my life as an RSS worker. I used to go to dine with a Maharstrian family in the slums near Calico Mills, Ahmedabad. I used to live in Kankaria area and used to go to them every Friday. In their neighbourhood there lived a girl who could speak five languages fluently. I remember that girl even today. She spoke Marathi as her neighbours were Maharastrian, she spoke Bengali as her mother was a Bengali, she spoke Malayalam as her dad was from Kerala, she spoke Hindi as she was studying in a Hindi medium school and she spoke Gujarati as she used to play with the slum children around! This means that her language abilities were highly utilized.
We have initiated the SCOPE programme to sharpen English language skills among Gujarati learners. Besides, any school that desires to set up a language laboratory will get software support from the state Government. The software includes self learning programme for improving pronunciation, vocabulary and grammar. The students can improve upon these skills themselves. We have initiated this programme to compensate for the English language deficiency prevailing in Gujarat.
This century is going to be the century of the Asians. Along with Chinese and Japanese one of the Indian languages too will get prime importance. I would advise the students of Gujarat to learn those languages focusing future. I tell the entrepreneurs who come to Gujarat from China that they will have to teach Chinese to the Gujaratis who come to China for business. As it should not be the case that when they come to India for business we buy their goods and get cheated. We too are entrepreneurs!
Q:What do you think about setting up more colleges for Arts, Commerce and Science along with Medical and Engineering colleges?
A: In the coming era, the form of education will not remain the same. Now, along with the degree, skill is also emphasized. Gujarat Government has begun focusing on skill development through a project named Gujarat Knowledge Society (GKS). One can not think of life without arts. Any discipline is linked with human lives, tradition and history. In coming days, we shall have to inter relate and integrate them all. Skill development relates itself to arts, science and commerce along with the technology. We have to think of a new and a fresh model combining technology with arts and science. If we do so men will not become machines. Men will remain sensitive and active.
His response to the last quest seemed unsatisfactory since India urgently needs to promote Indian arts, poetry, music, architecture, and dance but considering the other answers, I'm willing to forgive on this point. His thinking is already unorthodox in comparison to other Indians. The fact that he even considered the arts is an important step forward.
Posted: 30 Dec 2008 02:35
by putnanja
Madrasa certificates will now be CBSE equivalent
Anubhuti Vishnoi
New Delhi: In a move that goes a long way in mainstreaming Madrasa students across the country and help clear their way to higher education, the Human Resource Development (HRD) Ministry is all set to grant madrasa certificates equivalence to the Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE).
A key recommendation of the Sachar committee — and also on the PM’s 15-point programme for minorities — a special panel set up by the Ministry recently recommended that in states where madrasa certificates are recognized as equivalent to secondary and senior secondary level, these should also be granted equivalence by the CBSE.
The notification is expected soon and will benefit some 7000 madrasas and 3.5 lakh students in seven states that have madrasa boards: Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Madhya Pradesh, Jharkhand, Orissa, Assam and West Bengal. This will also apply to madrasa certificated already issued.
In states without a madrasa board, the panel has recommended that students should have an option to approach a madrasa board in a neighbouring state to avail of the CBSE equivalence.
For enrolment of madrasa students in post-graduate courses, universities like Jamia Milia University, Jamia Hamdard and Aligarh Muslim University recognise graduation certificates from madrasas for select courses. The committee has recommended that this should be replicated across universities and for all courses. The University Grants Commission (UGC) has also constituted a committee to look into the issue.
Posted: 03 Jan 2009 16:24
by skher
X-posting quote from IA thread
somnath wrote:
Is it the most relevant system anymore? To address the "new India"? Isnt new India a more egaliatarian, meritocratic and materialistic? The India I grew up in is, and all the kids I see growing up now even more so. A "tribal", "clubby" setup may not be the best solution for the times.
Its a bit like the foreign banks of yore, or the "boxwallah" companies of Calcutta. Admission was nearly restricted to a certain "social" category, and business conducted was in the same lines. Club loyalities mattered more than educational, and dinner table manners were the most important part of the training! They have changed now (the banks have, the Calcuta companies didnt and went extinct!). The IA too has changed I am sure. But the question is, has it changed enough?
Saar,I take exception to this and have debated in support for this public school system(or the so-called 'tied-up tie system') these past six to nine years of my stay in Delhi - easily the most Californicated school city in India.
Although this debate was between you and RayC saab,I thought I'll share as my experience as I have had exactly six years public school junior ISCE board & six years of senior co-ed CBSE "international school" - when I first heard the phrase I thought they had branches elsewhere like my old public school had in France.
And without a doubt,the six years' of public school are far more wholesome and meaningful than the two semesters of overburdened,ill-equipped,overcharged and ill-disciplined "international school".
The best thing about the intl. school were more opportunities for exposure in 'extra-curricular activities' like work ex periods,quizzes,debates,plays etc.; and promotion of talent.
The worst thing was the atmosphere of needless stress ("I'll take you to consumer court if my ward doesn't score 87% in maths","Don't ask the teacher questions,okay?") and absence of a good,stable friend system,which in the least needed an acreful of real playground.
I remember me and my classmates sprouting naturally white hair(IG style) - struggling to smile during the 10th pre-boards and I became normal only after an old martinian reminded me that he was going to take his exams without being taught,having done worksheets etc. and thought of the boards as a birth certificate.He'd simply read the textbook chapters and write a story.
The snobbishness I'd observed appeared and disappeared with inter-house/inter-school competitions wherein practical jokes were played by members of both groups....I'm sure this must be the case at a junior level with regimental polo cup as well.
Here in the intl. system,longer lasting coterie style cliques dominated ["in crowd/out crowd"] where discrimination was based on multilateral grounds against: +2 bihari migrant toppers,foreign returns/foreigners(
they speak
funny english),outcasts-geeks,padhakus,fatsos,etc.
And yes,a few SUPW periods were socially productive not like "donate old books to poor" scam I witnessed in dilli most were sold for raddi and others burnt.
Intl.school selection procedures are very clubbish and profit oriented as highlighted by recent newsreports, unlike the trustees governed public schools where children are selected on ability to recite alphabet and after observing their behavior - many are selected on the basis of fulfilling a christian sense of duty-how badly the family needs the child admitted.
Posted: 03 Jan 2009 18:41
by Singha
afaik the entry criteria to get a profs job in IIT is atleast 3 papers in refereed journals, 5
papers in conferences, a Phd, a high academic track record. I heard there is considerable
interest from indians who did Phd abroad for these faculty jobs (scene may be different in
CS/EE where there is lot of jobs in corporate sector abroad). I was also told its tough to
find people matching these criteria locally. and that HoD/Deans had authorization to
create reqs if deserving candidates were found at anytime.
[a] is that true?
are there enough willing Phd+ returness to fill out this massive expansion of IIsc/iit
/Nit/IIM?
we lag behind in very critical sectors like biology, metallury, organic chemicals, engines, food technologies.....I am not too concerned about the two who always hog the limelight - cs and ee. even if we talk the oldest branch - civil engineering - look at any demanding
project in India like a 10km tunnel or a 75 storey building on soft earth and the builder
always runs off to some japanese/korean/swiss/austrian/US consultancy to get the design
done. we arent even in control of indigenously designing & building our infra yet.
Posted: 03 Jan 2009 23:49
by Stan_Savljevic
Singha wrote:afaik the entry criteria to get a profs job in IIT is atleast 3 papers in refereed journals, 5 papers in conferences, a Phd, a high academic track record. I heard there is considerable interest from indians who did Phd abroad for these faculty jobs (scene may be different in
CS/EE where there is lot of jobs in corporate sector abroad). I was also told its tough to find people matching these criteria locally. and that HoD/Deans had authorization to create reqs if deserving candidates were found at anytime.
[a] is that true?
Most IITs webpages say only great academic record etc. Nothing specific. But that indirectly means that an academic record worth talking about in terms of publication no., the more the merrier. While paper count exactly is not a decent metric for research output quality in the US, it seems to be a good starting point for up and coming places like India. Sooner, they may want to graduate from paper count as a metric to paper quality as a metric. But I guess it is ok to start from here. But 3 journal + 5 conference papers should be a normal target for a PhD student anywhere, of course it may take a year or so after PhD to see the three in print, but there are always postdoc positions to stick around and fish for nicer avenues.
are there enough willing Phd+ returness to fill out this massive expansion of IIsc/iit/Nit/IIM?
I am talking only about EE here.
Yes and No. It is not exactly a black and white answer. Certainly from the past years no. of people willing to return has increased in tremendous numbers both in terms of intention and as seen on the ground. However, the no of openings that have been created especially with the massive intake is something that would be hard to beat. In terms of EE, I am yet to see the IITs/IISc advertize in Spectrum, more or less like the one stop corner shop for openings in the US and abroad. I have seen Korean, chinese, mid-east univs advertize but not Indian places. But I have also seen and heard some of the faculty members seek out letters to bigshots and ask if they have any students etc.
I guess they need to do a little more creative seek and deliver mission. Not to the point that they harass people, but certainly to the point that they need to advertise more. They need to reach out to graduating/upcoming students/postdoc + bigshot faculty more. It is a kiss-ass mission, lets not mistake things here. People will be more willing to think more creative options like faculty positions in India if they feel like they will be "kings of their own jungle" type. I dont see that quite yet. The people I have talked to have certainly been nice, warm and welcoming when I broached India-return topic. But they have not actively sought things from me. In some sense, the diffidence is understandable. It is a bit of a controversial topic to talk to esp in an Indic context. But it is not like I am asking folks to keep pestering others, just ask passing-by and move on if no opportunities arise. The thinking as I got in an email response from someone big and up is this: "If someone wants to return, they will. Dont bug them till then." My IMO: "Makes sense in 1980s, not in 2008-9."
But bottomline: More people are returning. What was a trickle is now a stream, but we need a flood. If the economy divvies up in the US, the stream may become a creek.
Posted: 03 Jan 2009 23:56
by Rahul M
AFAIK, prospective institutes look for the cumulative impact factor of published papers rather than simply the number.
Posted: 04 Jan 2009 00:45
by Stan_Savljevic
Rahul M wrote:AFAIK, prospective institutes look for the cumulative impact factor of published papers rather than simply the number.
In the core EE fields like comm, SP etc, there is nothing like an impact factor as such, perhaps its the no of citations received. But citations is a skewed up metric in most people's opinion. Especially for a starter on an academic career. Perhaps awards, big ones. But they are few and far between and highly biased based on the political/hip scene in the community. From my experience, the journals are also not super-selective in these areas -- they are a free-for-all. So its a bit of a vague one in these areas. Thats probably why numbers and hear-say about work started making a big difference in hiring and firing decisions.
I am believing similar issues abound in devices and circuits. From all that I have heard. EM and control have a few highly selective IEEE/IFAC journals, so a few there may go a long way in pushing credibility up.
Posted: 04 Jan 2009 21:10
by Singha
my info was from a friend, son of a ex-HOD in one of the IITs who still does some kind of consulting there post-retirement. so its a reliable snapshot into current bar on entry I would think.
Posted: 07 Jan 2009 09:35
by Bade
Stan_Savljevic wrote:
I guess they need to do a little more creative seek and deliver mission. Not to the point that they harass people, but certainly to the point that they need to advertise more. They need to reach out to graduating/upcoming students/postdoc + bigshot faculty more. It is a kiss-ass mission, lets not mistake things here. People will be more willing to think more creative options like faculty positions in India if they feel like they will be "kings of their own jungle" type. I dont see that quite yet. The people I have talked to have certainly been nice, warm and welcoming when I broached India-return topic. But they have not actively sought things from me. In some sense, the diffidence is understandable. It is a bit of a controversial topic to talk to esp in an Indic context. But it is not like I am asking folks to keep pestering others, just ask passing-by and move on if no opportunities arise. The thinking as I got in an email response from someone big and up is this: "If someone wants to return, they will. Dont bug them till then." My IMO: "Makes sense in 1980s, not in 2008-9."
You hit the head of the problem. Many of the top institutes in India are reluctant to do the same. There is a bit of ego of getting rejected on both sides, hiring and the job seeker. Yet I believe it is up to the institutes to seek out and mentor the younger fresh minds and direct them back. Many US schools do the same quite informally to begin with to feel the tide. Even negative vibes are conveyed in advance through the proper channels. In the end it is all about old boys network under the facade of merit.

The market even in the US is oversupplied. The Universities always have the upper hand in this market. For every faculty job advt in Fizziks there are hundreds of prospective applicants on almost the same scale of academic and research accomplishments. It all in the end boils down to who is pulling the strings for you.
Even in this environment of oversupply the Indian institutes have down a poor job of attracting talent. They are always waiting for the super genius from Berkeley/Stanford/Caltech to show up at their doors.

Posted: 07 Jan 2009 10:35
by Stan_Savljevic
Bade wrote:
Many of the top institutes in India are reluctant to do the same. There is a bit of ego of getting rejected on both sides, hiring and the job seeker.
I happened to get really annoyed with the AA charade here and did some investigation. I got hold of an instruction pdf on what all were suggested to the chair of the fac search committee in terms of making the female candidates feel comfortable. It is a looong laundry list of things small and large. Essentially making the female candidate feel welcome irrespective of whether she is going to be hired or not. And if the interview list has less than 1/5 or 2/6 female candidates, the dean is advised to cancel the search process. I am not sure how many places implement this in hard coded language, but my experiences have been that some version of this is applied at almost all places. Someone in India needs to get hold of that pdf and do 1/100 of what is mentioned there. Just make aam applicant feel welcome.
The market even in the US is oversupplied. The Universities always have the upper hand in this market. For every faculty job advt in Fizziks there are hundreds of prospective applicants
It was 400+ per opening last time around in EE

. And climbing onlee. I am hoping for the 1000+ mark in the next 5 years. Especially if the economy does nt recover quick, there will loads of folks waiting in line for that one spot assuming of course the state/univ approves funds to create a new spot

Posted: 15 Jan 2009 05:40
by Stan_Savljevic
Hundreds of deemed universities have sprouted across the country, but if the report of the Yash Pal committee appointed by the prime minister, is accepted and implemented, there will be no more such universities. "Deemed university system has become exploitative. These institutes charge huge fees, but have not been successful in providing quality education to our students. Besides, most members feel that they give a very different projection of the university system," said a committee member.
Initially, just three institutions - the Indian Institute of Science in Bangalore, the Indian Statistical Institution and PUSA in Delhi, were recommended for deemed university status for their academic excellence. However, since then, the number of deemed universities have grown at an extraordinary rate. State governments have no control over them. In fact, while March 2002 to 2006 saw central and state universities growing by 11 per cent and 22 per cent respectively, deemed universities grew by 96 per cent, according to data available from the ministry of human resource development.
The high-profile 27-member national committee is likely to meet in February and finalize its report before submitting it to the ministry and the prime minister's office. In a draft report, a copy of which is with this paper, members have stated that universities must be treated as self regulatory bodies, not subjected to inspections from any central regulatory bodies. Moreover, the University Grants Commission (UGC) and All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE), which have called the shots in higher education for decades, should make way for a single body. The UGC was set up in 1956, while the AICTE came into existence in 1987. Committee members have also stated that the National Assessment and Accreditation Council, that accredits colleges across the country, be disbanded and state-wise bodies be set up.
Suggestions in draft report:
1) Practice of according status of deemed university be stopped.
2) Universities to be treated as self regulatory bodies not to be subject to inspections from any central regulatory bodies.
3) Creation of accreditation bodies within states.
4) No single discipline or specialised university to be created. All universities to have a full range of knowledge areas.
5) Institutions of excellence like the IITs be recognised as universities which shall act as pace-setting universities and model governance systems for all universities.
6) Integration of functions of existing regulatory systems into one single Council for Higher Education which should be an academic body.
7) Universities to be made responsible to decide on the academic content of professional courses. Professional bodies like the Medical Council of India, Bar Council, and the like, to look after the qualifications required in the respective fields.
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/Indi ... 979661.cms
Posted: 17 Jan 2009 09:28
by Stan_Savljevic
In a move that could help revive higher education in science, the University Grants Commission and the Delhi University have promised to look favourably into a suggestion by three national science academies for starting a four-year BSc course after which a student would be able to enrol for a dual MSc and PhD course. Those wanting to opt out a year after enrolling in the dual course would get an MSc degree.
If the new system works well once implemented, it could also be extended to humanities, especially economics, sources said. Many prominent universities are expected to adopt the new four-year system. Welcoming the suggestion, UGC chairperson Sukhdeo Thorat said, "We will discuss it soon in the full commission meeting." He said the suggestion should be expanded to include a provision for those pursuing science to simultaneously do a course in humanities and share the credit.
"It's a great idea," Delhi University vice-chancellor Deepak Pental told TOI. "We will look into it. First we would like that infrastructure of our colleges improves. Introduction of four-year BSc programme would bring science education at a par with the US system. But first we will introduce the semester system."
Three academies —Indian Academy of Science, Bangalore, Indian National Science Academy, New Delhi, and the National Academy of Sciences, Allahabad — that decide on science education in the country had proposed in October, 2008 that the American model be looked at seriously.
Under the proposed system, students in the first year will get a grounding in the core science streams before specializing and choose their electives. The thrust will be on encouraging a richer, inter-disciplinary approach instead of the text-oriented, unidimensional BSc that is currently being followed. At present, a biology student does not and cannot study maths, and vice versa, due to rigid structures. The report presented by the academies on January 12 states, "In recent years, specialized subjects such as biotechnology, bioinformatics, information technology and computer science etc are being introduced as substitutes for fundamental subjects like biology, physics or mathematics. This practice is hollowing the foundations of a core science education."
Over the years, there has been a growing concern about the flagging interest in science subjects in higher education. As a result, HRD ministry had set up four Indian Institutes of Science Education and Research, but the move now is to make science education more job-oriented as well as to encourage research at undergraduate level in colleges. National Academy of Sciences president Ashok Misra said the four year programme would be close to an engineering degree. "The course would emphasize on practical and project work and hence would be more professional. Our engineers are lapped up by industry, why shouldn't it be the same with our science graduates? Also, a quality programme will allow bright students to take up a PhD immediately after they graduate, thus saving them a year," he said.
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/Indi ... 991183.cms
Posted: 20 Jan 2009 00:28
by svinayak
Foriegn countries want to lecture India when India is still to get out of colonial history and colonial intellectual hegemony
http://www.guardian.co.uk/universitychallenge/india
India takes a more insular view
India's government has earmarked money for higher education. But it is also tabling a bill to limit foreign universities' presence
The Indian government wants more people to go to university and to improve the quality of education that is offered, but with a population of over a billion the country faces an enormous challenge when it comes to widening access to higher education.
To help bring about change the prime minister, Manmohan Singh, has called for a return to the traditional strengths of higher education and set out a new five-year plan that involves building 50 more universities and hundreds of new colleges, following on from the creation of the Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs) and the Indian Institutes of Management (IIMs) in the 1960s. India has about 400 universities and about 18,000 colleges and this includes both the state and private sectors. In the past decade there has been a sharp increase in the growth of private colleges and universities.
Dr Singh has said that the government is committed to a "quantum leap" in higher education, which is "at the threshold of a new era". The government has allocated 19% of GDP to fund education. With these changes the higher education participation rate is predicted to rise from 10% to 15% by 2012, which adds up to an extra 6-7 million students, but the worry is that even if the plan succeeds, there will still be too few university places to meet the demand.
Although Mike Thornton, operations manager of the UK-India Education and Research Initiative (Ukieri), which aims to improve education links between India and the UK, worries that many would say the plan is too little, too late, he believes the situation can be fixed. "After 40 years of neglect, Universities UK along with the abroadnew Education Forum created out of Ukieri are addressing how UK universities can assist with faculty development."
A small elite
The university system in India is based on a pyramid structure, with a handful of high-quality providers at the top. This originated with the establishment of universities at Calcutta, Madras, Bombay, Allahabad
and Lahore between 1857 and 1902, modelled on the British universities of the time. Today the top universities in India are Delhi, Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU), Calcutta, the Indian Institutes of Technology and Indian Institutes of Management. In the state sector there are central universities and state universities run by India's Ministry of Education.
The quality of higher education providers has long been an issue in India, says Thornton. "None of the traditional high-quality providers get into the Shanghai top 100 and thousands of other providers are attempting to meet the ever-increasing demand as disposable incomes rise."
Dr Subir Sinha, senior lecturer in development studies at the School of Oriental and African Studies at the University of London, says many students would rather go abroad than study in the unregulated private sector or the state sector in India.
He thinks one of the major stumbling blocks to improving the quality of higher education has been the lack of funding for staff salaries: "Pay scales for academics are below the national average, but this is being addressed by the new pay commission and salaries are currently rising at 50%-70%." It has been difficult for academics to manage on their salaries, he says, but this is changing. "There is now going to be an expansion of subsidised housing for academics and this will be an incentive for them to stay working in India," he says.
Another problem has been the brain drain — students and lecturers leaving India to head for the UK or the US. But Sinha thinks this is changing: "The flow of academics out of India has now gone into reverse — they are going back to India."
To meet the demand for access to higher education many foreign countries — including the US, the UK, Australia and New Zealand — are interested in setting up campuses in India. Sinha sees this foreign investment as "vital" but the Indian government is cautious about this overseasinfluence. The highly regulatory Foreign Educators Providers (FEP) bill is currently waiting to go through parliament.
Thornton says UK universities want to work in India to "strengthen their international collaborations through fresh ideas, recruiting and seconding staff and students and accessing new markets for courses". But if the Indian government makes the whole process of running collaborative courses and setting up campuses in India prohibitively interventionist and expensive, these providers will simply lose patience. "Foreign universities will spend their money elsewhere," he cautions.
Another major challenge for India's universities over the next few years is to increase the use of ICT. In terms of distance learning, the larger cities are well plugged into the internet, says Dr Sinha, but there is a problem with the electricity supply in many small towns: "There is a lack of penetration of ICT in small town states but, once power issues are solved, computers will become more widespread and ICT literacy will follow."
He cites one example that sums up the problem. "My brother-in-law teaches computer literacy in a small town — they have lots of computers but don't have connection to electricity for seven hours a day."
Posted: 23 Jan 2009 09:16
by Raja Bose
Singha wrote:afaik the entry criteria to get a profs job in IIT is atleast 3 papers in refereed journals, 5
papers in conferences, a Phd, a high academic track record.
Singha,
One of my close friends started recently as a nava double-E professor at IITB. He landed the job with 1 paper published onlee that too in a conference. Given the usual amirkhani requirements where a dozen papers (with around 80% at highly selective conferences) is sometimes not even enough to land an interview at a lot of middle-tier state univs., I was most

! One of my other acquaintainces who graduated from a top school with about 12-13 papers (all except one in SIG/VLDB types) applied to 103 schools, got interview calls from 3 and offers from none....finally thru his advisor's jugaad (advisor is heavy weight) got into Yahoo Research (and now probably biting fingers and toe nails).
But then again having 12-15 papers at good places doesn't mean your original research is great (usually just means that whichever community you/your advisor is part of, is OK with your stuff and not threatened by it either). We once had this faculty candidate chick from a pretty well known group in MSR with 20-22 papers in top journal, conferences, several springer books etc. (PhD, M.S., B.S. from MIT - the real one not the Delhi-based Mahila Institute one

) whose entire research on online auctions was based on the presumption that everybody is going to bid honestly onlee and not be a Paki

....this was pointed out by a lowly chipanda Master's student during her talk....she will have nightmares about that experience for a looong time.
Posted: 23 Jan 2009 09:26
by Raja Bose
Indians have still not lost their love affair with entrance exam toppers.
http://specials.rediff.com/getahead/200 ... antras.htm
As if topping the entrance exam: (a) will get him a great job (b) make him a topper in his course at the end when he graduates (c) makes him a genious amongst his generation.
...or in this case (d) guarantee his admission into IIM since he has GD/Interview to go.
Why does our media try to elevate such kind of achievements.....if it goes to the poor chap's head...then what happens?
All my childhood, every year I would see big paper ads from Brilliant Tutorials/Agarwal Classes/FIITJEE/Vidyamandir Classes and what not with big pics of the IIT AIR (All India Rank) 1,2,3 etc. No doubt it is a great achievement but come to think about it, it really is just the means to an end...nothing more....after all it is just an exam! I personally went to school with about 4 out of the 10 IITJEE AIR top 10 fellows in my school year. At the end of it all...now that we have all graduated with our MS/PhD etc. degrees I cant say any of them are doing any better or worse than the rest of us....it all depends on sustained performance and not the results of some once-in-a-lifetime exam! When will be ever learn this?

Posted: 27 Jan 2009 07:02
by SaiK
Make military education must
DH News Service,Mysore:
Former President APJ Abdul Kalam has advised compulsory military education for youth up to 17 years in order to imbibe discipline among them. “This will help in creating disciplined family which in turn leads to a disciplined nation,” he added.
Participating in the Republic Day celebration and the golden jubilee celebrations of the JSS D Ed College in Suttur on Monday, Kalam said in eleven years India will be on the threshold of 2020 and onus is on youth and teachers to give India a ‘distinctive profile’.
Kalam urged them to plug the divide between urban and rural areas and also to provide value education.
He said merit should be the sole criterion for higher education rather than the social categorisation in the 2020 India. Agriculture, food processing, infrastructure and equitable access to power and water would also define the empowered country in 2020, he said.
He urged the teachers to help students earn distinctive personality in their primary schooling, which cements their personality. Remembering his teacher Shiva Subrahmaniyam Iyer, Kalam said he not only taught him Science but gave him a vision to work for development of the nation. Later, he answered several queries posed by the students.
Posted: 28 Jan 2009 02:26
by Vipul
Posted: 30 Jan 2009 02:48
by Stan_Savljevic
India Reverses Faculty Hiring Quotas at 47 Top Universities
http://chronicle.com/news/index.php?id= ... _medium=en
Rapid Expansion Strains Elite Indian Institutes
Professors ask how a top-tier system can be nearly doubled in little more than a year
http://chronicle.com/weekly/v55/i21/21a ... _medium=en
Posted: 30 Jan 2009 05:55
by Abhijeet
A good, thought-provoking article on the effect of entrance exams and "credentials" on a person's professional success. Much relevance to the Indian scenario.
Paul Graham runs an early stage investment firm in Silicon Valley, so his perspective is somewhat exaggerated (he says this himself in the article). But there are many points here that apply to the exam-oriented, regurgitation-focused Indian education system.
http://www.paulgraham.com/credentials.html
A few months ago I read a New York Times article on South Korean cram schools that said
Admission to the right university can make or break an ambitious young South Korean.
A parent added:
"In our country, college entrance exams determine 70 to 80 percent of a person's future."
It was striking how old fashioned this sounded. And yet when I was in high school it wouldn't have seemed too far off as a description of the US. Which means things must have been changing here.
What cram schools are, in effect, is leaks in a seal. The use of credentials was an attempt to seal off the direct transmission of power between generations, and cram schools represent that power finding holes in the seal. Cram schools turn wealth in one generation into credentials in the next.
Large organizations can't do this. But a bunch of small organizations in a market can come close. A market takes every organization and keeps just the good ones. As organizations get smaller, this approaches taking every person and keeping just the good ones. So all other things being equal, a society consisting of more, smaller organizations will care less about credentials.
That's what's been happening in the US. That's why those quotes from Korea sound so old fashioned. They're talking about an economy like America's a few decades ago, dominated by a few big companies. The route for the ambitious in that sort of environment is to join one and climb to the top. Credentials matter a lot then. In the culture of a large organization, an elite pedigree becomes a self-fulfilling prophecy.
This doesn't work in small companies. Even if your colleagues were impressed by your credentials, they'd soon be parted from you if your performance didn't match, because the company would go out of business and the people would be dispersed.
Posted: 02 Feb 2009 07:49
by SriKumar
Cross-posted from Nukkad thread.
Stan_Savljevic wrote: It is hard to start doing a PhD past 26+ cos one is thinking of family, career, cash-flow etc.
True.
So whether one likes it or not, the vast majority of PhD folks start doing it right after their B.X degree or within a year or two. Essentially 21-23. What is the maturity level of folks who can decide they want to spend the next 5-7 yrs of their lives getting a PhD? Somewhat questionable IMO.
True again. So is this not a paradox....that one is expected to commit a large chunk of their life to something specific even as their idea of what they want to do, is still developing. In fact, I am fan of the idea that one should go out and work a bit to get a sense of what's what before one does a Ph.d. But this is not practical, especially for desis coming to the US. There are always those who know exactly what they want and just charge ahead in a specific area. I dont know whether to envy them (because they have figured out early on as to what they want) or to wonder whether they have any real idea about what's out there before they decided to focus on a narrow area.
In fact, if one truly has a ' I want gyan' mindset which is fundamental for a Ph.d, I have to believe that they would find multiple areas all very interesting. Choosing one area would be a challenge and would take time. This is also in line with the American way of approaching education (atleast it used to be) where you get a liberal arts degree and take courses from various departments (including science, math) and then decide which direction you want to go and specialize. This approach takes time but the end product is more mature and the focus is better.
Posted: 02 Feb 2009 09:28
by Stan_Savljevic
True again. So is this not a paradox....
Yes and no, a bit of a paradox. At the end of the day, it all comes down to how clear one is about a PhD -- Why/What for, irrespective of age. Some are clear at 21, some at 25, some at 32 and some even later. To make matters very precise, I had the following in mind. A bit of a vague ramble. So take it for what its worth.
There is a "theoretical" capacity to focus on PhD level research and a "practical" version. And then one more I will get to at the end called ability to "innovate". Overall this is a tricky trade-off. As a function of age, both these capacities are crescent-moon shaped U curves -- the theoretical capacity goes down from ~20, hits rock bottom around marriage time (call it "M") to M + 3 or 4 yrs due to diversions beyond one's control, and then slowly rises up from around M + 10 yrs or so (as children start walking, talking, going to school etc). Further down, as children become independent/spouse gets not so keen, this capacity could rise much higher, but not for too long though.
The practical capacity is a small fraction of the theoretical capacity around ~20 (due to wasting time on partying, freaking out etc) and as one ages, the % utilization of theoretical capacity actually increases even though theoretical capacity to focus goes down. This is because of the need to balance work and life etc. As one ages, they are able to focus more on marathony stuff {aka PhD in a different description}, but their brain capacity also goes down {more below}. Most normal folks have these kinda curves even though different people have different rates of fall/rise etc. The optimal time for someone wishing to start doing a PhD is the age when practical capacity to focus is the maximum. Thats why this is a bit of a paradoxical thing.
Unfortunately, most folks dont exactly know what type they are till they actually sit down and do a calculation of whats the best time for them {even in terms of whats the best time of the day to work etc}. I had my buddha moment when I gave up on something which I always thought I could do, irrespective of age -- and then I had a "Thank goodness, I went with the flow and not try some stoopid stunts" feeling.
And then to complicate matters, there is also a "brain" factor to think innovatively. E.g., great math stuff is hard to come by past 40, even though for most folks < 30 is the prime time. For engineers (at least my field), great stuff past 35-40 is rare. I have seen one case of great stuff at ~45. I mean stuff where the primary/single author is the person who is ~45 -- not some co-authored stuff where the first author is a student. For those past 50, I can make the bold statement it is zero. One or two may have missed me, or things in the bygone era. Overall, it is hard to innovate and yet succeed as one ages.
In fact, Hardy in his apology says the following long piece which amply explains my case in some sense -- "Galois died at twenty-one, Abel at twenty-seven, Ramanujan at thirty-three, Riemann at forty. There have been men who have done great work a good deal later; Gauss's great memoir on differential geometry was published when he was fifty (though he had had the fundamental ideas ten years before). I do not know an instance of a major mathematical advance initiated by a man past fifty. If a man of mature age loses interest in and abandons mathematics, the loss is not likely to be very serious either for mathematics or for himself.
On the other hand the gain is no more likely to be substantial; the later records of mathematicians are not particularly encouraging. Newton made a quite competent Master of the Mint (when he was not quarrelling with anybody). Painleve was a not very successful Premier of France. Laplace's political career was highly discreditable, but he is hardly a fair instance since he was dishonest rather than incompetent, and never really 'gave up' mathematics. It is very hard to find an instance of a first-rate mathematician who has abandoned mathematics and attained first-rate distinction in any other field{Footnote: Pascal seems the best}. There may have been young men who would have been first-rate mathematicians if they had stuck in mathematics, but I have never heard of a really plausible example. And all this is fully borne out by my very own limited experience. Every young mathematician of real talent whom I have known has been faithful to mathematics, and not from lack of ambition but from abundance of it; they have all recognized that there, if anywhere, lay the road to a life of any distinction."
In fact, I am fan of the idea that one should go out and work a bit to get a sense of what's what before one does a Ph.d. But this is not practical, especially for desis coming to the US.
Yes and no. There are always options for a gap between MS and PhD. One can take a year break, go see the real world, earn some bank balance and come back. But then, given this economic situation thats hard to come by. There are six month long internships one could do being on CPT. Again, there are constraints. Bottomline is: If one wants to do things their way, they can always find loopholes. Thats the sorry truth.
In fact, if one truly has a ' I want gyan' mindset which is fundamental for a Ph.d, I have to believe that they would find multiple areas all very interesting.
Very true. But this also brings in a jack of all trades mindset that needs to be avoided. Somehow the desperate for gyan types need to turn off that switch and focus on the one most important thing they need to do and get it done. Else, it never gets done. Time-based deadlines are useful that way. Its hard to focus when your head is seeing multiple things, but yea, somehow it has to be done.
PS: I made the statement in the context of many folks from my class, who are super-smart to do a PhD, somehow they move away from that path at 23-24 and bam, thats the closest they ever were to a PhD. Odd, but true. And such folks almost always never ever get a PhD. I have to wait and see, but I can guess it almost right. A PhD is never enough and a PhD is not the holy grail.
Posted: 02 Feb 2009 10:11
by Singha
the super smart folks have their Buddha moment and get a MBA from a ivy league school. then off to wall street.
I would wager a great chunk of top-100 "jee studs" who didnt go for phd are in wall street, not in karporate r&d labs(a dwindling pool) or in engineering.
Posted: 02 Feb 2009 10:50
by Stan_Savljevic
Singha wrote:
I would wager a great chunk of top-100 "jee studs" who didnt go for phd are in wall street, not in karporate r&d labs(a dwindling pool) or in engineering.
Quite a few quit after MS and went to MSFT, Intel type thingies (somewhere below r&d or as r&d coolies). Some are in India

(startups, established companies etc) in some senior positions now.
The funny part is there has been absolutely no correlation between JEE rank (or for that matter CPA at the end of 4 yr B.X. in India) and PhD persistence. Most of those who ended up in faculty massa/India (8-10 in my batch/3 previous ones that I know) were the dozing bees/last benchers/persistent last-min quiz preparers in the class. In fact, 1 guy who ended up as faculty in top-10 univ re-did one of his course with our batch after failing it. Those who looked "best" prepared (or so it seemed)/capable of doing PhD were the first to run off and embrace MBA/quit after MS etc. I remember receiving a lecture from the high and mighty top 30 JEE bugger about the merits of a PhD vs MS/PhD, and he left after a 1 yr MS

. Double fast track. I wish I saw him now, would thrash him black and blue. Surprisingly (at least to me), females were more persistent than it seemed they would be when they were doing B.X.
Posted: 02 Feb 2009 10:55
by Singha
thats because every eye eye tee female is hard as nails. given the lack of
encouragement society gives to girls in sciences, many more could make it in, but those that do under current circumstances are very persistent and capable.
having fun with "boys" is hardly on the agenda.
one other factor is parents. my friend whose father is a proof in roorkee says
there is a high number of sons from the professors colony who went to roorkee
or iits and were drilled into them from day1 they better either go for phd and
be in faculty abroad or return and teach in india(which many have done). its some
kinda H&D thing there.
Posted: 02 Feb 2009 10:58
by Mort Walker
Too many young capable guys wanting to get into IIMs as well. My nephew a very smart BE-EE, ended up at an IIM and I suggested he come to the US to complete a Ph.D. in EE. He worked in the US for a few months and then went back home when he got admission in an IIM a couple of years ago. He had a girl friend back home and she was following a similar track and they were both after the cash.
Posted: 02 Feb 2009 11:09
by Stan_Savljevic
Singha wrote:
having fun with "boys" is hardly on the agenda.
You gotta be kidding me. Boss, sometime in January (now that Jan is done check out next year), make a visit to IITM for the cul-festival named Saarang, which was Mardi-Gras in good ol days. Vina might remember and do a

at what stoopidities that get passed on for cul-fests these days. The pro-shows they put together these days are so noisy and hell-bent on ensuring the deer/monkey/human population goes nuts, but those days it was a bit more civil with envt conscious folks around.
The IIT female population is not very different from the rest in terms of behavioral trends. Same for guys. It has to be seen to be believed. They just happened to do well in the right exam at the right time, perhaps by dint of hard work or perhaps by luck or both. Unfortunate truth....
its some kinda H&D thing there.
This is very true. In fact, I know a couple of folks. Its some angst that is hard to describe. Further, they have what I call "civilizational memory." If you find one family member as a prof, look around and you will most likely find one more. Its been drilled into their heads as a form of an end to pursue. A modern day varna system, if you think of it that way. They also have a leg up by means of father connections, much more than the eye eye tee-idiots. Cos they are focussed on what they want, and run up to the right guy in India for undergrad projects et al. At the end of the day, recommendation letters make a huge difference in getting admits (at least it used to be the case when I applied).
Posted: 02 Feb 2009 11:40
by Singha
during these cul fests the smart cul secy types always make sure to invite some reknowned "fast" colleges from mumbai, pune, agra(there was a legendary one much loved in kanpur eye eye tee), DU (ofcourse! - with special gold leaf invites to st. stephens and miranda house hand delivered by a senior courtier). kanpur was probably way behind mumbai, because the btechs fought to be in the delegation that went to mumbai...I assume the winds were more favourable there to get in some action.
all the escapades I have heard of during those 3-4 wild days have been between these guests and certain students of eye eye tee they either knew from before or made new friends with

bar was very low, even someone holding hands with a girl and walking in public was *major news*
in the jungle telegraph...people'd run of bathrooms, mess and log off from
CC to get the first scoop in the corner.
however a lot has changed in 10 years. went to a college reunion for my
wife last weekend..they had a video recording of a concert held in 2006.
hmmmm.....lots of girls in the "mosh pit" screaming and yelling..unheard
of in our stiff upper lip gentleman shikari days.
todays youngsters think in a different way.